View Full Version : my stupid comp

06-12-2003, 01:19 AM
hey guys, it's about my stupid comp again.

i just changed a new hard drive but now i have another problem.

my comp will like shut down automatically without me doing so. however, after i unplugged the power source and plug it in again, it works again. it is so frustrating and i m worried my stupid comp is facing some crisis again. could it be something to do with the mother board? i never set the power system to hibernate or turn off after certain time.

please help. i dun want my new barracuda got spoiled like my old maxtor. thanks in advanced.

06-12-2003, 01:26 AM
Comp automitically switching off can be caused by a myraid number of reasons. Very hard to pin point.

Does it show a slight blue screen before turning off? If so the problem might be Windows.

If the machine just goes without any warning, it is probably temperature and some natural reaction by the mobo to cut the power source before anything on the board fries. Sometimes (my own experience) it might just be that some connection is not properly done somewhere, and short circuiting happens, either destroying some chips nearby or simply raised the voltage so high that it trips the guard the mobo provides.

bachok83
06-12-2003, 01:27 AM
hmm it seems like you are having trouble with power connection...

make sure that the power plug is pluged correctly to the hard disk...

your problem is mainly because of short circuit...(thats y u need to unplug the power cord then plug it back in)

so, once again, make sure that you connect the power wire to the hard disk correctly... (make it tight)

hope this fix your problem..

06-12-2003, 06:55 AM
What do you mean by shutdown automatically? Do you mean it just shuts off as if someone pulled the plug, or does it just shut down the "proper" way?

If your computer displays a BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) and restarts automatically, it'll be helpful if you can post the temps of your computer (CPU and case temps) and voltages (mainly +5v, +12v and +3.3v rails). If you are overclocking, I'd like to know the voltages of your VCore and Vdimm too.

Go to System Properties - Advanced Tab - Startup and Recovery (Settings) - Uncheck "Automatically Restart". Do this so you can read the error message.

What's is the specs of your computer? In this case, however, I'm more interested in the brand/model of your power supply unit. It soulds like a PSU problem to me.

06-12-2003, 07:24 AM
friend of mine had almost the same problem (don't know about the have to replugging the power source part.) He tried everything from heat to testing with differnt cpus

Turns out it was faulty RAM...yes ladies and gentleman faulty RAM. How?
don't know. I think the RAm was sucking too much power from the PSU.

But then again, your problem just surfaced rite? Before it was fine. So i think it might be a loose connection somewhere.

06-12-2003, 07:34 AM
For every piece of RAM I buy, I make it a point to run at least a few hours of Memtest86 on it (all tests, cache on). If the RAM is good, it shouldn't even have a single error on it.

Prime95 is used to test the overall stability of the system. You can use other DC clients to test, but Prime95 seems to tax the system the heaviest for me. If you can pass 24hrs without a single error, the system should be pretty much bombproof.

The other test that I've heard about but haven't tried is by running a video encoder for a few hours. It seems to expose system weakness that other programs can't.

So wwhong.. you can try doing that too. Of course, it could be a problem as simple as just a loose connection :)

06-12-2003, 08:08 AM
thank you guys.

yup, i will definitely make sure my power connection to hard disk is plugged in properly. i m just wondering how can i test if it's the fault of ram? what is memtest 86 and Prime95?how can i get those from? sorry i m not a computer person, appreciate if you guys can let me know.

no, there's no blue screen before the com shut down itself. hmm...it's like when i was doing work halfway, the com just shut down itself instantaneously. after i restarted it, there's no error message at all just like everything is going fine.

do u guys know if there will be any negative effect later because of this?

this is really a nice place to get advice on computer problems. thanks again guys, appreciate that.

06-12-2003, 10:41 AM
Are you sure it is not just a brownout? Like at the same time the PC shuts off, the lights flickers?

bachok83
06-12-2003, 11:20 AM
heheh.... yeah.. google.. google.. :D

06-12-2003, 01:33 PM
i;m sorry but what's brownout...never heard that term before

12-12-2003, 08:17 AM
i plugged in my power connection properly but still the problem is not fully solved yet.

my com works fine at night but at the morning or afternoon, it will shut down itself randomly. (as if there's a period for that)

someone please help if u know what's the cause. it's driving me crazy

lotus
26-07-2005, 12:40 AM
Noob alert!! Honestly, I went through the computer forum but can't see a topic/thread on 'virus' so decided to post here since the topic word 'stupid' is of relevance here as my inbound questions gonna sound stupid. Here goes:-
1. There are a few threats found in my computer each time I run my Norton Antivirus for the past 2 months and they can't be deleted.

