View Full Version : "Malaysia Student Magazine" = Our Magazine
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 10:15 AM
Dear Recoms,
I'm a person who like to write and read and I would like to have my own magazine workshop sometime in future... I started to have this Idea when I've a good talk with a lecturer of mine.... He is Mr. Lee Kim Tim, who is a Physic Major and currently teaching in INTI COLLEGE MALAYSIA Main Campus in Nilai...
He has his own magazine workshop with a bunch of his friends working togather... it's a magazine that talks about Science and Humanity in many angles and deep thought of analysis about certain Issues in Malaysia... I suggested about "Magazine for Student" and we have a deep long discussion about this, finally we come out with the results below:
1) It should be a profitable Magazine.
2) Surveys
3) Sponsorship(From Government)
4) Advertisment(From Colleges in Malaysia)-Source of profit
5) It must have a wide range of topic but not "Sensitive Issues" in Malaysia
6) We encourage free flow of information exchanges
7) A dynamic team to edit and a good source of Articles supplied by students from World Wide
8) Promotion in nation wide
9) Survive in 2 years challenge
10) Set up a company
The 10 things I listed on top are the points I remembered, as I couldn't so in detail by tonight's msg, simply I HAVE A TEST TOMORROW
Basically, it's a I would like to make it a MUST READ STUDENT MAGAZINE for all students in Malaysia, and a big big promotion activities have to be done... I would like to organize speechs, competitions and tours at many Major college and High schools to promote this Magazine...
Of course this Idea is still in very infantry stage and it's very idealistic project to a lot of ppl...
1st Challenge:
Set up a campany needed lots of capital
Sloving:
My brother works in the Bank, so no problem for me to get a large sum of Money
2nd Challenge:
Set up a team of ppl in the workshop to maintain, to update and to organize the magazine...
Sloving:
Every members of the team has to sign up a contract of comiment to ensure the involving of members in the workshop
3rd Challenge:
Set up a network for the sponsorship(Government and Colleges and etc..)
Sloving:
We have many members from many colleges and they are the top students from that colleges... I'm pretty sure they would like to make thier college to be well known as well by promoting in our Magazine through their Alumi or Ex-Students from the particular colleges or University...
4th Challenge:
Set up a promotion campaign in colleges and schools
Sloving:
As i said, many tops students would do some motivation speeches or organizing some tours in colleges or schools... Through that, we able to spread out and reach out to many students by ourselves, the very members of Recom...
5th .......Nth Challenge...
*The above solutions are just merely my very own personal suggestion:
I'm Open to more suggestion and more correction and more opion and more ppl to drop their Idea here...
03-12-2003, 10:38 AM
It is a fantastic start and I am sure many RECOM members would be very interested...
I know of Adrian Ow, a RECOM member, who is currently studying at Harvard University. He has made some attempts to produce a magazine last year.
This is a link for an article written by Adrian at Malaysian Mensa Minds magazine.
http://www.gnuted.com/database/gnute3m.html
(Cheryl, mind help persuade to be active in RECOM!!!)
This is another magazine that I found his name on. harvard china.
http://www.harvardchina.org/magazine/contact.html
He is also part of Harvard Crimson Online Newspaper
http://www.thecrimson.com/article.aspx?ref=349212
Below are also links of articles written by him
http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/jasonyeo/stories/storyReader$20
http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/jasonyeo/stories/storyReader$19
http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/jasonyeo/stories/storyReader$18
James Ng, his nickname topdog, has been a prolific writer since a long time ago... His hobby is writing and he is a RECOM member too.
Kenny Lim, his nickname eeyore, another prolific writer. Classmate of topdog, and an active RECOM member.
Cheryl Yeoh, silverblue her nick, produced Newsletter in Cornell for Malaysians here.
And I believe there are many more out there as well!!! Anyone interested, please shout out here!
03-12-2003, 10:44 AM
Thanks 1st_Spirit.
Welcome to ReCom. !.
As your name suggest, you've got the spirit to have the magazine.
And coincidentally, we've got it too.
I like this idea. We can proceed.
But we need the volunteers/pioneers for this project. And we can promote this magazine throughout Malaysia (maybe throughout the planet.).
We want to hear more suggetions. !
We're listening....
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 11:31 AM
1st of all, I'm glad from the responses from Recoms... I'm glad that many support this Idea and I'm sure that nothing is impossible when we work togather... if the saying goes, one can make a different, I would say a team can change the world...
To Master of None and Recom members:
I would list down a more detail about the Idea of the magazine in coming few days, at the same time let's us encourage one another as our final is approaching and I wish everyone at Recoms "Good Luck" in theri studies and Good luck in final too...
