View Full Version : Proposal To Make Mandarin And Tamil As Required Subjects
26-04-2005, 03:16 AM
Education Ministry and the government basically has decided that Mandarin and Tamil Language will no longer be teached as a People's Own Language, but rather it is going to be required subjects in SK.
So, basically, a Primary 6 students coming out from SK, will be able to speak and write in 4 languages, BM, BI, Mandarin and Tamil.
PM has mentioned that this proposal would take some time to be implemented, as there is a huge number of teachers to be trained.
What do you guys think about this proposal?
Utusan (http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2005&dt=0426&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Muka_Hadapan&pg=mh_01.htm)
This plan could work assuming that all students have a linguistic IQ of about 160.
What they should offer is a serious option and enough teachers to teach Chinese & Tamil in SK schools so that students can have daily Chinese or Tamil lessons.
gohweihan
26-04-2005, 07:08 AM
What's left after implementing that would be to abolish Chinese and Tamil National Schools.
26-04-2005, 07:26 AM
What's left after implementing that would be to abolish Chinese and Tamil National Schools.
And the standard of syllabus for Mandarin and Tamil would have to be lowered to suit those who have no background in both languges.
Dr_Tay
26-04-2005, 07:31 AM
One wonders where they are going to get the Mandarin and Tamil teachers who are sufficiently trained in the so called Beijing Mandarin and Delhi Tamil. We would not want to have substandard Manglish where none of the foreign students who come here to study regard it as Standard English especially with the Malaysian slang. It is a good idea but isn't it a little too much and a little too late to start reforming the kids with languages that will complicate competency unless they are simply brilliant as someone else mentioned on this thread.
lolilo
26-04-2005, 08:03 AM
This proposal may take a long time before it is fully implemented. The problem of lacking teachers in Chinese and Tamil primary schools had not been solved, and now we need even more chinese and tamil teachers in SK.
How are we going to get so many qualified teachers when only a handful of them take the spm chinese and tamil papers? Or will we just settle for sub-standard quality teachers?
i remember there was once when the government wanted to implement the use of abacus in the primary school, and now i see all those "abacus and mental arithmetic" books in the bookstores, but yet the kids are still not learning anything, it seems like this proposal has bees 'forgotten'.
Will this one be another "forgotten one"?
26-04-2005, 08:07 AM
Will this one be another "forgotten one"?
It better be. :wink:
26-04-2005, 08:20 AM
i read the article and it doesn't seem clear to me whether the 4 languages will be compulsory languages. or whether they will be offered courses and students can pick if they want to do the subject.
i would hope that it's the latter as the former does not sound realistic at all.
26-04-2005, 08:40 AM
I agree with littlebigone. My initial understanding was that it would be compulsory, but after reading it again now, and also looking at the news published at other newspapers, like:-
The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/26/nation/10782900&sec=nation) and NST (http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/20050426072136/Article/indexb_html) , it seems that it is just going to have that two languages within all the national schools, as an option for students to take.
I definitely agree that making students taking 4 languages simultaneously would not be possible for most students. Eventually, what would happen is that a lot of those students would not have a sound command of either of the languages.
khor_albert
26-04-2005, 08:57 AM
I agree with littlebigone. My initial understanding was that it would be compulsory, but after reading it again now, and also looking at the news published at other newspapers, like:-
The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/26/nation/10782900&sec=nation) and NST (http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/Frontpage/20050426072136/Article/indexb_html) , it seems that it is just going to have that two languages within all the national schools, as an option for students to take.
I definitely agree that making students taking 4 languages simultaneously would not be possible for most students. Eventually, what would happen is that a lot of those students would not have a sound command of either of the languages.
I do think the students can choose. However, I think that this is a very excellent idea as Chinese students will no longer be "bananas" (or whatever terminologies used).
As these may be renewed subjects altogether, I seriously hope that the government will concentrate more on the art of understanding than the art of memorising. It's time for a paradigm shift and I look at this as the perfect time to start it.
I agree with lolilo. It will surely take a long, long time for the implementation of this major project. I hope that the government will not ad-hocly launch this and mess things up before scrapping it. And for goodness's sake, don't let it be "forgotten".
casio
26-04-2005, 08:59 AM
I agree, student should be given a choice, but it'd be pretty good if they are required to take at least one. I think they'll be able to handle this. Plus, it could curb racism in this country.
khor_albert
26-04-2005, 09:13 AM
And the standard of syllabus for Mandarin and Tamil would have to be lowered to suit those who have no background in both languges.
