View Full Version : Malaysia vs Foreign Country, which one u prefer?

14-12-2003, 04:53 PM
many of us here studying in foreign country be it USA, Japan, Korea, etc.

after studying/living in overseas, compared to m'sia which one u prefer to live in and why?

if u do not choose m'sia, then what changes in m'sia will attract you back?

huilinchin
14-12-2003, 06:05 PM
after studying/living in overseas, compared to m'sia which one u prefer to live in and why?

I choose to live in Malaysia, mainly because all my family members, most relatives and friends are at home.
Also, I was brought up at home and have been comfortable with life at home.

However, I find that Malaysia still needs a lot of improvement in terms of work ethics, corruptions, biases, etc.
I am positive that Dr Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi will bring good changes to Malaysia. I sincerely believe he is a right successor because Malaysia needs someone to implement the visions and not create new visions and nothing is achieved in the end.

I must say that I have been very impressed with his principles and actions so far since he was promoted as a PM such as:-

1) reduce beaurocracy and increase the efficiency of public service
2) less tea break time during office hours
3) spend much less money on gifts during events, promote local products
4) fight corruption
5) focus in projects that benefit most people instead of people at the top level
6) the list goes on and on ... :)

-Hui Lin ^_^

Ishveir
14-12-2003, 08:30 PM
You made few good points huilinchin
and to my personal preference, i have to say that nothing is like home
firstly people, yeah in the US there are nice polite people, but through ecperience i dare say that most are fake in the inside - this is careful judgment - no offense to anyone.
yeah, i would want my family to be brought up here too although most amrican families are caring and build exemplary lives, but the outside negative influences are blatant to especially teenagers...i guess most know what i mean right?
aha, and secondly, the food yeah well where else can you find food like we do find at home. whites eat raw tasteless stuff - again personal comments no harm in disagreeing with me :P
thirdly the weather, man over here you hardly have time to have fun and live life outside your home besides during summer.
well ill simply put it this way, if there is a reason to not stay home, we can come up with them too
However what seems to matter most is our general perception of being comfortable and happy.
be it in malaysia or here, if you are happy anywhere, you can "make up" reasons to support it as in a positive manner to back your choice :)

14-12-2003, 10:28 PM
Man.. the only thing that I consciously miss everyday is the food.. other than that.. ;)

Yeah I feel guilty about it too!

14-12-2003, 10:49 PM
yeah. it's just the food. mat salleh tak reti nak masak. other than that, the US is the best place on Earth!

but then, snow sucks ass.

14-12-2003, 11:05 PM
Malaysia, as my motherland, I love it unconditionally. I believe that with the opportunity to learn from overseas, what I should do, is to try to learn as much as possible and try to bring back the good characteristics to Malaysia.

I think Recom can be seen as a tool by many of us, Malaysians who are abroad to help contribute towards our country. Sometimes, I feel that helping Malaysia, does not really need to be something tangible, but those intangible awareness that we could help create, would go a long way in building a better future for Malaysia!

1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 03:51 AM
HomeLand - The Land you born, grown and lived...

When the word "Home" come into your mind, what would you think of? Does it means the place, the house where you're living now? Does it means a tengible or intengible thing for you or a Land, a nationality or a Citizenship it is meant for you?

How do you define HOME? What does a HOME meant for you? How you go back HOME?

HomeLand is where a place you'll be reconciled, recognized and rejoiced..

Malaysia still under the category of developing country, would you or would you not help to build a GRADEN at your home instead you help the other neighbour?

Let's build the GARDEN at our very own place, our beloved Home, our motherLand...

Thanks for Reading

soul_out
15-12-2003, 07:29 AM
Malaysia still under the category of developing country, would you or would you not help to build a GRADEN at your home instead you help the other neighbour?

Let's build the GARDEN at our very own place, our beloved Home, our motherLand...

Thanks for Reading

Inspiring. Let's work hard together.

