View Full Version : JPA/MARA interviews

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

lolilo
25-02-2005, 10:29 PM
i thought everyone could share their thoughts about what could be the topics that jpa will choose for the interviews....
i think ITC or BULLIES IN SCHOOL or NATIONALISM issues will come up..

Moderator Edit of Subject, since both JPA/MARA scholarship interview is essentially the same interview.

25-02-2005, 11:01 PM
It is a very good idea of lolilo to start up this thread, and please keep all discussions on JPA interview to this thread.

Some suggestions as to what to be discussed here:
1. Potential topic that could be asked. And for most of the topic, there is a relevant thread in ReCom that discusses about those topic. So, scroll up and next to click on the search icon, and search for the topic. Perhaps, bring the link for the thread here, and discussion could be done at that particular thread, and any ReComer can just click on the link from here.

2. Discuss about techniques to use in interview.

Anything else that everyone thinks are useful for JPA interview, from attire to other minor details which are essential.

26-02-2005, 01:55 AM
Among the issues that JPA scholarship applicants could be potentially asked include. (This is just a list that I personally think is probable). Please feel free to bring up more issues, or focus on some issues. Those who have attended JPA interview in the past few years, you can share your topics here too.:-

1. Corruption Issue
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=370

2. Road Accidents Phenomena & Road Bully
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1481

3. Racial Harmony Issue
- This thread is not directly related, but I think it could be used to discuss this issue too.
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1444

4. Discipline Problem in School
A thread could be created to discuss this issue

5. National Service
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=956
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=200

6. ICT/Multimedia Super Corridor
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=834

7. Nationalism/Patriotism
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=42

8. Environmental Issues
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1113

9. Tsunami, including its relief efforts etc.
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1600

10. Moral Values & other good values
- This is related to the recently launched 5-year plan in Malaysia to instill Malaysians to be friendlier etc. Someone could set up a thread to discuss this issue if interested.

11. Safety & Security in Malaysia
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1363

12. Biotechnology
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=632

13. Issues of Research University & R&D
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1484

14. Lifelong Learning
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1529

15. Double Major in IPTA
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=905

16. The 9th Malaysian Plan
- Basically this will touch on what's essential for Malaysia to develop within the next 5 years (2006-2010).
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1774

17. Delegation of Decision Making in Public Sector
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1744

18. Currency Pegging
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1527

19. Malaysian Entertainment Industry
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1384

20. Islam Hadhari & the recent Inter-Faith Commission
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1319

21. Transportation System in Malaysia
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=50

22. Proton
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=333

23. Malaysia - Singapore Relationship
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=302

24. Issue of New Terminal in KLIA for Low Cost Carrier
- I don't think the chance of this being asked is high for JPA, but do get to know about this.
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1543

deaf-knee
26-02-2005, 02:43 AM
what's itc?

I was wondering, how long approximately, would we be asked to speak for? Will it be a one person speak once thing, or whoever has something to say butts in at anytime they deem polite thing?

thanks.

26-02-2005, 03:09 AM
what's itc?

I was wondering, how long approximately, would we be asked to speak for? Will it be a one person speak once thing, or whoever has something to say butts in at anytime they deem polite thing?

thanks.

ITC stands for Information Technology and Communication.

tree007
26-02-2005, 03:22 AM
i tot it's normally abbreviated as "ICT", not "ITC".... but heck.. it means the same.... :P just my 2 cents...

26-02-2005, 03:49 AM
Generally, it would be a group of 6-12 people, depending on venue. Generally, it would be one hour. It would be a discussion thing, so basically, you can just say whenever you have the opportunity. I would advise you to raise hand or at least indicate to others that you are speaking, before you speak. And don't jump in while others are halfway in their sentence. Remember, do not dominate. Be a good listener, and it is the quality of your points that matter, not quantity or points or words that you speak.

26-02-2005, 08:09 AM
This is for entertainment purposes only -- wait isn't JPA interview a joke after all? Talk about allocating RM 500,000 scholarships by doing a 6-12 group interview and asking superficial questions?

1. Corruption Issue
Party line: I believe corruption does exists in Malaysia, but Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi is doing a great job in containing it. With his amazing leadership, we will be a corrupt-free society by 2020.

If-you-don't-want-JPA-scholarship line: Ah, corruption -- who says got corruption? Oh, really got corruption, get all those UMNO, MCA, MIC people and check their bank accounts lah, easy way to find out if they're getting extra money mah.

5. National Service
Party line: You know, if Singapore can have NS, we should have NS too. In fact, I think we should have a more rigorous NS for males, we need Malaysians males who are tough, disciplined and able to fight to defend their countries.

If-you-don't-want-JPA-scholarship line: NS, ah...hmm let me think. Lucky for me I don't have to do NS, otherwise I have to waste 3 months hearing b.s. propaganda and marching all day.

18. Currency Pegging
Party line: Tun Dr. Mahathir's visionary idea, defying the IMF, in adopting sound economic measures gave Malaysia the advantage in recovering quickly. Pegging the ringgit is sound economic policy and provides investors more certainty in doing international trade.

If-you-don't-want-JPA-scholarship line: Oh, what is pegging lah? Oh, is it that RM 3.80 = US$1? How can that be good, we should have RM 1 = US$1, then imported items would be cheaper mah. But I also confuse lah, in 1997 Dr. M say peg is good, now Dr. M say peg is bad. What's he thinking? So, if I'm finance minister, I will peg RM 1 = US$1, so next time Malaysians holiday overseas, it will be cheaper on the pocket. How can we have national pride if our ringgit is so weak?
:twisted:

26-02-2005, 08:17 AM
what's itc?

thanks.

itc = i tak cun? :lol:

lyzzy
26-02-2005, 08:27 AM
This is for entertainment purposes only -- wait isn't JPA interview a joke after all? Talk about allocating RM 500,000 scholarships by doing a 6-12 group interview and asking superficial questions?

1. Corruption Issue
Party line: I believe corruption does exists in Malaysia, but Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi is doing a great job in containing it. With his amazing leadership, we will be a corrupt-free society by 2020.

If-you-don't-want-JPA-scholarship line: Ah, corruption -- who says got corruption? Oh, really got corruption, get all those UMNO, MCA, MIC people and check their bank accounts lah, easy way to find out if they're getting extra money mah.

5. National Service
Party line: You know, if Singapore can have NS, we should have NS too. In fact, I think we should have a more rigorous NS for males, we need Malaysians males who are tough, disciplined and able to fight to defend their countries.

If-you-don't-want-JPA-scholarship line: NS, ah...hmm let me think. Lucky for me I don't have to do NS, otherwise I have to waste 3 months hearing b.s. propaganda and marching all day.

18. Currency Pegging
Party line: Tun Dr. Mahathir's visionary idea, defying the IMF, in adopting sound economic measures gave Malaysia the advantage in recovering quickly. Pegging the ringgit is sound economic policy and provides investors more certainty in doing international trade.

If-you-don't-want-JPA-scholarship line: Oh, what is pegging lah? Oh, is it that RM 3.80 = US$1? How can that be good, we should have RM 1 = US$1, then imported items would be cheaper mah. But I also confuse lah, in 1997 Dr. M say peg is good, now Dr. M say peg is bad. What's he thinking? So, if I'm finance minister, I will peg RM 1 = US$1, so next time Malaysians holiday overseas, it will be cheaper on the pocket. How can we have national pride if our ringgit is so weak?
:twisted:

LOL! I love your post!

Anyway I would like to give this piece of advice to prospective JPA applicants - the interview counts for very little in determining whether you get the scholarship or not... Unless you are an exceptional debator or a stutterer who can't form a perfect sentence or think clearly, the interview won't count for much, either way.
Yamaha TT350 (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Yamaha_TT350)

debbie
26-02-2005, 08:57 AM
It's a discussion right? Nothing like a debate? Wht if I get defensive and start rebutting everyone elses' points? And is it in English or Malay?

naoj
26-02-2005, 11:04 AM
shouldn't this thread be moved to the education part?

the interview will most prolly be in english. in the years prior to 2004, jpa interviews didnt seem to account for much, so long as u get straight A1s, u're in. however due to the incredible increase of straight A1 scorers (this can be an entirely new debate..is there grade inflation? are msians truly getting smarter? ahah..but lazy to get into that), the interview seems to have counted somewhat. many of my peers with straight A1s didnt get in. some with 13 or 14 A1s only got inn on appeal..some didnt even get in on appeal. yet i have a fellow jpa classmate with 5A1s and rest A2s who got the scholarship. so while no one can accurately guess how much the interview counts for, it does count somewhat.

the biggest problem with people is they tend to go for the interview ready with prepackaged answers and end up sounding ponificatish and pompous and dislikable. and if asked something out of the scope of the topic, they get lost.

also, some people (like me) are really bad at group interviews cos everyone's talking at the same time and u find it hard to butt in. well, just do it. say "excuse me but i feel differently..." and just interject or u'll never get to say your piece. believe me, with 11 other over-enthusiastic kiasu competitive people in the room , u better be a little bit evil.

most of the interviews are such that they throw u a topic and ask the 12 of u to thrash it out. however some will let each person speak for a while individually about the topic giving u time to sort of collect your thoughts and write down a bit. whatever it is, if u REALLY wanna prepare, just read the papers and make sure u have opinions about issues. but for the love of god, dont read the "contoh karangan" books and predict what's going to "come out"..this is not spm and not a test. it wont work out as u plan. =D good luckk!

kucingbiru
26-02-2005, 11:33 AM
jpa does group interviews? i donno about that. it wasnt like that 3-4 years ago.

if u were to prepare for the topics, my advice is, get ur own point of view. u can read other people's view, but dont look for the right answer. look for something that convince u the most, and use it. be convincing when u speak. and u might want to be politically correct (it's not good, but, it might be safer).

i personally dont like to be asked about issues that i donno. i mean, usually we can't choose the topic. and when i donno what to talk about that, my choices are: 1) be a smartass 2) forget about it. that sucks. i mean, do u have to know everything to get the scholarship? personally, i'd choose no 2. because there's a huge risk that u'll end up making urself look stupid if u choose no 1. well, if u get lucky, u might get the scholarship. u decide what's important for u.

my favorite question, and the question that i'm pretty sure they'll ask u is, "what can u tell us about yourself?".

u'd better be good at this. if u can't talk about urself, forget about other issues.

lolilo
26-02-2005, 11:47 AM
huh?what happen to this thread? seems like everyone are havin opinions against jpa....but what chenchow did was really a great help,thanks..

kucingbiru
26-02-2005, 12:20 PM
am i against jpa? i dont think so. because i donno what they'll ask. at my time they asked me about myself, which is great.

26-02-2005, 12:30 PM
While some may choose to argue that the interview does not count much, perhaps it is only 10-15%, but to all those that are applying for JPA, I would like to pose you a question.

Do you rather try your very best to do well, even if something counts 1%, or you would rather choose to slack it off, since it only counts a little.

The onus is upon everyone to decide, but I personally would think that the best measurement would be to try your very best, after all, the scholarship could be worth a few hundred thousand ringgit.

On the interview, most of the time, it would be in English, but do prepare to speak in BM, if necessary. The best way to measure would be to answer in the language that they ask you.

And on whether JPA's system is the best or not, I think for most of us, we don't have any chance of changing the interview and selection system, at least in the short term, so the best bet would be to try our best to understand how they work, and prepare your best for the interview, right?

Time is ticking....

alamanda_star
26-02-2005, 12:34 PM
is ict stand for information computer technology?
correct me if i'm wrong! n is ict have the same meaning with itc?
i have no idea........s'one help me!

why they want to test us about all the issues?it just like we're going to be a politician or a ministry......

lolilo
26-02-2005, 12:59 PM

why they want to test us about all the issues?it just like we're going to be a politician or a ministry......
my bad,its a typing error actually,its ict and you are right. You can try the links that chenchow posted on the first page and hope that it could be some help.Or just surf through the net......

JPA wanted to search for ppl they think are most eligible to receives those million-dollars scholarship and if they have chosen somebody who doesn't give a damn about what happening to thier country at the moment and doesn't have an opinion of thier own ,wont that be a waste of resources? And i believe just solely relying on the SPM results to jugde a student credibility just wouldn't be fair because of the increment of straight A's student these few years...Other extra knowledge does matter .........

SHuLy
26-02-2005, 01:05 PM
hey there...

just to share the experience during my interview in april 2003:

topic was about music piracy, it was a group interview of 6-7 people (mine was seven and was the last group). there were 2 interviewers, whose english, in my opinion, wasn't very good. it was acceptable but not good.

each of us were given a pencil and paper and a couple of minutes to think about what we were going to say about the topic. we were supposed to talk for about 3 minutes if i am not mistaken...or mebbe it was 5. not sure here though.

in this case, it could be a plus point if you are first whereby you can talk about anything without worrying about repeating any points. but it could work to your advantage if you can think of fresh ideas after 6 people has spoken!

after you have spoken, they asked a question, gave some comments...but that's it. and at the end, they might ask a general question to everyone and it ends there with, "anything you would like to ask us?"

to me, the interview did not seem to be one of the main determining factors to give out the scholarship during my year. but nonetheless, its a good experience to try one's best. at least further improvements can be done for future crucial and important interviews!

flibbertigibbet
26-02-2005, 01:17 PM
Just to add some issues to the list.

- PTPTN (National Higher Education Fund Corporation) loan repayment.

- Dengue fever

- HFM (Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease)

- Firecrackers/Fireworks Crackdown

And on the Environmental Issues mentioned by ChenChow, I guess we should concentrate a little bit more on the recent forest fires and unhealthy air quality caused by the rising temperature.

26-02-2005, 01:20 PM

my bad,its a typing error actually,its ict and you are right. You can try the links that chenchow posted on the first page and hope that it could be some help.Or just surf through the net......

JPA wanted to search for ppl they think are most eligible to receives those million-dollars scholarship and if they have chosen somebody who doesn't give a damn about what happening to thier country at the moment and doesn't have an opinion of thier own ,wont that be a waste of resources? And i believe just solely relying on the SPM results to jugde a student credibility just wouldn't be fair because of the increment of straight A's student these few years...Other extra knowledge does matter .........

don't give JPA scholars so much credit...

the interview is really crappy... and u'll be surprised that at the end of the day, not all the selected ones are really those who care about what's happening to the country...

let's get real... how much can the interview tells about the students when it is a group discussion, talking about some issues, which many people studied for it...(just like preparing facts for ur essay)...
For example, someone in the group can affect everybody's performance if he or she dominates the interview... or, if many of the group choose not to speak...the discussion will be really akward... and the entire group is affected...

and try to imagine u are the interviewer listening to a group of 12 people in a discussion, after an hour, can u still remember who says wat.. don't u think that u will give credit or penalize the wrong person??

but since we can't change anything about it... just try ur best in the interview... and hope for the best from them...

LUCK is very important... getting JPA scholarship is like striking a lottery...
becoz, after all, JPA is not practicing the real 'meritocracy'...more like a random pick of the "qualified" candidates...

26-02-2005, 01:27 PM
sigh... that's just sad...

26-02-2005, 01:35 PM
The topic put forward by flibbertigibbet is pretty relevant.

On the interview, I personally think that group interview is a good way of evaluating candidates. In a way, we see leadership, communication and analytical abilities shown during that period of time. It is quite easy to fake some knowledge and perform during a short traditional 10-15 minutes interview, but showing how you are a good listener, a good presenter etc is not as easy.

On one point, the interviewers only need to choose the top few candidates, so basically they do not need to remember all the points, or even most of the points. It is those quality ideas/ view points and articulation that struck their attention. Just reflect upon yourself when you attend any debate/speech/lecture, where you listen from many people, how would you personally select the best candidate? I have been a judge for debates at my high school level for many times, and i have conducted interview over here in Cornell many times, I personally think that the impression you make is essential. With human judgment, there will be bias, but it would be on every aspect of your doing, that does the trick.

Simple stuff like do you greet the interviewer, do you establish eye contact with others, including interviewers when you speak, are you attentive when others are speaking, or you are just busy waiting to speak up, etc. the list goes on and on, and frankly, the best judgment on asking what is the best way would be to put yourself in their shoes, where the officers are supposed to choose the future policy makers and leaders of our country, what should you focus on.

flibbertigibbet
26-02-2005, 01:57 PM
LUCK is very important... getting JPA scholarship is like striking a lottery...

