View Full Version : Saddam Hussein is finally captured by US troops.

14-12-2003, 10:18 PM
This is huge.. very huge.

We Got Him (http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/meast/12/14/sprj.irq.main/index.html)

Start the discussion in 3.. 2.. 1.. NOW!! :)

14-12-2003, 10:57 PM
I hope the next time the US found anything big, it's the WMD of which I doubt the US will ever find. Otherwise, the war is still a fraud.

14-12-2003, 11:15 PM
They have one more to go for - Osama bin Laden.

But actually i think this is not that important after all.
The war already happened and the damage is done. The rest are just to make the story/legend sounds better.

15-12-2003, 01:34 AM
oh well, I guess bush would be the president for another term..

On the other hand, hope this would stabilize iraq. And eventually be the first democratic nation in middle east with the exception os Israel.

15-12-2003, 02:15 AM
The location where Saddam was found was codenamed Wolverine 2, and another likely location was codenamed Wolverine 1. Hmm...Michigan alumni running this operation perhaps?

Well, looks like Bush will win a 2nd term. Some people say that it's not impossible that a Bush will remain in the White House for the next 12 years. There's still Jeb Bush...

huilinchin
15-12-2003, 05:10 AM
Got this link from a bboard, it's pretty good coverage about Saddam

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/in_depth/middle_east/2002/conflict_with_iraq/default.stm

-Hui Lin ^_^

15-12-2003, 07:19 AM
The location where Saddam was found was codenamed Wolverine 2, and another likely location was codenamed Wolverine 1. Hmm...Michigan alumni running this operation perhaps?

michigan football fan maybe? :lol:

15-12-2003, 07:22 AM
u michigan people...must everything be about you?
Could be an X-men fan... :P
hehehehehe

*<"you're so vain" plays in the background.............>

15-12-2003, 07:24 AM
come to think of it, stan lee must be a michigan man!

15-12-2003, 07:35 AM
nope. He was born in NYC. Don't think he ever went to college. He started with comics when he was 16 or 17...became editor the very next year!!!

dinna_g
15-12-2003, 07:39 AM
funny when the topic is somewhat related to stan lee.. anyway, bush must be the happiest person.. there's gonna be a huge chance that he'll win the next election.. *sigh*.. sorry i'm not a bush fan..

15-12-2003, 07:58 AM
come to think of it, stan lee must be a michigan man!

i think michigan fan more probable.

nope. He was born in NYC. Don't think he ever went to college. He started with comics when he was 16 or 17...became editor the very next year!!!

hmm...does someone have to be a college student to become a college football fan?

oops...sorry, way out of topic. too much michigan football hehe...

15-12-2003, 07:58 AM
Stan Lee must be a Michigan alum. I'll do some research on this.

:lol:

15-12-2003, 08:01 AM
yeah. i agree. too much michigan makes ohio hates us. LOL!!!

anyway, talking about Bush, unfortunately bush will win even if saddam wasnt captured. Reason - the democrats are too busy fighting among themselves.
anyway, i hope the Green Party will make some wave. Recent result in San Francisco shows that the Green Party popularity has increased by a staggering 40%!!!
but then again, it's CA - it already is the green friendliest state in the whole america.

15-12-2003, 08:37 AM
i really hope bush won't get elected again next fall. i think he's the biggest threat to the world peace with legal licence under the name of justice.

some said the hussein that got caught is a fake one. well, i m not very sure but i won't be surprised if he is. just another politic tactic. i think this is the reason why a lotsa people think politics is dirty.

15-12-2003, 11:00 AM
"buck fush" was a very prominent picket on campus last year when they were about to go to war.

Now it seems like everything has quieten down here. People forget so quickly about things like this. Hopefully the democrats can get their act together and start working as to kick bush out of office.

15-12-2003, 11:34 AM
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=564&e=1&u=/nm/20031215/ts_nm/iraq_saddam_interrogation_dc_1

looks like Bush is f****d.

15-12-2003, 11:42 AM
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=564&e=1&u=/nm/20031215/ts_nm/iraq_saddam_interrogation_dc_1

WMD... a logical view..
Let me preface this with my lack of interest on left/right polarity on the issue. I'm equally disinterested on the news blurb dejour, as the seem to be high gloss fiction. I'm am how ever interested in exercising the grey matter per se.

That said.

Several months ago there was an article posted that posed the question, "If there are no weapons, why didn't saddam just let the inspectors do their job?".

Why indeed.. (hold the volley of "We just haven't found them yet posts" for now).

