View Full Version : Malaysian Culture

soul_out
28-11-2003, 09:33 PM
If your foreigner friends asked you about Malaysian Culture, what are you going to tell them? Any particular Malaysian culture which we can be proud of? The meaning of "Malaysian Culture" here is a culture that involve every citizens of Malaysia irrespective of ethnicity. I still can't think of any.

royston
28-11-2003, 11:08 PM
soul out, my english is not that good but i guess the only thing that we feel proud of is, with 3 major races staying together in a small country, Malaysia is still much more peaceful than other countries such as US. Minimum racist, conflicts and so forth.

But normally when my friends from other country ask me what are the things that I feel proud of Malaysia is, the food :wink: especially Penang ... hahah !!

~ roy ~

29-11-2003, 05:31 AM
"what are the things you proud about your country?" is perhaps the most difficult to Malaysians ... for one reason some of us (if not most of us) take our country for granted ... another reason is we are to shy to admit that we are proud with our country .. those are two of the thousands bad attitudes of us MALAYSIANS ... well sadly parts of me have that list but I'm working towards getting rid of them all ...

mmm so what are the things i'm proud about Malaysia? well, that's a hard question ... multiracial, perhaps? mmm what a cliche kind of answer ... :)

theT
29-11-2003, 07:38 AM
what else can we be proud of beside mamak-ing?

geez, mamak-ing/ warung in the wee hr is so much fun. no such thing in the US. mamak-ing is not the same as 24-hr restaurant or bar. its malaysian culture. wasting our times at mamak.

"mamak, mee goreng satu! and teh tarik kurang manis satu!"

geez. miss tht

soul_out
29-11-2003, 09:34 AM
Multiracial and mamak is indeed the unique culture of Malaysia. I'm always proud to be a Malaysian, although people here always thought that i'm a HongKee or Jap when they first meet me.

The racial harmony in Malaysia is really amazing, but no doubt there are still many racists out there. Any other Malaysian culture can you guys think of? Quite hard rite?

29-11-2003, 12:35 PM
I think there are a few things about malaysians that impress the foreigners

1. racial + religious harmony... really put them to shame??
2. very fast economical development... I think m'sia was once the fastest growing nation...
3. we have nice landscape and we have malaysian identity (buildings) like KLIA, KLCC, KL tower
4. Food
5. Bil gates and others are impress to see that MSC is a great success... they seem not able to believe it
6. colourful language?
7. confidence --- malaysia boleh

there are some of our cultures that need improvement
1. dirtyness
2. kiasu??
3. bad language + sometimes quite rough ??
4. passive, silence, dare not speak up
5. drive rudely

that's my opinion

nowadays I can see lotsa caucasians in KL.. do u think they have the potential to become the 4th big race of malaysia? they number seems increasing..

29-11-2003, 07:04 PM
I feel that the harmony amongst the races is something that has been made into a governmetn propoganda. To me this is something that has really been exaggerated. If you look at things, I think the US too has races living in harmony.

I think one of our true strong point is our hospitability, the way we make a visitor feel at home.

29-11-2003, 10:29 PM
I am always proud to be a Malaysian.
I am proud of the variety of fruits we have,
Proud of the mamak stall and the multiracial community we have,
Proud of the weather (we can go to the beach whenever we like),
Proud of the smile that we always have on our face which I can?t see in Japan,
Proud of the way we treat our guests - that is why many foreigners says that Malaysians are friendly.
Proud of having one of the tallest building in the world, a F1 circuit and a nice airport,
Err... I think that is all that popped out in my mind for the moment.
Will add on if I found any more.

silverblue
30-11-2003, 08:28 AM
FAVES
1) Durian, roti canai, neslo ice, bak kut teh, malacca pineapple tart, wantan mee, nasi lemak, chicken rice, cendol, ice kacang, satay, ikan bakar, rojak, tau fu fah & soya bean, char kuey teow, slurrppp!!! :P

2) Hari Raya, CNY, Deepavali, Christmas Day, Thaipusam, Wesak Day, New Year, Merdeka Day, Agong's Birthday, Labor's Day and all the other HOLIDAYS!! (I think Msia has more holidays than any other country!!)

3) Idyllic beaches, clear blue waters, palm trees gently swaying to the rhythm of crashing waves of Pulau Redang, Langkawi, Pulau Tioman, Pulau Pangkor, Pulau Perhentian etc etc :wink:

4) Summer all year round!! 8) Can show all the skin I want... hehe

5) Bangsar, Sri Hartamas, Williams Corner, Steven's corner, Bintang Walk... till the wee hours of morn!! ;)

6) all the lar, mah, wan, meh, cis, alamak, aiyoh, and the other modulations of the Manglish language that's only unique to us!

NO FAVES
1) Stinking & dirty toilets ... oh, and no soap or paper to dry hands :(

2) Intrakota, mini buses or any other public buses

3) Can't afford to leave my house/room/dorm door or gate unlocked for even a minute!!

4) People who dare not ask questions or speak their minds

5) Education system...

6) No fast or cheap internet connection :(

soul_out
30-11-2003, 09:56 AM
IQing: a) Is MSC a great success? Can you tell me what had it benefit our nation so far? b) Malaysia has very fast economical developement? This statement can only be used N years ago when u write your PMR karangan.

Guys, we're dealing with Malaysian Culture in this topic. I agree with language, landscape, food, racial harmony & confident(although our government like to talk loud but do nothing).

30-11-2003, 08:03 PM
I think MSC is still yet to be tangible...
the success that u can see from MSC are..

1. infrastructure : KLIA, KLCC, KL tower, F1 Sepang are under the area of MSC... don't u think these stuffs r successes?

2. MSC has successfully attracted foreign investment. Do you know that Bill Gates has come to Malaysia a few times for this project?

there are some more which I'm not sure but the statements above are enough to prove MSC's success...\

01-12-2003, 07:03 AM
One of the intangible benefit of MSC:-
Promote Malaysia. Narayana Murthy, Founder, Chairman and Chief Mentor of Infosys, came to Cornell and he talked about MSC. He is dubbed " Bill Gates of India" and he is the man instrumental of building up Bangalore (do I spell wrongly? the spelling seems wierd).

Other benefits of MSC:-
1. Almost every CEO of top companies, from Intel, Microsoft, IBM, Sony,... have provided at least some input and idea for MSC. Many of them have come to Cyberjaya for MSC meeting.
2. MSC has created 20,000 knowledge worker positions.
3. 800 start up in IT-sector has been founded.
4. Mentality of Malaysians towards IT have improved.

calibre2001
29-05-2004, 01:07 PM
I can't believe no one has highlighted the love Malaysians possess for bargains/offers.

29-05-2004, 11:57 PM
I think that's not Malaysian copyrighted coz you can find even more powerful bargainers in other parts of the world. Middle east for example, China also, basically any geographical location in the world that used to be a center for trade...