View Full Version : Authentic Cantonese Horror Film
Ishveir
06-12-2003, 09:56 PM
Hello there everyone who has an interest in Cantonese Ghost Stories, those that are really scary and worth seeing ;)
i hope this topic digests in posts on the best of those movies which i unfortunately cant recall....but would love to see again.
have fun recollecting ;)
07-12-2003, 12:04 AM
The Eye. acted by m'sian actress lee xin-jie(not sure how to write her name in english)
pretty scary.
silverblue
07-12-2003, 12:37 AM
OHHH.... yes.... The Eye was really good... one of the very few movies nowadays that can qualify as scary... haha... actually, it's more eerie than scary... 8O so definitely go watch it!
even the Cornell Cinema showed it here! hehe..
havent heard of any other good cantonese ghost movies so far... but i'd like to hear about it too! cos i am another cantonese movie fan! :P
on a side note, I heard that the Korean horror movie, The Phone is pretty good too, although I havent personally watched it yet...
07-12-2003, 12:50 AM
yeah the phone is pretty scary too. but feel like just another version of the ring just that this time the girl crawled out from the wall instead of the tv and again the main character is a reporter. seems like reporter have a lot of chance to involve in ghost story, haha......
seems like another japanese ghost movie "dark water" is pretty scary too...haven't watch yet so no idea but seems scary from the trailer...
anyway, let's get back to canto ghost movie. heard this one is scary
http://ent.sinchew-i.com/content.phtml?sec=817&sdate=&artid=200310200441
sorry dunno the english name.
Vigilante
07-12-2003, 02:27 AM
Dark water? Nah, I watched that, it wasn't that scary. Hint: Watch it during Mother's Day. That would compensate for the lack of scary moments and make the show more enjoyable.
I don't know much about Canto ghost story. I have in my computer, 'My Left Eye See Ghost', the parody version of The Eye. Haven't watch that. Heard it sucks pretty bad.
And I miss watching the olden days Chinese Vampire (kiong xi) movie. Those definitely are not scary movies, but entertaining with lots of kung-fu fights and comedy.
I know several other Japanese horror.
Kakashi - now that was pretty bad and lame. Watched it in Malaysian cinema
Uzumaki - downloaded it, haven't watch. Ratings wasn't that good.
Ring 0 and Ring 2 - downloaded too - no time to watch
Ishveir
07-12-2003, 02:57 AM
hey all,
nice to see many
Well it seems like all of us are inclined towards the latest horror flicks and not those that i actually meant. What i meant was those that have the vampires in it and are not necessarily popular...eg. those movies that came out when we were in our primary school
The jumping vampires, spirits that haunt from the octagonal traditional chinese ouija board(paper) game - may seem hard to belief but i have seen people playing those things and it can get nerve wrecking.
I just feel the japanese or korean horror films are just not up to those cantonese movies i have seen - im sure many of you guys would agree
hmmn hope to hear from everyone soon ;)
07-12-2003, 03:32 AM
oh yeah i really miss those old canto vampire movie. i remember there's a series called "Mr Vampire" (direct translation, not sure about the english name) but somehow those are not scary and funny sometime hehe....put a yellow paper on the vampire forehead and it will stop jumping all those kind of stuff...
but one ghost movie i remembered clearly is "Haunted Complex" (meng gui da xia) again dunno the english name, n years ago punya movie. i remembered clearly because i watched it alone at midnite when i was standard 3 and i got scared and couldn't fall asleep, haha....
silverblue
07-12-2003, 07:15 AM
OMG!! Those are the real classic ghost movies of the old days man!! hahaha.... I used to lurrvvee watching those too! hey! mind u ok, they can be really scary sometimes! lol!
oh, if someone could tell me where i could find those movies again please do so!! I want to relieve all those old memories of the jumping vampires with yellow "fu" that can freeze them. Also missed that bearded si fu who always brings his "pat kua" with him everywhere he goes and how he 'catches' the "kiong si" (jumping chinese vampires) with the monk chants and all sorts of gadgets etc.... it was so entertaining then when we were young (well... may seem a little silly now lar.. hehe). Oh and not to forget that those "kiong si"s can sense humans by human breath, so if you hold you breath and stand behind one, they won't be able to tell! Hahaha.. I remember there was one movie where the humans took this long pipe and breathed through it, so the vampires thought they were at the end of the pipe!! haha.. hilarious...
Oh gosh... I think I was a little too over-enthusiatic about these vampires... hahaha better stop here.. :oops:
07-12-2003, 07:20 AM
i think u should be able to find those at china town in new york or LA. i dun think u would be able to download it online since they are really movie from n years ago. good luck. if u managed to find online, do tell me and if can send to me. i wanna watch also, hehe....
07-12-2003, 02:16 PM
yeah, and i still remmeber that even it you hold you breath, but fart ... They can still sense you. Although i really believed that once that they wont sense you if you hold your breath , but it makes me thinking that do they sense human by carbon diocxide or just warm breath?