Ishveir
15-12-2003, 09:01 AM
haha mostly everyone gets the idea
its home plain and simple.
also it is the place all of us wanna live in looks like
unless of course money si more important?

soul_out
15-12-2003, 09:15 AM
Money is important. May make some USD or GBP for 10 years before go back to settle down in Malaysia. Will it help to improve Malaysia Economic? Or it will make it worse?

dinna_g
15-12-2003, 09:27 AM
Been around the world.. but there's no place like home.. Although I can see so many flaws in Malaysia, it's still the best place on earth. I hope all of us can make a difference in future to make Malaysia a better place. If we, the future generations want to stay abroad and don't wanna go back to make improvements, then who will? For things to change, I must change first. So, jom balik lepas grad!

1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 09:35 AM
The Money course is not more contributing, instead, the contribution in Education and Research Arena in Malaysia will be more pratical and more efficient...

In Malaysia, you would still having a good life with your Degree, with that you can make a good living in Malaysia...

Don't forget we are going to produce our Magazine :)

So, everyone here!!!! I'll be meeting you guys in Malaysia :)

Watch Up :twisted:

huilinchin
15-12-2003, 01:05 PM
Personally, I think students should only go back after they have at least 1-2 years of working experience or research experience. They will know much more if so. Also, they will have a lot of contacts from the real career world and easier to help Malaysia when they have such contacts.

Going back right after graduation to me does not mean much because I am really not sure how much I can contribute. Just by studying and working on cool projects like coding your own google search, winzip, computer chess evaluation, hacking into assembly language, coding a new language from a language, coding your very own operating system, your very own irc server, etc do not mean you will be able to apply it well in real working life.

Of course, I am more than happy to go back anytime because I miss my parents and family...yay, gonna balik in one week plus... :D

-Hui Lin ^_^

15-12-2003, 01:17 PM
Satay is reason enough for me to go home!

15-12-2003, 01:18 PM
HomeLand - The Land you born, grown and lived...

i wasn't borned in Malaysia, My mom is the only 100% Malaysian in my family.. I grew up in California, i spent about 6 years in Malaysia .. i still consider it my homeland. So i would say Homeland is some place you would considere to be your permenant home, somewhere you would return to.

Anyway back to topic, I would definately go back to Malaysia.. get involved directly with shapping Malaysia future. We need to get most of our basic human rights in Malaysia back. It's the lack of them that are holding most of us back.

Right now i'm working here, i tried to find a job in Malaysia but most companies won't hire a 20 year old guy.

Anyway hope you guys don't waste your time abroad after grad.. get back and make the change you want to.

1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 01:22 PM
Praise to Recoms, praise all people who has the heart to go back to Malaysia, praise to all Malaysians...

I'm glad to hear there are many people who would like to go back in the coming future to contribute for Malaysia...

Malaysia will be BOLEH, from here, from now, from YOUR HANDS

15-12-2003, 01:26 PM
I will go home, maybe not immediately, but i will.

However, I won't work for the government. It's not so much about the money as it is about career advancement. Civil service == Career Dead End to me.

1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 01:35 PM
An Individual or an Institute would be good to contribute back to Malaysia...

Everything you buy, everything yo eat, it contributes back to our Country, and if we support our Local industry it would be better :)

Thx TopDog :)

Meet you in Malaysia in coming future

15-12-2003, 05:47 PM
http://www2.recom.org:8000/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=42&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45

I think this thread are related to the thread "patriotism" before.
Well,
i think the word HOME is a place where we have the feeling of belonging.
A place where i can sleep well :wink:

I plan to work somewhere wlse other than Japan for a few years but definately , i will be back for SATAY!!

15-12-2003, 11:19 PM
I will like to share an idea which Dr. Mahathir shared in Washington DC last year. Dr. M was talking about many Malaysians who chose to stay overseas.

He in fact said that go ahead and do it, but don't forget your root of being Malaysian. He was saying that if you could get into working with say, Intel, go ahead! But he was requesting that you could help Malaysia, by promoting Malaysia with some of your friends, may be they can come visit Malaysia, that is also a contribution to Malaysia.

