View Full Version : [SPM] Lots of A1s, does it show anything?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

13-05-2008, 10:34 PM
I don't get your point, Josh Loo. Have you read the posts in this thread?

chenjun1128
13-05-2008, 10:44 PM
loads of A1 shows that a guy really has alot of time on his hands and is able to juggle all those subjects..it doesn't show he/she is smarter..a guy who can lift a small rock lots of times is still weaker than sum1 who can raise a large boulder only once

Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 10:49 PM
I don't get your point, Josh Loo. Have you read the posts in this thread?

As wat i understood from tis thread is, scoring As in spm r bookworms only.. i dun think tis is fair for those who work hard on it...

and also i dun think tat 12, 13, 14++ As scorers r not equipped with the living skills such as leadership.. :notrust

loads of A1 shows that a guy really has alot of time on his hands and is able to juggle all those subjects..it doesn't show he/she is smarter..a guy who can lift a small rock lots of times is still weaker than sum1 who can raise a large boulder only once

u r rite. but do u mean tat 17A1 scorer is weaker than 9A1 scorer? do u think the statement is fair for the 17's one? :wink

Glassylicious
13-05-2008, 10:50 PM
As wat i understood from tis thread is, scoring As in spm r bookworms only.. i dun think tis is fair for those who work hard on it...

and also i dun think tat 12, 13, 14++ As scorers r not equipped with the living skills such as leadership.. :notrust

We're not saying that students who get B's and C's are better than those who get A's. I believe the more important issue is whether a student who gets 15A's is better than one with 10A's.

13-05-2008, 10:57 PM
Nope that's not the point of this thread (at least my posts in this thread). Instead, it is a critical evaluation of the unhealthy emphasis of quantity over quality in our education, as manifested in our obsession with number of A1s. We have gone to the extent of taking up redundant subjects (e.g. science stream students taking sains teras) and subjects unrelated to one's ambition just to beef up our A1s in order to prove our worths in this rat race.

Criticising a flawed system is totally different from criticising people who do well in the flawed system. We have way too many arguments in ReCom stemming from the inability to discern this. :(

Josh Loo
13-05-2008, 11:01 PM
Nope that's not the point of this thread (at least my posts in this thread). Instead, it is a critical evaluation of the unhealthy emphasis of quantity over quality in our education, as manifested in our obsession with number of A1s. We have gone to the extent of taking up redundant subjects (e.g. science stream students taking sains teras) and subjects unrelated to one's ambition just to beef up our A1s in order to prove our worths in this rat race.

Criticising a flawed system is totally different from criticising people who do well in the flawed system. We have way too many arguments in ReCom stemming from the inability to discern this. :(

i see.. sry for misunderstood. :laugh:laugh

the more important issue is whether a student who gets 15A's is better than one with 10A's.

why not? (if the extra subjects r like economy and perdagangan but not the agama things)

lwk88
14-05-2008, 02:06 PM
People take more subjects because it is easier to obtain scholarships. look at the bank negara 10 special scholarship recipients, they took more than the required 10 subjects. And a pure science student who want to study accounting and obtain a scholarship from JPA, he or she must take prinsip akaun. so the total subjects to be takan are 11 and not 10. if not he will not be considered by JPA even has 10A1

chenjun1128
15-05-2008, 11:15 PM
If some guy/girl take the usual 10 subjects, plus some practical skill subjects like car repairing or cookery or fashion design..then that's really something else..hats off to the first person to do that

WinnieH
16-05-2008, 11:19 AM
a lot of A1 , does it shows anything?

well to me, it shows something. the student is pretty smart. and it'll help in securing scholarships and such. but if all fails and you're gonna enter form6, the A1s don't mean anything anymore. 'cause even students who just passed their spm can enter form 6... so, does it makes any difference then? nope. you'll be assigned to science and arts stream and that's like, the only difference. other than that, you have to start from scratch and make your marks in form 6. and all those A1s that you've got in f5 spm, is totally forgotten and meaningless.

Koschei
16-05-2008, 08:42 PM
Do you guys think it'd help if the government also put what percentile you were in for the subject you took on your result slip, instead of just stating whether a person got an A1, A2, etc?

e.g.: KIMIA 1A SATU 0.86

The 0.86 would mean you're in the top 14% of scorers in the country for that subject. That way it would emphasize what percentile you were in for the subjects that actually matter for the course you're taking. For example, people who want to do Engineering should be considered by the strength of their Physics, Maths and A. Maths, rather than miscellaneous things like Seni Visual.

16-05-2008, 09:57 PM
Do you guys think it'd help if the government also put what percentile you were in for the subject you took on your result slip, instead of just stating whether a person got an A1, A2, etc?

The 0.86 would mean you're in the top 14% of scorers in the country for that subject. That way it would emphasize what percentile you were in for the subjects that actually matter for the course you're taking. For example, people who want to do Engineering should be considered by the strength of their Physics, Maths and A. Maths, rather than miscellaneous things like Seni Visual.

I think it's a good way , since there are so many students with straight A .

Beatles
17-05-2008, 01:24 AM
I don't think students who scored 15A1s are better 'overally' than those who scored 10A1s. My point is that certain subjects such as history and moral requires a lot of memorising, especially moral, why need to memorise all those meanings of 'nilai-nilai murni'? I can only say that those scoring 15A1s are better 'academically' than those scoring 10A1s. This means that they are able to achieve good results in theory based learning, but practical, no... Co-curriculums are important also. You don't spend the whole day looking at your revision books, it's sickening.

19-05-2008, 08:22 PM

it would be much better if the government can just publich the percentile for the grades directly instead of putting extra information about the precentile. Like only people with results better than 98% of the population can get A1 for that particular subject or something like that...

Right now, the process is not transparent at all...

stupidboy
21-05-2008, 04:26 AM

It'll be a lot better if they just put the real marks out. This will make it all easier and we'll know if we really deserve the grade or not.

21-05-2008, 08:18 AM
Real marks are only useful if it's shown to be consistent between different examiners. But we all know that marking the open-ended papers is never objective, so what's worth 95 to this examiner may worth only 85 to this examiner.

skatemusicianer
21-05-2008, 03:01 PM
It'll be a lot better if they just put the real marks out. This will make it all easier and we'll know if we really deserve the grade or not.

I remember when I was studying in the US, I took a public exam there and the results were our actual results, and also, stated there was our percentage comparative to others in the state. It was very transparent.

neo_one
03-06-2008, 02:08 PM
Taking more papers than you should be?? That is just plain ridiculous... I've heard all these top scorers who said that they took extra subjects to be more well-rounded. Differentiate between taking extra subjects or extra papers? You don't need to take extra papers to learn other things.SPM hard?Please.Some subjects you only need to drill yourself with past years' papers. Not much critical thinking needed. I got A1 english for both grading and I know my standards isn't that high as it stated. When you take real English test like IELTS and MUET, hah then you'll know how good you are.Its simple. If the government don't want candidates to take extra papers, then the MPM should overlap the papers. i.e science stream papers overlapping with arts stream papers.

shazieL7
05-07-2008, 02:17 PM
It's definitely not only academics that matter - well, that depends on who you ask... :D

Is 16A1s better than 9A1s? Me thinks not - if the 9A1s person is much more involved extracurricularly.

Though I must say that I really admire that girl who got 14A1s in SPM, I think her name is Anushree or something. She could go really far with her talent in music as well as her academics - if she applied to US colleges, I really won't be surprised if she got admitted to Harvard-Yale-Princeton and equivalents. Awesome extracurriculars and academic record.

As for the other top scorers ..... no comment.
TAK semestinya yang dapat 17a_keatas tu lebih pandai drpada pljar 10a:huh

tent
05-07-2008, 04:01 PM
agree...i get 12A1 but still remain silent..haha

Holyboy27
05-07-2008, 09:06 PM
Useless la so many A's. It's not like they are going to major in all fields when they further their education. NO job requires a person to be good in every subject.

peihoon
13-07-2008, 06:43 PM
agree totally!

now it is like everyone in the street can get straight A1....
a person who gets 90% scores A1
a person who gets 70% scores A1
but are these two persons of same level?

some who get lots of A1s are not really good in studies...
they just try to take as many subjects as possible but not very good in all the subjects taken
and surprisingly they manage to get so many A1s

some who are really brilliant dont get the so-called "good results" just because they concentrate only on the subjects which are related to what they study (eg. science subject for science stream students) but they are really good in every subject taken

so in my opinion, the actual result should be stated...

13-07-2008, 06:46 PM
by mentioning actual results,we will then get the range for the score. :nod
Great idea.

music_freak28
13-07-2008, 07:42 PM
Though I must say that I really admire that girl who got 14A1s in SPM, I think her name is Anushree or something. She could go really far with her talent in music as well as her academics.

She was my senior. Gosh she's absolutely amazing! Many of us were inspired by her.

About this thread, i think it really depends. It's true that a 10A1's student may be smarter than a 200-sthg A1 student. But I do get a little uncomfortable with science stream people taking up general science. That is just way weird. SPM should be made in a way that a science stream student should be disallowed from taking general science.

And extra-curricular activities are really important, at least to me. I grew not through piles of books, but through extra-curricular activities.

colloquial
07-08-2008, 11:11 AM
Some people are just not very good exam takers. I know a few people who are absolutely intelligent and they can't good results for exams.

On the other hand, the person who is currently #1 in the whole form is quite 'blur' at times. I know for a fact that he memorizes every single thing word-for-word and that's how he got #1.

Our school doesn't teach the Science stream students the Commerce/Arts stream subjects. Go and register for the exam, but study on your own. They don't encourage it unless its like English Lit or Chinese Lit or something.

Moral should be abolished. That has to be the stupidest subject ever. Memorize everything, spit it out, get an A1. The concept behind the subject is good but the execution fails.

lwk88
08-08-2008, 03:29 PM
the concept is the more A's, the easier to get a scholarship. not everyone parents are very rich. dont worry. when they get the scholarship they wont be those study type anymore. they will play more

peihoon
08-08-2008, 06:35 PM
but some can get more A's just because they are good in memorising. when come to those tougher subject like maths, chem, phy etc after getting a scholaship, they can't really cope with it... higher is the education level, what is required is the understanding skill, not memorising although sometime memorising is still needed.

lawteoh
09-08-2008, 12:24 PM
I wonder how can people ever memorize maths and chemistry.. lolz.. even if u manage to memorize, it won't stuck in ur brain unless u understand it fully.. that's my opinion..

peihoon
10-08-2008, 12:43 PM
ya, it is impossible for me as well... but some can really do so by keeping everything memorised in his or her brain...

passOUT
10-08-2008, 01:08 PM
the concept is the more A's, the easier to get a scholarship. not everyone parents are very rich. dont worry. when they get the scholarship they wont be those study type anymore. they will play more

I could not concord with you. This is the mindset that most of you should eradicate. This is also the main reason why almost everyone out there wanted to take additional subject eg. science stream students taking general science. It's like, what's the point of taking it when you are already studying biology, physics and chemistry in-depth ? Because you can easily score an A1 for it to enhance your chances of securing a scholarships?

Please!!!

I only took 10 subjects for my SPM and yet, I still secure a scholarship for myself. Some of my friends who took extra subjects for their SPM failed to get one.

I am not against anyone who wanted to take extra subjects but choose those that will be useful to you in the future eg. accounting, economics, languages and literature too.

If you are worried that you may not be able to cope with the extra subjects, drop them. Why must you torture yourself?

ps. no offence...

11-08-2008, 04:33 PM
If you are studying just to get s scholarship, you will need to reevaluate your priorities

digital_lifeform
11-08-2008, 09:51 PM
Taking more papers than you should be?? That is just plain ridiculous... I've heard all these top scorers who said that they took extra subjects to be more well-rounded. Differentiate between taking extra subjects or extra papers? You don't need to take extra papers to learn other things.SPM hard?Please.Some subjects you only need to drill yourself with past years' papers. Not much critical thinking needed. I got A1 english for both grading and I know my standards isn't that high as it stated. When you take real English test like IELTS and MUET, hah then you'll know how good you are.Its simple. If the government don't want candidates to take extra papers, then the MPM should overlap the papers. i.e science stream papers overlapping with arts stream papers.

You don't really need to go college or school for that matter to learn anything.

11-08-2008, 09:55 PM
Haha why are we taking two extremes of the argument? I would say that I am skeptical towards many people who say "I take N subjects because I want to learn so many things". Of course there will be some people who are sincere in saying that; but my feeling is that many, if not most who said that are just glossing over the fact that they want to boost their chance of getting scholarships. Wanting to get a scholarship is not a bad thing per se - it just doesn't sound as good as "I want to learn more things".

As for learning via more subjects: you don't really "learn" stuff from our SPM subjects. You memorise stuff.

Eurytos
11-08-2008, 10:25 PM
Agreed! Youngyew gives a very good neutral point of view that i believe most students should consider. Instead of taking extremes, we all want scholarships and recognition from our peers. I for one certainly wouldn't have take 5 subjects in STPM if there was no kind of incentive whatsoever.

uoykcuf
13-08-2008, 12:31 AM
actually not everyone think like that. even if they din offer scholarship, i will also take 5 subject for stpm. for local uni, they actually only consider 4 best subject included pengajian am.

the reason i take further math because i think that malaysia's math level is sucks. if u 12 go to other country to further ur study especially in physics, u will find that the thing in further math are actually basic for university first year. this maybe false for singapore and malaysia uni since they only teach us sth related to further math in university first year. but if u see other country like germany and japan, u will find things in further math is very very basic.

that's why malaysia's standard always lose to those country. for math, many thing if they feel hard, they will take out the syllabus and put into higher level course. for instance, we actually learnt basic calculus in form3 few decades ago, but now u find that we only learn it in spm. and sum big ppl in this country always ask us to improve our science n math. even to have masyarakat saintific, u think we will achieve it? come on, we just learn little little thing.

now i heard that they want to take away further math from stpm. and malaysia ppl will become dumb in math compare to other country. so, for those who have ability to take further math, pls take it so that mpm cant kill the subject. i can see the trend that our country getting less and less ppl take further math. even this year, i think approximately 20 ppl take it. and i believe it will die one day. sighss..

lastly, even i din get A for it, i wont regret as at least i have made further math live longer.

13-08-2008, 01:20 AM
actually not everyone think like that. even if they din offer scholarship, i will also take 5 subject for stpm. for local uni, they actually only consider 4 best subject included pengajian am.

the reason i take further math because i think that malaysia's math level is sucks. if u 12 go to other country to further ur study especially in physics, u will find that the thing in further math are actually basic for university first year. this maybe false for singapore and malaysia uni since they only teach us sth related to further math in university first year. but if u see other country like germany and japan, u will find things in further math is very very basic.

that's why malaysia's standard always lose to those country. for math, many thing if they feel hard, they will take out the syllabus and put into higher level course. for instance, we actually learnt basic calculus in form3 few decades ago, but now u find that we only learn it in spm. and sum big ppl in this country always ask us to improve our science n math. even to have masyarakat saintific, u think we will achieve it? come on, we just learn little little thing.

now i heard that they want to take away further math from stpm. and malaysia ppl will become dumb in math compare to other country. so, for those who have ability to take further math, pls take it so that mpm cant kill the subject. i can see the trend that our country getting less and less ppl take further math. even this year, i think approximately 20 ppl take it. and i believe it will die one day. sighss..

lastly, even i din get A for it, i wont regret as at least i have made further math live longer.

You better not say that! Don't jinx it! It is not surprising that STPM Further Math might be scrapped. No demand, no supply, no product.

11-02-2009, 04:37 PM
I'm doing SPM this year and I'm very confused now.
Do I need to get more subjects for more A1s so that I can get a good scholarship?
I had been hearing a lot of different types of opinion about this.
I think I can do it, I mean, to get more A1s, so should I go for the extra subject?

CCY_to_the_top
11-02-2009, 07:43 PM
for me..i feel that 21A1 is not necessary better than 12A1..but for the sake of JPA, i took 14 subject..without chinese (although im not that poor in BC..but the edu system...make me cringe..)

theunknown
11-02-2009, 11:15 PM
getting superb results is not everything...
yes...i do admit that results are important ....people measure you through black and white results....this is the realistic world...
but there are some things that dont depend on results...
there are many things in life where u cant learn in textbooks..
what matters is that u work hard....pray for some luck...then success will slowly come...

12-02-2009, 12:18 AM
Yes, strings of A1 doesn't mean anything, but unfortunately, if you're to play the game "Hunt for scholarship", especially the "JPA Version", you have to stick to the rules or else you're out of the game...

