View Full Version : Form Six Schools Student Review

pangping1510
15-03-2005, 11:42 PM
yeah, most form sic school leavers are welcomed to give their personal review on hows the form six schools in malaysia. the aspects which are mostly concerned are about the teachers and studying environment. so that the spm leavers wil hav some tips to choose the form six school they desire, thx... :lol:

nwx86
17-03-2005, 02:55 PM
I'm not a form 6'er but based on what my friends tell me and considering the results of my school and other schools, I guess it defers from school to school...so schools have great teachers but some or terrible....
anyway, at this point of education, I advise those who are going for it to be more independent in studies and not to be 'spoonfed' by teachers anymore. Indeed, its syllabus is really wide and not many can be covered in depth in the classroom.

nwx86
17-03-2005, 02:55 PM
I'm not a form 6'er but based on what my friends tell me and considering the results of my school and other schools, I guess it defers from school to school...so schools have great teachers but some or terrible....
anyway, at this point of education, I advise those who are going for it to be more independent in studies and not to be 'spoonfed' by teachers anymore. Indeed, its syllabus is really wide and not many can be covered in depth in the classroom.

leng_cyl
17-03-2005, 04:16 PM
choose form 6 school? erm.... For me, I will continue to study at my own secondary school, start since last year, my secondary school already had the form 6 classes...

:D Don't ever think of changing to other school to study form 6 as I think my school is okay and already 'biasa'.

My school is not very well-known ~~> SMK Taman Ehsan 8)

wawa
17-03-2005, 04:55 PM
My school is not very well-known ~~> SMK Taman Ehsan

hear of it... :D

Anyway, my school was great. ie, chung ling high school.

The teachers weren't exactly fantastic for every subject, we get our fair share of excellent and boring teachers. 8) And many of them loved to fail the entire form at one go.

But the students and peers were great, learning for interest sake rather than exams. We didn't exactly rely on teachers, homework is almost unheard off. You do if youw ant to, you don't if you don't want to! Yeah, we definitely did alot of independent study, not just for interest sake, but also usually if you want to ace in school exams, you gotta study up to first year university level for form six. Not easy, but definitely fun. :)

Male chauvinism aside, its a great learning place. Plus all the political shows put on were an eye opener. 8)

Oh lastly, during assembly a designated classwould go up to perform. Usually the guys go up and sing like in a concert..great way to wake up! :lol:

leng_cyl
17-03-2005, 05:17 PM
oh ya.. talk about independant study ...

In my opinion, since I start studying secondary school.. I sensed the big different with the past (primary school's life). Why? That's because the teachers were not as hardworking as primary's and always absent. Some of the teachers were so lazy and not trying their best to teach the students..

For example, my form 4 biology teacher... aiks.. if students really rely on her... sure die... first, her voice is so low and so boring, made students to fall asleep, her teaching method was totally wrong. hehe, normally, when I was in her class, when she was teaching, I was studying on my own.. lolz..

18-03-2005, 01:13 AM
For my high school, Jit Sin High School, I think the quality of education for Form 6 is pretty high, especially being the arch-rival of Chung Ling, Sam Tet, PCGHS, Malacca High etc. Jit Sin has 50 straight As in STPM this year (6 5As, and 44 4As), which make it the highest, if not one of the highest in the country.

It would be similar to university style, where they would be mass lecture for each subject, where there would be like about 150 students or so listening to the lecturers teach. That would ensure the school can select the best lecturer to teach each topic. So, you would have a few teachers each for each subject. You would each have a tutor as well for each subject, where the teacher(tutor) would go through past-year problems to help you preparing for the exams. It would be essential for students to pose questions and as wawa said, it is pretty much independent studies. The teachers won't check on whether you do your homework or not...

And for instance, subjects like Pengajian Am, you would have each lecturer lecture on each particular section, like one person is in charge of the graph type of problem, one is in charge of the essays etc... So, each of the teacher is specialized in their field. I know that if you are taking Math Tulen and Math Lanjutan, you would have 6 Math teachers teaching you, 3 for each of the Math.