For those in Cornell,
I might pay your guys a visit and drop by at NY city for a few days... May be we could have a deep talk and discussion and planning for this project...
For those writers and any preson who like to write,
Pls just drop by some msgs or some opinion or just simply write, "Count me in" so I would know exactly how many ppl we have to join this project... The project is for everyone and anyone who would like to join and take part...
Also I would like to have ppl who can write in Chinese, Malays and English of course so every students have the chance to read the magazine and it able to reach out to more ppl... I also target our Market to Singapore and other regional countries...
03-12-2003, 11:32 AM
I'm glad that Dennis has finally joined ReCom...
we were in INTI togather and our club at that time, lead by wai hong... togather with Dennis and me has convinced INTI College to fund our activities...
somehow Dennis still have contact with the INTI people...
and I know that he's planning to do some BIG project...
one of the major step is creating a wide social network of Malaysian Talents, an idea which we got in INTI days....
that's why I'm trying to bring Dennis into ReCom because I know he has such a capability, Resource, knowledge and experience to carry out his project....
I have full support for Dennis and ReCom...
happy cooperation...
I have a suggestion..
since Dennis and most ReCom Anchors are in USA
I suggest that u guys should meet up personally and discuss about the project and I guarantee u guys that u will be amaze about hte project scale and the fund invole and the brilliant ideas...
since now we have the platform (ReCom org), the network, the leaders and talent...
I believe this is a good step for ReCom to change into semiprofit or organisation in order to expand its role in the society...
I wish u all luck.
u all get my support...
Dennis... hope to see u again in the future...
count me in in your project....
03-12-2003, 11:36 AM
Dennis, you are definitely welcome to visit us... Some of us met some of the SUNY Buffalo people who went to the Hari Raya celebration at Washington DC.
A little digress, when you plan to visit Cornell? Most of us would start leaving for Malaysia around Dec 20.
Yeah, we should all work together to make RECOM a reality. Lets work together to spread the awareness around and bring more talents into RECOM!!!
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 11:47 AM
Announcement...
Too bad that I finished my final at 18 DEC 10.00 pm...
I still would be going down to Drake University to visit my friends anyway... probably next time then. Thanks for your warm welcome Chen Chow...
03-12-2003, 11:48 AM
sounds fun! :)
jiahui
03-12-2003, 01:41 PM
Ho ho..This sounds just FABULOUS! Though I aint at all a good writer, BUT I definitely would love to be part of the team, in any means...
so, c'mon c'mon, let's get into action!!
Sheesh, this whole thing is gettin me hell on steam! =p
03-12-2003, 01:43 PM
Thanks jiahui for your interest. All of us would be learning together.
Hope to hear more responses from others!
1st Challenge:
Set up a company needed lots of capital
Solving:
My brother works in the Bank, so no problem for me to get a large sum of Money
I don?t think this is a solution. Do you mean that he can help us get the loan? By the way, maybe we can gather that capital from Recoms who would like to take part in it (of course make it under 20 people). Dividing the capital among many will help to make a stronger and a more united team as it will be owned by all. Furthermore I think many of Recoms have some savings for a plan like this 8)
3rd Challenge:
Set up a network for the sponsorship(Government and Colleges and etc..)
Sloving:
We have many members from many colleges and they are the top students from that colleges... I'm pretty sure they would like to make thier college to be well known as well by promoting in our Magazine through their Alumi or Ex-Students from the particular colleges or University...
This will depend on which group of student/readers we are targeting and the content. We may promote this through the college/university student board too.
4th Challenge:
Set up a promotion campaign in colleges and schools
Sloving:
As i said, many tops students would do some motivation speeches or organizing some tours in colleges or schools... Through that, we able to spread out and reach out to many students by ourselves, the very members of Recom...
I am not so clear about the tour that you stated above but how about an online essay competition / some tour? I mean at least this will attract the attention of more students and most of the members here are studying overseas now.
Overall this is a fantastic idea that I have in my mind before but was wondering that it will be hard to be done as I am in Japan now. If we have enough members in Malaysia and all over the world, I think it has a good chance to survive.
Well, count me in ;) Although I am not good in writing, but well, I am sure I can help in other matters.
03-12-2003, 02:29 PM
the post above was posted by me.Sorry :oops:
silverblue
03-12-2003, 03:03 PM
Sounds like you are gathering a load-full of supporters, 1st Spirit... Glad that you shared this idea with us! :)
I just need a few clarifications from you:
What is the main purpose of this magazine? What is it's visions or focus?