Please be optimistic about this. The main purpose of Chinese education is to educate the mother tongue of the Chinese to the Chinese. While the Chinese schools are doing great in this, what about our Chinese brethrens in national schools? Same goes to Tamil Education. They too need their input of their mother tongue language, but AFAIK, the POL programme is quite a failure because of its inconsistency. In my school, when I attended POL lessons, the teacher even speaks more English than Chinese!!
We need more quality teachers and the implementation of this program will fulfill that requirement.
I seriously don't think that they will abolish Chinese schools and Indian schools. That is a long way as many of these SRJK(C) or SRJK(T) are only partially financed by the government, therefore they have no rights to directly wipe them off the ground. This process will take years and draws a string of protests. IMO, it's the last thing that the government wants.
Plus, I have a feeling that they won't lower the standard in the examination but it will be revised. It won't differ far from the present Chinese and Tamil paper, I think. Implementation of this program will pave a good path towards solving the big problem of racial segregation in education, especially between SRJK students and national school students (and many more...)
26-04-2005, 09:27 AM
Please be optimistic about this. The main purpose of Chinese education is to educate the mother tongue of the Chinese to the Chinese. While the Chinese schools are doing great in this, what about our Chinese brethrens in national schools? Same goes to Tamil Education. They too need their input of their mother tongue language, but AFAIK, the POL programme is quite a failure because of its inconsistency. In my school, when I attended POL lessons, the teacher even speaks more English than Chinese!!
We need more quality teachers and the implementation of this program will fulfill that requirement.
I seriously don't think that they will abolish Chinese schools and Indian schools. That is a long way as many of these SRJK(C) or SRJK(T) are only partially financed by the government, therefore they have no rights to directly wipe them off the ground. This process will take years and draws a string of protests. IMO, it's the last thing that the government wants.
Plus, I have a feeling that they won't lower the standard in the examination but it will be revised. It won't differ far from the present Chinese and Tamil paper, I think. Implementation of this program will pave a good path towards solving the big problem of racial segregation in education, especially between SRJK students and national school students (and many more...)
haha. you see. chinese schools are already facing a serious shortage of teachers. if the government insists to implement this so called "major project", it'll further worsen the situation. I'm being realistic, not pessimistic.
khor_albert
26-04-2005, 09:42 AM
haha. you see. chinese schools are already facing a serious shortage of teachers. if the government insists to implement this so called "major project", it'll further worsen the situation. I'm being realistic, not pessimistic.
All it needs are good and strategised planning by the MOE and this plan will kill two birds with one stone. That's why I mentioned so this plan will be not "ad-hoc" but rather be slowly introduced into the system.
I believe you are speaking from the rational aspect. However, in the long run, you may be very happy that this proposal once existed.
i think it is a fantastic idea as long as long as it is implemented objectively without any hidden political motives.
policy without politics, is this possible?
khor_albert
26-04-2005, 09:59 AM
i think it is a fantastic idea as long as long as it is implemented objectively without any hidden political motives.
Don't ask me, but IMHO, yes IF the government are really strict enough and most importantly, making EVERYTHING transparent.
26-04-2005, 01:31 PM
This system will probably be implemented (if ever) before the next general election.
However, being Malaysia, we will all forget about this proposal by then. But not misled_youth.
I think we have no reason to celebrate yet.
MARIJUANA MEDICINE EVALUATION CENTERS (http://www.dispensaries.org/)
balderdash
26-04-2005, 02:52 PM
Why can't they focus on what is on hand first, i.e. the learning of English? They haven't even gotten enough teachers to train as English teachers and now they are on the look out for more Chinese language and Tamil language teachers? *kai wan xiao* There aren't even enough teachers in the first place and I don't think the fact that we are having schemes such as 'super teachers' and all that are attracting smart young people to these positions. As long as the teaching profession is not recognised properly as a PROFESSION, I figure they should stop being ambitious and start thinking realistically.
I remember teaching in a Chinese primary school and the kids were already struggling with three languages. And now the misery is extended to national type schools where you'd get kiasu parents enrolling their kids into these non-compulsory classes. *sigh* I so do not want to be a kid at these times.