Most everyone will agree that Saddam wasn't a nice guy, and had some internal conflicts to control, and some neighbors he wasn't exactly on great terms with. From a purely strategic stance, these forces needed to be kept in check, via fear of retaliation.. Not unlike the cold war. Enter WMD, and a history of using them (I know that background, and it's irrelevant).

Enter speculation.

As difficult as it might be for some, let's make an assumption for the sake of logical progression. The assumption being, He had no WMD. But as long as some had the perception that he had them, actual possession is moot.

Along comes the UN inspectors, on their quest to find WMD. This poses a major problem. If the UN comes in, does a clean sweep, and finds nothing, the perception is lost, and as soon as the UN rolls out of town, the Kurds are swarming Bagdad, Iran et. al. are lifting their eyebrows, making for a rather unpleasant situation.

Other reports came out that various commanders said "We didn't have WMD, but a nearby force did", and of course we have the infamous "45 minutes to deploy". Perhaps only the inner-circle knew the real hand that was on the table, and lower command was equally duped?

Playing a bluff can get down right tricky, no?

15-12-2003, 11:44 AM

Hell the last person whose words I'll believe is Saddam Hussein.

But if it can be proven without a doubt that there indeed never were WMDs, I see it as a win-win situation considering the shit Bush dragged the world into.

Bush will be exposed for the monkey-faced liar he is, and Saddam will be impaled for crimes against humanity. Sharon will look lost and get outsted, and Arafat will pass away peacefully. There will finally be peace in the Mid-East and all will be well.

Sounds good to me.

15-12-2003, 11:52 AM

Hell the last person whose words I'll believe is Saddam Hussein.

But if it can be proven without a doubt that there indeed never were WMDs, I see it as a win-win situation considering the shit Bush dragged the world into.

Bush will be exposed for the monkey-faced liar he is, and Saddam will be impaled for crimes against humanity. Sharon will look lost and get outsted, and Arafat will pass away peacefully. There will finally be peace in the Mid-East and all will be well.

Sounds good to me.

or...?
don't tell me thats the plan :)

15-12-2003, 11:57 AM
yeah, i do believe if there is no WMD, it's a win-win situation. No saddam and no bush! we could get rid 2 devils with one stone!

huilinchin
16-12-2003, 02:56 PM
'President Bush sends his regards'

Source: http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/meast/12/15/sprj.irq.soldiers/index.html

(CNN) -- The soldiers who captured Saddam Hussein talked to reporters Monday about how a mission that seemed similar to others they had been on ended with the former Iraqi dictator in custody.

In fact, Saddam's capture came as something of a surprise to some of the 600 soldiers of the 1st Brigade, 4th Infantry Division, who carried out the mission.

"To us, quite frankly, it was another raid," said the brigade's commander, Col. James Hickey. His unit and others had gone after Saddam at least a dozen times before.

But last Saturday evening was a little different.

They had good intelligence, and they were accompanied by a special operations unit called Task Force 121 set up to go after members of the former Baathist regime and other high-profile targets.

"There was a good chance that we would be successful because of the source of information and the timeliness of the information," Hickey said.

It came from intelligence accumulated over some time and from an Iraqi under interrogation, said Lt. Gen. Ricardo Sanchez, commander of U.S. forces in Iraq.

And, as Hickey said, they had good luck: "There was zero illumination that night. Moonrise would not happen for some hours. It was fortuitous."

As the troops swept into a farm compound near the village of Ad Dawr on the banks of the Tigris River outside Tikrit, they found nothing at first.

One room of a two-room hut yielded only two beds, books, clothes, an unopened plastic package of new underwear, and miscellaneous items.

The other room was a kitchen. Beneath the sink, the troops found Mars bars and cans of Spam. On the floor nearby were boxes of rotting oranges.

Outside the hovel, the soldiers saw a rug on the ground, pulled it back, and found an 8-inch thick piece of Styrofoam covering a narrow hole that appeared to be 6 to 8 feet deep.

They heard noises from below.

They were about to execute a "clearing procedure" -- firing into the hole or dropping a grenade into it -- when someone saw upraised hands belonging to a bearded, bedraggled man. The man had a pistol but did not fire it.

When the soldiers assisted the man from the hole, he said, in English: "I am Saddam Hussein. I am the president of Iraq. I want to negotiate."

The soldiers replied: "President Bush sends his regards."

Afterward, some soldiers expressed surprise: "There it was. It wasn't the blaze of glory we expected," said Capt. Desmond Bailey, who led the close-in security team.

"It was surprising. We did not expect to find him where we found him," said Maj. Steve Pitt, who ran the outer defense perimeter.

Not only had Pitt and his men patrolled past the ramshackle compound before, but also they were taken aback by Saddam's hovel -- the messy bedroom, the squalid kitchen -- a far cry from one of his palaces overlooking the Tigris in nearby Tikrit.

