View Full Version : ReCom Members' Comments

05-04-2005, 12:22 PM
Considering that we'll be enforcing the "No Personal Attack" policy and that what constitutes personal attack will be the judgement of moderators, you can post your comments & complaints if you feel certain sections of your post has been unfairly edited out.

This would allow all members to judge for themselves the fairness of the moderators on editing out personal attack comments.

There will be no censorship on this section, with the only exception that I think other moderators might consider removing porn pictures if you post them here. If you think your picture does not consitute porn, post a link and other members judge for themselves.

nocona
05-04-2005, 02:38 PM
comments? If a recomer has been attacked by any smart-student, self-considered-genius or even the so-called-moderator, do you think they will come to place comment?

Yeah, they will, some of them but I would say, most of them will simply ignore recom, leave recom and so on. If their purpose of joining recom is to have more friends, start or join in any discussion, there are so many type of forums in the net that they can participate, why Recom?

They join Recom is because, Recom is built by Malaysian, built for Malaysian and to them, they can feel the warmth but... while they are enjoying the feeeeeel of Recom, their words or post has been attacked, locked, stopped by persons in Recom (includes members, moderators, so-called old-recomers)... what will they do? Simple, just click on Logout, click on the X button on top right corner.

I observed some Recomers left, I can feel that.

You may not have the *intention* to attack others, but if your words caused any uneasiness to anybody, you are having some communication problems. You can't blame the "receiver" because if you are going to communicate with others, you should make sure your communication method is good and understood by others.

-nc-

05-04-2005, 03:29 PM
(step step....oops....)

i like that comment. i also think that nothing's perfect. and in an attempt to improve, this avenue is open to people to voice their concerns.

it's unfortunate that some people feel offended enough to simply log out and forget about Recom. i think that the people here are ready to listen to any complain as can be seen by prince's efforts to ensure a free and respectable discussion zone. but if we fail to reach out to these people who have left, i think the best we can do is say, we'll be here if they come back and we won't judge.

give love a chance

khor_albert
19-04-2005, 08:48 AM
I read all the comments. However, I agreed that some individuals will just leave ReCom if their reply is bashed, criticized, attacked and intimidated by so-called senior ReComers. However, isn't it their own problem that they can't be open-minded enough? This is what the modern globalisation era is all abt - debates, brainstorming, critics and improvement. Not all post will be glorified because different members have different opinions. OK, some members may get offensive along the way. However, we have to tolerate. If the runaway members cannot even do this in a virtual forum, how can they represent Malaysia in the REAL forum? We will see more irrational and offensive person later in life who will just smack you in the face if you don't say something to their favour. To be a ReComer, they first have to accept that ReCom is a premise to provide our rightful opinion with due thought about its relevance and decency. If they cannot accept this, no wonder they left...

On the other hand, the senior and also all ReComers should be more accomodating and less offensive. It's not that they have to be sissy or something (don't do that). We state our opinion but in the same time, we care abt the another party's feeling. Disagreeing is okay but it doesnt have to be accompanied by hurtful phrases such as "Come to your senses" or "Do you think before you write?" all the time. If the fellow is over the limit, express your opinion politely while giving that fellow a stern warning such as "I understand your rage/opinion but I will think that you are off-the-course/expressing without due consideration. Therefore, I hope that you will be more careful before posting in the future. Perhaps you might want to read our policy and guidelines. Thank you for your kind cooperation and continue to support ReCom!!"

Well, that's the way I interact with other people. So far, no one have any grudge on me yet (ignore jealousy)....good news. Good opinions are often perfected by the politeness of the sender.

19-04-2005, 09:04 AM
Disagreeing is okay but it doesnt have to be accompanied by hurtful phrases such as "Come to your senses" or "Do you think before you write?" all the time. If the fellow is over the limit, express your opinion politely while giving that fellow a stern warning such as "I understand your rage/opinion but I will think that you are off-the-course/expressing without due consideration. Therefore, I hope that you will be more careful before posting in the future. Perhaps you might want to read our policy and guidelines. Thank you for your kind cooperation and continue to support ReCom!!"

