View Full Version : Mozilla Firefox updated to 0.9.1

01-12-2003, 10:51 AM
I am sure some of you might have heard of this - here's the link (http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/).

Why Firefox? For one, you don't have to worry about all the security holes of IE6, and it is also standards compliant, which means that it displays webpages the way it is supposed to be. And ah.. how could I forget tabbed browsing and automatic pop-up blocking?

Read the webpage for a lot more reasons why you should switch. Give it a try and post what you think!

Edit: This is an old post :) It's known as Firefox now!

01-12-2003, 10:53 AM
the firebird, is it the same as mozilla 1.4?

01-12-2003, 11:16 AM
The latest version of Mozilla is 1.5. So I'll venture to say that Firebird in Mozilla 1.4 is v0.6, not v0.7.

EDIT: See my post below.

01-12-2003, 11:38 AM
so the firebird is Mozilla 1.5?

01-12-2003, 12:08 PM
Whoops.

Mozilla is actually an integrated package of browser, newsgroup/email client, IRC, HTML editor etc.

Firebird is just the browser.

I've just tried out both, and I recommend Firebird over the browser inside Mozilla package. Firebird loads faster as well as takes less memory footprint (both RAM and HDD space). Mozilla browser kinda looks like the old version of Netscape Navigator (which IMO, is too bloated). However, both uses the Gecko rendering engine -> good stuff.

15-06-2004, 02:20 PM
Hey, i recommmend mozilla firefox...
It's really fast....with tab browsing...
and way more stable compared to IE...
I hate IE cos it always hang ... Hmph...
Try firefox la...

www.mozilla.org

15-06-2004, 03:47 PM
Firefox is way better than IE that's for sure. BTW Firefox 0.9 will be released very soon (few days).

Edit: Ha it came out earlier .. more like few minutes after I posted this :D

15-06-2004, 04:00 PM
Firefox is way better than IE that's for sure. BTW Firefox 0.9 will be released very soon (few days).

yeah...but i wont be using it that soon. let the beta testers use it first, then fix the loopholes. ^_^

15-06-2004, 04:41 PM
Hey people,

Finally....
Firefox 0.9 is officially released. The setup file is small and half the previous versions, now only 4.7MB

Enjoy...

15-06-2004, 05:03 PM

yeah...but i wont be using it that soon. let the beta testers use it first, then fix the loopholes. ^_^
Even at beta stage, it's still a lot more secure than that swiss cheese of an IE6, which says a lot :)

15-06-2004, 05:13 PM

Even at beta stage, it's still a lot more secure than that swiss cheese of an IE6, which says a lot :)

the official one is out.... i've downloaded it. will install later...
heard that it's faster than firefox 0.8 ....
must download ppl!!

27-06-2004, 11:46 PM
*bump* for a better browsing experience :D

28-06-2004, 12:10 AM
i am using firefox 0,9

one downside of firefox is that i can?t bookmark sites using chinese charactors. this is where IE comes handy (as spare tire.. hehe)

is there other fast browsers? what about opera and conquerer?

28-06-2004, 12:24 AM
i am using firefox 0,9

one downside of firefox is that i can?t bookmark sites using chinese charactors. this is where IE comes handy (as spare tire.. hehe)

is there other fast browsers? what about opera and conquerer?
What do you mean it can't bookmark? Weird characters? Or it simply doesn't add into bookmarks?

Opera is good, but it's not free and not as extensible as Firefox.. Konqueror is only for KDE/Linux..

28-06-2004, 12:27 AM
simply can?t exist in the bookmark.... if u wish to label ur site in chinese charactors...

29-06-2004, 06:19 PM
simply can?t exist in the bookmark.... if u wish to label ur site in chinese charactors...
Strange.. it works fine for me? Do you have a specific website as an example?

It's updated to 0.9.1 now.. trying to figure out what are the changes.

