View Full Version : Favorite Movies
15-12-2003, 07:56 AM
Since we already have a glut of serious topics, lets talk about our favorite movies for a change of pace. What are your favorite movies of all time?
I'm usually very macho 8) but the one movie that ever made me cry was Dead Man Walking starring Sean Penn and Susan Sarandon. That's my favorite movie. I also like Pulp Fiction, Magnolia and Gladiator. And anything starring Chow Sing Chi.:)
15-12-2003, 07:58 AM
All praise to Star Wars:ANH, SW:ESB and SW:ROTJ!!!
15-12-2003, 07:59 AM
Star Wars Geek alert! Wtf are those? 8O
15-12-2003, 08:05 AM
watchout d00d! :twisted:
a new hope, empire strikes back and return of the jedi.
of all three, a new hope is my favorite. but empire strikes back scene at the cloud city is the best scene ever!
15-12-2003, 08:10 AM
this is not a movie but like a short clip. Has anyone seen the "IRC Chatroom" spoof/parody?
not sure how to describe it. IT's one of the coolest concepts i've ever seen.
rotj: gotta love ewoks!!
fav movie eh... yeah nothing beats the old star wars
15-12-2003, 08:15 AM
rotj?
wasn't that a flop?
who cares, it's got ewoks!! EWOKS!!!!
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 08:24 AM
<<The Red Boot>> Iran Movie - Award Winning Movie
Classical and very touching movie, prepare lots of tissue paper with you :cry:
<<Life is Beautiful>> German Movie - Many Award Winning Movie...
Best of the Best, that all I could say...
15-12-2003, 08:55 AM
Best movies.. the shawshank redemption and brave heart. Both movies has great dialogue.. the story line is second to none and simply good entertainment.
As for star wars, i loved the trilogy because i grew up watching them everyday (my dad is a star wars fan)
The Matrix was great too.
15-12-2003, 08:58 AM
this is not a movie but like a short clip. Has anyone seen the "IRC Chatroom" spoof/parody?
I lknow exactly what your talking about.. the parlor? here's a diret link to i.. it's 80 mb+ http://www.hoghole.com/videos/the_parlor_dsl.wmv
soul_out
15-12-2003, 08:58 AM
Remember the Titans.
15-12-2003, 09:14 AM
3rd... that is a kick ass movie man! stupid gay! LOL!
15-12-2003, 09:16 AM
i like matrix and remember the titans and those movies acted by stephen chow (yeah it's seem stupid but it's funny and sometimes u can find some "philosophy" from there)
Ishveir
15-12-2003, 09:25 AM
Best movies.. the shawshank redemption and brave heart. Both movies has great dialogue.. the story line is second to none and simply good entertainment.
As for star wars, i loved the trilogy because i grew up watching them everyday (my dad is a star wars fan)
Agree with you man, Braveheart is a modern day epic.
Guys,
movies are not just entertainment. They mean something if not a hwhole lot. Star Wars lasted for some time meaning it has staying power simply because many people were amazed at its idea during its inception. Largely based on some meaning when we talk about the Universe and hear Yoda's dialogue.
Personally, LOTR means something to me although i havent read the Trilogy - it offers in depth reasoning of what might have existed or still does im referring to the elves, the wizadry and the gallantry of men who would stick together in the name of friendship. That has meaning.
Personally Braveheart is something Sikhs and i can relate to politically, just as the honorable Scots were oppressed by the English - who were their own creed - they needed a hero race to fight the oppresion just like in India they needed a hero race (Sikhs) to fight oppresion by the tyrant mughals.
well anyhow those are just a few of the movies that i can relate too and mean a lot
in terms of confidence and needing "ammo" to approach a chic then movies like Scent of a Woman comes in mind
To just live life with honor and respect Scarface hits the bullseye.
Anyway does anyone have the movie Dog Day Afternoon, im looking high and low for the movie, wanna see it again~
by now you can tell my affinity towards Al Pacino
15-12-2003, 10:30 AM
Yeah man, gotta love the gangsta movies. Godfather trilogy kicks serious ass (though the books are even better). And yeah, Shawshank Redemption is right up there in my list. Anybody likes The Crow?