DoomScythe
12-02-2009, 12:57 AM
Oh come on, do give those who get straight A1s some credit. It shows that they are somehow competent in either one (or more) of the following:

1. Memorising an immense amount of facts and details for extended period.
2. Exploiting the exam / questions structures. Ability to identify the pattern out of the similar questions year in, year out.
3. Critical and analytical thinking. (some might argue this is not needed, but that doesn't mean that you can't get by with critical thinking alone)
4. Bullshitting all the way through. (works for some subjects)

I'm doing SPM this year and I'm very confused now.
Do I need to get more subjects for more A1s so that I can get a good scholarship?
I had been hearing a lot of different types of opinion about this.
I think I can do it, I mean, to get more A1s, so should I go for the extra subject?

Anyway, to answer your question now. I had the same amount of doubt (probably more) as you do when I took my SPM a few milleniums ago. I asked the headmaster of my school then for his opinion. Before I tell you his reply, let me give you some background info about him first. I was told that he was the only headmaster for a secondary school that hold a PhD. His doctorate was in Education and apparently he does know quite a bit about how the secondary / scholarship / tertiary education system works.

What he told me was this (rephrased, of course):

Just take the number of subjects that you are comfortable to attain full A1s. Full A1s is more valuable in Malaysia.

I told him that I wanted to take up 2 more subects to boost the number of A1s. My school was offering the standard package of 10 subjects for most of its students and I was thinking of going 12. However, he told me that there is no point as 10A1s is sufficiently good for most things. Of course, this took place a few milleniums ago, in the ancient year of 2003. :P

Factoring in the current situation, I think 11A1s would be pretty good already. 10A1s is not bad as well, but given that the number of smart people increases year after year, you might want to take up another subject just to stay within the loop. In my personal opinion, I really don't suggest going any further than that, unless of course, you are one of the geniuses of the country. :) I'm assuming that you're one of the regular Joes here, struggling through SPM just like I did back then.

But please do keep in mind that 11A1s is no guarantee for a scholarship. It just puts you in a nice juicy spot for a scholarship, but as with everything, there is no guarantee. The other three factors that determine whether you receive a scholarship or not is luck, your performance in interview and the thickness of your 'cable' with the big shots in our country. ;)

CurbsideProphet
12-02-2009, 02:15 AM
It shows, that you excelled at exams in our education system.
Everything else you think it proves, is theoretical. :D

It's the same as IQ tests. It doesn't really evaluate your IQ, it evaluates your ability to do IQ tests.

Don't let it bog you down too much when you don't get plenty, nor get too inflated when you do.

DoomScythe
12-02-2009, 03:23 AM
It shows, that you excelled at exams in our education system.
Everything else you think it proves, is theoretical. :D

The obvious implication of your statement would be that:

1. Scholarship holders excelled at obtaining scholarships. Everything else that is being thought about them being either good in interview, lucky, intelligent, studious, hardworking are theoretical.

2. CEOs of large multinational companies excelled at corporate ladder climbing. Everything else about what their subordinates, shareholders and BoDs think about them being responsible, good in decision making, great negotiators, etc are theoretical.

3. Presidents / Prime ministers excelled in the political system of their respective countries. Everything else about them being either good leaders, great public speakers, wise, responsible, respectable, etc are theoretical.

;)

12-02-2009, 07:32 AM
At first I thought scoring 15A1s or lots of A1's doesn't really prove how brilliant a person is. however, after meeting a friend who is under a Bank Negara scholarship, my perception towards these special group of people changed. I realise that they are extremely smart. Imagine, my housemate(scoring 15A1) masters English,BM,Chinese,Japanese and is now learning Korean. I first try to deny he is not really that good but later on i realise, though he don't take further mathematics in CAL, he i sable to solve it like piece of cake.. so does many A1's matter. YES it does. It quantifies your true capabilities and capacity to be able to learn more than others and that is certainly something different. Cheers for the good results mate!

CurbsideProphet
12-02-2009, 08:05 AM
LOL @<hidden> DoomScythe -

I actually agree with all 3 statements you come up with (except the first, because you included lucky, it is either all of the rest, or they were generously lucky)! Hahahha. Perhaps, theoretical is the wrong word. But we do tend to over stereotype people. I'm trying to say that by being/getting to be a scholarship holder, a CEO, or a president doesn't imply directly that you are good at the things that CEOs, scholarship holders or presidents are good at, and by not being a CEO, scholarship holder or president does not imply necessarily that you are a lousy whatever it is. I am sure you can name a whole lot of people who you feel were lousy at their jobs whilst still getting there, & vice versa. Do I even have to mention a certain former president?

And just because they're there - we shouldn't be overly keen to blow their trumpets. Do it for who they are as a person and what they stand for, not for their title, uniform, or grades. That is one facade in a multitude.

So what I am trying to get at is, there is more to life than how many As you get! Please don't get too hung up on the fact that you did or did not achieve whatever it is!

I have a friend here whom cannot do algebra maths to save his life. Failed it 3 times in his degree course. Didn't do very well for his A-levels. So? He is excellent oratorically, & strangely, is a whiz at Excel, programs, active committee person, & has one of the most logical minds in the class. I am willing to bet you he will be a success in life despite earning 3Cs and a B.

CCY_to_the_top
12-02-2009, 03:31 PM
hei..i realise that actually *normally* the 15A1 is better than a 10A1..sriously..1st, studying 15 is not easy..try it 1st before you say anything...i took 14 and its quite time consuming for me, even though the sub is quite simple, u still have to spend time for it...

and normally the 15A1 will be smarter because they know what the government is looking for..they know the way to be kiasu and fight for the scholarship..however, the 10A1 will never care about obtaining a scholarship...they are literally *stupid* since they are still not open minded and learned that what JPA wants is more A1..so...dont say that 10A1 is better than 15A1..for some case, yes..but most of the case, those who took up 15 subject and score straight A for it, i salute him/her..he must be good to have the courage..

DoomScythe
12-02-2009, 05:48 PM
LOL @<hidden> DoomScythe -

I actually agree with all 3 statements you come up with (except the first, because you included lucky, it is either all of the rest, or they were generously lucky)! Hahahha. Perhaps, theoretical is the wrong word. But we do tend to over stereotype people. I'm trying to say that by being/getting to be a scholarship holder, a CEO, or a president doesn't imply directly that you are good at the things that CEOs, scholarship holders or presidents are good at, and by not being a CEO, scholarship holder or president does not imply necessarily that you are a lousy whatever it is. I am sure you can name a whole lot of people who you feel were lousy at their jobs whilst still getting there, & vice versa. Do I even have to mention a certain former president?

And just because they're there - we shouldn't be overly keen to blow their trumpets. Do it for who they are as a person and what they stand for, not for their title, uniform, or grades. That is one facade in a multitude.

So what I am trying to get at is, there is more to life than how many As you get! Please don't get too hung up on the fact that you did or did not achieve whatever it is!

I have a friend here whom cannot do algebra maths to save his life. Failed it 3 times in his degree course. Didn't do very well for his A-levels. So? He is excellent oratorically, & strangely, is a whiz at Excel, programs, active committee person, & has one of the most logical minds in the class. I am willing to bet you he will be a success in life despite earning 3Cs and a B.

I really think you're actually missing the point that I'm trying to tell you. I know what you're trying to say. Titles and achievements is not an absolute judge of how good a person is. But please do remember that it is actually a proxy to measure a capability of a person. Titles and achievements also serve as a recognition to his / her ability in certain things.

Sure, there are some who obtained a title but are not really fit to own it. But lets face it, that particular individual has to have a way to get the title. Perhaps it is through connections, or through cheating, or through luck or whatever reasons you could think of. No matter what, the person DID put some effort into getting the title. Whether the effort put into it is actually fair or not is another matter. Whether the person did it morally and ethically or not is another matter.

But I would always like to give people the benefit of the doubt. If they did well in something, then perhaps they are really good at it. I don't fall on my knees and worship them like a god, no. I respect them for having the courage to have the determination to succeed. Until proven wrong, I will hold such a belief.

The reason I posted such a statement is to motivate people to succeed and aim for their best. Most people are told that As don't really matter and all, but in actuality, they do. Not as much as those big headed top scorers would like it to be, neither as little as what those sour grapes said.

hei..i realise that actually *normally* the 15A1 is better than a 10A1..sriously..1st, studying 15 is not easy..try it 1st before you say anything...i took 14 and its quite time consuming for me, even though the sub is quite simple, u still have to spend time for it...

and normally the 15A1 will be smarter because they know what the government is looking for..they know the way to be kiasu and fight for the scholarship..however, the 10A1 will never care about obtaining a scholarship...they are literally *stupid* since they are still not open minded and learned that what JPA wants is more A1..so...dont say that 10A1 is better than 15A1..for some case, yes..but most of the case, those who took up 15 subject and score straight A for it, i salute him/her..he must be good to have the courage..

The way I look at it, anything above 10A1s is a show-off. As said before, I'm in the opinion of doing what you school wants you to do, and spend the rest of your time in romance, extra co-curicular activities, hangouts with friends, doing stupid things once in a while, read the newspaper and all other things that matter in life. You said it yourself, 14 subjects IS time consuming.

I'm willing to be my money on that half of those who have 10A1s would also be able to achieve 14A1s, if they do less of their other activities. It's a matter of balance and choice really. If you want the 14A1s, then you will have less of other things. Having said that, I do commend you on having the courage to take up 14 subjects. But please don't be too sure that those who have 10A1s are worse off, just because they didn't take more doesn't mean are not as smart. :)

As for your statement that JPAs wants more A1s, not really. As long as you have 10 A1s, you stand an equal opportunity as the rest. At least this is how it was a few years ago. Things might have changed, but I doubt so. JPA values your other nonsense, such as co-cos.

12-02-2009, 06:38 PM
At first I thought scoring 15A1s or lots of A1's doesn't really prove how brilliant a person is. however, after meeting a friend who is under a Bank Negara scholarship, my perception towards these special group of people changed. I realise that they are extremely smart. Imagine, my housemate(scoring 15A1) masters English,BM,Chinese,Japanese and is now learning Korean. I first try to deny he is not really that good but later on i realise, though he don't take further mathematics in CAL, he i sable to solve it like piece of cake.. so does many A1's matter. YES it does. It quantifies your true capabilities and capacity to be able to learn more than others and that is certainly something different. Cheers for the good results mate!
A ==> B does not necessarily imply B ==> A (or, hence, B <==> A). :P

What I meant is, just because some N-A1-er you meet are truly smart doesn't mean that all N-A1-ers are smart, or that all smart people will get N-A1.

Of course we all know that nothing is a perfect yardstick for one's academic aptitude (which itself is hard to define anyway). Even in countries with "better" education systems like US, Australia etc, you won't expect every single smart guy to get good results; and not everyone with great results are genuinely excellent.

Note that the question IS NOT whether exam results are a yardstick AT ALL - of course to some extent it is, or else why do we bother doing it at all. The question to ask , however, is how well a yardstick our exams are of one's academic aptitude. And in the context of this thread, how well is the number of A1 a direct correlation of one's aptitude. And I maintain that it's not very good a yardstick at all, and many genuine talents are being neglected simply due to their taking up less subjects than the others.

At the end of the day, I am just lamenting the obsession of our country at the number of A1 instead of the quality of each particular A1. Yes many of the N-A1-ers are genuinely excellent students in all aspects; but as we indulge in the rat race of numbers, I fear that we will lose our perspective in what the society collectively really needs. We need quality, we need productivity, we need creativity. The N-A1 phenomenon discourages all that, and that's my long story cut short.

CurbsideProphet
12-02-2009, 10:29 PM
LOL I'm trying to say what youngyew has just said in such simple and well constructed way.

I do agree, it is a 'wow' even to me how some people can achieve 14A1s. I am meagre in every aspect. I certainly don't mean to say that 14A1s don't mean anything. But I've come a long way from where I was when I just finished my exams, & I can now tell you with every pore in my skin that our mentality of 'dooming' youth that are less proficient in our exam system is completely and utterly baseless. & that is because I've met a lot of extraordinary people here that fall in the lacklustre academic pool, but are so good at what they do despite.

And I say 'dooming' in inverted commas, because in a sense it is good for them to be somewhat 'doomed', because they learn to pick up things in different ways.

But I do, like youngyew, wish, that we as a country had a more open minded view on education, & what success really is.

Being in the UK, for me at least, sort of opens your mind to these things. Things seem more... possible. My peers, from what I remember, were so hung up about their grades, but a lot of them don't have a sense of what else is achievable other than the scholarship and the good job that lies ahead. They don't feel like they could write a breakthrough novel, discover a new species, make something that the world needs, or you know. Change the course of history. I didn't feel like that was their priority. Their priority was, get a good grade, get a scholarship, get a degree, get a good job. And this, to me, is damning.

Youth here, they have the same hangovers. Get a good paying job, get a house, etc. But most of them don't judge people on grades, they judge people on how they do things. On how well a particular presentation went. On how the business plan made sense. On their willingness to help. The depth of thought. The ability to drink despicable amounts of lager.

Prod them deeper and you will see that almost each and every one of them have a sense of belief that they can one day make something bigger than themselves.

& this is what I want the youth of today, & our government to support, & to feel. How many A1s you have is only 1 yardstick, in a huge selection of yardsticks. Sure, it is one way. But if it isn't for you, there are other ways.

My grammar nazi forced me to edit :/

12-02-2009, 11:09 PM
At the end of the day, I am just lamenting the obsession of our country at the number of A1 instead of the quality of each particular A1. Yes many of the N-A1-ers are genuinely excellent students in all aspects; but as we indulge in the rat race of numbers, I fear that we will lose our perspective in what the society collectively really needs. We need quality, we need productivity, we need creativity. The N-A1 phenomenon discourages all that, and that's my long story cut short.

Well, to me, to some it's an obsession but there are those who are really able to score lots and lots of A1's. Since u r able to do so, y not do it??

For the statement saying that 10 A1's can score 14 A1's I don't think it's fair for u to say that. No doubt if u were to take art subjects u r bound to get A1 in it since the standard is quite low especially for science students. However, it's not like u can get A1 without studying it at all. Take ekonomi asas, Prinsip perakaunan, geografi, all these subjects still needs reading in it.

CCY_to_the_top
12-02-2009, 11:45 PM
ya..even though it may be comparatively easy, but u still need study..

some of u guys dont get the point..im just trying to be practical..i took 14 because if u get 14A1, u will stand 100x better chances than a 10A1 in securing JPA..im just being practical, not that i say that 10A1 student cant get 14A1..they just dont look at the whole picture considering the racial political bla bla bla issue...

DoomScythe
12-02-2009, 11:51 PM
Well, to me, to some it's an obsession but there are those who are really able to score lots and lots of A1's. Since u r able to do so, y not do it??

For the statement saying that 10 A1's can score 14 A1's I don't think it's fair for u to say that. No doubt if u were to take art subjects u r bound to get A1 in it since the standard is quite low especially for science students. However, it's not like u can get A1 without studying it at all. Take ekonomi asas, Prinsip perakaunan, geografi, all these subjects still needs reading in it.

Well said, if you're able to do it, why not do it.

Let me give you a little perspective into the amount of time required for Arts stream subjects. My friend covered Geography in literally 3 days. He got an A1 for it. Ekonomi Asas is in fact easier, from what I was told. If you're talented in drawing, you have a bonus in Pendidikan Seni. Throw in another subject called Sains which is intended for Art Stream students and you get 3 'bonus' A1. Does those really mean anything beyond another weeks amount of work?

CCY_to_the_top
13-02-2009, 12:42 AM
Doom Scythe did u try it??

i can tell you that Sc is easy, but u cant do it a week before hand..u need practice to familiarize with the questions..and Perdangagan is hard..it need a lot of memorizing, its like 1/2 of Sej...Geo i cnt comment because i din take it...for econs, yes, it is easy, form4 text is repeating the same demand and supply thing, but form5 ,u need some memorizing..and its not last minute work too...account need consistent work, if you ask me..it is easy, and also hard if u dont know what is the format..btw, since last year, account standard has increased drastically..

plz dont comment on smthg that you are ignorant with...no offence..

duke23
13-02-2009, 12:48 AM
m y friend got 14 a1's and an a2 for econs..what say u?
geo in 3 days=ridiculous.kiasu ppl always lie.dont trust them

DoomScythe
13-02-2009, 05:18 AM
No, I did not try it. I thought I said it from the beginning that I took what my school provides at the advice of my principal.

