View Full Version : KMNS Kolej Matrikulasi negeri sembilan 2012/2013
ivycly
25-04-2012, 11:34 AM
Anyone gt KMNS?? what is the time for registration??
whr u all come from??
Pris-C
25-04-2012, 09:09 PM
hii.......... this is the official web of kmns
http://www.kmns.matrik.edu.my/
ivycly
25-04-2012, 09:34 PM
hii.......... this is the official web of kmns
http://www.kmns.matrik.edu.my/
you gt kmns too?
NicoleJY
25-04-2012, 10:06 PM
I got KMNS but I'll probably not be going. :/
26-04-2012, 12:18 AM
what is the time for registration??
you'll soon receive an envelope frm KMNS. They will tell u the time of registration cause my time, thr ws 2 session of registration. One for the morning and another at d afternoon.
JenniferL
26-04-2012, 12:50 PM
I got KMNS too.. 7 of my classmates all get the same place..
26-04-2012, 06:46 PM
Tips on thing to bring there.
1.dokumen pendaftaran pelajar
2.cloth
3.shoe
4.bag
5.medicine
6.cloth hanger+cloth clips
9.reference books
10.blanket
11.writing material
12.spoon+fork
13.bowl+cup
14.dish washer
15.sponge to wash dishes
16.big pail(wash cloth)
17.small pail(put all the shampoo)
18.shampoo
19.hp charger
20.pendrive
21.square set+flexible ruler
22.umbrella(goin to buy)
23.toilet roll
24.toothbrush+colgate+towel
25.biscuit+milo+milk powder
26.slipper (wearing for bathing)
27. desk lamp (to study during the night without disturbing your roommates sleeping)
ivycly
26-04-2012, 07:21 PM
I got KMNS too.. 7 of my classmates all get the same place..
2 of my classmates gt KMNS too. all girls. but 1 of my classmate denied the offer.
do we need to bring fan ?? is it a must? KMNS is it that warm??
plawks
26-04-2012, 07:33 PM
Shoot me with all your questions. I just graduated from kmns today.
ivycly
26-04-2012, 07:53 PM
is the kmns hostel warm?? do we need to bring fan??
plawks
26-04-2012, 09:14 PM
Not that warm don't worry.
ivycly
26-04-2012, 09:21 PM
Not that warm don't worry.
i am wondering is it our bed are attached together as the facebook shown??
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=162152887180235&set=a.159336567461867.41823.159295254132665&type=3&theater
plawks
26-04-2012, 09:50 PM
Yes. Beds are attached. Don't worry you'll get used to it.
Japsimret
26-04-2012, 11:13 PM
Good Luck juniors! :)
pikeboo
27-04-2012, 08:15 AM
i know this sounds inappropriate but is the guys' room and toilet at good hygiene? and also can anyone upload the picture of the room/toilet
and also how do they bath, is the shower enough for everybody? what's the usual time for everyone need to be ready for class?
ivycly
27-04-2012, 08:18 AM
do they provide us water to drink ?? or we need to buy mineral water ourselves in KMNS?
plawks
27-04-2012, 03:28 PM
You have to buy water every day! Very very troublesome.
ivycly
27-04-2012, 08:54 PM
You have to buy water every day! Very very troublesome.
really?? then how much 1 Litter?? Is there hot water supply??
plawks
27-04-2012, 10:27 PM
really?? then how much 1 Litter?? Is there hot water supply??
10 cents/500ml
i know this sounds inappropriate but is the guys' room and toilet at good hygiene? and also can anyone upload the picture of the room/toilet
and also how do they bath, is the shower enough for everybody? what's the usual time for everyone need to be ready for class?
Room and toilet are in ok condition. But it really depends on which row do you live in. The toilet for my row is terrible, door fell off. LOL. I usually bathe at the second floor. I'll try to find a picture later.