By the way,
IT - the clown ,
if the scary movie that haunted me for quite some time when i was in primary schooIt has cause me to be afraid of clown for quite a long time too. :oops:
lol those old movies are on netflix... heh with cantonese/mandarin audio w subs too.
royston
07-12-2003, 03:53 PM
Hah?? Chinese Vampire Movies? Oh man... I have whole series... coz I love to watch it. Those ol'time Ah Pek Ah Chim movie lah... If I am not wrong, I only missed out 2-3 type among my collection. I watched it every week. Now, ever CD I watched at least more than 10 times... muahahaha... (Roy is crazy...!!) :twisted:
Besides, I have collected some other HK comedy but old movies. I feel that nowadays the new comedy really su*ks!! For kids in kindergarten maybe they will laugh "gila-gila" but I was just like an idiot sitting there watching some feelingless movies... :cry:
Anyone want to find any movie, you may give me a mail, ok?
~ roy ~
Ishveir
07-12-2003, 04:18 PM
ok
everyone is getting the idea now ;)
Well getting it is a challenge now, but roy, you say you have the cd's and qedx says it is on netflix too?
hmmn ok then will netflix enable us to download them and how do we search for it
Well roy you are not the only one who watches these movies like i dont understand much of cantonese myself but still find it entertaining be it comedy inspired or the really really scary ones.
After all its legend that these type of vampires existed in anchient China am i right? if im not mistaken its the bodies of army officers that were dressed up like that (long suit with the square flat top cap) and sort of mummified and kept to be awakened...something like that.. 8)
anyone wanna give some history lesson on this? it will be cool to know.
have a good one.
07-12-2003, 05:00 PM
is netflix the dvd club. Each month you pay a certain fee and get to borrow as many dvd's as you want? or 3 at a time...something like that...no time limit...rite?
royston
07-12-2003, 07:14 PM
Err... I have an idea. I used to post movies in some porn site (sorry... pai say...) and I have tried to convert my movies from VCD into MPG then WMV. Seems like WMV will have about 1/2 of the MPG size (or even less). Let me try to split those movies into small portion and you guys can download it then join them up?
Well... this is just to fulfill your "niat" and if it is too troublesome, then we may ignore this idea. But for me, I am OK to prepare all these for you guys... at least you guys will have some entertainment over there... :)
~ roy ~
Ishveir
07-12-2003, 10:25 PM
thanks man Roy,
your idea sounds good and its great you are going to do it.
Man just make sure the movie you are about to convert to .wmv and post is a really really really scary one, not the funny type of scarry but really scary :twisted: :?:
haha i think you know what i mean. Again thanks and im sure thanks from all of us too.
royston
07-12-2003, 11:10 PM
Well, i have to wait for majority of the members to agree as this task is not easy man...
If only 1 or 2 of you guys wish to watch, i rather burn it and send in parcel to you, which will take lesser time ... hahaha...!
Anyone wish to have some entertainment of this Chinese Vampire movies, please let me know. Or maybe Ishveir, can you do me a favor, please open a poll and see how many of you guys agree with this idea?
thanks,
~ roy ~
royston
07-12-2003, 11:12 PM
Btw, I have a concern. Will this idea be a violation against the copyright of that movie? I don't wish Recom to get involved into this...
~ roy ~
Ishveir
07-12-2003, 11:40 PM
ok im gonna open a poll and all you guys tell us what you think
thank you.
08-12-2003, 01:27 AM
what does the last one mean?
I think Roy should deal with the people who want to get the movies personally. I don't thhink it's a good idea to post the files on recom
secondly, is divx smaller than wmv?
Ishveir
08-12-2003, 01:31 AM
what does the last one mean?
I think Roy should deal with the people who want to get the movies personally. I don't thhink it's a good idea to post the files on recom
secondly, is divx smaller than wmv?
why do you think it is not a good idea to post the file here on Recom?
08-12-2003, 01:48 AM
copyright issues get me uptight most times.
silverblue
08-12-2003, 03:41 AM
Err... I have an idea. I used to post movies in some porn site (sorry... pai say...)
LOL :lol: hahaha Roy, err... do u 'star' in those movies you posted on the porn site? ngiak ngiak ngiak!!! :lol:
j/k!! :P
soul_out
08-12-2003, 04:40 AM
wwhong: Lee Xin Jie is Angelica Lee, from Alor Setar.
littlebigone: You don't have to download if you think that the copyright uptights you.
royston
08-12-2003, 09:08 AM
wwhong: Lee Xin Jie is Angelica Lee, from Alor Setar.
littlebigone: You don't have to download if you think that the copyright uptights you.
Hi soul_out,
Even if you don't download that movie, as long as it is posted in Recom, we are violating the law. Furthermore, even if we deal it personally, the same penalty will be applied. So I guess this idea is not a good one.
