View Full Version : The Last Samurai
bachok83
08-12-2003, 03:19 PM
guys... should watch this movie.. it is sooooooo good....
tell me what you like / dont of this movie...
i like the way tom cruise brings up the character.... it is damn hard to act the character...
he brought it so well...
i liked the movie, though imo the ending could have been better.
i like the movie. wht can i say the 2nd movie i watched since august. and its very different too. he fight for what he believes is right. i would give more comment but i have to study:(
Ishveir
09-12-2003, 07:39 AM
Well about this movie
what else can be said since all of us know this fella who cruises thro' in Hollywood.
He is known to be the best esp. since his much popular A Few Good Men.
Talking about his character in the movie, i can tell that it is surely not easy - it is similar to the movie Lawrence of Arabia if you guys have seen it. Same rough plot i would say.
hmmn its funny i know i like the movie, but somehow Master And Commander still comes to my mind
i dont wat to distract others out of this topic so i wont talk about that unless others would agree with me that there is more passion and meaning in what captain Jack Aubrey has to offer. Loads of detailed history involved.
but anyway, coming back, like TC said during the making of the movie he trained a lot forthe sword scene and according to him the diameter of his arm increased, meaning his hand muscle expanded because of it.
yeah sure. :)
ok have a good one.
huilinchin
09-12-2003, 11:43 AM
hey, don't tell everyone about the story yet...
we, people at the east coast is not having a good weather to go watch it :D
i wanna watch it so much cause I've seen the preview when I watched matrix :lol:
hehehheheheh
arigato gozaimasu!
-Hui Lin ^_^
09-12-2003, 06:15 PM
It's a remake of the one produced 13 years ago. Most critics dont really think this movie is great, it's just good. I haven't watched it yet, but I'm pretty sure that the critics give such rating for good reasons.
11-12-2003, 01:47 PM
All i have to say is holy mother mary. Jesus, Moses and Muhammad and ofcourse shit.. The last samurai is definately a movie worth watching.... perfect plot, superb dialogue.. overwhelmingly great score.. the full package.
bachok83
11-12-2003, 04:02 PM
well what can u say.. the movie does not only concentrate on plots, but also the main elements in Japan's venerable culture...
well, you can tell by the plot of ninja's attack... that was awesome.. really.. that's how ninja's attack... i love that part...
well, a little hate (not really hate but dont like) the part when the japanese gurl fall in love with tom cruise.. it's just WILL not happen in real life..
imagine sombody that you really love, was killed by a man, then you could fall in love with that man??? i dont think so.. well yeah i know Cruise was sooooooo nice.. but i dont think he can just eliminate all the former husband's values?? or can he??
imagine sombody that you really love, was killed by a man, then you could fall in love with that man???
personally, unless i develop homosexual tendencies that wouldnt happen :P
how do you know the degree of taka-san's feelings for her dead husband? for all we know she probably hates his guts.
Ishveir
12-12-2003, 12:39 AM
agree with you qedx
japanese after all, unpredictable ;)
12-12-2003, 05:34 AM
agree with you qedx
japanese after all, unpredictable ;)
All i care is, i get a note something like "you need girlfriend tonight?" written in engrish on my windshield everytime i get back from a club in japan. Sometimes its boyfriend.
hahaha damn those japanese ;)
silverblue
29-12-2003, 08:57 PM
Just wondering... does anyone know when 'The Last Samurai' is opening in Malaysia?
soul_out
29-12-2003, 10:23 PM
22nd Jan 04.
www.gsc.com.my
www.tgv.com.my
This 2 sites will give u sufficient information of movies in M'sia.
silverblue
29-12-2003, 11:53 PM
So late??!!! :( I thought of watching it when I am back in Malaysia that's why I waited and refrained myself from catching it in the States... sigh..
nvm.. wait, wait lor..