If you are able to influence the decision to choose a place to have a conference, and it was eventually held in Malaysia, that is also a contribution. If you could sway or persuade the investment decision to make an investment in Malaysia, that would be a contribution, far beyond what you typically could do in Malaysia.

In fact, Dr. M even went ahead to talk about the goodwill of your being overseas. By maintaining good values, it would help build up the image of foreigners towards Malaysia, and who knows that little bit of impression, might sway their decision in the future, for the betterment of Malaysia.

eeyore
17-12-2003, 12:03 PM
From the posts that I've read, everyone believes that Malaysia is home and it is where we want to contribute our energy and ideas. By contribution, I believe we mean being part of the workforce and and using whatever knowledge we have to improve our companies/the country. However, I also think that by contribution we mean making changes to the country. Many of us are students studying abroad and are experiencing a new view at things. And naturally, when we go home, we will want to see improvements to the state of our country. So, I guess my question is, in what sense do you think Malaysia needs change? What seems to be lacking or problematic in Malaysia? How would you change that?

silverblue
29-12-2003, 08:14 PM
I think one of the more frustrating problem in Malaysia is INEFFICIENCY... esp in the government sector. Think about how long u need to wait for a response to your calls to putrajaya or any other govt department. Think about how long u have to wait to get ur IC, etc (I don't know about others but I waited from 8am till 5pm to change to MyKad today). Think about how long it takes for an action to be taken after something has been reported (eg. theft - and not to mention the very tedious process of reporting one!!). There are many other examples... but hopefully, Pak Lah will be able to come up with something to improve this aspect of our country.

Ishveir
30-12-2003, 06:32 AM
silverblue makes a point and a point indeed?
inefficiency? i dont think so, dont you think it is complacency. Inefficiency exists when there are people working but the variables(environment, work nature, machines) cannot be manipulated.
complacency is to do with this one human sickness, incurable i think...laziness.
it is in the people behind those desks.
i dont want to generalize, but i have seen this on 4 instances from the office of Anderson high school in ipoh, to the immigration headquarters both in KL and ipoh and JPA's old headoffice in KL
i shall refer those who work there as gov.servants (GS)
ok at all these 4 places i observed the similarity of GS to chat on top of their voices while eating (not lunch time nor tea break time)
on some instances radios are on top of their vioces.
Some GS are chatting away while laughing sitting in front of their computers or typewriters.
this is real. here is the question. Why do they happen and does have to do with character of the GS?
if at all, how then can there be similarity of such degree in GS serving in ipoh and KL?
im perplexed - no kidding.

wawa
09-02-2004, 04:24 PM
home sweet home :D

wawa
09-02-2004, 04:24 PM
home sweet home :D

da-hype
09-02-2004, 04:27 PM
I prefer malaysian girls... don't know why... :lol: :lol: :lol:

da-hype
09-02-2004, 04:27 PM
I prefer malaysian girls... don't know why... :lol: :lol: :lol:

z
09-02-2004, 06:07 PM
i share your sentiments, da-hype.
malaysia boleh!

z
09-02-2004, 06:07 PM
i share your sentiments, da-hype.
malaysia boleh!

mdmd
09-02-2004, 10:20 PM
Hahaha, yeah me too, Malaysian girls are the best :D

mdmd
09-02-2004, 10:20 PM
Hahaha, yeah me too, Malaysian girls are the best :D

retroque
09-02-2004, 10:34 PM
hello there

msia..home sweet home.

whether i live in msia or not, to me that doesn't really matter.what matters in my point of view is how we show our patriotism by contributing something to our beloved motherland.

if contributing means that i have to come back ,then i will.

if it means i have to live somewhere in north pole...or even mars..by the will of God, i will.

retroque
09-02-2004, 10:34 PM
hello there

msia..home sweet home.

whether i live in msia or not, to me that doesn't really matter.what matters in my point of view is how we show our patriotism by contributing something to our beloved motherland.

if contributing means that i have to come back ,then i will.

if it means i have to live somewhere in north pole...or even mars..by the will of God, i will.

mercsinc
10-02-2004, 04:10 AM
of course malaysia would be the choice...its not just the food, the people are also great...with the customs and traditions and all...

mercsinc
10-02-2004, 04:10 AM
of course malaysia would be the choice...its not just the food, the people are also great...with the customs and traditions and all...

