View Full Version : Ring Ring

sno
02-03-2005, 11:05 PM
jus outta curiosity ,
1. how many rings do u let the phone go before picking it up?

2. and how many TOOT TOOT do u wait for someone to answer the phone b4 hanging up?

nicodemus
02-03-2005, 11:55 PM
I wonder.....what sparks your curiousity? :?:

1. I usually let it ring 3 times before picking up.

2. I usually wait for 8 TOOT TOOTs before hanging up. :D

sno
03-03-2005, 01:42 AM
hahah, can't believe someone actually responded without telling me to get lost with these stupid questions.
well if u wanna know why i am asking, my mom was calling me up in the afternoon when i was in the shower......the phone rang for a long time and i wondered if it would ever stop........n i began to wonder about other things and that led to this thread :P

well, i am jus bored........ :D

03-03-2005, 02:57 AM
Everyone needs to get an answering machine.

03-03-2005, 03:38 AM
hahaha... regarding to the number of time the phone rang before hanging up... it depends how urgent it is...

so, if it is not really that urgent, i'll just hang up after 6 rings... if it is urgent, i'll not hang up until it cuts me off automatically...

anyway, get a caller ID... it is very useful...

03-03-2005, 05:09 AM
Eh what a question~~~
Anyway, if the call is from someone undesired, then I won't answer the call...else 98% I'l answer the call....so feel free to call me? LOL :lol:

astrosurge
03-03-2005, 06:46 AM
basically, i hate answering phone calls.

well,
if the phone call are from my best buddies, best friend (or) g/f, i will answer them immediately if im around. even leaving my meal on the table or my favorite show on TV if i have to.

if the phone call are from normal friends (those who come to u only when they need u), i will try to delay the answering..and eventually pick them up after the ring continuously goes for more than 15 times..just to be nice to them :P

If the phonecall are from buggers (girls who bugged u for no reason), i will NOT answer them and even if i do answer them, i will immitate someone like Samy Vellu who owns a Pakistani or a Bangladeshi takeaway (no pun intended) to scare them off.

If the phonecalls are from strangers that i dunno who simply ask "is this 077####### ah?" i will say "hah, u wan speak to who? that person 'die-ded' 5 yrs ago man! wrong number arr!!' *thump*. Hang up!

But have u ever experienced someone call u up and go silent for long secs and suddenly giggle ghastily and then hang up!?

i rather change my no!! nuff said :P

04-03-2005, 03:47 AM
Haha...I don't even care about how many toots toots, ring rings or beep beeps.... If the phone is right in front of me when it rings, I will just grab it even after just one ring. I find the ring ring sound rather irritating....

04-03-2005, 03:56 AM
If the phonecall are from buggers (girls who bugged u for no reason), i will NOT answer them and even if i do answer them, i will immitate someone like Samy Vellu who owns a Pakistani or a Bangladeshi takeaway (no pun intended) to scare them off.please tell me what the pun in this sentence is supposed to be....i can't figure it out.

04-03-2005, 01:26 PM
basically, i hate answering phone calls.

well,
if the phone call are from my best buddies, best friend (or) g/f, i will answer them immediately if im around. even leaving my meal on the table or my favorite show on TV if i have to.

if the phone call are from normal friends (those who come to u only when they need u), i will try to delay the answering..and eventually pick them up after the ring continuously goes for more than 15 times..just to be nice to them :P

If the phonecall are from buggers (girls who bugged u for no reason), i will NOT answer them and even if i do answer them, i will immitate someone like Samy Vellu who owns a Pakistani or a Bangladeshi takeaway (no pun intended) to scare them off.

If the phonecalls are from strangers that i dunno who simply ask "is this 077####### ah?" i will say "hah, u wan speak to who? that person 'die-ded' 5 yrs ago man! wrong number arr!!' *thump*. Hang up!

Aren't you glad technology has made all these possible? Think of the days when there were no such thing as caller id.