Talking about LUCK, man, luck is rarely on my side when it comes to education.

And does appearance counts? Well, I'm not talking about neat and suitable attire. What I'm trying to say is how a person looks, whether she is pretty or not.

There are friends and family members telling me that it counts, more or less. I myself feel it does count, sometimes, depending on the interviewers. And on which interviewers we are going to meet then will depend on our LUCK, again.

sno
26-02-2005, 02:58 PM
On the interview, I personally think that group interview is a good way of evaluating candidates. In a way, we see leadership, communication and analytical abilities shown during that period of time..

the las time i ever get to show off my leadership quality, i was a class monitor in standard 1.........n i got into trouble with parents for hitting my frenz with the cane :P

alamanda_star
26-02-2005, 03:51 PM
can we bring along papers or small note book into the room? or they will just ask us to use their papers only?

Anduril
26-02-2005, 04:05 PM
I read it somewhere in another thread that if you are the first one who volunteerily break the silence (as the one who are the first to speak) during the interview, you might get just a little advantage as it instantly seizes the interviewers' attention. (Does that really work? I mean, if it works, then everyone 'kiasu' enough would be vying for that and the commotion would be chaotic...)

Whatever it is, I would like to know how we should begin our say tactfully (even when we are the last) without sounding too awkward or too sudden. I mean, do you greet everybody there first and state your topic (sounds like giving a speech in a competition), or you introduce yourself and get started.

I remember there was this participant in a public speaking competition who started off by singing a song. I guess anyone who does that during the interview will be deemed either crazily enthusiatic or desperately wanting the attention of all. But still, that's creativity, isn't it?

sno
26-02-2005, 04:18 PM
I read it somewhere in another thread that if you are the first one who volunteerily break the silence (as the one who are the first to speak) during the interview, you might get just a little advantage as it instantly seizes the interviewers' attention. (Does that really work? I mean, if it works, then everyone 'kiasu' enough would be vying for that and the commotion would be chaotic...)

yea, my school's discipline teacher's son got a JPA scholarship to USA when he spoke up first in his group discussion interview....the topic was globalisation

kucingbiru
26-02-2005, 04:49 PM

yea, my school's discipline teacher's son got a JPA scholarship to USA when he spoke up first in his group discussion interview....the topic was globalisation

he might be really good, and happened to be the first one to talk. who knows?

yes, it's a waste to give a scholarship to someone who doesnt give a damn about his country. but i dont think one should give a damn about every single thing and know a lot about each issue. one guy who's really active in one issue might not know a whole lot about every other issues. and if he's asked about the stuff he doesnt really know, does that mean he doesnt give a damn about his country? i dont think so. quality is better thn quantity.

26-02-2005, 05:35 PM
well firstly it's jabatan perkhidmatan awam. public money used to create civil leaders. at the very least he or she should be able to address and speak coherently about a pressing contemporary issue. and for the kind of money JPA pours to them, the scholars should have *both* quality and quantity.

26-02-2005, 09:04 PM
Let me tell you guys what I was asked during my interview.

1. What are your parents' occupations?

2. Do you know any German companies in Malaysia?

I swear to God, I'm not kidding.

Times have really changed huh?

deaf-knee
26-02-2005, 09:07 PM
doing such great jobs in scaring me shitless :)

(I would take back such disrespectful language but I am afraid no other phrase would justify the fear and the terror that I felt after reading all that)

(then again, I'm not THAT scared)

(just worried.)

hohoho.

Ixora
26-02-2005, 09:53 PM
To those who has got the JPA scholarship and is from Sungai Petani:

1. Where is the interview done? :?:

2. The interview is done in group of 10-12, group of 4-6, or personal performance? :?:

3. The interview is done in English or Malay or both? :?:

Thanx for your help... :)

26-02-2005, 10:47 PM
Just for clarification, the individual interview that some of us here had for JPA was from SPM 2000 or before, and group interview started in SPM 2001 (I think I get the year correct, if not 2001, then it started in 2002) and onwards.

As the interviewer will come from the whole country, so it won't be the same interviewer at the same place, every year.

On being the 1st to speak, I would say that it is not too big an issue. Try to speak first, but if you don't get to speak first, it is not too big a deal. Volunteer to speak first, will show your readiness, but that is only demonstrated if you give a polished argument and presentation.

Try to speak at an average speed, with clear pronunciation. While it is not that they care too much about this aspect, but if you can't pronounce it clearly, others may not even understand what do you say. No need to try and go for very fast speed, speak it at an average speed, to ensure your sentence flows better.

I would say that, just start with the phrase "Hi" would be sufficient.

Another suggestion that I would give is that you should incorporate your personal experience as you speak.

For example, the topic is Ways to enhance Racial Harmony in Malaysia.

Usually people will just try to list many ways to enhance, and perhaps just give normal example. But I would suggest that you incorporate your personal experience, or personal observation. Say you can describe your experience mingling with fellow Malaysians of other races during NS, where all of you stay under one roof. You can describe about initiative that you have done in your high school to promote racial harmony etc.

So, in this way, you get to talk about the topic, as well as showcase a little more about yourself.

DFish
28-02-2005, 10:06 AM

2. The interview is done in group of 10-12, group of 4-6, or personal performance? :?:

1. INTAN wilayah utara, jalan kuala ketil

2. my interview was done in a group of 10.

3. The interview is in english.. though some students mix malay and english when they dunno how to answer in english...

lkh1986
28-02-2005, 11:26 AM
[3. The interview is in english.. though some students mix malay and english when they dunno how to answer in english...

Would this be a problem? I mean, does the interviewer prefer the interviewees to discuss the topic in English or Malay?

sno
28-02-2005, 03:12 PM
i think my spoken malay is even worse than my spoken english........ :? it's even harder to get any chance to practise speech in malay when ur from a chinese school :P

28-02-2005, 03:41 PM
[3. The interview is in english.. though some students mix malay and english when they dunno how to answer in english...

Would this be a problem? I mean, does the interviewer prefer the interviewees to discuss the topic in English or Malay?

this is a BIG problem...

English only... and please don't mix it with any other languages...
and don't try to imitate any accent... (even though the interviewer might have an accent)if ur accent is not natural, it will only be a joke to others...

28-02-2005, 03:43 PM
i think my spoken malay is even worse than my spoken english........ :? it's even harder to get any chance to practise speech in malay when ur from a chinese school :P

how about ur 'Ujian Lisan'??? don't u practice conversing in BM for it??

flibbertigibbet
28-02-2005, 04:25 PM
Our lisan is not really an oral test since we get to prepare an article and memorize it before presenting to the teacher.

This is the new oral test starting in year 2003, if I'm not mistaken.

And it is our own teacher who will judge our performance. It is totally different from the oral test before this where there would be teachers from other schools to test us.

And if we perform badly, we can try again and again until we are satisfied with our marks.

I guess with that kind of oral test, we do not practise conversing in Malay but memorizing essays.

Ixora
28-02-2005, 08:23 PM
flibbertigibbet is right. that's why sometimes when we want to say something which is in our mind, we can't say it out fluently because we have to think about which words we have to use before we say it out...

lolilo
28-02-2005, 08:43 PM
1. PTPTN Loan repayment
2. Homework a burden for student
3. Is canning a wise choice
4. terrorism
5. illegal immigrants

Anduril
28-02-2005, 09:03 PM

Well, I am from a chinese school and I think I did have the chance to speak in Malay, though not as frequently as in Chinese. But the trouble is, I seldom have the chance to speak in English!! I wonder what I am going to do if I ever be chosen for the interview... :?

28-02-2005, 10:59 PM
Use ReCom as a tool to practice your English. You get the chance to type out in English here, and read a lot in English. You have another 5 weeks before your interview. And perhaps you still have the time to get together with some of your school mates or even fellow ReComers that you know here and practice together.

sno
28-02-2005, 11:11 PM
You have another 5 weeks before your interview. .
:!:
yikes!! five weeks? ?? *nervous

Anduril
01-03-2005, 11:52 AM
Use ReCom as a tool to practice your English. You get the chance to type out in English here, and read a lot in English...

I know this will definitely help us in a way or another. But I think speaking is not much like writing. I feel that writing (or typing) gives us sort of a few nanoseconds more to think. Maybe my mind just doesn't run as fast as it should be...

byzhanii_bogn
01-03-2005, 01:13 PM
i'm not particularly good in english. though i do have the opportunity to converse in english a lot, but i realize that i've been using all the "lah"s and "meh"s. i know, when u realize that u've been using all the incorrect words, it's a good thing, because u can change that. but the problem is, though i tried so much not to made any mistakes, i did, accidentally. besides, i find my speaking in english really "hair-standing". get what i mean? i sound sissy! my friends never said that, but i think i do sound like that when i listen to myself in the video my dad took while we're on our holiday trip.

jpa interviews can be in bm right? after all it is our national language. how much would the chances of discussions in bm compared to english? i would pretty much prefer it in bm though. i'm used to "official" spoken bm (meaning the one u speak in debates, public speaking and interviews, not the bahasa pasar when u talk to ur friends). but last year during the lisan test, my bm teacher said i have such a weird accent. it's not the typical chinese accent, it's just different, like i'm a news reporter or something. my debate teacher laughed at me when i told her my bm teacher said that. it's not a good sign, isn't it?

and err, all the issues mentioned, don't u think corruption is a bit sensitive?

01-03-2005, 01:20 PM
jpa interviews can be in bm right? i did mine entirely in bm, except when the interviewers asked me questions in english, which was not often. but this was before the group-interview era haha.

nxwen
01-03-2005, 01:48 PM
I had my interview in April 2003. My interview was in a group of 5. We were ask to talk about ourself first and why we chose the course. Then we were given a topic about MSC. I was quite shocked when given this topic because I know almost nothing about MSC. We didn't discuss this topic, but talk one after another. The interviewer will call out our name for us to speak. Weird eh? In the end, you can hear some of us repeating the point mentioned by others. I guess the other candidate are quite clueless as well. My interview was conducted entirely in English and lasted about 20-30 minutes.

So, do read more. Just my 2 cents worth.

02-03-2005, 12:43 AM
I don't think it is a sensitive issue to talk about corruption in JPA interview. i would say that we should look at an issue from the constructive stand point. A lot of people will be willing to accept our view points, if we are trying to communicate it with good intention, suggesting ways to make things better. What has been the problem is that a lot of people are just trying to point a finger out and blame others. So, if you can discuss an issue constructively, i have full confidence that you can present it well.

On using BM and English, it is a tough call, but I personally still think that reply in the language that they ask will be the best judgment. During the interview, one thing to note will be that you are there to present view points, and not going for a language exam. So, what matters most, is the language ability to help you communicating your idea. While serious grammatical errors will reflect negatively upon you, failure to construct any sentence/idea will be much worse. Practice, practice and practice~!

bunny
02-03-2005, 01:59 AM
wow, things have changed so much.. .. since my time.. which wasn't very long ago since i am still very young :P they really ask u guys about current issues?

i remember walking into the JPA interview and the first statement they threw at me was," you don't look like the kind of person who will wanna work in a public sector.."

it's almost as if they have decided they did not want to give me the scholarship the moment they see me or maybe way before that.. :) anyway my chances were pretty low then so didn't think it mattered that much. during my time it is hard to get if u had an A2 in BM..

haha their statement is pretty amusing because for the next half a decade of my life I will be working in a public sector and both my parents were public servants as well.

Avrenim
02-03-2005, 10:47 AM
Say, if interviews are held in groups, do they (the interviewers) still go thru our certs??? I just can't imagine how they do it if the group has like 15 pp in it... :? (Will certainly take a very, very long time.......)

Just a comment though ......

byzhanii_bogn
02-03-2005, 10:59 AM
since the jpa interviews will be held in groups, from what i've read here... how do u think it will give an impression to the interviewer if, one asked in BM, and the other in english...for example on foreign workers.

so one interviewer asked in bm, and that we are to review on the topic, and another interviewer asked in english, the same question, just different language. which one will u follow? (i know this is not common, just ask). then when the first student answer in english (since the later is was in english), the rest of the group must follow him, or can others use BM?

by the way, do u think they mind if we answer in english, but we stammered. we can consturct sentences alright, just that we "err" here and "erm" there...

02-03-2005, 11:18 AM
since the jpa interviews will be held in groups, from what i've read here... how do u think it will give an impression to the interviewer if, one asked in BM, and the other in english...for example on foreign workers.

so one interviewer asked in bm, and that we are to review on the topic, and another interviewer asked in english, the same question, just different language. which one will u follow? (i know this is not common, just ask). then when the first student answer in english (since the later is was in english), the rest of the group must follow him, or can others use BM?

by the way, do u think they mind if we answer in english, but we stammered. we can consturct sentences alright, just that we "err" here and "erm" there...

i'm not sure about this... about one interviewer asking in BM and another in English... but, as far as i know, most, if not all the group interviews from 2003 onwards are done in English... but i do recall the interviewers asked us to discuss in English... (anyway, it is not wrong to ask the interviewer whether they want the discussion to be held in BM or English... but u shld rephrase ur question in such a way such that it is not showing that u are not able to converse in one language or the other. For example, if u are told to discuss in English, asking the interviewer whether u can speak in BM is not a good idea...If u were not told which language to use, then, follow the interviewer's question... if the question is asked in English, then, English that is...)

and it is not OK to stammer... They MIND... try picturing this, 2 equally 'qualified' applicants... with similar results in SPM and all... applying for the same course... if one stammers when he or she speaks, while the other speaks fluently... who would u choose to be awarded the scholarship???

just try to avoid the use of "errr..., ahhhh, ..." (i know it is really hard, and most of us are too comfortable with it that we don't know that we are using 'errr' and 'ahh' not knowingly")...

when u have nothing to say... dun go on and on... it is ok to make short sentences ... the important thing is to deliver ur points well...

Anduril
02-03-2005, 12:21 PM
Another question: Can a student speak two or more times in an interview? Let's say I have been given 3 minutes or so to have my say, and then suddenly I come up with another point and wish to state it. Can I do so? Or is it one-after-another kind of interview?

The_forgotten
02-03-2005, 01:08 PM
i would say it's advisable to do this only after all the students have finished presenting their views for the first time. only then you are free to present or add any extra points. any abrupt interruptions (aggressively waving your hand in the air seeking for the attention of the interviewer while another student is speaking) will only give the interviewer a bad impression ...juz my opinion though.

02-03-2005, 01:19 PM
Another question: Can a student speak two or more times in an interview? Let's say I have been given 3 minutes or so to have my say, and then suddenly I come up with another point and wish to state it. Can I do so? Or is it one-after-another kind of interview?

it is a discussion.... so, if u have another idea flashes across ur mind while others are speaking, just wait patiently for others to finish their points and then, share ur new idea....(and here's a tip, if u have nothing to say, u can elaborate on others' points... or, instead of elaborating on ur point endlessly, try asking for others' opinions... For example, I concur with John's opinion about ..... This is becoz....(this way, u can turn other's point into urs if u have nothing to say), or if u dunno how to explain ur point, u can pull in others..., example: In my opinion,..... What do you think about it?

it is NOT a one-after-another kind of interview...
there's no time limit.... but dominating the discussion doesn't do any good to you...

02-03-2005, 01:40 PM
the last post by decentmerson is very useful. It is not one after another type of discussion. Some interviewers may give each person a turn to speak, before open for discussions, whereas some other interviewers will just give an hour to a group of students, and it is up to you how to spend the time.

It is alright to speak more than once, and in fact, you should speak more than once, but do not over dominate. Elaborate or add on others' points are great idea, and also try ask for others' opinion, especially those that are quiet.

I think use English as default, and if the interviewer asks in BM, and you are more comfortable, you can use BM, but if they say use a particular language, then please use that language.