Class starts at 8am. Usually I am prepared around 7.45 to 7.50am.
siewyuen1215
01-05-2012, 12:17 AM
what clothes should i wear if i am a chinese?must wear baju kurung?
can wear formal clothes anot?and which type of shoe should wear?what is kasut kulit??
my class got 8 students get offer from kmns...all chinese...included me :D
plawks
01-05-2012, 12:29 AM
In kmns you have the choice to wear formal wear (think office wear). The shoes that you mean are those typical leather shoes, no heels.
siewyuen1215
01-05-2012, 12:58 AM
In kmns you have the choice to wear formal wear (think office wear). The shoes that you mean are those typical leather shoes, no heels.
a little bit heels also cannot??
and i have to bring long sleeve t-shirt with collar anot?
marczeman
01-05-2012, 04:05 PM
a little bit heels also cannot??
and i have to bring long sleeve t-shirt with collar anot?
I'm just out of KMNS too.
Can lah. Only during orientation week do people actually give a shit, just the facilitators being annoying really(facilitators for orientation week will be ex-students). After that no problem, and nobody cares anyway lol. No you don't need a "long sleeve t-shirt with collar", cos they'll provide you with two of those (for official casual events). For evening sports and such you can wear normal t-shirt, just no shorts (Applies to girls AND guys. Yeah i know, wtf right.)
Oh and about the beds, they're single beds la. But they're arranged next to each other, effectively making them double beds lol. Depending on how strict your warden is, you can move the furniture around as you wish (make sure your roommates agree with the rearrangement). Usually the guys are the ones who do this because they can actually lift the furni lol. So yeah, the layout of your room is up to you and your roommates so long as your warden isn't an asshole (I was in B4, the guy was all right. Though he just moved to diff college).
Ask more questions if you wish.
ivycly
01-05-2012, 05:56 PM
what clothes should i wear if i am a chinese?must wear baju kurung?
can wear formal clothes anot?and which type of shoe should wear?what is kasut kulit??
my class got 8 students get offer from kmns...all chinese...included me :D
where are you frm?? I am from Melaka.Meet you there!! :)
mrbear8880
01-05-2012, 07:28 PM
HEYYYY ! I get KMNS too ! See you guys there ! From Penang :))
siewyuen1215
01-05-2012, 08:46 PM
hehe im from ipoh~i want to ask hor..must bring parents or warden go on registration day?
plawks
01-05-2012, 08:51 PM
Not compulsory, but I would imagine a hard time bringing all your stuff here and there by yourself.
siewyuen1215
01-05-2012, 09:48 PM
since my warden is my grandmother...is quite far if need her go with me...no need she sign there?
plawks
01-05-2012, 09:51 PM
I don't remember my dad signing anything there on the first day, but on the safe side you should call the college and ask.
siewyuen1215
01-05-2012, 10:25 PM
ok..thanks
mrbear8880
02-05-2012, 02:09 PM
Hey guys ... do you guys know do we need to prepare any certs and bring to KMNS ?
02-05-2012, 06:24 PM
Hey guys ... do you guys know do we need to prepare any certs and bring to KMNS ?
i forgot ody bt whn u get the envelope frm KMNS, it'll inform u everythin including opening a BSN account, signing a contract, etc
Japsimret
03-05-2012, 12:02 AM
http://www.kmns.matrik.edu.my/pel_baru/index.html
ImStilYoung94
05-05-2012, 12:09 AM
Hi all, I'm from Pahang and i get KMNS too =D
can I know what activities will they have during orientation week...
05-05-2012, 01:07 AM
well, it's an ordinary like in d secondary school. At the beginning of camp, thr's always the usual stuffs: place introduction, divided into groups (which will eventually becomes your class throughout your course in college), courses, ice breaking, etc. another 1 more thing, all of u will b waking up at 5.30 a.m. durin d orientation week, so wake up earlier in order 2 get the bathroom b4 it's taken.
ivycly
05-05-2012, 04:21 PM
well, it's an ordinary like in d secondary school. At the beginning of camp, thr's always the usual stuffs: place introduction, divided into groups (which will eventually becomes your class throughout your course in college), courses, ice breaking, etc. another 1 more thing, all of u will b waking up at 5.30 a.m. durin d orientation week, so wake up earlier in order 2 get the bathroom b4 it's taken.
Do we have enough time to eat and bath?
