View Full Version : Dan Brown's Books
lkh1986
12-03-2005, 11:25 AM
Yeah, I have read all 4 books by Brown. I have to say that they are 4 of the greatest books I have ever read.
I like "Deception Point" the best, coz of its suspense. I think there is suspense in the end of every little single chapter.
Then, comes to "The Da Vinci Code" and "Angels and Demons". Both of the books talk about religious symbol, adventures and mystery solving.
Last but not least, "Digital Fortress". However, it is less interesting compared to the former three books.
One thing I notice about the 4 novels is that the time setting for all of them is very short, only 10-12 hours. Besides, Brown adds lots of interesting info into those books.
Looking forward to reading his 5th books.
For those of you who want to read the excerps of the novels, you can go to www.danbrown.com. I think that you will be very eager want to read more after just reading the first few chapters.
What do you think of these 4 books? Share your opinion and thought here. :D
flibbertigibbet
12-03-2005, 11:38 AM
Well, I have only read 3 of Dan Brown's book. I'm still searching for his Digital Fortress which is not available in the library in my vicinity.
I like his Da Vinci Code best, followed by Angels and Demons and Deception Point.
I don't know why but I really find Deception Point boring. There is not much suspense actually. But lkh1986 seems to like it best.
I like Angels and Demons especially when Dan Brown compare the science and religion. It's really thought-provoking.
Hope that I can find Digital Fortress before school begins then. It is a book with many more codes to break right? Mysterious indeed.
12-03-2005, 03:10 PM
just finished reading Deception Point yesterday... i think for most part of the book, it was kinda good... but at the last part... it just kinda rushed... the plot wasn't fully developed (that's what i think about it)
Da Vinci's code is still on the top of my list, followed by Angels and Demons... Digital Fortress only has 1 code to break... it is a good read... not as good as DVC and A & D...
Deception Point is also as good as Digital Fortress...
but, after reading all four books, i think that his books are pretty predictable...(although they shldn't be)...
nicodemus
18-03-2005, 11:53 PM
Well.....i finished three of Dan Brown's book.
I like Angels and Demons the best. I think the plot is well woven...and the suspense....was thrilling. :D
Da Vinci Code was nice too....and have more codes to decipher rather than A&D but i think the ambigrams just me more facinated in it. :P
Digital Fortress is not bad......good plot, but rather boring as it only focuses on one code.. rather than lots of them in the previous 2 books.
Overall, i think Dan Brown's book is great and strongly recommended ...... :D
lolilo
24-03-2005, 11:39 AM
you made a wise choice to read only 3.Try the deception Point and tell me what you think...... :D Good luck
24-03-2005, 12:24 PM
i have to say the story plot is pretty much predictable. someone will die at the prologue and trying to leave some clue before he died. some professor will be called upon to solve the puzzle and there will always be a beautiful and intelligent woman to be with the professor. then there will be some actions and the woman will fall in love with the professor. the villain will always be the one that appear from the beginning of the story. sounds familiar huh?
besides the predictable story plot, his novels are well written with lotsa interesting informations. i personally like The Da Vinci Code the best. The golden ratio (1.61 something) seems fascinating. Deception Point is quite interesting given the political story involved.
most likely his new book is gonna have the same story plot. let's hope not.
nicodemus
24-03-2005, 02:03 PM
you made a wise choice to read only 3.Try the deception Point and tell me what you think...... :D Good luck
Huh? Why say i made a wise choice? :?
lolilo
24-03-2005, 02:09 PM
just do what i tell you: read deception point ( the one you left out)
nicodemus
30-03-2005, 11:48 PM
oh.....i read deception point already.
very boring book tough......not like dan brown's works...
the storyline is very long......hush..!!! :?
the previous three that i read are strill the best!!
31-03-2005, 12:22 AM
I'm reading Da Vinci's Code....out of curiosity..and I'm addicted to it! I even slept at almost 6am reading that book....read until my eyes become read...lol....It's my 3rd or 4th day of reading though...approaching the end already....few chapters left.
I tried to predict the story everytime I read it...lol.
Anyway, what version do you guys read? The ebook version or the paperback? Just wonder, how much are those books selling in Malaysia? Wanna compare the prices here...
31-03-2005, 04:25 AM
I'm reading Da Vinci's Code....out of curiosity..and I'm addicted to it! I even slept at almost 6am reading that book....read until my eyes become read...lol....It's my 3rd or 4th day of reading though...approaching the end already....few chapters left.
I tried to predict the story everytime I read it...lol.