For certs, they will browse through. There will be 2 interviewers for a group of about 10-12 students. So, don't bring too many certs. 15-20 will be a good maximum, and put in clear file holder, where it is easy for them to browse. They will spend a minute or two on the certs only per person.

alamanda_star
02-03-2005, 01:45 PM
how do the interviewer will recognise us? i mean we're doing in group right.. so how will they know our name? do we have to introduce ourselves first? or we'll be wearing somekind like batch or etc..

actually, who are they( interviewer)?are they teachers or nazir or jpa officers or what?

02-03-2005, 02:14 PM
how do the interviewer will recognise us? i mean we're doing in group right.. so how will they know our name? do we have to introduce ourselves first? or we'll be wearing somekind like batch or etc..

actually, who are they( interviewer)?are they teachers or nazir or jpa officers or what?

all of u in the group will be seated in an U-shaped table...(actually is many tables placed into a huge U-shaped conference table...), then, there will be number assigned to everyone of u... the interviewers will assign the members of the group to seat accordingly to the respective number assigned... so, they know u by ur seat number...

for some sessions, the interviewers might ask u to introduce yourself as the warming up question... while my session didn't... we just jumped right into the discussion....

the interviewers are JPA officers and/or lecturers... (for my session, the interviewers are one JPA officer and one lecturer from INTEC, UiTM)

flibbertigibbet
02-03-2005, 05:08 PM
What are we expected to do during the warm-up session?

We are supposed to introduce ourselves. Is it the normal self-introduction where you state your name and which school you are from?

What else do we have to say?

Our SPM results? Our ambition and why we choose that profession? Our family background?

The warm-up session will be brief, right? And that session more or less will contribute to our first impression for the interviewers.

tanjq87
02-03-2005, 06:39 PM
So, is it a must to bring along our genuine cert during the interview?

alamanda_star
02-03-2005, 07:32 PM
So, is it a must to bring along our genuine cert during the interview?

my counselor told me to prepare at least a set of photocopy....

02-03-2005, 10:24 PM
I will say that create a good impression at warm-up session will be good. I think a number of interviewers would actually give you the chance to go one by one to introduce yourself. So, just intro yourself a little, and if you want, you can mention one or at most two of your best achievement, just for highlight.

In some stations, they would actually ask one of you to volunteer as pengerusi, who would coordinate the 1-hour discussion.

On certs, if you can bring the original one, then bring the original one for the interview, but send a certified copy when you submit your form.

byzhanii_bogn
03-03-2005, 01:12 PM
do u think the interviewer will shoot u question halfway during the discussion. let's just say we're given a topic on racial unity, and i say something likt "racial unity needs time. it can't be done in a short period of time. hence, education since one's kindergarthen yearswould be a wise thing to do" then the interviewer suddenly cut in and say, "does that mean a programme intoduced when one gets older is not useful? are u saying the national service is not doing any good in strenghtening racial unity?" just an example, no hard feelings.

03-03-2005, 01:33 PM
do u think the interviewer will shoot u question halfway during the discussion. let's just say we're given a topic on racial unity, and i say something likt "racial unity needs time. it can't be done in a short period of time. hence, education since one's kindergarthen yearswould be a wise thing to do" then the interviewer suddenly cut in and say, "does that mean a programme intoduced when one gets older is not useful? are u saying the national service is not doing any good in strenghtening racial unity?" just an example, no hard feelings.

well... since there is no cold and hard rules stating what an interviewer can or cannot do during the discussion, u will have to bail ur way out under any circumstances...

u can always try to accommodate both urs and the interviewer's points be agreeing with condition...

answering ur example above: i do think that it is implementing some programs during kindergarden years would be good becoz it is easier to teach a small child the right thing than telling him or her what is right after a decade later... however, there are certain things which young children wouldn't understand and can only be taught when they are older... for example, it is hard to explain the importance of racial unity to a kindergarden kid... but NS can do a great job in teaching youngsters about this... therefore, on top of having a great program such as NS (hahaha...), in order to promote racial unity and enhance the effect of it, we shld have programs that educate children since they are young in their kindergarden...

(just my 2 cents)

rene
03-03-2005, 02:10 PM
Is it more important to have superb results or to do well in the interview? Will they pick someone with straight A1s but sucked at the interview or someone with a coupla A1s and A2s but did great at the interview?

byzhanii_bogn
03-03-2005, 02:18 PM
isn't it obvious enough?

Ixora
03-03-2005, 10:41 PM

3. The interview is in english.. though some students mix malay and english when they dunno how to answer in english...

For the group interview, is it like a group discussion where everyone needs to express their thoughts in turns, or is it just like a meeting, where a chairman is needed to conduct the meeting? (i mean, the interview in sungai petani)

04-03-2005, 12:19 AM
what decentmerson wrote is a good one. And perhaps you could also discuss on the stand point that while ideally it would go from kindergarden stage, but as of now, the government realizes that the racial harmony needs to be boosted, so incorporating NS at current stage would help us rectify the problem. There are a lot of other measurements being done at younger level, like the Vision School, as well as the co-curricular activities/other events are being co-organized by neighboring schools of all types.

If we are to start from basic, that means we will be 11 years behind time, and NS will be a full-time effect, besides it is not merely for the sake of racial harmony. It gets to strengthen the students' training of its physical and mental, as well as learn to live independent, as we can see those of us here who were from boarding school, would be more independent. etc etc.

It is very possible that the interviewer can say so, and in fact, other candidates can do like that to you. And it will test you on your ability to hold your points, while reply tactfully. You would need to think on your feet. I would strongly recommend that all of you who are preparing to try out by just discussing issues at various threads in ReCom. I listed a number on page 1 of this thread (which are potential topic in the interview). And you can see how you maintain your view point, while taking into account others' view point.

A strong performance in the interview, does not mean that you come up with the best points. It is more on incorporating others' points, evaluating yours, critique it constructively and come up with strong outcomes. For instance, lets use back this topic of discussion. Say, you see a candidate A is firm on the standpoint of initiating racial harmony through kindergarden. Candidate B is firm on national service being the solution. You could join in and try to find a harmony between both the idea, and perhaps add on a little on your idea, making it a strong idea. This tests your analytical skills, listening ability (this is very crucial, you need to listen to what others say), presenting skills, as well as leadership abilities.

The interview is a test of all these, and all of you have about 5 weeks to prepare. Good Luck~! Again, suggestion. There are many threads of discussions in ReCom, and please do so in those threads. It will help you greatly. Last year, 26 ReComers get JPA, and we really hope that we can double that number at least for this year. We can help guiding you all, and I strongly believe that many of you are in better state than the rest of applicants, as they may not even know how the interview is conducted as of current state. And you have the resources to know about a lot of stuff throughout the nation. We need everyone to post more, and to share what you know, and with that, everyone can benefit more. Good Luck~!

p/s: To those who just come in and read what other posts, I strongly suggest that you use the opportunities to sign up as a ReCom member and try to post. We are all learning together, and I am sure you can see that ReCom is a very friendly forum, where people are trying to share and learn together. I have observed that for every member that logs in, there are at least 3 people who just come over and read the message. ReCom has hit about 11,000-15,000 hits per day these few days. That's quite a lot of traffic. So, anything one person posts will actually get to help a lot of people. Lets share and learn together.

04-03-2005, 12:26 AM
Is it more important to have superb results or to do well in the interview? Will they pick someone with straight A1s but sucked at the interview or someone with a coupla A1s and A2s but did great at the interview?

I will say that with the level of competition, it will be those with strong achievements in both aspect, academic and interview. One thing to remind, straight A1 does not guarantee you a scholarship, and not getting straight A1 does not mean that you are not going to get a scholarship. The policy of straight A1 guaranteed a scholarship was only done for SPM 00,01,02. It was not done last year, for SPM 03. I am not sure what will be done for this year, but I don't think there will be a guarantee of scholarship for those with straight A1.

Interview plays a part. I see no reason why you shouldn't prepare well for it. It can only help you if you perform well. There is no room for over-confidence for anyone. Again, irrespective of anyhow, please try to apply, and use these few weeks to prepare for your interview. Read newspaper everyday and discuss issues in ReCom as often as possible.

04-03-2005, 12:36 AM

For the group interview, is it like a group discussion where everyone needs to express their thoughts in turns, or is it just like a meeting, where a chairman is needed to conduct the meeting? (i mean, the interview in sungai petani)

yes... the group interview is like a group discussion... but about the 'taking turn' part... it depends on ur group... the discussion can be a nice discussion if nobody is trying to dominate the session...(or if nobody is defensive and doesn't accept others' point of views...).. in such discussions, everybody is given several chances to voice out their opinions...(my group did well in this, but it looks really obvious that we are giving everybody a chance to speak)...

it also looks like a meeting (if u say that if there's a chairperson, then, it is a meeting)... well, the discussion will be started with the chairperson doing some introduction about the title in order to start the ball rolling...

(i did chair the discussion session , becoz i wanted to listen to others' ideas before elaborating on mine...)

btw, my interview took place in Shah Alam... but all the JPA interviews are similar... hope that this answers ur questions...

alamanda_star
04-03-2005, 07:10 PM
I will say that with the level of competition, it will be those with strong achievements in both aspect, academic and interview. One thing to remind, straight A1 does not guarantee you a scholarship, and not getting straight A1 does not mean that you are not going to get a scholarship. The policy of straight A1 guaranteed a scholarship was only done for SPM 00,01,02. It was not done last year, for SPM 03. I am not sure what will be done for this year, but I don't think there will be a guarantee of scholarship for those with straight A1.

Interview plays a part. I see no reason why you shouldn't prepare well for it. It can only help you if you perform well. There is no room for over-confidence for anyone. Again, irrespective of anyhow, please try to apply, and use these few weeks to prepare for your interview. Read newspaper everyday and discuss issues in ReCom as often as possible.

there were 2 seniors at my school who managed to get straight a1 last year but they didn't get the scholarship! but there was a guy who just get straigt a ( i don't know how many a1 n a2 ) but he managed to get the scholarship!

did it sound really akward?

04-03-2005, 09:24 PM
there were 2 seniors at my school who managed to get straight a1 last year but they didn't get the scholarship! but there was a guy who just get straigt a ( i don't know how many a1 n a2 ) but he managed to get the scholarship!

did it sound really akward?

Concentrate on interview aspect over here, but the main reason is that the student who don't have straight A, has stronger co-curricular activities (at least he/she participated in those that got him/her more points for co-cu), and he/she did better in interview. Perhaps he/she that got 1/2 A2 in non-critical subject, but did much better in other subjects.

flibbertigibbet
06-03-2005, 12:40 PM
Some of the sites offering tips on interviews:

www.careerfair.com
www.collegegrad.com
www.quintcareers.com

Hope they help.

06-03-2005, 12:58 PM
Some of the sites offering tips on interviews:

www.careerfair.com
www.collegegrad.com
www.quintcareers.com

Hope they help.

Thanks flibbertigibbet for sharing and I hope more ReComers could do so. And perhaps a good way to share would be to find out the strong points from among the tons of information, and share it~!

DFish
06-03-2005, 06:44 PM

For the group interview, is it like a group discussion where everyone needs to express their thoughts in turns, or is it just like a meeting, where a chairman is needed to conduct the meeting? (i mean, the interview in sungai petani)\

as DecentMerson said, it is a group discussion basically. We introduced ourselves one by one as warming up round. Talking about our family, what we want to study and why we choose the country. Then, the interviewer gave a topic, and he asked questions, then he called names to answer the questions.

Though, the way the interview will be conducted depends on the interviewer. Different interviewers might have different styles of conducting the interview.

kucingbiru
06-03-2005, 07:07 PM
why is talking about our families important? i'm just curious.

lolilo
06-03-2005, 08:39 PM
why is talking about our families important? i'm just curious.

probably to check your family background .And it is a way to create topics to ask about .:)

timberlandd
06-03-2005, 09:48 PM
how long do u have to talk about urself? and do u need to state ur interest? ur personality ?

07-03-2005, 01:11 AM
The warm-up questions are determined by each interviewer, and it is more for you to loosen up and speak. Some interviewers may jump straight to the real interview.

I would say that you should use the warm-up questions to highlight yourself a little (don't over do), but you could share something that you hope the interviewer to know about you.

Another good time to share would be at the end of interview, when the interviewer asks you what you have to ask. Try to think of question to ask, and perhaps you can include a little more about yourself to highlight.

kucingbiru
07-03-2005, 03:51 AM
i'm still not sure why one's family background is important. if one's parents are criminals, one doesn't deserve to improve his life? i think it's something personal and should only be asked in private.

miu2
07-03-2005, 07:56 AM
Hmmm...just wondering...what would one wear for an interview? Smart casual or dead formal? :P

07-03-2005, 09:38 AM
formal....

for guys... shirt with necktie and pants and leather shoes...or school uniform

for ladies... appropriate and not exposing... and not too fitting...

flibbertigibbet
07-03-2005, 09:41 AM
Hmmm...just wondering...what would one wear for an interview? Smart casual or dead formal? :P

No, you can't have casual wear to an interview. Formal will be the appropriate attire for an interview.

I've tried searching for the posts about the correct attire for interviews. The other ReComers have discussed about it before this, but sad to say, I couldn't find the posts (forgot under which thread they are in, anyone who knows, please help).

Well, anyway, for girls, you can wear baju kurung or a dress. Never wear jeans and a t-shirt to an interview. That's considered informal.

As for guys, the only thing I remember is it is better to put on a coat or a blazer. Miu2, if you are a guy, I can't help you much because I didn't really pay notice to what guys should wear to an interview before this.

flibbertigibbet
07-03-2005, 09:46 AM
By the way, I have read somewhere that it is better for us (scholarship applicants) to know the bond attached to a scholarship. We should find out more to show that we are really interested in the scholarship.

So, can ReComers please share what you know about the bond attached to the JPA scholarship for each course?

For medicine, the only thing I know is that we will need to work for the government for 10 years as a means to repay the debt. Correct me if I'm wrong.

07-03-2005, 10:18 AM
For the bond, it is 10 years for pharmacy and medicine. For most of the other courses, it would be 6 years.

The procedure would be that you would need to come back and report for duty after your graduation (unless you stay on to do some practical training/internship/graduate school, which would be approved case-by-case basis, but JPA is encouraging students to do it). If there is no job offer within 6 months, you are free to go.

And I would strongly urge those JPA applicants, as well as current scholars, to treasure the scholarship, as we are studying abroad under tax-payers' money and it would be great if we could not looking at the bond, as a sore, but rather looking at serving the nation. I personally would want to serve the nation, as a government servant for the rest of my career.

07-03-2005, 11:09 AM
For the new members, try to read through this Pointers to Scholarship Interview:-

http://www.recom.org/mambo2/archives/issue01/issue_01/art_04.php

flibbertigibbet
07-03-2005, 12:06 PM
As for Petronas Scholarship, what is the bond attached?

I read through its website and found nothing on that.

07-03-2005, 12:06 PM
For the bond, it is 10 years for pharmacy and medicine. For most of the other courses, it would be 6 years.

The procedure would be that you would need to come back and report for duty after your graduation (unless you stay on to do some practical training/internship/graduate school, which would be approved case-by-case basis, but JPA is encouraging students to do it). If there is no job offer within 6 months, you are free to go.

And I would strongly urge those JPA applicants, as well as current scholars, to treasure the scholarship, as we are studying abroad under tax-payers' money and it would be great if we could not looking at the bond, as a sore, but rather looking at serving the nation. I personally would want to serve the nation, as a government servant for the rest of my career.

science and tech 4 years

07-03-2005, 12:47 PM
As for Petronas Scholarship, what is the bond attached?

I read through its website and found nothing on that.

I think it is two years of bond for each year you study.

friendly
08-03-2005, 12:43 AM
For the new members, try to read through this Pointers to Scholarship Interview:-

http://www.recom.org/mambo2/archives/issue01/issue_01/art_04.php

Thanks for the Pointers to Scholarship Interview. It's very useful. Thanks again...

pangping1510
11-03-2005, 01:00 AM
just got my result-11A1s, 2A2s
A1-bm,bi,maths,add maths,physics,chem,history,est,moral,art,account
A2-biology,mandarin
interested field is jpa medicine, if 10 point is the max, how much chance do i stand to get the scholarship? thx... :lol:

11-03-2005, 01:20 AM
just got my result-11A1s, 2A2s
A1-bm,bi,maths,add maths,physics,chem,history,est,moral,art,account
A2-biology,mandarin
interested field is jpa medicine, if 10 point is the max, how much chance do i stand to get the scholarship? thx... :lol:

Welcome to ReCom~! Please refer to the post in SPM Results. On your chances for medicine, I would say that it would be very difficult, as you had an A2 in biology. This is a very frank opinion by me, based on past-year student. This does not mean that you can't get the scholarship or anything, but the chances are pretty low. However, you should be able to stand a good chance for other scholarships under JPA.