29-06-2004, 06:31 PM
hmm... interesting.. thanx for the news...

funny...
i am currently having 3 browsers and 4 instant messengers (I don?t really like trillion)

last time I was using more than 4 P2P software at once just to try everyone of them so that I know how they perform...

29-06-2004, 07:14 PM
funny thing is after using firefox i never receive any IM in recom..

does firefox blocks Recom?s IM?

29-06-2004, 07:24 PM
funny thing is after using firefox i never receive any IM in recom..

does firefox blocks Recom?s IM?
It's the pop-up blocker in action.. on the bottom left of the browser, you should be able to unblock the IMs :)

Found the changes here (http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=604815#604815).. it's mostly just bugfixes

29-06-2004, 07:30 PM
hmm.. i seee nothing at the bottom left...
funny...
can we do something to the settings? I am confused.. hehe

29-06-2004, 07:45 PM
Hmm? There should be an icon that looks like a window with a small 'x' on it. Just click that and you should be able to unblock it.

Otherwise, go to Tools -> Options... then Web Features.

In the first section, click on Add Site..., enter recom.homelinux.org and you should be good to go.

29-06-2004, 07:53 PM
thanx.. now it works liao..
and u know what....

so many many many IM appear at once... gosh..
sorry I didn?t reply u guys as my IM was block.. will reply slowly next time...

29-06-2004, 07:59 PM
I have problems displaying chinese characters in this browser.
Try changing the character encoding, but to no avail.
Any idea how to deal with this?
I have NJ Star Communicator, and I've uninstall the East Asian Language Pack in Windows, cos if I need to do that to use the NJ Star. But, no problems viewing Chinese Characters in IE.
An example of chinese website :
www.kokoro.com.tw

29-06-2004, 08:12 PM
I have problems displaying chinese characters in this browser.
Try changing the character encoding, but to no avail.
I have NJ Star Communicator, and I've uninstall the East Asian Language Pack in Windows, cos if I need to do that to use the NJ Star. But, no problems viewing Chinese Characters in IE.
An example of chinese website :
www.kokoro.com.tw

You mean like this (http://files.screw3d.com/chinesechar.gif)?

It works fine for me and I don't have any third-party software like NJStar or Chinese Star.

I'm using WinXP's East Asian Language support, and input mode is set to Chinese (PRC).

没问题! <-- input using WinXP's language tools (alt + shift to toggle) .

And yeah that site bookmarks fine for me too!

Edit: Oh while we're at it, iQing, take a look at the screenshot I posted above.. look at the bottom left and you'll see a little window with a red cross on it. That was what I'm taking about.

29-06-2004, 08:53 PM
thanx for ya help...

by the way now my MSN messenger.. I can draw with a programm call SHELL
it?s kinda cool

has anyone tried it before?

if u wish to have it jus pm me..
i think I can attach it to my yahooo mail...

30-06-2004, 08:55 AM
You mean like this (http://files.screw3d.com/chinesechar.gif)?

It works fine for me and I don't have any third-party software like NJStar or Chinese Star.

I'm using WinXP's East Asian Language support, and input mode is set to Chinese (PRC).

没问题! <-- input using WinXP's language tools (alt + shift to toggle) .

And yeah that site bookmarks fine for me too!

Edit: Oh while we're at it, iQing, take a look at the screenshot I posted above.. look at the bottom left and you'll see a little window with a red cross on it. That was what I'm taking about.

Hmm... if i dun use the NJ Star (at the same time, i installed the East Asian Language Support) .... I cant view the chinese characters on Winamp. Only NJ Star can solved the problem. But in order to use the NJ Star, I have to uninstall the East Asian Language Support in Windows. But now I cant view the chinese characters. They all appear as ????? in the browser. But surprisingly, no problem viewing the chinese characters in IE, even with NJ Star turned off. So I assumed it must be the settings in Mozilla?

gonjeng
25-07-2004, 10:28 AM
hmm... interesting.. thanx for the news...

funny...
i am currently having 3 browsers and 4 instant messengers (I don?t really like trillion)

last time I was using more than 4 P2P software at once just to try everyone of them so that I know how they perform...