2. They are Adware. Topsearch and Adware BDE

3. The file names are: asm.exe, asmps.dll, Points Manager.exe, sysdetect.ll

If my questions & info don't make sense just ignore, I'd send my comp for reformatting as a frustrated friend whom I've been bugging suggested. :cry:

yuckfou
26-07-2005, 04:16 AM
Noob alert!! Honestly, I went through the computer forum but can't see a topic/thread on 'virus' so decided to post here since the topic word 'stupid' is of relevance here as my inbound questions gonna sound stupid. Here goes:-
1. There are a few threats found in my computer each time I run my Norton Antivirus for the past 2 months and they can't be deleted.

2. They are Adware. Topsearch and Adware BDE

3. The file names are: asm.exe, asmps.dll, Points Manager.exe, sysdetect.ll

If my questions & info don't make sense just ignore, I'd send my comp for reformatting as a frustrated friend whom I've been bugging suggested. :cry:

Maybe you'll need to update your Norton Antivirus or use another virus killer or buster.

However, it seems to me that they are more like spywares rather than viruses. You normally get spywares when you install a program such as Kazaa and other untrusted programs into you PC. People who surfs porn online also gets infected by spyware. I do hope that's not the case. Some spyware are easily removed using those freebie spyware killer on the internet.

However, spywares are now getting so much smarter. They hijack your registry files. Every time you kill them, they will regenerate when you start up internet explorer. Some are even worse. They regenerate every time u start-up your PC.

I had this problem before, thanks to Kazaa. I had to delete some of my registry files and recreate a new ones. It's not that difficult to do and I've managed to get rid of the spywares without having to reformat my laptop.

However, you just have to make sure that they are spywares, not viruses. If not, my post will be useless info to you. So, double check them again.

Peace out...

26-07-2005, 04:47 AM
try running 'System Restore' - pick the date which was 2 months ago before everything happened?

lotus
26-07-2005, 10:46 AM
Maybe you'll need to update your Norton Antivirus or use another virus killer or buster.
However, it seems to me that they are more like spywares rather than viruses. You normally get spywares when you install a program such as Kazaa and other untrusted programs into you PC. ..........
Peace out...
Thank you yuckfou. Whatever you've mentioned sounds so much like the probs with my comp esp "Every time you kill them, they will regenerate when you start up internet explorer. Some are even worse. They regenerate every time u start-up your PC." Where/how do I get another virus killer or buster? I'm prepared to try anything before sending my comp for reformatting. Please advise. :?

lotus
26-07-2005, 10:50 AM
try running 'System Restore' - pick the date which was 2 months ago before everything happened?
Thank you weich but how to run 'system restore' ?...step by step please...I know, don't freak out by this question please :oops: :oops:

26-07-2005, 11:09 AM
Thank you weich but how to run 'system restore' ?...step by step please...I know, don't freak out by this question please :oops: :oops:

i think u are running Windows XP rite??

Click on Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> System Restore.

u can use the window help too... by searching "system restore" u shld be able to find links and instructions to run it...

26-07-2005, 11:09 AM
sorry for the double post... there's some Debug error when i posted this for the first time... and it didn't appear rightaway when i refresh the page... so, i posted it again...

yuckfou
26-07-2005, 02:24 PM
However, it seems to me that they are more like spywares rather than viruses. You normally get spywares when you install a program such as Kazaa and other untrusted programs into you PC. ..........
Peace out...
Thank you yuckfou. Whatever you've mentioned sounds so much like the probs with my comp esp "Every time you kill them, they will regenerate when you start up internet explorer. Some are even worse. They regenerate every time u start-up your PC." Where/how do I get another virus killer or buster? I'm prepared to try anything before sending my comp for reformatting. Please advise. :?

Hmm... then it seems that you're NOT actually having a virus problem, but a quite serious problem with spyware hijacking your registry key files. The same thing happened to my laptop but I got rid of it permenantly without having to reformat my harddisk. This spyware keeps on regenarating no matter what you try to do with it. Spyware killers or busters can't seem to get rid of it. The only way I know is to delete your registry files and recreate them again since they're hijacking it. Email me personally at yuckfou2u2@<hidden> and I'll tell you what you'll need to do and the software you'll need to download. It'll take too long for me to explain it here. The procedures doesn't take long or much effort, but you have to do it correctly. However, I can't guarantee that this will solve your problem since every spyware do things their own way. But it's just worth a try since you've got nothing to lose, right?