Weirdest movie: Being John Malkovich. Wtf?
15-12-2003, 10:31 AM
Agree with you man, Braveheart is a modern day epic.
Guys,
movies are not just entertainment. They mean something if not a hwhole lot. Star Wars lasted for some time meaning it has staying power simply because many people were amazed at its idea during its inception. Largely based on some meaning when we talk about the Universe and hear Yoda's dialogue.
Personally, LOTR means something to me although i havent read the Trilogy - it offers in depth reasoning of what might have existed or still does im referring to the elves, the wizadry and the gallantry of men who would stick together in the name of friendship. That has meaning.
Personally Braveheart is something Sikhs and i can relate to politically, just as the honorable Scots were oppressed by the English - who were their own creed - they needed a hero race to fight the oppresion just like in India they needed a hero race (Sikhs) to fight oppresion by the tyrant mughals.
well anyhow those are just a few of the movies that i can relate too and mean a lot
in terms of confidence and needing "ammo" to approach a chic then movies like Scent of a Woman comes in mind
To just live life with honor and respect Scarface hits the bullseye.
Anyway does anyone have the movie Dog Day Afternoon, im looking high and low for the movie, wanna see it again~
by now you can tell my affinity towards Al Pacino
Yeshhh scarfaceeeee.. I need to get the DVD!!
15-12-2003, 10:36 AM
I lknow exactly what your talking about.. the parlor? here's a diret link to i.. it's 80 mb+ http://www.hoghole.com/videos/the_parlor_dsl.wmv
yeah...that's it...the parlor..
If we're talking about gangsta movies, then I would like to give my vote up to Reservoir Dogs...tarantinos first effort.
Incredible.
15-12-2003, 10:48 AM
Haven't had the chance to see Reservoir Dogs. I know, it's a classic.
15-12-2003, 10:51 AM
weirdest movie: Texas Chainsaw Massacre...the original...haven't seen the recent remake
15-12-2003, 10:58 AM
Ooh serial killers! This is way off topic, but did you know that one of the most notorious serial killers in American history, the Unabomber (aka Ted Kaczynski or however it's spelt), was a graduate from the University of Michigan?
See, we produce prominent citizens in all areas.
Go Blue!
:?
15-12-2003, 11:01 AM
what was his major? any chance related to programming?
15-12-2003, 11:02 AM
topdog, i'll help you make a connection to movies. The unabomber is actually mentioned in "Good Will Hunting" when the math prof and Robin williams were talking in the bar.
I like Good Will Hunting
15-12-2003, 11:04 AM
Yeah, that's right!
earth: Unabomber was a Math prof. I think his name is in East Hall...
15-12-2003, 11:05 AM
now, that's a scary shit.
15-12-2003, 11:10 AM
michigan really produce talent in every aspects of life hehe....
pergi biru
princess_ac
15-12-2003, 01:46 PM
Haunted Mansion !!! ----> scary shitz
Freaky Friday !!! ----> freaky shitz
Mr. Cinderella 2 (BM) !!! ----> stupid shitz
mwahahahaha~
15-12-2003, 04:40 PM
As for the movie, texas Chainsaw Massacre..honestly, I watched it with my eyes closed whenever the part the killer killing the victims...haha...I know...it's very amusing, but that's me! I just can't stand horror, scary scenes, yet I like to wathc horror movie..how contradicting yeah?! :oops:
15-12-2003, 06:07 PM
Second that on shawshank redemption ;)
The Usual suspect too is one of my favourites.
dinna_g
15-12-2003, 06:31 PM
is there anyway that you can provide the link so that we can see it? that would be great ;)
15-12-2003, 06:49 PM
here's the link provided by thirdshifter
http://www.hoghole.com/videos/the_parlor_dsl.wmv
royston
16-12-2003, 12:10 PM
Movies... I don't know what kind of movies I love to watch but the movies below are my favorite:
Cantonese comedy (For laugh, no thinking involved)- Stephen Chow, Andy Lau
Fighting movies - Steven Seagul, Van Damme, Arnold, Bruce Willis
Besides, movies like "Bone Collector", "Resident Evil", "Tomb Raider", "Enemy of the State", "Johnny Mnemonic".
