View Full Version : Malaysian Universities Ban Dyeing of Hair
11-02-2005, 02:03 PM
There is now a ruling that students are not allowed to dye their hair and will be fined a minimum of RM200 if they do.
Three fines, and then they suspend you. Now, I respect the ruling that a dress code is necessary, especially when I see some students dressed up as if they were headed to a nightclub.
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Friday/Letters/NST32238820.txt/Article/indexb_html
Wow...this is going from bad to worse
What is wrong with letting students do what they want? This is really screwed up. IMHO, the university has no right to enforce this. As long as they dont go to school naked, i feel they have every right to express their individuality.
11-02-2005, 05:24 PM
personally, i don't think i will ever dye my hair... in fact, i see the point that sometimes the culture of overdressing (or under dressing..haha )might be prevalent among college students.
but that is not the point.
the thing is, i feel that the emphasis on outer appearances and trivial rules in our education system instead of efficiency and productivity is very amusing and very disheartening. just increase the level of competition and students will naturally work harder...regardless of whether they wear torn jeans or tuxedos (exaggeration intended) to universities.
11-02-2005, 09:22 PM
Once again, some ppl are intolerant towards others' freedom, despite their laungan "toleransi" in our moral education. I also personally won't dye my hair, but that doesn't mean I have to go around and make everyone not dye their hair as well.
the thing is, i feel that the emphasis on outer appearances and trivial rules in our education system instead of efficiency and productivity is very amusing and very disheartening. just increase the level of competition and students will naturally work harder...regardless of whether they wear torn jeans or tuxedos (exaggeration intended) to universities.
Haha... that explains why the quality of our universities have declined. They are more concerned with students wearing pakaian tertutup rather than being concerned about students not studying hard.
11-02-2005, 09:42 PM
Exactly!
The appearance is trivial. What is wrong with students trying to make themselves look different? As long as they do not slack off in classes, I do not see the point of implementing this rule.
13-02-2005, 06:03 AM
Under Hudud, you are not even allowed to shave your pubic hair.
LIVE SEX (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
13-02-2005, 08:05 AM
Sigh.. priorities, Malaysia, priorities!! :(
13-02-2005, 08:10 AM
LOL, i'll pardon your ignorance because i like you.
I think hudud only covers 6 or 7 things and i'm pretty sure that's not in it.
Hudud is pretty much like the 10 commandments but with punishment included.
For an example..
10- C Thou shalt not murder
...and hudud is You'll be Killed back if you kill someone. Eye for an eye...
make sense?
Also, The Hudud punishments derives from the Torah not the Koran...Or more like that the Koran makes references to the torah regarding punishment hudud-wise. Ahh fook it i'll just paste from the torah so you guys know what i'm talking about.
"If a man commits adultery with another man's wife-with the wife of his neighbor-both the adulterer and the adulteress must be put to death." Levitiucs 20:10
"If a man is found sleeping with another man's wife, both the man who slept with her and the woman must die. You must purge the evil from Israel. If a man happens to meet in a town a virgin pledged to be married and he sleeps with her, you shall take both of them to the gate of that town AND STONE THEM TO DEATH - the girl because she was in a town and did not scream for help, and the man because he violated another man's wife. You must purge the evil from among you." Deuteronomy 22:22-24
and concerning shaving pubic hair, it's actually sunat i.e. digalakkan. in fact muslims are supposed to do it every 40 days, along with cutting nails and other such stuff.
dinna_g
14-02-2005, 01:54 PM
please do not make this kind of statement when you don't have any credibility about the matter. sorry to say, but as a muslim who is pro-hudud, i feel offended. religion is not something you can play around with. and as qedx said, shaving your pubic hair is indeed is digalakkan.
it's a shame that you made such a stupid statement!
18-02-2005, 04:37 AM
Malaysia...the bolehland...everything also boleh.
A bit OT, but I heard that under hudud law, for a person to be charged for raping, we need 8 ( or maybe less) witnesses? 8O Anyone can clarify this?
18-02-2005, 04:51 AM
Malaysia...the bolehland...everything also boleh.
A bit OT, but I heard that under hudud law, for a person to be charged for raping, we need 8 ( or maybe less) witnesses? 8O Anyone can clarify this?
18-02-2005, 06:38 AM
maybe they will force univeristy students to wear uniform one day with specific hair style guideline ?
anyway, i can see the rationale behind this. in m'sia, dyed hair = samseng/ah beng = those who cannot study and therefore should not be found exist in the university.
18-02-2005, 10:32 AM
but then dont you see that this is a trivial matter compared with the quality of education you get in the universities?
Looks do not matter as long as you get the grades and are willing to learn. Thats what i think...
18-02-2005, 10:34 AM
Haven't the Education system in Malaysia done enough damage? First they already made all of them to think alike.. now they want everyone to look alike as well..
18-02-2005, 11:54 AM
Looks do not matter as long as you get the grades and are willing to learn. Thats what i think...what we think doesn't matter. this is malaysia we're talking about.
18-02-2005, 12:08 PM
sigh...
sadly...yes
ch130176
27-02-2005, 12:51 AM
maybe next time they would simply come out with a law that prohibits hair dying in the country, who knows? 8O
28-02-2005, 03:58 AM
Do they apply the same rule to studies as well?
Three strikes and you're out?
