View Full Version : ASEAn or A-levels

blur
07-04-2005, 11:07 AM
i'm in a dillema now as to choosing STPM or A-levels(i'm currently under Asean scholarship). i hope to pursue medicine in the future. If i were to choose STPm, i might hv a slight chance of entering local uni whereas i will hv to go straight into private institutions if i were to choose a-levels. but many said the edu in s'pore is 'better' and i'm actually giving myself more chance of studying overseas next time. i know tat a logical choice would b to take STPm but i'm so attached to my life in s'pore now.......wat should i do????

PINKPIGGY
07-04-2005, 03:36 PM
since u get ASEAN scholarship, y do u bother to change 2 STPM?
:oops:

blur
09-04-2005, 03:27 PM
it'll b very hard to do med in s'pore(only 20 foreigners per year). at least i will hv a chance to enter local U

09-04-2005, 10:15 PM
could u elaborate how the education in singapore's better??..not the pressure there surely....jus kidding:p

nianz
11-04-2005, 08:56 PM
hey blur!
wat jc are u in??i'm also asean.just terminated my scholarship like two weeks ago.
the reason=>too little places for medicine for foreigners.went to talk with MOE,and i was damn suprised the moe officer actually told me herself tht the chance of getting medicine in Sg is LOW.
but becareful,this year they are enforcing the 'pay back even though you're still on provisionnal rule"so you have to reimburst moe the full liquidified amount plus 10%interest.
well tht's my two cents,
watever your decision,may the force be with you..took me damn long to figure things out but in the end i did wat i tot right.it'll be hard parting with all your friends there,but i think i did what i thought best..even htough i really miss the lifestyle there!

coolcatxtreme
18-04-2005, 03:07 PM
i'm on ASEAN currently at NUS

honestly speaking, your chances of getting ASEAN after STPM is greater than b4 that.....so my advice is if u wanna play safe...do STPM...and apply for ASEAN after that

23-04-2005, 01:26 AM
i'm on ASEAN currently at NUS

honestly speaking, your chances of getting ASEAN after STPM is greater than b4 that.....so my advice is if u wanna play safe...do STPM...and apply for ASEAN after that

How to apply for Asean scholarship after stpm? Izzit after the STPM or b4 thestpm examination?

coolcatxtreme
23-04-2005, 08:51 PM
Ermm..how to apply?

You'll need to go through the respective Universities to apply....you need to submit your university application first...then only your application for ASEAn....i'm not too sure if you can apply before your stpm but i guess you can ahve a look at the websites since admission exercise normally begins in october if i'm not mistaken

if you're applying to both NTU and NUS in Singapore, you need to apply for both scholarships separately as the scholarships are administered by the universities

for NTU if i'm not mistaken the dateline for application is the same for uni application which is april 1st. whereas for nus, they state in their website that you don't need to apply as everyone who is admitted to the university will be considered,.....but during my year, there was a section taht said for Malaysian for early consideration into ASEAN scholarship..keep a look out for that..it's not on the main page.have to navigate somewhere...the early consideration dateline is normally earlier than the application dateline

if u need more info..wanna know more about uni life in Singapore feel free to email me kelvinlcs@<hidden>

26-04-2005, 03:16 AM
for NTU if i'm not mistaken the dateline for application is the same for uni application which is april 1st.

Nope. For NTU this year for example, the closing date for those who applied using STPM was 15th March and was later extended to 20th March. If your results are not out yet, you submit your prelim results...

shrenka
16-05-2005, 11:54 AM
Are ASEAN scholarships (university level) offered for the medicine or dentistry courses?

coolcatxtreme
19-05-2005, 11:04 PM
I believe so but it will be extremely hard to gain place into the system. At the moment, i know of one malaysian doing asean in medic course in NUS...but his bond is 6 years...and i'm not sure what's the likelihood or probability of obtaining it. I think you ave to excel academically and in sports/co-curricular as well......tough shot but no harm giving it a try

20-05-2005, 01:15 AM
It is really really difficult even to get in those courses, what more getting a scholarship as well. In fact, I heard only about 10~12 places max are given to foreigners.

So it is definitely NOT a safe bet to go for ASEAN at JC level or secondary level and continue on to NUS if you have no alternative plans other than medicine/dentistry, because you might be a very very sad person later.

However, if you are fresh after STPM, and you just wanna try and see if you can get NUS medicine/dentistry, by all means try lah. But you should also apply for UM, UKM, IMU etc lah. Or even try other overseas universities...

coolcatxtreme
20-05-2005, 11:06 PM
i should note here that the particular person i know doing medic in nus actually got in through stpm

19-01-2006, 11:00 PM
Are ASEAN scholarships (university level) offered for the medicine or dentistry courses?
Yes, but like what they say, probability is very low, so don't count on it. Of the 20 or so Malaysian I know doing medic / dentistry in NUS, only 1 got scholarship...

But then, pay is good after that wat why worry keke :wink:

kim
11-02-2006, 05:42 PM
hi, i'm new.

well, i'm waiting for my spm results. and i didn't knew there was this asean scholarship, and now i'm too late for the january intake.

i want to apply for pre-u studies. just want to ask you guys whether am i too late since the schools already started studies?

eve88
15-02-2006, 03:37 PM
yep,

you can apply for ASEAN Pre-U scholarships (second intake) with your (real) SPM results. they do a 2nd round of selecting then and ppl manage to get the scholarship.

be warned... its gonna take some catching up for you to do, esp if youve been vegetating for the past holidays... but its by no means impossible.

eve (currently ASEAN Pre U scholar in anderson jc - spm 2005)

kim
15-02-2006, 05:36 PM
Finally, a reply.

Did you get AEAN scholarship on the May intake also? that will be very helpful if you are.

Do i need to get the acceptance letter from any JC's in singapore before i can apply for the scholarship?

thanks anyway for the help.

19-02-2006, 01:50 AM
Finally, a reply.

Did you get AEAN scholarship on the May intake also? that will be very helpful if you are.

Do i need to get the acceptance letter from any JC's in singapore before i can apply for the scholarship?

thanks anyway for the help.

Nope... you apply for the scholarship then they'll assign you a JC...

kim
19-02-2006, 05:59 PM
is that true?

i called up the ministry of education but they told me that i have to get an offer letter from a jc only then i can get the scholarship...

now i am really headache...

so many sources of info

28-02-2006, 02:21 AM
is that true?

i called up the ministry of education but they told me that i have to get an offer letter from a jc only then i can get the scholarship...

now i am really headache...

so many sources of info

I'm not very sure but I've heard about that situation... but it's for the new 1/2-scholarship, where you have to apply to get the JC on your own.

Of course, my info may be outdated. The best way is of course to call/ email MOE.

vanessa
23-03-2006, 12:53 PM
hello guys, what about the prospective to study pharmacy in s'pore? Do they limit places for foreigners to study pharmacy too? just like for medicine and dentistry? Hope you guys can help me here bcoz i'm currently also in a dilemma to choose between STPM and A-levels . If I were to go A-levels, i am definitely aiming for scholarships to study in S'pore. Local private institutes cost about Rm 104,000! how many years do i have to work to get back those money?? :(

katherine
24-08-2006, 06:31 PM
hey guys...i had been applied for Asean scholarship [jc] but failed....do they hav second intake? i think of studying there.. can anyone give me more info abt s'pore edu??or how to apply for their loan??