Now, I don't know about Perdagangan. But I stand with what I said about the 3 subjects that I knew. Geography, well, two of my friends did it and they told me they could do it in 3 days. Both scored A1s in them. Now, before you lambast me, let me tell you this. I don't mean to blow my own trumpet, but I have consistently scored the highest (or at least top 3) in Geography in Form 1 to Form 3. Given my friend is my classmate, it stand to reason that if they could do it in 3 days, I think I should too, and by that virtue, others could possibly do it in that time too. So, sorry to disappoint, but I do know what I'm talking about.

Arts..... I don't need to say anything more about that, I suppose.

Ekonomi Asas. Had another friend who told me he could do it in a week. Said it was basically a quarter of what we studied in International Baccalaureate over the span of 2 years. Just needed general knowledge and keeping in tab with what's going on the outside world.

Sains? I didn't do it, but I looked at the paper before. It's simple for someone who is in the Science stream. Come on, if you could score in the 3 divisions of science, Sains is gonna be really easy.

@<hidden>
I don't know about you, but I have no reason to lie at all. But of course, it's your call whether to trust what I said. And about me being kiasu, that would be a correct label for me IF I took 14 subjects back then. Too bad I didn't. Perhaps the adjective you're searching for is jealous. ;)

13-02-2009, 05:39 AM
I guess it's important to clarify that when I say I do not endorse the A1 rat race, I am not making it personal against anyone who took up a large number of subjects. As mentioned the circumstance pushes many of us into taking more than we need to show our worth, and what most people are doing is quite understandable. In fact if I were to take SPM now I guess I would also be taking up some 14 subjects.

DoomScythe
13-02-2009, 06:08 AM
I suppose you're right. It's getting harder to discriminate the excellent from the good. Bagging more A1s is one of the ways to be ahead. But then again, I guess it's all about what you want out of it at the end.

duke23
13-02-2009, 07:03 AM
No, I did not try it. I thought I said it from the beginning that I took what my school provides at the advice of my principal.

Now, I don't know about Perdagangan. But I stand with what I said about the 3 subjects that I knew. Geography, well, two of my friends did it and they told me they could do it in 3 days. Both scored A1s in them. Now, before you lambast me, let me tell you this. I don't mean to blow my own trumpet, but I have consistently scored the highest (or at least top 3) in Geography in Form 1 to Form 3. Given my friend is my classmate, it stand to reason that if they could do it in 3 days, I think I should too, and by that virtue, others could possibly do it in that time too. So, sorry to disappoint, but I do know what I'm talking about.

Arts..... I don't need to say anything more about that, I suppose.

Ekonomi Asas. Had another friend who told me he could do it in a week. Said it was basically a quarter of what we studied in International Baccalaureate over the span of 2 years. Just needed general knowledge and keeping in tab with what's going on the outside world.

Sains? I didn't do it, but I looked at the paper before. It's simple for someone who is in the Science stream. Come on, if you could score in the 3 divisions of science, Sains is gonna be really easy.

@<hidden>
I don't know about you, but I have no reason to lie at all. But of course, it's your call whether to trust what I said. And about me being kiasu, that would be a correct label for me IF I took 14 subjects back then. Too bad I didn't. Perhaps the adjective you're searching for is jealous. ;)

I wasn't referring to you when i said kiasu ppl always lie.I've heard of this study 3 days,1 week scoring a1 thingy..and i think they are just trying to show they are really smart by grasping the subject matter in such a short span of time.

Dont worry im not jealous/anything to that effect.No reason to be.

bluez_aspic
13-02-2009, 07:09 AM
A ==> B does not necessarily imply B ==> A (or, hence, B <==> A). :P

What I meant is, just because some N-A1-er you meet are truly smart doesn't mean that all N-A1-ers are smart, or that all smart people will get N-A1.

Of course we all know that nothing is a perfect yardstick for one's academic aptitude (which itself is hard to define anyway). Even in countries with "better" education systems like US, Australia etc, you won't expect every single smart guy to get good results; and not everyone with great results are genuinely excellent.

Note that the question IS NOT whether exam results are a yardstick AT ALL - of course to some extent it is, or else why do we bother doing it at all. The question to ask , however, is how well a yardstick our exams are of one's academic aptitude. And in the context of this thread, how well is the number of A1 a direct correlation of one's aptitude. And I maintain that it's not very good a yardstick at all, and many genuine talents are being neglected simply due to their taking up less subjects than the others.

I'd even go as far as to say that this N-A1 obsession actually stunts academic development (to prove my point compare the top 5% of M'sian students vs. US/UK/Aussie students). Exams are there to test an individual's grasp of the material; to turn it into a meaningless, petty competition between peers simply misses the point.

But society tells you that you need A's, big car, big house, a Dr title, a Dato'ship etc. before you are entitled to some sense of worth (even if you don't really want any of these things). It's like comparing dick lengths, so among my friends we dub them dick enhancement activities.

I think it takes real courage to live life as you see fit - to pursue what you want, to uphold your ideals, to live by your principles, etc.

To co-operate is better than to compete against one another too :cool:

DoomScythe
13-02-2009, 07:34 AM
I wasn't referring to you when i said kiasu ppl always lie.I've heard of this study 3 days,1 week scoring a1 thingy..and i think they are just trying to show they are really smart by grasping the subject matter in such a short span of time.

Not sure about the rest of the subjects really, but the 3 days for Geography is, quite believable. Both of my friends told me this before sitting for the paper, so I'm not really sure whethe they had a reason to lie or not. Nevertheless, I understand your point that many people likes to show off, thus making all this claims. But for my (friend's) case, I think I've told you everything. I'll leave the judgement to yourself.

Dont worry im not jealous/anything to that effect.No reason to be.

On this, I really don't remember calling you jealous. ;)

13-02-2009, 07:39 AM
But I stand with what I said about the 3 subjects that I knew. Geography, well, two of my friends did it and they told me they could do it in 3 days. Both scored A1s in them. Now, before you lambast me, let me tell you this. I don't mean to blow my own trumpet, but I have consistently scored the highest (or at least top 3) in Geography in Form 1 to Form 3. Given my friend is my classmate, it stand to reason that if they could do it in 3 days, I think I should too, and by that virtue, others could possibly do it in that time too. So, sorry to disappoint, but I do know what I'm talking about.I have never touched other subjects mentioned above, so I wouldn't comment here, but for Geography, I agree with you. I once took a look at the past year questions, and I can tell that I can answer at least half of the questions with my knowledge that time, so it's possible to score an A1 in 3 days.

CCY_to_the_top
13-02-2009, 05:16 PM

again, im telling you that ekonomi needs reading..READING!! its not about general knowledge..all the Ans is in the txt book..even if they ask you the benifits of saving, the ans is only 4 of them, which are in the txt book...it is NOT using COMMON SENSE to answer the question..and Geo in 3 days is crazy...dont tell me they wait till the last 3 days before SPM only they study...no 1 dare to do that..they might study some of them, but definitely not the last 3 days..3 days is about 10hr reading..5 hr for each year..30min for each chapter..without exercising questions, past years, and bla bla bla...

so, i think it is a make up story for you to condemn people who take geo..saying it is not significant to take up such easy study which only need 3days of reading for a 2 years syllabus...

vikraman
13-02-2009, 09:10 PM
I'd even go as far as to say that this N-A1 obsession actually stunts academic development (to prove my point compare the top 5% of M'sian students vs. US/UK/Aussie students). Exams are there to test an individual's grasp of the material; to turn it into a meaningless, petty competition between peers simply misses the point.

But society tells you that you need A's, big car, big house, a Dr title, a Dato'ship etc. before you are entitled to some sense of worth (even if you don't really want any of these things). It's like comparing dick lengths, so among my friends we dub them dick enhancement activities.

I think it takes real courage to live life as you see fit - to pursue what you want, to uphold your ideals, to live by your principles, etc.

To co-operate is better than to compete against one another too

Total agreement here. Exams are one of the WORST ways to evaluate a person's intellectual ability. That's why US Universities as an example conduct face to face interviews for most if not all admissions. They don't even trust standardised tests completely.

On bluez's point that we live in a acquisitive materialistic society, well it has enabled us to live far more secure and comfortable life then when we lived like cavemen. So perhaps there is some good in it :)

13-02-2009, 11:36 PM
Is it an error of ReCom or what? It seems I can't recall I have ever commented on Ekonomi Asas...

14-02-2009, 12:14 AM
It was originally by DoomScythe. Weird. I think CCY must have copy-and-pasted wrongly.

CCY_to_the_top
14-02-2009, 12:28 AM
erm sorry...i copied n pasted wrongly...sorry...not intended for u...haha...

WilsonCWJ
14-02-2009, 07:35 PM
Having an A1 means that you are above average out of all candidates in a subject. Having a string of A1s means that you are above average in that string of subjects. To make things simple, that is all. It does not show how good you are in those subjects as your percentile is not shown.

Pris-C
14-02-2009, 11:48 PM
In my opinion most A1 is fake it does not realy shows that u are good. You can just throw a stone on a street and hit some one with a lot of A1s. For me all my subject that i got B4 & B3 in trial turn A1. Is it a miracle or what??

chongkeat
15-02-2009, 01:55 PM
Having an A1 means that you are above average out of all candidates in a subject. Having a string of A1s means that you are above average in that string of subjects.
Not when half of all the candidates got an A1.

IMHO, getting an A1 just means that the standard of the exam is too low.

Koschei
15-02-2009, 04:54 PM
How do you know that half of the candidates got an A1?

I do agree that A1s aren't worth much nowadays, though. People who got A1s for the sciences struggle to do A2 Level/IB HL sciences. If that in itself doesn't ring alarm bells, I don't know what will.

chongkeat
15-02-2009, 05:19 PM
How do you know that half of the candidates got an A1?
Sorry, I go a little crazy sometimes.

It's a hyperbole.

But I don't think that's too far from the truth, though, especially when you take into account the lame subjects like Math or English (not the 1119 version).

16-02-2009, 12:57 AM
It's not surprising if half of the students get A1 for Maths, at least it happens in my school, and my school isn't a premier school, I would expect up to 90% in premier schools...

WilsonCWJ
16-02-2009, 06:07 AM
Sorry, I go a little crazy sometimes.

It's a hyperbole.

But I don't think that's too far from the truth, though, especially when you take into account the lame subjects like Math or English (not the 1119 version).

Which is why i used the term above average.. better than half of the population...

DoomScythe
16-02-2009, 08:45 PM
Lol, good comic strip bluez. This is so true.

skatemusicianer
17-02-2009, 07:28 PM
I don't know if anyone has said this in previous replies (I haven't been here in ages) but A1s are like nothing when you hit college age. No one cares, really. You'll come to realise that what makes a good student, or even a achieving person in general, is their communication skills, their personality, their values, their motivation.

chongkeat
17-02-2009, 10:22 PM
I don't know if anyone has said this in previous replies (I haven't been here in ages) but A1s are like nothing when you hit college age. No one cares, really.
Of course it doesn't show anything, but it sure does offer you something of a head start in life i.e. which college/university are you going to etc.

In short, a necessary evil.

18-02-2009, 10:33 AM
I don't know if anyone has said this in previous replies (I haven't been here in ages) but A1s are like nothing when you hit college age. No one cares, really. You'll come to realise that what makes a good student, or even a achieving person in general, is their communication skills, their personality, their values, their motivation.

Not unless you got an A1 for Bahasa Cina! :D

chongkeat
18-02-2009, 03:04 PM
Not unless you got an A1 for Bahasa Cina!
Oh, yeah, I forgot.

Yup, only geniuses get an A1 for Cina! Damn, it sure did crushed the hope of many a straight-A1 hopefuls, though.

dya_me
18-02-2009, 09:41 PM

its true...nobody will ask ur spm results...spm can't really guarantee ur success...the most important is determination that will lead u to the real success in life...string of A1 doesn't mean u will do well after spm n those who got less A's doesn't mean no more bright future after this....:amuse

chongkeat
18-02-2009, 10:20 PM
its true...nobody will ask ur spm results...spm can't really guarantee ur success...the most important is determination that will lead u to the real success in life...string of A1 doesn't mean u will do well after spm n those who got less A's doesn't mean no more bright future after this....
Yeah, but getting straight As will give you a head start in life, by giving you a better choice of further education. (Most of the time, anyway.)

Besides, getting As wouldn't hurt. Though it's not the end of the world if you don't get strings of As, of course, like you said. They're bragging rights, at most, after the "college" stage.

CCY_to_the_top
18-02-2009, 11:16 PM
the point is, with more As, you got more chances...the point is not about how smart u are..

19-02-2009, 11:03 AM
the point is, with more As, you got more chances...the point is not about how smart u are..

Sadly, this is the truth.

dya_me
19-02-2009, 11:17 AM
Sadly, this is the truth.

should our education system be changed then?balancing the teaching of skills with theory should be good...

markwongsk
06-03-2009, 01:47 PM
Oh, yeah, I forgot.

Yup, only geniuses get an A1 for Cina! Damn, it sure did crushed the hope of many a straight-A1 hopefuls, though.

Not true. I got A1 and I was just lucky. And my friend got A1 for Chinese and A2 for EST. But yeah, Chinese is difficult to get A1. Good luck to all Chinese taking Chinese (LOL). Never give up!!! Chinese is after all, our mother tongue

Athersin
06-03-2009, 04:14 PM
it didnt show anything, just like me 11A1, at last grant nothing.........

eugenetoh91
06-03-2009, 06:35 PM
strings or bunch of A1s indeed doesnt mean anything..it just means that you are hardworking and great in studying. this is what we must admit. success is in the eye of the beholder.(simply changed it). everyone sees success in different opinions and directions. and as for me,a realistic person. i see success as how wealthy you are. some people may think that a politician is a success person, some people may think that a scholar is a success person. those examples that i showed to you are in terms of career. let us shan't be swayed to success in terms of family, love, health those things. if and only if a person is able to use his or hers brain to earn exorbitantly lots of money legally. then, i shall call this person as a success person, IN TERMS of the capability of making money. on the contrary, if this person is willing to spend his or hers money in giving education to the people who are in need, without having wanting any contribution from them. then, i shall honour this person as the true success mankind. and also, this is my dream too. i know there are many people out there who scores staight A1s but got no scholarship to further their studies in the end, and im fervently empathy those students. actually, we may say that score straight A1s doesnt mean anything. but that is also a false statement. if a person can really score staight A1, this person must have really made his or hers efforts and contributed many time in studying well, just to score staight A1. if this person has gone to the society, he or she will do the job very well, and this person is the creme de la creme of the society. ofcourse, im not talking about personal characteristics now. as everyone knows, study for SPM really needs diligence and hard working. if a person cant just contribution the time to just study, what else you would expect this person can do in the future?? maybe you are going to tell me that, some students really cant study. what do you mean by cant study?? only if you are hardworking, im sure that no matter what kind of brain you were born to have, YOU CAN DO IT!!! so, gambate everyone!!!

Athersin
06-03-2009, 10:09 PM
I am kinda being sympathised by almost all of my classmate..Reminisce the time when i was always top in watever academis competitions in my secondary school..But my other classmates who score less A1 than i, say 8A1, they too secure scholarships, JPA to study overseas..What a pathetic fate that i have!:cry i work hard for everthing and in return i end up in local uni...I shudnt let off my overseas dream, thinking of taking master overseas later..HOPEFULLY!

Anyway, i wouldnt let it be my life long obstacles, i would always be tough to realise my own dreams...THose who are the same fate as i , i kindly encourages u all to study and do the best in watever u r in now. ROCKS!

markwongsk
06-03-2009, 11:34 PM
it didnt show anything, just like me 11A1, at last grant nothing.........

I got 13 and I am not complaining :amuse Let's enjoy what we have rather than lament about what we don't +u+u athersin!!

joyce91
21-03-2009, 10:36 PM
Not true. I got A1 and I was just lucky. And my friend got A1 for Chinese and A2 for EST. But yeah, Chinese is difficult to get A1. Good luck to all Chinese taking Chinese (LOL). Never give up!!! Chinese is after all, our mother tongue
i agreed with u.i gt A1 in chinese.another 3 of my friends also gt it and v're the record holder of my SMK .Im really thankful to my chinese teacher since they need to stay over even after school hours to teach us :confettibacause v hv only 2 periods(1hrs30mins) once a week.:wtf

22-03-2009, 11:28 AM
Hrmm... Every year I look at the news, it seems that it is easier and easier to get A1s. In my time, a student who can get aggregate 6 unit is considered the best. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that lots of A1 = useless. Its shows effort at a young age. However, lots of A1 in SPM != success in life. Neither is getting JPA scholarship = success in life.