And while I won't say that all the teachers are very entertaining, almost all are very dedicated. The Principal is very strict and the teachers actually will have post-mortem of how their students do etc.

seiken
18-03-2005, 10:26 AM
Have you all ever heard of Catholic High School in pj? I have a friend studying there. She just obtained her STPM results. According to her, 6 person got straight 5 A's, and 10 person got straight 4 A's. Not bad..compared to my school..only 1 got CGPA of 4.0.... :)

pangping1510
18-03-2005, 10:55 AM
best result of yr 2004-3A,1B
none got cGPA 4.0
that stat in jitsin is really amazing, can i just shift from kl to penang to study in jitsin :wink:

motong
18-03-2005, 01:29 PM
that stat in jitsin is really amazing, can i just shift from kl to penang to study in jitsin :wink:

Sam Tet STPM 2004 batch: 2 5As, 53 4As.

Ipoh is nearer to KL... :D

pangping1510
19-03-2005, 12:28 AM
yeah...jitsin and samtet are the bests...but its so hard for me to change skol cuz my skol oledi offerring form six...btw, how long i hav to wait for the letter stating i m eligible for form six? :lol:

nxwen
19-03-2005, 12:28 PM
Is there a letter stating you're eligible for F6? Just go to your school and ask, there will be a list of students who are eligible for F6, though I don't know when the list will come out. As for me last time, my school doesn't offer F6, so the students had to find out which school they were posted to. Just check out with your school. Btw, when is F6 going to start this year?

leng_cyl
19-03-2005, 12:36 PM
when I took the spm result, my teacher told me that those students who are eligible to study form 6 would receive the letter.. hmm... so I'm waiting for the letter too

nxwen
19-03-2005, 12:56 PM
oic, so thre is a letter. I didn't receive any letter when I got my results 2 years back. Besides, most of us wanted to transfer to another school, so we bugged the school quite often to find out we got which school. And then off to transfer procedure....hehe...

MarquisX
19-03-2005, 02:37 PM
is it possible for a girl who got 4 prinsipal (3B 1C) get admitted to college? and how do you apply for college admission?
thanks guys

leng_cyl
22-03-2005, 01:28 PM
finally know the date form 6 start.. :)

:? start to feel the pressure once again..

date : 17 May 2005

Penny
22-03-2005, 02:40 PM
finally know the date form 6 start.. :)

:? start to feel the pressure once again..

date : 17 May 2005

May I know from where you get this date?
Is May 17 confirmed?

By the way, when I entered Lower 6 last year, I didn't get any letter, and I doubt any of my friends does, too.
There'll be a list of those qualified to enter Form 6 in the school.
Those with results-which-are-supposed-to-be-qualified and yet cannot find the names on the list, they may be offered to Matriculation. Provided if you apply for Matriculation.

leng_cyl
22-03-2005, 02:44 PM
I got this news from today's newspaper, sin chew daily

me not sure about the letter matter wor... maybe different school different notification way =p

Penny
22-03-2005, 02:53 PM
none got cGPA 4.0

Ha, Jit Sin is good in certain sense.

Well, there are some teachers who are very dedicated. Frankly, quite a few of the experienced teachers have retired. So, there are some teachers who are quite new in teaching Form 6. These teachers are not that good as compared to those experienced ones. We shouldn't penalize on that though.
An experienced teacher was once a new teacher too!
Don't you think so?
The environment in Jit Sin is good despite stress and tension. You can easily get a group of friends to team up for group study and etc.
And not to deny, tuition teachers help too! :lol:

nxwen
22-03-2005, 03:22 PM
is it possible for a girl who got 4 prinsipal (3B 1C) get admitted to college? and how do you apply for college admission?
thanks guys

Can you clarify? She is from the science or art stream? Possible or not will depend on the college admission requirement. If it's private college, just apply straight to the college la.

pangping1510
23-03-2005, 01:09 AM
who has the idea which is the best f6 skol in kl? :lol:

agape
23-03-2005, 01:58 AM
Hi,I was just wondering that will the government be giving us the school for f6 of our choice?I mean, if everyone wants and are allowed to study in the school which they think is the best of the best,who will they listen to?The government couldn't just put all of them in jit sin,sam tet,etc etc.. :(

MarquisX
23-03-2005, 02:05 PM
thanks guys

Can you clarify? She is from the science or art stream? Possible or not will depend on the college admission requirement. If it's private college, just apply straight to the college la.

she took economy and accounting.