05-05-2012, 04:23 PM
Do we have enough time to eat and bath?
Nope. U hv 2 rush especially cause d bathroom is always occupied.
ivycly
05-05-2012, 06:18 PM
Nope. U hv 2 rush especially cause d bathroom is always occupied.
normally how much time is given for us to bath and eat? i heard someone said half an hour.is it true?
when we can know which module we got??
ImStilYoung94
06-05-2012, 02:00 AM
Is there any tough activities during orientation week like treasure hunt or wat... =.=lll...
bcz im not an active guy ><
Smile94
06-05-2012, 06:13 PM
Well, I got KMNS too ! XD
How's the atmosphere of KMNS ? :)
plawks
06-05-2012, 06:33 PM
Just like any typical boarding school.
Smile94
07-05-2012, 12:13 AM
normally how much time is given for us to bath and eat? i heard someone said half an hour.is it true?
when we can know which module we got??
I called KMNS office. The management said we'll know at the night of 28th May.
ImStilYoung94
07-05-2012, 12:18 AM
Em... for men's formal shirt, is it must be plain? Gt stripes d can or not?
I want to buy some "a bit fashion" d formal shirt, dun know can or not =.=lll
marczeman
07-05-2012, 01:01 AM
Em... for men's formal shirt, is it must be plain? Gt stripes d can or not?
I want to buy some "a bit fashion" d formal shirt, dun know can or not =.=lll
Orientation week cannot. They like to make a big fuss over it (you'll feel like sticking your middle finger up in their faces every time they start nagging about this kind of shit).
After orientation week, it's a non-issue. Don't worry, there'll be ex-pdt (pdt = Program Dua Tahun) guys from last year who'll start breaking the rules first, then you can all just follow haha.
Smile94
07-05-2012, 02:30 AM
Orientation week cannot. They like to make a big fuss over it (you'll feel like sticking your middle finger up in their faces every time they start nagging about this kind of shit).
After orientation week, it's a non-issue. Don't worry, there'll be ex-pdt (pdt = Program Dua Tahun) guys from last year who'll start breaking the rules first, then you can all just follow haha.
Can we choose what module we want ?
marczeman
07-05-2012, 03:00 AM
Can we choose what module we want ?
If you're non-bumi, you likely did pretty okay in your SPM, and by default all the good ones go to Module 1. But during the orientation week itself you can apply for transfer to another module (they will announce when and how to apply). About 10 of us non-bumis (me included) transferred to Module 2, taking Computer Science instead of Bio. Many others were too afraid to do so(even though they wanted to because they had no interest in Bio and were aiming to do engineering later anyway), because at the time, Computer Science was a new subject and nobody had any idea about its difficulty.
Turns out it's one of those 'last minute cram' kinda subjects, especially in Sem 1, and in Sem 2 it's just plain easy.
ImStilYoung94
08-05-2012, 03:28 PM
er... will i kena tindakan disiplin like demerit or wat =X
pikeboo
08-05-2012, 04:12 PM
hm i really need to see picture of college life here the room and toilet..
by the way, can we register to be roommates with our friends?
can we wear plain tshirt with colar? and also do boys only can wear slack pants and leather shoes?
and most importantly, do they provide washing machine to wash our clothes?
ivycly
08-05-2012, 04:28 PM
can we wear plain tshirt with colar? and also do boys only can wear slack pants and leather shoes?
http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/228415_162152887180235_159295254132665_454370_493748_n.jpg
have a look!!! the arrangement of the room.
rainbowinthesky
08-05-2012, 04:38 PM
Do we need to bring form five reference books?
08-05-2012, 05:35 PM
Do we need to bring form five reference books?
if u wan, u cn bt it's nt really a necessary as ur notes in matri will hv a brief input on d basics.
marczeman
08-05-2012, 07:25 PM
No, cannot pick roommates. Usually, one non-bumi per room, maximum. Except rare cases like mine. At first my room only 3 ppl, then second intake one Chinese guy came and was placed in my room. bit lucky there la....
Boys wear slacks and leather shoes to class. After class can wear anything, just no shorts.