I'm speaking from someone who has been out of high school for nearly 10 years. During my high school time, I definitely was not one of the high scorers, though i did OK. I did not even manage to get 9A1. There were at least 10 of my classmates who got 9A1 or more, and many secured scholarships. I was happy for them, and did not care too much about what happened around me as I did secure scholarships from US universities for my bachelors degree and grad school.

I was also the first from my high school class to graduate from my bachelors degree, and managed to finish my Ph.D at 25. I'm not bragging, but I'd like to let all of you know that not getting scholarships or anything else early in life does not mean you are screwed for the rest of your life. You can still succeed in life. Walls are there for a reason. They make you realize how much you want things, and also let you know what you really want in life. Look at yourself now. You will definitely see a different person 10 years later. Whether that person is successful or not depends entirely on you making the right bets in life, with the cards you are dealt.

ninjamole89
22-03-2009, 12:09 PM
Hmm....I think that.............the only people in your life that would ever give a damn about your SPM results are........................your aunties and uncles ~! Sheesh~! *laughs* XD

hrixenz
04-04-2009, 09:02 AM
Hmm....I think that.............the only people in your life that would ever give a damn about your SPM results are........................your aunties and uncles ~! Sheesh~! *laughs* XD

haha true..like my friend,his uncles called him first to ask before his parents did..:P

anyway,lots of a1s does show something..it shows that the student had put much effort in getting the result..and more chances in securing a scholarship too..

04-04-2009, 04:56 PM
anyway,lots of a1s does show something..it shows that the student had put much effort in getting the result..and more chances in securing a scholarship too..

Yeah, even though there are about 1600+ students who got straight A1s and 6000+ straight As students for SPM 2008, compare that figure with over 400000+ candidates; barely 1% of the total got straight A1s and a little more than 1.5% got straight As. It's just the mass media that's making a huge hoo-ha over the top scorers that it seems like everyone's getting straight As already.

04-04-2009, 05:30 PM
Yeah, even though there are about 1600+ students who got straight A1s and 6000+ straight As students for SPM 2008, compare that figure with over 400000+ candidates; barely 1% of the total got straight A1s and a little more than 1.5% got straight As. It's just the mass media that's making a huge hoo-ha over the top scorers that it seems like everyone's getting straight As already.
I guess the main problem here is not just the absolute number of straight-A and straight-A1 scorers. What we are worried about is the fact that people with lousy english / maths / science / any other subject is being given A1 and feel that he's adequately prepared for the real world. What we are worried about, is that both brilliant and mediocre students are getting straight A1s, and the real brilliant students no longer have the means to prove their worth except to cheaply pursue more subjects he or she really needs.

04-04-2009, 05:39 PM
Hrmm... Every year I look at the news, it seems that it is easier and easier to get A1s. In my time, a student who can get aggregate 6 unit is considered the best. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that lots of A1 = useless. Its shows effort at a young age. However, lots of A1 in SPM != success in life. Neither is getting JPA scholarship = success in life.

I'm speaking from someone who has been out of high school for nearly 10 years. During my high school time, I definitely was not one of the high scorers, though i did OK. I did not even manage to get 9A1. There were at least 10 of my classmates who got 9A1 or more, and many secured scholarships. I was happy for them, and did not care too much about what happened around me as I did secure scholarships from US universities for my bachelors degree and grad school.

I was also the first from my high school class to graduate from my bachelors degree, and managed to finish my Ph.D at 25. I'm not bragging, but I'd like to let all of you know that not getting scholarships or anything else early in life does not mean you are screwed for the rest of your life. You can still succeed in life. Walls are there for a reason. They make you realize how much you want things, and also let you know what you really want in life. Look at yourself now. You will definitely see a different person 10 years later. Whether that person is successful or not depends entirely on you making the right bets in life, with the cards you are dealt.

Yes, i agree with you. I have a cousin who got like only 5 As in spm and now working overseas with 5 figure salary. School is only an episode in one's life and doesnt mean you're a failure for entire lifetime.

Getting a string of As doesnt really mean anything. So...okay you're pretty smart.... But smart does not mean you're a good human being. I mean, i think that's the most important thing to me. I have friends who are wonderful people; its just dat they are not academically inclined. On the other hand, I have friends who are really smart and gets top everytime but they refuse to share their knowledge.

So what i'm trying to say is, what's inside u is more important than what's on a piece of paper.

JenJen
23-04-2009, 09:04 AM
I would like to share some of my opinions as i stumbled across this topic...

Getting straight A1 in SPM, no matter how many A1s u get, MEANS NOTHING!!!! So you get 16 A1s, is it because you work yourself to death? No! Is it because you are a genius? NO! It's because you're living in a high standard school with LOTS of trained teachers to give you the marking scheme of SPM! And guess what? Do you think these students study alone? Nope, they pay good money for tuitions, SKOR A camps, Adabi books and such...

Some schools even brought in the previous marker of *blank blank blank* school to give some TIPS on how to score.

And guess what? Some of my classmates WHOM are too lazy to study but aiming high for their parents actually CHEATED on the exam, WITH the help of the SPM pegawai. Dunno how, dunno why, but they did.

Furthermore, the exam grade system, they purposely lower the standard of such such subjects so that they can make it look like Malaysia is cultivating a troop of genius scholars. For your information, some of my classmates who usually score 60++ in all the exams (including trial) can get staright As! Does that mean they're smart? Nope, just lucky ppl ==

Conclusion is, SPM does not determine who is the better than the other, it's just a system to tell students, friends and family to "invest" in these tuition and such.

Take adik Nik for instance, she comes from a poor family but she work hard on herself (FYI: no tuition, no scheme or whatever), just her and her dreams, she can get 19As!! Now that's talent =)

kid
23-04-2009, 09:21 AM
Furthermore, the exam grade system, they purposely lower the standard of such such subjects so that they can make it look like Malaysia is cultivating a troop of genius scholars. For your information, some of my classmates who usually score 60++ in all the exams (including trial) can get staright As! Does that mean they're smart? Nope, just lucky ppl ==

Take adik Nik for instance, she comes from a poor family but she work hard on herself (FYI: no tuition, no scheme or whatever), just her and her dreams, she can get 19As!! Now that's talent =)

i agree wit u..

JenJen
23-04-2009, 09:31 AM
:)) We need to relive this topic, haha

Anyways, while looking at the previous entries, i must say that many agree and many don't agree with the system of SPM.

We should standardise SPM, given that we must score 80++ WITHOUT changing the grading mark. Furthermore, the exam papers should make it more challenging instead of taking questions from other trial papers. Take this for instance, for biology, how can they ask such simple question if they want to produce high quality doctor-to-be? What is the name of non-identical twins? OMG, even a preschoolar knows that ==||

And you should see the grade difference between English and English 1119. My friends got A1 for normal english, but 5C in English 1119... OMG x infinity.

See the difference? :P

Trekk
23-04-2009, 09:34 AM

LOL! Good one!

I guess the main problem here is not just the absolute number of straight-A and straight-A1 scorers. What we are worried about is the fact that people with lousy english / maths / science / any other subject is being given A1 and feel that he's adequately prepared for the real world. What we are worried about, is that both brilliant and mediocre students are getting straight A1s, and the real brilliant students no longer have the means to prove their worth except to cheaply pursue more subjects he or she really needs.

Exactly. And you can see just how "high" our SPM standard is by looking at the grades given for the English paper. At the back of the SPM cert they claim that the standard is as high as the GCE O-Levels, but you look at the grades given and you know already. I had friends who got A1 for SPM, and C for 1119.. =.="

BUT, taking nothing away from all those who scored straight A's. Congrats to you. You achieved what I didn't. :)

Omg JenJen we may have the same friend :P haha

eve88
23-04-2009, 09:41 AM
You can't really generalize the lack in standards in one paper to the whole SPM. And 1119 is purely based on the essay --> if what you claim is correct, 60% could be almost entirely from the non-essay parts and the guy would get A in SPM and C5 in 1119.

Comparatively, I think SPM still holds its own against O Levels as far as knowledge (Science stream) is concerned. I say this because people with fairly decent grades seem to have a painless transition into A Levels. Since A Levels require O levels (or equivalent) as a prerequisite, it shows that SPM is equivalent to O levels... or these students wont be able to cope.

JenJen
23-04-2009, 09:50 AM
Lol, Trekk, we DO have the same friend!! xD Trekk, what's next for u after SPM?

the last dusun
23-04-2009, 09:56 AM
Yes.....i do concur that success in life is not governed by SPM results only...... Getting straight As does not teach us to be a humble being, instead, it teaches us otherwise...... mere academic achievements is not enough.....

Athersin
23-04-2009, 10:02 AM
all rounded person should always be streesed on by our new education minister Tan Sri Muhyyiddin yassin. :)
he is a good english speaker .hopefully our education standard would be raised upon his reign:)
My opinion is that the examination system need to be leak proof and tampered proof. Quality must be upheld even if it means that it is an unpopular move. If you no good or failed, you need to be kick out and not rewarded.

JenJen
23-04-2009, 10:10 AM
You can't really generalize the lack in standards in one paper to the whole SPM. And 1119 is purely based on the essay --> if what you claim is correct, 60% could be almost entirely from the non-essay parts and the guy would get A in SPM and C5 in 1119.

Comparatively, I think SPM still holds its own against O Levels as far as knowledge (Science stream) is concerned. I say this because people with fairly decent grades seem to have a painless transition into A Levels. Since A Levels require O levels (or equivalent) as a prerequisite, it shows that SPM is equivalent to O levels... or these students wont be able to cope.

If 1119 is purely based on the essay, those who fail in getting good results indicate that they have poor communication skill, bad grammar usage, lack of ideas and maturity... I'm not saying that O level is so much better than SPM, but we need to rethink of the grading system, changing it so that it'll cultivate great thinkers and not indulging in answering techniques.

eve88
23-04-2009, 10:35 AM
I highly doubt that *any* examination system will be able to produce great thinkers ... and thats not the point of exams anyhow... the point is to access skill/knowledge levels.

I'm not saying there are no problems with the grading system - there are! But as a whole, people who pass/do well in SPM has sufficient grounding to continue the subject at PreU level or foundation level.

As for answering techniques -- the marking scheme exists in such a way to 'standardize' the award of marks. Without a clear marking scheme, the possibilities of bias are too high to be ignored... but that unfortunately leads to students resorting to using answering techniques as a shortcut, instead of fully understanding the concepts involved. Its a trade-off. And one I'm not qualified to comment on... there are numerous journal articles analyzing the different examination formats, if you're interested.

JenJen
23-04-2009, 10:45 AM
I highly doubt that *any* examination system will be able to produce great thinkers ... and thats not the point of exams anyhow... the point is to access skill/knowledge levels.

I'm not saying there are no problems with the grading system - there are! But as a whole, people who pass/do well in SPM has sufficient grounding to continue the subject at PreU level or foundation level.

As for answering techniques -- the marking scheme exists in such a way to 'standardize' the award of marks. Without a clear marking scheme, the possibilities of bias are too high to be ignored... but that unfortunately leads to students resorting to using answering techniques as a shortcut, instead of fully understanding the concepts involved. Its a trade-off. And one I'm not qualified to comment on... there are numerous journal articles analyzing the different examination formats, if you're interested.

THANK YOU!! That's what i'm searching for, no exam system can produce great thinker!

And regarding the comment on leading to students resorting to using answering techniques as a shortcut, i must agree with you, although the exam system should standardize the mark to obtain As, eg, to get A1 in my school, we must have at least 85%, this way, we can really see who's qualified to get scholarships or not.

eve88
23-04-2009, 11:00 AM
I believe it is much more difficult to standardize results over a number of years (by standardizing i mean ensure that all students will the same grade, no matter when they sat for the exam, has comparable levels of knowledge), instead of just doing the bell-curve plot and setting cut-offs for A (say, top 10%), B ... etc

Most examination systems - i think - uses a hybrid of two systems... There are "baseline standards" for the grades, and then the bell curve is used to "tweak" the results for each year. Or thats my understanding of it, anyhow.

Lots of difficult stats involved..... you need a method to ensure that each year, each paper has the same "spread" of easy --> difficult questions (ie, each year's paper is at the same difficulty level as each other, despite a completely new set of questions), and you need a system to "compensate" for variances in difficulty of the papers (cuz its just about impossible to set 2 papers with exactly the same difficulty) based on the distribution of marks of the students overall ... But hoe can we tell that the year's result is high/low because the year is smart/dumb or the paper is easy/hard [what proportion of the result in that year is due to the paper difficulty and what proportion is due to the yearly student ability?]

........ I really don't know. I'm too much of a laymen to propose improvements to the systems... can't tweak something when I don't know how it works.

angel_tnp29
23-04-2009, 11:08 AM
haha~I thought I am the only one who has a classmate that got A1 in SPM Eng but C5 in 1119...

SPM results can't determine anything. Everything is based on format and marking scheme. Can you imagine that, all my friends who took bible knowledge nearly fail (the highest only got D7). What's wrong with them? They paid a lot of hard work, but I think due to the wrong answering format given by the teacher then they couldn't score it. So what was the problems now?? From my observation, some of the MRSM trial papers wasn't much different with the actual SPM papers. You see, even teachers can predict the pattern of the questions! So I strongly agree if straight A1 mean nothing.

JenJen
23-04-2009, 11:13 AM
haha~I thought I am the only one who has a classmate that got A1 in SPM Eng but C5 in 1119...

SPM results can't determine anything. Everything is based on format and marking scheme. Can you imagine that, all my friends who took bible knowledge nearly fail (the highest only got D7).

Lol, welcome to the club ^^

OMG, i was considering of taking bible knowledge b4, thank god...

inadilemma
23-04-2009, 11:14 AM
i agree that the standard of spm examination should be revised. let put it in these scenarios:

student A studied very diligently to prepare for the examinations, sacrificed his resting time and burnt the midnight oil to revise all the subjects. he aimed for the very best that is straight A1s and hoped to secure a scholarship. finally, his efforts paid off and he managed to achieve what he want with flying colours. all his teachers were very proud of him, because they knew deep down inside that this student had worked extremely hard, judging from his consistent performance in school.

student B took it easy and studied only at the eleventh hour, asking around for tips in spm examinations when he realized he has inadequate time to finish revising. he aimed for only "good results" and also hoped to obtain a scholarship. of course, he too, managed to achieve straight A1s. all his teachers were rather surprised to know that he had done so well when he was always lazing around, sleeping, talking and not concentrating in class.

mind you, this is a real scenario, relating from what my teachers had told me.
What can you conclude about the standard of spm examinations in malaysia?
ITS VERY LOW.

Is it fair for those who really deserve the high mark of A1, say, 90% and those who also get A1 but with a mere low mark of 65%?
NOT FAIR.

from this case, how can we actually differ a smart student from a not-so-smart one?
they are both straight A1s students. but, who is a better achiever? we dont know, they dont know, only the panel who set the passing marks know this hidden truth.

then, how can the reward of scholarships reach students who really qualify?
no wonder, there are discriminations when it comes to the awarding of scholarships which disappoint many high achievers.

well, all i can say is that life is not a bed of roses, its always unfair.

If only our education system is more transparent..............*sigh*...............

JenJen
23-04-2009, 11:26 AM
from this case, how can we actually differ a smart student from a not-so-smart one?
they are both straight A1s students. but, who is a better achiever? we dont know, they dont know, only the panel who set the passing marks know this hidden truth.

then, how can the reward of scholarships reach students who really qualify?
no wonder, there are discriminations when it comes to the awarding of scholarships which disappoint many high achievers.

well, all i can say is that life is not a bed of roses, its always unfair.

If only our education system is more transparent..............*sigh*...............

Wow, that's deep :P I must say interviews come really handy in this scenario.

I'm not sure about you guys but i love to talk =D So i can communicate well with teachers and students, i'm not trying to show off here, but i got 1B3 in EST T^T... Furthermore, i have poor coco achievement...

So when i went to the JPA interview, i met some of the candidates.

JenJen: How's ur result?
A: Not very good, straight A1 only (==)||
B: Straght A also, i think i can get bcause im school head prefect.

I was like, omg, i'm totally creamed here...

When we went for the interview, A chocked on his sentence and literally felt like crying.

B bloated on his school achievement (I think he memorized the text cause he's talking non-stop monotonely...)

JenJen talk like crazy and tried to crack a joke ==|| with a dim response....

