View Full Version : South East Asia Games (SEA GAMES)
28-11-2003, 10:12 AM
Link of SEA Games
http://english.seagames22.com.vn/
With the action of SEA Games going to be started in a few days, I am sure many Malaysians will be glued to the updates of sports action of Malaysian contingent in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh.
This forum will be the place for the discussion of all sports in this Sea Games.
28-11-2003, 01:07 PM
I have been to the SEA games held in Malaysia 2 years ago.. it was splendid..
probably it's the last major international Sports event (besides F1) held in Malaysia in this decade... it was great..
Talking about Vietnam SEA Games...
I think Malaysia will get at least a gold in wushu events...
probably bagged by Ho Ro Bin or Oh Poh Soon...
do you know that wushu is one of the biggest medal providing events? I'm not sure as I haven't confirm about it yet
28-11-2003, 01:23 PM
Malaysia was the host of World Bowling competition in September this year. That is definitely a major championship in Malaysia.
For Sea Games official website, go to http://english.seagames22.com.vn/
The Sea Games is from 29th Nov to 14th Dec. On 29th, our men soccer team will be playing against Myanmar.
I know that there will be sanshou and taolu, but not sure about the exact number of gold medals offered. For wushu in sea games, check out http://www.seagames22.net/Sports/Wushu/Info.htm
28-11-2003, 01:30 PM
As far as I'm concern, this time it's hard to predict which country will dominate the wushu events...
as we know, Vietnam is strong as its team undergoes full time training and if I have not mistaken, it's myanmar that has employed 6 china coaches... the Philipines are good at wushu and Indonesia is emerging as a wushu nation too.... the competition is quite tense and there are alot of young talents... hard to predict thier performance...
Maybe nan quan is our hope as Ho Ro Bin is participating in that event. He's one of the gold medalist in the previous Asian Games.
for chang quan events I think Oh poh soon can perform well..
28-11-2003, 01:39 PM
Our Oylmpic Council of Malaysia and various sports associations have targeted 50 gold medals in total. We won 111 gold medals in the last SEA Games in Kuala Lumpur, where we ended up being the overall champion.
However for this 22nd edition of SEA Games, the host, Vietnam has slashed many sports, which have been traditionally our strong area and as always the martial arts are very subjective in nature... So, where do you guys think we would stand.
Our best performance out of Malaysia, is the haul of 57 gold medals in 1999 SEA Games in Brunei. Can we beat that haul? Repeating the 111 gold medals seem too distant for us, as we are sending a very small contingent.
What do you guys think of our soccer team, as the head coach Alan Harris has predicted goal medal for our team. We have never won a gold medal in men soccer team since 89 KL Games. Could we do that?
29-11-2003, 10:45 PM
Soccer
Malaysia - Cambodia
8-1
http://english.seagames22.com.vn/modules/db/result_by_round_FB101.asp?code=FB101
A good start although Cambodian are not having any professional player.
30-11-2003, 01:40 AM
Congrats!!! That's a good start! Hope that it would be a morale booster for our contingent.
ciwan
30-11-2003, 04:11 AM
haha .. best nyer
menang gak akhirnya
fight on Malaysia
fight on trojan
hehehehe
tuh menang last ker akan terus menang lagi?
30-11-2003, 04:06 PM
harap2 menang sume ah
eeyore
30-11-2003, 04:32 PM
it's also exciting to see how our chess contingent fares. i think this is the first time this game is being competed in the sea games.
02-12-2003, 12:04 PM
Update on Sea Games results:
Waterpolo
Malaysia lost to Thailand 6-7
Archery Men Individual:-
MUHAMAD MARBAWI B. SULA IMAN currently lies fourth after 2 rounds, 2 rounds to go. He is with 622. KUSWANTORO from Indon is leading with 626.
Archery Men Team:- (2 more rounds to go)
Malaysia 5th (1780). Phi (1862), Indon (1833)
Archery Women Individual:- (2 rounds done, 2 rounds to go)
MON REDEE A/P SUT TXI leading with 660, 2nd is 656.
Archery Women Team (2 rounds done, 2 rounds to go)
Malaysia 1st 1902. Indon and Mya 1881.
02-12-2003, 12:11 PM
don't know if this still holds but i read that mon dee broke the archery record during qualifying
02-12-2003, 01:00 PM
yeah, he broke the SEA Games record in the qualifying round.
Basically for archery, there would be these 4 rounds of qualifying round, and then I believe the top 8 archers would be selected to shoot for 1 more round or something like that to fight for the medal.
04-12-2003, 01:16 AM
Malaysia beat Singapore 2-0 in Soccer. Malaysia qualified for semi-final! Syabas!!! Singapore is out of Sea Games for soccer.
I believe that our woman archer won a Silver this morning too.
1st_Spirit
04-12-2003, 01:47 AM
I'm glad to know that Malaysia's scoccer team beat Sing... Since when our scoccer became so good!?
Mabawi in Men Archer won a gold! Syabas!
Our gymnastic men team won a silver.
So, we are leading the medal tally currently with 1G 2S
soul_out
05-12-2003, 07:12 AM
I would like to share my point of view of 2 events that i'm interested.
1. Football(Soccer) - The performance of the national team is inspiring ever since English coach Allan Harris took over the national coah post. With the emergence of young talents like Akmal Rizal & Indra Putra Mahayuddin, high fighting spirit and good team morale, to win a goal medal in SEA Games is not impossible. All our national football team need is luck. We could achieve better in South East Asia Tiger Cup last year, at least a silver, but due to lack of luck, we only manage to win broze. Besides, the average age of the national team is relatively young. We are good in team work and determination but week in physical and technique. Young guns rulez!!!
