View Full Version : Cooking and other interesting skills
28-11-2003, 02:30 PM
A Forum on cooking and other skils...
branched out from the Tomato Forum...
This forum has met it's needs of discussing what a tomato is. I want to close this forum so that discussions are more organized. If we want to discuss other things, then we should post them in the correct places.
As i see it, the forum topic is getting old and people are starting to talk about cooking and culture, etc
let's continue our discussion...
28-11-2003, 02:32 PM
Cooking...
as uni students I believe that it would be a great advantage if we know how to cook... I believe that you will agree with me right?
so I think that it wont cause harm if ReCom provide some weblink to some cooking website... or ReCom can provide some GUI articles on cooking... I think such articles make ReCom a more cheerful place...
it's just like..
when you enter ReCom..
and you see a lot of nice, simple articles...
where these articles teach you new, yet interesting skills like cooking, beauty tips, simple body building tips (something like that...) etc
would you feel delighted, happy and excited...?
I think these little things that facinates our members will attracted them to come to ReCom often... don't you think so..
again.. it is just my personal opinion..
I wanna promote paper-wrapped chicken, a recipe found by my roomate, Sueyi, another Malaysian in CMU, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
at http://thestar.com.my/kuali or www.kuali.com
She cooked it once. Then she taught me and I know how to cook it too!
It was extremely delicious, better than the ones opposites Mines Shopping Complex near Kajang...hehe
Below is the recipe:-
CHEE POW KAI (Paper Wrapped Chicken)
Ingredients
750g deboned chicken meat, cut into chunky pieces
25g ginger, shredded
25g ginger, pounded and squeezed for juice
3 sprigs spring onion, shredded
13 to 14 pieces greaseproof paper
Seasoning (combine):
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp light soy sauce
1 tsp oyster sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp ginger juice
1/2 tsp chicken stock granules
1 tbsp cooking wine
1 tsp cornflour
Method
Combine chicken meat with seasoning and add 1 tablespoon oil. Mix well to blend.
Set aside to marinate for several hours.
Place a piece of chicken meat with some shredded ginger and spring onions in the
centre of a piece of greaseproof paper.
Top with some shredded ginger and spring onions. Fold into a packet and staple to secure.
Deep-fry the packets in hot oil for seven to nine minutes or till fragrant.
I changed the recipe a little by rubbing the chicken with a little salt before mixing it with the other ingredients to make it taste better. Ginger is one of the MUST-HAVE ingredients.
It's even better to marinate the chicken overnight.
VERY EASY!! TRY IT!!! NYUM NYUM NYUM ...
:D :D :D
royston
28-11-2003, 11:43 PM
Oh man... initially Recom was a site that made me cracked my head to think and brainstorm but now it makes me feel... HUNGRY !!!
Foobar, thanks for the recipe... Your contribution has made Recom alive!! Haha... I will try to cook it myself... heehee... :twisted:
~ roy ~
silverblue
29-11-2003, 09:31 AM
Hmmm.. okay.. maybe this isn't such a bad idea afterall....
Anyway, would appreciate it if people who have experience cooking in DORMS to help contribute some recipe that
1) doesn't require alot of preparation time
2) healthy
3) cheap
4) delicious
The number criteria is of course the most important lar... ;)
Thanks!
soul_out
29-11-2003, 09:38 AM
I agreed. Students need some time-saving, cheap yet nutritional foods...particularly Malaysian food.
sueyi
25-12-2003, 11:20 AM
Hello ...
I must say that when I read this thread I can't help but smiling and feel like laughing ... =D Anyway I want to share my recipe for something that taste like ma po tofu but is not .. the thing with ma po tofu is you need the szechuan vege, but staying overseas, can't always find it easily!
The recipe goes as such:
- fry ground pork (mix first with sesame oil, alot white pepper, soya sauce, etc etc -- whatever you have)
- add the tofu to the pork while frying (tofu has been cut into cubed pieces)
- add a little water (so that it has a little gravy)
- add frozen mixed vege or whatever vege you have
- add tom yam paste, more soya sauce, a little sugar, more white pepper, etc etc
Surprisingly, it comes out tasting like ma po tofu -- I think it must be that the sour taste of the tom yam is good substitute for szechuan chai =D
One food that is especially easy to prepare .. I think this is most relevant for students that are studying in US, because it is so easy to buy pasta sauce there .. when I am very lazy I often eat pasta. This involves boiling the pasta, at the same time heat/microwave some sauce from the bottle, and eat the pasta with the sauce.
I think the best website on malaysian food is Cyberkuali (www.thestar.com.my/kuali) ... Amy Beh is the best!!!
Just my 2 cents ... eat well, everybody =)
25-12-2003, 12:10 PM
mapo tofu...yum!
when school's in session i usually cook for at least 3 meals at one go. i would rather eat whatever i manage to whip up than bland dorm food.
sueyi
25-12-2003, 01:45 PM
whoops .. i tried to go to Cyberkuali and realised the url has changed .. it is now http://kuali.com
Ishveir
25-12-2003, 03:58 PM
Yeah well cooking as in survival..
seriously i rather eat whatever i cook - whether edible or not - rather than eat in the dining halls. Same food everyday how can i not get bored? I am sure many of us share the same feeling too.
well yeah i can cook, and i am proud of it :) :P
Anyone on chicken curry, kicap chicken or sambal chicken - hehe i make them close to what they should taste like if not perfect. No kidding, i was surprised myself when i first made them
Yeah it is a good way to take a break and unwind, plus satisfaction is there too
reminds me of Jalan jalan cari makan
i love to cook..ahahahaha...how often you hear that from a guy????