Anyways, guess who got JPA? =D

inadilemma
23-04-2009, 11:47 AM

I'm not sure about you guys but i love to talk =D So i can communicate well with teachers and students, i'm not trying to show off here, but i got 1B3 in EST T^T... Furthermore, i have poor coco achievement...

When we went for the interview, A chocked on his sentence and literally felt like crying.

B bloated on his school achievement (I think he memorized the text cause he's talking non-stop monotonely...)

hahaha!!!:))
you are really funny!
all i can conclude about you all is that:

A is quite nervous during the interview...
B is full of confidence and he really wants the scholarship desperately
you are more relaxed

i can't guess who got jpa...:P

JenJen
23-04-2009, 12:00 PM
hahaha!!!:))
you are really funny!
all i can conclude about you all is that:

A is quite nervous during the interview...
B is full of confidence and he really wants the scholarship desperately
you are more relaxed

i can't guess who got jpa...:P

me :nod

Haha, just luck xD

Cadence_hope
23-04-2009, 12:07 PM

Congrats on getting JPA for diploma in engineering!! :P Lol. I guess your performance during interview must be quite good..

inadilemma
23-04-2009, 12:11 PM
me :nod

Haha, just luck xD

congratulations!:))
i will have to just wait and pray hard...for the best.

the last dusun
23-04-2009, 12:14 PM
may be you are the one that received the scholar JenJen....am i correct?

Trekk
23-04-2009, 01:14 PM
Haha JenJen that was an interesting/funny read. I guess its not that the SPM syllabus is adequate or anything. Its just that its grading system is terribly out of sorts. Come on, I got A1 for the general science paper and I couldn't answer "name the process by which plants derive food from sunlight" (or something like that...doh!) >_<

As for creating thinkers.. well, let me share a story.

I was having lunch with a couple of friends and the subject went to SPM results/papers. So there I was, feeling like an idiot with "only" 3A1s compared to my 10-16A1 'genius' friends as they yapped away. Finally, trying not to feel so 'stupid' I said "gosh, the EST paper was so easy right". I thought since a dumbo like me could get an A1 for EST surely my brilliant peers would have got A1 also. Unfortunately, much to my horror the whole table went silent....

Conclusion:
To score in the SPM, all you have to do is memorize the syllabus/go for tuition for answers. You don't need anything called "common sense".

23-04-2009, 02:09 PM

WoW! May I know what's your SPM result?

Actually... I was just like A speaking.... T.T

Anyway, I knew it's you who got it! Haha. Congratulations! :)

xack
23-04-2009, 02:28 PM

I think u got an offer by JPA 2 study in JAPAN...right???
Anyway i m just like u,poor cocu...but still hoping 4 de JPA la..
But congrats n hope all de best 4 u...

JenJen
23-04-2009, 03:20 PM
Thank you everyone, i hope i'm not being cocky while telling u all my experience xD

WoW! May I know what's your SPM result?

Actually... I was just like A speaking.... T.T

Anyway, I knew it's you who got it! Haha. Congratulations! :)

Keiko, i got 9A1 and 1B3 T^T Darn EST ==||

Hopefully you all get the scholarship you guys deserve xD

23-04-2009, 03:32 PM
Thank you everyone, i hope i'm not being cocky while telling u all my experience xD

Nope, it wouldnt sound cocky. Have to thank you for sharing your experience somehow. Hehe...

Haha. Same with me. I got B3 in EST too. But... Nevermind... Let bygones be bygones ok... Otherwise I would go nuts! :nuts

JenJen
23-04-2009, 03:35 PM
Nope, it wouldnt sound cocky. Have to thank you for sharing your experience somehow. Hehe...

Haha. Same with me. I got B3 in EST too. But... Nevermind... Let bygones be bygones ok... Otherwise I would go nuts! :nuts

:))

High five^^^^ U applied jpa for what country and course? xD

23-04-2009, 04:01 PM
:))

High five^^^^ U applied jpa for what country and course? xD

No specific country. I applied for General Engineering. :)

26-04-2009, 10:16 AM
I see that a number of you got B3 in EST, is EST really that hard? I'm a Form 5 this year, n looking at what u guys said, I'm nearly regretting for taking EST..>.<

JenJen
26-04-2009, 10:19 AM
I see that a number of you got B3 in EST, is EST really that hard? I'm a Form 5 this year, n looking at what u guys said, I'm nearly regretting for taking EST..>.<

Tips to get A1 in EST is watch lots and lots of geographic channel, discovery channel etc... I didn't watch cause of the boringness... *don't be like me XD*

PS. I heard EST is cancelled in our year?

kid
26-04-2009, 10:24 AM

hey jenjen, u pretty good u know, mine was 9a1 15c, darn that c, biology lorh
hahaha

26-04-2009, 10:25 AM
ESt is an elective subject, no harm trying to take, And yes i admit the marking scheme is rather rigid, just consult your teacher on the report writting which i reckon majority students would face problems when it comes to report writting, try to master it by practise to write, get you teacher to mark and give some remarks on that. u got to read a lots of science journalism which i think it may helps a lots!
It is ljust ike natural and pure science, where you have to grasp the every single scientific terms concerned!

26-04-2009, 10:36 AM
Tips to get A1 in EST is watch lots and lots of geographic channel, discovery channel etc... I didn't watch cause of the boringness... *don't be like me XD*

PS. I heard EST is cancelled in our year?EST was supposed to be abolished last year as starting from SPM batch 2007 students are already learning Science and Math in English but... it's still there... Seriously I don't see the significance of the subject as they already learn more than enough in Science and Math, and EST is just another "follow the scheme to score" subject, it doesn't benefit much...

kid
26-04-2009, 10:40 AM
EST was supposed to be abolished last year as starting from SPM batch 2007 students are already learning Science and Math in English but... it's still there... Seriously I don't see the significance of the subject as they already learn more than enough in Science and Math, and EST is just another "follow the scheme to score" subject, it doesn't benefit much...

yup, teachers in my school always discourage us to ttake d subject cuz it bring no meaning, unless u wanna be est teacher, but still u can be it without takin d subject

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 10:59 AM
Ya, true, EST is quite widely criticised but I think its important for a student to be exposed to this subject becuz it encourages us to read more on science and tech besides from our normal bio, chem and phy textbooks. For example, the solar system and environment are not described in detail in textbook and as a result, we students will find info about it in the web, encyclopedias, national geographic and others. Its a form of self-learning, self exploration and that thirst for knowledge is a habit we students must master in life. Education is more than school textbooks, there is an ocean and a mountainful of knowledge out there waiting to be discovered..and EST is a right stepping stone towards it. Btw, got A1 for EST!

JenJen
26-04-2009, 11:53 AM
hahaha

Waaaa~~ A1 in EST ma? xD Biology is very hard to score cause we need to use "smart" words to convince the markers to give us marks xD

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 11:56 AM
Waaaa~~ A1 in EST ma? xD Biology is very hard to score cause we need to use "smart" words to convince the markers to give us marks xD

Wat u mean by "smart" words. I think we juz need follow the textbook terminologies..

kid
26-04-2009, 11:58 AM

well, need to work very hard on it, the subject not very useful, it will be nightmare if i don score it, plus i know i cant score in bio bcoz lots n lots n lots of fact need to be memorize

JenJen
26-04-2009, 12:01 PM
Ya, true, EST is quite widely criticised but I think its important for a student to be exposed to this subject becuz it encourages us to read more on science and tech besides from our normal bio, chem and phy textbooks. For example, the solar system and environment are not described in detail in textbook and as a result, we students will find info about it in the web, encyclopedias, national geographic and others. Its a form of self-learning, self exploration and that thirst for knowledge is a habit we students must master in life. Education is more than school textbooks, there is an ocean and a mountainful of knowledge out there waiting to be discovered..and EST is a right stepping stone towards it. Btw, got A1 for EST!

Wuuuu.... T^T i didn't get it :cry :cry :cry

Wat u mean by "smart" words. I think we juz need follow the textbook terminologies..

Lol, it's true ya know xD I used some "smart" words into the essay like my teacher said.

eg. change = transfer
food = carbohydrate

These are just some of the words, i forgot most of them xP

kid
26-04-2009, 12:03 PM

yeah, except for those in boarding school like me, we cant access the web much often, n juz forget about national geographic., we can only depends on the text book n handouts from teacher and ask them for lots of handout u know, wat a pain

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 12:04 PM
Wuuuu.... T^T i didn't get it :cry :cry :cry

Lol, it's true ya know xD I used some "smart" words into the essay like my teacher said.

eg. change = transfer
food = carbohydrate

These are just some of the words, i forgot most of them xP

Ohhhh, that.

26-04-2009, 12:49 PM
hahaha

Poor kid, I pity for you... But it's not the end of world. Keep striving hard ya! :)

EST was supposed to be abolished last year as starting from SPM batch 2007 students are already learning Science and Math in English but... it's still there... Seriously I don't see the significance of the subject as they already learn more than enough in Science and Math, and EST is just another "follow the scheme to score" subject, it doesn't benefit much...

Last year? Sob... I wish EST was ABOLISHED last year!!!! Grrr... :mad

Biology also need to use "smart" words? I thought just EST will use them? Aduh... Dont talk about EST, I will be crying then... :cry

26-04-2009, 06:37 PM
Seriously, I think I should tell me school to drop EST and take up some other easier subjects like Account, Commerce, Art or Science. For many years, students keep repeating the same story, missing out straight A1 because of EST, even though they scored in BC. EST almost killed our whole batch, leaving only two person to score an A1 for EST.

26-04-2009, 08:30 PM
yup, teachers in my school always discourage us to ttake d subject cuz it bring no meaning, unless u wanna be est teacher, but still u can be it without takin d subject

In my school all science stream must take....crap! *not complaining now though

I pity my est teacher the most, only one teacher for all form 5...pressure
luckily my school not bad.The one subject that MUST be abolished is Pendidikan Moral. Totally useless! I rather study Pendidikan Islam....

that moral paper ruin my spm result!!!

JenJen
26-04-2009, 10:08 PM
Seriously, I think I should tell me school to drop EST and take up some other easier subjects like Account, Commerce, Art or Science. For many years, students keep repeating the same story, missing out straight A1 because of EST, even though they scored in BC. EST almost killed our whole batch, leaving only two person to score an A1 for EST.

My school regretted for forcing us take EST, NOONE in our batch got As...

In my school all science stream must take....crap! *not complaining now though

I pity my est teacher the most, only one teacher for all form 5...pressure
luckily my school not bad.The one subject that MUST be abolished is Pendidikan Moral. Totally useless! I rather study Pendidikan Islam....

that moral paper ruin my spm result!!!

Lolz, u hate moral? U take moral de ma? Omg, nickvl, u make me so confuse, boy or girl, chinese or malay or indian xO

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 10:12 PM
Pendidikan Moral IS the most controversial subject of all...most Recomers have said how bad it is, no need to elaborate more

Opposition supporters say "Abolish ISA!"

We say "Abolish Moral"

JenJen
26-04-2009, 10:14 PM
Pendidikan Moral IS the most controversial subject of all...most Recomers have said how bad it is, no need to elaborate more

We say "Abolish Moral"

Hahahaha!!! AGREED!! xD

cuppycake
26-04-2009, 10:17 PM

We say "Abolish Moral"

:P good one!
although i don't take moral, but from the way i saw my friends studying it, it's kinda losing its point. you know, just memorising the 36 nilai and its definition.moral is not about memorising. it's about how you practice it.

and est. i think starting this year, est is compulsory in my school. can't drop anymore. pity them.

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 10:20 PM
although i don't take moral, but from the way i saw my friends studying it, it's kinda losing its point. you know, just memorising the 36 nilai and its definition.moral is not about memorising. it's about how you practice it.

and est. i think starting this year, est is compulsory in my school. can't drop anymore. pity them.

Hah, why so different? My school compulsory cannot take EST. My form 4 friend who plans to take says the teacher refused to allow him to take EST...

26-04-2009, 10:21 PM

We say "Abolish Moral"

Yeah! I bet ppl who take moral are not that moralistic (is there such a word???) even if they score A in it.

We should replace it with like "philosophy' or those type or something like pengajian am

kid
26-04-2009, 10:21 PM

wha!! really pity them, what r those teachers thinking actually?

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 10:23 PM

Hey 24/7 boy, the teacher thinks EST is a 'cool' subject...haha

kid
26-04-2009, 10:25 PM
We should replace it with like "philosophy' or those type or something like pengajian am

philosophy ek? personally, it is an interesting subject, but there is a recommer once told me philosophy is a hard-to-understand subject,

Hey 24/7 boy, the teacher thinks EST is a 'cool' subject...haha

wha, nice name, think wanna use it as my signature lah, hahaha

cuppycake
26-04-2009, 10:26 PM

i don't think it's the teachers. my teacher said it's a circular from JPN or PPD, that says est is compulsory starting this year.
yep, really pity them.
thank god, for my batch can drop. almost the whole class drop. only 10 or 11 took it. brave people, i say!

26-04-2009, 10:29 PM
EST, in my school, abolished this year onwards... Feel relieved and happy for them.

For Moral, actually it's easy to score that, as long as you know the format. Frankly, I also wondered why should we follow the fixed format blindly? It's quite unreasonable for some answers. Score high mark in Moral doesnt equal you have high moral values and vice versa. Nevertheless, we need to memoralise hard somehow in order to achieve high mark, who ask this's educational system in Malaysia? Everyone has to admit it...

kid
26-04-2009, 10:31 PM
i don't think it's the teachers. my teacher said it's a circular from JPN or PPD, that says est is compulsory starting this year.
yep, really pity them.
thank god, for my batch can drop. almost the whole class drop. only 10 or 11 took it. brave people, i say!

haha, in my school, out of 400 students, only 30 ppl took it, i'm d only one, my teacher told me to do so bcoz he know my biology is hopeless, i only learn it since f5 u know..

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 10:33 PM
haha, in my school, out of 400 students, only 30 ppl took it, i'm d only one, my teacher told me to do so bcoz he know my biology is hopeless, i only learn it since f5 u know..

U took biology or not? Wat u get for SPM?

kid
26-04-2009, 10:36 PM
U took biology or not? Wat u get for SPM?

of course i took, in mrsm, biology is a compulsory u know, 9A1 1C5, you know wat d c is.,

btw, i took est since f5, not bio, of coz bio is since f4, hahaha

26-04-2009, 10:38 PM
philosophy ek? personally, it is an interesting subject, but there is a recommer once told me philosophy is a hard-to-understand subject

yes, then maybe we can actually start thinking...not just memorising..

EST is compulsory for ALL science class students in my school...n only one teacher to teach us all of us

SapphireDragon
26-04-2009, 10:39 PM
of course i took, in mrsm, biology is a compulsory u know, 9A1 1C5, you know wat d c is.,

Wow, yur signature is cool man, some more got my name...u went mrsm? Hmmm, is it good there?

26-04-2009, 10:40 PM
Hey guys you are getting out of topic. If you want to chat feel free to create a thread under the chat section in the forum. :)

cuppycake
26-04-2009, 10:41 PM

mrsm? which mrsm?

kid
26-04-2009, 10:47 PM
mrsm? which mrsm?

let juz say i'm the first batch(07/08) for my mrsm, n u?
like nickvl, i enjoy keeping ppl suspense

26-04-2009, 10:51 PM

oh please dont mess with the maestro. LOL Welcome to the club,kid

rule #1 : dont ask a question u arent going to answer to ( i made this first mistake in my Suspense 101 class)

cuppycake
26-04-2009, 11:06 PM

hah! mrsm alor gajah?
me? sshhh..but not mrsm!

27-04-2009, 09:18 AM
Thread locked. Read my previous post.

Update: Thread now unlocked. I was disappointed to see the out-of-topic reminder being ignored and it took a thread-lock to highlight my point. Please stay on the topic, thanks. Repeat infringement would possibly result in infraction for your user account.

hrixenz
27-04-2009, 09:31 AM
straight a1=scholarship

some might get it..some might not..but,with string of a1, a student will have higher chance to secure a scholarship..just look at Nik Nur Madihah..many scholarship providers wanted to sponsor her..but then,she opted the kijang emas biasiswa by bnm..19a1 1a2 :nuts

Trekk
27-04-2009, 10:10 AM
Straight A1 = more chance of getting a scholarship, not necessarily guaranteed. >_<

AlvinLee91
28-04-2009, 01:08 AM
Straight A1 = more chance of getting a scholarship, not necessarily guaranteed. >_<

Yep. I agree with you.:)
"Straight A1" is
proud achievement + better chance to study Hot subjects

kid
28-04-2009, 01:50 AM
Yep. I agree with you.:)
"Straight A1" is
proud achievement + better chance to study Hot subjects

yeah straight A1 = proud parents, sad i didnt get lah

chocomaniac
29-04-2009, 01:56 AM
Straight A1 = book-smart

I can say that MOST of the students who scored straight A1 are book-smart. It is very rarely for them to be an all-rounder. Students can be only of 2 types; one sitting in the room studying the whole day like a zombie and scoring an enormous amounts of A1, or one which is quite active in sports but having a so-so result in exams. And worst of all, malaysians nowadays seem to be too obsessed with As; good results will be praised whereas bad results will be neglected. Once you fail a subject, you will be considered a failure. They don't realise every failure has its own success. No one is to end with failure till they are no more in this world.