Well, that's the way I interact with other people. So far, no one have any grudge on me yet (ignore jealousy)....good news. Good opinions are often perfected by the politeness of the sender.

i concur.... there are some Recomers who speak in a condescending tone (maybe I'm over sensitive, and take words too seriously... but i dun think so...)

one thing that i would like to point out is some new recomers are lazy... instead of doing some research(reads google) on some topics, they take the easy way out of asking everything and expect every questions to be answered. Asking questions is fine, but most of the time, these questions are already answered previously... all they have to do is just read thru the thread. If they can't make this effort and keep repeating the same question, and complain when others refuse to answer those questions, i think some of us will be quite rude in some our responses. (i will ignore those questions...)

lyzzy
19-04-2005, 10:13 AM
one thing that i would like to point out is some new recomers are lazy... instead of doing some research(reads google) on some topics, they take the easy way out of asking everything and expect every questions to be answered. Asking questions is fine, but most of the time, these questions are already answered previously... all they have to do is just read thru the thread. If they can't make this effort and keep repeating the same question, and complain when others refuse to answer those questions, i think some of us will be quite rude in some our responses. (i will ignore those questions...)

Wow, I so agree with this. (I too just ignore these questions).
Nash-Kelvinator history (http://www.dodge-wiki.com/wiki/Nash-Kelvinator)

19-04-2005, 12:45 PM
I find people post stuffs about other forumers base on thier past impression they have on other forumers. it sounds bias to me

qy
19-04-2005, 02:44 PM
I'm considered a newcomer (i think), and i feel that ReCom is a good forum indeed. Not that it accounts for a lot, as it's the first online forum i've joined. We're all civilized people here, as shown from all the posts. Even if someone occasionally posts something which someone else deems hurtful, that someone else should voice out his or her feelings. Perhaps the one who posted it didn't mean to be so harsh. Yeah, i agree that we should be more open-minded and don't take all those stuff personally. If we can't even accept mild critism, then how are we going to survive later on? We can't expect everyone to be Mr. Nice Guy or Ms. Nice Lady.

khor_albert
19-04-2005, 09:42 PM
I'm considered a newcomer (i think), and i feel that ReCom is a good forum indeed. Not that it accounts for a lot, as it's the first online forum i've joined. We're all civilized people here, as shown from all the posts. Even if someone occasionally posts something which someone else deems hurtful, that someone else should voice out his or her feelings. Perhaps the one who posted it didn't mean to be so harsh. Yeah, i agree that we should be more open-minded and don't take all those stuff personally. If we can't even accept mild critism, then how are we going to survive later on? We can't expect everyone to be Mr. Nice Guy or Ms. Nice Lady.

Bingo, qy. I agree with that. Mr. Not-so-nice Guy and Ms. Not-so-nice lady are part and parcel of life.

20-04-2005, 03:26 AM
*very sheepish and repentent*

http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=47099#47099
Zoloft settlements (http://classactionsettlements.org/)

jackfook
13-05-2005, 10:22 PM
Hi,I join Recom recently and I find that it is a good websites which I had ever met.I enjoy reading and expressing my idea or opinion in Recom.It is a place for me to meet with new friends and improve my English.I must say that I post my ideas continuously for two days which I have never do it in other websites because there are many forums which attract me to read and give opinion.Thank you,Chen Chow for welcoming me to join Recom.I learn a lot in Recom.It is nice to meet you and all Recom members.I hope to hear from you soon.Thank you,Recom.

24-04-2007, 01:00 AM
Disagreeing is okay but it doesnt have to be accompanied by hurtful phrases such as "Come to your senses" or "Do you think before you write?" all the time. If the fellow is over the limit, express your opinion politely while giving that fellow a stern warning such as "I understand your rage/opinion but I will think that you are off-the-course/expressing without due consideration. Therefore, I hope that you will be more careful before posting in the future. Perhaps you might want to read our policy and guidelines. Thank you for your kind cooperation and continue to support ReCom!!"

i concur.... there are some Recomers who speak in a condescending tone (maybe I'm over sensitive, and take words too seriously... but i dun think so...)

yea....100% agree...
IMHO, the prevalence of spoon feeding culture in ReCom is getting even worse now...

day_dreamer
24-04-2007, 10:21 AM
Spoon-feeding is damn serious in the Scholarship FAQ thread....