Whether this has a political agenda or not (which I suspect strongly that there is. Nothing is done without a political agenda. And I am not saying this out of cynicism.) one thing for sure the ones hurting are the kids.
Salvation
26-04-2005, 03:08 PM
This system will probably be implemented (if ever) before the next general election.
However, being Malaysia, we will all forget about this proposal by then. But not misled_youth.
IMO even if they want and they are professional enough to ensure that it would be well implimented, I think it would take at least 10 years for all schools to fully implement it. When I say all schools, I also means SK, SRJK, Sekolah Agama, SAP, MARA and those rural schools. Even if it is granted as an option for students, I would think that those schools in urban areas would benefit the most while teachers would be hard to find to be posted in rural schools. In conclusion, I would think that this proposal would be accepted as an option for students to study those 4 language, but won't be well implemented, not at least in the near future.
*in serious doubt*
true, it may take 1 year, 10 years or 50 years...............but u( and some other recommers are missing the point)
why, after soooo long the gov. suddenly decides to introduce tamil/chinese in national schools????
because too many nons are sending their children to National Type (NT)schools.
in fact, a growing number of bumis are sending their children to NT schools.
this cannot and will not be excepted my our Malaysian government.
so to attract nons to send their children to malay national schools, they introduce this new policy.
be rest assured that the government will do evrything it can do to make this project( and other projects) a success until nons and bumis alike start sending thier children to malay national schools and NT schools become a "less prefered choice".
remember, when the malaysian government sets its mind to something as grave as this, u can bet that even if the policy fails, the ultimate goal will EVENTUALLY be reached.
n_uay
26-04-2005, 05:55 PM
why, after soooo long the gov. suddenly decides to introduce tamil/chinese in national schools????
because too many nons are sending their children to National Type (NT)schools.
in fact, a growing number of bumis are sending their children to NT schools.
so to attract nons to send their children to malay national schools, they introduce this new policy.
be rest assured that the government will do evrything it can do to make this project( and other projects) a success until nons and bumis alike start sending thier children to malay national schools and NT schools become a "less prefered choice".
remember, when the malaysian government sets its mind to something as grave as this, u can bet that even if the policy fails, the ultimate goal will EVENTUALLY be reached.
Anonymous87
26-04-2005, 05:59 PM
Totally agree with jun.
Now, the national schools are loosing out to the other vernacular schools as the growing importance of chinese and tamil language with the rising economy of China and India.
This is certainly a step to woo back the confidence of the bumis while on the same time attracting the admisson of non-bumis in order to make the national school a TRULY national one.
but we should really look into this question.
1. Why some Chinese and Indian parents want to send their children to the nasional school instead of the vernacular school?
-bcoz they want their children to concentrate on the two main language : BM n English.
2. Will the sufficient period/time be allocated for chinese or tamil language lesson if implemented?
-Certainly not. n i think the condition will b like what some of the national secondary school (sek. men. keb.) r facing now. vf the lesson given less importance n the period allocate after school, vf the problem of shortage of teachers. Students will eventually lost interest.
gohweihan
26-04-2005, 06:42 PM
because too many nons are sending their children to National Type (NT)schools. in fact, a growing number of bumis are sending their children to NT schools.
For once, I don't mind this policy being implemented - provided there exist check and balance mechanisms. However, having said that, it doesn't mean that I would not question the government for making such a proposal.
Firstly, motive. Is it like what jun said - to bring students back to National Schools? If it is, then it is a step in the right direction. The nation needs a streamlined education system - without the branches that is present today in the form of Chinese and Tamil Type schools. Eventually, if this is a success, Chinese and Tamil schools must go in order to reach the condition of a streamlined, single direction education system.
Second, implementation. Is the government prepared to allow every language fair and equal opportunity, while maintaining the highest quality of the subject in being taught and assesed, and not make the two languages (Chinese and Tamil) like Art and Moral Education in primary school, where it is taught for the sake of being taught, and at times, schools decide to use the allocated time to teach other subjects.
In implementing this, if all circumstances allow for perfect implementation of the proposal, the Chinese and Indian community needs to start to give up their Chinese and Tamil schools. Holding on to these National Type Schools would only lead to the failure of the proposal without even needing further planning for it's implementation.
More analysis to come after my exams.
