View Full Version : MARA Scholars: DO you need to return to malaysia?

wild_card_my
11-04-2005, 08:29 PM
After graduation, are you required to return to malaysia and undergo service for the government?

JPA scholars have to work for the government, however, according to a friend of mine, MARA scholars receive their sponsorship in terms of changable loan, that is if you can perform well (3.5 CGPA and above) you dont have to pay a cent.

Does that mean you are free to continue working in the country you're studying at? AI would like to get opinions espacially from ex-MARA scholars. But of course, others should give your input too.

Thanks!!!

12-04-2005, 02:58 AM
No bond...AFAIK.

wild_card_my
12-04-2005, 03:20 AM
No bond...AFAIK.

are you a MARA scholar?

how much do you know?

12-04-2005, 04:16 AM
No bond...AFAIK.

are you a MARA scholar?

how much do you know?

A guy, a MARA scholar told me that when I asked the same question. That is how much I know.

wild_card_my
12-04-2005, 04:43 AM
No bond...AFAIK.

are you a MARA scholar?

how much do you know?

A guy, a MARA scholar told me that when I asked the same question. That is how much I know.

I see, can i have his contact? I want to enquire him for a few rounds...

12-04-2005, 05:04 AM
No bond...AFAIK.

are you a MARA scholar?

how much do you know?

I see, can i have his contact? I want to enquire him for a few rounds...

I don't have his contacts as I only met him once before I came to UK. What other questions do you want to ask? Just post them all up here, maybe there are MARA scholars here in RECOM who can help you up.

wild_card_my
12-04-2005, 06:43 AM
im still waiting for an answer to my Q from an ex mara student as he/she would know best...

gonjeng
12-04-2005, 09:00 AM
yo mr wild card...

yes, there is no bond whatsoever. once you are done, you are free to go and work anywhere you want. but if im not mistaken, the only condition is you have to first come back to mesia and report to mara. there are some paperwork that you have to do - report that you are done studying and a report to 'unit conversion' (if i remember the name correctly) to calculate how much you owe mara. nevertheless, its not that you have to come back immediately, 2-3 months delay is okay i think :)

as for bayar balik, if you are under the spc scheme, or convertible loan, yes, the amount you have to pay back depends totally on your grade. during my time, 3.5 and above doesnt have to pay anything but this will change depending on the currect economy (and politics too) in mesia. nevertheless, the payback amount is significantly less than the loaned amount. however, if you quit your studies or if you decide to screw yourself up, chances are you have to pay the whole amount. if not, your guarantor will be in deep shit :)

anymore q's?

12-04-2005, 09:09 AM
This is a news from The Star, quoting Datuk Mohamed Khaled Nordin, regarding that having government scholarships, which I believe he is talking about MARA Scholarship (since he is in charge of MARA Scholarships,), does not guarantee a job within the government.

The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/12/nation/10658558&sec=nation)

15-04-2005, 07:23 PM
This is a news from The Star, quoting Datuk Mohamed Khaled Nordin, regarding that having government scholarships, which I believe he is talking about MARA Scholarship (since he is in charge of MARA Scholarships,), does not guarantee a job within the government.

The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/12/nation/10658558&sec=nation)

But why JPA doesnt apply the same principles? I think Singaporean Unis have a good method of making the students serve their bonds.... They are free to work with any Singaporean companies for a certain period of time....even with Singaporean companies outside of Singapore...

Why the bond with government if they can't provide enough jobs for scholars? (=.=")

15-04-2005, 07:29 PM

But why JPA doesnt apply the same principles? I think Singaporean Unis have a good method of making the students serve their bonds.... They are free to work with any Singaporean companies for a certain period of time....even with Singaporean companies outside of Singapore...

Why the bond with government if they can't provide enough jobs for scholars? (=.=")

They can always be sent back to teach in M'sian schools...we need better teachers :)

15-04-2005, 07:33 PM

They can always be sent back to teach in M'sian schools...we need better teachers :)

Ah...reminded me of my English teacher in high school. Students had to teach her English instead... =.="

Salvation
15-04-2005, 08:21 PM
Ah...reminded me of my English teacher in high school. Students had to teach her English instead... =.="

How...absurb =.="

15-04-2005, 10:10 PM
How...absurb =.="

Do you mean absurd?