Although I am no longer young kid, I love watching cartoon VCD like Doraemon, Old Master Q (heehee... :oops: )
~ roy ~
huilinchin
16-12-2003, 12:17 PM
I love disney cartoons!! :D
-Hui Lin ^_^
Ishveir
16-12-2003, 01:21 PM
Well i asked this question in my previous post but iguess no one read it
Does anyone have this movie or have seen it "Dog Day Afternoon"
nope
does anyone still remember cave of the golden rose?
16-12-2003, 01:53 PM
tarabas?
aye that be the one. thought that guy didnt appear till the3rd or 4th one, ithink.. was was the name fo the girl again?
05-02-2004, 11:58 PM
shawshank redemption is really touching..... very very nice..... and the apt pupil also quite good.... but the book is much better for the apt pupil....
both from Stephen King's book!!!
besides, the green mile is really good........
one more on the top of my list is Armageddon......
and bruce willis' movies: die hard 1, 2 and....
er...er..... :!: :idea: :?:
05-02-2004, 11:58 PM
shawshank redemption is really touching..... very very nice..... and the apt pupil also quite good.... but the book is much better for the apt pupil....
both from Stephen King's book!!!
besides, the green mile is really good........
one more on the top of my list is Armageddon......
and bruce willis' movies: die hard 1, 2 and....
er...er..... :!: :idea: :?:
06-02-2004, 01:51 PM
aye that be the one. thought that guy didnt appear till the3rd or 4th one, ithink.. was was the name fo the girl again?
fantaghiro.
06-02-2004, 01:51 PM
fantaghiro.
cave of the golden roses' music was awesome!
does anyone remember the artist and title?
cave of the golden roses' music was awesome!
does anyone remember the artist and title?
06-02-2004, 04:11 PM
anyone remember Romualdo? :D
06-02-2004, 04:11 PM
anyone remember Romualdo? :D
nope.
(unfortunately?) people only remember the heroine :P
have you ever wondered why Mononoke Hime is titled such when the prince (what's his name again? haha:D) seems to be the more important character?
nope.
(unfortunately?) people only remember the heroine :P
have you ever wondered why Mononoke Hime is titled such when the prince (what's his name again? haha:D) seems to be the more important character?
if i remember right her name is alessandra martines hehehe the guy is something rossi stuart :P
polarized
07-02-2004, 01:02 PM
z...y mononoke hime? i think cos animes with girly name....i mean..feminine will have more people seeing it.....no?
ANYWAYS..mononoke hime is really cool!
polarized
07-02-2004, 01:02 PM
z...y mononoke hime? i think cos animes with girly name....i mean..feminine will have more people seeing it.....no?
ANYWAYS..mononoke hime is really cool!
09-02-2004, 02:30 PM
i forgot Tarabas's name, but yep..Fantaghiro is Alessandra Martines, and Romualdo is Kim Rossi Stuart.
They were such unknown actors, my friends almost went crazy coz can't seem to find pics of their hunky dory faces :wink:
09-02-2004, 02:30 PM
i forgot Tarabas's name, but yep..Fantaghiro is Alessandra Martines, and Romualdo is Kim Rossi Stuart.
They were such unknown actors, my friends almost went crazy coz can't seem to find pics of their hunky dory faces :wink:
09-02-2004, 02:41 PM
after a quick googling, Tarabas was played by an Australian Model/Actor named Nicholas Roger.
here's a link to a fan site http://www.tarabas.de/
09-02-2004, 02:41 PM
after a quick googling, Tarabas was played by an Australian Model/Actor named Nicholas Roger.
here's a link to a fan site http://www.tarabas.de/
09-02-2004, 02:55 PM
wow, efficient! 8O
good job, mate! :P
09-02-2004, 02:55 PM
wow, efficient! 8O
09-02-2004, 03:02 PM
wow, efficient! 8O
I was also i big fan of the Fantaghiro series. Wish the producers would do a DVD special. One of the few series i would definetly get my dhildrens to watch.
