View Full Version : Domestic Trade Affairs Ministry officers with guns...
16-01-2005, 05:51 PM
Shot VCD seller fighting for life
PENANG: A 19-year-old VCD peddler is fighting for his life after being shot by an enforcement officer during a struggle.
Yeoh Yew Jin has been warded at the intensive care unit of a private hospital with a chest wound.
He was shot during a struggle with three Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry enforcement officers outside the Goodall Cafe in Gottlieb Road here at 9.45pm on Thursday.
The bullet from a semi-automatic pistol which hit him was fired at close range, passed through his chest and hit the back of Chow Heng Khow, 52, who was having dinner nearby.
via the star
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/1/15/nation/9906321&sec=nation
what say you?
http://www.jeffooi.com/archives/Brutality_Star_050115.jpg
16-01-2005, 07:42 PM
I'm confused... Where was the public uproar when the VCD gangster beats up law enforcements and point guns, etc to them when raid happens? I'm sure there's more to this story rather then a, Poor boy helps family by selling VCD got shot by maniac trade/consumer affair enforcement.
ALso, The bigger they make this story the faster Malaysians are going to loose their cetak rompak stuff.
16-01-2005, 08:10 PM
Man attacks enforcement officer, enforcement officer fires in retaliation. Simple as that. Try attacking a pollice officer and see if he reacts the same way...
I've read the report on the Star and they seem to be taking a rather biased stand against the officer in this case.
don't care as much about the vcd seller, but if you read the article, the bullet went through his chest and hit a guy having dinner at a restaurant nearby. sucks to be him, huh?
20-01-2005, 02:47 AM
don't care as much about the vcd seller, but if you read the article, the bullet went through his chest and hit a guy having dinner at a restaurant nearby. sucks to be him, huh?
there's talk that the goverment is refusing to foot his medical bill and the bullet is still in his body. WTF? don't we have emergency rooms in Malaysia? I think there's more to this story but from what i'm reading it is so full of shit.
I know you can get a heart surgery for free in a goverment hospital..
20-01-2005, 03:02 AM
Man attacks enforcement officer, enforcement officer fires in retaliation. Simple as that. Try attacking a pollice officer and see if he reacts the same way...
I've read the report on the Star and they seem to be taking a rather biased stand against the officer in this case.
Open fire....agree. But shoot his chest ...disagree. How can policemen kill someone just because he attacked him first? (From the reports, he attacked them by just using a baseball bat, not a gun). So in this case, if the enforcement officer shoot his limbs (justice shot), it's acceptable...
But heck...shoot him on his chest...and someone sitting in kopitiam got hit by the slug as well...What if the VCD seller dies? What if the innocent kopitiam customer suffers from serious injuries?
20-01-2005, 05:14 AM
well... i just wonder whether the enforcement officers have enough training to handle gun??
becoz the officer shld have the knowledge that firing a bullet, close to body, can penetrate the body of the target and continue in a projectile motion...
and i think it shld be possible for the officer to fire a warning shot... i dun think that any sane man will dare to attack an officer after the officer fired a warning shot...
so, i think this whole case is not about the officer shooting who under what condition... but more like how well the enforcement officers are trained in handling such situation and a firearm...
it is irresponsible for an officer to fire a shot without considering the consequences. Try to imagine policemen firing into a crowd becoz there's a robber running into the crowd...
20-01-2005, 06:14 AM
The officer did shoot warning shots. He shot twice! the VCD thug must be some hardcore kongsi guy who believes he's above the law and if given the chances i'm sure the officer would be the one in ICU right now.
20-01-2005, 06:21 AM
The officer did shoot warning shots. He shot twice! the VCD thug must be some hardcore kongsi guy who believes he's above the law and if given the chances i'm sure the officer would be the one in ICU right now.
Shot twice!? That's even worst. Second shot should be directed to limbs...not to the chest (that's killing shot!).
20-01-2005, 06:27 AM
This is exactly how I believe things are. Those VCD sellers aren't as benign as you think they may be...
Shot twice!? That's even worst. Second shot should be directed to limbs...not to the chest (that's killing shot!).
I believe third was refering to the warning shots. Anyway, I agree that he should be shot in the limbs. Problem is, it isn't that easy to do when someone is charging at you with a baseball bat. From my perspective of things, the fact that the officer fired at nearly point blank range suggested that he might have actually hesitated to fire until the last minute.
20-01-2005, 06:35 AM
I meant two warning shots before he shot the poor innocent VCD.
Well, look at the bright site. Now the VCD sellers nationwide will have more respect and won't try to beat up these cruel, gun touting cowboy Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry enforcement officers.
Attacking a Law enforcement officer should be an automatic 2 years in prison in my opinion. After the VCD guy is out of the hospital he should be charged in the court.
20-01-2005, 06:36 AM
well... my bad for not knowing the officer shot 2 warning shots..
the articles on NST online didn't mention about it...
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/National/NST32211079.txt/Article/indexb_html
even the article on The Star online only mention that :
?The 48-year-old enforcement officer claimed that he opened fire twice in self-defence as the youth and his friend had attacked him and two colleagues with baseball bats.
firing twice??? including 1 warning shot, or izzit twice pointing at the target, but 'fortunately' only one hit the intended target and also the unfortunate man(for being at the wrong place at the wrong time.. :P)...
anybody has more reliable and clearer sources... about what did happen??
but, if he did hesitated before shooting, isn't that lack of training... with a firearm in hand, i don't think there's margin for hesitating... and this still doesn't explain the "unfortunate" event of the bullet penetrated the VCD thug's body and buried in another's body... (forgot the details, but it's somewhere under the lung, and extracting the bullet is dangerous)
of coz talking here is much easier than handling a gun and shooting it at someone... but since the enforcement officers wanted the guns... they must be up to handle it...
20-01-2005, 08:16 AM
why can't these officers be equipped with rubber bullets instead?
20-01-2005, 08:28 AM
Or better yet, Get these VCD vendors to understand that attacking an Officer of the Law is not a great Idea. Who in their right mind would dare to hit somebody with a baseball bat when that somebody has a gun pointed at them. I think the officer did the right thing irregardless of the unpopularity of the outcome.
What sickens me the most is, Our media is not even bringgin up the subject of the nature of the Job of these Officers. We need to send the editor of the star to conduct one raid undercover and make him understand that these VCD sellers are not so innocent.
I still remember how the VCD gangs threaten to burn down an entire building if the police that was surrounding them outside didn't leave. The building was reported to be where many of the Pirated VCDs/DVDs are made at. Pretty scary.. these people need to be sent to jail and get some ass kicking.
The 19 y.o is fortunate to had survived this whole fiasco and i hope some sort of legal action would be taken against him. If not.. it'll be a damn shame.
20-01-2005, 04:28 PM
Well, look at the bright site. Now the VCD sellers nationwide will have more respect and won't try to beat up these cruel, gun touting cowboy Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry enforcement officers.
I don't think so, all VCD sellers would get angry and try to get into their 'connections' which means in the future, they will be carrying guns too. much like drug case..
I think the officers shd use non-leathal weapons instead. A stun-gun, baton, and something like that. It is dangerous for them to be armed with guns, and a misuse of power is likely. Futhermore, they do not have a proper code of conduct in this manner as well as proper training in gun handlings.