Peace out...

lotus
27-07-2005, 01:00 AM

Click on Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> System Restore.

u can use the window help too... by searching "system restore" u shld be able to find links and instructions to run it...
Thank you! Shall give it a 'go' later and hoping for the best. Trying to procrastinate because I find the computer useful for communication/information but otherwise it is really intimidating. My love-hate relationship with the comp. =p

lotus
27-07-2005, 01:00 AM
..sorry for double posting..just now some message appeared about debug...haih....no end to learning about the comp.. :(

lotus
27-07-2005, 01:11 AM
Many thanks yuckfou. Shall do so.

lotus
01-08-2005, 12:21 AM

I just managed to run the 'system restore'. However, I can only use the restore point dated 17-5-05(system check). I can't run restore to any earlier dates which I believe when my comp probs started. :cry: Suggestions please ?

yuckfou
01-08-2005, 01:54 AM

I just managed to run the 'system restore'. However, I can only use the restore point dated 17-5-05(system check). I can't run restore to any earlier dates which I believe when my comp probs started. :cry: Suggestions please ?

I guess the adware has hijacked your registry key files then. You'll have to delete your registry files and create new ones.

Later...

02-08-2005, 01:51 PM
hmm..i never heard of deleting the registry files b4...haha..might even render your computer unusable.. :p...well, if you have to winxp cd..then boot from it, let it go to the prompt about setting up a new windows xp, choose the recovery option..it'll do the rest for you..hope this helps..

if it doesn't work, then try reformatting the computer if it haven't been done for more than 1 year...solves the problem in one sweep :p i guess you know what to do before reformatting so i won't elaborate here... :)

yuckfou
02-08-2005, 02:33 PM
hmm..i never heard of deleting the registry files b4...haha..might even render your computer unusable.. :p...well, if you have to winxp cd..then boot from it, let it go to the prompt about setting up a new windows xp, choose the recovery option..it'll do the rest for you..hope this helps..

if it doesn't work, then try reformatting the computer if it haven't been done for more than 1 year...solves the problem in one sweep :p i guess you know what to do before reformatting so i won't elaborate here... :)

Of course it works. I've done it on my laptop. Works like a charm. All you need to do is delete the hijaked registry files and then recreate exact new ones once your pc reboots. You'll need to download a small little software to help you delete the registry key files, reboots your pc and then recreates the exact files again. So simple. There's not guarantee that it will delete all spywares but it'll definitely won't make you pc unusable.

I don't think the recovery stuff will work. Once it gets into your registry key files, it's like a parasite. You can kill it temporarily, but it'll regenerate once you reboot your pc or start up IE. Reformatting your pc is the most suckiest thing you wanna do. Try this method and see how it goes. You've got nothing to lose, anyway.

lotus
02-08-2005, 10:29 PM
Yay yay! :lol: My comp is so 'clever' now, as good as new. A friend came over for a few hours and did some magic. A whole lot of stuffs which I do not quite understand but a few things I remember are disk check, defragmentation, update windows, install Lavasof Ad-Aware and sth sth sth. All the same, thank you very much for the helpful suggestions esp yuckfou :wink:

02-08-2005, 10:52 PM
hmm...you can try a software names Hijack This..but i kinda forgot the link to the thing..but googling for it will help:)...it's kinda sofisticated to use...so do a analyse of your system using it and then post the results here..we'll help identify the registry keys to delete...hopefully that will help with the spyware problem :)

yuckfou
03-08-2005, 12:01 AM
Good to know that your spyware problem is solved. Just make sure that it is solved for good. I agree with vseehua. You can track back your registry files. But since your problem is solved, there's no reason for that.

Peace out...

03-08-2005, 12:39 AM
and remember to switch to opera/firefox & you'll be much safer from now on.

yuckfou
03-08-2005, 03:11 AM
and remember to switch to opera/firefox & you'll be much safer from now on.

Yup, firefox is good. In addition, don't just install any free softwares on the web. Many of them comes with spywares.

03-08-2005, 01:54 PM
hmm...perhaps we can start a thread about recomended softwares here...so that the others will know which one is good and which one are bad...i haven checked yet.but is there any here??

i liked firefox too.it's much faster than ie...and you can customize it with only features that you want, not what the developer want you to have....save resources on my almost 5 year old com...

yuckfou
03-08-2005, 03:03 PM
hmm...perhaps we can start a thread about recomended softwares here...so that the others will know which one is good and which one are bad...i haven checked yet.but is there any here??

i liked firefox too.it's much faster than ie...and you can customize it with only features that you want, not what the developer want you to have....save resources on my almost 5 year old com...

yeah, it's cool. But somehow it always screws up everything I wanna reply a message with hotmail. i think it doesn't support rich-text editor. In addition, I can't log on into my company's unix network with firefox. So, I still use IE once in a while.

06-08-2005, 09:57 PM
yea..i still cn't listen to myfm's radio over the net..much be tailored for use on ie only..hope they change that in the future...

yuckfou
07-08-2005, 01:12 AM
I heard people are going to Corporatize Mozilla. So now, they're going to produce their own line of programs and softwares to compete against Microsoft.