As for me, I try to pick up my phone as quickly as possible. To me, unidentified numbers can sometimes bring pleasant suprises e.g you might have entered a contest and someone's calling to tell that you've won. And if it's someone nutcrack who's just trying to waste my time then I'd just hang up. Easy.

04-03-2005, 01:44 PM
usually, i answer my calls as soon as i hear them ring. if it's somewhere else n not right in front of me or in my jeans pockets, then the mad scarmble for it will begin LOL

BUT, it depends. If the caller is someone i dont like, or i dont feel like talking to at the mo, then i wont answer the call and just let it ring or divert the call into my voice mail and then change the ph setting to silent mode so if it rings again, i wont hv to hear the ringing goes on n on n on. pretty bad of me, but too bad. it's my choice really.

i hv this weird dislike for ringing tones. i despise the ppl who put theirs on the loudest volume ever, and always letting it ring for like ages before answering in the loudest voice possible. It's juz so anooying and i dont get it how they can ever think that other ppl might like listening to the sound of their phones beeping

usually, i put mine on silent, especially when i'm outside n dont want to bother other ppl with the annoying ringing tone of my ph. even if i DO put it on ringing mode when i'm outside, i'd choose sthing conventional like the normal 3 beeps that resembles the home phone or shting like dat. i only put it on ringing mode when i'm inside the house, coz i always chuck my ph somewhere in my room whenever i'm in, so having it on ringing mode helps me find it when someone calls, or i got an sms.

well..to each his own diff ways.

nocona
04-03-2005, 01:54 PM
sorry sno, i don't know how to vote coz I can't find the numbers of ring and toot that i want from your voting list.

1. I will pick up the phone once i realized that it rings, without 1 second delay.

2. I will wait until the toot direct me to the voice mail or disconnected and I will redial and redial and redial...

when i was crazy with a girl (few years back...), i dialed her handphone for more than 20 minutes, each time i was directed to the voice mail, i hang up and dial again.

-nc-

sno
04-03-2005, 04:27 PM
when i was crazy with a girl (few years back...), i dialed her handphone for more than 20 minutes, each time i was directed to the voice mail, i hang up and dial again.

-nc-

stalker stalker

sno
04-03-2005, 04:30 PM
anyway, i 've read alot bout prank phone calls but the first time(n only time) i got a call like that, i really freaked out

guess experiencing things first hand n reading bout it is really different after all :D

wpyeoh
05-03-2005, 08:46 PM
I don't know how to vote...since my 2 answers are different. I'm like pandaboy, budakkerek and nocona (I think I haven't missed out anyone ^_^); I answer the phone as soon as possible. Now I have no handphone, no caller ID, so it doesn't matter who's calling ^_^. But even if I know that the person calling isn't someone i want to talk to at the moment, I think I'd still answer (as long as it isn't someone I absolutely loathe :twisted: )...a matter of etiquette ^_^

And when I call someone...it depends on how long I feel like waiting. And if it's urgent, I'll wait as long as the phone company allows me to ^_^ (like DecentMerson...hehe)

bunny
06-03-2005, 05:42 AM
haha! interesting topic.

how many of you actually would not pick up the phone, even though u know for sure that the call is for you, and wait for someone else to pick up your phone call for you?

06-03-2005, 04:21 PM
haha..i do dat, but only at home. i mean, if the home phone's ringing, i would rather yell at my brothers and ask them to pick it up than picking it up myself
BUT, one thing i do wonder about them boys is they'd rather let the ph ring even when they are sitting right next to it....hmm.... 8O

wpyeoh
10-03-2005, 01:24 AM
Well, if it's for me I would have to go to it anyway, so why not answer it right away? Unless if I'm finishing something..then I'll yell at someone to answer it for me first.

10-03-2005, 07:25 AM
When I was at home, I seldom pick up the phone unless I'm the only one at home. Cause I know no one will call me at home, all my friends have my mobile phone number....