Also it'll be blast if i could watch it one more time.
Remember Nekrad? the villian?
09-02-2004, 03:02 PM
wow, efficient! 8O
I was also i big fan of the Fantaghiro series. Wish the producers would do a DVD special. One of the few series i would definetly get my dhildrens to watch.
Cirnelle
09-02-2004, 08:35 PM
have anyone watched Life Is Beautiful before? it is an italian film...won oscar best picture b4....it is one of my favourite movie...
hmm....come to think of it, i have a whole bunch of favourite movies..gladiator, A beautiful mind, forrest gump, The six sense and shrek....am i too greedy....?? :oops:
Cirnelle
09-02-2004, 08:35 PM
have anyone watched Life Is Beautiful before? it is an italian film...won oscar best picture b4....it is one of my favourite movie...
hmm....come to think of it, i have a whole bunch of favourite movies..gladiator, A beautiful mind, forrest gump, The six sense and shrek....am i too greedy....?? :oops:
likim
10-02-2004, 01:40 AM
o yeah, i've watched Life is Beautiful before (last year, to be exact), had to write a review of it too~ i agree, Cirnelle, it's great movie!
likim
10-02-2004, 01:40 AM
o yeah, i've watched Life is Beautiful before (last year, to be exact), had to write a review of it too~ i agree, Cirnelle, it's great movie!
aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 11:13 AM
my favs are:
LOTR trilogy
Harry Potter trilogy
Lilo and Stitch
The Sixth Sense
Beautiful Mind
10 Things I Hate About You
aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 11:13 AM
my favs are:
LOTR trilogy
Harry Potter trilogy
Lilo and Stitch
The Sixth Sense
Beautiful Mind
http://download.theforce.net/theater/fxprojects/artofthesaber/artofthesaber.mov
hows that for a movie?
http://download.theforce.net/theater/fxprojects/artofthesaber/artofthesaber.mov
hows that for a movie?
23-03-2004, 03:05 PM
lots of movies i have watched but only a few are still kept in mind n i consider that as my favourite movie...mostly chinese movie
1) bai fa mo nue(white hair lady)
2) xiu au jong hu
23-03-2004, 03:05 PM
lots of movies i have watched but only a few are still kept in mind n i consider that as my favourite movie...mostly chinese movie
1) bai fa mo nue(white hair lady)
2) xiu au jong hu
23-03-2004, 04:21 PM
my favs are:
Yeah love julia stiles in that movie too! I don't usually go for teen flicks (not worth my RM10) but 10 Things definitely is one of the few exceptions. It's laced with sarcasm, wit and clean, intelligent humor and you just gotta love the way Julia Stiles stands up to what she believes.
Other than that, I love Grease!!! Have watched it a million times but I still haven't quite gotten over Danny Zuko hehehe...
23-03-2004, 04:21 PM
my favs are:
Yeah love julia stiles in that movie too! I don't usually go for teen flicks (not worth my RM10) but 10 Things definitely is one of the few exceptions. It's laced with sarcasm, wit and clean, intelligent humor and you just gotta love the way Julia Stiles stands up to what she believes.
Other than that, I love Grease!!! Have watched it a million times but I still haven't quite gotten over Danny Zuko hehehe...
lonewolfhan
24-03-2004, 08:13 PM
OH gosh... favourite means the ONLY one i like the most rite ? But... But... i have so many favourite movies.... kekeke..
i like A Beautiful Mind... MAtrix 1 .... trilogy of LOTR....Mona Lisa Smile... Bring it on... A walk to remember... Center Stage... Hmm.. quite a lot of other teen flicks.... 10 things i hate about u... boys and girls... she's all that... and i also like the Final Fantasy Game Movies.... and the Disney Cartoons.... and Finding Nemo... Nice Nice ! Movies and songs are my life! !!!!!
gesar
24-03-2004, 08:52 PM
LORD OF THE RINGS
its the coolest movie ever.....yeah.....LEGOLAS...ARAGORN...even GANDALF is cool...ARWEN..is beautiful...YEA.....
okie....I admit Harry Potter is also very nice...He is so cute and act well too...hmmm, at that age, he is good....