Is this magazine going to be something like a Recom project? If so, will it be in line with Recom's visions or is this going to be something different?
THanks!
03-12-2003, 03:08 PM
somehow the magazine project is profit oriented. that's why I think ReCom have to be semi profit or profit to carry out big project like what dennis has mentioned..
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 03:17 PM
My Idea,
I'm glad that so many people interested in it and giving me supports...
The visions of the magazine is to open the sight of Malaysia students and link them togather under one roof just like the Recom vision...
It contribute a more solid state for students who able to read, for library to keep and for collection usage...
It'll be a very technical yet undertandable magazine for the high school level students. They would able to learn about for example, Molecular simulation, study Teachnque, Question of Study aboard, Scholarship information, Student's forum, words for editor, entertainment(Chess Competition by The Magazine and coorganize by Malaysia chess society) and TextBook Sellling and etc...
There are so many things inside... But the most important thing is, it's the magazine for Students for educatoin usage, and for Colleges to promote their colleges, or even .com company as well...
At the same time we would able to create a reading enviroment in Malaysia...
Try to imagine that every student is reading the magazine and they learn many things in it, directly and indirectly we are helping our society to produce more intelacts and a more educated members of society...
There are more to go....... to be continue...
silverblue
03-12-2003, 03:29 PM
I think this is a good idea...
but somehow, I don't think that the main focus should be on profits. That is why I don't really fancy the word 'profit-oriented'....
i agree that we may get funding from magazine sales, but money will also come from advertisements as mentioned, I suppose? So if money was our main orientation, then this would be another one of those magazines where half of its contents are ads... we certainly don't want this to happen, do we? Also, even if we were to sell these magazines, we would surely charge something reasonably low, so that it would be available for the rich and poor on an equal basis, right? And I would think that we will be making just enough to cover our costs and have a little extra to support Recom.org's activities, etc..
actually, when u say profit-based, what do you really mean? does this include like really making money for our own use, like profit-sharing kinda thing??
03-12-2003, 03:34 PM
Personally I don't see it's wrong if we make money by selling a product. it's nothing wrong.
the price of the product should be determined by the members in charge of marketing survey.
as I say, money is a good tool and it enables an organisation to go a longer way.
and generating profit is what lures investor into ReCom...
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 03:37 PM
To SilverBlue,
My major concern is not making 'MONEY', but to carry on my dearm into reality...
If you would take a good look at students in Malaysia, there are so many of them still don't appreciate what Education means to them and there are so many people looking forwards to study aboards.... I just hope that this magazine would bring more than a Magazine itself but a guidline and opputunity to open up thier sight to what's going on in the world...
But for the profit, it would be contribut the other development like salary and wages ultimately becoming a Foundation that would provide more Scholarship opputunity to those poor ans intellegent students to carry on their dream for higher education...
03-12-2003, 03:39 PM
I agree. I have read that many successful business have a noble mission as a starting point...
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 03:39 PM
To IQing,
Money is a very good insentive for everyone of us and we would not reject to get paid to write right?
If the magazine would be generating money and profit, I don't mind to distrubute those money to our very own members of Recoms for their contribution of writing and supply ideas...
It keeps their work in proffesional and people would be more willing to continue to produce more quality writting and pictures
03-12-2003, 04:07 PM
I think maybe we could start this from an online Newsletter or make it a section of Recom.
As for the start, we may need a clear image on how and what is the main content the magazine will be. Furthermore, I think getting start online and changing into paper magazine after we get a certain level of readers will be better - which means Recom can be the forum or base where the readers visit but the online magazine will be moved into paper magazine partly/fully.
I can?t deny that money does get people to work for you but I always think that money kills the passion one has if they start with the money as one of their starting point.
03-12-2003, 04:15 PM
online newslatter. That's a good idea. We could start off on the net before actually going off to the real world.
we could generate income from ads and sponsorship :).
silverblue
03-12-2003, 04:28 PM
I can?t deny that money does get people to work for you but I always think that money kills the passion one has if they start with the money as one of their starting point.
Dear IQing and 1st Spirit,
I guess what I was trying to say was somewhat along the lines of what Schye expressed above. IQing's emphasis on doing something profit-based just gave me the impression that money making was one of the more important aspects in this magazine idea, which I didn't really fancy. I thought that the profit aspect should be secondary if this were truly for a noble purpose. What I had in mind was that this would be something like a part-time interest for the writers but not like a part-time-job source of income.