Because of this typical asian attitude also, we keep producing book-smart students instead of street-smart people. Students just know how to memorize and vomit out everything during examinations. They do not think analitically nor logically anymore. They lack in social and living skills which is very essential in order to survive in the real world.

That is why I do not agree that the number of As shows any significance. It shows nothing. I repeat, NOTHING.

kid
29-04-2009, 02:02 AM
Straight A1 = book-smart

I can say that MOST of the students who scored straight A1 are book-smart. It is very rarely for them to be an all-rounder. Students can be only of 2 types; one sitting in the room studying the whole day like a zombie and scoring an enormous amounts of A1, or one which is quite active in sports but having a so-so result in exams. And worst of all, malaysians nowadays seem to be too obsessed with As; good results will be praised whereas bad results will be neglected. Once you fail a subject, you will be considered a failure. They don't realise every failure has its own success. No one is to end with failure till they are no more in this world.

Because of this typical asian attitude also, we keep producing book-smart students instead of street-smart people. Students just know how to memorize and vomit out everything during examinations. They do not think analitically nor logically anymore. They lack in social and living skills which is very essential in order to survive in the real world.

That is why I do not agree that the number of As shows any significance. It shows nothing. I repeat, NOTHING.

well said, agree wit u..

Glassylicious
29-04-2009, 03:45 AM
Straight A1 = book-smart

Well, you bring up some pretty good and solid points there but I do have something to say.

Let's face it. SPM is considered a relatively easy exam due to its low grading standards. Getting all A1's may or may not mean you're truly smart. It may or may not say something about you. But it at least means that you are in the top tier where the grading scheme is concerned. At the very least, there is a presumption that you are among the top scorers/smart kids. The fact remains that if you're truly smart, you'll probably end up getting lots of A1's. And even if you're not truly smart [and just book-smart as you suggested] but end up getting lots of A1's anyway, people are still going to assume that you're one of THOSE smart kids.

But if you get a string of B's and C's in an exam which many people claim is "too easy to get A's in because of the low standards", it may or may not say something about you too! The presumption you're going to press upon yourself is that you either didn't try hard enough [or just couldn't be bothered], or were exceptionally stupid. I know there's the argument that the student might have been ill during exam day but that usually won't be the first thing people think about when they see someone with bad SPM results. And the people getting those impressions are going to be the university admissions officers and scholarship providers, and both parties are quite important for a student if you ask me!

You're right when you said that getting a lot of A1's doesn't necessarily prove your intelligence, but I'm afraid I can't agree with you when you said that it means absolutely nothing.

29-04-2009, 05:11 AM
Straight A1 = book-smart

That is why I do not agree that the number of As shows any significance. It shows nothing. I repeat, NOTHING.Aren't these two statements contradicting?
Well, you bring up some pretty good and solid points there but I do have something to say.

Let's face it. SPM is considered a relatively easy exam due to its low grading standards. Getting all A1's may or may not mean you're truly smart. It may or may not say something about you. But it at least means that you are in the top tier where the grading scheme is concerned. At the very least, there is a presumption that you are among the top scorers/smart kids. The fact remains that if you're truly smart, you'll probably end up getting lots of A1's. And even if you're not truly smart [and just book-smart as you suggested] but end up getting lots of A1's anyway, people are still going to assume that you're one of THOSE smart kids.

But if you get a string of B's and C's in an exam which many people claim is "too easy to get A's in because of the low standards", it may or may not say something about you too! The presumption you're going to press upon yourself is that you either didn't try hard enough [or just couldn't be bothered], or were exceptionally stupid. I know there's the argument that the student might have been ill during exam day but that usually won't be the first thing people think about when they see someone with bad SPM results. And the people getting those impressions are going to be the university admissions officers and scholarship providers, and both parties are quite important for a student if you ask me!

You're right when you said that getting a lot of A1's doesn't necessarily prove your intelligence, but I'm afraid I can't agree with you when you said that it means absolutely nothing.
Totally agreed with this. It may not mean that you're smart to score straight A1, but it does show that you have some problems if you don't score A1 in subjects like Maths, Add Maths and English.

kiat12
29-04-2009, 01:25 PM
Straight A1 = book-smart

yea,i agree with you...actually quantity of our student of getting 1A's are raising following years by years..are quality of our student become higher or the quality of exam paper become lower?even some student that have poor command in english can even score A or strong credit in spm..i think malaysian students studying not for their knowledge,but to vomit it during exam..after exam,they will remember nothing..

29-04-2009, 01:52 PM
Straight A1 = book-smart

I may agree part of your opinions ONLY. I'm sure that many top students will get mad with you because of your "NOTHING". Frankly, I, too, ever thought that straight A's is nothing but an "external result" only, as I myself didnt achieve it. :P However, it's undeniable that straight A's will be a pride for one student, and a measurement to be referred to for his/her future. This's a reality. We, as ordinary humans solely, cant deny it, forever! :cry

Aren't these two statements contradicting

Wow! You realized it! I just knew it after you stated it! Perhaps it's typing error...

yea,i agree with you...actually quantity of our student of getting 1A's are raising following years by years..are quality of our student become higher or the quality of exam paper become lower?even some student that have poor command in english can even score A or strong credit in spm..i think malaysian students studying not for their knowledge,but to vomit it during exam..after exam,they will remember nothing..

What I can say is, the quality of marking scheme drops "drastically". I know it's kinda exaggerating to use "drastically", but I think you all will get what I meant. No offense right here somehow.

Actually I agree with Glassylicious's points. SPM is considered a relatively easy exam due to its low grading standards. I admit that I dont have such a high ability to score A1 In GCE-O. (But I was totally astonished, besides been excited! :)) ) Dont you all realize that the number of students to get straight A's is getting more and more for the successive years... And it becomes easier to be a "top student" as well! A piece of cake! :notrust

Trekk
29-04-2009, 02:30 PM
Well, I too wouldn't say that it shows nothing. It does show that the student has a good memory and the ability to be a photocopy machine! (JK) :P

I wouldn't say that just because someone did badly in their SPM they necessarily have a "problem", as in they can't study or are not smart. They may have just not taken the exam seriously or maybe on that day they were sick.

hrixenz
29-04-2009, 02:35 PM
Dont you all realize that the number of students to get straight A's is getting more and more for the successive years...

:offtopicJust want to comment on this statement. Yes, it is. IMHO, this is due to the government. They want to show that their plan which is PPSMI is not a waste of money and energy. That's why they reduce the normal distribution of the passing mark to make the PPSMI looks successful in eye of the community. But the fact is, as an example, students in rural area are barely able to learn the science subjects in BI.

On topic: Science and Mathematics subjects contribute to straight A1 :)

Glassylicious
29-04-2009, 02:40 PM
I wouldn't say that just because someone did badly in their SPM they necessarily have a "problem", as in they can't study or are not smart. They may have just not taken the exam seriously or maybe on that day they were sick.

Well, in my post I said they either weren't trying hard enough or were stupid. What you just described fell into the former category. The fact that they "couldn't be bothered" [or in your words, did not take the exam seriously] denotes a problem in itself. It's an attitude problem. The university admissions officers are going to start asking difficult questions like: "Do we have a student with a commitment problem here?" or "Is he really interested in his studies?"

And again, yes it's true that they may have been ill on the day, like I said, but let's face it -- nobody usually thinks about that when forming an impression about a student. And unfortunately, first impressions matter way too much when you're trying to get into an Ivy League or trying to bag yourself a scholarship.

To put things into perspective, the same can be said for underperforming in a scholarship interview, for example. True, just because a student does badly doesn't mean he's not smart, etc. But can you then blame the interviewers for thinking he's stupid and giving the scholarship to people who did better?

29-04-2009, 06:10 PM
<digression>First of all, thanks youngyew for opening this thread again....and sorry for using it to chit chat aka spamming LOL but i dint see your first warning as i usually just jump to the last page... </digression>

As mentioned by several Recommers, a lot of A1s has been proven to be fallible in distinguishing genuine inteligence from book-smart people. SPM produces students with photocopy machine abilities but unfortunately unable to think. We just study what we are told and as long it can get us marks, so be it. That's the sad mentality many of students have nowadays...

The worst part is that there are students who are omg-i-dint-get-an-A-my-world-is-crashing-down type which propbably contribute to suicide cases. Remember the girl who dint get 5 As in her UPSR. She was only twelve for heaven's sake!! This is what you get when parents put too much pressure to get an A.

Still, it is still a string of As that will get one foot int the door for a scholarship...so i guess As still do mean something

Trekk
29-04-2009, 06:10 PM
The fact that they "couldn't be bothered" [or in your words, did not take the exam seriously] denotes a problem in itself. It's an attitude problem. The university admissions officers are going to start asking difficult questions like: "Do we have a student with a commitment problem here?" or "Is he really interested in his studies?"

Yes, that's correct. I was just uncomfortable with the word "problem" in the earlier post cause to me it was like saying they're.. err.. spastic/problems with learning? Sorry if I offend anyone with this statement!

29-04-2009, 06:58 PM
<digression>First of all, thanks youngyew for opening this thread again....and sorry for using it to chit chat aka spamming LOL but i dint see your first warning as i usually just jump to the last page... </digression>
<digression>You can always click on the small "go to the first new post" button in front of the thread title, to make sure that you don't miss any new post since you last log in...</digression>
Yes, that's correct. I was just uncomfortable with the word "problem" in the earlier post cause to me it was like saying they're.. err.. spastic/problems with learning? Sorry if I offend anyone with this statement!
Problems can be lack of interest, lack of attention, no proper attitude or difficulties in learning, whatever it is, there is a problem if someone can't score in easy subjects.

kid
29-04-2009, 07:56 PM
Quote: Chocomaniac
Originally Posted by Miracle_seed
Aren't these two statements contradicting

Wow! You realized it! I just knew it after you stated it! Perhaps it's typing error...

hrm, keiko, i think wat miracle seed meant is not on d two sentence you quote, what he meant by two statements contradicting is dat Chocomaniac first sentence;
Straight A1 = book-smart
and chocomaniac laz sentence;

p/s; wat do u meant by typin error, i cant find anything wrong wit d sentence!?

30-04-2009, 01:42 AM
hrm, keiko, i think wat miracle seed meant is not on d two sentence you quote, what he meant by two statements contradicting is dat Chocomaniac first sentence;

and chocomaniac laz sentence;

p/s; wat do u meant by typin error, i cant find anything wrong wit d sentence!?

Oh ya! See wrongly... Haha. I didnt notice he bolded the first sentence.
My brain blur blur that time... 'cause I misundertood Chocomaniac's words.

dreamer1210
06-05-2009, 01:11 AM
SPM lots of A1s, it really shows nothing. Now, getting straight A1s is not something new or special. And because of that, getting straight As won't guarantee u for getting a scholarship. So some straight As student will be end up for form6 or into private uni.

My point is, what is the matter for scoring flying colors in SPM? Students with straight As can enter private uni and the same goes to students with no A, as long as they have the MONEY.

So, what is the point for working so hard for SPM? U might end up to be studying together with your friend who is the the lausiest in your class. Who knows?

Lucks tell everything.

wanee
06-05-2009, 01:07 PM
SPM lots of A1s, it really shows nothing. Now, getting straight A1s is not something new or special. And because of that, getting straight As won't guarantee u for getting a scholarship. So some straight As student will be end up for form6 or into private uni.

My point is, what is the matter for scoring flying colors in SPM? Students with straight As can enter private uni and the same goes to students with no A, as long as they have the MONEY.

So, what is the point for working so hard for SPM? U might end up to be studying together with your friend who is the the lausiest in your class. Who knows?

Lucks tell everything.

yeah.it's not aguarantee we will get the scholar but we could stand the chance of getting it.we dont know
but students with stright As who are not well off cant afford to private U thus hard wok is the way out for public U.so u cant say that it's nothing for those u got straight As.it meant everytg for those who come from low rank fam background
just my personal opinion.

CCY_to_the_top
06-05-2009, 01:10 PM
Lets say u get 20As.....u will think differently....<sour grape-ing>

06-05-2009, 01:13 PM
Lets say u get 20As.....u will think differently....<sour grape-ing>
Getting 20As, but do you actually deserve it? Nowadays everything they drop the A banner enable people to get A easily. I have a friend of mine who always fails his Add. Maths but can get A2 for it. What a surprise.

SapphireDragon
06-05-2009, 01:14 PM
yeah.it's not aguarantee we will get the scholar but we could stand the chance of getting it.we dont know
but students with stright As who are not well off cant afford to private U thus hard wok is the way out for public U.so u cant say that it's nothing for those u got straight As.it meant everytg for those who come from low rank fam background
just my personal opinion.

Hey, I agree with you. yes, staright A will not guarantee you a scholarship but it definitely increases the chances of u getting it. Can u say I don't wanna practice because I cannot win the race anyway? No! That is not the spirit of sportsmanship or in this case, acdemicship. We must work hard and THEN ONLY wish for the best. Its like doctors...they will try their best to save the patient even though they know he is going to die anyway. Its called "bertawakal" in Malay. We fight for what we want, then only pray to God. So what if u study with a lousy freind in private u? You have the solid foundation from yur good academic results and u can sail through easily, that may not be the case for yur friend. In fact, he may waste his parents money by failing.

wanee
06-05-2009, 01:21 PM
Getting 20As, but do you actually deserve it? Nowadays everything they drop the A banner enable people to get A easily. I have a friend of mine who always fails his Add. Maths but can get A2 for it. What a surprise.

we deserve it indeed.we deserve it if we only take into an acount that we deserve it in malaysia standard.they ministry knows what they are doing.considering all factors.

06-05-2009, 01:36 PM
we deserve it indeed.we deserve it if we only take into an acount that we deserve it in malaysia standard.they ministry knows what they are doing.considering all factors.
but technically it is really unfair for those who are really smart. I got straight A's for my trial examination. However, some of my friends who are not good in certain subjects can also get straight A's. What is more humiliating is my school was crushed by Moral (don't why, unlucky to get bad examiner) causing most of the good student to settle for an A2 while a student from second who is terrible in his science and maths subjects can get straight A1 cause he was lucky to get A1 for moral. So, who is better? my friends and I who is really good in studies or he who was lucky thanks to the ministry?

wanee
06-05-2009, 01:47 PM
but technically it is really unfair for those who are really smart. I got straight A's for my trial examination. However, some of my friends who are not good in certain subjects can also get straight A's. What is more humiliating is my school was crushed by Moral (don't why, unlucky to get bad examiner) causing most of the good student to settle for an A2 while a student from second who is terrible in his science and maths subjects can get straight A1 cause he was lucky to get A1 for moral. So, who is better? my friends and I who is really good in studies or he who was lucky thanks to the ministry?

well,thats called as luck.maybe they got a more flexible markers?while u got a very strict ones.and u know what,the ministry itself admit that there's always a grading errors.so students who come n rechecked the papers normally will get better results.and it might happens to u.
and u cant blame the low iq students who get better than u.who knows,maybe u urself dont realize that ur over confident as u got straight A for ur trial.and for me,i only managed to get 4a for my trial but i ended up with staright As for my spm.cool eh?hahaha.i was really worried about it and i think i get to do something great for spm and change the mentalities ppl had for me.