Anyway, what version do you guys read? The ebook version or the paperback? Just wonder, how much are those books selling in Malaysia? Wanna compare the prices here...
well... i think,without any promotion or wat, a paperback still fetch a price of RM31.99 to RM39.99...
bought the books here thru Amazon at USD 3.99 (during some sale) and USD 7.19 for the normal 10% off deals though...
31-03-2005, 04:58 AM
It's about 7-8pounds here.....sometimes with promotional offer like 3 for the price of 2. :?
Michelle_london
02-04-2005, 08:05 AM
Hmm, I really don't get what all the hype about the Da Vincci Code - I suppose since it is based on the Holy Grail and Brown suggests he knows what it is and where it is situated. Anyway, I do admire his knowledge but sometimes it seems that he is trying to force all this knowledge down our throats just to make us think that he put extra effort into his books (especially in Deception Point - half the time I couldn't remember what the stupid PODS were!)
I'd rate the four books like this:
1. Angels and Demons - Immense detail and the plot was really orginal seeing as the Illuminati do actually exist. Robert Langdon - woohoo!
2. Da Vincci Code- It just seemed too structured and typical.
3. Deception Point - Really gripping but also another alien hoax type thriller.
4. Digital Fortress - Dan Brown must have written this last because it lacked the suspense and originality Angels and Da Vincci Code had.
lolilo
03-04-2005, 08:31 AM
oh.....i read deception point already.
very boring book tough......not like dan brown's works...
the storyline is very long......hush..!!! :?
the previous three that i read are strill the best!!
bravo!!you completed!!!
now you know what i am talking about...hehehe...
nicodemus
03-04-2005, 01:26 PM
ha ha..... :?
impian
14-04-2005, 02:10 PM
I'd rate the four books like this:
1. Angels and Demons - Immense detail and the plot was really orginal seeing as the Illuminati do actually exist. Robert Langdon - woohoo!
2. Da Vincci Code- It just seemed too structured and typical.
3. Deception Point - Really gripping but also another alien hoax type thriller.
4. Digital Fortress - Dan Brown must have written this last because it lacked the suspense and originality Angels and Da Vincci Code had.
I agree with Michelle. Angels and Demons is so much better than Da Vincci Code. In my opinion, DVC is slow and predictable. Since I read A&D first, DVC was a disappointment.
lkh1986
14-04-2005, 02:13 PM
Regarding the code given by the author in the backcover in "Digital Fortress", does anyone know how to solve the code?
For me ,after I read Da Vinci Code, the plots have been similarely predictable..However, I liked Angels and Demons the most, but after reading two Dan Brown books, I had lost my interest on his other two books, though pacted with huge amount of knowledge and information, his novel's plot seems to be boring as there are alot similarities.One of the good guy is the real bad guy,somethings like that.In angel&demons, I could guess that the cardinal's son is the real-bad guy at the middle(or near begining) of the story,just like the Da Vinci Code.Comeon Dan Brown, stop using the same tactics again and again....So if you want to read Dan Brown's book, I recommend reading A&D,then switch to others author,or else you'll feel like you had read it before.
rockjianrock
11-05-2005, 08:19 PM
Can anybody compare Dan Brown's books with other books in the similar vein? or is Dan Brown writing a completely new subgenre which explains the sudden popularity?
Moozy
07-06-2005, 01:29 PM
Only read Da Vinci Code. Already liking Brown's style because he doesn't use foul languages and uses beautiful words in his work. This is rare in books from Steven King and John Grisham. Makes me cringe everytime there's a foul word.
xiaohu
22-06-2005, 04:46 AM
Have read all but Deception Point. It's been highly interesting, reading Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code because I'm completing A Levels in History of Art and Theology. I'm very familiar with most of the art covered in these two books, and I simply have to say that Brown's descriptions of the paintings etc simply dont do them justice. Try and find copies of the art and compare with his descriptions. Sure his books make incredibly exciting reads, but most of the time he just pushes his miniscule ideas waaaay too far. For example, Brown gets all excited with the fact that "John" in Da Vinci's Last Supper has long red hair and looks really like a girl. Go take a look yourself: the fresco painting has deteriorated to a point that the faces and figures are blurred beyond proper recognition. Traditionally, John the Evangelist has always been portrayed very young (go see the Last Supper frescoes of Castagno and Ghirlandaio, both from Renaissance images like that of Da Vinci) The theory of Mary Magdalene being nobility and turned into a prostitute by the Church, as well as the belief that their blood still survives is hardly what you might call newsflashes. All the same, Brown does write in a highly charged and compelling manner; he's just terribly good at gathering miscellaneous facts and theories and presents them very realistically and persuasively. Take it all with a large tablespoon-full of salt. In fact, all the better if you go off and do your own research.