But... if we watch the movies together when we meet, that will not be that serious... haha... :lol:
And Cheryl, have you ever seen any porn movie called "Beauty & The Beast" ?? If so, I will be the one who star it... hahahaha!!!! :lol:
~ roy ~
08-12-2003, 06:42 PM
I think it will be better for us to do this in private.
Maybe those who want the movies can message Roy directly or contact him using any Instant Messenger.
I think having an activity like this in Recom is a bit inappropriate as it will not match our visions and our image :wink:
i'd rather this be done privately... having recom assosciated w copyright violation is not really a good idea
soul_out
08-12-2003, 08:56 PM
shall the supplier upload it into a private server? and the password is only given to those who are interested... :D
09-12-2003, 12:36 AM
i think Schye brought up a good point too. How does this fit with Recom's goals and aims.
soul_out, by private, do you mean Roy should host a server? If so, then I guess it's his choice.
soul_out
09-12-2003, 06:01 AM
littlebigone: ya. any private server which is not related to recom. nobody wanna affect the status of recom while indulging...recom is my 2nd home... :D
i'm not pretty sure about the cyber law. will the host get into trouble if he upload those movie?
09-12-2003, 06:01 AM
HI everyone,
This is definitely the dilemma of the technology.
we want to fully exploit the potential of the internet, but at the same time, we don't want to violate the copyright law.
But I want to make it clear to everyone :
No copyrighted materials can be posted at ReCOm.
even the creative corner, we have the disclaimer, because we respect your arts, your energy, your intellect.
likewise, we should respect others too.
Personally, I respect intellectual property rights.
As far as I can, I would buy songs that I want to listen. (I'M one of those first few millions iTunes customers).
So, I would encourage ReCom to do the same.
So, hope everyone clear by now. No copyrighted materials uploaded/downloaded at the RECom server. (unless the companies/actors/directors/extras+... don't mind, which is porbably not the case).
Thank you.
Ishveir
09-12-2003, 07:13 AM
Hey all,
OK, looks like the idea of uploading the movie here is pretty much coming to a halt.
I think we dont have to be paranoid as yet, because its just a discussion and the reason i made the poll was to see what the general Recom Members feel we should do. Authoritarian or Democratic?
Those who are in control need not amplify what is known to other Members. Be cool about it, chill.
Anyway, i think it is up to Roy if he wants to upload it at any other server (host it), we are behind you man.. :) since most of us wanna watch the movie.
Another good idea mentioned earlier is getting it from you privately through YIM ar anything else.
appreciate your effort in the first place.
thanks.
p/s: should we ignore the poll then?
royston
09-12-2003, 09:31 AM
Hi All,
Well, the initial intention for this forum is to entertain those who are currently studying in overseas.
For the idea of personal server, I am OK with this. I used to set up my own computer as a server and let some friends to download movies.
Again, the movies I have are not pirated movies. I am OK to share it out but do remember that once you have finished watching and if you like, please purchase it yourself and kindly delete away what you have downloaded.
For those who wish to watch, please send an email to me and I don't wish to mess up with Recom's reputation and so on... So let's do it privately.
One thing, only Chinese Ghost movies, no other type, ok? hahaha...!!
~ roy ~
royston@<hidden>
huilinchin
09-12-2003, 11:40 AM
Agree with what everyone said about not uploading movies in Recom server and let people download it. It's not a correct and legal thing to do.
Furthermore, we do not want a black dot in Recom in 10 years down the road. :lol:
Also, when people download stuffs from Recom server, the sudden large bandwidth for a long period of time will alert the university computing system.
Downloading huge stuffs like movies from the server is much worse than 100 people clicking on the Recom links once per second concurrently.
Hope everyone is thankful that we have a free hosting now and will not abuse it.
For CMU, they do not catch for students for downloading stuffs, but catch students who share stuffs because they can detect the out-bandwidth easily, even if they share only 5 movies.
-Hui Lin ^_^
p/s: I am real scared of those vampire movies jumping around. Thanks for reminding me about them :P
23-03-2004, 11:34 PM
the eye 2 is coming out .......or does it up in cinema overseas?
23-03-2004, 11:34 PM
the eye 2 is coming out .......or does it up in cinema overseas?
Melo_15
29-03-2004, 01:51 PM
the haunted office sucks!!! i just watched it the other day n it sucks!!! the beginning wa sok ,bu change to 2 nd disc, its more like a horror sitcom rather than a horror movie!!!
not worth watching!!!
the one starred by karen mok, shu qi n jordan chan
29-03-2004, 02:12 PM
the haunted office sucks!!! i just watched it the other day n it sucks!!! the beginning wa sok ,bu change to 2 nd disc, its more like a horror sitcom rather than a horror movie!!!
not worth watching!!!
the one starred by karen mok, shu qi n jordan chan
that definately cant be the yardstick in chinese horror movie!!!
i just watched THE EYE 2 n that is what called ......horror...........