Nevertheless, I would like to sincerely apologize if I'd misintepreted any of your posts ... If the main purpose of the magazine is truly (like what 1st spirit said) about educating and giving insight to the youth population in Malaysia, then I am giving my full 110% support without a doubt. In fact, I already agreed that this is a wonderful idea!
On a side note, if part of the proceeds earned from this magazine can go into something like a Recom Scholarship Fund, all the better! This is something that I had also envisioned Recom doing in the future - to help sponsor bright but financially poor people to further their studies. Good thinking there! :)
silverblue
03-12-2003, 04:38 PM
Also, I hope you don't get me wrong as if I am totally against making any profits or money... or getting funding or sponsorship in Recom..
In fact, one of our main agendas for the General Board Meeting in December would be to discuss sources for funding and sponsorship... who's going to do it, our means of getting it, who to approach and etc. We would probably come up with a Funding Director position (someone who carry our fund-raising activities) aside from a Treasurer (someone who knows accounting and manages Recom's finances in the future). So, we will definitely incorporate this magazine or newsletter idea as one of the possible sources.
Just want you guys to know that it's good that you guys are thinking so far ahead... but I just hope that nobody would take any criticism or disagreement on any matter as something unpleasant or something that will impeed your dreams or raise any ill feelings among members... We are here to support each other, give feedback (be it praises or constructive criticism) and achieve dreams together... and I believe everyone has their own noble reason! :)
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 08:59 PM
Dream becomes plans and plans become reality
1st_Spirit
03-12-2003, 11:44 PM
Let me review, recap and redefine the word profitability
Profit to me is the means of upkeeping the Magazine, it's very important to have some profit or little profit to keep our magazine survive in terms of cover up the cost of printing, copyright, insentive, prizes and etc. it's profit will go into the Magazine account and it's not going into anyone's personal saving account...
Wages and salaries have to pay for those full time workers if anyone interested, it's just a like a company set up system...
To organize a company is much more complicated and invlove more management skills and complex relationship...
For me, if anything that goes with Money base or anything that concerns about money, it'll make things chaostic...
A non-profit organizatoin keep everyone in bond base on Interest,
A profit-Oriental organization keep everyone in work base on Money,
I hope that we do not go into the direction where misleading people about our Vision and our ultimate goal...
To SilverBlue,
I would understand your worry as it is what I worry about... Fund raising and accounting management is essential...
I've long prepared myself into Journalism, this project has a humble start and I'm not sure how big it's going to be in coming future and how much impact it does to the society, it's still be question for answer...
I would like to thanks for SilverBlue for contributing your Ideas and advises and suggestions, I know that it's still be a long way to go, the journey is rough, taugh and challenging, obstecles aheads and burden behind... it the journey that everyone would suffer and sarcifice their time, energy and 'MONEY' so it would be accomplished...
Let's this be a fellowship, friendship and hardship in our memory, resume and stories of our life for us to keep, cheerish and appreciate...
Thanks Everyone!!!
silverblue
04-12-2003, 01:02 AM
Let me review, recap and redefine the word profitability
Profit to me is the means of upkeeping the Magazine, it's very important to have some profit or little profit to keep our magazine survive in terms of cover up the cost of printing, copyright, insentive, prizes and etc. it's profit will go into the Magazine account and it's not going into anyone's personal saving account...
Thank you for clarifying my previous questions about this! :)
tazzy
04-12-2003, 03:23 PM
hey people! budakkerek here..dunno why but can't log in..hv been trying for so many times...
anyway, i think 1st_spirit's idea is cool..i used to be involved in the production of the newsletter of my school's English Motivational Committe (EMC),a special committee which promotes English among students. Taufiq, ingat tak? And in college i've been doing a bit of work for the college's newsletter..you know, interviewing, writing etc.
So, if you need any help, lemme know..i love writing..and if this is really gonna be a reality, well..this is my contribution towards the growth and proesperity of recom..hehe...
P/S: sorry people..dunno why my english is a bit tunggang terbalik..maybe too much kuih raya kot..hmm :roll:
1st_Spirit
05-12-2003, 10:06 AM
Dear Recoms,
For those who would like to write,for those who would like to contribute themselves to recom and for those who would like to get involved in the project it is time for us to plan and set up a organization chart for this project...
I would start with the online newslatter setting, and we shall see how it works for a period of time before we really go deep into the tengible magazine...
Here I would like to people who volunteer to be working in these following positions:
Project Manager (2) *included vise project Manager
Editor (1) *Very Important Possition
Assistant Editor (3) *current Issue(1), Academic Dicussion (1), General (1)
Full time writer (5) *Whom are able to contribute articles constantly
Part-time writer (Unlimited)
*Note: Everyone and anyone can nominate or be volunteer in one of those positions listed above
To keep this as proffesional as possible I would require everyone write a resume for themsleves in terms of their responsibility, capability and short history about his or her acheivement to support and convinced us that you're suitable for the position you've chosen...
