View Full Version : Academic Sharing

1st_Spirit
02-12-2003, 08:28 AM
Dear Recom Members,

Here it's the place for each and everyone of you to share your knowledge and your experience, at the same time I belive you'll receive many feedbacks from other members as well :)

I hope this Topic would be a nice forum for everyone of us to share their studies and their research or may be a JOKE :D

I'm writting some paper about Molecular simulation and I'm currently doing some study in Molecular interaction at Solid Satate Physic also I'm very interested in the studies of Free-Engery-Perturbution in Molecular Simulated Experiment...

I welcome anyone and everyone give some idea to me and I would share more in my coming Replies... It takes days for me to finish reading some very technical Journal...

Watch up for my next sharing and abastract of National Geograhpy NOV 2003 Issues...

<<Sharing is Good and Good is Sharing>>

02-12-2003, 11:22 AM
Hey 1st Spirit,

Sounds interesting what you're doing with molecular simulation and all.

Anyways, your topic is a little vague and maybe the scope is too wide. Why don't you post and give us a more refined and focused angle to your topic.

02-12-2003, 01:53 PM
thanx Dennis (agent smith, u lose to neo)

I think the ReCom Anchors should show him or create a new corner for his research work?

Dennis, if u need college notes, there are plenty of them in the segment "e-Learning"

u can see the link at ReCom's homepage..
I hope it helps...

thanx for joining ReCom...

good luck to u in your exam...
what do u think if we bring wai hong into ReCom.. he's studying in US right? even he dun go online, i think it's worth it if wai hong can meet ReCom anchors personally...

thanx,...

02-12-2003, 04:16 PM
i donno whether this is the right thread but i dont want to open up a new thread for just a question but hey, it sharing academically. :)

I have this one question on statistic. it's hw and the deadline is like 6 more hours. I can't really ask my coursemate to help out coz it's in the middle of the night!

here's the question, how do you find the maximum likelihood estimator of:

f(x;b) = 1/b.

It is NOT differentiable and that is the problem. Cmon guys, the clock is ticking.

I rreally want to do b=(1/f)^(1/n) but then again....

p/s - note to self, do not procrastinate.

shigure
02-12-2003, 04:55 PM
ln (f(x;b)) = ln (1/b) = ln 1 - ln b
d/db ln (f(x;b)) = - 1/b

mle => - 1/b = 0
b = 0

i think...
sorry if this arrived too late

cheers

-------------
my bad, you are right.

let I(0,b)^x(n) be the indicator for x(n), then f(b)I(0,b)^x(1)...I(0,b)^x(n) takes the value of 0 if b < max(x(1)....x(n)) and is greater than 0 otherwise. Hence graph of f(b) vs b will yield 0 for all b < max(x(1)...x(n)), denote M, and will be 1/(b^n) for b > M. Max will be at the boundary, ie, M. MLE is then M, giving 1/(M^n).

02-12-2003, 09:58 PM
it's not differentiatable.
I mean 1/b is not a continous function. :(

1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 04:51 AM
To IQing,

I would like to invit him to come to join Recom and I would like to meet him personally as well but it takes some time for me to find out where he is now... I'll try to contact back to my college advisor so that I would be able to track him out...

Short Introduction of Wei Hong,
The Youngest and greatest inventor in Malaysia(My opinion and the fact he is)... He is a very ambisious and very dynamic student as well as an Inventor... Joined many competitions and contests, Invitational contests in for many years...

A strong charasmatic leadership characteristic he has and he has a very high Spiritual Awareness...

Believing himself is the world, and the world is him; he created world and the world created for him; he talks to the world and the world listens to him; HE IS WEI HONG

Am I right IQING?

1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 05:04 AM
To Kevin,

This topic is mainly talk about the Academically finding from what you've done, every one can talk about what special things he has done in the school, in the college or in the university...