2. Basketball - Another young guns. The average age of this SEA Games squad is 21. The oldest player in the team is 25 and there are four 19 years old players. Coach Felton Sealy and Sim Sin Heng aim for gold medal this year. I personally think silver will be a great achievement for us but to win a gold is not a mission impossible. We're good in defence, team work, determination, shooting and stamina but again we're weak in physical and height. On the other hand, female basketball team is defending their gold medal for the 3rd time. All the BEST.
What about female soccer? Any female soccer fans here to update us?
silverblue
05-12-2003, 07:54 AM
ohh... i which i could watch the games here.... esp the gymnastics and synchronize swimming ones... these are my faves! wonder how they are doing.....
i don't really follow the games here though :( but does anyone know if there's a Taek Won Do meet in the games too? please tell me if u know anything about it! thx...
05-12-2003, 09:05 AM
Silverblue, of course there is taekwando. 16 gold medals will be contested in it. Check out http://english.seagames22.com.vn/modules/db/sche_view_by_sport.asp?id=TK
Soul_Out, you forget to mention that you train under Sim Sin Heng before! Yeah, we have a very young team for basketball, soccer. In fact, our athletics have a lot of young talents, who are in the early 20s. They may not strike goal today, but with the stream of national records being rocked down in the past one year, I believe that we will soon see some transformations.
For female soccer, we lost to Vietnam 1-3 and we drew Phillipines 0-0. We have another game with Indonesia.
Malaysia, Vietnam, Phillipines and Indon are in a group. Top 2 advance to semi-final.
Vietnam is leading with 6 points or 2 win. (9-1)
Phillipines is 2nd with 2 points (2 draw) (1-1)
Malaysia is 3rd with 1 point (1 draw) (1-3)
Indonesia is 4th with 1 point (1-7).
So, we have a good chance to qualify for semi-final.
If Vietnam could beats Phillipines by 3 goals or more. Malaysia only needs a draw with Indonesia to advance to semi-final.
Vietnam thrashed Indon by 6-0 and Malaysia 3-1. Phil draws with both Indon and Malaysia.
kijal4
05-12-2003, 10:10 AM
I'm glad to know that Malaysia's scoccer team beat Sing... Since when our scoccer became so good!?
Geez, you must have missed the recent Tiger Cup in Singapore. Malaysia beat Singapore 4-0 and beat Thai 3-1. This is the same young team going to Vietnam.
Unfortunately this team fare badly in Asian Cup qualifier, losing to Iraq and Bahrain. But both Arab teams were different class than us. Malaysia can still conquer SEA football arena. It's a more appropriate target.
05-12-2003, 10:32 AM
we beat Thai 3-1? was it the Thai first team?
Wow...i must say I;m really impressed.
05-12-2003, 11:49 PM
Our medal tally is 2G 3S 0B.
We added another gold from men archery team event and another silver from women archery team event.
Archery has improved by leaps and bounds since before. Few years back, we would never imagine Malaysia archers win a medal. But today, they win 2G2S out of 4 golds contested. Syabas, Malaysia Boleh!!!
SEA GAMES is officially started... Check out the game. The link is at the first message of this thread.
soul_out
06-12-2003, 02:04 AM
Littlebigone: Soccer in Sea Games is Under-23.
06-12-2003, 03:29 AM
yah...I was asking about tiger cup
06-12-2003, 04:36 AM
For Tiger Cup, Thailand sends their main team. Malaysia, I guess is the only team that has its national team centers around under-23 players!
1st_Spirit
06-12-2003, 04:56 AM
I missed a lot of news in Malaysia...
But I would able to catch up some and updated myself from Recom
Ya, Malaysia Boleh and Syabas Maju!!!
Ishveir
06-12-2003, 08:59 PM
Hello All,
Just felt like writing my views :)
With soccer on rampage, i guess it is some sort of rampage since we have not been impressive on the SEA stage or Asia for that matter, things do change as we see it ... I personally think it is a great run by Allan Harris's boys.
But let us talk about hockey, i am convinced we will whoop anyone's ass in hockey this time though unfortunately i cant seem to find much reports and news on our hockey team, i wonder why?
:) dont worry it is hockey that Malaysia is famed for in Japan, South Korea, Argentina, Holland, Spain, India, Pakistan,etc.
our boys wont let us down on this im pretty sure.
Continue the good run.
Ishveir
06-12-2003, 09:05 PM
Guys,
i just checked the official site and could not find hockey as one of the games listed
I guess they are not going to win any Gold in Hockey since it is not even contested.
SAD and it simply doesnt make sense, anyone know why it is not a discipline in this SEA Games? :x
Ishveir
06-12-2003, 09:09 PM
Hi
does anyone keep tabs with the updates on the medal Tally?
:wink: surely we are somewhere on top
soul_out
06-12-2003, 11:35 PM
Male Soccer LATEST
Myanmar 2-3 Malaysia (First Half 0-1)
Impressed! :o
07-12-2003, 04:31 AM
As of now, Vietnam is leading with (24G, 9S, 6B). Malaysia is 2nd with (7G,8S,5B), Sin (7G 7S 8B), Thai(5G 14S 15B), Indon (5G 4S 6B), Phi (4G 6S 14B), Myan (2G, 6S, 8B), Cambodia (2B), others are still without medal.
