View Full Version : HELP!!!B2 to F1 .. in the states .. currently
jitpunkia
13-01-2005, 01:20 PM
wat are d options? has anyone did that here? plz share some ideas or exp if u guys have any? need help here .. thx
13-01-2005, 11:50 PM
I don't really get what you mean, but I would say that to get F1, you would need to apply with an I-20 from your university, as well as an acceptance letter from the university. Check with the immigration offices, or the embassies/consulates.
14-01-2005, 12:37 AM
I think he (she?) tried to jump start his escape by taking up a tourist visa first, which is easier, landed in LA, now deciding his future and saw that education might be required to get a good job, heard someone on the street discussing about F-1 visa, so he dialed up, logged on, and ask that question.
Pun totally intended.
(Yes jitpunkia please ask your question again, we can't read your mind)
14-01-2005, 05:56 AM
Pun totally intended.
what pun?
tuinkle
14-01-2005, 06:12 AM
I think he (she?) tried to jump start his escape by taking up a tourist visa first, which is easier, landed in LA, now deciding his future and saw that education might be required to get a good job, heard someone on the street discussing about F-1 visa, so he dialed up, logged on, and ask that question.
I _think_ jiinjoo has it almost right. Except:
He didn't hear someone on the street discussing about F-1 visa. He heard someone on the 'street' discussing about ReCom.
He has always had intentions of attending college here before landing in LA.
The rest, I can't say I'm too sure. But I know his mom is a PR here, and he's over 18.
I guess he just wants to see if anyone has any advice for him.
jitpunkia
14-01-2005, 07:25 AM
well, i didnt hear sum1 on the street talking abt recom . thats true . anyways im here on a tourist visa now . and i intend to get my F1 here now . im lookin for anyone who has gone thru wat exactly im abt to now . just looking for ideas ..im over 18 and my mum's a PR here . wat are d options open? should i go back n get the F1? or should i change it here . where the chances are better? but wat iv heard is . msian students who change it here, went back for holidays n end up getting rejected at d port, cz in the 1st place they didnt 'enter' as a student, they enter as a tourist .. anyways .
lookin for ideas
14-01-2005, 02:16 PM
Jitpunkia,
its not that anyone does not want to help you but we have as much idea about your problem as you do. None of us would like to give you misleading information that will give you false hope.
AFAIK, I-20 is a document issued by the INS to the university for you upon the verification of your financial ability and acceptance to a university here. To solve your problem, I recommend you go back and apply for some universities here from home and obtain your I-20 that way. INS will not issue you an I-20 and an F-1 visa if you are not enrolled as a student in an educational institution.
Good luck!
jitpunkia
14-01-2005, 03:12 PM
well . lets restate things again
im here on a 6mths tourist visa . im working on d admission to college now .e any i wont have any problem to gain the I-20 from the skool . my mums a PR here . and i just arrived 1 month ago to the states . my tourist visa states 'viziting mum in usa' thats all. my I-94 allows me to stay till mid june .
well by looking around these past 1 mth,
i found out its easy to get the visa if the skool has accepted u, but my mums a PR . so its a disadvantage . they might think i wanna stay here . so i might get denied at the embassy back in KL if i go back n apply it .
the other choice is for me to change status here , according to the skool . i most probably will get it . but it will b tougher at the interview . and i wont b able to travel out of this country for abt 5yrs or d whole course of my education .
and other supporting doc. i can get d malaysian tour gov here to state a letter that im coming here to study, with their support . n i have a family business that i must take over (so i would go back after my studies)
is this clear? or do i need any other things? :wink:
14-01-2005, 03:13 PM
dude - you can't convert a B1 tourist to F1. there's no way to do it. applications are mostly due anyway so it's too late to enrol now for fall 2005. my advice is to go home, prepare your materials (and study for the SAT), get your teachers to think about writing recommendations - and when enrollment opens at schools sometime in september, nail it down and bring the momma home.
and even if you want to send an application in for this fall, i don't think that's a good idea anyway since you're going to rush a job, which other people spend months working on. it's not worth the expensive application fee.
go google/research out the BCIS webpage. really do not want to get in trouble with homeland security over irregular visa issues.
it'll probably help (us) if you describe your situation more clearly
jitpunkia
14-01-2005, 03:53 PM
the skool im goin too . have not due yet . for d fall semester . anyways . dun worry abt getting admission to d skool . im worrying if i can change my status from B2 to F1 when im inside the united states .(im in the states)
what would be the better choice? going back n get it? while my mums a pr .. that is a great disadvantage ..
or changing it here . cz i gain admission to the skool . but that means i can get change of status . i didnt get change of visa . i wont b able to leave n reenter d country .. half way of my studies
14-01-2005, 05:31 PM
maybe you can try n enquire at the emb or sthing. sorry not much opf a help, i dont really know bout this. me not being in the states and all.
maybe you can re-state your problem clearer..i dont quite get it.
14-01-2005, 06:18 PM
I would say that first of all, you have srong confidence that you will get into the college/university of your dream. That's the first positive sign.
So, I guess the first step you need to do, will be to apply for that place, and get it confirmed.
Without this prerequisite, you can't have any shot at F-1. I would say that applying in Malaysia will be better off. I don't think there is any slot for you to fill up whether your parents are PR or whatsoever, basically just their citizenship (I'm not too sure whether they even ask about that), so don't worry too much about it.
Another important aspect, would be to try and read up as much info from the website of all the relevant authority. That would give you a clearer picture.
14-01-2005, 10:29 PM
the skool im goin too . have not due yet . for d fall semester . anyways . dun worry abt getting admission to d skool . im worrying if i can change my status from B2 to F1 when im inside the united states .(im in the states)
what would be the better choice? going back n get it? while my mums a pr .. that is a great disadvantage ..
or changing it here . cz i gain admission to the skool . but that means i can get change of status . i didnt get change of visa . i wont b able to leave n reenter d country .. half way of my studies
You are right, change of staus does not mean change of visa type. There is no choice, you have to go back to the country of your citizenship to get the F-1 visa from the US embassy. FYI, those who overstay their welcome on the tourist visa can actually get barred from entering the US for up to 10 years.
yes yes, we know your mum is a PR, but that really does not make a difference. It seems that your problem is that you are adamant about changing your status from within the US. Just call the US Embassy or the INS up and talk to them about your options. As far as immigration stuff in concerned, I really dont thing any of us are *that* qualified to help you.
14-01-2005, 11:32 PM
http://www.uscis.gov
jitpunkia
15-01-2005, 05:43 AM
thx for d help guys . really appreciate it . i just wanna know if anybody on earth has ever been thru smth similiar like me . i would like to know wat it would b like . and how was d conclusion of it ^^
yea . d 1st step is to b admitted to skool b4 i can do d 2nd step that is getting the visa back home or either changing my status here, getting permission to study, but never gainin permission to leave n go within this country