27-04-2005, 03:13 AM
This is nothing more than a ploy to close down vernacular schools, and quall discontent with the government for not building new ones while the many such schools are either in a deplorable state or is/are experiencing saturation.
1. This brings votes from the Chinese/Indians
2. This allows Vernacular schools to be closed/not be built (remember the education act?)
3. This will be "Satu Lagi Project Gagal Barisan Nasional". (sweeping statement. Please read (3) with a pinch of salt).
Zoloft Settlement News (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/zoloft/)
27-04-2005, 03:45 AM
2. This allows Vernacular schools to be closed/not be built (remember the education act?)
This is obviously one of the goals of the policy. And i think it's a welcomed goal.
The chinese community has always asked for more support to maintain it's culture and language. If this policy is executed well, then I believe that it can be a step forward for everyone. Of course it cannot be a half assed effort or this policy will not be appreciated by anyone. It is going to be a hurdle to convince people that a govt maintained language program can match not only the programs but also the environment provided by vernacular schools.
I think this is a positive step towards a united future for the education system in malaysia.
gohweihan
27-04-2005, 04:48 AM
This is nothing more than a ploy to close down vernacular schools, and quall discontent with the government for not building new ones while the many such schools are either in a deplorable state or is/are experiencing saturation.
It's a good ploy - if it goes through successfully in the first place. But whatever it is, it's a step in the right direction - no more vernacular schools.
lolilo
27-04-2005, 02:12 PM
i am just wondering, how many hours will a normal kid be in school per day?
with 3-4 languages + religious study+ english in maths and science( a lil bm) + ECA =......
i am glad i am born earlier. :D
It's a good ploy - if it goes through successfully in the first place. But whatever it is, it's a step in the right direction - no more vernacular schools.
your goal and your intentions are good. but looks like you underestimate the true tactical power of the malaysian government.
ok...lets go with your scenario. tamil/chinese is implemented extensively and holisticly in malay national schools.
no problems occur(ie. shortage of teachers/quality not there etc.).
indian and chinese community satisfied.
national type schools abolished.
and.............
we live happily ever after?...........think again.
after that then what?
the gov going to continue giving its best to this policy even though the goal already achieved?(no more NT schools)
if u think that is going to happen.....u certainly got high hopes.
sooner or later( after NT schools abolished) problems will arise with this policy(the gov may even withdraw teaching chinese and tamil in national schools)
what are the nons going to do? ask back NT schools? hah!!
even you know this is IMPOSSIBLE.
so.......never EVER think about giving up the NT schools......its a one way track.
ps: isnt the malaysian gov damn smart?
oh ya, i just hate it whenever i read along the roads " satu lagi projek kerajaan barisan nasional"
it should be " satu lagi projek kerajaan MALAYSIA"
( but this is a different topic meant for a different day.......)
MothBall
27-04-2005, 03:23 PM
your goal and your intentions are good. but looks like you underestimate the true tactical power of the malaysian government.
ok...lets go with your scenario. tamil/chinese is implemented extensively and holisticly in malay national schools.
no problems occur(ie. shortage of teachers/quality not there etc.).
indian and chinese community satisfied.
national type schools abolished.
and.............
we live happily ever after?...........think again.
after that then what?
the gov going to continue giving its best to this policy even though the goal already achieved?(no more NT schools)
if u think that is going to happen.....u certainly got high hopes.
sooner or later( after NT schools abolished) problems will arise with this policy(the gov may even withdraw teaching chinese and tamil in national schools)
so.......never EVER think about giving up the NT schools......its a one way track.
ps: isnt the malaysian gov damn smart?
Man, u're really cynical. U sound as if the gov is planning this huge conspiracy to get everybody into national school. But, i hv 2 admit, there is some truth in what u say.
Salvation
27-04-2005, 04:49 PM
Sounds like a conspiracy theorist to me.
gohweihan
27-04-2005, 05:07 PM
Do you think a person (with my experience) would not look at the possibility of a deviation from original intentions for political gains?
Let's put it this way. I've posted somewhere up there that I only approve of this if and only if check and balance mechanisms exist in which guarentees things like what you've mentioned won't happen. If indeed it happens, then it simply means that implementation is done without check and balances.
The Chinese are too afraid of losing their identity. This fear is what leads them to cling on to their heritage while shunning every single means of development when there is signs that their heritage would be jeopardized.