For this thread, please concentrate on the interview aspect, whereas the SPM threads would be to discuss regarding SPM results and the scholarship thread would be for any matter regarding scholarship application. Dividing it neatly would allow fellow ReComers easier to find and ask questions, as well as help answering the questions. All the best~!

joebf86
11-03-2005, 10:45 AM
i attended the interview at upm last year

to my surprise, about 15-17 people per session.

we were asked to introduce about ourselves-biodata, family background, achievements etc

next was the discussion. my advice is that speak as much as u could. no doubt, maybe there are some who can speak very fluently and practically "debating" on that topic. in that case, u have to "fight" to voice up ur opinion but do it politely.

as for the topics, i agree that current issues most likely be asked but dont be surprised if u are given topics that are rather common and lame. mine was " reading habits among malaysians", wasnt a current issues then

even u have an average command of english, it's ok to make some mistakes. even the interviewer's english was below average...

hope this helps.

btw i didnt get the scholarship- i was from spm 2003 batch

good luck

joebf86
11-03-2005, 10:46 AM
btw, pangping 1510, are from smk aminuddin baki, kl?

16-03-2005, 12:25 AM
Since most of you have submitted your form for scholarships, the best thing to do now would be to get yourself prepared for the interview.

Post questions here and discuss in as many current topics as possible!

William
16-03-2005, 02:37 PM
Just sent my JPA application form...

shrenka
16-03-2005, 04:41 PM
May I know what is the bond 4 dentistry? Is it also 10 years like medicine and pharmacy?

zqax
16-03-2005, 05:38 PM
I wonder is this thread about JPA interview or SPM results??? :roll:

zqax
17-03-2005, 12:23 AM
Will the candidates be divided into groups by the selection of their courses?

17-03-2005, 01:52 AM
Just sent my JPA application form...
Got 12A1 and 1A2 in SPM.
A1 in BM, BI, GCE O, His, Moral, Add Maths, Maths, Bio, Phys, Chem,EST and Account.
A2 in Chinese.
I applied for medicine...wat chance I stand :?:
Please advise.

why are so many of you asking such questions? if i tell u that u will get the scholarship, will it make any difference? and again, GCE O level is not counted as another subject by itself. it is just the media that's making it a double counting.

Will the candidates be divided into groups by the selection of their courses?

no, candidates will not be divided into groups by the selection of courses... first, candidates will be divided into several groups ramdomly... then, the interview group goes down the list alphabetically...[/code]

17-03-2005, 02:40 PM
I really hope that those SPM students could start get involved in many of the discussions of current issues, as well as prepare for interview. Time is ticking...

lolilo
17-03-2005, 10:11 PM
brrr.........

hanie_star1704
18-03-2005, 07:34 AM
Hello....!Here are my questions regarding the interviews:

1.What is a bond?(I'm really sorry if this question seems stupid to you guys but seriously I don't know :) )

2.And what is the bond for accounting?(JPA,Petronas & BNM)

3.Can anyone give some hints on what current issues you guys think would be popular.(I'm sorry for my broken English,hope you guys understand what I mean.... :D )

4.Where can I find informations about these current issues?Can someone recommend a site/magazine/etc for me to look at since I seldom watch news and read papers?Where should I start?

I guess that's all for now.Hope you guys could help me.This site has been so helpful to me.Thanks a lot and keep up the tremendous job. :)

18-03-2005, 11:46 AM
Hello....!Here are my questions regarding the interviews:

1.What is a bond?(I'm really sorry if this question seems stupid to you guys but seriously I don't know :) )

2.And what is the bond for accounting?(JPA,Petronas & BNM)

3.Can anyone give some hints on what current issues you guys think would be popular.(I'm sorry for my broken English,hope you guys understand what I mean.... :D )

4.Where can I find informations about these current issues?Can someone recommend a site/magazine/etc for me to look at since I seldom watch news and read papers?Where should I start?

I guess that's all for now.Hope you guys could help me.This site has been so helpful to me.Thanks a lot and keep up the tremendous job. :)

1. Bond, basically is a contract, where you have signed on agreeing to work with the other party, which in this situation is the scholarship agency, on you will be working with them for a number of years based on the contract, in exchange for the scholarship.

2. For JPA, it should be 4-6 years. If I am not wrong, bond for accounting is 4 years. For engineering, it would be 6 years. For Petronas and BNM, it would be 2 years of work for each year of study.

okie, lets concentrate on interview here. For questions on scholarship, please go to the main scholarship thread.

3. On current issues, I have put up about 20 topics in this thread. Those are some of the probable ones, and some ReCom members have put up a few topics.

4. On information, reading newspaper, discuss here at ReCom, try to search online for information on a certain issue, try to talk to others here in ReCom.

agape
18-03-2005, 08:24 PM
How about the labour shortage following the crackdown against illegals in recent months?According to the Star newspaper,the government has authorised the recruitment of 100,000 male Pakistanis!! 8OI mean,as for me,even in school we have been told to write about "pekerja asing di Malaysia" in our essay...

Besides,there's something about the world's hottest race coming soon at Sepang F1 Circuit.Dunno much about it..maybe someone is able to elaborate on it.. :)

petertok
19-03-2005, 02:01 AM
i've got something to share , chatted with my friend just now , he's one year older and he got jpa scholarships , he went for the interview in ipoh.. turned out that the interviewers' command of english were at a rock-bottom level while about 60% of the interview was carried out in bahasa melayu. He also said that only about 5 topics are available for one centre , they will keep rotating it and choose randomly .. so u might be able to get some idea on what the topics are basically about by asking those who went in first...
Conclusion: You never know what will happen in the interview. Just be ready for anything.

19-03-2005, 02:06 AM
turned out that the interviewers' command of english were at a rock-bottom level while about 60% of the interview was carried out in bahasa melayu. He also said that only about 5 topics are available for one centre , they will keep rotating it and choose randomly .. so u might be able to get some idea on what the topics are basically about by asking those who went in first...
Conclusion: You never know what will happen in the interview. Just be ready for anything.

That's true. If you have friends who went for the interview on 5th April for example and yours is on the 6th, they might still use the same topics, so ask your friends!!! This was the case for my year (2003). In my group there was this Malay girl who got B4 for English but kept quite... the interviewers kept asking her to talk but she only mumbled. In the end, they allowed her to use Malay... sorry digressing...

19-03-2005, 12:15 PM
For the interviewers, there are 2 different groups of them, although you might not be able to identify them. A group of them are JPA officers, and another group is those lecturers that do all those preparatory program.

Frankly, I would say that most, if not all of those lecturers have a very good command of english. Most of them have their education abroad. For JPA officers, if you are getting higher level officers, often their english command is very good. A number of their english is much better than mine. And there are some JPA officers who have not so good command of english.

So it depends.

Ixora
21-03-2005, 02:43 PM
from the post earlier, i knew that we can e-mail the interviewers after the interview to thank them.

but, is there any way i can get their contacts?

kucingbiru
21-03-2005, 03:21 PM
if their english isnt good, so what? that shouldnt affect ur english. and if the interview is conducted in malay, i believe it's fair. they wont expect u to be good in bahasa melayu pasar. u just have to use what u learnt in school.
an interview is not a contest to see if u're better thn the interviewers.

huimay
21-03-2005, 03:41 PM
may i know which type of formal for female is more advisible?
-a dress (actually how a formal dress look like? :p)
-or the type of blouse and skirt that women wear to work? Rolling Eyes

thanx

petertok
21-03-2005, 09:53 PM
if their english isnt good, so what? that shouldnt affect ur english. and if the interview is conducted in malay, i believe it's fair. they wont expect u to be good in bahasa melayu pasar. u just have to use what u learnt in school.
an interview is not a contest to see if u're better thn the interviewers.

I think you misunderstood me. Im actually hoping for the interviews to be conducted in bm bcos im more comfortable speaking in bm rather than english.

21-03-2005, 09:56 PM
You know, i wonder...what if JPA officers actually read this thread to see what the students have up their sleeves...

petertok
21-03-2005, 10:02 PM
You know, i wonder...what if JPA officers actually read this thread to see what the students have up their sleeves...

8O Serious , digimushu ??? :( :( :(

21-03-2005, 10:23 PM
it is very possible for anyone to read this thread, and frankly, I won't be surprised that some JPA interviewers may have read some of the posts here.

Huimay, on formal wear for girl, it shouldn't be elaborate like prom dress, but rather formal. Those that people wear to work is fine, but make sure it is at least knee-length for the skirt.

On trying to get the contact, the best way would be to go ahead and thank the interviewers at the end of interview, and ask whether they would mind giving you their email address, as you may have questions to ask them. Some of the interviewers will give you their email add through this way. And then, another way would be to remember their name. They will introduce themselves at the start, so jot down the name, and then check at JPA website, they have the directory of everyone in JPA there. If possible find out the last name too. And another way, ask the clerk, if you really can't find out what's the name of the officer.

Good Luck~!

21-03-2005, 11:07 PM

8O Serious , digimushu ??? :( :( :(

Don't worry, i'm just messing with your heads...
*grin*

huimay
22-03-2005, 10:20 AM
thank you =)

William
22-03-2005, 11:30 AM
What should be worn by guys during JPA interview?
Isn't it a bit weird if we dress formally? It's not a job interview....
A friend of mine who went for the interview last year said most of the interviewee dressed casually.(shirt without tie, long pants)
If we stand out from the rest by wearing blazer with long-sleeved shirt, won't we inspire showing off or over-reacting?
Please advise the right outfit for guys.

kucingbiru
22-03-2005, 11:56 AM
What should be worn by guys during JPA interview?
Isn't it a bit weird if we dress formally? It's not a job interview....
A friend of mine who went for the interview last year said most of the interviewee dressed casually.(shirt without tie, long pants)
If we stand out from the rest by wearing blazer with long-sleeved shirt, won't we inspire showing off or over-reacting?
Please advise the right outfit for guys.

i wore long-sleeved shirt and a neck tie to every interview i went. i couldnt afford a suit, and i didnt think i needed one. i think u should just wear what u like to wear. just be appropriate. u dont have to be exactly like others. just my opinion.

26-03-2005, 01:41 AM
With close to 3-4 weeks before the interview, I really hope that fellow ReComers could put your efforts into preparing for the interview. This thread would mainly for JPA/MARA interview, which is basically the same interview.

Any question on JPA/MARA interview, feel free to post it here. And please try to discuss on as many current issues here in ReCom.

I have come to know of a number of ReCom members who have formed virtual group to discuss some potential topics, and work together to find the information, so this could be done here in ReCom. Say, everyone could search around for links of essential info and share it here. Highlight the main points (Please do not paste the entire article though).

26-03-2005, 07:38 AM
i wore long-sleeved shirt and a neck tie to every interview i went. i couldnt afford a suit, and i didnt think i needed one. i think u should just wear what u like to wear. just be appropriate. u dont have to be exactly like others. just my opinion.

I would recommend dressing well (i.e. business attire) to interviews. Most people won't take you seriously if you wear sneakers, for instance.

byzhanii_bogn
26-03-2005, 12:22 PM
With close to 3-4 weeks before the interview, I really hope that fellow ReComers could put your efforts into preparing for the interview. This thread would mainly for JPA/MARA interview, which is basically the same interview.

I have come to know of a number of ReCom members who have formed virtual group to discuss some potential topics, and work together to find the information, so this could be done here in ReCom. Say, everyone could search around for links of essential info and share it here. Highlight the main points (Please do not paste the entire article though).

Chenchow, not everyone can do the preparation u know? for people who were forced to NS the second batch like me, we're going to prison. we get very limited information on happenings in the outside world. what can we do??? i brought some PA books my sis once used, but then, we seldom have enough free time. by the time we're free, we're weary all over...

star-anger
26-03-2005, 09:43 PM
3-4 weeks? before the interview! does that mean if we haven t received the postcard from jpa means we didn t get the interview

Anduril
26-03-2005, 09:49 PM
star-anger, I also haven't received the card. I think everyone will gets the white card eventually if his/her form is successfully received. My friend sent her form last Thursday and had only received it this Thursday.

mediator
26-03-2005, 10:56 PM
i think chenchow's right...we shall start talking about the current issues that might come out in the interview.i've been reading the newspaper(malay mail n utusan melayu) for the past few days....and actually i'm not really sure which issue can be pointed as highly probable to come out......well,the excessive logging in selangor raised lots of debates...then this dog attack on a boy (er,i'm not sure if this's important)....the drug abuse case of some movie stars...hmm,i can't seem to gather very much.you guys out there...do help me,and probably urselves too ok?what's the current issues 4 this year?what do you think?

27-03-2005, 12:03 AM
From a locked thread:

Hi,this is my first time joining the forum.i am really surprised to get all the information here.It is indeed useful for me.I am a straight A1s scorer in SPM 2004,like most of the members here,i am also applying for JPA scholarship.Before getting into this website,i thought the interviews are nothing ,just depend on luck to get the scholarship.Now i am quite nervous as i know the interviews are not as easy as i think.My English is poor and i think i couldn't speak well in English during the interview.Moreover it is in groups!i think i have no chance to grab the chance to speak out my opinions as i am not a good debater.

Here, i have some question to ask,1.Does anyone know when will the JPA interviews be held?2.Approximately how many of the students will be sent oversea?

well luvband, i think i cn quite answr tht..from d source i get, jpa is sending lyk...10,000 students dis year overc..n dis year, there's only 4,000 str8 A's students..so, d chances r higher 4 u 2 get dat chance of going overc!

p/s: i'm pretty xcited myself!

Welcome aboard....

first of all, there's another thread for JPA interviews, so i think the moderator will be moving this thread there soon...

JPA interviews was held in April... not really sure when though...since this year's SPM result was announced at a slightly later date, JPA might need more time to evaluate all the applications, so, maybe May for this year...

another thing, u sure about JPA sending 10k students abroad?? i dun think that's the case.... there might be more scholarships, but definitely not 10k... my best guess is around 2000... and even then, some of the scholarships for Medicine are done locally, at IMU...

27-03-2005, 12:23 AM
I understand that those in NS may have a little less time to prepare, however, I would say that the issues that are going to be brought up would be issues that have been happening for the past year or so, and not necessarily during the past month. Since all the NS people will be interviewed together, and if none of you happens to know anything of a particular issue, someone could ask them when that happens, and if you are in camp at that time, it would be fine.

However, try to read as widely as possible. In the start of this thread, I list down about 20 possible topics, and some others have listed a few more topics too. I think the environmental issue could be an essential one, however, the dog biting may be a little trivial.

Another potential topic could be sports too, especially since there have been quite a lot of initiative recently on that aspect.

alamanda_star
27-03-2005, 08:46 PM
a friend of mine had a topic about lifestlye 2 years ago.

glow
28-03-2005, 12:59 PM
hi, i have 2 questions here, will the interviewer ask us why we chose mara or jpa but not the other ?

and also is there's a chance i chose mara but get jpa scholarship instead?

sorry my english is quite bad, thanx..

28-03-2005, 01:55 PM
hi, i have 2 questions here, will the interviewer ask us why we chose mara or jpa but not the other ?

and also is there's a chance i chose mara but get jpa scholarship instead?

sorry my english is quite bad, thanx..

I personally don't think the interviewer would ask you on why you choose mara or jpa, since it would be group interview, but no harm think through that question.

