View Full Version : what SPM result to get into Matriculation ?

ivycly
23-04-2012, 09:54 AM
I am very curious with the way the authorities choose the candidates.
Do you all mind to tell me what is the spm result you get to get into the matriculation. I really hope to get the matriculation and i worried they don't offer me.

jzchai
23-04-2012, 01:13 PM
Hard to say.Because there is a kuota system which allows only certain percentage of chineses and indians to enter matrikulasi.10% I think.Or am I outdated???

plawks
23-04-2012, 02:44 PM
It really depends on whether if you are a bumi or not. I myself got in with 9A+,1A- but my 10A+,1A- friend didn't get in until after appealing. Usually for non bumis you need at least 6 to 7A+ I think, at least from what I observed.

Also you need an 'A' in your co-curricular activities marks.

If you are a bumi you are definitely a shoo-in, even with so-so results.

shawn95
23-04-2012, 02:56 PM
Jurusan Sains (M001)

C dalam Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Inggeris, Matematik Tambahan dan Kimia
B dalam Matematik
C dalam salah satu mata pelajaran daripada Fizik atau Biologi
Jurusan Perakaunan (M003)

C dalam Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Inggeris dan Matematik
E dalam Matematik Tambahan
C dalam dua mata pelajaran daripada Prinsip Perakaunan, Ekonomi Asas, Keusahawanan, Perdagangan, Sains Tambahan, Fizik, Kimia, Biologi atau Mata Pelajaran Teknik (Pengajian Kejuruteraan Awam / Pengajian Kejuruteraan Mekanikal/ Pengajian Kejuruteraan Elektrik dan Elektronik / Teknologi Kejuruteraan/ Lukisan Kejuruteraan)
Aliran Teknikal (M007)

C dalam Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Inggeris, Matematik Tambahan dan Fizik
B dalam Matematik
E dalam Kimia
C dalam satu mata pelajaran daripada Pengajian Kejuruteraan Awam / Pengajian Kejuruteraan Mekanikal/ Pengajian Kejuruteraan Elektrik dan Elektronik atau Teknologi Kejuruteraan
All this info is available at the gov't website and various blogs. www.moe.gov.my/bmkpm/ (http://www.moe.gov.my/bmkpm/)

I'm a bumiputera and I wasn't aware there was any racial quota system regarding matriculation. Matrikulasi is a safety net, a chance of redemption after SPM... if there is any redeeming needed.

23-04-2012, 03:29 PM
Jurusan Sains (M001)

C dalam Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Inggeris, Matematik Tambahan dan Kimia
B dalam Matematik
C dalam salah satu mata pelajaran daripada Fizik atau Biologi

Jurusan Perakaunan (M003)

C dalam Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Inggeris dan Matematik
E dalam Matematik Tambahan
C dalam dua mata pelajaran daripada Prinsip Perakaunan, Ekonomi Asas, Keusahawanan, Perdagangan, Sains Tambahan, Fizik, Kimia, Biologi atau Mata Pelajaran Teknik (Pengajian Kejuruteraan Awam / Pengajian Kejuruteraan Mekanikal/ Pengajian Kejuruteraan Elektrik dan Elektronik / Teknologi Kejuruteraan/ Lukisan Kejuruteraan)

Aliran Teknikal (M007)

C dalam Bahasa Melayu, Bahasa Inggeris, Matematik Tambahan dan Fizik
B dalam Matematik
E dalam Kimia
C dalam satu mata pelajaran daripada Pengajian Kejuruteraan Awam / Pengajian Kejuruteraan Mekanikal/ Pengajian Kejuruteraan Elektrik dan Elektronik atau Teknologi Kejuruteraan

All this info is available at the gov't website and various blogs. www.moe.gov.my/bmkpm/ (http://www.moe.gov.my/bmkpm/)

I'm a bumiputera and I wasn't aware there was any racial quota system regarding matriculation. Matrikulasi is a safety net, a chance of redemption after SPM... if there is any redeeming needed.
Hard to say.Because there is a kuota system which allows only certain percentage of chineses and indians to enter matrikulasi.10% I think.Or am I outdated???

Wat shawn95 said was d minimum requirement to enter matriculation. U need to do better than tat due to d competition especially for non-bumi and like what jzchai has said, thr a quota system of 90% bumi and 10% non-bumi. However, it oso depends on ur koku n ur luck.

marczeman
23-04-2012, 05:49 PM
Wat shawn95 said was d minimum requirement to enter matriculation. U need to do better than tat due to d competition especially for non-bumi and like what jzchai has said, thr a quota system of 90% bumi and 10% non-bumi. However, it oso depends on ur koku n ur luck.