10-02-2004, 04:54 PM
no matter where you are, you'll always remember your mummy right?

That's malaysia to me, my MummyLand (motherland laa).

hmm...i know the one thing i'm gonna miss most is lepaking at the mamak..heheh

10-02-2004, 04:54 PM
no matter where you are, you'll always remember your mummy right?

That's malaysia to me, my MummyLand (motherland laa).

hmm...i know the one thing i'm gonna miss most is lepaking at the mamak..heheh

da-hype
10-02-2004, 05:12 PM
topdog,

However, I won't work for the government. It's not so much about the money as it is about career advancement. Civil service == Career Dead End to me.

My mom worked for the goverment.. for 30+ years. And she was tokoh penguna in 98. She's been on TV way tomany times..She's reacieved like 3 awards from the agung. She was also advisor to the minister to domestic trade. Now that she's retired.. petronas always calls here up to give seminars. (might have missed some other details.. talk to my mom if you want to know more. :P )

All this for being The dean of "faculty ecology manusia" in UPM.
so how is it a career dead end?

da-hype
10-02-2004, 05:12 PM
topdog,

My mom worked for the goverment.. for 30+ years. And she was tokoh penguna in 98. She's been on TV way tomany times..She's reacieved like 3 awards from the agung. She was also advisor to the minister to domestic trade. Now that she's retired.. petronas always calls here up to give seminars. (might have missed some other details.. talk to my mom if you want to know more. :P )

All this for being The dean of "faculty ecology manusia" in UPM.

mercsinc
10-02-2004, 11:00 PM
hmm...is your mom dr. jariah, by any chance?

mercsinc
10-02-2004, 11:00 PM
hmm...is your mom dr. jariah, by any chance?

da-hype
11-02-2004, 12:17 AM
no, but Dr jariah was in the same faculty.

da-hype
11-02-2004, 12:17 AM
no, but Dr jariah was in the same faculty.

11-02-2004, 12:38 AM

well, i wasn't speaking for everyone. it's just that at this point in time, i would like to work in industry once i graduate in EE. perhaps i'm unaware of opportunities present in the civil service in this field (EE). if anybody wants to enlighten me, please do.

oh yeah hype, your mom is a very capable woman! :D

11-02-2004, 12:38 AM

well, i wasn't speaking for everyone. it's just that at this point in time, i would like to work in industry once i graduate in EE. perhaps i'm unaware of opportunities present in the civil service in this field (EE). if anybody wants to enlighten me, please do.

oh yeah hype, your mom is a very capable woman! :D

angie
15-02-2004, 02:25 PM
before this, HOME means nothing to me, i don't need one! really! it's weird but i kinda miss home only when i'm away this far. yeah! we feel most comfortable in somewhere we're most familiar with, the places, the people who really know us and of course the food that we really love!

angie
15-02-2004, 02:25 PM
before this, HOME means nothing to me, i don't need one! really! it's weird but i kinda miss home only when i'm away this far. yeah! we feel most comfortable in somewhere we're most familiar with, the places, the people who really know us and of course the food that we really love!

15-02-2004, 05:18 PM
http://www2.recom.org:8000/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=42&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45

Well,

I plan to work somewhere wlse other than Japan for a few years but definately , i will be back for SATAY!!

home is the place where ur heart is at.... that's why i'm very particular when talking to my frens, i will say going back to the hostel rather than going back home......

East or West
Home is Best!!! :D

15-02-2004, 05:18 PM

Well,

home is the place where ur heart is at.... that's why i'm very particular when talking to my frens, i will say going back to the hostel rather than going back home......

