View Full Version : Scholarships for medicine
Priya
18-02-2005, 09:02 PM
hi guys. I just wanna know how many scholarships are there for medicine? Could u help by giving me the websites or etc..... :D
19-02-2005, 05:55 AM
Ideally, I would hope all questions on scholarships be centralized on the main thread of scholarships. Upon thinking over, I think that it is fine to keep this thread open in this Medicine Special Interest Group for you all to discuss about it here.
As far as I know, JPA and IMU provide scholarships. The info on IMU scholarships was posted on the scholarship main thread a few days ago.
20-02-2005, 06:39 AM
If you are a bumiputera, there's Mara Scholarship as well. Petronas do offer scholarship for medical students as well, don't they? But if I'm not mistaken, the places are very very limited.
SHuLy
21-02-2005, 10:04 AM
i think that for JPA, the scholarships for medic in UK has decreased whereas the number of scholarships given out to study medicine in russia and india has increased. i'm not sure if they send students to indonesia...
for IMU, the scholarships are pretty difficult to get...collected income of parents must be quite low.
Yep , that's true . . . JPA is sending more and more students to study med. in Indonesia
if i'm not mistaken, jpa and mara are the major bodies that offer scholarships for medicine. oh yeah, i remember last time the malaysian army also offer scholarship for medicine but the catch is that you'll have to work in the army after graduation. and yeah, petronas offers only a few. mara and jpa throw out more but you'll have to be lucky to grab them. unless you're a bumi, then the best bet would be jpa. nowadays, jpa seems to be cutting down on scholarships to uk but more to russia, india and indon which are cheap. haha. compromise quality for quantity. no offense ya!
shrenka
21-05-2005, 11:19 PM
if i'm not mistaken, jpa and mara are the major bodies that offer scholarships for medicine. oh yeah, i remember last time the malaysian army also offer scholarship for medicine but the catch is that you'll have to work in the army after graduation. and yeah, petronas offers only a few. mara and jpa throw out more but you'll have to be lucky to grab them. unless you're a bumi, then the best bet would be jpa. nowadays, jpa seems to be cutting down on scholarships to uk but more to russia, india and indon which are cheap. haha. compromise quality for quantity. no offense ya!
agree! that's not an offence! i think if they send a scholar to UK, it will cost them nearly RM1 million nowadays! Correct me if i'm wrong.
uglyducklai
27-02-2007, 11:59 PM
this is a good way to satisfy more and more people.
India and russia do have their quality.i always thought so...
01-03-2007, 06:16 PM
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/1/9/nation/16500728&sec=nation
Try oso the loan frm JPA....
If ur result is good and u r willing to work for government for 10 years....u dun hv to pay back the loan....
It would be like a sponsorship by then :wink:
evening_go_jogging
02-03-2007, 04:43 PM
do doctors have the opportunity of doing research besides curing people? what kind of research?
where can i find a list of all the fields of specialisation?
11-04-2007, 01:50 AM
do doctors have the opportunity of doing research besides curing people? what kind of research?
u need to be reli outstanding to be eligible be selected as researcher... there's always a way for u if u deserve it.
04-06-2007, 03:51 PM
yes they do. you would find out in your respective universities when you study there. if not normally find the postgraduate department of the respective universities.
TheArtOfMedicine
30-01-2008, 03:02 PM
Um..I'm not sure whether i should say this..but there are quite a few universities which are quite famous(or shall i say, excellent?) for their research facilities, and their emphasis on research in the course of medicine. For example, the Oxbridge and Melbourne.