06-05-2009, 01:52 PM
well,thats called as luck.maybe they got a more flexible markers?while u got a very strict ones.and u know what,the ministry itself admit that there's always a grading errors.so students who come n rechecked the papers normally will get better results.and it might happens to u.
and u cant blame the low iq students who get better than u.who knows,maybe u urself dont realize that ur over confident as u got straight A for ur trial.and for me,i only managed to get 4a for my trial but i ended up with staright As for my spm.cool eh?hahaha.i was really worried about it and i think i get to do something great for spm and change the mentalities ppl had for me.
But then, criteria for 75 % is academic. So, is it fair for him to get the scholarship than those who deserve it like?
P/S, I never go overconfident as I as when one is at top, the only way to go is down. so, i double my effort during my SPM examination.

wanee
06-05-2009, 02:00 PM
But then, criteria for 75 % is academic. So, is it fair for him to get the scholarship than those who deserve it like?
P/S, I never go overconfident as I as when one is at top, the only way to go is down. so, i double my effort during my SPM examination.

maybe there's reasons behind all these.n u dont have to get remorse with it.but i bet ur results are not that bad right?still stright a's right?

06-05-2009, 02:01 PM
Ok guys, let's dont argue about the number of A's. The number doesnt matter, the most important is, our virtue. A good manner indeed.

If a student has a very bad attitude, what for if his Moral gets A1? Does this mean that he has high moral? A big NO! The grade cant decide a person's ability based on the mark merely. That's just an arbitrary judgement to a person. Moreover, if a student gets A1 in Biology, could he really be a good doctor? No offense here though. Of course he can be a very good doctor. It depends on many factors. Not only academic. Try not to be biased on academic result only. Non-academic activities should be considered as well.

Say, what are the consequences being a genius? Do you all realize how they end up their life finally? Do think about it.

Try to console yourself "I'm not perfect but I'm always who I'm". This's what I always say about myself. Being an ordinary person is better, dont you think so?

06-05-2009, 02:03 PM
maybe there's reasons behind all these.n u dont have to get remorse with it.but i bet ur results are not that bad right?still stright a's right?
straight a but could have been straight A1 no thanks to moral. Haiz, don't what ministry going to do about it since we have a new Education Minister and will JPA consider me? Haiz.

CCY_to_the_top
06-05-2009, 07:31 PM
in msia, straight A1s are everything..thats the point..and reality

Scrmath
06-05-2009, 11:13 PM
straight a but could have been straight A1 no thanks to moral. Haiz, don't what ministry going to do about it since we have a new Education Minister and will JPA consider me? Haiz.

Same same!!!!I gt moral a2...or else all a1..i gt 9a1 in trial leh..
My bm and bc c5 in trial but spm a1 la...

SapphireDragon
06-05-2009, 11:19 PM
The standards of SPM marking have gone down very much. I dun need to say more of those getting C6 in trial exams but scoring A1 in SPM. Its not very fair to students who have been consistently doing well in exams. In short, its down to the drains and smething must be done quick.

wanee
06-05-2009, 11:26 PM
The standards of SPM marking have gone down very much. I dun need to say more of those getting C6 in trial exams but scoring A1 in SPM. Its not very fair to students who have been consistently doing well in exams. In short, its down to the drains and smething must be done quick.

but then trials are much harder than actual SPM.i dont know but i heard the minister himslef said that our grades are somekind like recognisable.

SapphireDragon
06-05-2009, 11:33 PM
but then trials are much harder than actual SPM.i dont know but i heard the minister himslef said that our grades are somekind like recognisable.

Minister of what? Education? I know trials are harder than SPM, buI'm talking about those who constantly fail for example, Add Math all the year and sudenly....WHOLLA...not only a pass but maybe B3! Not trying to offend anyone here but to me, marking standards have to be constant. If 80 marks is neeeded to get A1, then so be it for every SPM exam. Don't drop the graph just to show to the people and the international community that Malaysia students are "smarter" and "improving" every year. U can deceive others but there is a heavy price to pay. Maybe Malaysian students are indeed better every year, that I do not know, but one's thing for sure...we must stop the number of people getting staright A1 increasing every year. Set a higher standard. in Singapore, only one girl (a Malaysian =, how ironic?) get staright A for O level exams. See teh difference?

wanee
06-05-2009, 11:46 PM
Minister of what? Education? I know trials are harder than SPM, buI'm talking about those who constantly fail for example, Add Math all the year and sudenly....WHOLLA...not only a pass but maybe B3! Not trying to offend anyone here but to me, marking standards have to be constant. If 80 marks is neeeded to get A1, then so be it for every SPM exam. Don't drop the graph just to show to the people and the international community that Malaysia students are "smarter" and "improving" every year. U can deceive others but there is a heavy price to pay. Maybe Malaysian students are indeed better every year, that I do not know, but one's thing for sure...we must stop the number of people getting staright A1 increasing every year. Set a higher standard. in Singapore, only one girl (a Malaysian =, how ironic?) get staright A for O level exams. See teh difference?

hmm yeah.i have a friend too.always failed in her addmath but suddenly got b4 for addmath.but addmath u know,the passing marks is very low.lower than 20 i guess.but one thing u should know that,for A1 stndard they keep it high.thats why u see that getting an A2 might easy but to reach to A1 level it not really easy.
well u know,it's SINGAPORE.sure the standard is high.i guess we havent reach that level yet.

07-05-2009, 12:47 AM
but then trials are much harder than actual SPM.i dont know but i heard the minister himslef said that our grades are somekind like recognisable.Adjusting the graph according to performance is not something unrecognizable, even A-Level is doing the same thing, the cutoff point for A is not always rigid and stands at 80, sometimes it can go below 70 if the paper is hard. However, SPM cutoff point is extremely abnormal, some subjects can dip below 60 while some stand firmly at 80+, this gives extremely biased results and does no reflect the actual results of an individual.

Failing Additional Math and getting an A in SPM is not an uncommon phenomenon, I have friends too who constantly stayed around the passing borderline in school ended up getting A2 for SPM. However, I think some of them really deserved it because some did really do better in Maths in STPM afterward, scoring quite well.

kid
07-05-2009, 01:03 AM
Adjusting the graph according to performance is not something unrecognizable, even A-Level is doing the same thing, the cutoff point for A is not always rigid and stands at 80, sometimes it can go below 70 if the paper is hard. However, SPM cutoff point is extremely abnormal, some subjects can dip below 60 while some stand firmly at 80+, this gives extremely biased results and does no reflect the actual results of an individual.

well, my teacher said dat d spm cutoff point are based on a graph rite? if all students get d same mark, even 0, for addmath. d graph will make all d students got A1., so its normal addmath 60 sumting can get A edi,

07-05-2009, 01:04 AM
well, my teacher said dat d spm cutoff point are based on a graph rite? if all students get d same mark, even 0, for addmath. d graph will make all d students got A1., so its normal addmath 60 sumting can get A edi,
haiz, like no need to study also can get A1 man.

07-05-2009, 01:06 AM
Yeah sometimes while it seems unfair it's good for the self-esteem of the one who used to do badly n then later score well.

I have a neighbour who didnt do so well usually n in (in this case) PMR got 6 As surpassing his parents' and teschers' expectations n everyone thought it was nothing short of a miracle...(or perhaps low standards) In any case, getting those As seem to change him for the better because he has more faith in himself now and while he used to be a person rather lax in his studies, he nows seemed more discipline and eager to do well because finally, he knows he can...

so those strings of As can help the self-esteem ...

07-05-2009, 01:07 AM
Yeah sometimes while it seems unfair it's good for the self-esteem of the one who used to do badly n then later score well.

I have a neighbour who didnt do so well usually n in (in this case) PMR got 6 As surpassing his parents' and teschers' expectations n everyone thought it was nothing short of a miracle...(or perhaps low standards) In any case, getting those As seem to change him for the better because he has more faith in himself now and while he used to be a person rather lax in his studies, he nows seemed more discipline and eager to do well because finally, he knows he can...

so those strings of As can help the self-esteem ...
boost his self-esteem, destroys the smart ones' spirit to study.

07-05-2009, 01:14 AM

Works both ways, brudder....

kid
07-05-2009, 01:19 AM

LoL, well, there is one student in my school wen i was form3, smart one, but so lazy, never touched geo book bcoz he dislike d subject, his math was superb, very little practise, never finish homework but d best math student in d school, n wen d PMR result was announced, he got 7A 1B, geography, n there r few other student who not so smart but 8A, n no one expected them to get stret A., wen my fren ask d smart boy how do he feel wen there r a few not smart student beat him, he answer like this, "maybe their As not d strong wan, 75 sumting, but my As, i know, a really strong wan, i know wat im capable of, i hate geo, but get B, not fail" , sumting like dat la he answer cannot remember d real sentence, but i noe he was very proud wit his abilities,

07-05-2009, 01:21 AM
LoL, well, there is one student in my school wen i was form3, smart one, but so lazy, never touched geo book bcoz he dislike d subject, his math was superb, very little practise, never finish homework but d best math student in d school, n wen d PMR result was announced, he got 7A 1B, geography, n there r few other student who not so smart but 8A, n no one expected them to get stret A., wen my fren ask d smart boy how do he feel wen there r a few not smart student beat him, he answer like this, "maybe their As not d strong wan, 75 sumting, but my As, i know, a really strong wan, i know wat im capable of, i hate geo, but get B, not fail" , sumting like dat la he answer cannot remember d real sentence, but i noe he was very proud wit his abilities,
ya, but that's PMR. We talking about SPM. SPM plays a vital role in one's chances of getting a scholarship. totally different scenario. One might be proud of it but the scholarship givers might think otherwise.

07-05-2009, 01:22 AM
Do you know the best ones who claims they never study study so hard at home they dont bother with homework....
But in your case, that brainy boy might fall into the the trap of overconfidence one day

kid
07-05-2009, 01:25 AM
ya, but that's PMR. We talking about SPM. SPM plays a vital role in one's chances of getting a scholarship. totally different scenario. One might be proud of it but the scholarship givers might think otherwise.

i juz wanna say sumting wen u say d smart wan will lost d will to study

SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 01:26 AM
Do you know the best ones who claims they never study study so hard at home they dont bother with homework....
But in your case, that brainy boy might fall into the the trap of overconfidence one day

Some students are not that overconfident going around wearing a mask saying "Straight A1 Student Here". We are rational and know what's best for us.

07-05-2009, 01:26 AM
i juz wanna say sumting wen u say d smart wan will lost d will to study
cheh, you debating on that point. well, not all people are like him.

kid
07-05-2009, 01:27 AM

hey, at night we hang out together at cc, 4 days a week, n every evening he play football wit me, at, school, trust me, d laziest.,

n yeah, he edi fall, his spm bit sux but add math, math n physic still one of d top at his school n ofcourse A1 in SPM.,

07-05-2009, 01:32 AM
hey, at night we hang out together at cc, 4 days a week, n every evening he play football wit me, at, school, trust me, d laziest.,

n yeah, he edi fall, his spm bit sux but add math, math n physic still one of d top at his school n ofcourse A1 in SPM.,
however, the same guy i know who is lazy, don't do homework, always dota, beaten him many times in studies got straight A1's as his Moral was lucky to get A1. Crushed my heart. He is good in studies but as good as me. Maybe cause he has good genes (father engineer), that is why he can study a lot in a short time.

SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 01:34 AM
however, the same guy i know who is lazy, don't do homework, always dota, beaten him many times in studies got straight A1's as his Moral was lucky to get A1. Crushed my heart. He is good in studies but as good as me. Maybe cause he has good genes (father engineer), that is why he can study a lot in a short time.

Good genes? That when yur father is PhD holder and mother is lecturer, u will be born a genius? Haha...

kid
07-05-2009, 01:35 AM
so i think number of A1 really don mean anything if we didnt noe d marks, they should put d mark la, UPSR, PMR n SPM, the marks very important, makes me curious too bout my marks, lol

07-05-2009, 01:37 AM
Good genes? That when yur father is PhD holder and mother is lecturer, u will be born a genius? Haha...
That is excellent genes. When your parents are smart, you have high chances of inheriting their smartness and vice versa. However, the odd is my parents never liked History didn't do good in it but I happen to the best student in the Form 5 in History. How odd. Maybe at the crossing over process, created gene that like history. lol

kid
07-05-2009, 01:38 AM

hey, dats true lah, if ur father is genius, u have 1% chances to be like him because of d genes, or u'll gain 1% of of ur father ability, cant remember which one but i confident bout d 1%, haha

SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 01:45 AM
hey, dats true lah, if ur father is genius, u have 1% chances to be like him because of d genes, or u'll gain 1% of of ur father ability, cant remember which one but i confident bout d 1%, haha

1% only? I thought in bio its 50/50 mum and dad?

kid
07-05-2009, 01:46 AM
1% only? I thought in bio its 50/50 mum and dad?

really? me sux at bio, but i remember reading sumwhere bout 1%, dunno wat la, hehee

twinkle4_ever
07-05-2009, 01:47 AM
more A1 better chance to apply 4 scholarships.

SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 01:54 AM
more A1 better chance to apply 4 scholarships.

Still, will not necessary get it.

07-05-2009, 01:57 AM
Still, will not necessary get it.
The main question is does a lot of A1's show anything? Yes, it does. It shows that you have higher chances of getting a scholarship. Haiz.

kid
07-05-2009, 02:01 AM
The main question is does a lot of A1's show anything? Yes, it does. It shows that you have higher chances of getting a scholarship. Haiz.

nope, not really, higher chances to get d interview? YES, still, lot of my fwen in skolah harian wit 10 and 11 A1 not get d mara interview

twinkle4_ever
07-05-2009, 02:17 AM
certain scholarships can only be applied by 8 A1 ones and there is 100% full tuition fee waiver for 11 A1's. so, i think u understand the importance.

cuppycake
07-05-2009, 02:19 AM
nope, not really, higher chances to get d interview? YES, still, lot of my fwen in skolah harian wit 10 and 11 A1 not get d mara interview

agreed. nowadays too many people scored straight A1. although it's only 0.4% but it's still 1000++. and most scholarship providers shortlisted like what? hundred something or some less than 50. so, at this time, straight A1 doesnt really guarantee you anything.

SapphireDragon
07-05-2009, 02:22 AM
Let's just say I'll tell u tomorrow after the JPA results are announced (i think) whether straight A1 is important or not.

girlhand
09-05-2009, 11:43 AM
does it show anything??
of course...
i really wanna A1 just to show it for my parents n my teacher
they go very hard 4 this achievement...
other than dats nuthing only for us to got scholarship n studi...

no points studi vry hard got a great point but u dun enjoy it!!
so studi wat u like...n listen to ur heart..
hahahh..

michelle_k
09-05-2009, 01:34 PM
lots of a1's, does it show anything?

Yes, I see the importance here. But then again getting lots of a1's in ur spm does not mean tat u are excellent.

I obtained 10A1's and A1 for GCE/O in my spm. I 'm not trying to boast myself here but I am always one of the top 3 student for my class for every exam/monthly test. But, I failed to secure jpa. Instead, a lot of my frens who always skip class,nvr pay attention,and sleep in class and whose father is damn rich got it! No offense, k?
I'm very surprised! Even, my fren who is always the first girl didnt get jpa also!
This is very unfair! I am very disappointed with the jpa results.

kid
09-05-2009, 02:18 PM
i think any scholarship sponsor always being biased to sekolah harian students.like they are from low class sch.but hey,amalina is from sekolah harian okay.but u know what,the quality of straight A1 students from sekolah harian are much better.and thats the real straight A's students.

and for thoes who are from SBP,MRSM or any boarding schools,the marking scheme is different from sekolah harian.u know like the markers cant give them too bad like C or D because wanna keep the sch standard high.really biased.and i have a friend who got A1 fro eng but C6 for GCE.what is that?
ps:no offence for ex SBP,MRSM

www.waneeishere.blogspot.com (http://www.waneeishere.blogspot.com)

how do u know d marking scheme is different? A1 for eng but C6 for GCE., dat is very normal la, my senior (2 years older) in sekolah harian A1 for eng but D7 for gce, different person have different view on sumone essay, one can say d essay very good bcoz no grammatical mistake, but other person can say is not so good bcoz d essay is dull.,

Originally Posted by SapphireDragon
Let's just say I'll tell u tomorrow after the JPA results are announced (i think) whether straight A1 is important or not.