Besides that... Many Recomers DON'T read through all the scholarship thingy and keep on posting new threads... causing the other not so "hot" but infomative threads to sink to the bottom.... :evil:

02-05-2007, 10:51 PM
was there any moderator had ever deleted my post in the "Where Do Malays Come From" in Window to the World???

~curious~ :? :? 8O

please kindly reply as soon as possible..much thankss in advance..

02-05-2007, 10:58 PM
was there any moderator had ever deleted my post in the "Where Do Malays Come From" in Window to the World???

Ahh my fault, I cut out the latest messages to a new thread since it's not related to the original thread. Your post is here:

http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=5670

Sorry for that. I should have put a notice earlier.

02-05-2007, 11:01 PM

Ahh my fault, I cut out the latest messages to a new thread since it's not related to the original thread. Your post is here:

http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=5670

Sorry for that. I should have put a notice earlier.

it's ok...
anyway, thank you very much... :D

18-06-2007, 03:21 PM
I suggest that there is a system where all ReCommers know each others' gender by appearing it in the forum. Like, there is a place where we need to write our "Location" and somewhere below there or near there, should be appeared a box for "GenDer" :P

Fourthshifter
18-06-2007, 05:34 PM
comments? If a recomer has been attacked by any smart-student, self-considered-genius or even the so-called-moderator, do you think they will come to place comment?

Yeah, they will, some of them but I would say, most of them will simply ignore recom, leave recom and so on. If their purpose of joining recom is to have more friends, start or join in any discussion, there are so many type of forums in the net that they can participate, why Recom?

They join Recom is because, Recom is built by Malaysian, built for Malaysian and to them, they can feel the warmth but... while they are enjoying the feeeeeel of Recom, their words or post has been attacked, locked, stopped by persons in Recom (includes members, moderators, so-called old-recomers)... what will they do? Simple, just click on Logout, click on the X button on top right corner.

I observed some Recomers left, I can feel that.

You may not have the *intention* to attack others, but if your words caused any uneasiness to anybody, you are having some communication problems. You can't blame the "receiver" because if you are going to communicate with others, you should make sure your communication method is good and understood by others.

-nc-

Yes totally agree.
I was attack recently. I try to stop it and let the attacker win but he still want to hit me and rumble around.
Immature indeed.
no wonder many recomers are leaving.

18-06-2007, 05:38 PM
There is an option for gender for phpBB forum. Just that you want it or not.

21-06-2007, 06:25 PM

SO, that means moderators dint want it when the ReCom is founded?

27-06-2007, 12:41 AM

SO, that means moderators dint want it when the ReCom is founded?

IMHO, it's better to leave the gender ambiguous.

27-08-2007, 08:44 PM
Finally, the quick reply has been added...
A great endeavour, keep it up...:D

Cheers~~

Fourthshifter
27-08-2007, 08:48 PM

Cheers~~

Jeff, it looks ugly

it should be removed

27-08-2007, 09:04 PM

Cheers~~

Jeff, it looks ugly

it should be removed

IMHO, it's indeed a great feature in terms of convenience, isn't it??
It's such a hassle to click the "quote" button above the posts every time I intend to quote something, esp when the connectivity is unstable.
It should be retained...

WinnieH
22-09-2007, 10:49 AM
i think recom is a nice place to meet new people, and find some informations about schools, colleges, scholarship... you name it. and most of the people here are quite helpful... and personally, i like how we have the spm thread, the stpm thread... i think it's really a good place to learn something from one another... but the sad thing is, the sptm thread is not really active anymore.... i guess we're all busy studying... anyways, recom is a nice site which i'll always frequent.