16-04-2005, 03:23 AM

they might be good students, but doesn't mean that they are good teachers too. No point having someone who has a PhD but has lousy teaching skills.... (ATU10, still remembers Dr. Suganthi??)... well, she's not too bad, there are worse...

16-04-2005, 03:46 AM
they might be good students, but doesn't mean that they are good teachers too. No point having someone who has a PhD but has lousy teaching skills.... (ATU10, still remembers Dr. Suganthi??)... well, she's not too bad, there are worse...

I agree. Even smart professors are sometimes not good lecturers/teachers. Academic intelligence does not reflect good teaching skills.

Tab
16-04-2005, 06:23 AM

hey DecentMerson.. are you implying that Dr Suganthi isn't good? well, that's not what i found her to be. She taught me A-Level physics. I found her to be a good teacher.. in fact, quite inspiring at times. Only thing is that she has a thick Indian accent. Not surprising though since she's an Indian national.
But yes, there're some physics teachers in INTEC whose teaching skills leave much to be desired...... :P thankfully, i wasn't taught by them. haha.....

Tab
16-04-2005, 06:41 AM

I agree. Even smart professors are sometimes not good lecturers/teachers. Academic intelligence does not reflect good teaching skills.

Definitely agree with that too! Take Cambridge for instance..... there're some profs who're darn smart.. genius.. until they start to lecture!
There's this biochemistry lecturer who's 'infamous' for his dry and ultra-boring lectures. My seniors rated him poorly on the student feedback form, saying that his lectures are way too boring. And they even said that he has no sense of humour whatsoever. They recommended that he intersperse his lectures with jokes.
So, what did our dear biochem prof do? Simple. This year, he *tried* to be funny.. and never fails to 'crack a joke' at the start of every lectures. The problem is that he has absolutely 'no skill' in telling jokes! :D He knows that.. but he's cracking jokes just for the sake of doing so!

This is the usual scenario at the start of each of his lectures.

Dr X: OK class... before we start, I'm going to tell you a joke. (in a freakingly monotonous voice!)
My thoughts: ahh.. here we go again..arrgh! pls spare me the agony of hearing your 'jokes'.......

And he goes on, telling some crappy 'joke'.. very very lame. And it's not even an idiosyncratic British joke. I know coz my Brit friends don't even get it! So, looks like he's gonna get the same review again this year, sans the recommendation to intersperse jokes throughout lecture. Coz it'll be HIS version of 'joke'! haha...

On the other end of the spectrum, there're some profs who're sooooooooo enthusiastic in their lectures.. you could almost see them 'hopping about like a hyperactive kid', while lecturing! Quite amusing. There's this 70 something year old prof who's lecturing on programmed cell death.. he gets hyper all the time.. and it's quite amusing to see an old man getting hyper! i guess he must be passionate about the subject. Heard that he's the person who first defined cell death and came out with the term 'apoptosis'. (patutlah hyper!)

bush
16-04-2005, 11:31 AM

hey DecentMerson.. are you implying that Dr Suganthi isn't good? well, that's not what i found her to be. She taught me A-Level physics. I found her to be a good teacher.. in fact, quite inspiring at times. Only thing is that she has a thick Indian accent. Not surprising though since she's an Indian national.
But yes, there're some physics teachers in INTEC whose teaching skills leave much to be desired...... :P thankfully, i wasn't taught by them. haha.....

not to be a sexist, but..physics lecturer, a female?

16-04-2005, 11:45 AM

yeah...but..you are being sexist..

http://www.stanford.edu/dept/physics/people/faculty/burchat_patricia.html

can you beat her at physics?

and she is even better at lecturing than another professor of mine who got a nobel laureate in physics

16-04-2005, 11:58 AM

i'm not implying she isn't good... i'm saying that she isn't good...

maybe my expectation is high...maybe it's just me... But i think that it might be so because she's too comfortable with the A-level physics and can't really change to teach it in a compact SAT2 physics syllabus...

at the end of the day, i still think that she isn't good. but i dun think she is bad either...

sorry for digressing....

btw, i believe there are many MARA scholars among ReComers... can't they respond to this thread???

bush
16-04-2005, 08:36 PM

yeah...but..you are being sexist..

http://www.stanford.edu/dept/physics/people/faculty/burchat_patricia.html

can you beat her at physics?

and she is even better at lecturing than another professor of mine who got a nobel laureate in physics\

she's a rare species..........its hard to find female physicist these days.