East or West
Home is Best!!! :D

sanghanuman
15-02-2004, 11:58 PM
I choose Malaysia. Like some of you said, it doesnt mean that one should live and work in Malaysia. It is more of working for Malaysia. Working with the government is not bad sometimes, it is just the thought of being *stuck* in an environment that does not allow us to expand makes us rethink on how could we work in Malaysian environment and manipulating the best out of it for our advancement.

Par contre, by working in developed countries, we can easily move around and gain a lot more experience because everything is fast, and more efficient. But of course we don't have passion for it. We have some place else(Malaysia) that we direct our *final destination* to. Plus, being apart from our root is not very fulfilling.

Be where your heart is.

sanghanuman
15-02-2004, 11:58 PM
I choose Malaysia. Like some of you said, it doesnt mean that one should live and work in Malaysia. It is more of working for Malaysia. Working with the government is not bad sometimes, it is just the thought of being *stuck* in an environment that does not allow us to expand makes us rethink on how could we work in Malaysian environment and manipulating the best out of it for our advancement.

Par contre, by working in developed countries, we can easily move around and gain a lot more experience because everything is fast, and more efficient. But of course we don't have passion for it. We have some place else(Malaysia) that we direct our *final destination* to. Plus, being apart from our root is not very fulfilling.

Be where your heart is.

16-02-2004, 05:31 AM
However, I also think that by contribution we mean making changes to the country. Many of us are students studying abroad and are experiencing a new view at things.
Bingo! That's why we recomers need to gather these "new perspectives"! <ADV>come to malaysiaforum to share your perspectives face to face</ADV>

it is just the thought of being *stuck* in an environment that does not allow us to expand makes us rethink on how could we work in Malaysian environment and manipulating the best out of it for our advancement.
Is it so? Or is this just rumor you overheard? Or maybe it is a matter of degree? I think I repeat myself, but to make advancement for the country, grassroots and policies have to work hand in hand to make changes. In other words, you need the people on the field to preach and practise the change, as well as people enacting policies that enforce the change.

You're refer to the nature of most government jobs in which you seldom move from job to job and hence impeding you from experiencing new things. I suggest that you be more aggressive in seeking new opportunities. Especially if you're working the government without any fixed contract. After 2 years on something, move on, try another department, work overseas (from m'sian government), take a break to go back to school, etc. Most people in the white house do alternate between being in academia for a while to get fresh ideas, and then going back to the white house to implement them. You won't know what you'll getif you ask for it - and we Malaysians rarely speakup don't you think? :wink:

16-02-2004, 05:31 AM
However, I also think that by contribution we mean making changes to the country. Many of us are students studying abroad and are experiencing a new view at things.
Bingo! That's why we recomers need to gather these "new perspectives"! <ADV>come to malaysiaforum to share your perspectives face to face</ADV>

it is just the thought of being *stuck* in an environment that does not allow us to expand makes us rethink on how could we work in Malaysian environment and manipulating the best out of it for our advancement.
Is it so? Or is this just rumor you overheard? Or maybe it is a matter of degree? I think I repeat myself, but to make advancement for the country, grassroots and policies have to work hand in hand to make changes. In other words, you need the people on the field to preach and practise the change, as well as people enacting policies that enforce the change.

You're refer to the nature of most government jobs in which you seldom move from job to job and hence impeding you from experiencing new things. I suggest that you be more aggressive in seeking new opportunities. Especially if you're working the government without any fixed contract. After 2 years on something, move on, try another department, work overseas (from m'sian government), take a break to go back to school, etc. Most people in the white house do alternate between being in academia for a while to get fresh ideas, and then going back to the white house to implement them. You won't know what you'll getif you ask for it - and we Malaysians rarely speakup don't you think? :wink:

16-02-2004, 06:08 AM
I think there isn't any finite boundary on what we could have done... Explore the stuff and lets keep our options open... There are many ways we can contribute, idea wise, brain wise, financial wise, energy wise, commitment wise, etc...