3 browsers ay? hey have you tried avant??? im using avant right now and it works much better (compared to IE) - though im not sure how is it compared to firefox. so far, from what ive read here and at download.com, both avant and firefox have somewhat the same features. so since you said you have 3 browsers, im just checking is avant one of them and if it is, how is it compared to firefox...?

25-07-2004, 10:42 AM
3 browsers ay? hey have you tried avant??? im using avant right now and it works much better (compared to IE) - though im not sure how is it compared to firefox. so far, from what ive read here and at download.com, both avant and firefox have somewhat the same features. so since you said you have 3 browsers, im just checking is avant one of them and if it is, how is it compared to firefox...?
I've been using avantbrowser ever since version 7.0 ... glad to find another avantbrowser's fan here .. yo~! kita geng, gonjeng :lol: :lol: :lol:

gonjeng
25-07-2004, 12:07 PM
I've been using avantbrowser ever since version 7.0 ... glad to find another avantbrowser's fan here .. yo~! kita geng, gonjeng :lol: :lol: :lol:

dude, i guess you are more "senior" than i am. i started using avant since version 7.5 or sth, hehehehe... but yuppie yup, kite geng, yo!!!

jagganatha
26-07-2004, 10:26 AM
beat me.. i use 4 browsers..IE, Netscape, Mozilla, Opera.. But I would recommend Opera over Mozilla.. It is the fastest browser in the world..and on dialups like me.. you'll definitely see the difference..But the only problem with these alternative browsers is that some webpages don't display properly like Teck Hua actually found out that the webpage of even a major company like Motorola is not Mozilla compliant.. some of the words overlap each other..sigh..

26-07-2004, 10:41 AM
Wow...need or not... so many browsers. Not enough space here for my com... :lol:

There are some problems with mozilla firefox 0.9.2 it seems.... I dont know why. The download manager seems to stuck at certain percentage and it crashes on me few times already. So looks like I'm back to Mozilla Firefox 0.9.1 :D No problems, yet.

gonjeng
26-07-2004, 06:39 PM
tuh laa... up to 4 web browsers yo! do you actually use all of them at the same time? or you have them just for the sake of it? uh uh or... maybe hobbies kot. ye aaa, nowadays, there are so many 'not-typical' hobbies, hehehe...
anyway, i agree... there's no one perfect system. esp these freeware browsers, there sure are some bugs here and there :)

~peace out~

27-07-2004, 02:06 PM
beat me.. i use 4 browsers..IE, Netscape, Mozilla, Opera.. But I would recommend Opera over Mozilla.. It is the fastest browser in the world..and on dialups like me.. you'll definitely see the difference..But the only problem with these alternative browsers is that some webpages don't display properly like Teck Hua actually found out that the webpage of even a major company like Motorola is not Mozilla compliant.. some of the words overlap each other..sigh..

opera is bs. You could do everything that opera can with mozilla if you know how to tweak. even IE can be tweaked to do what opera does.

27-07-2004, 02:21 PM
I am using Mozilla Firefox v0.9.2, which I downloaded from its website, on window XP. It works well for me. Formerly I used IE(latest version) but somehow it become useless due to unknown reason(it always display error page when I try to connect internet). No cure for reinstalling it except reformatting my PC! Needless to say, I changed to MSN Explorer..my goodness, I have to log in password each time I want to surf net. So I abandoned it and use Netscape v7.1. and later Mozilla. Nothing much differences between them, I see.

zqax
01-04-2005, 11:01 PM
nah, after several test,Opera still the fastest lah.

02-04-2005, 02:47 AM
Latest Mozilla Firefox version - 1.0.2.
Go download now. :wink:

02-04-2005, 03:20 AM
don't forget thunderbird for your email.

02-04-2005, 04:57 AM
don't forget thunderbird for your email.

Yes, I remember that. :wink: Using it now...