View Full Version : Spilled water on laptop
lyzzy
24-04-2005, 03:39 PM
My life is effectively ruined....
Okay, from what I read using Google on my friend's computer, I shouldn't turn the laptop on, I should wait for it to dry...
However, I did try to turn it on the first few times (as I don't read this stuff beforehand). Also, my laptop was switched on, and it turned off itself when the water spilled. I don't think it was much water... but the fact that my laptop DID turn off by itself..
I'm sacred!!! ARGH!!! does anyone have good experiences/ tips so as to make me feel better?
(I have a fifteen page paper due Monday, which I only backed half of it.... and it's now 4am Sunday)
teen videos (http://teenvid.org)
lyzzy
24-04-2005, 03:40 PM
I'm also extensively blowdrying it as we speak.
GL500 (http://www.honda-wiki.org/wiki/Honda_GL500)
24-04-2005, 03:51 PM
happened to my friend once...you have to let it dry...if not you might fry some part of your motherboard...
if you know how to disassemble your laptop, you might be able to make it dry faster....
good luck then.
can you ask your professor for an extension? they are usually very understanding about these things. well at least at graduate level where nobody really cares what grades u get.
24-04-2005, 07:36 PM
put it in somewhere dry and wait for 36-48hrs before turning it on again. If it were me, i'd take the whole thing apart and blow dry it piece by piece and check for the smell of burnt electronics. but then again, you gotta know how to put it back together...
lyzzy
24-04-2005, 09:53 PM
Yeah, I'm drying it..
But I think some stuff (like the motherboard) is fried lar... :cry:
And I will definitely ask for an extension.
History of BMW motorcycles (http://www.bmw-tech.org/wiki/History_of_BMW_motorcycles)
Anthony
24-04-2005, 10:08 PM
I had this horrible experience once....
It was certainly dreadful as my parents would have killed me if they knew...
I called my couzin who is damn good in computer..
he asked me to disessemble my labtop its actually a vry simple process but plz remember how you took it of becoz essembling it is definitely harder then bringing it apart...
then blow dry but dun do it directly my couz say it might fry ur motherboard so good luck lyzzz...
Question wuz ur name inspired by Lizzie Mcguire or izit ur real name? well juz wondering..hehehe
windy_city
25-04-2005, 02:00 AM
Well, I face this problem a lot of time.
Water spilled on laptop is normal, I faced problem with hot sauce, coke and juice spilled on the laptop before.
No exaggeration here, I work with the Kellogg Information System, and the Kellogg MBA students are really good at spilling stuffs on their laptops.
So here is the standard procedure to fix it.
The earlier posts are correct, disassemble the laptop, and take out the parts; (the cd rom, the hard drive, the battery and other easily removable parts of the computer) wipe them dry. If you are able to reach the main board,try to dry it by leaving it under the fan or sth like that (not highly recommended, because you might make the matter worst if you have no experience in it).
The most important thing is to save your hard drive, it is the most expensive part of your laptop (expensive here refer to the data). Try to find somebody who has the same laptop as yours. Remove his/her hardrive, and put yours in. (Dun worry, this will not destroy your friend laptop (unless you did not dry up your hardrive)). Try to boot it up and see, it the laptop can boot up and show the post screen, then you are save, backup all your data.
I recommend that you send the laptop to repair after that, you will not have much luck in trying to fix it yourself. Most probably you need to replace the main board and it usually cost about 700USD, (might be time you consider getting a new laptop too) But send it to repair and see, and ask for the price, if it is too high for you, it is time to go shopping.
Hope this help.
Good luck!!
lyzzy
25-04-2005, 06:06 AM
Thanks everyone.
I couldn't turn it on after that. Then I blew dry using a hairdryer, and let it to dry for 10 hours, I took my laptop to a Computing Assistant... who turned it on. And it worked.
It was a miracle...
buy aromed vaporizer (http://www.vaporshop.com/aromed-vaporizer.html)