Yeah got washing machine. Also laundry service but somebody needs to get that lady's number lol. I usually use the machine.
Smile94
11-05-2012, 01:07 AM
http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/228415_162152887180235_159295254132665_454370_493748_n.jpg
have a look!!! the arrangement of the room.
Is each bedroom provided a washroom or washrooms are build separately ?
11-05-2012, 01:09 AM
Is each bedroom provided a washroom or washrooms are build separately ?
build separately. evry floor has a number of bathrooms and toilets.
ImStilYoung94
12-05-2012, 10:44 PM
may i know that what is slack pants?
Is those we wear during secondary skul?
12-05-2012, 11:26 PM
may i know that what is slack pants?
Is those we wear during secondary skul?
yes it is.
ImStilYoung94
12-05-2012, 11:43 PM
so i can wear my secondary skul's pants to matrik if it is black in colour?
12-05-2012, 11:45 PM
so i can wear my secondary skul's pants to matrik if it is black in colour?
sure, no prob.
sinyen
13-05-2012, 11:21 PM
Anyone gt KMNS?? what is the time for registration??
whr u all come from??
hi~i come frm ipoh, same school wif siewyuen1215:amuse nice to meet u :))
hi~I'm going to kmns tis coming 28 May:laugh May i noe do I hv to bring laptop thr? How often we hv to do assignments per semester?
plawks
14-05-2012, 12:15 AM
hi~I'm going to kmns tis coming 28 May:laugh May i noe do I hv to bring laptop thr? How often we hv to do assignments per semester?
I suggest you not to bring during the first week as you'll be so occupied by the orientation that you'll not have the chance to use it. Leave it for later.
Assignments are given almost every day. Except for weekends of course since you have no classes.
sinyen
14-05-2012, 03:35 PM
I suggest you not to bring during the first week as you'll be so occupied by the orientation that you'll not have the chance to use it. Leave it for later.
Assignments are given almost every day. Except for weekends of course since you have no classes.
O.o EVERY DAY?!! Feel like wanna go to hell busy doing those assignments every day :cry
YasminZahir
15-05-2012, 11:40 AM
hy guys ....i'm from selangor and shortlisted for KMNS....pretty excited about it and i was offered for science... jusst hoping to make friends and can anyone explain to me what are the modules you guys are talking about? sorry i'm such a noob..:huh
shawn95
15-05-2012, 11:44 AM
hy guys ....i'm from selangor and shortlisted for KMNS....pretty excited about it and i was offered for science... jusst hoping to make friends and can anyone explain to me what are the modules you guys are talking about? sorry i'm such a noob..:huh
science stream has 3 different modules:
modul 1: maths, fizik, kimia, biologi
modul 2: maths, kimia, physics, sains komputer
modul 3: maths, kimia, biologi, sains komputer
the kolej matriks will assign you a modul, but you can appeal to change modul if you are interested in a different subject combo. hope that helps.
lara94
17-05-2012, 07:23 PM
Hi, i would like to know if table lamp is provided for the students? And is there a mirror in the room? Are bags provided too? Thanks :)
plawks
17-05-2012, 08:18 PM
Hi, i would like to know if table lamp is provided for the students? And is there a mirror in the room? Are bags provided too? Thanks :)
Table lamp yea.
Mirror no, bring your own. But there's one big one for each row, just beside the stairs.
They'll give you a crappy bag. So bring your own. :)
ImStilYoung94
17-05-2012, 11:15 PM
anyone have paid the registeration fee? Can u please tell me KMNS's account number?
Cz i cant find it ><
Thank you for helping... =D
siewyuen1215
18-05-2012, 02:05 AM
anyone have paid the registeration fee? Can u please tell me KMNS's account number?
Cz i cant find it ><
Thank you for helping... =D
no need account number one...you just go bsn bank and tell the staff u want pay for the yuran pendaftaran of matrikulasi...and show him your surat tawaran then he will tell you how to do...
lara94
20-05-2012, 06:53 PM
May I know is there wi-fi in kmns? :)
plawks
20-05-2012, 07:44 PM
May I know is there wi-fi in kmns? :)
You can get wifi coverage at science labs, lecture halls and the library.
awanrohani
21-05-2012, 09:25 AM
do we have to do a medical checkup? when can we go home?
plawks
21-05-2012, 10:53 AM
do we have to do a medical checkup? when can we go home?