It is possible, for them to allocate you JPA if you apply for MARA or otherwise, but I don't think the possibility of this is high.

mediator
28-03-2005, 08:25 PM
hello guys...recently they're talking about reviewing the usage of english language in science and maths for scondary school students.students,esp. bumis i think, are complaining that they're having problems keeping up because of difficulty in mastering the language.precisely,learning science n maths terms in english.and words also have it that in some SKJC,the students are taught maths n science in chinese.kinda raised issues of condemning bahasa melayu etc.urm...i don't know,actually i don't see many problems.firstly i agree that it is pretty hard for those who're quite weak in eng to study science and maths in eng...starting from f3 this year, considering they didn't learn science n maths in primary school in english.but changes will of course need 'getting-used-to'.and what's more,eng is the worldwide language.we all know that interviews for jobs and scholarships are mostly done in english..even MARA interview.so students actually get to practise conversing in english.in a way,they're lucky right?i'm a fresh SPM 2004 leaver and i studied in SBP,where there're mostly bumis(everyone knows that).occasionally,my juniors would come and ask math n science questions to me,always 'mengadu' they find the change of language is giving them problems...and i'm talking about students who got 5A's in UPSR.however,gradually...even they know more science and maths terms than i do.so i remain positive that the usage of eng in science n maths is a step forward for malaysia's education system.anyway,3 years are too short a time to access the efficiency of it.i myself is not very good in english;i couldn't speak eng fluently,so it would be good if my juniors can when they're my age.well guys what do you think?please excuse my grammatical errors.

28-03-2005, 10:51 PM
mediator, take the opportunities to post in ReCom as a way to practice English.

On this issue, I would agree that it may be premature right now to judge the entire system, as it is just moving into the 3rd year. Those who started in Primary 1 and Form 1 English, is now in their Primary 3 and Form 3.

I would say that teething problems are expected to happen in many rural schools, and also SRJK, SMJK and perhaps even SBP. Pretty much, the students tend to fall back to their own language, perhaps due to familiarity, as well as people will tend to find the easier way out.

I myself am learning French right now, and even after 1 year of learning, I still find it very difficult to think in French. So, I can understand the hardship that the students are facing.

I think the current system of allowing STPM students (I am not sure whether this is also allowed in SPM), that students have the freedom to answer in either BM or English for the first few years of implementation, and only enforce purely answering in English. As we can see, 85% of students choose willingly to answer in English. That goes on to show that students do feel comfortable in answering in English. Moreover, all the STPM top scorers do answer in English.

alamanda_star
29-03-2005, 04:28 PM
i think they should just continue teaching science n maths in english.eventhough we have to know some of the terms at the first place but the explantions are easy to understand. In fact,if we want to have extra revision on the net, we still have to learn it in english.sometimes my friend n I will have a physic class in english when we don't understand what the teacher is saying..( hehehe.. actually my teacher is using the old bahasa melayu and when we don't understand him he will asked us to chooce between bc and bm...lol..)

even they know more science and maths terms than i do

yeah.. agree with u mediator..

I myself am learning French right now, and even after 1 year of learning, I still find it very difficult to think in French. So, I can understand the hardship that the students are facing.

yeah..eventhough i have learn deutsch for 5 years but i still think i know nothing about deutsh.

lolilo
29-03-2005, 10:12 PM

yeah..eventhough i have learn deutsch for 5 years but i still think i know nothing about deutsh.

The main objective the government is implementing this maths and sciences in english thing is to raise the standard of english right?IMHO, I dont think this measure will help much as maths and sciences don't require as much reading as other subjects do.Improving the quality of English teachers is a much better way. we can actually acquire knowledge in various languages, but improving the standard of the language is a totally different matter altogether.But i do agree that this move shld be continued.

p/s:i think we should create another thread for this issue.

yian04
29-03-2005, 10:54 PM
I do agree teaching math n science in eng too.I mean,look,the hittest informations of science and technology today are stated in english.I know,it seems quite arduous for lots of students today,but for me,if u were trying hard to adapt urself to it,i think u'll find it more easily.Practise makes perfect,that's a common saying,everybody knows it.Besides,although lots of ppl have predicted that BC will stand out as important and first language in the world in these years due to the rapid-progression of China.However,I have been told by my cousin who is now working in shanghai,china that english is still an initial language for all the ppl around the world.English is the main medium of communication and it will still spark for quite a long time.Anyway,i think learning language really needs patience and dilligence.

p/s. i haven't received a white card from jpa yet albeit i sent my application form on 17th March,i'm damn worried about it.

mediator
30-03-2005, 03:33 AM
lolilo has got a great point here,improving the quality of English teachers are so important.urm...wait,no,i'm trying to point about improving the quality of the teachers that teach science n maths in english.i'm not very sure but i think even teachers are struggling to teach in eng (mostly,not all).this's not an offend ok... :wink: but it must be kinda frustating for students when their teachers themselves stammer while explaining lessons.sometimes even 'surrendering' to the fact that conversing in eng is so hard that they teach in malay instead (for this case).

this is not the teachers' fault though....they too need time to adapt and i'm sure the government's quite aware of this since there seem to be lots of 'eng courses' for science n maths teachers these days.as i've said before, we're in a 'transition period'.everyone needs to get used to it,and very patiently too,since it's not that easy.i believe and sincerely hope that this system will eventually be one of a success. 8)

30-03-2005, 07:19 PM
lolilo has got a great point here,improving the quality of English teachers are so important.urm...wait,no,i'm trying to point about improving the quality of the teachers that teach science n maths in english.i'm not very sure but i think even teachers are struggling to teach in eng (mostly,not all).this's not an offend ok... :wink: but it must be kinda frustating for students when their teachers themselves stammer while explaining lessons.sometimes even 'surrendering' to the fact that conversing in eng is so hard that they teach in malay instead (for this case).

this is not the teachers' fault though....they too need time to adapt and i'm sure the government's quite aware of this since there seem to be lots of 'eng courses' for science n maths teachers these days.as i've said before, we're in a 'transition period'.everyone needs to get used to it,and very patiently too,since it's not that easy.i believe and sincerely hope that this system will eventually be one of a success. 8)

i agree that it's not the teacher's fault. most of the times the teachers are forced to speak or teach english in malay because the students cant understand them if they speak english. if ppl want to speak english well... it has to start from the home.. the environment is important.

Ryosuke
03-04-2005, 04:28 PM
erm ok so the interview is like a general topic erm may i ask if we are allowed to state the countries we would like to study ? Or we should just discuss about the topic and that's it ....

03-04-2005, 08:23 PM
erm ok so the interview is like a general topic erm may i ask if we are allowed to state the countries we would like to study ? Or we should just discuss about the topic and that's it ....

On interview, most interviewers would give you a chance to introduce yourself, and perhaps even a short warm-up question, so you should be able to state what you hope to get for JPA Scholarships at that time. State the major, and perhaps your preference, if you have preference. If you would like to enhance your chances in getting the field and don't mind going to any country, state your preference (justify it with some reasonings) and then mention that you don't mind going to any country (Give some justification why you prefer so too).

Another way would be utilizing the topic of discussion and relate it. It would require lots of communication abilities, but you can always bring up many things, interconnect them.

I really hope that fellow ReComers could start concentrate on preparing for the interview.

If you fail to plan, you plan to fail, and hence here similarly if you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail.

Anduril
03-04-2005, 10:16 PM
I know I read it somewhere that someone (DecentMerson... is that you?) volunteered to become the "pengerusi" during JPA interview.

I would like to know what a "pengerusi" should and should not do during a forum such as this.

As far as I know, a "pengerusi" only comments, never argues or takes stand or disagrees with other people in a forum.

03-04-2005, 10:27 PM
I know I read it somewhere that someone (DecentMerson... is that you?) volunteered to become the "pengerusi" during JPA interview.

I would like to know what a "pengerusi" should and should not do during a forum such as this.

As far as I know, a "pengerusi" only comments, never argues or takes stand or disagrees with other people in a forum.

actually i'm not so sure about that (pengerusi only comments or never argues.... part) but becoz my group was given the green light to start the discussion, and nobody seemed to be willing to start to speak, so i stepped up and just made a brief introduction, and started with my opinion and everybody picked up the speed and the discussion went quite well... tree007 can comment on this since we were in the same discussion group...

i think JPA/Mara interview's pengerusi have to give his own opinion becoz u have to speak up so that the interviewers can evaluate u too...so, i think the pengerusi just plays an extra role in starting the discussion... and if u guys have the time, u can do the conclusion too... (and u can thank each participant for their enthusiastic participation...I didn't make a conclusion last time...aihh..)

04-04-2005, 12:04 AM

For JPA/MARA Scholarship, you would need to get involved and give some opinion as well, and as what decentmerson says, he/she would be the one that takes lead, but you would still need to give your view points and also bring the discussion back to topic, if it goes wandering around, or there have been heated debates etc.

And summarizing would be quite essential too. Since that would give everyone a good overall sense.

flibbertigibbet
04-04-2005, 12:12 AM
During the group discussion, we are all seated right? So when we want to voice out our views, do we need to stand up and do so? Or is it enough to just raise our hand before talking?

(I know this question sounds silly, but it might be useful for us to visualise how the discussion would be like.)

FedEx
04-04-2005, 11:53 AM
What should we do if in an interview, more than 1 ppl wants 2 becomes the Pengerusi? What is the best way then? Should we just backed off and let the person take the lead or should we insist on being the Pengerusi? I heard fr this tread that being the leader actually helps....

04-04-2005, 12:21 PM
for petronas>> ( from my cousin who went to the interview)
the interview is done in a group of say .. so ppl. then it will be broken down into smaller groups of ppl. but i couldnt get anymore info cos the line dc :oops: .so if anyone can explain more about the interviewing process ...i think the rest of us would like to know. tnx. :D

Anduril
04-04-2005, 01:45 PM
actually i'm not so sure about that (pengerusi only comments or never argues.... part) but becoz my group was given the green light to start the discussion, and nobody seemed to be willing to start to speak, so i stepped up and just made a brief introduction, and started with my opinion and everybody picked up the speed and the discussion went quite well... tree007 can comment on this since we were in the same discussion group...

So, those JPA/MARA interviewers don't practically ask someone to become the pengerusi and do the asking-other-participants job. Did you ask every participant to speak up yourself, and wrap their every response up with you own thoughts? Or you just did the introduction part and let the rest ran their course?

And summarizing would be quite essential too. Since that would give everyone a good overall sense.

Err... should we ask those interviewers whether an overall conclusion can be made after everyone has his say? You know, some interviewers might not be satisfied and want us to speak more.

Thank for all your comments!

PINKPIGGY
04-04-2005, 02:12 PM
i hv learnt a lot fr this foum! Thanx 2 everybody who is willing to share many useful info during an interview through this forum. :P

i hv some Q, hope u all can answer, please: :oops:

1. When is the JPA interview?
2. How does the grouping being done? The members r randomly chose?
3. Can we refer to our notes while we r performing our discussion in front of the interviewers?

PINKPIGGY
04-04-2005, 02:54 PM
INTERVIEW ATTIRE
Interview attire specifics for men
Suit:
A two-piece matched suit is always the best and safest choice. Don't combine a suit jacket with pants that don't match.
Conservative colors / fabric:
Navy and dark gray are safe and are the most conservative for men. Black for men is considered severe or overly formal, although it is common. avoid the extremes. Choose a solid or very subtle weave pattern or plaid (the kind that look solid across a room).
Shirts:
Long-sleeved shirts, even in summer. Choose white or light blue solid, or conservative stripes.
Socks:
Dark socks, mid-calf length so no skin is visible when you sit down.
Shoes:
Leather, lace-up or slip-on business shoes, preferably black or cordovan.
Facial hair:
If worn, should be well-groomed. Observe men in your industry if you are unsure what's appropriate or are considering changing your look.
Jewelry:
Wear a conservative watch. If you choose to wear other jewelry, be conservative. Removing earrings is safest. For conservative industries, don't wear earrings. Observe other men in your industry to see what is acceptable.
Details:
Everything should be clean and well pressed. Suits typically have tacking stitches to hold vents ? on the jacket back and on sleeves ? in place before the garment is purchased. Cut them off if your retailer / tailor doesn't. And that tag stitched on the outside of your sleeve is not meant to stay there like a Tommy Hilfiger label ? cut it off! Carefully inspect clothes dangling threads, etc.

Interview attire specifics for women

Suit:
Wear a two-piece matched suit.
Suit - pants / skirts:
Tailored pants suits are appropriate for women. Pants suits can be an excellent choice for site visits, particularly if the visit involves getting in and out of vehicles and/or the site is (or includes) a manufacturing plant or industrial facility. If you wear pants, they should be creased and tailored, not tight or flowing.
Skirt lengths:
Your skirt should cover your thighs when you are seated. A skirt that ends at the knee when you're standing looks chic and professional. Longer skirts are professional too; just make sure they are narrow enough not to be billowing, but not so narrow that you can't climb stairs comfortably. Don't purchase a skirt or decide on a hem length until you sit in the skirt facing a mirror. That's what your interviewer will see.
Color / fabric:
Navy, dark gray, brown and black are safe. Other color trends may come and go; avoid the extremes. Women generally have more options with suit color than men. For example, while a women could look conservative in a slate blue or light gray suit, these colors would be inappropriate for men. Choose a solid or very subtle weave pattern or plaid (the kind that look solid across a room).
Shirt / sweaters:
Underneath the suit jacket, wear a tailored blouse in a color or small print that coordinates nicely with your suit. A fine gauge, good quality knit shell is also appropriate underneath your suit jacket.
Jewelry / accessories:
Wear a conservative watch. Keep your choices simple and leaning toward conservative. Avoid extremes of style and color.
Shoes:
Should be leather or fabric / micro fiber. Choose closed-toe pumps. Regardless of what is in style, avoid extremes; no stilettos or chunky platforms. Make certain you can walk comfortably in your shoes; hobbling in uncomfortable shoes does not convey a professional appearance.

Grooming tips for everyone
Hair:
Should be clean and neat.
Shoes:
Should be in polished condition. Make sure heels are not worn.
Details:
No missing buttons, no lint; and don't forget to remove external tags and tacking stitches from new clothes.
Hands:
Clean fingernails.
Fit:
Clothes should be clean, neatly pressed, and fit properly.
Smell:
Perfume or cologne should be used sparingly or not at all. No odors in clothes. Don't smell like smoke.
Book bags:
Leave it at home for an on-site interview. For an on-campus interview, you can leave it in the waiting area.

Interview DOs and DON'Ts
Interview's DOs
-Dress appropriately for the industry;
-Know the exact time and location of your interview; know how long it takes to get there, park, find a rest room to freshen up, etc.
- Arrive early; 10 minutes prior to the interview start time.
-Treat other people you encounter with courtesy and respect. Their opinions of you might be solicited during hiring decisions.
-Offer a firm handshake, make eye contact, and have a friendly expression when you are greeted by your interviewer.
-Listen to be sure you understand your interviewer's name and the correct pronunciation.
-Even when your interviewer gives you a first and last name, address your interviewer by title (Ms., Mr., Dr.) and last name, until invited to do otherwise.
-Maintain good eye contact during the interview.
-Sit still in your seat; avoid fidgeting and slouching.
-Respond to questions and back up your statements about yourself with specific examples whenever possible.
- Ask for clarification if you don't understand a question.
- Be thorough in your responses, while being concise in your wording.
-Be honest and be yourself.
- Treat the interview seriously and as though you are truly interested in the employer and the opportunity presented.
-Exhibit a positive attitude. The interviewer is evaluating you as a potential co-worker. Behave like someone you would want to work with.
-Have intelligent questions prepared to ask the interviewer.
-Evaluate the interviewer and the organization s/he represents. An interview is a two-way street. Conduct yourself cordially and respectfully, while thinking critically about the way you are treated and the values and priorities of the organization.
-When the interviewer concludes the interview, offer a firm handshake and make eye contact. Depart gracefully.
-After the interview, make notes right away so you don't forget critical details.
-Write a thank-you letter to your interviewer promptly.

Interview DON'Ts
-Don't make excuses.
-Don't falsify application materials or answers to interview questions.
-Don't treat the interview casually,
-Don't give the impression that you are only interested in an organization because of its geographic location.
-Don't be unprepared for typical interview questions.
-Don't go to extremes with your posture; don't slouch, and don't sit rigidly on the edge of your chair.
-Don't assume that a female interviewer is "Mrs." or "Miss." Address her as "Ms." unless told otherwise. Her marital status is irrelevant to the purpose of the interview.
-Don't chew gum or smell like smoke.
-Don't take cell phone calls during an interview. If you carry a cell phone, turn it off during the interview to be sure it doesn't ring.