adnani_2604
26-07-2005, 03:55 AM
first of all, I didnt read Brown's work when it was soo popular not long ago. its because i think its going to cloud my judgement on the book. so, i started reading the first book, A&D before DVC. i have to say, A&D is way much better than DVC. my paperback A&D was a hard-to-put-down book i've ever read! it was so interesting and full of suspense. by the time i read DVC, i was pretty dissappointed. the only thing that helped me get through the whole book is that I bought the illustrated version. i realy helped clarify some artsy stuff i cant remember/imagine on my own. but i didnt say that its not good, its just that its not as good as A&D.
i plan to move to Deception point any time soon. i know its a total opposite of A&D and DVC. A&D and DVC is all about history and theology stuff, but DP and Digital Fortress is more towards tech geek stuff. it seems like many people are pretty dissapointed with the second series. i have read it yet, but when i'm done, i'll let know my opinion.
overall, reading DVC with the illustrated version really helps to understand the story better, but so far, A&D is the best. I dont know if Tom Hanks is going to be a good Robert Langdon or not, but I'm really looking forward to the movie.
26-07-2005, 08:26 AM
i think his books are relatively good read... and i think the first read of any of the four (DVC, A&D, Deception Point & Digital Fortress), again, i think, will let u have a really deep impression...
maybe one can say DVC is overrated... but no doubt it is a good read. I've read all four books, and i think after the first(my first was DVC) and the second (Digital Fortress), u can somehow guess what's going to happen next, and easily tell who's the bad and who's the good...
his writing style... his suspense are pretty similar... so, it is really easy to guess and predict how the plots go...
and here's my say about all 4 books:
i think A&D and DVC are comparable...
Deception Point has some good simple politics stuffs...
Digital Fortress has the geeky stuffs and some jargons... and there's a code for the readers to crack at the very last page... give it a try...
lowch1
30-07-2005, 06:39 PM
Although it's the DVC that made him famous (becaue of the conspiracy lo..), I think Angels and Demons actually is better.
lowch1
Although it's the DVC that made him famous (becaue of the conspiracy lo..), I think Angels and Demons actually is better.
lowch1
MothBall
26-01-2006, 09:32 PM
I've only read DVC and A&D. and I think both books are very good plot-wise. Dan Brown is a brilliant story teller, he knows how to create twists and all kinds of misleads, and his puzzle-solving stuff are intriguing. But the brilliance of Dan Brown mainly lies in his ability to grasp what readers like - conspiracies - and develop stories packed with those.
p/s: I'm fascinated with A&D coz of the ambigrams, and the Camerlengo's (hope i spelled it right..) marvellous heart moving speeches. To tell u the truth, I'm not very impressed with the romance in Dan Browns' books. I'd rather he described them as friends instead of lovers.
I have read only one book for Dan Brown and it is going to stay like that, his style is good but then not my type I was forced to read the only boom I read the DVC after all those recommendations. Quite a good read the only good thing about that book is that it is tought provoking it makes you think and also the facts are quite true the priory of sion and the templar knights.
Again not my type especially after my friends told me that the other books are not so good, and are a waste of time. well i prefer john grisham and james patterson and mario puzo.
Iraka
20-03-2006, 11:36 PM
I've only read the Da Vinci Code. Planning to get the other books once I feel like it lol.
juventus
20-03-2006, 11:53 PM
Hmm..I would say, all his books are great!
I stumbled upon his books actually. I was at Kinokuniya, wanting to buy a story book but completely clueless as to what to buy.
And someone suggested DVC, and I think it is great... Although I'm not sure about the truth in the books (too many debates going on..even my Christian friends asked me not read it as it goes against their teachings) but it was a nice read altogether.
DVC, Angels and Demons were great. The other two books doesn't come close to them.
zulaikha
24-04-2007, 09:01 AM
deception point is so so cool!
a totally shocking deception!
zulaikha
24-04-2007, 09:02 AM
deception point is so so cool!
a totally shocking deception!
never thought William Pickering's the one giving orders to the Delta Force..
03-05-2007, 06:43 PM
i'm currently reading the "Da Vinci Code" due to my great curiosity towards the Priorary of Sion n Mary Magdalane...its story line is very fascinating...