Thanks anyway, soul out! :)
soul_out
30-12-2003, 12:25 AM
No prob. France will only start showing at 14th Jan whereas i think UK is around the same time as well. Sabar...:)
Ishveir
30-12-2003, 06:03 AM
yeah haha sabar...
so slow ah france and UK ketingalan what to do :P
well anyway, i watched it and i guess cruise gave a bit more that he had, in other words i think overacted in it.
but that is acting to those who call it role heightened-passion.
good to see Chad Lindberg here, for those who dont know him he was in 2 fast 2 furious...cant remember his character name there..
superb cinematography
great directing by Edward Zwick
30-12-2003, 06:18 AM
I thought i was watching Dances With Wolves, except that this time the Red Indians were Japanese.
It was an enjoyable movie though. Worth a watch. Too bad the ending was stupid.
Ishveir
30-12-2003, 06:23 AM
Very well said man
i was thinkin of dancing with wolves but the title dint come to my head just now
you are right
concepts in the movie are the same, like i wrote before it is very similar to Lawrence of Arabia too..
where you leave your army to fight for the opponents baased on your right/wrong conscience
30-12-2003, 12:50 PM
I watched The Last Samurai on 23rd Dec and I think it is a movie that should be watched in a cinema ;) cos the sound effect plays a very important part in the movie especially in the war.
Well, what I have to say is it really tells the truth of Japanese history and their way of thinking.
The king is their god,
The juniors/followers obey their senior/leader,
They specialize in a field and do the best of it,
Guys must act like GUYS,
They LOVE westerners: wink:
I think this is a movie worth watching.
31-12-2003, 09:32 AM
Would really like to find out how much of the movie reflects actuall history (those in Japan, any idea?)
In particular, I don't think that's how the Samurais disappeared (way too dramatic...) or even defeated in the Meiji restoration era. There must be other reasons for their disappearance.
After I watched this movie, the thought that kept lingering on my mind is how much Japan have to throw away to achieve this modernization, and whether it is actually necessary to do so. Bringing their lesson 100 years forward, how much do we Malaysians have to change?
MarquisX
01-01-2004, 08:59 AM
well, it's okay..not really as great as ROTK
but, it's just me...kudos to the cameramen, i noticed several eye-popping shots too.
09-02-2004, 02:36 PM
waaaa...sedih woo cerita dia!!! :cry:
but, cinematography very cool :D
09-02-2004, 02:36 PM
waaaa...sedih woo cerita dia!!! :cry:
but, cinematography very cool :D
Cirnelle
09-02-2004, 08:50 PM
i watched the last samurai last two weeks.....GERMAN version...sorry to say i din understand 50 % of the conversation...but got the whole story alrite...
really a superb movie, though i didn't really catch all the conversations...but my eyes were kinda wet towards to end of the show. :wink: ....guess the acting was really good....
cant wait to watch the english version..too bad here in germany hard to get any hollywood show in original english version...sigh
Cirnelle
09-02-2004, 08:50 PM
i watched the last samurai last two weeks.....GERMAN version...sorry to say i din understand 50 % of the conversation...but got the whole story alrite...
really a superb movie, though i didn't really catch all the conversations...but my eyes were kinda wet towards to end of the show. :wink: ....guess the acting was really good....
cant wait to watch the english version..too bad here in germany hard to get any hollywood show in original english version...sigh
likim
10-02-2004, 01:28 AM
Yeah, it's definitely worth a watch, as there isn't much to choose from at the cinema, except, of course, RoTK. The music score was commendable though- it definitely stirred the emotions of the people in the cinema that i was in, sobs were aplenty amidst the grand, sweeping orchestrated music. The actors did fill in the shoes of each character and portrayed them, in my opinion, reasonably well, but it doesn't justify how Ken Watanabe got nominated for an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor . Still, all in all, I liked the movie, it was enjoyable, moving, and thought-provoking. Such deep-rooted sense of honour, respect, and valour is really rare, if not, extinct these days.