Instead of holding on to the present, work hard to correct the future. I'm an optimist, but in a different way than most others.
PCLing
27-04-2005, 08:36 PM
I don't like this proposal because I think it'll affect the uniqueness of chinese and tamil schools. The quality of the language will also decline because large numbers of good language teachers are hard to find. Eventually, they will probably end up lowering the standard of the C & T language examinations.
gohweihan
27-04-2005, 08:52 PM
I don't like this proposal because I think it'll affect the uniqueness of chinese and tamil schools.
Can you please define the statement in bold, because as far as I'm concerned, vernacular schools are relics from our founding days. Society today have no place for these schools, which divide more than unite.
The quality of the language will also decline because large numbers of good language teachers are hard to find. Eventually, they will probably end up lowering the standard of the C & T language examinations.
Teachers stop teaching in vernacular schools, thus creating a mobility pool of language teachers. Transfer this pool into national schools and you'll get the same quality teachers. If you're saying that it's hard to find good language teachers, then the problem is not because of this idea, but because there is a shortage in supply in general - thus even vernacular schools would experience this shortage if status quo is to continue.
As for the standard, if we maintain the same pool of talent from vernacular schools, standard would not drop.
27-04-2005, 09:08 PM
The Chinese are too afraid of losing their identity. This fear is what leads them to cling on to their heritage while shunning every single means of development when there is signs that their heritage would be jeopardized.
I agree with the first part, that Chinese are afraid of losing their identity, but I'm not sure about the second, since when has Chinese shun every single means of development when their heritage is jeopardized. Define what you mean by development, and I believe(just a belief, I may be wrong) what you see as development may be the reverse for others.
gohweihan
27-04-2005, 09:23 PM
I agree with the first part, that Chinese are afraid of losing their identity, but I'm not sure about the second, since when has Chinese shun every single means of development when their heritage is jeopardized. Define what you mean by development, and I believe(just a belief, I may be wrong) what you see as development may be the reverse for others.
Development as in progress towards total unity instead of the tolerated acceptance we have today.
Imagine that today, the government said that this plan of teaching Chinese in national schools would be implemented, and that as a result of this, vernacular schools would have to go. They also guarentee that the integrity and standard of the Chinese language would be maintained when it is being taught in national schools. Instead of working to ensure that it happens, the Chinese would probably shun the idea and maintain vernacular schools.
28-04-2005, 03:05 PM
gohweihan, since you've made known your aim of being in parliament one day, i'm just curious as to which political party (if any) you're currently inclined to join. coz at present no political party even dares suggest that vernacular schools be abolished. i guess they know that doing so is a sure path to political doom. :)
sorry for deviating from the topic.
28-04-2005, 03:09 PM
my take on the proposal?
satu lagi projek separuh masak, hangat-hangat tahi ayam kerajaan barisan nasional.
Do you think a person (with my experience) would not look at the possibility of a deviation from original intentions for political gains?
Let's put it this way. I've posted somewhere up there that I only approve of this if and only if check and balance mechanisms exist in which guarentees things like what you've mentioned won't happen. If indeed it happens, then it simply means that implementation is done without check and balances.
Instead of holding on to the present, work hard to correct the future. I'm an optimist, but in a different way than most others.
i dont think u read evry thing in my post. read closely,please.
key word: abolishing NT schools- one way track
once its gone, its gone.
u can 'check and balance' evrything about the policy of implementing mandarin/tamil in malay national schools, but once NT school goes, no amount of 'check and balance' will bring it back if the gov falters in the policy.
so what should we do?
simple, let the gov go ahead with the policy BUT leave the NT schools alone( wether the policy succeeds or fails)
Society today have no place for these schools, which divide more than unite.
NT schools is not the root of the disunity of malaysians. its the gov policy concerning affirmative actions that is at fault.
even if NT schools are abolished, disunity will not go.
Development as in progress towards total unity instead of the tolerated acceptance we have today.
until and unless the gov changes or withdraws its policies(mostly concerning affirmative action) that block total unity, abolishing NT school will have no effect. so NT schools must stay.
however, NT schools can go after all malaysians are treated equals.
i assure u, at that time, no non will object.
gohweihan
28-04-2005, 07:30 PM
If you really think I haven't analyzed your posts, then I really don't know what else to say.
