View Full Version : athenor suptid trhaed msut raed!!!
03-12-2003, 07:57 AM
According to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.
yaeh. i raed taht psot nrolmlay wuihott any puaess. azmanig.
royston
03-12-2003, 09:24 AM
I agere wtih yuo 3rd, huamn's brian is pertty amzaing!! Thnaks for shraing!!
~ roy ~
03-12-2003, 12:06 PM
i believe this has something to do with lateral thinking...
with this concept Speed Reading Technique is developed...
a person have the ability to see things "as a whole" so even the details are change we are able to read the words...
have fun...
15-06-2007, 08:37 PM
Alrgiht, I am raeidng tihs whituot any porbelm too.
hunny_chan
15-06-2007, 09:10 PM
Bailrlint sfutf. Doz anyone here actually know how to speed read? I mean maybe more than 700words per minute.. I Qing?
15-06-2007, 10:02 PM
I've been to a demonstration of speed reading by a company. From my experience, I feel that it's possible to increase your reading speed up to 600 or even 1000 for normal texts, but for hard-to-digest stuff like your uni's boring textbook, your reading speed is not going to help you memorize stuff faster. For a faster overall understanding of a given text, yeah it might work; but if you are lured to think that this will going to help you achieve better exam result with half the study time, this is not going to happen.
shade
15-06-2007, 10:05 PM
wonder if anyone with dyslexia have trouble reading that...
I've been to a demonstration of speed reading by a company. From my experience, I feel that it's possible to increase your reading speed up to 600 or even 1000 for normal texts, but for hard-to-digest stuff like your uni's boring textbook, your reading speed is not going to help you memorize stuff faster. For a faster overall understanding of a given text, yeah it might work; but if you are lured to think that this will going to help you achieve better exam result with half the study time, this is not going to happen.
but will speed reading really help grasp the gist of a certain text faster, especially one that's heavy in concept like sciences?
i'm not sure if i'm speed reading but i can get through a a4-length text quite fast. the only problem i experience is that i don't really understand everything after i'm done.
15-06-2007, 10:10 PM
wonder if anyone with dyslexia have trouble reading that...
but will speed reading really help grasp the gist of a certain text faster, especially one that's heavy in concept like sciences?
I would say it really depends... like, the difficulty of the test, the level of understanding and memory you expect to achieve, etc.
15-06-2007, 10:21 PM
By the way, for this interesting phenomenon, there are a few reasons why this work:
1. When words are displayed with standard computer fonts like Serif, the words assume certain geometric patterns in your vision, and the most prominent characteristic would be at the front (the first letter), the end (the last letter), and the outliers of the "tall characters" such as l, t, h, p, d etc. These outliers and the end letters are how we mainly interpret the words when we are reading. Therefore, like say we have the word "interpret", if you jumble it up to become "iepetrrt", we would still find that the presence of the p and t's tails very helpful in determining the actual word.
2. The word "iepetrrt" might actually be hard to interpret, if it exists by itself. However, when we read a sentence, we don't read words individually; we read them in context. For example, let's tell me what's in the blank in this sentence: "he jumps as high as _____ Jordan". Of course you would expect the word "Michael" in the blank. Therefore, if I give you "maehicl" as a word by itself you might find it a bit hard to figure out the whole word; however, if I write "he jumps as high as maehicl jordan" of course you would be able to know instantly that it's Michael.
In fact I guess 2 is the main reason why this works. For more information about this phenomenon, you can read this page:
http://www.snopes.com/language/apocryph/cambridge.asp
22-06-2007, 07:05 PM
I heard that the reason newspaper articles are structured in narrow columns is to facilitate speed reading. Is this true?
22-06-2007, 07:11 PM
I heard that the reason newspaper articles are structured in narrow columns is to facilitate speed reading. Is this true?
Kind of. There's a certain "optimum" words per line that is good for reading; longer than that it feels uncomfortable. I forgot the exact figures though.
22-06-2007, 07:42 PM
i would say.. eight? but it depends on the words itself, if the words are long then it's different. I think defining an optimum length would be better.
nysha
24-06-2007, 06:38 PM
i have a cuzin hu is dyslexic....according to our family doctor this is hw he luks at a sentence
ido ntthi nkica nre adanyt hing
@<hidden>
either the d becomes a b n a p becomes a q or the other way around
( i dont think i can read anything )
so i dun think he can actually do speed reading
Ipad cases (http://accesoriesipad.com/)
24-06-2007, 09:48 PM
anyway, talking abouy dyslexia, If my memories does not serve me wild, Albert Eistein and Newton are all dyslexic.
nysha
24-06-2007, 10:32 PM
anyway, talking abouy dyslexia, If my memories does not serve me wild, Albert Eistein and Newton are all dyslexic.
so is tom cruise
Loan protection insurance dicussion (http://www.insurance-forums.org/loan-protection-insurance/)
24-06-2007, 10:42 PM
so is tom cruise
oh ya, you are right.
25-06-2007, 06:26 AM
Some of the contradictory claims about whether Einstein had dyslexia:
http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=114700
Newton's case is ambiguous as well, as there's no formal source that says he does have dyslexia. There's no mention or references anywhere in wiki that says he has dyslexia.
But I must say that one would succumb to dyslexia if he were to read Newton's Principia Mathematica. The language inside is just agonizing.