"The initial thought from the soldiers was, 'OK, we got his cook,'" Pitt said.

But in the end, the troops were happy that their months of tracking Saddam had paid off.

"It was on our day off. I'll take a day off like that any day," Bailey said with a laugh.

-Hui Lin ^_^

qedx
16-12-2003, 03:07 PM
saddam who? bush who?

16-12-2003, 03:12 PM
http://funnypictures.hypermart.net/s/curiousgeorge.jpg

qedx
16-12-2003, 03:20 PM
so thats bush and saddam? which one's which?

16-12-2003, 06:10 PM
When the soldiers assisted the man from the hole, he said, in English: "I am Saddam Hussein. I am the president of Iraq. I want to negotiate."

The soldiers replied: "President Bush sends his regards."
I find this funny too :D

16-12-2003, 11:20 PM
SADDAM: POSSIBLE CHARGES
Campaign against the Kurds in the 1980s, including the use of poison gas at Halabja
Suppression of Kurdish and Shia revolts after the first Gulf War
Brutality against the Marsh Arabs
Crimes committed during the wars against Iran and Kuwait
Possible involvement in recent attacks on coalition forces and other targets in Iraq
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/3323287.stm

I wonder how come the last one becomes one of the charges? Isn't it a war and coalition forces too had destroyed a lot of targets in Iraq.

However the statement is not mention in details here:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/3320293.stm

wesleyanne
17-12-2003, 02:44 AM
From the US point of view: We're the hegemony. We're the 'good guys'. You're the 'bad guys'. We can have nuclear weapons. You can't! haha. why? cos you're insane and you're gonna use them for malicious reasons while we are fair and just and won't use them for our own self-interest.
Bush: Lets bomb Iraq!
and that is soooo ahem 'fair'

nuff said. oh..and people here in the south love Bush! hahaha.They did after all vote for the guy!

Ishveir
17-12-2003, 03:16 AM
i really hope bush won't get elected again next fall. i think he's the biggest threat to the world peace with legal licence under the name of justice.

Well look at it its nearing the election and he needs the support and to show he did something useful.
I seriously dont want him to be U.S President too
I put my hope and trust in General(rtd) Wesley Clark to be president of US, im not sure where he is running from (New Hampshire perhaps or vermont.)
well anyway, with saddam in the hands of this modern day tyrant i wonder what are his plans?
hmmm the truth is...

17-12-2003, 03:24 AM
its NH. Vermont is that Dean guy. Personally, I prefer Howard Dean because he said that he will go with free trade and rejuvanate the space program. plus, Al Gore personally endorse him and Al Gore is an important guy in the Green movement.

If I could vote, I'd go for Howard Dean. Dean for America, w00t!

Anyway, it doesn't matter coz I can't vote and Bush gonna win, by a small margin again :lol:

but you know what will hand the presidency to the liberals?
Al Gore as president, hillary clinton as vice. Total victory. not even ralph nader could hijack enough votes to cause an upset.

Ishveir
17-12-2003, 04:22 AM
But seriously man
i made my choice after listening to their speech and ideas.
Although just like arnold people can cock, but General Clark, has the mouth for honesty and attitude of humility like our own Pak Lah, i could relate to that!
He criticezed Bush at the same time suggests recovery methods, not putting the man down but his actions, very credible.
Never interested in America's political waves, lately however been paying lots of attention and must say it is worth it if we understand the policies they intend to enact once the lead the country, out of which mos influential are Economic policies
Politics=Economy^2 as my econs prof's put it ;)

17-12-2003, 06:25 AM
WMD... a logical view..
Let me preface this with my lack of interest on left/right polarity on the issue. I'm equally disinterested on the news blurb dejour, as the seem to be high gloss fiction. I'm am how ever interested in exercising the grey matter per se.

That said.

Several months ago there was an article posted that posed the question, "If there are no weapons, why didn't saddam just let the inspectors do their job?".

Why indeed.. (hold the volley of "We just haven't found them yet posts" for now).

Most everyone will agree that Saddam wasn't a nice guy, and had some internal conflicts to control, and some neighbors he wasn't exactly on great terms with. From a purely strategic stance, these forces needed to be kept in check, via fear of retaliation.. Not unlike the cold war. Enter WMD, and a history of using them (I know that background, and it's irrelevant).

Enter speculation.

As difficult as it might be for some, let's make an assumption for the sake of logical progression. The assumption being, He had no WMD. But as long as some had the perception that he had them, actual possession is moot.