Vietnam 24 Golds come from 6 Karate, 5 Shooting, 1 Gymnastic, 1 Shuttle Cock, 2 Sepaktakraw Bulatan, 1 Rowing, 3 Judo, 3 Bodybuilding, 1 Chess, 1 Billiards .
Malaysia, 2 Golds from Men Archery(individual and team), 2 from Swimming (Lim Keng Liat - 200m backstroke, 4*200 freestyle relay), bodybuilding (Sazali Abdul Samad), Gymnastic Men all Round (Ng Shu Wai), Gymnastic Women All Round (Nurul Fatiha).
Malaysia, 1 Silver from shooting(Nurul Suryani), 1 men gymnastic team, 2 Karate kata team, 1 Swimming (Siow Yi Ting), 2 Women Archery, 1 Billiard
Malaysia, 1 bodybuilding bronze(Othman Yahya), 1 Chess (Siti Zulaikha), 3 from Karate (V.M A/P ANTHONY, A.A/L ARLANTHU, and kumite team)
Syabas to our soccer team!!! Malaysia qualify as top of group, will wait either Viet, Indon or Thai whichever team that finishes 2nd in the group.
Ishveir, for Sea Games event, it is up to the host to determine the events contested...
For women soccer, Vietnam qualified from the group with 3 win (12-1), Malaysia, Phillipines, Indonesia both have 2 draws and 1 lose(all 3 lose to Vietnam obviously). By goal difference, Malaysia (3-5), Phillipines (1-4), Indonesia(3-9).
So, a good news, our Women Soccer team qualified to semi-final too!!! Syabas!!! As Malaysia qualified as 2nd best in the group, we will play Myanmar in semi-final for women soccer.
07-12-2003, 04:48 AM
Hi
does anyone keep tabs with the updates on the medal Tally?
:wink: surely we are somewhere on top
it's on the official website.
07-12-2003, 04:59 AM
More results,
Men basketball, Malaysia beat Vietnam 98-56.
For 8-ball Pool, Ibrahim Amir has qualified for semi-final.
For the 9 events in boxing that has started, Malaysia has lost in quarter final level for all events, except for M. K. AKMAL BIN KAMAL in up to 75kg, where he qualified for semi-final.
For cycling 51km Criterium, MOHD. SAYUTI BIN MOHD. ZAHIT finished a respectable 4th, way better than seasoned players, like Musairi Musa, Suhardi Hassan, who finished in 12th and 13th.
Our handball team lost to Vietnam 20-41, Thai 15-27
Our men tennis lost 0-3 in semi-final to Indon
Our volleyball men team lost 0-3 to Thailand
Our women volleyball team lose 0-3 to Thai and Viet.
That's all our performance for today.
Keep up the updates in Recom.org
huilinchin
07-12-2003, 06:40 AM
I hope the chess team will win on Monday against the Vietnamese grandmasters.
-Hui Lin ^_^
07-12-2003, 11:02 PM
We have added 3 more golds, Nazmizan Muhammad in 100 meter sprint.
Siow Yi Ting in 100m Breaststroke, Allen Ong in 100m freestyle.
It seems we get 3 bonus goals, as none of them were predicted to get the goals!
We added silvers, through RAYNER KISIONG, LIM YOKE WAI, KU JIN KEAT, CHUA AI LEE for karate, diving ZIBEON UZZA A/K BELENG. So, 5 extra silvers.
Our Karate team have been performing poorly, with just a bunch of silvers and bronze and without any gold.
Bronzes, through diving NOR AZNIZAL BIN NAJIB, LEONG MUN YEE, triple jump NGEW SIN MEI, rapid chess team, tennis men team, karate LIM LEE LEE, P.A/P SUPRAMANIAM, M.A/L SUPREMANIAM, M.A BIN EMRAN.
So, currently Malaysia is at 4th with 10G 13S 14B.
Vietnam leads with 41G 14S 17B, Thai 17G 26S 28B, Indon 11G 13S 14B, Malaysia, Sin 10G 12S 12B, Phi 10G 11S 25B, Myanmar 2G 12S 15B, Cambodia 1G 3B, Laos 1S 1B, Brunei 3B.
Tune in for more updates at Recom.org !
07-12-2003, 11:26 PM
More updates.
men basketball beat indon 79-68, our 2nd win!
Details on men rapid chess, malaysia lost to viet 0.5 - 3.5 in the semi-final
Our women rapid chess team, malaysia lost to viet 0.5-3.5 as well in the 2nd round.
SHAHRUL NEEZA BIN MOHD. RAZALLI finished 4th in 40km time trial in cycling, so we missed bronze by a whisker.
For men soccer group B, thai with 7 points(13-1), vietnam with 7 points(7-1), indon 3 points, laos 0 point.
So, Malaysia is playing Vietnam in semi-final and Thai will play Myanmar in semi-final. Seems wierd, Thai managed to crash Indon 6-0
For women soccer, Malaysia is playing Myanmar and Vietnam plays Thai in semi-final
For table tennis women team, we beat Cambodia and Laos 3-0. We lost to Myanmar 2-3.
Our volleyball team, both men and women team suffer 0-3 defeats to all of their matches. Men team lost 2 games, and women team lost 3 games.
Latest updates M. K. AKMAL BIN KAMAL lost in boxing up to 75kg semi-final, so add a bronze to Malaysia.
08-12-2003, 02:30 AM
badminton men double team, lost miraculously to Indonesia 2-3. What a shame! Since Indon don't have a strong team and we are the favourite to win the gold medal. Indon will play Thai in final, while Malaysia will play Singapore in 3rd placing...
silverblue
08-12-2003, 03:46 AM
Oh, just to digress a little from the medal tally...
have anyone listened to the Vietnam Sea Games theme song yet? it sounds pretty good! :)
soul_out
08-12-2003, 04:34 AM
where to get that theme song?