:D :D :lol: :wink: :roll: :? 8) :) 8O :D
-munhua-
24-03-2004, 08:58 PM
:D :D :lol: :wink: :roll: :? 8) :) 8O :D
wat's with the faces?! :lol:
jaclyn
24-03-2004, 09:18 PM
No doubt about that, DEFINITELY LOTR-ROTK!
LEGOLAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :oops: :oops: :oops: :lol: :lol: :lol: :P
Such a great movie, glad that it won the Oscars
24-03-2004, 10:52 PM
<<The Red Boot>> Iran Movie - Award Winning Movie
i love iranian movies too. they are simple, but very expressive.
25-03-2004, 12:26 AM
Fav. Malay Movie: Kaki Bakar - U-Wei Shaari
they didn't hit box office, but this movie is simply the best malay movie ever made, in my opinion.
Kami - starring Sudirman
Fav HK movie: any Andy Lau's movie
Fav Hollywood movies: Schindler's List (why the hell malaysia ban this movie?), Saving Private Ryan, Forrest Gump, A Beautiful Mind, Gandhi, Amadeus (1984), Malcolm X, GoodFellas, Casino, Road to Perdition, Pulp Fiction, Kramer vs. Kramer, Rain Man (one of two movies starring tom cruise that i like), South Park (Bigger, Longer, Uncut), About Schmidt, Something's Gotta Give, Bicentennial Man (not really a good movie, but i just love it), the Birdcage (funny gay movie), Little Nicky, Taxi Driver (1976), Adaptation, A Clockwork Orange, Being John Malkovich (u'll see how ugly cameron diaz can be), Detroit Rock City, The Big Lebowski (it's funny), Training Day, Crimson Tide, The Gladiator.
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/features/2003/movies/news/2003/03/26/theyre_no1/p1_hustler.jpg
http://us.ent4.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/allposters/46/1800049346p.jpg
The Hustler (1961) and its sequel, The Color of Money (1981)(the second tom cruise movie that i like, but i dont like him, he's not a good actor)
If you watch these two movies, you'll see the lead actor (Paul Newman) gets old like his character in the movies. He plays Fast Eddy Felson in those movies.
Fav Actors in leading roles,
Dustin Hoffman - Kramer vs. Kramer & Rain Man, Tootsie (he's really a woman in this movie)
Sean Penn - I Am Sam
Liam Neeson - Schindler's List
Denzel Washington - Malcolm X (damn he's so convincing in this movie & he deserves an oscar for his performance), The Hurricane, Training Day, Crimson Tide
Gene Hackman - Crimson Tide, The Royal Tenenbaums
Ben Kingsley - Gandhi (damn he looks like gandhi)
Russell Crowe - A Beautiful Mind
Khalid Salleh - Jogho, Kaki Bakar
Fav Actress in a leading role,
Julia Roberts - Erin Bronkovich
Fauziah Nawi - (she's good in most of her films)
Fav Actor in supporting role,
Joe Pesci - Casino & Goodfellas (he's the worst m**********r)
for those who love gangsta movies but haven't seen Goodfellas, go see it.
Fav Cinematography, Black Hawk Down (though i dont like the movie)
hmm, did i mention LOTR? hell no, i dont like it.
Movies that i hate: most teen movies.
The worst movie I've ever seen: A Walk to Remember (starring mandy moore, and the people who give A+ for this crap are her fans).