No medical check up is needed. You can go back at weekends. But if there are college activities then they won't let you back.
iamlaila
21-05-2012, 01:25 PM
No medical check up is needed. You can go back at weekends. But if there are college activities then they won't let you back.
hows life at kms really is?
im quite nervous.huhu.
how do muslim girls dressed to classes?
slacks are allowed? =)
plawks
21-05-2012, 02:24 PM
hows life at kms really is?
im quite nervous.huhu.
how do muslim girls dressed to classes?
slacks are allowed? =)
You posted in the wrong place this is for KMNS not KMS. So I don't know how's life at KMS exactly.
Well in my college I've never seen muslim girls wearing slacks to class, just the usual baju kurung.
marczeman
21-05-2012, 06:37 PM
You posted in the wrong place this is for KMNS not KMS. So I don't know how's life at KMS exactly.
Well in my college I've never seen muslim girls wearing slacks to class, just the usual baju kurung.
Actually, you have lol. Remember the Chinese chick who was muslim? She wore slacks almost every day.
plawks
21-05-2012, 07:01 PM
Actually, you have lol. Remember the Chinese chick who was muslim? She wore slacks almost every day.
I totally forgot that and she was from my kuliah! :))
She had to wear her tudung for agama class though :/
awanrohani
21-05-2012, 07:13 PM
how many students were at last year's batch? how many students score four flat? how many wall socket per room? do we need to bring an extension socket? do we need to use laptop there?
thanks ya for answering :D
plawks
21-05-2012, 07:27 PM
how many students were at last year's batch? how many students score four flat? how many wall socket per room? do we need to bring an extension socket? do we need to use laptop there?
thanks ya for answering :D
About 1000+ I think. Don't really know.
Our results arent out yet, we'll know it on 29/5.
4 sockets, one for each.
Yea I think it's necessary or you won't be able to charge your phone while using the table lamp.
If you are a computer addict bring it. But not on the first week since you won't be able to use it, too busy.
siewyuen1215
21-05-2012, 08:48 PM
we can go seremban every weekend right?and I should wear formal attire or baju kurung also when go out?
and can I wear short jeans in room after kuliah?
plawks
21-05-2012, 09:06 PM
we can go seremban every weekend right?and I should wear formal attire or baju kurung also when go out?
and can I wear short jeans in room after kuliah?
Yea as long as there is no activity.
You can wear collared T and long pants.
You can wear nothing in your room no one cares!! Haha. LOL
siewyuen1215
21-05-2012, 09:18 PM
Yea as long as there is no activity.
You can wear collared T and long pants.
You can wear nothing in your room no one cares!! Haha. LOL
when go out must wear collar T?can wear jeans? or must wear track?
plawks
21-05-2012, 09:31 PM
when go out must wear collar T?can wear jeans? or must wear track?
Jeans are not allowed. Collared T and long pants.
awanrohani
22-05-2012, 12:40 AM
are there assignments that required laptop ?
plawks
22-05-2012, 01:25 AM
are there assignments that required laptop ?
Well we had an English project in the second semester where we have to type and print. Also some teachers give out assignments that require you to use a computer. For example my friend's biology tutor required them to pass up their lab reports through email but for my class we did it by hand instead. Having a laptop isn't necessary but it's comes in handy to have one. If you don't want to bring yours just find group members with laptops so that you can use theirs in group assignments.
ImStilYoung94
25-05-2012, 01:12 AM
May i know that should I bring extra copies of birth cert and parents' ic?
sandwraith
25-05-2012, 10:00 PM
from what i've read, KMNS sounds pretty much like a boarding school.... the warden, the shared bathrooms, etc... i wonder, do they conduct spotcheck from time to time, like during the school years?
on 28th, does the enrolment really start at 2 p.m.? can someone verify this?
plawks
25-05-2012, 10:24 PM
I've never kena any spotcheck before.
sandwraith
25-05-2012, 10:42 PM
good to hear then, senior :) what about the exam system?
plawks
26-05-2012, 12:25 AM
You'll get quizzed regularly throughout the program so constant revision is needed.