:oops:
http://www.career.vt.edu/JOBSEARC/interview/dodont.html
http://www.career.vt.edu/JOBSEARC/interview/APPEARNC.html

einstein
04-04-2005, 04:54 PM
Current issues....hmm,
how about the tsunami disaster? It held the media's attention for nearly a month or two after the calamitous tragedy.I wonder what kind of questions could be posed based on this widely-talk-about issue.Maybe we could talk about the aftermath,the consequences of the disaster, actions taken to prevent the disaster.In fact, a catastrophic earthquake just occured last week,quite a big one--8.7 on the Richter scale.I think all this tsunami and earthquake stuff might stand a chance to be discussed about during the interview.Maybe whoever who got some feel of the tremor could share about their frightful experience during the interview.Does anyone want to have a say about this topic?

Here are some of my own probable interview topics I would like to share.I would be very grateful if anyone could give some comments about the topics whether it is outdated,too sensitive,too outrageous,too advanced, too mature or very impossible just anything you'd like to say.Here are the topics:

1.Things you never learned in secondary school.
2.Terrorism
3.The problems that are facing our world today.
4.Teenage Suicide.
5.Solar Energy.
6.Computers in Our Life.
7.Multimedia.
8.Software Piracy.
9.Globalization.
10.Religion and Science.
11.Violence.
12.IT Technology
13.Job choosing
14.Discrimination.
15.Road safety.
16.Genetic Engineering
17.Human Cloning
18.Recycling
19.Modern Technology
20.AIDS
21.Stress
22.Censorship
23.Teenage Depression
24.Better Education with School Uniforms
25.Child Abuse
26.Success
27.Patriotism
28.Reasons to Study Abroad
29.Influence of Music
30.Internet.
31.Juvenile Crime
32.Genetically Modified Food
33.Alcoholism
34.Poverty
35.Biotechnology
36.Smoking Danger
37.Pollution
38.Drugs
39.Pros and Cons of National Service
40.Teaching Science and Maths in English
41.Consequences of the current tsunami disaster.
42.Reasons in choosing your course.

I think that's about it.Just trying to spot some topics.
By the way, are the topics posed last year going to be used again for this year? I wonder...

About the PETRONAS scholarship, does anyone have any idea about the Educamp?I mean what kind of activities are they going to hold?Say maybe IQ tests?English tests?What are the things are they going to assess?Just need to know ,coz the information would be useful for anyone applying for the scholarship so that we can do some preparation.
That's all for now.Thanks in advance to anyone replying. :D

skyguy
06-04-2005, 08:22 AM
When are JPA calling their successful applicants for the interview?

06-04-2005, 11:21 AM
I think just raise your hand and speak as you are seated is fine. I would say that being Pengerusi does not guarantee success. It would help you if you do a good job.

Usually you can sense roughly how long the interview would go. Everyone should give some view points even if they are pengerusi.

JPA interview should be around 3rd/4th week this month. JPA should contact you a few days before the interview. The groupings would be random. Ideally do not refer to notes, but if you want to jot down a few key words to remind yourself, it is fine, but don't read from notes.

Thanks pinkpiggy and einstein for the information. Those topics posted seem quite relevant. I won't be surprised if a number of those issues being asked. Hope other ReComers could share additional topics too. Any topic could be asked. Just have to be prepared and read widely.

On Petronas educamp, I haven't been before, but I believe there would be group activities, team games etc. There may be interview, group discussions/interviews etc. Basically, you will be observed full time, from your interactions with others, to how you carry yourself.

PINKPIGGY
06-04-2005, 05:06 PM
einstein:
About the PETRONAS scholarship, does anyone have any idea about the Educamp?

einstein, when N where is the educamp? :oops:

06-04-2005, 09:09 PM
einstein:
About the PETRONAS scholarship, does anyone have any idea about the Educamp?

einstein, when N where is the educamp? :oops:

here's what i know.. at educamp... it will be for 3 days.. there was an iq test and an english test 2 years ago ... but im not sure about now.. the batch from last year told me they has the iq test and the english test.. the groupings will be at random.

for jpa.. the guy told me the ones who are shortlisted for the interview will receive a letter.

Patrick
08-04-2005, 07:08 PM
Don't you think the death of Pope John Paul II might be highlighted in the JPA Interview?
I have mixed feelings about this because I think the interviewees are from various backgrounds and it wont be fair for JPA to ask about something that is linked to Christianity, right?

Argh.....JPA...call me call me call me.
Don't call me and you'll see my face in the obituary the very next day after the notification of the successful candidates :twisted:

lolilo
08-04-2005, 09:10 PM
Don't call me and you'll see my face in the obituary the very next day after the notification of the successful candidates :twisted:

it would just be a waste of paper and ink. and natural resources too. :twisted:

gohweihan
08-04-2005, 09:21 PM
Don't you think the death of Pope John Paul II might be highlighted in the JPA Interview?
I have mixed feelings about this because I think the interviewees are from various backgrounds and it wont be fair for JPA to ask about something that is linked to Christianity, right?

Erm, I don't think it's a problem if they ask things like "how do you feel about other religions" or the likes. Only if they start asking about "how do you feel about Islam as the national religion", I would feel that it is inappropriate.

Well, if the government turns their back on you, do the only thing left - turn your back on them. I know I did that last time. :-D

08-04-2005, 09:28 PM
Personally, I don't think religious issues would be asked (as it has never been asked for the past few years), but just understand the basic of each issue. You just have to be prepared, since you would only be given a topic and you have no choice.

Patrick
08-04-2005, 09:38 PM

it would just be a waste of paper and ink. and natural resources too. :twisted:

And it'll be $$ for the newspaper companies

picasso
08-04-2005, 11:06 PM
i just want to ask somethin..
are both mara n jpa interview the same?
i mean interview in a group of a few ppl..
i'd heard that mara interview is individual basis interview..
is it true?

09-04-2005, 02:33 AM
i just want to ask somethin..
are both mara n jpa interview the same?
i mean interview in a group of a few ppl..
i'd heard that mara interview is individual basis interview..
is it true?

i think that's a different interview...
As far as i know, for the oversea scholarhips, JPA/MARA interviews are held together...

Fidaus
09-04-2005, 10:55 AM
I'm just tellin' wut i know bout it..
Now i'm in utp..foundation year..intake Jan2005.But i'm no a PETRONAS Scholar..but i know llitte' bit bout da interview..

During the interview..there will be several sessions..
there will be a group discussion,individual interview,and so as group activities..
The candidates will be evaluate all da time during the EduCamp..
And if u r the candidate..show off ur self..make ur self active during da session..and most importantly..u've to be a good speaker and a good thinker..
The nearest EduCamp will be held this coming 11-17 Apr..

nutcrackers
11-04-2005, 12:09 AM
I have a question here. Does the JPA or MARA people call you up through the phone or are we supposed to check our status online? :?:

11-04-2005, 04:47 AM
I have a question here. Does the JPA or MARA people call you up through the phone or are we supposed to check our status online? :?:

I believe it would be similar to other scholarship agencies like Petronas. You can check online, or waiting for their call, or call JPA (although it is going to be very tough to call in, since there will be a lot of people trying to call).

PINKPIGGY
11-04-2005, 05:42 PM
Hope that i can hear good news fr JPA....... :oops:

whw
12-04-2005, 12:56 PM
may i ask?
arent mara n jpa interview totally diffrent??
like..mara goes for one on one interview..
and jpa for group discussion or sumthin lyk dat?
i applied for mara...anyone can help me wif it??thihihi

JROTC_pw
12-04-2005, 09:28 PM
may i ask?
arent mara n jpa interview totally diffrent??
like..mara goes for one on one interview..
and jpa for group discussion or sumthin lyk dat?
i applied for mara...anyone can help me wif it??thihihi

I went to INTEC last Saturday and was told that
Mara interview=one on one
JPA interview=group discussion

flibbertigibbet
12-04-2005, 11:18 PM
Anyone who is shortlisted for JPA interview please post the date, time and location here. Thanks.

flibbertigibbet
12-04-2005, 11:31 PM
Date: 19th April 2005
Time: 8.00 a.m.

chwk87
12-04-2005, 11:47 PM
place: KUching
Tarikh: 20/4/05
Masa:8.00am

im very happy right now bcoz i still cant believe tat im called up for a interview by jpa. Maybe i choose JPA_JAPAN.

Good luck to other recom members.

qy
13-04-2005, 01:16 AM

Mine is exactly the same as yours, and that means we're going to be in the same group. Right? :D

13-04-2005, 01:23 AM

Mine is exactly the same as yours, and that means we're going to be in the same group. Right? :D

No.

qy
13-04-2005, 01:27 AM
So they hold multiple interviews at the same time? Pardon my ignorance, as i don't know for sure how this thing works exactly.

13-04-2005, 01:50 AM
So they hold multiple interviews at the same time? Pardon my ignorance, as i don't know for sure how this thing works exactly.

YES and NO....

they want all of u to meet at the same time so that they can give a briefing at the start of the session. They will tell u about what courses are the popular ones and which countries are very competitive... so, u might wanna consider to change courses in order to increase ur chances of securing a scholarship. Other than that, they will tell u how lucky u are to be selected and...

After that, they will ask all the students to check their name on a list, and check the time of their interview.... According to alphabatical order.... those with surname of A will go for discussion/interview and it goes down the list...

for some places, where they are lots of applicants, they will have several interviews at the same time... not so sure about those places with less applicants...

hope this answers ur question.

qy
13-04-2005, 02:06 AM
I'm choosing actuarial science, choice of country would be america. And i'm planning to stick to it. Will it be risky, if like what you said, we might want to consider changing courses to reduce the competition we are bound to face?

qy
13-04-2005, 02:08 AM
And thanks a lot for your explanation, cleared plenty of doubts. :D

13-04-2005, 02:24 AM
I'm choosing actuarial science, choice of country would be america. And i'm planning to stick to it. Will it be risky, if like what you said, we might want to consider changing courses to reduce the competition we are bound to face?

i'm not sure about that... it depends on how ur batchmates opinion...

I think those from SPM 2002 batch who applied to US are lucky because at that time, not many students applied to the States becoz they are afraid of the visa problem and they still have doubts about the safety in the States...

i still remember that the number of applicants to study in the states for SPM 2002 was lower than the number of scholarships given by JPA to study in the States...

so, for this year, listen to what they have to say... if they didn't mention anything about it... try to ask them as their will give u a chance to ask any questions u have about the scholarship... (hopefully, they still give u a chance to ask question)

Good luck... and always APPEAL if u don't get it...

flibbertigibbet
13-04-2005, 07:36 AM

Please recheck your JPA scholarship application status and post the new date, time and location here. Thanks.

Date: 20th April 2005
Location: Uniutama Management Holdings Sdn. Bhd. Rumah Universiti, UUM.

13-04-2005, 07:41 AM
I guess originally, they had a database glitch (which shouldn't have happened at all), so everyone would have to recheck their applications.

This may involve some who has seen that they got interview offer yesterday and ended up with no offer now, and some who had seen no offer yesterday, and ended up with offer for interview now.

13-04-2005, 10:29 AM
For those who get JPA Scholarship interview, do remember that getting interview is just the first step. Work hard in preparing it over the next few crucial days.

All the best!

Post questions here!

kpchen
13-04-2005, 12:11 PM
INTEC Shah Alam. 19/04/2005. I'm a newbie here and I found this forum hyper-helpful (sorry for the hyperbolic prefix...haha) and I now have a vague idea about the whole interview process. Anyway, may I know where can I find these virtual groups to discuss those topics that might be discussed during the group interview? Anyone here can add me using MSN Messenger (kpchen_2210 AT hotmail DOT com) and maybe chat about the interview? I applied for Medicine with my ok-lah result of 10 1A and 1 2A (for EST). I've gone for the UNITEN interview last week and it was pretty bad. It's because I was not prepared. Hah. They asked me about who's the CEO of TNB. I was like.....*blank*. But then, I managed to answer their questions about the recent blackout and other trivial questions. So, anyone here can please enlighten me about the upcoming JPA interview cuz I really wanna get the scholarship...

Thanks!!!

yityung_kok
13-04-2005, 12:12 PM
how about the issue on unemployment among fresh grads?? Do you think it's relevant?

btw my interview:

Date: 22nd April 2005

alamanda_star
13-04-2005, 12:22 PM
mine..

date : april 20
time : 8 a.m

JROTC_pw
13-04-2005, 12:26 PM
how about the issue on unemployment among fresh grads?? Do you think it's relevant?

btw my interview:

Date: 22nd April 2005

MY interview......
Date: 20/4/2005

My friend's interview is also at the same place but a day earlier than mine.

eons
13-04-2005, 12:43 PM

i remember you suggesting we make a booklet out of our certs rite?? so should we chuck everything in the booklet :

i.Kad Pengenalan
ii.Slip keputusan SPM 2004
iii.Surat Beranak calon, ibu dan bapa
iv.Sijil-sijil berhenti sekolah
v.Sijil perakuan kegiatan ko kurikulum
vi.Sijil-sijil kewarganegaraan ibubapa (bagi yang berkaitan)
vii.Kad pesara / slip gaji ibu bapa; dan
viii.Sijil-sijil yang berkaitan

thanks for your advise

chanyc3
13-04-2005, 12:54 PM

I think those from SPM 2002 batch who applied to US are lucky because at that time, not many students applied to the States becoz they are afraid of the visa problem and they still have doubts about the safety in the States...

i still remember that the number of applicants to study in the states for SPM 2002 was lower than the number of scholarships
given by JPA to study in the States...

so, for this year, listen to what they have to say... if they didn't mention anything about it... try to ask them as their will give u a chance to ask any questions u have about the scholarship... (hopefully, they still give u a chance to ask question)

Just curious... r u a jpa scholar?

13-04-2005, 12:56 PM

i still remember that the number of applicants to study in the states for SPM 2002 was lower than the number of scholarships

He is.

13-04-2005, 01:06 PM

He is.

Thanks, zaitsev...

qy
13-04-2005, 01:32 PM
date: 19/04/2005
time: 8 am

Erm..is there any interviews being held earlier than 19th april? Just curious. :wink:

yian04
13-04-2005, 03:04 PM
mine

Venue : UiTM CAWANGAN MELAKA
Date : 20/04/2005
Time : 8 am

well,i'm applying for dentistry, but still wonder if they asked me why do i choose it, what should i say? Do ur guys know where does jpa send dentistry students to ? same v medic too? Anyway, congrats for ya all too and kambatee...

Ixora
13-04-2005, 04:09 PM
Erm..is there any interviews being held earlier than 19th april? Just curious. :wink:

Me.

Intan Kampus Wilayah Utara, Jalan Kuala Ketil, Sungai Petani, Kedah.

18 April 2005

8.00 a.m..

p/s: anyone earlier than 18 April 2005? :?:

worthy
13-04-2005, 04:16 PM
hi whoever applied jpa for medicine and a non bumi plz kindly pm me k!

naoj
13-04-2005, 04:47 PM
I guess originally, they had a database glitch (which shouldn't have happened at all), so everyone would have to recheck their applications.

This may involve some who has seen that they got interview offer yesterday and ended up with no offer now, and some who had seen no offer yesterday, and ended up with offer for interview now.

hahaha sounds familiar..it happened last year too. i had no interview then suddenly..eh.."anda terpilih." lol.

shrenka
13-04-2005, 04:50 PM
actually, how many are called up 4 interview this year? any1 out there know? 10s 4 the reply

naoj
13-04-2005, 04:50 PM
INTEC Shah Alam. 19/04/2005. I'm a newbie here and I found this forum hyper-helpful (sorry for the hyperbolic prefix...haha) and I now have a vague idea about the whole interview process. Anyway, may I know where can I find these virtual groups to discuss those topics that might be discussed during the group interview? Anyone here can add me using MSN Messenger (kpchen_2210@<hidden>) and maybe chat about the interview? I applied for Medicine with my ok-lah result of 10 1A and 1 2A (for EST). I've gone for the UNITEN interview last week and it was pretty bad. It's because I was not prepared. Hah. They asked me about who's the CEO of TNB. I was like.....*blank*. But then, I managed to answer their questions about the recent blackout and other trivial questions. So, anyone here can please enlighten me about the upcoming JPA interview cuz I really wanna get the scholarship...