08-12-2003, 07:49 AM
i believe you should be able to get from the SEA GAMES website, but I am not too sure... The link to the SEA GAMES website is at the first post of this thread.
08-12-2003, 06:22 PM
Vietnam 52 19 22 93
Thailand 20 30 32 82
Indonesia 14 17 20 51
Malaysia 13 16 17 46
Philippines 12 15 27 54
Singapore 11 13 13 37
It seems that it has become a must for the host country to get the top spot in every SEAgames
Maybe its time to come out with certain rules about the events that can be changed.
soul_out
08-12-2003, 09:21 PM
Badminton is the upset 1...how could we bring back Thomas Cup yet we can't won the gold medal in Sea Games without the full squad of Indonesia?
08-12-2003, 11:05 PM
Shuttle Cook - Singles / Semi final
Result List
SHUTTLECOCK 20:59 08/12
Womens Singles Semi Final Vinh Phuc Indoor Stadium
Just for a laugh :wink: ---> getting bored of studying for my midsem
09-12-2003, 12:24 AM
Update on Sea Games medal:-
Ranking table
Country G S B T
Vietnam 61 26 29 116
Thailand 31 40 38 109
Malaysia 19 22 22 63
Indonesia 18 22 29 69
Philippines 16 19 35 70
Singapore 16 16 19 51
Myanmar 2 15 23 40
Cambodia 1 0 4 5
We add 2 golds in swimming (Lim Keng Liat), 1 gold in high jump(Loo Kum Zee), 3 in gymnastic, 2 in karate and 1 in diving (Leong Mun Yee)
huilinchin
09-12-2003, 11:50 AM
:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
chess bronze
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2003/12/7/sports/6864419&sec=sports
still very mad about the fact that there is no Chess MSSM just to give way to a MSSM of new sport because the gov has given the budget for chess to a new game (which I cannot remember the name) ...
how to win if players are not trained since kindergarten and do not have the opportunity to play in national tournaments???
-Hui Lin ^_^
09-12-2003, 12:16 PM
i believe it's a good achievement despite not getting gold.
It's rapid chess and rapid chess is like letting the brain doing 100m dash, it's tough and it's understandable how she was unable to cope with the pressure.
anyway, there are a lot of chess tournaments in Msia. You dont really need MSSM for chess.
Ishveir
09-12-2003, 04:08 PM
that is right it is an ok performance from her, plus she went and gave all she got.
in terms of what MSSM should be doing, i agree that the funding may not be there but what is needed is more than the funding it is pure support from firstly schools and their teachers..slowly up to district level and later state, something will stir up MSSM to allocate if they see initiative, just like how hockey started in Anderson over a decade ago...its domination leads to not just acknowledgement by MSSM but also the luxury of getting a decent amount for the teams training and proper expenditure. I dare say since i have been in the team for one year. Anyway burn the interest as it will pay off one day
ciao.
huilinchin
09-12-2003, 04:29 PM
_earth:
i believe it's a good achievement despite not getting gold.
I agree. :) (before and after I posted the message), I just feel sad for her when I see her picture (pressured look).
_earth:
anyway, there are a lot of chess tournaments in Msia. You dont really need MSSM for chess.
Not completely true, because although there are other chess tournaments in Malaysia, they are small tournaments compared to MSSM. It is in MSSM that you play with the grandmasters and Malaysian former champions.
Also, you get to watch for yourself the games of the grandmasters and Malaysian representatives. All the Malaysian girl chess players in the Sea Games right now had played in MSSM tournaments for years since 7 years ago (old champs for under 18 and under 15). A few of them are not known until they obtained first-runner ups in MSSM. Now, you see them in the international fields.
For example, you get to see amazing games from great chess players like the grandmaster from Kelantan who representated Malaysia to play in Russia (I cannot remember his name) who actually stop and think for 45 mins without touching the chess board and pieces in the MSSM tournament. He won the game easily after he had finished the 45 mins of thinking!
In other open chess tournaments held by universities, high schools and states, it's very hard to create such an opportunity to think so long because they just do not have the time as there are a lot of participants. In national tournaments like MSSM, every game lasts for 3 hours.
It feels like a warm 'complete' gathering of great Malaysian chess players to me compared to other open tournaments because you can hardly see all these people in one open tournament.
Like the chess club in Multimedia University in Malacca which actively holds open tournaments, there were only two girls - state players (when I joined it) and one of them was a Negeri Sembilan state player compared to seeing 50 girls state players in one tournament (MSSM).
It's less eye-opening because you play with other teams from other schools or any individual who signed up instead of the other state teams or state individuals. But I must say that the pool of men participants were very good.
I sincerely believe that the advantages and experiences in MSSM and other open chess tournaments are pretty different.
Besides that, MSSM encourages competition among the states in Malaysia. This would encourage the states to be more serious in state tournaments and so are the players from primary and high schools.
Without national tournaments, it's very hard to advance state winners because the states would have no money allocated (no budget for it) and no responsibility to train the champions.
I believe one will learn a lot from the training provided by the states.
However, I am not saying that we should not encourage or support other chess tournaments in Malaysia. I just think that they cannot replace MSSM for a lot of benefits and reasons.