16-02-2004, 06:08 AM
I think there isn't any finite boundary on what we could have done... Explore the stuff and lets keep our options open... There are many ways we can contribute, idea wise, brain wise, financial wise, energy wise, commitment wise, etc...

sanghanuman
16-02-2004, 08:09 AM
jinjoo,

I like your suggestions. Especially on alternating work and school.

sanghanuman
16-02-2004, 08:09 AM
jinjoo,

I like your suggestions. Especially on alternating work and school.

15-06-2007, 05:40 PM
I prefer Malaysia now. :P

Fourthshifter
15-06-2007, 05:41 PM
Each country has it good side and bad side.

we pick the good stuffs and avoid the bad characteristic.

For me Malaysia is quite fine.

15-06-2007, 05:44 PM
ya, definitely, foreign country mayb good in technology, but Malaysia dont have earthquake, tsunamy, and others natural disaster. :D

Fourthshifter
15-06-2007, 06:04 PM
OK, I will make an utopia list where I combine all best stuffs from various countries.....

Work : Norway

Education : America maybe

Food : Malaysia ?

Weather : mediterianen

Geographical location : Malaysia (next to the beach)

House type : English

GF / Wife : Polish

Local language : English, Chinese

Transportation : German

Technology : USA

Human Rights and discrimination : Norway

Media : Hong Kong, Taiwan

Culture : English

Longevity : Japan (maybe Aruba)

People : hmmmm... multinational

that is all for now :-)
any extra ideas?

15-06-2007, 09:54 PM
Media: Hong Kong, Taiwan?!

I thought their tabloids and paparazzi are rather disgusting. Like, Apples Daily?

lightning
15-06-2007, 10:12 PM
Depends on which foreign country you're talking about...
Compared to a place like thailand or sudan, then of course it's malaysia. malaysia definitely has some good points, but it will never be my country of choice. For one thing, it will never, never, ever be a place where discrimination (race, religion, sex ect.) do not occur, or are even kept to a minimum. We all know it, but some can live with it better than others can. Malaysia's constitution was built on discrimination, but other than that, it's not such a bad place, as long as you don't look too closely.

15-06-2007, 11:05 PM
I prefer Malaysia but I hope they abolished the special priviled of the Malays by then. If the Orang Asli, I won't mind because have any of you guys went to visit the real life orang asli in the interiors?

The bird can't fly away from its nest forever.

Butters
16-06-2007, 05:03 AM
too many 'japanophile' nowdays.... :roll:

Fourthshifter
16-06-2007, 01:47 PM
too many 'japanophile' nowdays.... :roll:

surely not me. I am more of Japanophobia due to Japanese's Xenophobia.

Shinn89
16-06-2007, 02:15 PM
To me, i'll prefer to stay in Malaysia while studies overseas...

Malaysia is in fact a very good country to live in...it's only problem is that politics kinda "cloud over" the education system...that's some problem... (well, my not matured view, u can say...)

dearest
16-06-2007, 02:23 PM
i think what's best about malaysia is that there are various races in our country.where we don't do war and can sit next to each other without being racist.atleast not as bad as we see in other countries.i love malaysia =D

16-06-2007, 10:54 PM
What about social security? I didn't feel that I was home when I got back to Malaysia months ago. Had to be extra sensitive to handbag, purse.

In Korea, we girls don't have to worry to walk alone along the street late at night. Don't have to worry to be robbed even though you are squeezed like a sandwich in the subway.

My mom got so worried when I was in KL, but not when I am in Korea.

18-06-2007, 05:13 PM
What about social security? I didn't feel that I was home when I got back to Malaysia months ago. Had to be extra sensitive to handbag, purse.

In Korea, we girls don't have to worry to walk alone along the street late at night. Don't have to worry to be robbed even though you are squeezed like a sandwich in the subway.