Fav original scores & theme songs:
John Williams (5 oscars & 40 nominations)- Star Wars, Jaws, E.T, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, Jurassic Park
Nick Glennie-Smith & Harry Gregson-Williams - The Rock
Henry Mancini - The Pink Panther,
Max Steiner - Gone With the Wind (1939), Casablanca (1942)
Alan Silvestri - Forrest Gump, Back to the Future
James Horner - Star Trek
Wizard of Oz (donno the composer)
Mozart - Amadeus
Andy Williams (Singer) - Speak Softly Love (The Godfather), Where Do I Begin (Love Story)
Linda Ronstad & James Ingram (singers) - Somewhere out There (An American Tale)
Tan Dun - Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (solo by YoYo Ma) main theme (damn i love this song)
Jorge Calandrelli & Tan Dun- A Love Before Time (performed by CoCo Lee) (CT,HDragon), i prefer the mandarin version though
Matthew Wilder - Mulan (performed by CoCo)
David Arnold- ID4
Kenny, Remy & Martin (singer) - Suratan Atau Kebetulan (forgot the title of the movie)
well, it seems like i watch quite a lot of movies huh? but sadly, i dont like to go to cinemas. thanks to cetak rompak and internet.[/img][/b]
25-03-2004, 05:40 PM
well, it seems like i watch quite a lot of movies huh? but sadly, i dont like to go to cinemas. thanks to cetak rompak and internet.[/img][/b]
Eh, you're no longer qualified for student rate? Haha...I can still go for a movie at only RM6. Pirated VCDs sold at the pasar malam at my place can't be trusted. You get extra sound effects (audience laughing, achoo-ing) and sometimes when it's at the climax of the show, you see heads popping up, prob another guy heading to the loo.
25-03-2004, 05:51 PM
hehe...I SO LOVE going to the movies...esp if it means going to GSC Mid Valley...hehehe :twisted:
25-03-2004, 11:33 PM
Pirated VCDs sold at the pasar malam at my place can't be trusted. You get extra sound effects (audience laughing, achoo-ing) and sometimes when it's at the climax of the show, you see heads popping up, prob another guy heading to the loo.
aha, one rule to remember when buying a pirated vcd. DONT EVER TRUST THE SELLER. you need some skills in buying vcd's. long ago, those stated DVD version, are always trustworthy. but not anymore. now, you'll have to scrutinize more details.
i donno if this works now, but you can try.
get a few pirated vcds. find a small logo, usually located at the bottom right or left of the front cover.
you'll find logos like white sealion, aeroplane, elephant etc.
the logo usually tells you the quality of the picture. white sealion is my favorite. i've never been disappointed. there are other reliable logos, but i dont remember. you'll have to figure them out.
26-03-2004, 03:53 PM
hahaha...
so, we DO hv a tokan CD pirate in recom eh?
maybe will try that tip..hmmm :) :wink:
26-03-2004, 08:05 PM
i donno if it still works. the last time i use this method was around a year ago when i was still in malaysia.
and remember, it takes sometime for you to be familiar with the logos. and out of 6 logos you encounter, only one kind might be reliable.
this method made me quite invincible to the lies of the sellers. some seller who knew me didnt dare lying to me in front of other people, because they knew that i'll tell other customer about it. heh heh.
but these days, i think it's somewhat harder for you to get good copies. again, buy wisely, though it only cost $10 for 3 vcds.
26-03-2004, 08:57 PM
My favourite movies are
1) Forrest Gump
2) Remember the Titans
3) Shawshank Redemption
4) 暗战
Of all these, I like Forrest Gump the most. It is both inspiring and touching. If only the world has more Forrest Gump..., I mean the single-mindedness and positive attitude, of course.
Melo_15
27-03-2004, 01:32 PM
erm chiun lin, forrest gump is also one of my fav.....the movie is a masterpiece.....hehe :lol:
apart from dat, i also thin lotr trilogy is very entertaining also.....great effects n story line....
then, the fast n furious n too fast too furious also nice coz got cun cars!!
8)
sKYwalker
27-03-2004, 07:07 PM
for me, matrix is the best..(not for the sequels) and i think a lot of people will agree.
never had a movie has blended special effect with the plot so will..and the technic used (bullet time) is simply brilliant and jaw-dropping.
i stil remember the first time when i watched this movie. the story is so convoluted that i was baffled and fascinated at the same time..it was so surreal...as if i myself is in the matrix oso.