But still, everything above is just my opinion because I am grateful that Chess MSSM once existed, without which I do not realize that chess is very beautiful :wink:
Don't misunderstand yah (I am not a good chess player)...hehe..just one that likes it...
-Hui Lin ^_^
09-12-2003, 04:41 PM
Haha... I always pose like her (in the photo) when I am thinking while playing chess (cos usually my hands will be freaking cold)
There are a lot of chess competitions in Malaysia as Earth stated including those in national level but it seems that the press has no interest in reporting them. I think Chinese chess competitions get more attentions from Chinese society as they appear in Chinese papers quite often.
Latest update
Country G S B T
Vietnam 74 30 34 138
Thailand 33 42 46 121
Indonesia 24 30 31 85
Philippines 20 21 39 80
Malaysia 19 25 24 68
Singapore 16 18 21 55
huilinchin
09-12-2003, 04:48 PM
Schye, is that true? tell me...tell me... :D
thank kew
-Hui Lin ^_^
09-12-2003, 06:04 PM
Its TRUE :P
There is a list of local chess activities there for the whole year:
http://zugzwangchess.host.sk/modules.php?op=modload&name=Sections&file=index&req=viewarticle&artid=58&page=1
I took me some time to find this :roll: as I don?t play chess much after leaving my secondary school needless to say trying to get the info from internet:wink:
But it was really a surprise when I found that Persekutuan Catur Malaysia doesn?t even have their own website (or I can?t find it)
09-12-2003, 06:12 PM
Malaysia Boleh! Malaysia Boleh! Malaysia Boleh ke?
09-12-2003, 06:14 PM
These are Malaysia's Top 10 players according to http://www.FIDE.com:-
1 Mas, Hafizulhelmi
2 Mok, Tze-Meng
3 Wong, Zi Jing
4 Lim Chuing, Hoong
5 Lim, Yee-Weng
6 Chan, Nicholas
7 Ahmad, Maliki
8 Wong, Chee Chung
8 Chan, Marcus
10 Law, Zhe Kang
09-12-2003, 10:49 PM
Malaysia - Vietnam (Semi Final 1) (Live)
Result Group Date Team Team F.Half S.Half
Semi Final 09/12 Malaysia Vietnam 0:1 1:3
Goal list Player JsyNo Minute Team Remark
LE QUOC VUONG 20 26 Vietnam
PHAM VAN QUYEN 10 50 Vietnam
MOHD SYAMSURI MUSTAFA 22 73 Malaysia
PHAM VAN QUYEN 10 79 Vietnam
Card list Player JsyNo Min Team Team
AKMAL R.B AHMAD RAHKLI 14 69 Malaysia Yellow
MALAYSIA goal keeper has scored directly from Malaysia's goal side... the furthest goal scored in humans history 8O :not sure though bout the history part:
This is the latest update while the game is still in process. Got to go now.
Ishveir
10-12-2003, 12:24 AM
Coming back from being 3-1 down to equalise to 3-3 was still not enough.
Well rather disapointing, but a deadly last minute strike by the Vietnamese(90th) secured a much desired win in front of the home crowd.
here are the details from the website:
Malaysia - Vietnam (Semi Final 1) (3 : 4)
Goal list Player JsyNo Minute Team Remark
LE QUOC VUONG 20 26 Vietnam
PHAM VAN QUYEN 10 50 Vietnam
MOHD SYAMSURI MUSTAFA 22 73 Malaysia
PHAM VAN QUYEN 10 79 Vietnam
ZAINIZAM B.MARJAN 23 85 Malaysia
INDRA P.B. MAHAYUDDIN 13 87 Malaysia
PHAN THANH BINH 18 90 Vietnam
:x but what to do..
10-12-2003, 01:02 AM
It was a rather disappointing loss, but I would say that Malaysian players play their heart out and to come back from 1-3 to equalize is a feat by itself!
10-12-2003, 01:06 AM
Current medal table is :-
Ranking table
Country G S B T
Vietnam 73 32 36 141
Thailand 37 48 49 134
Indonesia 26 31 34 91
Malaysia 23 25 26 74
Philippines 21 21 41 83
Singapore 17 19 21 57
Myanmar 4 21 25 50
Cambodia 1 2 4 7
Laos 1 1 3 5
Brunei 0 1 5 6
Timor Leste 0 0 0 0
Malaysia added 4 golds, one by Rhythemic Gymnastic team, 1 by Swimming (Siow Yi Ting), 2 by shooting (Nurul Huda and team)
10-12-2003, 01:37 AM
Below are certain updates:-
Our men basketball beats Sin 72-65 (our 3rd win)
So, we have Thai and Phi. Phil looks impressive with stron winning.
Our women team crashed Phil 65-54. (our 2nd win)
We still have Indon, Sin, and Thai to deal with.
For traditional chess single(men):-
Round 1:
LIEW CHEE MENG lost
MOK TZE MENG lost
WONG ZI JING draw
LIM YEE WENG lost
MAS HAFIZULHILMI ABD. RAHMAN win
Round 2:
LIEW CHEE MENG win
MOK TZE MENG win
WONG ZI JING lost
LIM YEE WENG win
Round 3:
LIEW CHEE MENG win
MOK TZE MENG win
WONG ZI JING win
LIM YEE WENG win
MAS HAFIZULHILMI ABD. RAHMAN draw
For women traditional chess:
Round 1:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM draw
LIM JEAN NIE win
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI win
ROSLINA MARMONO win
LEE SAMANTHA draw
Round 2:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM win
LIM JEAN NIE lost
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI lost
ROSLINA MARMONO lost
LEE SAMANTHA draw
Round 3:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM lost
LIM JEAN NIE lost
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI win
ROSLINA MARMONO draw
LEE SAMANTHA win
While we are indulge in men soccer, our women soccer lost 0-8 to Myanmar in semi-final
Malaysia qualified for men sepaktakraw team semi-final ,beating Myan and Viet 2-1 for both games.