Really? I have never been to Korea. Maybe because the person there are all strictly tied to their traditions and morality.

21-06-2007, 05:33 PM
We do pendidikan moral, we're supposed to have morals too :P

Our education system and employment system greatly places below average education people in highly disadvantaged positions. Unlike some other countries, who tries hard to incorporate these individuals into productive workforce, they are sidelined and ignored. Hence, we breed a sub population of people desperate for easy money, and with little time to think about morality, increasing crime rates.

Fourthshifter
21-06-2007, 07:17 PM
testing

just wanna find a loophole on this "intelligent" , new frontpage system :-P

LilDeviant
22-06-2007, 10:09 AM

Agree.

Masterof_everything
22-06-2007, 10:28 AM
Well, I prefer Malaysia.

22-06-2007, 10:32 AM
We do pendidikan moral, we're supposed to have morals too :P

Our education system and employment system greatly places below average education people in highly disadvantaged positions. Unlike some other countries, who tries hard to incorporate these individuals into productive workforce, they are sidelined and ignored. Hence, we breed a sub population of people desperate for easy money, and with little time to think about morality, increasing crime rates.

I think they have plenty of time to think about how right or wrong their actions are - they just couldn't careless or they can't afford to show concern about other people's welfare when they can't even take care of themselves. What Malaysia needs to do is to motivate them to study hard or at least make them aware of the consequences of "bersenang-senang dahulu bersakit-sakit kemudian". It's pretty easy to neglect the future if we are too indulged in the pleasures of today.

22-06-2007, 02:06 PM
I think they have plenty of time to think about how right or wrong their actions are - they just couldn't careless or they can't afford to show concern about other people's welfare when they can't even take care of themselves. What Malaysia needs to do is to motivate them to study hard or at least make them aware of the consequences of "bersenang-senang dahulu bersakit-sakit kemudian". It's pretty easy to neglect the future if we are too indulged in the pleasures of today.

When you're deeply into something (such as getting rich or getting high) you don't really have the time to think about it being right or wrong. There's also the issue of innate personality and trait of some people that predisposes them to violence and such. Some people just don't think about the welfare of others, and it's okay until they start to harm others themselves.

Motivating them to study hard won't work because there will always be a sub population that would not study, or does not live in a environment conducive to study. Or they don't want to study because it's just not their nature to study.

Our social system does not support these sub populations. It is hence difficult for them to integrate into our social system, hence leading to unemployment and a lack of guidance. To solve the problem i believe it's necessary to improve the accessibility of these individuals into the social system so that they will not resort to crime or violence. Our polytechnics for example is deplorable and barely produces quality workforce. Of course, even with the most perfect education system, there will always be some that cannot fit into our system. This is a problem difficult to solve.

ngai
26-06-2007, 11:57 PM
Although I have yet to taste life overseas as a student(and I desire to..haha), yea I guess nothing beats home. We always fantasize about life abroad and the attractive things outside until we get there. Then we realize somethings at home go unappreciated,like the food and people. The weather as well. I had been to Italy with my family for a vacation. And tell you what, the snow during winter was pure bliss for me! But after a few days of the freezing snow and more snow, I cant wait to see sunshine at home! Ironic, given that experiencing winter had always been a childhood dream. Lol, like they say(literal malay translation), stony rain at home is better than golden rain outside! :wink:

27-06-2007, 10:13 AM

Agree.

just have to say this: social security is something else altogether. Social security normally means benefits program for the poor/disabled/old...

what you are referring to is personal safety/feeling secured/a safe society...

well... it's really hard to say whether Malaysia or another country is better. This is because you have to take into account so many factors: food, people, friends, work, government, education, future... Malaysian food is undoubtedly the best, but, if you are gonna based your decision solely on that, well, you must love to eat very much.

Family and friends: sometime, this is used as a 'reason', but is it really true? Say ur relatives, how often do you meet up with them to really make them part of your reason of choose to go back home. I don't know about others, but, most of the time, I only get to meet up with my relatives during festive seasons and sad to say, funerals. Even if you are working abroad, you can still go home during festive seasons.