16-04-2005, 10:13 PM
I beg to differ...2 of our recommers, bunny and cqhuayl are physicists.

16-04-2005, 10:21 PM
bush, where are you now?

bush
17-04-2005, 12:02 AM
bush, where are you now?

White House, Washington D.C.

oxm8
17-04-2005, 12:26 AM
hye, JPA graduating seniors! have you guys apply for SPA? what position you apply for? pegawai sistem maklumat?

anyway have you heard anything from JPA..from the previous batch ( Vanderbilt fly after SPM ) they dont get any job and got release. I heard that we probably are going to be 'campak' and teach Math & Sc ( yeah that make sense since we need more teachers!)

Encik Wan from DC told us that JPA offers more PTD positions right now compare to jurutera ....

any thought? anyone has 'org dlm?'. I dont want to be an officer kat kastam...

wild_card_my
17-04-2005, 02:47 PM
I'm still doing my foundation program -ADFP- in intec so none of myprogram mates would know whether if they are to be bonded or otherwise...

So I would like to know from you, seniors,even if you're under JPA surely u do have MARA-scholar friends who knows whether if they will be bonded or otherwise...

I would like to know that...

if you want to discuss about who's better in physics, open up ur own thread...

17-04-2005, 04:05 PM
I'm still doing my foundation program -ADFP- in intec so none of myprogram mates would know whether if they are to be bonded or otherwise...

So I would like to know from you, seniors,even if you're under JPA surely u do have MARA-scholar friends who knows whether if they will be bonded or otherwise...

I would like to know that...

if you want to discuss about who's better in physics, open up ur own thread...

Are you JPA sponsored or MARA sponsored? Why do you want to find out? Any reasons or just curious?

17-04-2005, 10:21 PM
mara students are darn lucky: they get offer from mara after spm, they get stashed with money every month and when they grad, they just pay 1% from their total cost and they're free to go. how lucky! i'm not sure how far it's true but i heard from friends saying that mara students only need to pay 1% if they managed to grad.

wild_card_my
18-04-2005, 11:55 AM
so MARA scholars local and abroad... will you give your input here? thanks

glow
19-04-2005, 07:41 AM
mara students are darn lucky: they get offer from mara after spm, they get a stashed with money every month and when they grad, they just pay 1% from their total cost and they're free to go. how lucky! i'm not sure how far it's true but i heard from friends saying that mara students only need to pay 1% if they managed to grad.

my counsellor said MARA scholars still need to pay back 25% from their total cost UNLESS their CGPA are 3.5 above

gonjeng
19-04-2005, 08:16 AM
wild_card,

please refer back to my post on the first page. I believe I have answered most of your questions, if not some :) if you need further clarifications, do let me know :)

wild_card_my
19-04-2005, 09:57 AM
yo mr wild card...

yes, there is no bond whatsoever. once you are done, you are free to go and work anywhere you want. but if im not mistaken, the only condition is you have to first come back to mesia and report to mara. there are some paperwork that you have to do - report that you are done studying and a report to 'unit conversion' (if i remember the name correctly) to calculate how much you owe mara. nevertheless, its not that you have to come back immediately, 2-3 months delay is okay i think :)

as for bayar balik, if you are under the spc scheme, or convertible loan, yes, the amount you have to pay back depends totally on your grade. during my time, 3.5 and above doesnt have to pay anything but this will change depending on the currect economy (and politics too) in mesia. nevertheless, the payback amount is significantly less than the loaned amount. however, if you quit your studies or if you decide to screw yourself up, chances are you have to pay the whole amount. if not, your guarantor will be in deep shit :)

anymore q's?

wild_card,

please refer back to my post on the first page. I believe I have answered most of your questions, if not some :) if you need further clarifications, do let me know :)

Oh Im sorry I overlooked your post.

Yes I think my curiousity has been cleared. Btw are a MARA scholar?

That is good to hear, I wont be bonded. And yes, i have seen the conversion rate in MARA website prior to accepting the scholarship. It is stated there:

CGPA --------- Pay back percentage
>3.50 ---------- 0%
3.00-3.49 -------- 10%
2.00-2.99 -------- 50%
<2.00 ----------- 100%

However, if im not wrong it is also stated there that the scholars are bonded 5 years for degree, 5 years for master and 2 years for PHD. I cannot surf the MARA website for the time being here at INTEC -several other normal websites are also being blocked, we dont know why- so I cant confirm this now...

will someone bother tho check for me?

