View Full Version : Question of Furthering Studies in STPM

Silly_Gal
07-04-2005, 09:52 PM
here is have the question... i have a very very bad result in my spm... i just have one A2(this is the highest) but i can entering form 6.. there is a high high pressure to me.. coz here i am not good in english, not good in Add math and there is no different with chemistry and physics.. i dun have bio so i also took chemistry and physics in form 6.. i cannot study very well even there is 5 or 6 marks improve everytime in my test... i dunno how to force myself to study (mean everytime i study just depend on my mood) i always dunno how to answer question but understand when i see the example.. and do u all think that in this period of time having a couple will make me more in trouble???

08-04-2005, 12:07 AM
First of all, you have to stay calm and tell yourself that everything is still in place. STPM is a completely different ball game, and your success in STPM is not in directly comparison with SPM. Someone who score straight A1s in SPM can flung STPM, and I do have seen many examples of those who do not do well in SPM and then they work very hard, and eventually are successful in STPM.

I would say that with you being able to enter Form 6, you start at equal point. Right now, the best thing to do would be to utilize this one or two months before you start Form 6, to revise what you have learned in Form 6. You would need to build up interest gradually, and try to look at its applications. If there is any part you don't understand, feel free post it here in ReCom. We'll try to help.
Use internet, especially google.com to search for information.

On having a relationship, it would really depends on oneself.

wawa
08-04-2005, 04:35 AM
On having a relationship, it would really depends on oneself.

As long as you are able to concentrate in your studies despite that, I don't see why not. But if you're the type easily distracted and you really want to have good grades, be pragmatic.

I second what CC said, you're starting with a clean slate in Form 6. Best you start revising and learning, being familiar with basics helps.

All the best!

jeszz
08-04-2005, 11:22 AM
i am jeszz n i know ur feeling coz i am also same with u ,i just got my result i am very disatisfied with my result ..i even cryied that day coz i couldnt get As in che n bio ..my ambition 2 be doctor seemed destroyed.. :cry: :cry: :cry:
but we ve still have 1 1/2 years 4 us 2 remend our mistake we should therefore struggle 4 STPM..ok....u must remeber whatever we must firdt sacrifice..u know??hahaha :lol: :lol:
anyway u know when the form 6 start ???n do u start tution already ??all the best n may god bless us ... :D :D :D :D

Silly_Gal
08-04-2005, 03:36 PM
i can see what u all trying to tell me and now i am a bit confident on myself... but see now is oledy month of April... STPM will be on 9 November, just 6 month can i make it?
do u all think that having a good time management is very important and disicpline on ourselves and forcing ourselves to study at home everyday???
my problem here is still think that in this 6 month can i do well???
HELP~!

gohweihan
08-04-2005, 08:55 PM
i can see what u all trying to tell me and now i am a bit confident on myself... but see now is oledy month of April... STPM will be on 9 November, just 6 month can i make it?
do u all think that having a good time management is very important and disicpline on ourselves and forcing ourselves to study at home everyday???
my problem here is still think that in this 6 month can i do well???
HELP~!

I would say even if it's three months or two months, if you give it all (i.e. discipline and hard work), then you would surely see improvements in the end.

I would like to relate my own story here. For the whole of Form Six, I was not a top student. Maybe for Lower Six, but Upper Six is a different story. My Maths declined from 100 for Paper One to one mark from failing during the trials, my Physics was average 55, my Chemistry was average 65 and my General Paper was average 70.

During the days after the trials, I worked like never before (i.e. disciplined actions). I remembered not sleeping during some days just to do Mathematics and read the Physics textbook. But in the end, it payed off - 1A (Maths) and 3 A-.

I would say don't compete with people who always score well (i.e. who always get straight As') in your class. Compete with yourself. Try to outchallenge yourself, and always try to get higher marks than what you already had, without being complacent. Do not be satisfied with the marks you have. That was the mistake I made for Mathematics.

