View Full Version : indon or russia
pessimus
22-04-2005, 12:38 PM
hei guyz,hope u can help me out.i really want to do medicine but im afraid that i wont get a place in msia.so i want to do medic overseas.the problem is that i m stuck btwn russia and indo.wat will u choose if u were me.wat r the pros n cons.plzzzz help.....
Are those your only options? To be honest, neither of those are held in very high repute, especially if you want to work abroad after qualifying (personal view, also shared by some senior doctors I know back home). Have you considered other possible options like Singapore?
Tralon
24-04-2005, 04:43 AM
hei guyz,hope u can help me out.i really want to do medicine but im afraid that i wont get a place in msia.so i want to do medic overseas.the problem is that i m stuck btwn russia and indo.wat will u choose if u were me.wat r the pros n cons.plzzzz help.....
Don't u have any other choice? Is it due to financial or your marks result? Don't despair, there r many ways 2 enter med. school..just that u might not get d exact college or country of yr choice, if those two criteria is not that sufficient...
There r many ways 2 enter a med. school( recognized by JPA)..but the process and ways are too long for me 2 explain here..
pessimus
24-04-2005, 12:20 PM
the problem is i m a non bumi who took matriculation n singapore doesnt accept students wit matriculation qualification (only stpm).i m willing to go anywhere on earth to do medicine,but the problem is i dunno how.i m from a financially unstable family so i m kinda restricted to cheap unis.so how????
Tralon
25-04-2005, 08:25 AM
I have a few tips which i obtained from some m'sians who graduated from some God-Forsaken med. school (recognized) all around the globe.. U need WILL Power and COURAGE to endure the mental challenge..
Send me an e-mail...I'll explain...
pessimus
25-04-2005, 05:12 PM
wat is ur(tallon) email add?i dunno where to look. :) by the way my email add is appu_258@<hidden> to hear from u soon..
Tralon
25-04-2005, 07:54 PM
Have send u d info that u requested. If u need further clarification let me know..Phew, quite exhausting really writing it all out...
All the best in your quest..
titep_shin
26-04-2005, 05:50 PM
my situation is oso similiar 2 pessimus....
i willing 2 do med in anywhere..but my financial not tht good...
so prefer cheap 1.... i m using my STPM
i aldy apply for med in taiwan n china...but hope got more option.....coz china is not recognised....
tralon can u plz send me an copy oso?
my email is titep_shin@<hidden>
titep_shin
26-04-2005, 05:51 PM
i aldy apply for med in taiwan n china...but hope got more option.....coz china is not recognised....
Tralon
27-04-2005, 12:47 AM
I do hope once u guys get into med schools, please share with others on yr success...
sepatu
13-09-2007, 11:31 AM
ok.. i know this threat is set up very long time ago.
but yupx.. tralon can you send me a copy if you still have it???
yes, my situation is like pessimus..
im actually a student that left malaysia after form 1 because i had gotten ASEAN Scholarship. so now, i have my A level results, but didn't get a place in NUS. so im stuck =(
any advice?
many had advice me to go for india or russia.
???
NV1989
19-01-2008, 04:07 AM
ok.. i know this threat is set up very long time ago.
but yupx.. tralon can you send me a copy if you still have it???
yes, my situation is like pessimus..
im actually a student that left malaysia after form 1 because i had gotten ASEAN Scholarship. so now, i have my A level results, but didn't get a place in NUS. so im stuck =(
any advice?
many had advice me to go for india or russia.
???
For all of you out there. I did a quite thorough research before i decided to come to Russia for medicine. It's quite a tough decision to made cos it's regarding my future and all.
1. Comparing the tuition fees and living expenses...etc.
-Indon is much cheaper than Russia, also depending on places that you choose. For example : do not compare Moscow and Bali. incomparable. Moscow's cost of living is much much higher than Bali. Please compare compatible places like the capital...
2. Studying in Russia is a better place for a teenager to grow up to be more independent and also stronger&tougher. When i 1st came here. I was amazed by the state-of-art metro and etc... Staying here for the 1st week makes me felt sick because it's a harsh place to survive all by yourself. You'll need friends here.
3. Considering the main factor of uni recognition. Look for a uni which is recognized internationally. Recognition of Msia only does not guarantee much. Not to mention that the racist problem, the pay...etc. When your qualification is internationally recognized, basically all you have to be worried of is that you fail to obtain your degree. Other than that you have nothing to be worried of.
4. Talking about money... Hmm... There is many ways nowadays to get money.
- Find some way to earn pocket money in Uni.
- Get loan from not only government. There are many loans available but pls do get it from the right source just in case there are traps set outside for desperate ppl.
**Anyway, Make sure you do have a sum of money set aside for your 1st few years. Then the rest you should think of a way to earn or get them legally. Haha... :D
Earning money in Russia is easy but you could not work as it is illegal to work here. All you have to do is use your brain a lil. Hehe... While working in other countries might not be a prob, but i think workin in indon is a huge prob cos their own ppl couldn't get job.Stop thinking tat they'll use foreigners where they could get local man power with a much lower pay. Anyway, if they do ever hire you, you should expect a very low pay.
5. I still think that the education standard is higher in Russia compared to Indonesia. I couldn't be very sure of that cos i haven't been to Indonesia. Just a lil advice@<hidden> My friend who was in MASHA wanted to enter into a uni in Indon. He went there to find out bout the place. After he visited that place, he came back & decided to change to local uni. Ehm... Please imagine urself how good can the uni there b.
6. Rite. If u are a family person, i think Indon is a better place for u. You can fly bac by Air Asia with a superbly low rate. You can even fly home every week if you can afford. HAha...
7. If you like d detail kinda of education, Russia is the place. The lecturer here tell you everything in detail(if u get a good lect) even things that you couldn't find in book. But language is the biggest barrier. See if you could understand their english.
If you study in Indon, you could understand them at least a lil. But in Russia if u don't take preparatory course, there u go lost in Russia. HAha... You should find a trustable agent. You could consult me if u need 1.
8. India is a superbly corrupted place. Everything is money. No money no talk. In Russia at least application comes 1st(applies to which Uni you choose). Money comes after that. Education nowadays is all about money.
9. Do not trust the saying that you can hire maid or driver or watsoever in india. All crap! My friend went to India for her pre med, ended up in Russia. Why? "Too corrupted" She says. Well... I don't know. I haven't been there. Plus, their hostel life and condition is way worst than ours here. There are also many students who went there and later got involved with drugs and so on. That's what she told me.
10. Years of education:
India = 5yrs
Russia = 6yrs
11. India = Exam orriented
Russia = Application in small written test every now and then. Aural test part of the routine. You'll get test after every chapter. Which makes life easier at the end of the day. You won't get 1 huge test like SPM after 2-3yrs of hardship. You might get 1 every year which makes everything much easier.
Have fun picking your uni. All the best in watever you do. If you need any advice and if i do not reply you in 1 week time. Please feel free to add me in msn or e-mail me at ngvalynne@<hidden>
Please state that you are a recomer. As i am offering help. Please be kind enough to NOT send me any virus. Thanks a lot.
I strongly recommend Russia-Moscow Medical Academy(MMA) or well-known as M1!
Have a great day
Regards.