View Full Version : Cleaning A PSU
Well, my Power Supply Unit is 4 years old now,and I have wanted to open the PSU to clean up the dust and eliminate the noise coming out from it.However, I heard that opening a PSU is dangerous and fatal.Anyone have any idea how to clean it up without killing myself or worst, spoil the hardware?
Thanks...
no one in this forum knows??? :roll:
18-04-2005, 08:21 PM
Anyone have any idea how to clean it up without killing myself or worst, spoil the hardware?
Wow, I didn't know that your hardware is more important than your life.
gohweihan
18-04-2005, 09:51 PM
Well, my Power Supply Unit is 4 years old now,and I have wanted to open the PSU to clean up the dust and eliminate the noise coming out from it.However, I heard that opening a PSU is dangerous and fatal.Anyone have any idea how to clean it up without killing myself or worst, spoil the hardware?
Thanks...
Spoiling the hardware is worse than getting fried by the capacitors in a PSU? :lol:
Well, to clean a PSU, you've got to let it discharge for some time (I think 24 hours should be enough to discharge the capacitors). Then you could open it up and clean the inside.
As for the noise, I think it may be the fan. If you can clean it and get it to generate less noise, then it should be alright. If not, you could replace the fan with any normal 8 cm fan. However, you may need a soldering iron at hand to replace it.
03-05-2005, 11:53 AM
hmm...maybe you can try to put oil into the fan and c what happens...it that can reduce the noise level, then you can save yourself some money...and btw, if you open the psu before you let it discharge, try not to touch the components inside, use a vacuum, a brush or something that pervents you from touching the components inside to clean it...hehe...i never let it discharge b4 i clean it...: :twisted:
gohweihan
03-05-2005, 04:41 PM
After a close shave with a TV tube, I make it a point to discharge the capacitors first always... :D
Thanks alot !
I would like to know more about how to discharge the PSU?
Do I need to disconnect it from the socket or just turn off the suis?
gohweihan
05-05-2005, 09:17 PM
Thanks alot !
I would like to know more about how to discharge the PSU?
Do I need to disconnect it from the socket or just turn off the suis?
Switch the thing off, and let it stay there for a while, because the ground wire from your PSU would then be grounded (thus allowing faster discharge, which is what I was told).
ceo684
05-06-2005, 06:43 PM
be very careful abt the PSU.. im not too sure how long it takes to discharge but i think it might be one day. open the screws up, wear rubber gloves, and use the vacuum to suck out the dust then replace cover. if u want to replace the fan, dun use the rm3 ones, they are like a weak fart only...lol.. the good ones are from coolermaster/vantec/NMB/delta.. just get the cheapest 8cm fan with or without the fancy bling bling LED..its around rm15-20.