For example,

I'm doing molecular simulation which I needed a Pascal or Java simulator programming to created a 3D enviroment. Then I'll program in the Mathemtical modelling and Mathematical Equation that govorn the molecular interaction in terms of Melecular-Molecular interaction, Engery interaction, bond structure, stochimatric structure, elctron clound calculation, neutron-proton-electron interaction... I'll govern my simulated molecular by create a constrain that governing it's interaction by setting a condition with the parameters of Volume, Tempreture, Pressure and a Engery Input...

Also, I'll apply Dynamic Molecular modelling to model the movement of the molecules... Also, we are interested to calculate the deform and reform and new forming bond in the reaction to calculation it's Free-Energy-Perturbution which is very interesting...

This is a CE 520 code in my Uni which it's a Master Level Course, but I forced to read those books which beyond my understanding... but eventually things work out :)

03-12-2003, 06:19 AM
I would suggest that 1st spirit, you can check out our e-learning section, where we have a lot of open source lecture notes. Although mostly are engineering, I hope everyone will find those useful. If anyone finds any open source lecture note, please let me know and I will add the link there!!!

03-12-2003, 06:55 AM
I have searched for Leong Wai Hong. He is currently at Marquette University. He won the Malaysia Young Inventor Award given by Malaysia Design Council for 4 consecutive years from 1998 to 2001.

He is currently doing research under Dr. James Buchanan, with the topic of Electrophysiological Study of Spinobulbar Neuron Distribution in Lampreys.

His research description is:-

Locomotor behaviors, such as swimming, flying, and walking, have been studied in many animals to understand the neurobiological basis of rhythmic motor activity. The basic motor pattern for locomotion is generated by centrally located neuronal circuits, known as a central pattern generators (CPG). However, the basic pattern produced by the CPG is usually modified by sensory information from peripheral receptors and signals from other regions of the central nervous system, such as reticulospinal cells. Ascending spinal neurons that terminate in the brain stem (ie, spinobulbar cells) transmit sensory and motor information about the environment and the internal state of the spinal cord to the brain in order to modulate the activity of several groups of descending brain neurons, which in turn regulate the locomotor CPG.

Previous anatomical studies of the spinobulbar cells in lampreys have shown that the majority of these neurons are located in the rostral spinal cord. The present study was aimed at determining whether spinobulbar neurons activated during locomotor activity have a similar distribution in the spinal cord. Our hypothesis is that the functional distribution of spinobulbar cells is similar to the anatomical distribution.

Lamprey, the most primitive living vertebrate, is used as the experimental model in this study due the relative simplicity of its nervous system compared to higher vertebrates and the capability of the isolated spinal cord to remain viable for several days in cold physiological solution. Spinal cord activity was examined in an in vitro preparation and the spinal locomotor networks were activated by applying 0.5 mM D-glutamate to three spinal pools separately: rostral, middle and caudal, each consisting of about 16 spinal segments. The rhythmic activity induced in the spinal cord by D-glutamate is referred to as ?fictive swimming?. The spiking frequency and spiking activity amplitude of spinobulbar cell axons recorded at the rostral end of the cord were measured and analyzed.

In all five preparations, the spiking frequency and spiking amplitude of the cord were found to be highest when fictive swimming was induced in the rostral spinal pool, followed by the middle pool and lastly the caudal pool. In addition, we found that the spiking activity is often rhythmic indicating that the ascending signal is composed in part of locomotor signals from the CPG. However, the rhythmic activity in the cord was relatively weak compared to ventral roots. This could possibly due to the smearing effect of rhythmic bursting activity coming from a number of segments and the overlap of ipsilateral and contralateral signals, which are active in an alternating pattern.

Our functional distribution matches closely a previous anatomical study in which the spinolbulbar cells were found to be mostly distributed in the rostral spinal cord. This leads us to suggest that the rostral compartment of the spinal cord is more important in conveying information to the brain about the internal state of the network activity during locomotion.

taken from http://mendel.biol.mu.edu/biosummer/symposium/2003/leong.html

25-03-2006, 08:33 PM
^bump