Along comes the UN inspectors, on their quest to find WMD. This poses a major problem. If the UN comes in, does a clean sweep, and finds nothing, the perception is lost, and as soon as the UN rolls out of town, the Kurds are swarming Bagdad, Iran et. al. are lifting their eyebrows, making for a rather unpleasant situation.

Other reports came out that various commanders said "We didn't have WMD, but a nearby force did", and of course we have the infamous "45 minutes to deploy". Perhaps only the inner-circle knew the real hand that was on the table, and lower command was equally duped?

Playing a bluff can get down right tricky, no?

3rdshifter, I must say that that's a very interesting viewpoint. Yeah, you gotta think that Saddam would at least put on a fight if he's as powerful as the hawks claim.

I don't really know much about US-Middle East relations (other than what's reported in the right- and left-wing media, which is always biased to one extreme) but I think Saddam's grip on Iraq was made possible partly by trade embargos and sanctions imposed on his country. Iraq's economy went down the drain. He controlled aid meant for his people. I don't know, it's probably easier to run a dictatorship where people are poor and starving.

As for the Kurds, didn't he gas them or something like that? Perhaps that was as 'mass desruptive' as his weapons got.

17-12-2003, 07:13 AM
and people here in the south love Bush! hahaha.They did after all vote for the guy!

All i can say is:

Florida

crytoheaven
17-12-2003, 08:13 AM
hurm...aku rase baik dia bunuh diri drpd serah diri

17-12-2003, 08:32 AM
yo ernie guy, since when ernie wears a blue shirt? :P

17-12-2003, 08:49 AM
since I made him wear it. 8)

18-12-2003, 01:12 PM
I find this utterly hilarious. :D

http://www.screw3d.com/files/saddam.jpg

qedx
18-12-2003, 07:52 PM
hurm...aku rase baik dia bunuh diri drpd serah diri

ish ish ish ko tak tau ker bunuh diri tuh dosa?

03-07-2004, 08:52 AM
I'm not sure who locked this topic up, but I think discussion can still proceed. Recently, Saddam Hussein appeared in Iraqi court for the first time since his capture by US. He denied all the charges against him.

Here's the link to the news in CNN.
Defiant Saddam rejects court, charges (http://www.cnn.com/2004/WORLD/meast/07/01/iraq.saddam/index.html)

gohweihan
03-07-2004, 09:20 AM
I'm not sure who locked this topic up, but I think discussion can still proceed. Recently, Saddam Hussein appeared in Iraqi court for the first time since his capture by US. He denied all the charges against him.

Obviously..... :lol:

kucingbiru
03-07-2004, 02:22 PM
i'm not a fan of saddam, but i wonder, why some people said saddam is a coward because he hid when the US was looking for him?

04-07-2004, 02:35 AM
i'm not a fan of saddam, but i wonder, why some people said saddam is a coward because he hid when the US was looking for him?
No idea. Under the same circumstances, anyone with any semblance of sanity would have done the same too.

04-07-2004, 03:06 AM
hahaha

If I have JDAMs and MOABs with my name written on it, i would definitely do the same thing too

kucingbiru
04-07-2004, 08:27 AM
hahaha

If I have JDAMs and MOABs with my name written on it, i would definitely do the same thing too

what do you mean?

04-07-2004, 08:29 AM
JDAMs and MOABs are 'smart bombs' that are guided by GPS. What i mean is, if those bombs have my address written on it as the delivery address, i would duck and cover as well. :)

kucingbiru
04-07-2004, 08:37 AM
JDAMs and MOABs are 'smart bombs' that are guided by GPS. What i mean is, if those bombs have my address written on it as the delivery address, i would duck and cover as well. :)

ok,i got it. but you know what, i wouldn't be too scared by those 'smart bombs'. it's more like 'smartass bomb'. the chance that the bomb will hit the intended target might be 1/100. the 99 go to innocent people. if i'm an innocent civilian, you bet i'll duck and cover.

04-07-2004, 10:30 AM

ok,i got it. but you know what, i wouldn't be too scared by those 'smart bombs'. it's more like 'smartass bomb'. the chance that the bomb will hit the intended target might be 1/100. the 99 go to innocent people. if i'm an innocent civilian, you bet i'll duck and cover.
And where in the blue hell did you pull that number from? I don't think you'll be quoting the same number if you are under the same threat. Those smart bombs are accurate to within a few meters (or feet, not sure which). If any of them hits civilians, it's because of wrong intelligence, not because they are "smartass bombs".

kucingbiru
04-07-2004, 12:25 PM
actually that's what we call exaggeration. :lol:

and yes, i know most of the time, it's the intel fault. i watch the news too. i was just playin allright?

i should have put it like this

"i'm not scared of that Smart Bomb because the intel suck."