StupidCupid
30-03-2005, 04:24 PM

HEARD that the ST. JOHN school is a very good one.

NO GUARANTEE!!! because i just HEARD about it!!

nxwen
30-03-2005, 05:09 PM
she took economy and accounting.

Ermm.... as I'm in the science stream, I don't think I'm able to say much. :oops: Colleges usually require 3 principles in STPM. So, it still depends on the subject and grade requirement. Sorry, couldn't help much.

Best F6 school in KL..... what about VI? It's a good school too.

kevinkhoo1986
31-03-2005, 01:28 PM
17th of MAY? Izzit correctt? If i am not mistaken, the date is exactly the same like the previous year form 6 admission date. Furthermore, 17th may 2005 is tuesday.

Destiny_Child
31-03-2005, 01:43 PM
17th May?dats a bit too late.some sch(i bet) have started earlier..
isnt dat what we call as UNFAIR? :x

Patrick
31-03-2005, 10:45 PM
You know, some schools have great STPM results because they only choose the best out of the best students there is. They would want students with outstanding SPM results, and with some training and guidance, it's easy to be the best school if compared to schools that do not have strict rules for student's admission.

I'm not saying that schools with great STPM results are evil by not accepting mediocre - weak students....they do accept them, but not many.

Destiny_Child
01-04-2005, 01:08 AM
You know, some schools have great STPM results because they only choose the best out of the best students there is. They would want students with outstanding SPM results, and with some training and guidance, it's easy to be the best school if compared to schools that do not have strict rules for student's admission.

I'm not saying that schools with great STPM results are evil by not accepting mediocre - weak students....they do accept them, but not many.

yea, i totally agree wid u patrick! those choosy schools r like dat. i was trying to enrol myself into one of the famous sch, n guess wut?they gave all sort of reasons just to reject me (coz i think they already have the num of students they wanted)until at last when i mentioned my spm result, they agreed to accept me. how shocking but true!dats how those type of schs excel in their stpm by having thousands scoring straight A;s
well, since im already accepted, i guess i better prepare myself well.(i bet there will be many nerds in dat sch!)-hope no one is offended- :oops: :oops: :oops:

reign226
01-04-2005, 05:57 AM
i quite agree. the only reason the school is 'good' is because they have an established reputation and only accept the good students, while the 'bad' schools continue to get the scraps of what's left over. it's a catch-22 thing. That said, having good teachers or at least a teacher of good repute also helps.

I continue to study in SM All Saints (two students with 17As in 2003 came from my sch =D) but despite our reputation in SPM, almost nobody wants to enroll in STPM here.

balderdash
27-04-2005, 09:48 PM
I technically got into Sam Tet but I turned down the offer. Cos they only offer science stream and I suck at sciences and wanted to do humanities.

So I went on to SMK Raja Perempuan Ipoh. Anyone would tell you that it's a sucky school where the F6 teachers dont' come to class and when they do, they don't really know what they are talking about. However, when I was there, I was priviledged to have a couple really really good PA (Pengajian Am) teachers but I heard that they have since left.

Some people asked me why didn't I bother changing to a 'better' school. It just never really crossed my mind as I was having a good time getting to know friends and being in a totally different environment (I was previously from a mroe Chinese environment). My subject combination was PA, Economics, Math and Literature in English. No school in Ipoh offered Lit so I had tuition for it twice a week. In the end, I think I scraped through STPM quite respectably - 2As and 2Bs. Though one of the As were for Lit - not taken in school haha....

But Form 6 years were really the best years I've had. I think it's partly cos I was in Arts, partly cos I was in a not-so-good school where I was slightly less tensed, but at the same time, forced to do more of my own independent study. Not to mention that I made a couple of really good girlfriends there. Yup, F6 was good!

N-Guy
27-04-2005, 10:46 PM
from my point of view....the school that you enrol in don t play a major role...As you know Form 6 is a pre U,a platform that would enable you adjust to Uni-Like environment

Therefore more self study is required rather than depending on the teachers or notes

many successful candidates have gone through hard years in STPM..their recipe?Sheer determination and Hardwork

yen_05
27-04-2005, 11:41 PM
Anyone here from Shah Alam,Selangor who is goin for F6??? Or sumwhere nearby mayb Klang or PJ??? Well....i dunno which skul i'm goin to be sent for F6 since the list not yet out.... :? :?