Happy Trying :)
silverblue
05-12-2003, 10:12 AM
Dear 1st spirit,
I hope you can extend your position application deadlines to after christmas... because many people have their finals now and it's going to be a crazy month! ;) I am sure many people are interested but may not find the time to respond to you yet... so hope that you can wait for us! :)
05-12-2003, 10:15 AM
yeah, silverblue is right. I'm interested too but for the time being, my hands are full until new year eve.
1st_Spirit
05-12-2003, 10:15 AM
Ya, I think I forgot the dealine also... :oops:
I'm having my final exam too, which is tomorrow!!! 8O
But I don't think it'll be so bad if I just don't study for one day...
The deadline falls on 1st of January
Happy Trying :)
05-12-2003, 04:59 PM
Pardon me if I sound a little left being but I am interested in your idea.
However, the description that you gave about the mag does not explain a bit about what the mag is all about.
Could you explain in general term what the mag main content and its focus will be?
1st_Spirit
06-12-2003, 03:41 AM
To Earth, I'm sorry for the confusion...
I would like to applogize here for my very brief and short JOB description as I was studying for my Final exam which fall on today... I just finished it and I was doing good anyway...
I was trying to set up an organization structure for the Online Newsletter and which I would like any volunteer to apply for the position listed in the msg I posted up
Position Decription:
Project Manager:
Set up an organzation chart, functions and managements for this specific project...
Editor:
In charge in final editing and set up the format of the Magazine
Sub Editorial Broad/Assistant Editor:
Issues: Collecting, catogoring and evaluating the articles about Current Issues...
Academic: All issues about students for example school's life, activities, SPM, PMR and Scholarship and etc...
General: Other than current issues and student's concern...
Fulltime writer/jounalist:
Constanly contributing articles and so on and so forth, have his or her own column/section/etc.
Partime writer/journalist:
Contributing atricles, comments and sharing at times....
I hope everyone clear about this... If anyone would like to add on any position or any more suggestion... You're welcome and please keep firing me question so I would know what's lacking and what's the weakness...
Thanks for Reading :D
06-12-2003, 03:46 AM
Issues: Collecting, catogoring and evaluating the articles about Current Issues...
Academic: All issues about students for example school's life, activities, SPM, PMR and Scholarship and etc...
General: Other than current issues and student's concern...
so this is the scope of the magazine? It will focus on helping students in high school by providing study tips for exams, etc,... and also expose them to more general issues in the world today. Right?
1st_Spirit
06-12-2003, 03:49 AM
That's all the scopes I can think of so far...
I think we need some brainstroming about this topics...
So guys any suggestion what are we going to put into this magazine?
It's time for us to be creative, special and standing out 8)
silverblue
06-12-2003, 04:12 AM
Can we actually not make the scope be for mainly high school students but also University and college students like ourselves? I think it'd be more appropriate from Recom's perspective... waddaya think? :)
06-12-2003, 04:18 AM
i think that maybe we should focus on high school kids as I don't think we are qualified to give advice and the such to uni and college kids.
But this could be my perspective and maybe you're talking about somethign else.
silverblue
06-12-2003, 04:22 AM
I don't mean to say give advice to uni or college students... but it could be more of a newsletter with articles that may also interest uni or college students.... u know... like mebbe some research stuff, or other stuff happening in our university blah blah... get what i mean?
06-12-2003, 04:26 AM
okay...that makes sense,
so all aspects other than the academic part should be wider in scope to cater for uni and college kids
06-12-2003, 04:38 AM
Yeah, I agree that the magazine should suit the age group, say from high school to college/university students!
15-12-2003, 01:09 PM
where should the resume go to?
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 01:16 PM
Just Paste it in this Forum and every Recoms member is the Judge
Happy Trying
Thanks for response, it's a good question
15-12-2003, 01:17 PM
err... i dont think that will do. :(
but then, maybe its the easiest way.
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 01:25 PM
To __Earth and to every recoms,
I think it'll be difficult if you were to ask to send to a particular people who to evaluate your resume, and I think that I couldn't do a good job in it and I believe a collective feedback will be a better solution for this :)
Any suggestion :)
15-12-2003, 01:30 PM
well, could you give out a format of what you like to see?
like name, occupation, etc.
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 01:33 PM
You would write about yourself, abour why you would like to pick the Job position as mentioned in the previous posts...