our tennis:
Si Yew Ming lost in quarter final (men single)
Khoo Chin Bee got upset lost in quarter final(women single)
mixed double by Si Yew Ming and Khoo Chin Bee lost in semi final
Taekwando and Wushu starts tomorrow!
silverblue
10-12-2003, 03:12 AM
Yay! Go Wan Yuen for Taekwondo!!! :) hope the TKD team bag many medals home!! :)
huilinchin
10-12-2003, 04:20 AM
chenchow, thanks a lot for helping to post the results...
and Schye for the links ... yippee!!
Btw, the guy whom i talked about who stared at the chess board for 45 mins is Mas, Hafizulhelmi. He is the best player I have even seen live.
hope Malaysia win more medals for sea games! :D
-Hui Lin ^_^
asterixius
10-12-2003, 09:50 AM
:cry: MAlaysia lost to vietnam 2-1 but goalkeeper syamsuri mustafa shoot his goal from the goalpost....wow..
10-12-2003, 10:45 AM
asterixius, thanks for joining Recom and start posting! Hope you could introduce yourself in the introduce yourself thread and also become active!
Malaysia lost 3-4 to Vietnam in fact, check the earlier posts...and our goalkeeper did score a goal.
10-12-2003, 11:16 AM
The hosts had taken a 2-0 lead 50 minutes into the match with goals by Le Quoc Vuong (26th) and Pham Van Quyen. But their goalkeeper, Ngyuen The Anh, handed Malaysia a lifeline in the 73rd minute.
Malaysian goalkeeper Mohd Syamsuri Mustafa punted the ball upfield and The Anh came to the top of the box in an attempt to collect it. But the ball took a bounce over his head and sailed into goal.
must be his most embarassing moment :P
10-12-2003, 12:37 PM
wow...that must be some goal...from that far?
huilinchin
10-12-2003, 01:15 PM
Country G S B T
Vietnam 74 33 38 145
Thailand 38 48 50 136
Indonesia 28 34 37 99
Malaysia 24 26 26 76
Philippines 21 22 41 84
Singapore 19 21 22 62
Myanmar 4 21 25 50
Cambodia 1 2 4 7
Brunei 1 1 6 8
Laos 1 1 3 5
Timor Leste 0 0 0 0
Individual Men's Singles Badminton
PRIDE is at stake and a wounded Roslin Hashim will be out to redeem himself in the individual men's singles badminton competition, which begins today at the Tan Binh Sports Hall in Ho Chi Minh City.
While Roslin is expected to sail through to the semi-finals, second seed Wong Choong Hann may have to work a bit harder.
The World Championships runner-up faces a tricky hurdle against either Thai number two Anuphap Thiraratsakul or Simon Santoso later in the day.
Choong Hann opens his campaign against Nguyen Quang Minh of Vietnam.
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2003/12/10/sports/6880570&sec=sports
GO, GO, GO Choong Hann and Roslin!!!
-Hui Lin ^_^
huilinchin
10-12-2003, 01:21 PM
Silverblue, you are so right ... the sea games anthem is very very nice ... i like it a lot ... more motivated now for finals! ... addicted to it :D
Download it from:-
http://english.seagames22.com.vn/modules/dkpt/hymn.asp
-Hui Lin ^_^
11-12-2003, 12:13 AM
Current medal tally:-
Ranking table
Country G S B T
Vietnam 84 46 51 181
Thailand 61 63 62 186
Indonesia 36 38 53 127
Malaysia 30 29 34 93
Philippines 27 32 46 105
Singapore 22 23 27 72
Myanmar 4 27 31 62
Laos 1 3 9 13
Cambodia 1 2 7 10
Brunei 1 1 6 8
Timor Leste 0 0 0 0
7 more golds were added for Malaysia.
1 by Siow Yi Ting in Swimming, 1 by Nazmizan in 200m sprint, 1 in 400m hurdlers by Nuraseela, 1 in 20km walk by Shahrrulhaizy, 1 in cycling by ShahrulNeeza, 1 in Pencak Silat, 1 in Rhythemic Gymnastic by Durratun Nashihin
11-12-2003, 12:42 AM
Our women basketball thrashed Sin 83-65, looks set for a gold medal!
For badminton, both Roslin and Choong Hann qualified for quarter final.
Both our men doubles qualify for quarter final as well.
Our mixed double pair qualified for quarter final as well.
Our women single and women double got bye, so they are in quarter final as well!
Round 4:
LIEW CHEE MENG lost
MOK TZE MENG lost
WONG ZI JING draw
LIM YEE WENG win
MAS HAFIZULHILMI ABD. RAHMAN draw
Round 5:
LIEW CHEE MENG draw or lost (both players were named chee meng)
MOK TZE MENG lost
WONG ZI JING draw
LIM YEE WENG draw or lost (both players were named chee meng)
Round 4:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM draw
LIM JEAN NIE win
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI win
ROSLINA MARMONO draw
LEE SAMANTHA lost
Round 5:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM draw
LIM JEAN NIE draw
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI win
ROSLINA MARMONO win
LEE SAMANTHA draw
Our sepak takraw team lost 0-3 to Thailand in the final, so we can only settle for silver.