Siil_GaL
09-04-2005, 11:35 AM
thanks for all the advise. today i go to sch with my mum take my result in the class... i am get number 20 out of 25 ler... very very bad... teacher say i always make noise in class and ask those nonsense things... haha... i can accept that coz i know that i did it... hehehe... i pormise to myself that i will change start from next monday.. then sure my fren will laugh at me... nvm.. i will try hard in this 6 month... hopefully i can make it and i have been think to give up but i oledy paid my exam fee ler... so.. no way for me return... all u guy upper six this year.. work hard o....

balderdash
10-04-2005, 09:04 PM
Hey no worries - it can be done! I did horrendously for SPM triple sciences (near failure but still got an aggregate of 9 cos of Add math and chinese *phew*) and went to the Arts stream after that. I took GP, Econs, Literature in English and Math S. Math was my doom as I couldn't do well in it - lack of interest I suppose. Anyway, I was practically failing all the way till about the beginning of Upper 6 when I finally made myself work hard. Got a B in the end which I am pretty happy about! So you can do it too!!!

10-04-2005, 11:35 PM
yeah i agree with you there..just make sure you don't overwork yourselves...now that will be bad:)

11-04-2005, 05:11 PM
Silly_GaL face up a problem here... last sat i go to take my result at sch then my teacher told my mum that i always make noise in class and everytime ask those nonsense question.. my teacher also told my mum that i dun like to study in physics lesson talking at the back there then just sometimes follow the class when i am in the mood. as a not mature gal what do u all think to make me study in class full of concentration and peace? i have promise myself this morning but i forget the promise since i entering the class till end of sch.. hehe.... i think this is the worse problem coz i ask the nonsense things again but i really hope i can do it.. so ppl will not think i am those crazy gal and lost interest to study in class... tq...

stevemc90
16-05-2005, 09:40 AM
i might be a lil late for advising u but if you're not good in sci subs, why bother taking it again? i mean, u know u screwed up big time in it yet are still taking it.

F4 & 5 are the foundation years for sci courses.. if you cant even remember SEK properly, why do you want to fail again?

tell you what, if you did badly in spm, in stpm change to arts. no harm done.

anyway, to tell u the truth, i did badly in my spm too. i NEVER like sci subs. im quite happy with what & where i am now despite the pressure... so chill gal... sorry i cant remember if u r a male or female... anyway, good luck to you kay.... :wink:

day_dreamer
25-02-2006, 10:14 AM
i am doing my SPM now,

just want to prepare early, what should one SPM students prepare if one intends to do STPM ( i mean to score an aggregate of 4.00 ) ??

Why i wanna do STPM ?
Well my chance for getting JPA schlrshps is scarce ( u noe, those JPA guys' mind kept on making choices based on their ever changing opinion ) , to pursue my dream in medicine - STPM is the only choice ........

25-02-2006, 11:50 PM
working hard and right way will be the known secrest...

remember that no good results will come without hard work...but good results also won't come if you worked the wrong way...like pushing yourself over the limits...

remember to take good care of your health as well...

and it's time to break away from the spoon-feed mentality..no one is going to spoon feed you with all the info you need like the times when you are in form 5 anymore, you'll have to resourceful, find out which style of learning is the most suitable for ya...i won't recommend memorizing though...last only for a short while nia...

victorvandort
02-03-2006, 03:47 PM
can i ask, if i take combination of pengajian am, physics, chem, muet , and maths in stpm, can i still apply to take bachelor in accounting or economics in local public universities? or must i take an arts subject?

JH
02-03-2006, 09:29 PM
can i ask, if i take combination of pengajian am, physics, chem, muet , and maths in stpm, can i still apply to take bachelor in accounting or economics in local public universities? or must i take an arts subject?

I heard that to enter UM's accounting, u must have STPM accounts.
Better check with your school counseller .

JH
02-03-2006, 09:37 PM
That's rite . Ppl can score straight As in SPM and flung their STPM.
STPM is hard because you have to cover a wide syllabus in a short time. If u really try, u will see that its actually not the kind of "TOO HARD FOR ME" thing .

You just have to have self-discipline .
Time management is very important.
For those intending to do Science subjects, it would be good if u really put in effort to improve your english. Because all the textbooks are in English (except Pengajian Am), and if u have a hard time understanding the language, sometimes it can be quite difficult.

Perseverance and patience....... will do.
To put it in a nutshell = Don't be lazy in STPM . You cannot afford to do that.