My friends said most prolly the bonds are for doctors... but they arent really sure themselves...

So gojeng, are you an ex MARA scholar? May I know what tyou are/were(should you have already graduated) majoring? Cuz hopefully as for my major -biotechnology- i wont be bonded...

--- it's not like i hate working for the government, but I believe taht i can be more utilized when working for the companies there in the US for several years before coming back home with several technology/research that can be in much use to Malaysia...

gonjeng
19-04-2005, 01:21 PM
yes, i was a mara scholar - amongst those ATU2, who flew to US on year 2000. my major was b. sc. aircraft engineering technology. i am doing my m. s. in aerospace engineering, not under mara though. when i was applying for mara's scholarship for this, they give me the condition that i have to come back and teach for a few years in their new uniKL. so i tolak the offer :)

the conversion looks about right. just make sure you score above 3.5 and you dont have to worry about the conversion.

as i said earlier, this payback and being bonded thingie highly depends on the financial and political situation is malaysia. if somehow, mara is in need of cash, the policy may change. or if some politicians say mara ought to implement this and that policy, most likely whatever holds right now may change. nevertheless, looking at how it is right now, it may not change... well maybe until next election :)

grench
25-04-2005, 09:28 PM
Hi all,

Just want to ask if MARA is applicable to non-bumi ? and in Master ?

25-04-2005, 11:11 PM
Hi all,

Just want to ask if MARA is applicable to non-bumi ? and in Master ?

no...

masdie
09-11-2005, 01:50 AM
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2005&dt=1108&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_08.htm

"Apa yang beliau patut lakukan ialah mendesak pelajar persendirian yang kebanyakannya pelajar berketurunan Cina untuk pulang segera selepas tamat pengajian. Tidak timbul isu pelajar ditaja mesti pulang atau tidak ditaja tidak perlu berbuat demikian kerana soal berkhidmat di tanah air adalah soal jati diri dan kesetiaan pelajar persendirian terbabit pada negara,'' katanya di sini hari ini.

The above was stated by our "Timbalan Pengerusi" of the "Alumni Kelab UMNO Luar Negara", Datuk Mohamad Rais Zainuddin.

So people, what shit is this asshole shitting about? What's the rationale behind it? The whole article doesn't make sense but this paragraph angers me.

You FUC-KI-NG ID-IO-Ts didn't have a place for these Chinese because you would rather admit bumis and leave out the non-bumis to die on their own. So these poor young MALAYSIAN chinese used their own (or rather their parents) hard-earned money to get that MBBS/MD title. What's wrong with working overseas to get back that amount of money spent on med school? If they were to work with our M'sia government, I think they won't even get half of what they've spent (exaggerated but I just to make my point stronger). And do you think these chinese will give a FU-CK about patriotism? Even scholars do not want to go back and serve the shitty country, so do you expect private students to come back? FU-CKING ID-IOTS!!

09-11-2005, 02:00 AM
hrmm...interesting. But private students have no obligation to go back whatsoever. Those funded by government agencies and taxpayer's money are obligated to go back and serve the people.

09-11-2005, 02:16 AM
another umno morone...

Kazaf
09-11-2005, 02:46 AM
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2005&dt=1108&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_08.htm

"Apa yang beliau patut lakukan ialah mendesak pelajar persendirian yang kebanyakannya pelajar berketurunan Cina untuk pulang segera selepas tamat pengajian. Tidak timbul isu pelajar ditaja mesti pulang atau tidak ditaja tidak perlu berbuat demikian kerana soal berkhidmat di tanah air adalah soal jati diri dan kesetiaan pelajar persendirian terbabit pada negara,'' katanya di sini hari ini.

The above was stated by our "Timbalan Pengerusi" of the "Alumni Kelab UMNO Luar Negara", Datuk Mohamad Rais Zainuddin.

Sigh, incidentally, I read the same paragraph and I was so annoyed. He basically implied that Mara/Malay scholars who study on taxpayers' funds should be allowed to stay on abroad to develop their skills and gain work experience, and only Chinese students whose parents sold their houses to send them abroad should be forced to come home immediately to serve.

The implied reason (if you read between the lines): this is important for the Malay Agenda because it will increase the number of Malay specialist doctors while simultaneously reducing the number of Chinese specialist doctors.