(though the dodging bullet part is the main attraction of the movie, the part where neo is interrogated by the agents is most memorable to me.it is simply shocking to see the way neo is being "shut up"...unforgettable..)
kennytang
27-03-2004, 07:32 PM
dunno y but i dont like matrix that much
27-03-2004, 10:46 PM
Yeah, i like Shawshank Redemption and Dead Poet Society...
AI is not that bad either....
27-03-2004, 10:57 PM
Though I like science fiction very much, I feel that there is a certain element missing from the Matrix that made it less memorable. Perhaps it's the 'absurdity' of the notion of using human bodies to generate electricity (ask anyone who understand the law of thermodynamics) or perhaps it's the superficial emotion part.
lonewolfhan
30-03-2004, 11:39 AM
Hmm.. juz want to share some of my favorite movies..
Parent's Trap : Hmm.. may be a movie for kids... but... its NICE!
Titanic: Hmm.. its really nice ah !!! but i know some dun like it..
A Walk To Remember
A Princess Diary
The Sound of Music (Woww... classic!!! really superb! the songs... )
b_ronick
30-03-2004, 11:59 AM
i sorta like LOTR..all three episodes..
and i think that 'the matrix' not matrix:reloaded and not really matrix:revolution..
i thought the matrix was really good..and was something different out of the ordinary..
30-03-2004, 01:24 PM
Hmm.. juz want to share some of my favorite movies..
Parent's Trap : Hmm.. may be a movie for kids... but... its NICE!
Titanic: Hmm.. its really nice ah !!! but i know some dun like it..
A Walk To Remember
A Princess Diary
The Sound of Music (Woww... classic!!! really superb! the songs... )
wow :P . hik hik, i'm just teasing u.
lonewolfhan
30-03-2004, 01:54 PM
Diesel: Hmm.. what do u suppose to mean by "juz teasing me"? its a really nice movie what! Well.. personally i like it... maybe its a different story for u... Hmm.. nvm.. i understand not everyone will share the same opinion as me ! cheers~
30-03-2004, 02:09 PM
nothing la. It's funny that we both actually mention that movie in our messages. Well, that is art, people will have different opinion on what's good what's not.
09-05-2005, 02:02 PM
has anyone seen Donnie Darko. I recently saw it for the first time (a little bit ketinggalan) and I loved it. I've talked to people who have seen it and we can talk for hours about what the movie meant, the hidden meanings and how the movie actually ended.
astraltruist
09-05-2005, 04:21 PM
wow, efficient! 8O
yaya.. it's something like those trilogies(star wars, LOTR, matrix) except that the story is more for kids(fairy tale type) n really interesting and unique, it's been a long time.. :D
finding nemo and spirited away, my fav cartoons.. :wink: :roll:
09-05-2005, 04:30 PM
Has anyone here seen scent of a woman?
Its about Al Pacino, a retired army sargent who blinded himself by according to his brother "Juggling Handgrenades". Anyway Charlie, played by Chris O'Donnell offers his services for the weekend. Charlie thinks its going to be easy work but Uncle Frank (I think thats his name, Al Pacino) has other ideas. He takes charlie with him to New York where they'll take a pleasure cruise. Taste all the pleasures that New York can offer. A sexual date with a beautiful woman, Dinner at the waldorf hotel and driving a ferari.
Someone can continue the rest of the story but its very good. One of my favourite films.
Babikia
12-05-2005, 02:36 AM
One night Paris, starring you know who.
The night vision is awesome. Paris looked like a little kitty.
jacLC
14-05-2005, 03:11 PM
Has anyone see 'The Million Dollar Baby'? I like dat movie very much... It's quite meaningful...
N another 2, Good Will Hunting n Chocolat oso r 2 superb movie, if u get the message inside it...
flibbertigibbet
14-05-2005, 11:22 PM
I watched Artificial Intelligence yesterday.