From what I got, your idea is simple - keep Chinese schools (and probably whatever heritage) as a bargaining chip, and let the government go on with whatever they want to do, as long as they don't touch this bargaining chip. The non-bumiputeras, according to you, should never yield thier bargaining chip first because they cannot trust what the government would do once the non-bumiputeras do so. Only when the bumiputeras yield their bargaining chip (the special rights) that we would yield the non-bumiputeras.
And that wouldn't work. I'll write an analysis after my exam on why it wouldnt't work.
As for your response to my postings, I consider them nothing more than sceptical theories - not worthy of an analysis.
Come on , we are already seriously lack of quality chinese (and Tamil?) teachers, how are MOE going to solve that?Teaches more malay teachers to learn some chinese/tamil in several months then to teach chinese student? :roll:
28-04-2005, 08:24 PM
Teachers stop teaching in vernacular schools, thus creating a mobility pool of language teachers. Transfer this pool into national schools and you'll get the same quality teachers. If you're saying that it's hard to find good language teachers, then the problem is not because of this idea, but because there is a shortage in supply in general - thus even vernacular schools would experience this shortage if status quo is to continue.
I think this addresses your concern. Another plus point would be that since the govt is funding the training for these teachers, it would aid whatever is going on in training tamil and chinese teachers right now. as far as i know, vernacular schools don't get much if any support from the govt.
wendy
28-04-2005, 08:50 PM
I really support this plan!!!! If only i were born later.haha.
Personally,i'm brought up in an English Speaking family and i only learn mandarin when watching chinese dramas n listening 2 mandarin songs.My mandarin is what u call....so-so standard..only..can speak but can't read n write which makes me Mandarin 'iliterate'..........
There was once when i went to a photostate shop to bind sum stuff........as i don't know how to say bind in mandarin...i spoke to tat chinese uncle in English....he understood/////////n after he bind...he came 2 me and ask me what race i am??????
I was astonished!!!!!!!! n i say...'wo xi hua ren'....
he chuckled a lil n say 'hua ren yau tong hua yi'
at that moment i felt my cheeks burning...turning red!
the bottomline is......its very important for us to know our mother tounge! Same goes to every race!I really regret not learning mandarin when i was young.
i'm also very keen of learning tamil from my indian frens.....haha although all i know is words like 'takali' ,'shapede', 'pandi' 'tambi' 'tanggaci' 'nai' 'nandri'..etc. i find exploring into my close friends(indians) mother tounge very interesting too.
I feel that the gov. plan of not making it compulsory is very understandable.Learning a language could be very fun and stress free if students r not force to take that language (mandarin and tamil)exam.I think they will come to LOVE the language.
Think of it this way......the next time ppl curse or speak ill of u in chinese or tamil....u'll understand n won't stand there like a 'dungu' only! :wink: haha..... how cool is tat!
lkh1986
28-04-2005, 09:03 PM
Excuse me? 4 languges?! 8O
Oh, I don't think so. Maybe 3 is enough. Let say, the Chinese take BC, BI and BM while the Indians take Tamil, BI and BM.
4 languages...problems...Language subjects are the most difficult subjects to study and score in the exam. I mean, only the "tatabahasa" (grammar) of those 4 subjects would be very hard for the students to master all of them. :?
balderdash
28-04-2005, 11:54 PM
I really support this plan!!!! If only i were born later.haha.
Personally,i'm brought up in an English Speaking family and i only learn mandarin when watching chinese dramas n listening 2 mandarin songs.My mandarin is what u call....so-so standard..only..can speak but can't read n write which makes me Mandarin 'iliterate'..........
I guess my situation is a little like you. My parents were English educated and spoke/read/wrote no Mandarin but somehow I ended up in a Chinese primary school. Learning Mandarin in the beginning was a struggle as I didn't even know how to say one, two and three in Mandarin when I began P1. To a certain extent I suppose I am blessed with sort of of flair for languages and I coped pretty ok with all three languages but my other friends weren't so fortunate. They had problems, a lot of problems coping with English and Malay on top of Mandarin.
It's obviously ideal that we could all, as a *ahem* melting pot society, embrace the languages of our brothers/sisters of a different ethnicity but when everything is institutionalised, it'd be tough on the kids - exams, papers, more exams, more tuition.