View Full Version : Government wants to recruit non malay nurses

30-03-2005, 05:46 PM
PUTRAJAYA: The low numbers of non-Malay nurses in public hospitals is giving a ?headache? to hospital administrators.

They are finding it hard to allow nurses to go on leave, especially during festivals like Hari Raya when casualties from road accidents are high.

Health Ministry parliamentary secretary Lee Kah Choon said the fact that 85% of nurses were Malays was an unhealthy trend and created ?lopsided? staffing in public hospitals.

?Only 6% of nurses are Chinese while 4% are Indians. The other 5% comprise of other bumiputra non-Malays

http://www.doctorjob.com.my/localnews/display.asp?ID=3034

30-03-2005, 05:50 PM
My mum is a nurse and she is facing such trouble.
It is all about politics....
they sack yellow and dark skin and bring in malay skin.
They get thier fruit of thier own action. serve them right.

racial politics

30-03-2005, 05:52 PM
IQing, Would you like to elaborate on how your mum is facing trouble?

30-03-2005, 05:55 PM
the non malays leave the hospital or kena sack and they exploy malay people. To cut cost they lessen the number of nurses in hospital so each nurses have to do more work.

Insider spoiler :

ever since malay nurses start to work in hospital, they are very inefficient workers, being lazy and can?t write report in English. Such phanomena is so common that it is not wrong at all to generalise.
I know about it since my mother is working in hospital :)

30-03-2005, 06:01 PM
I dont know about Hospitals but i think some of the Malay people are quite industrious . I know someone who was in a care home and he was cared for by malay nurses and he said they were better than anyone hes ever had. The most compassionate, etc.

30-03-2005, 06:03 PM
It has nothing to do with me. It is just political stuffs my mother told me.

Well, you can say anything you want but I will believe you only if you work as nurse yourself and experience the trouble that my mum has experience.

I trust insider more than outsider :)

23-09-2005, 07:59 AM
the non malays leave the hospital or kena sack and they exploy malay people. To cut cost they lessen the number of nurses in hospital so each nurses have to do more work.

Insider spoiler :

ever since malay nurses start to work in hospital, they are very inefficient workers, being lazy and can?t write report in English. Such phanomena is so common that it is not wrong at all to generalise.
whats up iqing, malay cant write report in english huh sucks right? thats your opinion though right.

23-09-2005, 09:10 AM
whats up iqing, malay cant write report in english huh sucks right? thats your opinion though right.
I can't believe it... in one day alone, I heard self-contradiction, and now, restating other people's observation=one's opinion?! I'm laughing my head off right now...

23-09-2005, 09:11 AM

Insider spoiler :

it's his opinion. i can see that. i believe everyone else do too. what's wrong w/ giving his opinion? if you wanna say something, pls be more explicit. you're not writing a story or directing a movie, you don't need a cliffhanger.

23-09-2005, 10:28 AM
LMAO

*shrug*

sometimes people run amok.
let him be

25-09-2005, 10:42 AM
come on..stick to the facts..if we go on based on stories la...ppl say this..ppl say that...i dont think that helps...and yes, everyone has their own opinions. If you dont want to know it...then dun ask in the first place...easy.

26-09-2005, 04:40 PM
iqing, you denied you said it. now you remember right? if you just forgot than its okay but see i did tell you. And i think what you've done is probably cos you dont care. if i was to go round making generalisations about chinese people then people say i was anti chinese. if i said you're anti malay then people would stick up for you. See i made one statement about the nep helping poor malay people and i was labelled a racist by europa.

gonjeng
26-09-2005, 07:56 PM
hehe... if you havent notice the trend that goes around here as of lately... if you bring up the issue of discrimination in malaysia with some comments on how malays are like or should be like this or that (to some extend), it is called personal opinion and apparently it is okay to do so...

if there are some racial biased comments/slurs on the malays, as much as some of the members may say/imply that it is slightly racial and not right to say as such, there will be calls to see why certain ppl say so. hence, we ought to ponder on the current situation, or to simply put it, do a reality check...

however, if the table is turned around and put some comments on other races, you will be labelled as being racist. you will see some (if not many) may get offended with such comments. hence, you'll get the respond like what you got here :)

as much as i say this is not always the case, it has been this way, IMO, lately :) so chill aight? what to do...

~peace out~

gonjeng
27-09-2005, 05:39 AM
lets talk about it here, since there is an actual thread for it...