Just like the other resume, formal and well organized
Your Name,
Your Add, and etc....
I would try to come out a sample on this coming saturday cos I still got 2 more exams to go... or anyone would like to post up some sample? I would be very much appreciate :)
24-12-2003, 04:21 AM
so, does anybody interested in this? i am seeing a diminishing support. :(
1st_Spirit
24-12-2003, 04:26 AM
I think most of the people now is on the AIR!!
They are going back to Malaysia now
But I'm glad that Earth is supporting this and Master_of_None as well
I'll come out a Sample Resume for applying the position, but i'm kinda busy right now
Probably, tomorrow
We need your support :)
sueyi
24-12-2003, 06:44 AM
Hi .. I just came across this thread. Just wanted to say something about ads, I think is ok to have a publication with many number of ads, as long as the ads are relevant. Maybe I am unusual but when I read magazines often the ads interest me too ... e.g. when reading CLEO I actually like to look at the makeup ads ..
Anyway ads also represent opportunity and information for the students who read the magazine. I think it would be relevant to have ads from colleges to let students know about their programs (they probably wouldn't mind paying for this), and especially relevant would be scholarship advertisements -- if companies/schools offering these scholarships do not want to pay for space to advertise in the magazine, we could still send them a letter offering to publish advertisement of their scholarship for free. When just finished form 5 I had very little knowledge about the scholarships out there, so I think this is useful. For example in 2000 Wellesley College (I think? not sure about spelling) in US was offering 2 full-tuition scholarships to students from south east asia, and I did not know about this until application was over.
I think this publication is a good idea .. I support you guys!
wesleyanne
24-12-2003, 08:07 AM
hi 1st spirit!
your idea sounds great :) looks like there's tons of support too! :) im not that great in writing but i'd love to help!
keep us updated! :)
24-12-2003, 10:40 PM
1st spirit, looking forward to apply as a part-time writer for you... Very supportive of your project, but don't think I have the ability to write full-time, so guess that's my best optiion!!!
Ishveir
25-12-2003, 04:12 PM
Just wanted to say that yeah I would be more than happy to pour feelings into words and ideas into comprehensive paragraphs.
and my specific interest is in comments and personal ramblings if the TEAM working on this project has decided to have a part of this in the Mag, count me ever ready to ink my stuff on that page.
Yeah spirit let me know in particular of what you think
thanks!
25-12-2003, 05:50 PM
Thanks 1st_Spirit on the idea about the magazine.
I think a lot of people are interested in helping, it's just that they don't know what to do now, since we don't have a clear idea how we should go about this.
But before we go produce the magazine, I think we have to have some kind of experience on this. I would suggest that we can provide monthly newsletter. We could start covering on students life, such as study, friends, place to travel, cooking, etc. And, we can advertise/promote our magazine to all Malaysians.
I would suggest that whoever interested in the magazine/newsletter project, you can directly contact 1st_spirit (or me) , and you can just say:
"I'm interested, How can I help?"
Having resume in the .pdf format would be a plus ;-)
because, I think, this project should be fun and beneficial.
And, we really need people helping around here are having fun ! (right Anchors? ;-) )
26-12-2003, 08:14 AM
well, how about listing the name of whom interested first, here? resume could come later. we should get the ball rolling.
i would love for the full time writer job.
1st_Spirit
03-01-2004, 03:10 AM
Dear Recoms,
On the snow Mount. a drop of tear who cry for his nation, who cry for the falling and corruption of his generation, a tear who his heart is pain and twisted in worry about his Generation.
A ball, a snow ball is rolling down to fromt he mount. , all the way that the ball gets bigger and bigger, and more tears are cried out and more people now and more people it gets to know. Let it be the ball that bring the fire of Revolution, let the ball be the light for this generation, let the ball be shout out loud like a thunder in the desert that waken out our generation that having it's long night mare.
For people in Malaysia will be glad for your helps, for our young generation will be appreciate for what you've done in the forum, for the magazine would bring changes, for this magazine will be the a new life for our young generation. Not the amine nor video game to spoil your mind, not the money and the knowledge to make you lost yourself into the sea of materalism. Not the Disco or Bar or the Alcohols controlling your life. Not the one night stand culture to encourage the Abortion in Malaysia.
For Recoms, there are many things you could have help out!!
Please take a 5 minits of meditation to think about what is going on with this generation, what have been done, why there are many and more abortion happened? Why the rape cases is increasing? Why and why? The right education has to be introduced, and YOU"RE THE RIGHT PERSON and YOU ARE THE PERSON who can change all of this...