Robert Langdon is damn smart...... :D
03-05-2007, 08:02 PM
But all his books have a common pattern... And it's always "the good guy" who's turned out to be the bad boss in the end. So next time just assume that the good guy is actually bad, and you are most likely right. :P
03-05-2007, 09:13 PM
The Solomon Key is coming out soon, right?
I like the amount of research Brown did before writing his novels.
Wonder if Malaysian writer did that amount of research as well. I know I didn't...
...and I know I should have as well..*sigh
03-05-2007, 10:44 PM
Well, the twist in the end of A&D is so predictable. Anyway, I'm sort of excited because I'm planning on going to Rome and try to follow the Illuminati trails
03-05-2007, 11:39 PM
do you guys really believe the existence of Priory of Sion?? :?
i had read Da Vinci Code,Angels And Demons,Deception Point and Digital Fortress.
any new series of Dan Brown's books coming out? *excited*
his loyal fan here!!
Well, the twist in the end of A&D is so predictable. Anyway, I'm sort of excited because I'm planning on going to Rome and try to follow the Illuminati trails
r u kidding?
by now u shd had come back if it's true....
mind to share??!!!:)
04-05-2008, 10:39 AM
The new book, The Solomen Key, was planned for last year but has been postponed I think.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Solomon_Key
y it shd be postponed?
too bad.
04-05-2008, 10:44 AM
Because.. it's not that easy to write a book? :D
huh?i jz followed the url below ur comment....impossible lah.
LOL
Chrisntine
04-05-2008, 10:58 AM
i've read 2 books from dan brown. the 1st bk is the da vinci code. it is nice. at 1st, i was confusing which book should i buy-da vinci code or angel and demon but i brought DVC at last. i like digital fortress the most. most probably i like math and i think the 1st part of DF is boring and afterward it become more and more interesting. wanna read deception point. but canot find the book. sob
04-05-2008, 11:00 AM
The maths in digital fortress are mostly fictional and inaccurate, so I have not enjoyed it as much as I could have when I read it.
lindley
04-05-2008, 11:00 AM
ive read all 4 and i gotta say that angels and demons appealed the most to me.
i think its because of the history and the art or sth? i know that da vinci also has history in it, but the story gets too confusing for my liking. xD
Chrisntine
04-05-2008, 11:03 AM
ya. when i read DVC, i am not quite understand 1 part- the religion part. duno what is he writing. lol. but, overall, i love the story too. hehe
so when will The Solomen Key out?
can be found in bookshops ady or not?
btw i dun nid to buy Dan Brown's books bcoz i jz nid to borrow all fr my uncle.
hehe..save my $$$$.
Agatha Christie anyone?
04-05-2008, 11:29 AM
I haven't read Digital Fortress, Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons are nice, Deception Point is boring compared to those two...
to me,Deception Point is very unexpected..the way the story turns out to be WHOA!!!
04-05-2008, 11:36 AM
But then all four books are like that.
The good guy always turns out to be the bad guy in all four books. So in the next book I am going to anticipate the same thing. :P
yeah agree.maybe i had Dan Browniac...
04-05-2008, 11:51 AM
to me,Deception Point is very unexpected..the way the story turns out to be WHOA!!!
It's quite unexpected but the last part seems to be plain, compared to the others where suspense till the end...
lindley
04-05-2008, 11:54 AM
[digression]
haha deception point kinda reminds me of Matthew Reilly's books xD
Olataro
05-05-2008, 02:22 AM
But ya have to admit..............all of DB books ended with................a sex scene.........................and its story is rather predictable.
yummyummylicious
06-05-2008, 01:23 AM
But ya have to admit..............all of DB books ended with................a sex scene.........................and its story is rather predictable.
nope, its not really predictable...
and i'm a huge DB fans...read all his 4 books and have them in the translated version tooooo...but i think Da Vinci Code is the best one from DB...
Olataro
06-05-2008, 01:50 AM
Da vinci code............yeah, good.
Unpredictable? pls.........its always the "good guy" who is the one............read da vinci and compare it to digital fotress and angels and demons.
end up w a sex scene?understandable.....
Olataro
06-05-2008, 10:49 AM
finally ,someone who sees the truth. Well no........the story's main structure is the same. Take a really good look at it and you will see.