N now we know we have d result, wat do u wanna say?

muhdshah91
09-05-2009, 02:33 PM
i think any scholarship sponsor always being biased to sekolah harian students.like they are from low class sch.but hey,amalina is from sekolah harian okay.but u know what,the quality of straight A1 students from sekolah harian are much better.and thats the real straight A's students.

and for thoes who are from SBP,MRSM or any boarding schools,the marking scheme is different from sekolah harian.u know like the markers cant give them too bad like C or D because wanna keep the sch standard high.really biased.and i have a friend who got A1 fro eng but C6 for GCE.what is that?

gees, what a PRANK!!, am a former of mjsc n that prank is jst tend to make me 'fix' th 'error' here,
definitely, FALSE, nope, sbps/mjscs do ve diff markng scheme when it come to mid/final/trial examinations, but 4 spm, all schools in malaysia ve th same marking scheme, n 4 ur acknowledment, sbp/mjsc higher th passing mark, hence their student would strive more to get a better results 4 their exam,4 instances; to get an A in pend.islam, u'll ve to pass 90 n above, an A in addmath, 85 n higher...(but those re marks prescribed by my maktab)thus, we re used to those..
acknowledge this, pal..:)
(heyh~am not piss off, but jst satisfying th fact!):P

wanee
09-05-2009, 02:45 PM
gees, what a PRANK!!, am a former of mjsc n that prank is jst tend to make me 'fix' th 'error' here,
definitely, FALSE, nope, sbps/mjscs do ve diff markng scheme when it come to mid/final/trial examinations, but 4 spm, all schools in malaysia ve th same marking scheme, n 4 ur acknowledment, sbp/mjsc higher th passing mark, hence their student would strive more to get a better results 4 their exam,4 instances; to get an A in pend.islam, u'll ve to pass 90 n above, an A in addmath, 85 n higher...(but those re marks prescribed by my maktab)thus, we re used to those..
acknowledge this, pal..:)
(heyh~am not piss off, but jst satisfying th fact!):P

well well well,since ur en ex mjsc u sure gonna stand for ur so beloved sch.oh yes,i already know about it.that YOUR passing marks are high.but thats for exams only.for SPM they already set a standard for boarding sch.dont want to look so bad.wanna shows that mas boarding schs are good.and the smart ass students od boardg schs are just so stuck up.just because of the school name.so they think like they are so good compard to students od sekolah harian.*detestness*

kid
09-05-2009, 02:50 PM
well well well,since ur en ex mjsc u sure gonna stand for ur so beloved sch.oh yes,i already know about it.that YOUR passing marks are high.but thats for exams only.for SPM they already set a standard for boarding sch.dont want to look so bad.wanna shows that mas boarding schs are good.and the smart ass students od boardg schs are just so stuck up.just because of the school name.so they think like they are so good compard to students od sekolah harian.*detestness*

like i said how do u knoe d marking scheme is different? dis is d first time i heard bout dis crap!!

kid
09-05-2009, 02:58 PM
oh gosh.it my TEACHER!then learn about this crap dude.
are u one of those ex SPB or mrsm or wtv?that's called as board sch.arent u?

sory if my previous post a bit harsh, n yes, im ex-mrsm., n since its from ur teacher, i don wanna argue bout it., but i still dun wanna believe it unless i got a solid proof., :wink

wanee
09-05-2009, 03:00 PM
sory if my previous post a bit harsh, n yes, im ex-mrsm., n since its from ur teacher, i don wanna argue bout it., but i still dun wanna believe it unless i got a solid proof., :wink

haha good boy.agaga.oh i knew it.thats why u sound really defensive.

muhdshah91
09-05-2009, 03:02 PM
heyh, whre did u get all those pranks, u know, there is none of mjscs' teachers re spm's marker, mjsc is being stepped-son by our gov(bcoz of it stand ad half-gov n private), many of my acquaintances, my aunt, is head spm's marker 4 her school, she said "we, spm's marker WILL never know as if we re about to mark boarding schools' papers nor daily schools' ones, bcoz it nvr state thre, whether they re sbps'/mjscs' or daily schlss'.."..got it..
n my uncle employed by gov, particularly at ministry of education, "thres no such thing as bias when marking spm's papers of boarding sclls or govmnt's schlls"
while, one of my teacher said, "boarding schools stand a lower chance to get a better marks than govmnt's schools, to standardize th annual graft(of spm's result) which means, 60 mark from gov schools is equivalent to 90% of boardng schlls..."she is addmath teacher n currently marking 4 spm 08 addmth papers...she did showed me how to higher gov schools' addmth papers..

kid
09-05-2009, 03:11 PM
heyh, whre did u get all those pranks, u know, there is none of mjscs' teachers re spm's marker, mjsc is being stepped-son by our gov(bcoz of it stand ad half-gov n private), many of my acquaintances, my aunt, is head spm's marker 4 her school, she said "we, spm's marker WILL never know as if we re about to mark boarding schools' papers nor daily schools' ones, bcoz it nvr state thre, whether they re sbps'/mjscs' or daily schlss'.."..got it..

yup, nice one

wanee
09-05-2009, 03:13 PM
n my uncle employed by gov, particularly at ministry of education, "thres no such thing as bias when marking spm's papers of boarding sclls or govmnt's schlls"
while, one of my teacher said, "boarding schools stand a lower chance to get a better marks than govmnt's schools, to standardize th annual graft(of spm's result) which means, 60 mark from gov schools is equivalent to 90% of boardng schlls..."she is addmath teacher n currently marking 4 spm 08 addmth papers...she did showed me how to higher gov schools' addmth
papers..

the markers are told from where they papers are from.i mean the center.so they markers know whether these papers came from high iq students or not.my teacher whom a spm marker told me that okay.well,just say whatever u please,whatevr u think u're right and those other craps.i have my own ideas about it and i still with it.i have my own way to perceive the standard of boardg sch students and sekolah harian.

yup, nice one

nice CRAP!

09-05-2009, 03:22 PM

im sorry.....but you totally missed a point here.....
iam en ex sbp students....
first of all,is your teacher who said that an spm marker???
if she is,have she ever marked any mrsm or sbp papers??
nd how did she know that it is from sbp and mrsm???
back to my point...
i know nothing bout mrsm but the goverment really discriminate them....
poor them ok....
the gov are biased bout them....

as for sbp......
the markers never know wether they marked sbp or mrsm papers....
but they can see the standard of the papers.....
say like Bahasa melayu.......
the first 30 papers consist of long essays.......

then the whole school might wrote the same......
they all wrote long essays.....
because that's what th teachers had trained us....
thus they will set a higher standard to our papers.....
since they might set that this school got brilliant students.......
and in sbp,the teachers always help us......
you shuld note that the sbpians study almost 14 hours a day....
they got evening class and even niteclass that goes everyday......
we have no computers,tv to really distract us so much....
and we got our own exam....sbp exam and mrsm got mrsm exam....
and plus we still need to take those state exam like negeri sembilan very strict about the state exam....
(some even said negeri sembilan papers is as hard as spm)

plus!!!!
mrsm and sbp forbid their students to take so much subjects!!!!
the most maybe 14 or 12!!!
this is to ensure the standard of the students.......

ps:/my school was one of the worst sbp school in sbp rankings and even got students who got 9g.........and even got some 2-3a's students......so is this what you said as the markers cannot give them c or d????

wanee
09-05-2009, 03:33 PM

back to my point...
poor them ok....

as for sbp......
and plus we still need to take those state exam like negeri sembilan very strict about the state exam....

plus!!!!

i dont know what papers she's marking.why should i bother then?
hmm ur points are just normal cliche points that i've heard.they have to study 14hours perday so what?what's that gonna do with our argument here?
u know it's normal to see that lots of boardg sch students got lots of staright A's.but probably some will go like 'really?'when they heard that sekolah harian students got staright a's.i mean staright a1.n it does happens.
wahh seems like u got a wrong point here.
the hardest state papers are from selangor.n im from selangor.so i know since i've done few state papers.n9 was like very easy.i've done their Q.im not braging here. but thats the fact.

kancilpintar
09-05-2009, 03:38 PM
im on the sbp and mrsm side!!:P
hahaaa..

Glassylicious
09-05-2009, 03:45 PM
I'm a bit torn on whether to start laughing hysterically or to just be absolutely appalled at how everyone seems to be taking her a bit too seriously.

I'm not even sure if this wanee person is actually really misguided or if she's just trolling. Ironically, all my teachers who were SPM markers/question-setters told me the opposite. As in, examiners don't know which school is which, etc. And hell no, there definitely isn't a "separate marking scheme" for certain schools.

Anyway, again, she's either been misinformed, or is doing this deliberately [for which I'll give her or her source brownie points for creativity]. If it's the latter, do not feed the troll, guys.

luminodreamer89
09-05-2009, 04:14 PM
Well, i agree with what Glassylicious said.

First of all, why jump into this argument when no solid evidence is being stated all the while?
Hearsay needs to be proved to be true.

I am a former SMK student, so I am not standing either side. Atas pagar, we call that in Malay's Simpulan Bahasa.

For the one who started this argument, do provide the sources where you get your information. It will be easier for us to evaluate the falsity/truth.

It's meaningless to argue without solid proof. Thanks. =)

muhdshah91
09-05-2009, 05:24 PM
spm markers will never know from which schools they re marking but 4 those code bout states, 4 sure stand 4 nothing gonna do with th marking scheme..

Well, i agree with what Glassylicious said.

First of all, why jump into this argument when no solid evidence is being stated all the while?
Hearsay needs to be proved to be true.

I am a former SMK student, so I am not standing either side. Atas pagar, we call that in Malay's Simpulan Bahasa.

For the one who started this argument, do provide the sources where you get your information. It will be easier for us to evaluate the falsity/truth.

It's meaningless to argue without solid proof. Thanks. =)
heyh, i did put some relevant facts..which is genuine n not of prank!!

Eurytos
10-05-2009, 12:56 AM
I'm a bit torn on whether to start laughing hysterically or to just be absolutely appalled at how everyone seems to be taking her a bit too seriously.

I'm not even sure if this wanee person is actually really misguided or if she's just trolling. Ironically, all my teachers who were SPM markers/question-setters told me the opposite. As in, examiners don't know which school is which, etc. And hell no, there definitely isn't a "separate marking scheme" for certain schools.

Anyway, again, she's either been misinformed, or is doing this deliberately [for which I'll give her or her source brownie points for creativity]. If it's the latter, do not feed the troll, guys.

Haha recom seems to be starting to have a troll manifestation problem. Also all examiners are not disclosed of the location the test papers originated from. I can tell you this because my mum marks the exam paper. Just like wanee told you her teacher was one too. Or maybe my dad is the head of MPM so i can feed you this information. Which is exactly why you shouldn't feed the trolls just like you shouldn't the monkeys in botanical garden, Penang : )

muhdshah91
10-05-2009, 03:43 AM
back to my point...
poor them ok....

as for sbp......

plus!!!!

ps:/my school was one of the worst sbp school in sbp rankings and even got students who got 9g.........and even got some 2-3a's students......so is this what you said as the markers cannot give them c or d????
am turning to a nocturnal,lol
but heyh, is it true tht sbpians studied 4 14 hours??
n u got no tvs n comp games to distract..
n even night classes, mrsm is a bit relaxer then..

pureint91
10-05-2009, 07:42 AM
Is this considered as off topic? Zzz

hrixenz
10-05-2009, 08:39 AM
but hey,amalina is from sekolah harian okay.but u know what,the quality of straight A1 students from sekolah harian are much better.and thats the real straight A's students.

Yes, she took 17 subjects and was one of the top scorers,congrats to her. But I dont agree with you that the quality of straight A1 students from sekolah harian are much better. Most SBP/mrsm students can only take 10 subjects and they can focus better on their study than those students who take more than 10. And I believe the marks for each subject for sbp/mrsm students who get 10a1 are higher than others who get let say 13a1.

and for thoes who are from SBP,MRSM or any boarding schools,the marking scheme is different from sekolah harian.u know like the markers cant give them too bad like C or D because wanna keep the sch standard high.really biased

JOKE OF THE YEAR..

im an ex-sbp student and proud of it!

the hardest state papers are from selangor.n im from selangor.so i know since i've done few state papers.n9 was like very easy.i've done their Q.im not braging here. but thats the fact.

Then I would say selangor paper was the easiest.

"im not braging here. but thats the fact"

7-2.30 in class

3.30-4.30 in class

9.00-11.00 in class

10 hours only in my school.

10-05-2009, 11:29 AM

7-2.30=7 and half hour
3.30-4.30=1 hour
8.30-11=2 hour and half

mostly evening and nite prepatory classes become tuition for form fivers
so we need additional times for those stacks of works and self study.

12am-2 am/4am-6am=2 hour

so it is 13 hours.....sorry for wrote 14....

for my school....yup no comps!!!!
really hard to use the comps at school and the internet blocked so many things.....we go to cybercafe during outing

and tv are meant only for weekends
and outing once in a month

SLiD
10-05-2009, 11:59 AM

Straight A1s are not important.

Straight A1 won't bring you your dream career.

Straight A1 won't get you your dream guy/girl.

Straight A1 won't see you as a successful person.

Even if Straight A1 will get you a scholarship, that's all.

Yes, we should strive hard to get good results, but results are not everything. My observations have shown that there are better things than only achieving A1s in SPM.

:amuse

wanee
10-05-2009, 10:48 PM
wow.seems like my idea has received lots of responses.TQ ppl but no thanks.
im a fromer student of daily school and im proud of it.i feel WAY BETTER AND THANKFUL for not choosing SBP n MRSM.not all are good enough though.

NO OFFENCE

muhdshah91
10-05-2009, 11:25 PM
wow.seems like my idea has received lots of responses.TQ ppl but no thanks.
im a fromer student of daily school and im proud of it.i feel WAY BETTER AND THANKFUL for not choosing SBP n MRSM.not all are good enough though.

NO OFFENCE
weel, u re WAY too emotional when inferring ur perception..
u opt to stay at ur (so-called) gov school n satisfied with it, thats th way u perceive ur stuff, but please, be OPTIMIST nxt time kay,
it looks like u re offending over somthng that no one would know,
n th last quote 'not all re good enough though' whatever about it,
probably its true but a former of boarding school is MUCH better than daily-school's one..thats a genuine fact that everyone will acknowledge(i mean, one who is matured enough n give a ponder bout somthng deeply)
well, persevere strict rgulations n ve fronted basis life as university students ve really taught us a great wisdom to live our college's life disciplined n independently..(not all of us, but it stands a better probability, approximately of 0.8, am quite sure evryone knows that)
mrsm has absolutely made me a positive person, get me more adhere to Quran n sunnah rules,more discipline n puctual, compassionate n deepen my sense of humanity(emphaty) n etc all of these implemented by means of confronting predicaments n difficulties tht only experienced by boarding-school's highschooler.

remember!! be optimist n think well before louding out ur 'fact', no offence k!:)
am hoping 4 all recommers,to perceive things positively to share our opinions,not false arguments coz we dont need STIFFED minded persons here!

am sory 4 ths :offtopic,indeed!

kid
11-05-2009, 01:20 AM
im a former student of daily school and im proud of it.i feel WAY BETTER AND THANKFUL for not choosing SBP n MRSM.not all are good enough though.

sory ppl (esp. wanee) but i really wanna say sumting bout dis, r u implying dat u feel way better and thankful for choosing non-sbp/mrsm school which u think ALL good?

sorry mods coz i noe dis is :offtopic ,

wanee
11-05-2009, 12:22 PM
sory ppl (esp. wanee) but i really wanna say sumting bout dis, r u implying dat u feel way better and thankful for choosing non-sbp/mrsm school which u think ALL good?

sorry mods coz i noe dis is :offtopic ,
i feel proud and thankful because i came from good daily school.although im qualified for sbp n mrsm back then,i chose to stay in daily sch.

weel, u re WAY too emotional when inferring ur perception..
u opt to stay at ur (so-called) gov school n satisfied with it, thats th way u perceive ur stuff, but please, be OPTIMIST nxt time kay,
it looks like u re offending over somthng that no one would know,
n th last quote 'not all re good enough though' whatever about it,
probably its true but a former of boarding school is MUCH better than daily-school's one..thats a genuine fact that everyone will acknowledge(i mean, one who is matured enough n give a ponder bout somthng deeply)
well, persevere strict rgulations n ve fronted basis life as university students ve really taught us a great wisdom to live our college's life disciplined n independently..(not all of us, but it stands a better probability, approximately of 0.8, am quite sure evryone knows that)
mrsm has absolutely made me a positive person, get me more adhere to Quran n sunnah rules,more discipline n puctual, compassionate n deepen my sense of humanity(emphaty) n etc all of these implemented by means of confronting predicaments n difficulties tht only experienced by boarding-school's highschooler.

remember!! be optimist n think well before louding out ur 'fact', no offence k!:)
am hoping 4 all recommers,to perceive things positively to share our opinions,not false arguments coz we dont need STIFFED minded persons here!

am sory 4 ths :offtopic,indeed!

oh well i think it's wise enough i if acted this way.after all ppl are condeming me n not even one agree with me,i didnt go over emtional about it.and ppl speak sarcasm some more.