Our taekwando team, out of 6 events contested today, we only had a bronze to show. The rest were rather disappointing. We lost in first round for a few events...
Both our table tennis women double lost in quarter final.
Our commonwealth games gold medalist for weightlifting, Mohd Hidayat, only win a bronze in Sea Games.
11-12-2003, 05:28 AM
i dont care whether its gold or anything. as long as we trash singapore, that's good.
Ishveir
12-12-2003, 12:43 AM
well guys
the rhythmic gymnasts (the gals) seem to really doing well out there, both individual and team alike, contributing lots of Golds lately.
here is the recent table:
Ranking table
Country G S B T
Vietnam 106 66 72 244
Thailand 77 72 76 225
Indonesia 45 51 68 164
Malaysia 37 36 46 119
Philippines 35 36 53 124
Singapore 26 29 32 87
12-12-2003, 01:33 AM
For those sports fans out there,
Malaysia men basketball team lost to Thai 74-79, which I think would mean Malaysia has to settle for bronze in men basketball. Phil which thrashed Thai would be too hot to contain.
For badminton,
men single, wong choong hann vs sony dwi kuncoro in the final. Sony beat roslin in the semi-final.
Our men double confirmed a gold and a silver, with choong tan fook and lee wan wah playing against chew choong eng and chang kim wai.
For women single, wong mew choo keeps Jalur Gemilang flying up high. She qualified for final to play against Salakjit Ponsana from Thai.
For women double, chin eei hui and wong pei tty lost in semi-final, so could only settle for a bronze.
For mixed double, lee wan wah and wong pei tty lost in quarter final, and chew choong eng and chin eei hui conceded a walkover in semi final, so again another bronze medal.
But we have a good chance to clinch 3 gold medals from badminton!
Round 6:
LIEW CHEE MENG win
MOK TZE MENG win
WONG ZI JING win
LIM YEE WENG lost
MAS HAFIZULHILMI ABD. RAHMAN lost
Round 6:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM lost
LIM JEAN NIE lost
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI lost
ROSLINA MARMONO lost
LEE SAMANTHA draw
Malaysia women soccer team lost 1-6 to Thai in 3rd placing playoff. So, we ended up with no medal. Our men soccer team will play Myanmar today for 3rd placing playoff. Vietnam beat Myanmar 2-1 in women soccer final!
For sepaktakraw regu, Malaysia has beaten Sin and Phil 2-0, will play Indon tomorrow for top of the group, to avoid facing Thai in semi-final.
For taekwando, Lee Wan Yuen lost in final to a Vietnam athlete. Che Chew Chan lost in final as well to a Phil athlete. Lee Pei Fen lost in the final as well to an Indon athlete. Wong Kai Meng lost in semi-final, so just a bronze. So, just 3 silver and 1 bronze today in taekwando.
Our Wushu athlete continued to fire blank.
That's all the updates for today. Stay tuned!
12-12-2003, 10:45 AM
one sports miss the highlight, as I do not realize Malaysia takes part in it. Petangue, we managed to get 2 bronze medal in it! not too bad!
12-12-2003, 02:24 PM
To those Wushu fans, Ang Eng Chong just won a gold in changquan. Hopefully Ho Ro Bin will continue the ball rolling!
12-12-2003, 03:27 PM
Malaysia just won a gold medal in Pencak Silat Tanding 95kg through Mohd Azrin b. Abdul Malek. Syabas!!!
12-12-2003, 05:57 PM
Does anyone have any idea what are the rules of shuttle cock or how they calculate the points?
13-12-2003, 12:45 AM
Does anyone have any idea what are the rules of shuttle cock or how they calculate the points?
Do you mean badminton?
How long is this year's SEA Games? I didn't even realize it was on until I saw this thread.
I checked out the medal tally and boy, them Vietnamese are something aren't they? Does this SEA Games have the most sports ever or what? Only 10(?) countries and we have like a million medals played for already!
13-12-2003, 01:05 AM
topdog, vietnam games has an event called shuttlecock. Schye, i would try to help u find how they count, but it seems that the link for regulations of the sports seems not working
The Sea Games was from 5th to 14th Dec.
I don't think that this SEA Games is more than previous one... In the last Sea Games in KL, Malaysia won the games with 111 golds. Indon won before with like 170+ golds... So, there is no surprising in Vietnam winning a strings of golds, but I really think that Sea Games judging should be made more fair... It is always the host country that dominate the games...
Sports Update:
Malaysia men soccer team draw with myanmar 1-1 at full time, and eventually, we beat myanmar in penalty 4-2. Syabas!!! So, a bronze for us!
Thailand beat vietnam 2-1 in extra time...
For our golden galore, Wong Mew Choo won a gold medal in women single, our first gold medal in Women single since 1971. But Wong Choong Hann failed Malaysians. He lost to Sony Dwi Kuncoro in the final. So, had to settle for a silver. Choong Tan Fook and Lee Wan Wah beat Chang Kim Wai and Chew Choong Eng for the gold and Chang-Chew got a silver!
Ho Ro Bin got a gold in Nanquan.
Lim Yit Min got a gold in Taekwando.
So, we are now at 43 golds.
Medal Ranking table:-
Ranking table
Country G S B T
Vietnam 150 90 84 324
Thailand 87 91 95 273
Indonesia 53 64 95 212
Philippines 43 52 72 167
Malaysia 43 41 55 139
Singapore 29 31 49 109
Myanmar 14 39 48 101
Laos 1 5 14 20
Cambodia 1 5 11 17
Brunei 1 1 8 10
Timor Leste 0 0 0 0
We are just below Phillipines. Hope that we can bounce up and beat them!