Thanks!!!

Your interview is in INTEC??!! Since when they have interviews in intec wan? Hahaha..u mean we get to see our potential juniors? Coolness...

shhh_87
13-04-2005, 10:19 PM
INTEC Shah Alam. 19/04/2005. I'm a newbie here and I found this forum hyper-helpful (sorry for the hyperbolic prefix...haha) and I now have a vague idea about the whole interview process. Anyway, may I know where can I find these virtual groups to discuss those topics that might be discussed during the group interview? Anyone here can add me using MSN Messenger (kpchen_2210@<hidden>) and maybe chat about the interview? I applied for Medicine with my ok-lah result of 10 1A and 1 2A (for EST). I've gone for the UNITEN interview last week and it was pretty bad. It's because I was not prepared. Hah. They asked me about who's the CEO of TNB. I was like.....*blank*. But then, I managed to answer their questions about the recent blackout and other trivial questions. So, anyone here can please enlighten me about the upcoming JPA interview cuz I really wanna get the scholarship...

Thanks!!!

eyh....same place...but im in april 20....
that means u gonna go thru it 1st eyh...
wish 2 know ur experience when u were intrvwd by jpa hehe....
gOOd LucK! kpchen!!! :wink:
mine....
place:INTEC ..uitm...shah alam...sek17
date:20 april
time:8 a.m
:arrow: *erm....anyone apply 4 architecture???
hope 2 find more info bout dis course ..... :D :) :D**

kpchen
13-04-2005, 11:32 PM

Thanks!!!

eyh....same place...but im in april 20....
that means u gonna go thru it 1st eyh...
wish 2 know ur experience when u were intrvwd by jpa hehe....
gOOd LucK! kpchen!!! :wink:
mine....
place:INTEC ..uitm...shah alam...sek17
date:20 april
time:8 a.m
:arrow: *erm....anyone apply 4 architecture???
hope 2 find more info bout dis course ..... :D :) :D**

Hah. Luck. I'll need lots of it. Trying to apply for medicine....If I end up as a scapegoat/casualty of war/collateral damage, I'll have to do Form Six. Then I'll have to repeat the process all over again. I hope that I can secure any place in any Ivy League+Oxbridge universities....But I don't know how....

eons
14-04-2005, 12:09 AM
so the earliest date for the interview is 18th?? and the latest is 23rd?? hope those of you having the interview first tell us about it. thank u.need all the help i can get cos i freeze up when i talk to someone unfamilliar :oops: :oops:

huimay
14-04-2005, 01:23 AM
all the best to those who are called up for the jpa interview ; )
may the force be with us :D
good luck~!!!!!

ryuki
14-04-2005, 01:29 AM
Actually wat r they going 2 ask.....i am nervous.....dont know wat 2 do and wat should i prepare...can anyone who get interview last year give us some clue???Am i going 2 read about who is the wat wat minister or watever lar...help us.....thanks

14-04-2005, 01:35 AM
Actually wat r they going 2 ask.....i am nervous.....dont know wat 2 do and wat should i prepare...can anyone who get interview last year give us some clue???Am i going 2 read about who is the wat wat minister or watever lar...help us.....thanks

hi there, ChenChow has compiled loads of topics that are most likely what the interview/discussion going to be... just go to the first page of this thread and start reading... and discuss it HERE....

once u guys take the initiative to start the discussion, i believe that many of us will join in and chip in our 2 cents...

p3piper
14-04-2005, 07:59 AM
hi! im new here....i found this forum through google n it really helped me a lot! thx to evry1 for the tips n all!
im still a bit terrified....but after reading all of ypur posts...i have calmed down a bit n i have also increased my general knowledge after reading the topics that chenchow has posted..

n my friend's interview is tmrw on friday so there are interviews earlier than the 18th of april ^^

so erm....help me out on one thing....im a bit stuck on wat to say IF they do ask "tell us about yourself?"

i just wanna make sure im prepared for that basic question...so im wondering....wat would be the appropriate answer?....i would have to mention my name....and?

please help me out...thanks in advance..

14-04-2005, 09:54 AM
We discuss this earlier, but let me mention it again here, since we have a number of new members.

The interview would be in group interview. Basically, it would be a group of about 10-15 students typically. You would sit around and discuss a topic. I have listed down a list of probable topics, and some other ReComers have added some other topics too. Anyone feels that any other topic is probable, please share it here too!

So, it would be a group interview. You won't be divided into your major during the interview. The interview would start with a briefing at the morning. Basically, they would brief you with some of the situation of the applications. They may actually tell you that some countries do not have sufficient applicants, i.e. number of applicants are fewer than number of scholarship spots, they would encourage you to change. So, if you want to take up the higher probability course, feel free to mention to the interviewers. It would just increase your chances, but not guarantee it. And do not expect to just change it for the sake of getting JPA, and then appeal to change back the course. It would be very hard, or hardly anyone manage to do it. During the briefing, they will allow a chance for you to ask questions. Try to go ahead and post an intelligent question (especially since you can think about it now) regarding the interview, and that is a chance for you to get noted by others. State calmly your name, what major/country you are applying, and mention your question.

During the interview, it would be about 1 hour, and some of the interviewers would ask for a volunteer to be pengerusi. So, if you have the confident to do a good job, volunteer for it. And during the discussion, some interviewers would have warm-up question(s) for everyone to say something before getting into one of the selected topics. Some interviewers may just give you a topic, and give you an hour, and let you all to discuss.

So, it would be up to you all. Be articulate, but do not dominate . That is the major pitfall, in my opinion. Share your view points. Quality of view points, with pertinent examples would help a lot. Not quantity. If you can use personal examples, it would be win-win situation, since you can relate with it, as well as other students could relate to it. Moreover, it allows you a way to highlight your involvements too indirectly. Listen to what others mention. A lot of students often get too excited to just say their view points and do not bother about what others say. Be a good listener. Be observant. If you realize that some students do not share any of their opinion, call upon them... You can say to the group like "Why don't we listen from him/her, and see what he/she thinks about that issue." something like that. That would show your leadership abilities.

And also your minglings while you wait etc may matter. Be polite etc. And also remember to thank the interviewer at the end. If you can, try to get their email address, or at least their full name. (You can check their email address at JPA website, if you have their full name). And then, when you get home, email them a thank you email.

All the best~!

p/s: There were interviews at INTEC since before. I had my interview at INTEC too 5 years ago. Those who are going to have interview, could actually meet up with those ReComers who are studying at INTEC.

14-04-2005, 11:21 AM
Another point, ideally put your certs arranged in the order of how you fill for JPA applications in a clear file holder, for the original cert.

For the certified copy, you could actually bind it into a book.

Yoyo
14-04-2005, 12:52 PM
hi ,everyone! i'm just noticed here got a really great forum for us to refer..i feel a bit "xiang feng hen wan" (hehe...sorry...does there anyone know how to say this in english?) thx for chenchow and other pupils who share the information for us. it's really really useful not just for the jpa, but in others interview in future.

could i ask some question here?
i) if i want 2 take the dentistry, where is the ideal place for me to further my studies?

my interview place is :UPM
time :8am at 19/4/05
does there anyone same as me?

petertok
14-04-2005, 04:07 PM
About certs , chenchow are u suggesting that we bring a clear holder that contains our original certs and another binded book consisting of our certified true copies ? How about the sijil kelahiran and other stuff ? For those who applied conventionally , we already sent them the copies needed so is it necessary for us to bring another set ? And shud we bring another set , is it wise to bind all those birth certs altogether with the koko certs to make a book with different categories ?

About interviews , i am still very much unclear about country selection thing.. I know this has been repeated again and again and some of you are fed up answering questions like this ... But i would like a second opinion on my personal situation preferably..

I have 10a1 , gce a1 and applied for medic jpa. My interview is on 23rd in Ipoh. Im not in the top 180 called for the PM luncheon. My friend who is a jpa scholar now advised me to apply for UK bcos he said if i dont get UK i will still be considered for other countries. But what i read from ReCom is actually the opposite , that if i dont get UK i'll get nothing. He got 11a1 and gce a2 last year , applied for UK and got australia instead. So , would it be wise for me to apply for UK although it is not a very realistic target and will the chances of me higher if i applied for australia instead ? Or maybe i shud opt for accepting whatever country they wanna send me to ? Personally , i would be contented just with a scholarships but my parents think it would be good if i get uk , australia , india or IMU.
Nevertheless , im out to try my best next saturday to prove that im worthy of a JPA scholarships... hehe :wink:

14-04-2005, 05:20 PM
im a bumi but i didnt choose jpa so i didnt get the interview wit jpa. for mara i have to wait 2 weeks b4 i 'd know bout it.

so those who had been to an interview with jpa or mara , pls list down the types of questions or the questions they asked you.

how long does it take? is it a group??or individual?
do they ask questions like who is the director of... or minister of... ?
WHAT do they ask you? is it ok to stand up n walk around? cos i get numb whenever i sit down to speak n i cant speak cos too nervous or i speak but kinda fast n i just blurt out ideas... or forget some of the things i want to talk bout.

so anyone.. plssssssssss help!

shhh_87
14-04-2005, 06:12 PM
info from my seniors,
:arrow: they say da intrvw b in group of 3 person....
:arrow: the intrvwer will ask the group question one by one...
:arrow: ...give our own speech about the issues that were discuss one by one....
:arrow: the group will b divided according 2 da alphabatical order ...ex:...if ur first name...begin with "M"...u will get a group member which 1st name begin with "M".....

:!: tHe big NEWS is :arrow: not all da groups discuss in english...depend on da intrvwer....
<'lucky' 4 him, he got a group discussion in BM...n...he is in US rite now... :P >

***I really need this scholarship!!!

eons
14-04-2005, 07:08 PM
About certs , chenchow are u suggesting that we bring a clear holder that contains our original certs and another binded book consisting of our certified true copies ? How about the sijil kelahiran and other stuff ? For those who applied conventionally , we already sent them the copies needed so is it necessary for us to bring another set ? And shud we bring another set , is it wise to bind all those birth certs altogether with the koko certs to make a book with different categories ?

exactly what i wanted to ask. thanks for asking and sorry for tagging along . hope someone answers this question :D :D

14-04-2005, 10:31 PM
On how to put the certs, it is just a suggestion. Putting it on a clear file holder, where the interviewers could flip it easily and nicely, would be better right? Rather than giving them a pile of certs. Basically, you can do any way you want, as long as it achieves the purpose of them being able to see your original certs easily.

For certified copy of certs, the suggestion of binding it into a book, actually comes from some ReComers. It just gives a better outlook of you right? Basically, other candidates would give them some number pages of loose certs, perhaps using a paper clip, and you actually bind them into a book etc. I reiterate, any way you want to do it, is fine.

For those who have already posted a copy by post, technically I think you don't need to bring one more set, but it is better safe than sorry right? So, I would suggest you to bring at least one more set.

You can put all the certified copy into one book, with some dividers, say for birth cert etc in one section, and then sports, and then clubs/societies, and then competitions... etc. Basically, whichever you can do it, but present it as nice as possible. the divider could just be a piece of colored paper. Those photocopy shop or any shop should have those.

On interview in group, usually it would be around 10-15. Sometimes, you could have a group of around 6-9, depending on your station/location. Those big cities would typically have bigger groups. I haven't heard of 3 people a group, but it is possible, but usually it would be bigger. I think they sort by last name (sur name).

For JPA, there won't be questions like minister etc, but if you know their names or any other facts, and able to use those facts in your explanation, it shows good on you.

On which country to apply, basically, a statement like this would be fine. It is in my opinion. "I would really like to further my education in UK/any other country (you could mention more than 1 country too), because...... However, my main passion is still to serve the public by becoming a doctor, hence, if I am able to get the scholarship to do medicine in any country or the following countries, I would be more than happy to take up the opportunities.

That's just my thoughts.

wild_card_my
14-04-2005, 10:55 PM
On which country to apply, basically, a statement like this would be fine. It is in my opinion. "I would really like to further my education in UK/any other country (you could mention more than 1 country too), because...... However, my main passion is still to serve the public by becoming a doctor, hence, if I am able to get the scholarship to do medicine in any country or the following countries, I would be more than happy to take up the opportunities.

hopefully the JPA officers wont be hearing the same/exact stye of answer during the interview... we do haf a lot of recommers who are going to attend the interview...

15-04-2005, 02:05 AM
Here are more variations if you need them:

The-party-line-reply: See Chen Chow's post.

If-you-don't-mind-any-country-reply: Which country also can loh...as long as I can get to meet pretty girls/cute guys.

The-Uncle-Sam-reply: Oh course, I would love to go to America, heck it is the greatest country in the world. If you don't offer me the scholarship to the US, the top US schools will. And I'll work in the USA, paying Uncle Sam millions of dollars to finance the war, finance the overspending of Americans, and continue to make USA the richest & most powerful country in the world. Now, you don't want my future tax dollars?

gforce_effect
15-04-2005, 10:02 AM
i've just find out that i had been chosen to go for the JPA interview on april 20th....in INTAN, SG PETANI...and sadly...i've just find out about this forum as well...after reading all those post....im really worried about the coming interview....almost every night i cant get my beauty sleep!!!!! :cry:

at first...i thought the interview was goin to be easy and not that challenging....but after reading all of that.....im really? worried!!!!....im not that well prepared though to answer all the interviewers' questions.....i even think that i might "surrender" and not attend the interview......

well.....i need anyone who can give me some thoughts on what should i do.....thanks......btw....sorry for my unperfect english.... :cry: :(

15-04-2005, 10:08 AM
i've just find out that i had been chosen to go for the JPA interview on april 20th....in INTAN, SG PETANI...and sadly...i've just find out about this forum as well...after reading all those post....im really worried about the coming interview....almost every night i cant get my beauty sleep!!!!! :cry:

at first...i thought the interview was goin to be easy and not that challenging....but after reading all of that.....im really? worried!!!!....im not that well prepared though to answer all the interviewers' questions.....i even think that i might "surrender" and not attend the interview......

well.....i need anyone who can give me some thoughts on what should i do.....thanks......btw....sorry for my unperfect english.... :cry: :(

Give it all your best. You have about 30-40% chances of getting the scholarships now, so why not try your very best. You still have about 5 days to prepare. Read up as much as you could. Post questions here in ReCom. Practice with as many other people as possible!

All the best!

15-04-2005, 11:24 AM
You have about 30-40% chances of getting the scholarships now, ...
I'm curious, how did you come out with that figure?

15-04-2005, 11:29 AM
You have about 30-40% chances of getting the scholarships now, ...
I'm curious, how did you come out with that figure?

For SPM 2003 batch, 3900+ got called up for interview. 1509 students got the scholarships. That's around that percentage. Of course, the number could fluctuate from year to year. And I have only one data point, ie. batch 2003, which JPA makes public their statistics.

jun
15-04-2005, 11:38 AM
chenchow, from your experience, can you please list the most competitive course to the least competitive course please.

for example:-medic,dentistry,pharmacy..................
i would really like to know, so would other recom members i think.

also, will jpa ask questions not related to the topic such as "what is your greatest weakness?"

and is there a way to find out what are the actual marks we got in spm? since jpa can find out, i'm sure we can too right?

ryanlee
15-04-2005, 12:22 PM
my interview is
Date: 22 April
Time: 8.00 am
Venue: UPM, Serdang

Anyone have any idea about the interview and how the intrview is going to be, Please lend a helping hand....!!!!!!!

i am really nervous about it since it may be my first interview
besides follow the advices given by chenchow...
seem like it's a lots of hardwork have to be done..
If in the interview that group of ppl dominate it n a have no chance to talk , is it the end of the day?
i hope that interview ll not play much effect in our scholarships,
Is it true that ppl said that interview is not really important?

kpchen
15-04-2005, 01:05 PM
Damn... A JPA officer called my house just now... I was bathing, so my brother took the call... Damn... I wanted to ask some questions... Damn... Anyone knows roughly how many applicants will be at INTEC Shah Alam on 19th April? Any RECOM members? And those who went for the interview before the 19th, please share your experience...Sharing IS caring... =)

15-04-2005, 02:12 PM
Give it all your best. You have about 30-40% chances of getting the scholarships now, so why not try your very best. You still have about 5 days to prepare. Read up as much as you could. Post questions here in ReCom. Practice with as many other people as possible!