likim
10-02-2004, 01:28 AM
Yeah, it's definitely worth a watch, as there isn't much to choose from at the cinema, except, of course, RoTK. The music score was commendable though- it definitely stirred the emotions of the people in the cinema that i was in, sobs were aplenty amidst the grand, sweeping orchestrated music. The actors did fill in the shoes of each character and portrayed them, in my opinion, reasonably well, but it doesn't justify how Ken Watanabe got nominated for an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor . Still, all in all, I liked the movie, it was enjoyable, moving, and thought-provoking. Such deep-rooted sense of honour, respect, and valour is really rare, if not, extinct these days.
aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 10:49 AM
i like this movie..i nearly cried in the end..it was so touching..the battle is more or less da same like the one in LOTR anyway..but it's still interesting..
aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 10:49 AM
i like this movie..i nearly cried in the end..it was so touching..the battle is more or less da same like the one in LOTR anyway..but it's still interesting..
12-02-2004, 09:12 PM
Yeah, great movie. Even though I watched the German version! I swear I understood the japs better!
Someone beside me got watery eyes during the movie :wink:
Gotta get myself the English version...[/b]
12-02-2004, 09:12 PM
Yeah, great movie. Even though I watched the German version! I swear I understood the japs better!
Someone beside me got watery eyes during the movie :wink:
Gotta get myself the English version...[/b]
aida_ikmal
13-02-2004, 10:33 AM
u should have watched the english version, yeah..
aida_ikmal
13-02-2004, 10:33 AM
u should have watched the english version, yeah..
21-03-2004, 06:54 PM
i felt funny when my friend told me he was touched by the war part when tom cruise with ken ride forward to the military even the 'super pawer guns ' r shooting. they called it as samurai spirit. that was foolish! in my opinion samurai should know how to change when condition change! there is also 1 part where the commander (i think) felt touched by the 'samurai spirit' n order to stop firing. doesn't u feel that the movie is saying ' hey! even the bad guy is touched by the samurai , u better be touched in heart now!'
21-03-2004, 06:54 PM
i felt funny when my friend told me he was touched by the war part when tom cruise with ken ride forward to the military even the 'super pawer guns ' r shooting. they called it as samurai spirit. that was foolish! in my opinion samurai should know how to change when condition change! there is also 1 part where the commander (i think) felt touched by the 'samurai spirit' n order to stop firing. doesn't u feel that the movie is saying ' hey! even the bad guy is touched by the samurai , u better be touched in heart now!'
gesar
21-03-2004, 10:14 PM
WOW...It's certainly a cool movie....The plot of the story is nice as well....I cannot believe that Tom Cruise did such a great, perfect portraying of the LAST SAMURAI :D :D .....hehe, The Samurais fought great...nice fighting scene. 8O ...and to add, the director had perform a good filming of all the scenes....the show was a very sad movie....W almost cried at the end of the movie. :cry: ...sigh....but it was perfect.....GOOD!! :D :? :wink: :roll: :lol:
gesar
21-03-2004, 10:14 PM
WOW...It's certainly a cool movie....The plot of the story is nice as well....I cannot believe that Tom Cruise did such a great, perfect portraying of the LAST SAMURAI :D :D .....hehe, The Samurais fought great...nice fighting scene. 8O ...and to add, the director had perform a good filming of all the scenes....the show was a very sad movie....W almost cried at the end of the movie. :cry: ...sigh....but it was perfect.....GOOD!! :D :? :wink: :roll: :lol:
kIdd0
30-03-2004, 02:21 PM
hmmm......this is one such movie which joins the ranks of The patriots and braveheart.... really gives u the honor, bortherhood sorta thing at the end of the movie..... for those who have not seen patriots.... believe me, u would want to see it if u find this movie highly commendable......
30-03-2004, 02:36 PM
hmm, i want to see if this movie is better than Seven Samurai (1954).