07-08-2005, 09:14 PM
huh..where did you hear that from??.i hope not, cz open source programs have produced the best programs out there... :cry:

08-08-2005, 12:22 AM
yup..there'll be a Mozilla Corporation but Firefox & Thunderbird will remain free.

You can read more at www.mozilla.com

12-08-2005, 02:50 AM
after reading their aim..i hope they stick to it... :)

sakurakinomoto
27-08-2005, 01:22 PM
well, i don't think they still can compete against Microsoft....they still kinda way behind it...well, i need a win XP 64bit....i wonder where can i find it? it's for my workstation...

27-08-2005, 09:56 PM
they can...if we keep promoting alternatives rather than using something that is provided but really bad...haha...

win xp x64?? it's not yet available in retail, due to driver issues...drivers for many devices are not yet released as of now...so i recommend that you wait a little while longer for this issue to be resolved first...when the driver issues are resolved, then microsoft will probably release it :)

ian
02-12-2005, 07:00 PM
err, guys?? sorry for interupting, coz im a noob here.. erm, i had a problem with my comp.. juz like the same problem someone else encountered, my comp wud suddenly restart all by itself. Dis only happens when i leave my comp on and unattended, e.g. when im downloading things. Then after the comp reboot, it will have a msg, something like " Windows XP has recovered from a serious error" den it asks me whether want to send report onot.

I tried scanning my comp with 2 different spyware sofware, and i tried adware too, i removed every bad files in my comp, i tried defragmenting and cleaning up my comp using tuneup, but the problem is still dere. However, when im active, e.g. typing smt, chatting, den the comp won have any prob..

I suspect it might be a spyware that was failed to be detected.. I read abt deleting the registry key and recreate new one. Juz wanna ask how to do that and how to know which reg key is infected. Will dere be any adverse effects?

thx for all help!!! i appreciate it. p.s. dis site rocks :D

05-12-2005, 09:55 PM
first, try typing msconfig into the run dialog box at the start menu, go to the startup tab and disable everything there...then reboot the computer and let it do it's downloading...c if it'll crash, then reenable the startup options one by one, reboot at activation of each option and continue your downloading and c which aplication is the offending one...uninstal it if it's not needed, reinstall if it's needed..try find updates versions through the net if you are able to do so

if not successful, try booting your computer into safe mode (pressing F8 right after ressing the power button will do, then select safe mode with networkingfrom the menu)...try updating your antispyware and antivirus through the net and then do a can while in safe mode..

if your computer is indeed infected with malwares, most probably they will hide themselves while windows is working in the normal mode, safe mode will disable most of the hidden malwares as they can't work here

oh ya, do you mind providing the name of antispyware and antivirus programs that you are using??

the last option is while downloading, could u pinpoint whether your comp hang after a fixed point in time, ie : like 4 hours after left standing or not...i do suspect that your comp is having a heat problem, maybe you cn try opening up the case and look at the heat sinks and fan grills, do clean them up if you can see patches of dust

hehe...hope that helps...you cn pm me about your progress if you want, or just post your results here :)

Maxforce
06-12-2005, 12:41 AM
Reformat, thats the easiet and fastest thing to do
Reg key? unless you know exactly what you re looking for (i.e. what type of spyware and its version)
Adverse effect? Nah nothing much, probably your progams will get corrupted but then if you reformat, same oso. Worth a shot b4 reformatting but if I were you, I will sraightaway reformat since you ve tried so many things already.

15-02-2006, 01:05 PM
my computer is consistently fast by 2 minutes everyday... (i synchronize it everyday so far to solve the problem, but by the end of the day, it's faster by 2 minutes)

any idea why? and how i can solve the problem permanently???

15-02-2006, 06:35 PM
my computer is consistently fast by 2 minutes everyday... (i synchronize it everyday so far to solve the problem, but by the end of the day, it's faster by 2 minutes)

any idea why? and how i can solve the problem permanently???

what do you mean by fast??

15-02-2006, 11:45 PM
like it's 2 minutes faster than the internet time.... my computer shows 10.45am, when my cellphone shows 10.43am... and my fren's computer who sync. with the internet time shows 10.43am...

i was thinking about CMOS settings and all... but the problem is, i didn't turn off my computer, and yet, it got faster somehow...

16-02-2006, 05:07 AM
how old is your computer? you might want to check if the battery on your motherboard is running properly..

hehe..that's just a suggestion la of course, since i've never ran into this issue..?'ll check ovef the net for ya.. :)

16-02-2006, 11:08 AM
my laptop is let me see... *counting on fingers*, 9 months old...

day_dreamer
28-07-2006, 05:48 PM
I understand that defragmentation done too frequently can cause data lost to window. Any help to counter this problem ??