Hmm. I personally know 8 non-bumi students(myself included) who got into matrics. All of them have at least one parent who is a public school teacher. I'll leave it to you to decide if that's just a coincidence or not.

EDIT : On recount, it's 8 students, not 7.

rocky2009
23-04-2012, 06:41 PM
i think they just select randomly. i don't believe it's anything to do with how good our results are. so just pray and hope for the best.

23-04-2012, 08:28 PM
Hmm. I personally know 7 non-bumi students(myself included) who got into matrics. All of them have at least one parent who is a public school teacher. I'll leave it to you to decide if that's just a coincidence or not.

I was offered to do matrics a few years ago. Neither of my parents are teachers.

ivycly
23-04-2012, 08:33 PM
It really depends on whether if you are a bumi or not. I myself got in with 9A+,1A- but my 10A+,1A- friend didn't get in until after appealing. Usually for non bumis you need at least 6 to 7A+ I think, at least from what I observed.

Also you need an 'A' in your co-curricular activities marks.

If you are a bumi you are definitely a shoo-in, even with so-so results.

i gt 9 in my co-curriculum.so i don't think it's a big problem to me. I gt 8 A+ ,i dunno is it good enough.

marczeman
23-04-2012, 11:28 PM
I was offered to do matrics a few years ago. Neither of my parents are teachers.

Oh lol okay. I didn't mean it as an absolute requirement. Plus God knows how things were "a few years ago". Haha anyway just to clarify, what I said was a personal observation. People who on paper seem to be much more eligible (9A+, high koko marks) don't get in, but children of gov servants (teachers in particular for some reason) do. My observations are based on successful applicants from my own school btw.
Obviously this is all speculation. Don't take it too seriously. It's just that I don't agree that it comes down to "luck".

23-04-2012, 11:46 PM
Oh lol okay. I didn't mean it as an absolute requirement. Plus God knows how things were "a few years ago". Haha anyway just to clarify, what I said was a personal observation. People who on paper seem to be much more eligible (9A+, high koko marks) don't get in, but children of gov servants (teachers in particular for some reason) do. My observations are based on successful applicants from my own school btw.
Obviously this is all speculation. Don't take it too seriously. It's just that I don't agree that it comes down to "luck".

LOL, don't worry :)) I was just stating that to argue against your speculation that this (i.e. students with parents who are teachers) is part of the criteria.

thanusha
24-04-2012, 12:49 AM
to get into matrics only 5 subjects are taken into consideration-maths,add maths and the 3 other science subject.....as per non-bumi, you must get at least 4 a+ out of this 5 subjects....or not you stand no chance at all to be selected.....and as for kokum....actually its not that important....if u got A....then u r safe.......
as per the issue of standing a greater chance to get into matrics if ur parents r teachers.....its true....but only for those who appealed for the 2nd intake( means the rayuan case):wink

shawn95
24-04-2012, 04:43 PM
Hey all,

So results are tomorrow. But does anyone actually know how to check the results? I know we can through 1) SMS and the 2) website.

Anyone know the specific steps of these two checking methods?

Cheers

thanusha
24-04-2012, 05:05 PM
http://lonelystarz.blogspot.com/2012/04/semak-keputusan-matrikulasi-2012-secara.html

hope this helps...:))

JenniferL
26-04-2012, 12:57 PM
I got KMNS and my spm result is 7A+, 2A and 1A-..
7 of my classmates got matrikulasi too...
Overall, I think u need to have at least 7A+ and also koku marks >8..
for me and my friends, our koku marks are 9 - 9.4

marczeman
29-04-2012, 11:34 PM
I got KMNS and my spm result is 7A+, 2A and 1A-..
7 of my classmates got matrikulasi too...
Overall, I think u need to have at least 7A+ and also koku marks >8..
for me and my friends, our koku marks are 9 - 9.4

KMNS? Haha that's where I just got out from. You'll hate everything at first, then later grow to love it.

Guinevere
30-04-2012, 01:24 PM
Hmm. I personally know 8 non-bumi students(myself included) who got into matrics. All of them have at least one parent who is a public school teacher. I'll leave it to you to decide if that's just a coincidence or not.

EDIT : On recount, it's 8 students, not 7.

might b partially true...maybe public servants children stand a higher chance...coz most of the nons in my matrix last year were public servants kids too..most, not all