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
26-12-2003, 07:08 AM
Cooking...mm...an essential skill indeed..even my younger brother likes to cook even at his tender age. Too bad, as for my Darling, he could hardly fry an egg himself. Anyway, with some skills at hand definitely would be much beneficial, as you can be independent rather than depend on others to get things done.
Nowadays, many girls don't even can cook well, which I think is a shame. In the olden days, our grandmas, great great grandmas are the one to take care of the food and diet of big families. Due to today's advanced techonology and more women are career-minded, everything is come in handy, with 3-minute in microwave or instant packets of bah-kut-teh, curry etc. Come to think about it, if one day you would spare the time and utilize it by preparing a nice meal for your family, even with normal home dishes, I'm sure that would be more than appreciated.
27-12-2003, 06:06 AM
Nowadays, many girls don't even can cook well, which I think is a shame.
True true! I'm so shocked when I learned that most of my female friends can't make the simple stuff I've picked up myself just by simply throwing things in to a pan and wait for it to change color.
And worst of all, some tabloids have started claiming that cooking is an essential skill for guys if they want to pick up girls! Oh no! 8O
meh idont want to cook for girls. only for myself :p nak makan masak sendiri aa
I can cook some simple stuff like chicken curry and sambal tumis .. but only for myself .. the reason? hehehe segan la ... my cooking is not very good so *fiddle*fiddle* ... I myself don't care much about the taste .. as long as it is edible then I give it a green light ... :wink:
just slam dunk evrything in. if its not burnt you can eat it. hell you can eat it even if it is burnt :p
27-12-2003, 01:58 PM
I have been helping my sister to cook for my family since I was in secondary but because I always just "help" so basically I am not that good in cooking until I came to Japan. I was only good in cutting and preparing the material for the meal.I can cut quite fast even while watching TV (though i have cut my own fingers while i was showing off this skill to my juniors :lol: )
When i was in Tokyo, my friends and I had formed a group so that we can take turn to cook for each other so that we won?t have to cook everyday ourselves. I still remember the 1st week that we were forced to finished off those "incredible" meals but the try and error method always works :roll: although it alwasy end up not the same with the original sample. When other foreigners asked us if those are Malaysians food, we will say its our own recipes... :oops:
I think I am kind of semi-PRO now ----- over confident ;) with my own recipes but I still hate to fry@<hidden> because of those oil that will make my whole body smelly.
Oh yeah, my father is a good in cooking too. In fact better than my mom. So, maybe I have got some of the genes with me which make me as creative as he is in cooking ....hihi...
silverblue
29-12-2003, 08:55 PM
This is something simple, healthy, delicious and fast. Try it - you won't regret! ;)
(For two persons)
2 cups rice
2 chicken drumsticks (or beef or hotdog or nuggets or whatever u fancy)
2 teaspoon chicken / ikan bilis stock
1 cup mixed vege (or chopped carrots, mushrooms, tomatoes,
celery.........plus some raisins if desired)
(A) Marinate chicken, etc. with some salt & pepper (+soy sauce or oyster
sauce & sesame oil if desired)
(B) Boil rice with chicken stock only in rice cooker (till half-cooked,
about 5 to 10 mins)
(C) Add in meat & vege + anything else u want to (nuts,yam, fish, etc. as
variation) to the rice cooker
(D)Let cook to finish then.....allow to stand for a while.....(5
mins)...that's it!
(E)If too much trouble, just dump everything together at one go in the
begining and let the cooker do the rest.....
Good Luck trying! GImme feedback if you can! :P
lol .. all dumped together and we get "lazy cheryl's 10-minutes chicken rice" ..
btw, cornellians in Malaysia ... can you believe I can see the grass right now here in Ithaca??? I can't even see a single speck of snow ... isn't that one of the wonders of the world???
sueyi
30-12-2003, 02:29 AM
hehe .. it was the same in pittsburgh yesterday, and today too. bright and sunny in the middle of winter =)
Ishveir
30-12-2003, 06:20 AM
ok here in the mood to share original chicken curry.
ingredients: Curry powder (chicken preferably, very important!)1 big onion, 1 big potato, 3 cinnamon sticks, Chilli powder, water
1) Blender 1 big onion with a little chilli powder mixed with it (dont forget a little water in the blender) Peel and Dice potato to large cubes
2)Heat oil, throw in 3 cinnamon sticks
ok step 0 is of course get the chicken, suggestion:- 3pieces of drumsticks and 3 pieces of chicken breats- clean it up, remove the fats.
3)as soon as smell developes, add the blendered onion
4)fry for 10 minutes while continues stirring, add diced potatoes (cut them large)
5)add two tablespoon of curry powder(important that it is chicken curry powder or not a normal one will do) add salt to taste too.
6)stir well, add half mug of water, then add the cut &cleaned chicken pieces.
7) leave to medium fire cook for 30 minutes add more water if it gets dry
8)Wallah, there iz zee splendid arohmatikk chihkehn cohwee :P
enjoy..
oh yeah believe me this is worth the effort. my guarantees :P