No matter how tough and how far, we are walking in the rain togather.
Best Wishes to all the youth in Malaysia
03-01-2004, 06:06 AM
Just to say that any technical discussion concerning the project will be posted in the "Malaysian Students' Magazine Project" thread.
03-01-2004, 11:54 AM
You can join the thread by joining the Magazine's team by emailing your username and saying this phrase:
"Hi! I'm interested in joining the Magazine's team! "
to creative_recom@<hidden>
or you can post it here.
we currently have 6 people in the Team :
1st_Spirit,__earth,Ishveir, budakkerek,jiahui, and me.
We want to hear more from others.!
1st_Spirit
06-01-2004, 04:28 AM
Dear Recoms,
It's time ya for you to show us how GOOD you are :)
Brainstroming and come out some topics they would impress us. For your essay will be published and made "COPYRIGHT"(in future). Hope you could spend your precious time to contribute not only for us but for the benefits of all students in Malaysia will reading your articles :)
Hope to hear from you guys soon...
Cirnelle
06-01-2004, 03:35 PM
just came across this thread and i think this is a really brilliant idea!! i myself have been looking fo such mags since graduated. i support this project wholeheartedly and is most willing to contribute.
a few questions crossed my mind while reading the threads,
1. the project u guys r currently working on is a online newsletter rite? is it a different project from the printed mag 1st_spirit mentioned earlier? or two projects are ongoin simultaneously?
2. err, pardon me for my ignorance. is this mag the same one as ReMag?
3.Also I would like to have ppl who can write in Chinese, Malays and English of course so every students have the chance to read the magazine and it able to reach out to more ppl...
is this a multi-languaged mag? or it's just a seperate column in the same mag?
[/b]
Cirnelle
06-01-2004, 03:40 PM
i am not a good writer but i woud like to be a part-time writer for this project. maybe some tips on studying in germany or updates from europe,
eg, worldcup 2006! 8)
06-01-2004, 03:46 PM
Cirnelle, thanks for your support. To join, simply send an email to creative_recom@<hidden> and mention your username. Then, go to the updates there, there is a specific internal forum for those who are interested in working on it.
Both the printed and online magazine is the same project. In the initial stage, we will produce it as an online magazine and we will gauge the response, before producing a printed copy. In fact, the online copy will be printer-friendly, so those who would like to have a paper copy could print it as well. Yeah, ReMag is the name that we are toying with. All refer to the same thing.
I believe that the magazine would accept contribution in various languages. Cirnelle, your idea is good! We will all learn together and the writing itself will help everyone of us a lot. Cirnelle, message or email 1st_spirit, he is the main in-charge of this ReMag!
08-01-2004, 11:42 PM
Currently, we have 15 people who have shown interest.
masterofnone, 1stspirit, ishveir, royston, jiahi, _earth, wesleyanne, dinna_g, chenchow ( I believe these 9 ppl have access to this project's forum)
Others who have shown interest as of now include:
schye, silverblue, budakkerek, littlebigone, sueyi, cirnelle
Masterofnone, I got these 6 names based on their writing in this forum, stating their interest, so may be you can allow their access to the project's forum.
Anyone else who wants to write or help in any aspect, please shout it here, or better still email creative_recom@<hidden> . masterofnone would put your name in the project forum. To those who have been granted access, you can assess the forum at:-
http://www2.recom.org:8000/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=25forum
Topdog, you should volunteer, you are a fantastic writer! How about others?
Currently, we have 4 volunteers who have identified what they are going to write for the first issue:-
dinna_g (Last Minute Study Tips)
_earth (American Recycling Culture)
royston (Traveling Experience)
chenchow (Scholarship Interview Skills - Summary from forum discussion)
Tentatively, I would suggest that the deadline for submission of article is 25th Jan. First issue is going to be out on 1st of Feb.
Some of the articles could come from summarizing the forum discussion. We could cite the various writers on their comments and summarize those into articles. So, those discussions wouldn't go to waste!
Hope this will spur a bit of the interest!
09-01-2004, 01:53 AM
schye, silverblue, budakkerek, littlebigone, sueyi, Cirnelle
Except budakkerek and cirnelle, I've updated the permission to access the forum for everyone above. To budakkerek and Cirnelle, Please give us some time to fix this forum problem. Not entirely sure what's wrong.
But, you can always email suggestions and comments here at this forum and also email creative_recom@<hidden>
Thanks for your interest in developing ReMag. Hope this is is going to be the first truly Malaysian Students Magazine on the planet. *The original*
Hey guys (and girls),
I want to throw this out there for everyone to ponder upon...