I think there are valid reasons and there are excuses. Nowadays, does distance really matter? I mean everything is just a phone call away. When I was studying in Singapore, I spoke to my parents much less than I'm in the States now. And there's the internet, be it VoIP or web-cam.

veronin
27-06-2007, 12:07 PM
all those praises 4 malaysia....r u being honest and sincere when u r saying all those stuff? is it reali wat u think?

no offence...just curious,since i m not studying abroad....

deer_eyes
30-06-2007, 02:30 AM
Why I would miss Malaysia:

- SHOPPING ... shoes, make-up, oh-so-many-more-and-the-fashion-is-oh-so-much-better!!!!
- FOOD ... need I say more?? :)
- no winter
- in general, M'sian culture

Why I wouldn't miss Malaysia:

- high crime rates, I don't feel safe going anywhere ...
- MEN ogle at you as though you they haven't tasted chicken before
- SOME malays tell me what I should be wearing as a girl in public (don't take this personally, it's not like I dress in bikinis everytime. I just happen to meet with fanatics)
- Stressful working lifestyle
- Few benefits/perks from work
- lack of civic-mindness (I know, m'sia is still developing)

LOL. It's still my home country after all. The only thing that I can be proud of Malaysia is our culture. IMHO, Ang moh all don't have that diverse of a culture. That's probably what I miss most.

Fourthshifter
30-06-2007, 02:44 AM
Why I would miss Malaysia:

- SHOPPING ... shoes, make-up, oh-so-many-more-and-the-fashion-is-oh-so-much-better!!!!
- FOOD ... need I say more?? :)
- no winter
- in general, M'sian culture

Why I wouldn't miss Malaysia:

- high crime rates, I don't feel safe going anywhere ...
- MEN ogle at you as though you they haven't tasted chicken before
- SOME malays tell me what I should be wearing as a girl in public (don't take this personally, it's not like I dress in bikinis everytime. I just happen to meet with fanatics)
- Stressful working lifestyle
- Few benefits/perks from work
- lack of civic-mindness (I know, m'sia is still developing)

LOL. It's still my home country after all. The only thing that I can be proud of Malaysia is our culture. IMHO, Ang moh all don't have that diverse of a culture. That's probably what I miss most.

high crime rates due to corruption, inefficient police force, bias economical treatment and bad policy decision.

MEN hamsap because of suppressing their own sexual expression due to "culture", "religion" and political correctness, and they still think they are holy !

those guys do not know how to respect others. Instead of discussing, they force things onto others.

Stressful work as employees are not respected and worker union is not strong enough to protect the workers. and government is not good in dealing with this problem.

Work benefit? this is not scandinavia lah.

civic mindedness? people are too selfish and narrow minded.

kintaro_kun
01-07-2007, 10:49 AM
when you say "ang moh dun have that diverse of a culture", it prompted me to think a bit. in many western countries, they are a melting pot of cultures, with diff ppl of various nationalities and backgrounds, you'd be surprised when you walk downtown. ppl are just from so many other places you feel overwhelmed trying to rmb where theyre from. unlike in msia its just the malays, chinese and indians, and sometimes a sprinkling of sikhs, indons, etc.

i've got plenty of frens here down under, and mind you aussies are a diverse bunch. although all of them carry the green passport with the kangaroo on the cover, their backgrounds are as diverse as from france, canada, vietnam, korea, china, hk, japan, britain, ireland, south africa, sudan, egypt, india, peru, serbia, czech republic, italy, greece, etc. when they introduced themselves to me, i'd be like, "o_0 ok, wow, thats a very far place you came from". i bet the same is true for places like new york and london. its so much more complicated than in msia where we only have chinese who came from tongsan, malays from indonesia, etc.

day_dreamer
02-07-2007, 09:16 PM
I am the citizen of the world..

Which ever country treasures my presence .. I'll go there .. 8)