I have to admit that that is really a successful movie as it made me drop tears. There seldom are movies, even those with bad, sorrowful endings, that managed to earn my tears. I can laugh off the idea easily by telling myself that it just a movie and nothing real while my family members are trying hard to hold back their tears. But this A.I. is really something different.
The main character is a boy, a Mecha (a robot), named David.
David was created to love human beings. The professor did not even care about the moral issue put forward by a member of the discussion board. When asked what responsibility humans have towards the robot who can give love, the professor answered that God created Adam to love Him.
And so the first ever robot which can feel and has got emotion was created.
Basically, it's about David setting his shoulder on the wheels in his search for Blue Fairy to be changed into a real boy, so that his Mom will love him. He wants to be unique and not a mere robot. After 2000 years, with his faith and determination, the more advanced robots (or aliens, I'm not sure) realised his dreams virtually.
I believe it's the background music which blends well with the story line that failed me in holding back my tears. Obviously, there are a few issues featured in the movie. One of them is the selfishness of human beings.
All in all, I would suggest those who haven't watched this movie to go watch it now. It's the best science fiction movie I've ever watched.
*THE END*
16-05-2005, 01:01 AM
Quoted from redundant thread. Please continue discussion here.
I bought ong bak, kung fu hustle and shoalin soccer today. ong bak dont work so i'll have to change it tomorrow.
zchen
16-05-2005, 10:12 AM
u'll miss ong bak.plenty of awesome moves...tony jua was superb.obviously not the thai kickboxer type...but his moves are still very eye catching,fast and hard<catch the fight scene at the bar>.try not to hope too much on the storyline though
Gabriel
16-05-2005, 10:44 AM
I watched Artificial Intelligence yesterday.
I have to admit that that is really a successful movie as it made me drop tears. There seldom are movies, even those with bad, sorrowful endings, that managed to earn my tears. I can laugh off the idea easily by telling myself that it just a movie and nothing real while my family members are trying hard to hold back their tears. But this A.I. is really something different.
The main character is a boy, a Mecha (a robot), named David.
David was created to love human beings. The professor did not even care about the moral issue put forward by a member of the discussion board. When asked what responsibility humans have towards the robot who can give love, the professor answered that God created Adam to love Him.
And so the first ever robot which can feel and has got emotion was created.
Basically, it's about David setting his shoulder on the wheels in his search for Blue Fairy to be changed into a real boy, so that his Mom will love him. He wants to be unique and not a mere robot. After 2000 years, with his faith and determination, the more advanced robots (or aliens, I'm not sure) realised his dreams virtually.
I believe it's the background music which blends well with the story line that failed me in holding back my tears. Obviously, there are a few issues featured in the movie. One of them is the selfishness of human beings.
All in all, I would suggest those who haven't watched this movie to go watch it now. It's the best science fiction movie I've ever watched.
*THE END*I have watched AI and i do agree with your commends. I kinda pity the boy, for he was searching something that won't be realised on him and even when he "found" it in the end, it was just virtual reality, he was still a robot. He is a robot, but he has a mind of human beings, and he can think and love more that ordinary human beings. Instead of saying the movie portraits the selfishness of human beings, i would say it actually criticised the morality of human beings today, which is going downhill nowadays...
Gabriel
16-05-2005, 11:00 AM
well here's a suggestion,i will recommend "The Apprentice" !!!although it's not a movie... :lol:
aqmeiyi
16-05-2005, 01:33 PM
i'm a total movie buff, so i don't have just ONE favourite movie.. :roll: hehe.. but these few are great :
The Last Unicorn - fantastic cartoon, can't wait for the movie version to come out next year!!
LOTR and The Matrix - was hooked the moment i watched the first installment
The Last Of The Mohicans - nothing beats Daniel Day Lewis!! :mrgreen:
Kate And Leopold - come on, Hugh Jackman's drop-dead gorgeous 8)
Shawshank Redemption - a movie that has stuck in my mind for years!!
The English Patient - two thumbs-up!!
Mean Girls - i've never been one to watch teen flicks, but hell, this movie ROCKZ!! :D
boafan
07-06-2005, 10:57 AM
lord of the rings... << the best, man!