I'm gonna dye my hair purple. thank god I don't go to local university, they might think I belong to some cult. How stereotypical of them.
01-03-2005, 02:15 PM
Oh goodness.
This rule, by far, is the silliest and most stupid. Pardon me for the coarse language but this is really dumb. For heaven's sake, it's UNIVERSITY-we're done with school rules! I wouldnt be surprised if they'd start recruiting prefects in Universities as well soon.
Dear Government, why the narrow-mindedness?
I'm so glad I'm not in a local uni. What wreck my uni life would be if were in one.
02-03-2005, 12:41 AM
and to think they hv been talking bout how important it is for us young Msians to be individuals with a borader mindset and more global prespective on things
*sigh*
02-03-2005, 07:32 AM
Oh goodness.
This rule, by far, is the silliest and most stupid. Pardon me for the coarse language but this is really dumb. For heaven's sake, it's UNIVERSITY-we're done with school rules! I wouldnt be surprised if they'd start recruiting prefects in Universities as well soon.
Dear Government, why the narrow-mindedness?
I'm so glad I'm not in a local uni. What wreck my uni life would be if were in one.
The goverment of Malaysia is lead by a group of self righteous Islamic-Moral crusaders... Does that sums it up?
petertok
02-03-2005, 03:45 PM
oh no!! i've dyed my hair brown...!! :( ... shud i dye it back into black color ? i wonder if hair color does affect the first impression one makes in interviews like jpa ... :cry:
infested_ysy
02-03-2005, 06:58 PM
but then dont you see that this is a trivial matter compared with the quality of education you get in the universities?
Looks do not matter as long as you get the grades and are willing to learn. Thats what i think...
Wow! Great sense of logic you've got there.
So what's next? The government imposing more taxes while providing the same old crappy services and living conditions, while using the same "Oh, but look at our beautiful Malaysia! It's so peaceful, and natural disasters rarely happen here! You people should feel appreciative for being able to live in Malaysia!" excuse?
Hey, afterall, according to you, things (amount of taxes) don't matter as long as you are living in a peaceful country like Malaysia, right?
02-03-2005, 09:11 PM
Wow! Great sense of logic you've got there.
So what's next? The government imposing more taxes while providing the same old crappy services and living conditions, while using the same "Oh, but look at our beautiful Malaysia! It's so peaceful, and natural disasters rarely happen here! You people should feel appreciative for being able to live in Malaysia!" excuse?
Hey, afterall, according to you, things (amount of taxes) don't matter as long as you are living in a peaceful country like Malaysia, right?
It appears to me that I have been misundestood. Let me put this in a more complete context, i apologize for writing too short. I believe students have the right to express individualism and dress however they like.
What i mean is that the appearance of the students are trivial, compared to the outdated and draconian system of education that we have back home.
Even if students come onto class with Blue hair or bleached hair, I believe they deserve an education, regardless of they way they look. As long as they are interested in what they are studying, everything else is trivial. And this is coming from a guy with green and blue hair once. ;)
lolilo
02-03-2005, 10:35 PM
What's weong with experimenting with something ? what colour is your hair doesnt' define who u are. and the government should quit being nonsensical about things that don't matter such as the banning of firecrackers, muslim goin to night club or hair dyeying. for god's sake, there is so many things worth their effort!why not trying to upgrade uni rather that impose weird rules on students.ohmigod this is sad............
and the government should quit being nonsensical about things that don't matter such as the banning of firecrackers, muslim goin to night club or hair dyeying.
/heh! exactly.........why can't we play with firecrackers? if we r careful n our time is yet to come, do u think we will DIE playing it? parents shud watch over lil kids as they play with firecrackers.....n if u still die playing it, then at least u DIED happily......thatz gotta worth some thing, dying happily, right?
lolilo
03-03-2005, 10:05 AM
and the government should quit being nonsensical about things that don't matter such as the banning of firecrackers, muslim goin to night club or hair dyeying.
/heh! exactly.........why can't we play with firecrackers? if we r careful n our time is yet to come, do u think we will DIE playing it? parents shud watch over lil kids as they play with firecrackers.....n if u still die playing it, then at least u DIED happily......thatz gotta worth some thing, dying happily, right?
Now the government knows chinese aren't a herd of bulls with piercing through their noses,,hahahaha,NEVER COMPROMISE WHEN PPL INTERFER WITH OUR TRADITIONS.. the gambling contineus...the firecrackers blasting off...thats what you call new year!
03-03-2005, 11:17 AM
hahaha. My chinese neighbours at home burned a whole load of firecrackers during the last CNY, and all this happened in front of the house of another neighbour, who's a police senior officer LOL
i guess this is the typical Msian scenario, where rules can be bent, as long as you dont get caught doing it.
Digressing. Sorry.
back to the issue, i do agree w most of you guys. instead of coming up w new rules n stopping us yungsters fr doing a whole load of things that can help develop our minds and help us become a better person *a better way of saying pls stop interfering with our lives and let us be :P *, the gov REALLY should focus on the more inmportant thing, like improving the way some uni hostels are, and making sure students are getting a good education instead of trying to shove everything down their throats!
running out of time! LOL
04-03-2005, 03:45 AM
There are a lot of other important matters that the government should look into....how to improve the quality of education, the amount of research, facilities and so forth...
Why care about hair colour? Ah... I just don't get it.