I know about it since my mother is working in hospital Smile

again, the problem here is when somebody simply make a generalization on the issue. fine, there may be some malay nurses who are crap, but to simply say ALL malay nurses (the word ALL is the direct intepretation that comes from a generalization) are crap is just plain wrong.

FOR EXAMPLE (i have to bold it, in case one may miss that :p), let say i have a sister and a cousin who have many chinese friends. somehow, my sister and my cousin starting to act indecently - according to the malay culture and islamic point of view. the family are getting pissed at their behaviour. nevertheless, can we conclude that having chinese friends are bad influence and they are ALL suxx?

another one... let say my friends and i (who are muslims) in the states have been discriminated against by the americans. they throw racial slurs at us, threatened to harm us, etc. can we all go back home to mesia and claim ALL americans suxx and hate muslims?

[disclaimer: again, the two above examples are created for the sake of arguments]

im not sure about yours but i strongly say NO. that, by itself, will incite more hatred towards each other. i can bet that this is one of the few things that ticks pjkru off... have i not grown up little bit and hence seen worse stuff, i would be furious also. fine someone (in this case your mom) told you that, but to actually spread it around the way you did is wrong - at least in my opinion. fact or no fact, one should somehow have the courtesy of rewording some stuff to respect others. assuming the first example is true, do you not think it will harm the relationship between the malays and chinese should i simply report to everybody that how bad were my sis and cousin's friends to others??? refering to my second argument, should i tell others about our experience, do you not think this will simply breed hatred amongst the muslims against the West, esp US?

there are many ways to tell others what you know. one way may be worse than the other. i can bet you, that if you copy and paste word by word what you wrote to a malay dominated forum, ppl will start cursing and throwing tantrums. instead, if you rephrase that in a nicer way, not all ppl are going to be pissed. be tact, dude!

im not here to argue about the facts, but more on the ethics. i'm not 100% perfect, neither do any of us. but that does not mean we cannot be 99% perfect - a phrase from my high school teacher, which i hold on to till now :) many recommers complaint that there's none, if not little, racial harmony in mesia and also, many gave out their opinions on why and what we should do. however, from my own observation, not many are able to really practise what they say...

there, i rest my case here for now

27-09-2005, 05:49 AM
it is not a good practice to put words into people's mouth

the word ALL is not in my post but you added it.

my post is not harsh
some members are just over sensitive.

my post is not to satisfy sensitive people
if you want to outburst over something mild, that is your choice.
sad but *shrug*

gonjeng
27-09-2005, 07:18 AM
it is not a good practice to put words into people's mouth

the word ALL is not in my post but you added it.

my post is not harsh
some members are just over sensitive.

my post is not to satisfy sensitive people
if you want to outburst over something mild, that is your choice.
sad but *shrug*

true, you did not say "ALL" but here is my argument of why I bring "ALL" in:

again, the problem here is when somebody simply make a generalization on the issue. fine, there may be some malay nurses who are crap, but to simply say ALL malay nurses (the word ALL is the direct intepretation that comes from a generalization) are crap is just plain wrong.

here's what wikipedia say about generalization:

Concept A is a generalization of concept B if and only if:

* every instance of concept B is also an instance of concept A; and
* there are instances of concept A which are not instances of concept B

hence, from my understanding, concept A is equivalent to laziness and inability to write english report, while B is the malay nurses. also, notive the word 'every'. correct me if im wrong, but dont 'every' and 'all' are synonyms to each other? therefore, if my deduction is correct, by making generalization, you are sayiing, every malay nurses is lazy and cannot write english report.

if the definition is wrong, blame wikipedia and can someone correct that :) anyway, this is just to show how we all should not simply generalized on certain issues... dangerous maa...

and yes, i am sensitive... but it is towards generalization as i personally think it is wrong. hence, this is certainly not about whats going on with those malay nurses...

27-09-2005, 10:50 AM
as if I am saying all malays are lazy.
well , if u choose to see it that way *shrug*

this is pointless.
people just go around the circle and lead the discussion to turmoil.
it is just plain pointless.

wawa
27-09-2005, 11:33 AM
Of course it is not ALL, but generalization gives us an inkling of what the overall picture is.

Its just like saying children like sweets. Its a generalization that usually holds true, but of course there are exceptions. The point is, it gives us an overall idea that most/majority children like sweets. See?

Back on the topic of non-Malay nurses, its another drive by the government to make sure that all sectors are equally represented. [/quote]