Sad, very sad. :(

09-11-2005, 02:55 AM
"Apa yang beliau patut lakukan ialah mendesak pelajar persendirian yang kebanyakannya pelajar berketurunan Cina untuk pulang segera selepas tamat pengajian. "Tidak timbul isu pelajar ditaja mesti pulang atau tidak ditaja tidak perlu berbuat demikian kerana soal berkhidmat di tanah air adalah soal jati diri dan kesetiaan pelajar persendirian terbabit pada negara,'' katanya di sini hari ini.
translation: the loyalty of the ethnic Chinese towards Malaysia is still suspect, at least in the eyes of UMNO, self-proclaimed defender of Malay interests. everything else is fine print and not important.

good lord that's so childish. he could have elaborated on this point in his rebutal:
pelajar terbabit sedang menjalani latihan kedoktoran, kepakaran dan sub-specialist di United Kingdom yang mendapat pengiktirafan antarabangsa.
instead he chose to use UMNO's favorite weapon, the Race Card.

i truly think UMNO is at present the single most destabilizing force in the country. we're halfway through the first decade of the 21st century and they are still constantly playing the race card. the rest of the BN is complicit in their silence towards UMNO's hijacking of the interest of the nation.[/quote]

aquila
09-11-2005, 03:46 AM
And you wonder why the Chinese students refuse to return?

masdie
09-11-2005, 03:50 AM
And you wonder why the Chinese students refuse to return?

Wonder? I never wonder. It's good news they don't go back to rot in M'sia. Muahahahahaha :twisted:

reign226
09-11-2005, 06:16 AM
Nah, I don't think anybody in the govt suspects chinese loyalty or anything like that. They're too educated to make a fairly nonsensical judgement such as that (Unless they ARE that dumb, which is not impossible, in which case i weep for them). It's just politics. They need the votes of the uneducated 'masses' which we so often refer to as 'rakyat' and one surefire way to do this is to appeal to the majority of this country's populace using 'ultra' statements like that.

After all, even if you're educated and you don't buy all this malay-ultra chickenshit, you're still gonna vote for them right? coz there's this warm, fuzzy feeling inside when you vote for your own kind.

Anyway did anybody see the 100 Million Ringgit Down the Drain news in New Straits Times a couple of days ago? Some 100+ medic students in ireland have refused to come back to malaysia to serve their country and have persuaded other malaysians to join them. And guess what? Majority of them are MARA sponsored. (Full disclosure: I derieve some ironic pleasure in this fact)

So there. Do we see any public outcry over this issue? None. I wonder what the picture would be if chinese students were involved. (Off the top of my head: People marching with pitchforks and torches shouting 'burnnn themmm')

Face it. This country is just too fucked up sometimes when you think about it. It's all cool though coz, Malaysia Boleh-lah!

bush
09-11-2005, 04:43 PM
I am loyal....

I will join NS, keep my citizenship(i could be residing anywhere) and vote every five years, ain't I patriotic? Doing what a responsible citizen would do?

byzhanii_bogn
09-11-2005, 06:18 PM
what can we do? we're born here, we live here, and i'm leaving when i have the money :evil: i give it a damn...

met up with my friends who got TESL scholarships, a UM degree, ended up teaching PRIMARY school in the future. what the...? in the first place, they promised that as long as it's a degree from uni, it will definitely be SECONDARY school. what's more, the overseas programme to UK, Aus and NZ, way more than half, or over 90% are the ahem, u know who la.

09-11-2005, 06:52 PM
what can we do? we're born here, we live here, and i'm leaving when i have the money :evil: i give it a damn...

met up with my friends who got TESL scholarships, a UM degree, ended up teaching PRIMARY school in the future. what the...? in the first place, they promised that as long as it's a degree from uni, it will definitely be SECONDARY school.

Erm, not too sure if I agree with you on this. I do not know what the situation is like for TESL students in local unis but I am currently pursuing a TESL degree in Australia, majoring in PRIMARY TEFL. Although we did not get to choose to do primary or secondary, we did get informed of the level we would be teaching at, even before we commenced our degree course.

And yes, I would return to Msia to serve in government schools (and once my contract expires, perhaps pursue serious writing, but still in Msia). The idea of landing a job and settling down in Australia is very tempting but what's the joy in living so far away from your family and loved ones?