28-04-2005, 02:24 AM
While many schools in KL, Ipoh and Penang can boast wonderful statistics for STPM, Johor kinda lacks these type of schools. For the record, in my daerah (district) of Batu Pahat, only 3 people got CGPA 4.0 for STPM (all 4As). So perhaps one Jit Sin school is enough to beat the whole of Johor (mere speculation--I've no proof).

So to those who are staying in the vicinity of "established" schools, count your blessings. I'm a firm believer that a school can make or break a student. All hard work and self-study is of no use without proper guidance. This is not spoon-feeding but rather, a kind of resource for the students.

EvenStar
14-05-2005, 10:42 PM
I'm from Shah Alam, and I'm gonna do form 6 in SMK Alam Megah, Shah Alam. It's my former secondary school. This is the 3rd year they're having form 6. Though still "new", as all of us know, form 6 is more about YOU and HOW MUCH YOU WANT TO DO WELL IN YOUR STPM....hmm...gotta work hard! (btw, still hoping to obtain JPA scholarship - dentistry)

yen_05
14-05-2005, 10:56 PM
I'm from Shah Alam, and I'm gonna do form 6 in SMK Alam Megah, Shah Alam. It's my former secondary school. This is the 3rd year they're having form 6. Though still "new", as all of us know, form 6 is more about YOU and HOW MUCH YOU WANT TO DO WELL IN YOUR STPM....hmm...gotta work hard! (btw, still hoping to obtain JPA scholarship - dentistry)

Aikss....you are in alam megah school....hehe...maybe we can meet...i will be in alam megah school also.... :lol:

sugan
28-04-2009, 04:11 PM
why the i no post since 2005? i need to know more on stpm schoolin N9?

Xon : There 're lots of old threads waiting to be discovered.
AnabellaHotX cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/AnabellaHotX)

bubblezlott3
29-04-2009, 01:15 AM
I did my form six in SMK Taman S.E.A, PJ, Selangor.

The school has average STPM results I can say compared to schools around us like Samad and CHS. The teachers here has great experience I can say and it kinda depends on how you want to approach the teachers to learn more. The teachers want you to approach them and not just be spoon fed during lessons and stuff like that. Overall, the school's academic is improving but my batch of form six didnt do too well though.

Stats :
2008 : 1 person with 4.0, 3 person with 3.92 and 4 person with 3As (not too sure is full As or A-)
2007 : 1 person with 4.0 , 3-4 person with 4 As (not sure how many As and A-) and a handful of 3As

sugan
29-04-2009, 02:47 PM
why the i no post since 2005? i need to know more on stpm schoolin N9?

Xon : There 're lots of old threads waiting to be discovered.

please read my post above . your information is appreciated.:)
Iolite vaporizer instructions (http://www.vaporizers.net/)

fran28
16-05-2009, 12:25 PM
anyone frm smk alam megah?

Ling24
18-05-2009, 07:41 PM
i had register for form 6 at 11 may then i never go to the school anymore. i havent handed any document, If i dun want to go to form 6 anymore, what should i do?

can anyone help me? ^^

kenntan
18-05-2009, 08:04 PM
i had register for form 6 at 11 may then i never go to the school anymore. i havent handed any document, If i dun want to go to form 6 anymore, what should i do?

can anyone help me? ^^

very simple, just tell one of your teacher or your friend tha u are leaving and just leave for the sake....so .. dun worry they arent going to blacklist u ....relax..

