View Full Version : When will Malaysia produce world class atheletes?
13-01-2005, 02:09 AM
I was wondering how long it will take before malaysia turns into a machine churning out world class athletes? If cuba can do it then so can malaysia? Look at cuba. small pop. large golds at olympics. i suggest we copy their model of success. I would love to see malaysia winning boxing golds and gymnastics at the olympics. It can be done. Malaysia must make its citizens hungry for success? we need to train the coaches to train the best. create schools of excellence to train our most talented.
13-01-2005, 02:12 AM
I believe it is our duty as of when we become parents to encourage sports participation from an early age. I'm not just talking about football and martial arts but also the olympic sports. we have to build up our childrens confidence and instill in them the belief that they can be the best and also they must become hungry to be successful like the americans who believe they're born to win everything. The boleh spirit must be turned into malaysia boleh malaysia winners.
13-01-2005, 05:59 AM
I was wondering how long it will take before malaysia turns into a machine churning out world class athletes? If cuba can do it then so can malaysia?
does it really matter?
kucingbiru
13-01-2005, 09:06 AM
it does. it's better to be proud of the physical abilities of our athletes thn mega projects that money can buy.
14-01-2005, 10:26 PM
Sports is an industry and is therefore a cog in the economy of a nation. If as many cogs are running well then hopefully the economy will run better. Sports is also a lifestyle. People play sports for enjoyment and to win. Winning boasts self esteem and a more esteemed public we have the better our performance will be in other sectors of the economy. It all links in. Its our duty to doo the best we can in everything we do. we have to create that mentality and not have a loser mentality. I'm not saying that we should win at all costs such as cheating but its important to have a desire to be the best. Sports is a hallal way of channelling that instinct.
zchen
14-05-2005, 10:38 PM
formula to success--->time + money + right ppl
nvm dream this combo will ever appear...not in malaysia for the next 10yrs.i must critisize the sports ministers...azalina clearly has no mind of her own and act based on another ignorant guy's word.the previous one,<hishamuddin hussien>did nothing at all to progress this section...
shrenka
03-06-2005, 10:39 AM
Most of the parents want their children to concentrate on academic even if the children have great potentials to become world-class athletes. In order to produce more world-class athletes, more sports schools should be set uup to allocate more students who will be the future sports stars at international level! Currently, we have just a few sports schools like Bukit Jalil, Bandar Penawar, etc. It is a waste to invest in building classy sports facilities while on the other hand, we do not train enough ahletes. Anyway, the most important thing is, the ahletes should strive hard. Success would not come easily.
We do have world class atheletes.. Wong Choong Hann, Lee Chong Wei, Nicol David, perhaps Daniel Bego as he grows, maybe young Bryan Nickson..
But let us be frank here. Even if we produce elite atheletes, champ in the world and all, these atheletes end up in square one in the end.. without a valid degree, they'll have to turn to one thing:coaching. And while coaching can make big bucks(sometimes), the income is unstable. Maybe opening a business.. but that requires a capital.
I can understand why parents pressure their kids to study, rather than to play a sport. Unless your child really isn't gifted in academics.. then by all means, perhaps your child can make a better living by taking up a sport he/she is talented in. Otherwise, the future is definitely brighter for those who have degrees/master/phDs.
Just my 2 cents..
Oops. Did I just revive an ancient thread?
17-11-2006, 09:41 AM
We do have world class atheletes.. Wong Choong Hann, Lee Chong Wei, Nicol David, perhaps Daniel Bego as he grows, maybe young Bryan Nickson..
But let us be frank here. Even if we produce elite atheletes, champ in the world and all, these atheletes end up in square one in the end.. without a valid degree, they'll have to turn to one thing:coaching. And while coaching can make big bucks(sometimes), the income is unstable. Maybe opening a business.. but that requires a capital.
I can understand why parents pressure their kids to study, rather than to play a sport. Unless your child really isn't gifted in academics.. then by all means, perhaps your child can make a better living by taking up a sport he/she is talented in. Otherwise, the future is definitely brighter for those who have degrees/master/phDs.
Just my 2 cents..
Oops. Did I just revive an ancient thread?
You revived a thread just at the right time... I read from Michael Backman's article on Malaysia (I believe most of us here should have read the article (http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&ct=res&cd=1&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.theage.com.au%2Fnews%2Fbusiness%2Fwhile-malaysia-fiddles-its-opportunities-are-running-dry%2F2006%2F11%2F14%2F1163266550487.html&ei=whJdRY7xHKC6gAPmsIihCA&usg=__KgGsrXBvjNKW3liESL-QDOswcCs=&sig2=xuQqyEWyBrmVRHegTu4KSg) already) that Malaysia is spending 500 million Ringgit to build an athletic complex in UK so that "they can get used to the cold weather"... Forgive my ignorance but I haven't heard about that before... Does anyone have any idea about it?
day_dreamer
18-11-2006, 05:39 AM
Now we'll see how well they'll perform in Doha !!
Malaysia boleh !!
Kalau tak boleh ... Then latih bagi boleh !!
Pasal duit cukai aku ada kat tangan hang !!
Kalau hang tak dapat "medal" ... Celaka Hang !!
Kalau hang dapat medal .... Then day_dreamer hantar hang satu kiss !!
=@<hidden>=