View Full Version : Complaint regarding avatars and signatures

plawks
22-05-2012, 02:51 AM
The maximum size of avatars is 100 by 100 pixels or 29.3 KB (whichever is smaller), right? But why do I see older members with avatars exceeding the limit? For example, Leen (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=4427) has an avatar of 150*150 pixels and 840KB. I'm pretty sure there are many other members with avatars exceeding the limit as well. So is this rule for newbies like me only? :amazed I'd like to use a bigger gif avatar but 100*100/29.3KB is simply not enough. And the double standard is annoying me!:mad

Signature:
Signature permissions
Allow Basic BB Code Yes
Allow Color BB Code Yes
Allow Size BB Code Yes
Allow Font BB Code Yes
Allow Alignment BB Code Yes
Allow List BB Code Yes
Allow Link BB Code Yes
Allow HTML No
Allow Image BB Code No
Allow Code BB Code Yes
Allow PHP BB Code Yes
Allow HTML BB Code Yes
Allow Quote BB Code Yes
Allow Smilies Yes
Can Upload Images for Signature Yes
Can Upload Animated GIF for Signature Yes

The maximum size of your custom image is 500 by 150 pixels or 48.8 KB (whichever is smaller).

My problem is with the rule highlighted in red. Tried to use .... but not allowed, what?! I've seen so many members with image signatures. I am trying to make this my signature:
http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/AdamRandalYoung.png
This is the code that I am trying to put in my siggy (without the .):
[.img]http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/AdamRandalYoung.png[/img]
The image is well within the imposed limit, so why is it not allowed while there are others members with large image signatures! For example, luke (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=407), his siggy is 700px*123px. Why are these rules imposed on newer members only but not on senior members? :mad

22-05-2012, 03:01 AM
To answer your question shortly: moderators and administrators have different privileges. :P

plawks
22-05-2012, 03:06 AM
So how does a regular member insert an image into his/her signature? Why are IMG BBCODES disallowed? And don't you think that the limit for avatars is simply too small? 29.3kB is too small IMO.

22-05-2012, 03:18 AM
I don't have any say in this matter, I'm afraid. Check your User CP.

plawks
22-05-2012, 03:50 AM
Here's a screenshot when I try to use the img tags in my signature. Somehow it doesn't work for me even though the image is within 500*150, as you can see in the screenshot I get a link instead of an image.
http://i.imgur.com/sPmDR.png

And when I enter the image url into the box and click 'save signature',
http://i.imgur.com/ucCgk.png
I get this error message (http://i.imgur.com/uccdR.png).

Is it just me bad at BBcodes?

hyperair
22-05-2012, 04:36 AM
While downloading the image, I noticed that it has a redirect to http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/index.php?user=AdamRandalYoung. Try supplying a URL that doesn't redirect instead. Some RewriteRule directives in .htaccess might be useful for this.

This seems to be a common issue in vBulletin based forums.

plawks
22-05-2012, 05:23 AM
I have no problems with these kind of dynamic signatures on other forums, weird. You know that kind of dynamic sigs that updates according to your latest gaming stats right, like these provided by this webpage http://www.steamsigs.com/? You can see plenty of these on various online forums. The sig that I'm trying to use is one that constantly changes and shows the latest plays/scrobbles on my last.fm account.

Sorry if I'm nitpicking over these minor minor limitations of avatars and signatures. :) If there's no way to change it I'll grow to get used to it lah, no biggie.

While downloading the image, I noticed that it has a redirect to http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/index.php?user=AdamRandalYoung. Try supplying a URL that doesn't redirect instead. Some RewriteRule directives in .htaccess might be useful for this.

This seems to be a common issue in vBulletin based forums.
Oh yeah, I don't understand a thing that you just said, with the jargon and all, LOL. :))

hyperair
22-05-2012, 10:33 AM
Well the ones from steamsigs.com probably don't supply a HTTP redirect to another URL. What I'm talking about is this:

hyperair@<hidden>:~(1)% wget --verbose 'http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/AdamRandalYoung.png' -O/dev/null
--2012-05-22 10:29:14-- http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/AdamRandalYoung.png
Resolving chaoticlogic.net (chaoticlogic.net)... 67.59.179.10
Connecting to chaoticlogic.net (chaoticlogic.net)|67.59.179.10|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 301 Moved Permanently
Location: http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/index.php?user=AdamRandalYoung [following]
--2012-05-22 10:29:15-- http://chaoticlogic.net/currentlyplaying/index.php?user=AdamRandalYoung
Reusing existing connection to chaoticlogic.net:80.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [image/png]

It's definitely a bug that vBulletin can't handle these types of URIs in the signature, but it's not something that you can just change a flag for -- you'll need some PHP expertise and time to debug it.

plawks
22-05-2012, 05:02 PM
I'm still puzzled why is IMG BBCODE ( tag) disabled for signatures. It's impossible to insert more than one image with the tag. Allowing multiple images would be great.

hyperair
22-05-2012, 07:13 PM
Probably because that allows you to bypass the signature picture dimensions too easily. I'm really not sure how vBulletin works in this regard, really.

22-05-2012, 10:43 PM
Regarding signature issue, BB Image Code was disabled to discourage user from posting advertisement or super mega size unrelated image just to seek attention or to express themselves.

And yea, volunteers here have certain user settings privileges since they/we all spend our time running this site, not-for-profit, in between our busy schedule. Personally could not squeeze out time to upgrade the VB software here, yet. Uggghhh!

We certainly do not wish to see user excessively promotes themselves/events with numerous images in their signature. After all, signature should be something short, sweet and simple in my humble opinion.

plawks
22-05-2012, 10:59 PM
Oh ok, thanks for replying all of you. :laugh