Why are we avoiding those "sensitive" issues?
Because we're brought up and *educated* to think that way?
Because we have *responsibilities* towards our sponsors?
Because we think it's best to leave those "hairy" discussions to people who *wants us to think for ourselves*?
Because we're not well versed in the issues?
From the economical point of view, the idea of avoiding those "sensitive" issues makes perfect sense. Why risk losing possible sponsorship? The bottomline of the magazine is to make a profit, right?
peace.
laplace
09-01-2004, 09:18 PM
Hi z,
Well, for me, I will also try to prevent discussing about "sensitive" issues. Why? This forum consists of different social layer/race/behavior members. No one will know when will those words or statements become an offence to others.
No doubt, we do believe that everyone of us are completely matured and well educated but somehow, human is still human. We have different mood and emotion from time to time.
We may discuss about current issues but try to avoid our threads lead to sensitive area. Recom is a family of us, and to have a peaceful atmosphere here, we should respect each other. Words and alphabet cannot help to deliver the actual message/expression to the listening parties, this is one of the disadvantages of forums. Even if we talk face to face with others on sensitive issues, some of them might receive some negative "alert", so this is what we don't wish to happen.
I believe most of us are mature and we should know how to use our speaking rights wisely, agree?
These are all my personal opinion and it might not be the same with others, hopefully I can be forgiven if I said something wrong.
Thanks,
laplace..
10-01-2004, 01:47 AM
Z,
if you want to know why we are manuerving over some of the sensitive issue, check out some of the older thread. You can easily find tons of fiery remarks.
By far, I dare say a lot of us are not afraid to take a jump into such issues. It's just that the nature of the newsletter we are trying to produce does not touch sensitive issues often.
1st_Spirit
10-01-2004, 02:48 AM
Sensitivity Issues,
It is my great concern as well,
Well, we stand on the World Arena now do you reliazed that? We stand on the E-PlatForm and I believe currently Malaysia still does not have any Legal Act towards bringing up sensitive Issue on the Internet YET...
I would agree not to bring up any "Religous", "Racism","Political Stands", "Public Critisism towards an Individual" and etc, should not bring it out to our forum. It is not morale and show not respect towards the effort of our Government. We have acheived a Harmony and Commenwelth Society among races, which it is very very RARE among other countries. We must appreciate and must not trying to stir our very deep Ego and emotions in public or in any kind of Forum...
For all the cooperation I would like to thanks you guys in advance at the same time I would like to say sorry if I were to offence someone in Recom....
Thanks and Sorry
exactly.
because we're a family, shouldn't we be more receptive and open to discussions about issues that affects everyone?
obviously, personal attacks are a big no-no. i think we shouldn't aim to avoid those pertinent issues, but discuss them in a civilized manner instead.
10-01-2004, 04:07 PM
z, you are in the wrong thread. This is supposed for ReMag discussion only.
try other relevant threads.
i didn't begin the thread on "sensitive" issues, i'm merely joining the discussion.
and i don't think it's irrelevant because this matter fundamentally affects the direction of ReMag.
and before i get shot down for making "troll" comments, i'll just shoot myself for not sharing the vision of ReMag (whatever that is).
one more thing, unless ReMag can find its niche, there's no point in replicating what's already available out there.
peace ^_^
10-01-2004, 04:58 PM
There's no success if we are afraid to try ;)
sanghanuman
11-01-2004, 04:35 AM
I think this is a great idea. Please count me in. I'll contribute what I can. Pardon me if I'm mistaken but I think I read that some of you guys were thinking of meeting to discuss this project. Care to share the discussions? Any updates? :idea:
11-01-2004, 06:21 AM
Still confused - this mag is printed right? Would like to write, but maybe is future issues. There's so much to write about :)
As to Z - yes, in our Asian point of view of the world - Honor, Tolerance and Community mandates that sensitive issues be given lower priority. However, the line between "sensitive" and "ok" is nebulous as always, and it is the people in the community who will draw that line. It is no good practising freedom of speech in a way that will hurt one another, shatter the community and achieve nothing productive in the end.
But, as an interesting exercise, why don't you try writing something you want to write for the magazine, and ignore whatever mandate the rest has given on the nature of the magazine. Let's see if the "self-censoring" power as well as the "brainwash" that most of us have went through in our education system can pull back your carriage :wink:
20-04-2007, 11:53 AM
hey is tis magazine commitee still working on???
sound interesting - if it is still on, I think many will be interested to join ~
we r students so we noe wat students want... this is a great advantage ...em huh,,, b4 tat.. is this still running?