All the best!

u are assuming that there's no quota and JPA is doing a random pick...if based on results and interview, it will be a different story altogether...

poyo
15-04-2005, 07:50 PM

me too.i feel exactly like u...i'm scared to death now.btw, my interview is on 23rd.ipoh.and somebody please tell me,where oh where is the best place to study pharmacy. us?uk?aus? i have no idea. please tell me.

yian04
15-04-2005, 08:03 PM
omigod, there are just 5 days left for my jpa interview, damn nervous, suffered from insomnia since a few days ago, got two black panda eyes, lolz.... Hey, anyone who attend ur interview in UiTM malacca, how to go there?

Besides, anyone who apply dentistry like me, do u know where does jpa send us to if we successfully secure the scholarship? Which country is more ideal for pursuing dentistry? thx...

Salvation
15-04-2005, 08:14 PM
sweat..everyone seems to be so nervous, well, try your best, thats all. :) Erm...wei, I need some help, anyone coming back from Tronoh, UTP on the 19th to Klang valley? I need a lift because I have to attend the JPA interview on the next day at 8.00 am. So rush... pls, I might get stranted there if no one helps me. *cries* I will be asking around there for transport help there, but it would be better if transport can be confirmed now.

yityung_kok
15-04-2005, 09:11 PM
instead of being nervous, i think this is the time we shud be calm and keep it cool. Just constantly read and talk.

As a debater, i understand the nervousness everyone's feeling (hey, i'm included!). However, if we just keep it cool, until the interview we'll just pour out everything, naturally. So, no point worrying coz it's not time for tat!!

For those who are not very good in spoken English, don't hesitate to speak now. It's better late than never.

Anyway, good luck to all!!

ps: can't wait for the interview to be over. My heart is pumping like mad!!!!

icedleaf
15-04-2005, 10:28 PM
i'm new here. I just want to know was there anyone who couldn't speak english very fluently but still manage to get the scholarship?well,i agree that late is better than never. But i don't think it helps much. Frankly,it's too late. As for those who will attend interviews before 20th,pls post the topics given on this forum. If possible, share their experience with the others.Thx a lot!!!All the BEST!

15-04-2005, 10:35 PM
Please try to stay relax. I would say that in terms of competitiveness, it varies by year, but pretty much, Medicine would often be the most competitive. The same goes with pharmacy, those programs in US (for instance, Engineering, Actuarial Science, BioTech, Economics etc). While this does not say that which course is better, it is definitely how the students select their preference.

If a lot of students shift to select one course, that course would be more competitive for the year. Listen attentively in the briefing. Pose questions if needed.

Practice more, stay relax and try your best~! Be prepared for any question. Those with information share it here, and there are a lot of other ReComers here who are able to share their experience~!

I am not sure whether I would have time to assess internet in the next 3 days, as I would be away for a Malaysia Forum at MIT. I do wish everyone all the best~! Good Luck~!

n_uay
15-04-2005, 11:03 PM
We discuss this earlier, but let me mention it again here, since we have a number of new members.

The interview would be in group interview. Basically, it would be a group of about 10-15 students typically. You would sit around and discuss a topic. I have listed down a list of probable topics, and some other ReComers have added some other topics too. Anyone feels that any other topic is probable, please share it here too!

So, it would be a group interview. You won't be divided into your major during the interview. The interview would start with a briefing at the morning. Basically, they would brief you with some of the situation of the applications. They may actually tell you that some countries do not have sufficient applicants, i.e. number of applicants are fewer than number of scholarship spots, they would encourage you to change. So, if you want to take up the higher probability course, feel free to mention to the interviewers. It would just increase your chances, but not guarantee it. And do not expect to just change it for the sake of getting JPA, and then appeal to change back the course. It would be very hard, or hardly anyone manage to do it. During the briefing, they will allow a chance for you to ask questions. Try to go ahead and post an intelligent question (especially since you can think about it now) regarding the interview, and that is a chance for you to get noted by others. State calmly your name, what major/country you are applying, and mention your question.

During the interview, it would be about 1 hour, and some of the interviewers would ask for a volunteer to be pengerusi. So, if you have the confident to do a good job, volunteer for it. And during the discussion, some interviewers would have warm-up question(s) for everyone to say something before getting into one of the selected topics. Some interviewers may just give you a topic, and give you an hour, and let you all to discuss.

So, it would be up to you all. Be articulate, but do not dominate . That is the major pitfall, in my opinion. Share your view points. Quality of view points, with pertinent examples would help a lot. Not quantity. If you can use personal examples, it would be win-win situation, since you can relate with it, as well as other students could relate to it. Moreover, it allows you a way to highlight your involvements too indirectly. Listen to what others mention. A lot of students often get too excited to just say their view points and do not bother about what others say. Be a good listener. Be observant. If you realize that some students do not share any of their opinion, call upon them... You can say to the group like "Why don't we listen from him/her, and see what he/she thinks about that issue." something like that. That would show your leadership abilities.

And also your minglings while you wait etc may matter. Be polite etc. And also remember to thank the interviewer at the end. If you can, try to get their email address, or at least their full name. (You can check their email address at JPA website, if you have their full name). And then, when you get home, email them a thank you email.

All the best~!

p/s: There were interviews at INTEC since before. I had my interview at INTEC too 5 years ago. Those who are going to have interview, could actually meet up with those ReComers who are studying at INTEC.

Izzit true that they'll DEFINITELY encourage us to change the course?

eons
15-04-2005, 11:06 PM
hey everybody,

did anyone get a call from jpa. cos i've missed the call. i'm so scared. What did they wan to tell me?? stupid me. why not at home when they call. what to do now?? :cry: :oops:

15-04-2005, 11:10 PM
hey everybody,

did anyone get a call from jpa. cos i've missed the call. i'm so scared. What did they wan to tell me?? stupid me. why not at home when they call. what to do now?? :cry: :oops:

Maybe you should try to call them and ask?

kpchen
15-04-2005, 11:31 PM
hey everybody,

Nah...they just call to tell you what you have known from your online Interview Application Slip....just to inform you only...nothing much...ur place, date, etc.

wendy
16-04-2005, 12:10 AM
Does JPA send students to New Zealand to pursue medicine?
I'm feeling nervous too..
Exact same feelin i have 1 week before SPM.

Another question.....is it necesarry to bring certified copies of all the documents and certs if we're bringin the actual one?

Hope to hear a reply soon!

yityung_kok
16-04-2005, 12:24 AM
Another question.....is it necesarry to bring certified copies of all the documents and certs if we're bringin the actual one?

I think it's best to bring both original and certified copies, just in case. Who knows, they may ask for the copies, since they may be lazy to get it from the piles of application forms.

YJaye
16-04-2005, 12:35 AM

I have the same feeling too.. My interview is on 19th!! earlier than u all guys.. hope i can get some topics that i knew... if not i guess i'll just sit there like s statue... :(

zqax
16-04-2005, 01:41 AM
why are you required to bring pencils and pen to the interview!?!?!?
are we having IQ tests???I heard some changes in this year JPA, not sure though.

Patrick
16-04-2005, 06:47 AM
1.Umm...what is Kad Pesara supposed to be?

2. Are we supposed to bring our parents' and our original birth certificates ?

alamanda_star
16-04-2005, 07:53 AM

if ur parents are already retired.. they got the card! just like ur ic.

i guess we should bring it...

why nobody from jpa calling me? izzit because i'd already call them to ask about the sijil akuan kokurikulum? but I didn't mention my name........ :?:

flibbertigibbet
16-04-2005, 09:19 AM

1. Kad Pesara is probably what alamanda_star said to be. But if your parents haven't retired, you should bring along their original Slip Gaji (as stated in the Slip Pemberitahuan). Tell you what, I'm bringing along Borang J too.

2. Yes, we are supposed to bring along the original birth certificates of our parents and ourselves. Do photostat a copy and get them certified too, just like what you do to your certs.

Another question here. Since it is not stated that we should bring along our parents' ICs, we do not need to bring them along right? I guess JPA has thought of the possibility of not all parents accompanying their children to the interview centre and thus won't have their ICs around. Am I right?

Patrick
16-04-2005, 09:53 AM

1. Kad Pesara is probably what alamanda_star said to be. But if your parents haven't retired, you should bring along their original Slip Gaji (as stated in the Slip Pemberitahuan). Tell you what, I'm bringing along Borang J too.

2. Yes, we are supposed to bring along the original birth certificates of our parents and ourselves. Do photostat a copy and get them certified too, just like what you do to your certs.

Another question here. Since it is not stated that we should bring along our parents' ICs, we do not need to bring them along right? I guess JPA has thought of the possibility of not all parents accompanying their children to the interview centre and thus won't have their ICs around. Am I right?

Umm, what if my father is a PESARA SWASTA? I thought only gov servants are supposed to have this "Kad Pesara". Can someone clarify this matter?

qy
16-04-2005, 10:21 AM
why nobody from jpa calling me? izzit because i'd already call them to ask about the sijil akuan kokurikulum? but I didn't mention my name........ :?:

I called jpa yesterday morning and the lady who picked up the phone laughed when i asked her about this call thingy. She said they have to call up thousands of people so if it's not your turn yet, then you won't receive any call. And then around four or five in the evening, i got a call from them (i know it's jpa as the number on the handphone screen was the same as what i dialled earlier in the morning)but before i could hear anything, the line was cut off (either digi or my phone holds a grudge towards me :D ). And they never called back, and i couldn't get through either although i redialled a few times. Anyway, the lady whom i spoke to in the morning said that they have sent out an official letter which we will receive in a few days' time. She also said if we don't receive the letter in time for the interview, the online print-put slip will be just as fine.

JROTC_pw
16-04-2005, 10:47 AM
Does JPA send students to New Zealand to pursue medicine?
I'm feeling nervous too..
Exact same feelin i have 1 week before SPM.

Hope to hear a reply soon!

Yes...JPA does sent students to New Zealand but places are very limited.
According a JPA medic scholar to NZ, he says that there is only 8 Universities to study medic there. Futhermore, the number of places for foreign students per university is very small and limited.
Correct me if i'm wrong.

petertok
16-04-2005, 11:23 AM
are we having IQ tests???I heard some changes in this year JPA, not sure though.

OMG ... I did hear my friends[bumi] saying that one of their mom called jpa.. and the jpa ppl told here we will be writing a short essay... *sob* my essays are pathetic :oops:

Its not confirmed , i cant call thru jpa today , anyone that is going to call pls confirm this...

ryanlee
16-04-2005, 12:16 PM
IQ test?? esssay??
sad....
really a nightmare........
i think...i ve to work hard la..
now..........really??
what topics???
any idea??
thanks...

zqax
16-04-2005, 12:26 PM

OMG ... I did hear my friends[bumi] saying that one of their mom called jpa.. and the jpa ppl told here we will be writing a short essay... *sob* my essays are pathetic :oops:

Its not confirmed , i cant call thru jpa today , anyone that is going to call pls confirm this...
Oh ..essay???!Oh not....what's next?Kaligraphy?Can anyone tell me a sure format of the jpa interview?I heard some had attended on Friday.

alamanda_star
16-04-2005, 12:53 PM

I called jpa yesterday morning and the lady who picked up the phone laughed when i asked her about this call thingy. She said they have to call up thousands of people so if it's not your turn yet, then you won't receive any call. And then around four or five in the evening, i got a call from them (i know it's jpa as the number on the handphone screen was the same as what i dialled earlier in the morning)but before i could hear anything, the line was cut off (either digi or my phone holds a grudge towards me :D ). And they never called back, and i couldn't get through either although i redialled a few times. Anyway, the lady whom i spoke to in the morning said that they have sent out an official letter which we will receive in a few days' time. She also said if we don't receive the letter in time for the interview, the online print-put slip will be just as fine.

thanks qy.... really appreciate it :D

feliciafarm
16-04-2005, 01:13 PM
I've recieved a call fr jpa ppl on last wenesday morning.Luckily i had woken up :lol: They informed me wat tym,date,place should i hv the interview wit em'.I've a chilin sensation in my stomach evr since the day i recieved thier call.I'm fr Johore n i'll be hvin the interview by 22nd April,next Friday.And i'm afraid tat i'll becom dumb-founded in the interview session.I knew tat i'm silly cuz i even thought of givin up the golden oppoturnity.Som of my fren dun even hv the opporturnity to attend the interview session. I haven't prepare 4 it whether mentally or physically.I felt like cryin now .....huh ....huh :cry: Forgot to tell u guys tat i'm applyin 4 dentistry 4 jpa.Do anyone knows bout' which country do they send dentistry students to???Is it diffcult to get jpa dentistry scholarship?My parents n my grandma wasn't happy on the idea tat i wan to becom a dentist.My parents wan me to become a pharmachist-they think it has got a bright future.But it's my future n the final decision lie on my hand.Howevr,their objections more or less have eroded my determination.I began to think "Am i serious of wantin to embark on dentistry?Am i suitable 4 the job?"All i gotta say's"Wish u all the best n good luck!!! :wink: "to those who'll be goin for jpa interview :D .Feel free to bring up more possible questions or topics tat'll be asked at jpa interview!

Patrick
16-04-2005, 01:19 PM
I've recieved a call fr jpa ppl on last wenesday morning.Luckily i had woken up :lol: They informed me wat tym,date,place should i hv the interview wit em'.I've a chilin sensation in my stomach evr since the day i recieved thier call.I'm fr Johore n i'll be hvin the interview by 22nd April,next Friday.And i'm afraid tat i'll becom dumb-founded in the interview session.I knew tat i'm silly cuz i even thought of givin up the golden oppoturnity.Som of my fren dun even hv the opporturnity to attend the interview session. I haven't prepare 4 it whether mentally or physically.I felt like cryin now .....huh ....huh :cry: Forgot to tell u guys tat i'm applyin 4 dentistry 4 jpa.Do anyone knows bout' which country do they send dentistry students to???Is it diffcult to get jpa dentistry scholarship?My parents n my grandma wasn't happy on the idea tat i wan to becom a dentist.My parents wan me to become a pharmachist-they think it has got a bright future.But it's my future n the final decision lie on my hand.Howevr,their objections more or less have eroded my determination.I began to think "Am i serious of wantin to embark on dentistry?Am i suitable 4 the job?"All i gotta say's"Wish u all the best n good luck!!! :wink: "to those who'll be goin for jpa interview :D .Feel free to bring up more possible questions or topics tat'll be asked at jpa interview!

Ahh, never look down on dentistry. Although it doesn't get the same respect as medicine, dentists can actually earn a lot.

petertok
16-04-2005, 01:41 PM

Oh ..essay???!Oh not....what's next?Kaligraphy?Can anyone tell me a sure format of the jpa interview?I heard some had attended on Friday.

Im sure if we call jpa they would relate to us the exact format... In fact , imho , asking from fellow candidates who already attended the interview...would make them "serba salah" whether to tell or not... Let's fight fair and square...lols :lol:

petertok
16-04-2005, 01:46 PM

Ahh, never look down on dentistry. Although it doesn't get the same respect as medicine, dentists can actually earn a lot.

Evaluating a career based on its monetary gains isnt a wise move ... I would say realising your dreams and following your passion for a certain career when you have the opportunity to do so is more important.

Patrick
16-04-2005, 01:51 PM

Evaluating a career based on its monetary gains isnt a wise move ... I would say realising your dreams and following your passion for a certain career when you have the opportunity to do so is more important.

I'm just saying that feliciafarm can earn a lot if she becomes a dentist, since her parents and grandma thinks that dentistry doesn't give her a bright future (Which I assume, money wise)