ConventGuy
27-05-2010, 10:36 PM

SMK MAXWELL, SMK ST,JOHN, SMK CONVENT BUKIT NANAS, SMK (P) JALAN IPOH, SMK (P) PUDU, SMK (L) METHODIST KL, SMK VICTORIA...:))

THE SCHOOL:
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_vuHTpZLKKRk/S_PDwk2QMHI/AAAAAAAAAJE/bzi3vB9juIY/s1600/SMK+Maxwell+KL+%2819%29.jpgSMK MAXWELL
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_xjQtIHAakU0/Rx70zA38DJI/AAAAAAAAAVs/9yjXxs-2Dvo/s400/sji%2B3.jpg SMK ST.JOHN
http://mw2.google.com/mw-panoramio/photos/medium/24234439.jpgSMK CBN
http://jigsskl.tripod.com/galeri/thumbnails/400x300/DSCI0023.JPG SMKP J. IPOH
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs151.snc3/17853_255754565422_15382985422_3818637_539684_n.jpg MBSSKL
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_J6a8xWUYEVI/SZay8XyZyEI/AAAAAAAAD2o/9rUPKbEqX4E/s320/sekolah_victo.jpg VI

Judith
29-05-2010, 12:39 PM
What is the difference between sekolah menengah and sekolah menengah kebangsaan? Is the chance of getting into local university is the same?

Anyone has any idea what is the difference between sekolah menengah kebangsaan and sekoah menengah? Is the chance of getting into local university is the same?

ConventGuy
29-05-2010, 01:34 PM
What is the difference between sekolah menengah and sekolah menengah kebangsaan? Is the chance of getting into local university is the same?

Anyone has any idea what is the difference between sekolah menengah kebangsaan and sekoah menengah? Is the chance of getting into local university is the same?

both types of school is the same...SM is used for all goverment school before year 1987...SMK is used now...oh wait..sometimes SM is referring to private school or half private...but not for SM St. john, SM Victoria...this school is totally gov...SM (persendirian) is totally private!!!...SM (bantuan)..is also gov....chance to getting into local uni is of coz by the student from SMK,Half Gov, SMJK, SM(Teknik) MRSM, Maktab and totally gov form 6 students...gov only let exellent students from private sector to enter local university..especially UM, USM...what type of school are you from??:)

nittu
29-05-2010, 05:00 PM
SMK MAXWELL, SMK ST,JOHN, SMK CONVENT BUKIT NANAS, SMK (P) JALAN IPOH, SMK (P) PUDU, SMK (L) METHODIST KL, SMK VICTORIA...:))

THE SCHOOL:
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_vuHTpZLKKRk/S_PDwk2QMHI/AAAAAAAAAJE/bzi3vB9juIY/s1600/SMK+Maxwell+KL+%2819%29.jpgSMK MAXWELL
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_xjQtIHAakU0/Rx70zA38DJI/AAAAAAAAAVs/9yjXxs-2Dvo/s400/sji%2B3.jpg SMK ST.JOHN
http://mw2.google.com/mw-panoramio/photos/medium/24234439.jpgSMK CBN
http://jigsskl.tripod.com/galeri/thumbnails/400x300/DSCI0023.JPG SMKP J. IPOH
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs151.snc3/17853_255754565422_15382985422_3818637_539684_n.jpg MBSSKL
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_J6a8xWUYEVI/SZay8XyZyEI/AAAAAAAAD2o/9rUPKbEqX4E/s320/sekolah_victo.jpg VI
Hi im from kl too took form 6 last time.. I'll say maxwell is ok in form 6.. But better not smk(p) becuase the school is still new in form 6 and many that i knew transfer to other school..

ConventGuy
02-06-2010, 11:45 PM
that is true..i'm maxwellian lower 6 student this year...

Judith
04-06-2010, 05:41 PM
both types of school is the same...SM is used for all goverment school before year 1987...SMK is used now...oh wait..sometimes SM is referring to private school or half private...but not for SM St. john, SM Victoria...this school is totally gov...SM (persendirian) is totally private!!!...SM (bantuan)..is also gov....chance to getting into local uni is of coz by the student from SMK,Half Gov, SMJK, SM(Teknik) MRSM, Maktab and totally gov form 6 students...gov only let exellent students from private sector to enter local university..especially UM, USM...what type of school are you from??:)
I think my new school (SM) is government's. Studying lower 6 there.:)

ConventGuy
04-06-2010, 10:10 PM
I think my new school (SM) is government's. Studying lower 6 there.:)

great!!..if you're taking STP in private school..the cert is not so "laku"...i'm oso lower six this year... SMK Maxwell KL...:Pgood luck in studies...:)