For every semester you'll have UPS (mid sem paper) and PSPM (finals).
At your orientation week there'll be one session explaining everything.
awanrohani
27-05-2012, 09:42 PM
can we wear seluar slack cerah? or we can only wear the dark one?
plawks
27-05-2012, 10:13 PM
can we wear seluar slack cerah? or we can only wear the dark one?
Dark ones only. Usually black or grey. Don't be too 'high profile'. :))
Smile94
18-06-2012, 11:54 PM
Any seniors willing to share on how did they manage their time to complete all the tutorial stuffs before class, at the same time done with revisions and homeworks ? I'm completely lost . .haihhzz. . Need some advices . Thanks :)
Japsimret
19-06-2012, 11:17 PM
well, start doing the tutorials after lecture. for some subject, u dont have to wait till the lecturer covers the whole chapter. u can do ur own revision and complete the tutorials earlier. me and my friends normally finish up the tutorials during weekends so that more time is allocated for revision then. it will be much better this way as u will have to complete tutorials for 4 subject. if u maintain this way, u wouldnt have prob completing them before class. revision is normally done before sleep. but depends la. at first u will feel like 'lost', but hey dont worry, u will adapt to it real soon! :) Anyway Good Luck
plawks
20-06-2012, 08:38 AM
Some people prefer to accumulate all their homework and finish them in one shot during the weekends. I like to do that for maths. Biology should be the most taxing subject since it is the only subject that requires constant revision. Try to study biology an hour a day and never break that habit. Oh, i NEVER do my bio homework. I copy/photostat the mark schemes from my friends and study from there. Past year answers are really useful for memorizing subjects. When you study enough you can feel the confidence when you step into the exam hall. 1st sem chemistry (physical chemistry) is easy, I only started revising one month before the exams and still managed to nail it. Same goes for physics. Organic chemistry can be really hard for the second semester. I'm serious! Study it like how you study biology.
I sleep 1-2 hours per day if I get really busy, eg a day before quiz. If there is nothing special going on it is totally possible to get at least 6 hours of sleep while being ahead in all revision work and tutorials. Protip: drink red bull or coffee :) that's if it suits you
Japsimret
20-06-2012, 03:53 PM
also do get extra questions for physics from ur lecturer. i think the questions in the tutorial book isn't enough.
Smile94
01-07-2012, 12:41 AM
well, start doing the tutorials after lecture. for some subject, u dont have to wait till the lecturer covers the whole chapter. u can do ur own revision and complete the tutorials earlier. me and my friends normally finish up the tutorials during weekends so that more time is allocated for revision then. it will be much better this way as u will have to complete tutorials for 4 subject. if u maintain this way, u wouldnt have prob completing them before class. revision is normally done before sleep. but depends la. at first u will feel like 'lost', but hey dont worry, u will adapt to it real soon! :) Anyway Good Luck
Hopefully I can get onto the track ! XD
Thank you so much :)
Some people prefer to accumulate all their homework and finish them in one shot during the weekends. I like to do that for maths. Biology should be the most taxing subject since it is the only subject that requires constant revision. Try to study biology an hour a day and never break that habit. Oh, i NEVER do my bio homework. I copy/photostat the mark schemes from my friends and study from there. Past year answers are really useful for memorizing subjects. When you study enough you can feel the confidence when you step into the exam hall. 1st sem chemistry (physical chemistry) is easy, I only started revising one month before the exams and still managed to nail it. Same goes for physics. Organic chemistry can be really hard for the second semester. I'm serious! Study it like how you study biology.
I sleep 1-2 hours per day if I get really busy, eg a day before quiz. If there is nothing special going on it is totally possible to get at least 6 hours of sleep while being ahead in all revision work and tutorials. Protip: drink red bull or coffee :) that's if it suits you
Really did bad for my 1st BIO quiz because no time to revise. . haihzz . But I hope I can help myself asap . Thanks :)