Malaysia women basketball beat Indon by 95-52. One more game from another gold medal, but Phil will get a gold medal in men basketball. So, we would still be behind Phil.
Round 7:
LIEW CHEE MENG win
MOK TZE MENG win
WONG ZI JING win
LIM YEE WENG lost
Round 8:
LIEW CHEE MENG lost
MOK TZE MENG draw
WONG ZI JING win
LIM YEE WENG draw
Round 7:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM draw
LIM JEAN NIE draw
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI win
ROSLINA MARMONO draw
LEE SAMANTHA draw
Round 8:
ELIZA HANIN IBRAHIM lost
LIM JEAN NIE win
SITI ZULAIKHA FOUDZI draw
ROSLINA MARMONO draw
LEE SAMANTHA lost
Malaysia beat Indon 2-0 and Myanmar 2-1 for semi final of Sepak Takraw regu event.
13-12-2003, 01:28 AM
Indonesia 53 64 95 212
Timor Leste 0 0 0 0
looks like the indon doesn't miss their east timor. :D
13-12-2003, 01:34 PM
We are in sepak takraw regu final! Hope that we can add a gold there! Our other medal potential, including one more event by Ho Ro Bin, our women basketball team... erm, not sure where lies our golden hope for today, as it seems that it would be a tall order for Malaysian contingent to end the games with 50 golds.
sueyi
13-12-2003, 02:16 PM
hehe. hello. don't forget this, malaysia just won gold in the rhythmic gymnastics event!! =D
http://www.emedia.com.my/Current_News/MM/Thursday/Sport/20031211122201/pp_index_html
Extract:
DURRATUN NASHIHIN ROSLI, as expected, was hailed the the best rhythmic gymnast in the region, after a brilliant performance in the Individual All-Around final (IAAF) at the Quan Nga Sports Palace in Hanoi yesterday.
we have great local gymnasts! too bad i have never seen their performance ... i have only seen the performance of the thai girl tharatip sridee and she is very good, who only won gold, so ours must be much better!! =D
13-12-2003, 08:02 PM
hi guys.. long time no online... seems like u guys r starting to like to use polls... ok.. just come and visit :D
To those Wushu fans, Ang Eng Chong just won a gold in changquan. Hopefully Ho Ro Bin will continue the ball rolling!
ang eng chong.... this fellow never know he's now better that poh soon... haha. last time he argue with me when we were roomates in bukit jalil stadium... haha... nice guy actually... his hairstyle just got worse... and good luck to u robin 8O
too bad I left my sports early... never have the chance to experience what eng chong has experience... oh guy... u never know how much pocket money government give u once u become an athlete..... big angpau
see u... tata
(busy shopping for leaving to oversea...)
13-12-2003, 11:11 PM
iQing, thanks for visiting Recom!!! Hope you will continue to visit Recom and share your thoughts. It will be a good idea, if you could invite Eng Chong to share his thoughts in Recom, since both of you were roommates.
Congrats to our women basketball team for winning the gold medal, but I think something down the line is wrong. We lost to Thai 69-74 in the last game, when Thai lost to Phi and Sin, whereas we beat Phil and Sin by more than 10 points. Hope that complacence don't get to their head.
Siti Zulaikha won a bronze in women traditional chess single. men basketball team got a bronze too.
sepak takraw, we got a silver, lost to Thai
For Wushu nagun event, Pui Fook Chien won a bronze, whereas Ho Ro Bin finished fifth.
Our champaign came to an end with 5th rank and 44 golds.
Ranking table
Country G S B T
Vietnam 158 97 91 346
Thailand 90 93 98 281
Indonesia 55 68 98 221
Philippines 48 54 75 177
Malaysia 44 42 59 145
Singapore 30 33 50 113
Myanmar 16 43 50 109
Laos 1 5 15 21
Cambodia 1 5 11 17
Brunei 1 1 8 10
Timor Leste 0 0 0 0
Thanks sueyi for pointing out. I forgot to mention the gold medalist on 11th, as i was busy with my exam. Those 7 golds include Durratun (2 golds) for rhythemic gymnastic, yuan yu fang(20km walk), Mohd Shahrul(long jump), Mohd Malik Tobias (decathlon), Che Mohd Azrul (weightlifting), Ricky Teh (skeet - shooting).
To see all our medalists, go to http://english.seagames22.com.vn/modules/db/medal_by_ctry.asp?ctry=MAS
I have added a poll for us to evaluate on the performance of our athletes!
14-12-2003, 09:47 AM
Below is about the next Sea Games:-
http://www2.recom.org:8000/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=853
Quote from that news "Dayrit said at a press conference at the Daewoo Hotel that the Philippines would also want to include the traditional sport of arnis (a martial arts with similarities to India's silambam) and dance sports.
He said that they would also press for Olympic sports, baseball and softball, to be included in the programme. "
So, are we going to continue seeing all these kind of traditional sports being introduced in Sea Games?
14-12-2003, 07:29 PM
Don?t you think that if every host country lists their traditional sports as events in Sea game, it will be a mess? I meant the sports are never being played by other countries and it can?t be a competition after all. Furthermore usually the event will be replaced or being eliminated in the next Sea game, so why not just make them a show if they really want to introduce the game to other countries?
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 06:06 AM
May be Recom should hold a sports section that cocerns all about the sports events happening in Malaysia... MSSM for example, and we also would like to know how Malaysians are doing in the World Arena as well :)