Cookies
29-08-2008, 05:16 PM
Yeah, the ending of Deception point is less suspense n it ends as i predicted b4 reading till the end. DB used almost the "same writing techniques" to write the plot, anyway i likes the facts he want to tell the readers, there's always grey regions which the existences r always been neglected.
trojan209
29-08-2008, 06:20 PM
angels and demons certainly is the best novel i ever read (also the first book i read from dan brown). it just because theology, history and science are always my fields of interests and plus i was also in Vatican City and Rome myself several years ago prior reading the novel. the memory of me being in streets of rome, the vatican piazza, pantheon etc just couldn't stop to pop up in my mind while reading it. the best combination a novel can offer to me.
DVC would be second in my list. not far from angels and demons.
the other 2, i would say just not bad. i just don't like the ending in deception point and digital fotress. not that spectacular, i would say.
hopefully solomon key won't be that predictable.
31-01-2010, 01:00 PM
Another DB fans here~ I read DVC first followed by A&D, Deception Point and Digital Fortress. Angels & Demons will be my top favorite too. I loved the code and the whole symmetry thing. :P Deception Point's story is quite predictable. Not all but some of it. What I liked the most about DB's book is that its full of information although some of them are wrong ones. Anyway, nice plot!
Anyway, had anyone read The Lost Symbol? How will you rate his new book? I'm waiting for the cheaper edition now. :P
Another DB fans here~ I read DVC first followed by A&D, Deception Point and Digital Fortress. Angels & Demons will be my top favorite too. I loved the code and the whole symmetry thing. :P Deception Point's story is quite predictable. Not all but some of it. What I liked the most about DB's book is that its full of information although some of them are wrong ones. Anyway, nice plot!
Anyway, had anyone read The Lost Symbol? How will you rate his new book? I'm waiting for the cheaper edition now. :P
The Lost Symbol - not worth reading. Seriously.
31-01-2010, 08:08 PM
Totally agree with you on that. I dunno, but Dan Brown getting real predictable.
Thomson90
31-01-2010, 11:06 PM
Ok, seriously what's wrong with the lost symbol?? I havent read but plan to. I heard this book caused a stir and was one of those bestsellers.
Btw, i loved da vinci code the most. Angel and Demon is alittle boring, too much info on physics, yuck.
31-01-2010, 11:30 PM
There's nothing wrong with The Lost Symbol if you haven't read the other four books Dan Brown has written. But if you have read the four, you would be tired of his same old plot formula by now.
You can try out the formula here:
http://www.slate.com/id/2228327/
IamSaphiraQueen
30-06-2010, 09:43 PM
i'm stunned by the illuminati's ambigrams...but i dont really like robert langdon's personality. it feels like he always sleep with the female protagonist in the end...
30-06-2010, 10:17 PM
i'm stunned by the illuminati's ambigrams...but i dont really like robert langdon's personality. it feels like he always sleep with the female protagonist in the end...
No idea why writers like to do that. Somehow main characters end up promiscuous. If you watch 24, the main character has a new girlfriend almost every season.
Yes, I totally agree. I knew the ending halfway through...how was it a mystery that the guy is the other guy's son?
Ok, seriously what's wrong with the lost symbol?? I havent read but plan to. I heard this book caused a stir and was one of those bestsellers.
Btw, i loved da vinci code the most. Angel and Demon is alittle boring, too much info on physics, yuck.
Angels and Demons is good. So is The Da Vinci Code. But The Lost Symbol is way too predictable and anticlimactic...
30-06-2010, 11:22 PM
No idea why writers like to do that. Somehow main characters end up promiscuous. If you watch 24, the main character has a new girlfriend almost every season.
Yes, I totally agree. I knew the ending halfway through...how was it a mystery that the guy is the other guy's son?
Angels and Demons is good. So is The Da Vinci Code. But The Lost Symbol is way too predictable and anticlimactic...
Yeah...I also kinda figured out the ending. And the so-called 'Lost Symbol' was very very anticlimatic...compared to the other books' revelations...
I felt that Angels and Demons was the best followed by the Da Vinci Code.
01-07-2010, 08:38 AM
Yeah...I also kinda figured out the ending. And the so-called 'Lost Symbol' was very very anticlimatic...compared to the other books' revelations...
I felt that Angels and Demons was the best followed by the Da Vinci Code.
SPOILER ALERT!!!!!
I seriously don't understand all the fuss over the Lost Symbol. All that trouble over a bible? It's rather ridiculous...:oh
Young
01-07-2010, 12:37 PM
Sex sells. :)
Also, the Lost Symbol is pretty much a cheap Star-Wars wannabe.
SapphireDragon
01-07-2010, 12:38 PM
I've read The Da Vinci Code but I haven't got the chance to read others. The Da Vinci Code was one of the best books I have ever read though, epic! Can't wait to take a look on others!