View Full Version : Forum Guidelines- Read before posting- updated 11/27/06
17-12-2003, 12:22 PM
Moderator Note: There is now an updated guideline (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9566) so please head there instead. This thread is only for archival purpose.
Forum Guidelines
Welcome to Recom, the place to chat about your everyday questions and to just have some fun while exchanging knowledge and ideas.
However, we have a few rules that help us keep this place from getting out of hand. Please read on...
17-12-2003, 12:24 PM
Basic Forum rules
We like to keep this forum civil, it's good for our overall mental health. :) So there will be no personal attacks on other members.
If you have a problem with the moderation of this forum do not address it in public. Send an IM to one of the mods. If you do address it in public the topic will be locked and your comments ignored.
Please watch this flash movie : http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting.php
Language/Grammar
Please check your grammar and spelling. It takes a few seconds and keeps you from looking like a fool.
Do not use all capitalized letters, it just looks stupid, and people think you're yelling
The use of offensive language is forbidden, if you use it expect to be banned from the board. Don't even use things like @<hidden> or b%#tch, that just makes you look stupid. In addition, using word such as "fag" and "gay" in a derogatory manner is prohibited.
Stick to the Language you well converse in.
17-12-2003, 12:27 PM
What can I post?
No pornography; if you post porn, expect to be banned. This is a common sense rule that everyone can follow
If you're going to post a news item, do not cut and paste the article. Write what you think, and then include a link or Submit it as a news article.
17-12-2003, 12:28 PM
The Most Important Rule!!
Relax, put your feet up, grab a coke, and enjoy yourself.
05-03-2004, 03:02 PM
Update to the guidelines
Please do a simple search in the Forums to avoid reposting the same topic that is already being discussed in another thread.
Search forum here:
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=search&sid=58beade22709b22c122e3d4b7e1bb0f5
Spam
We have zero tolerance for Spam.
Any Advertisement what-so-ever of selling, reselling or introducing a product or services is prohibited. A failure to comply to this simple guideline would get you banned from posting on any Recom.org forum boards.
05-03-2004, 03:02 PM
Update to the guidelines
Please do a simple search in the Forums to avoid reposting the same topic that is already being discussed in another thread.
Search forum here:
http://www.recom.org/forum/search.php
Spam
We have zero tolerance for Spam.
Any Advertisement what-so-ever of selling, reselling or introducing a product or services is prohibited. A failure to comply to this simple guideline would get you banned from posting on any Recom.org forum boards.
19-06-2004, 08:14 PM
What is HP, MP, EXP?
HP is determined by your average posts per day.
MP is determined by your join date related to your post count.
EXP goes up each time you post, and when you get to 100%, you gain a level and the EXP drops to 0 again.
14-07-2004, 07:27 PM
Updates to the Forum Guidelines
1) Please avoid starting threads of sensitive issues (involving racism and etc) which may lead to misunderstandings. Also, please avoid spreading rumours from forwarded mails which may be untrue. This may cause harm as certain readers may treat the rumours as truth.
2) Please avoid double postings. Double postings means posting two posts at the same time in a thread. If the last post was posted by youself, please edit your last post and add anything you want to voice out. Those identified to have a lot of double postings from now on will have their posts deleted if they don't edit their posts. This is to keep the forum clean and tidy.
3) Refrain posting one sentence long posts.
25-08-2004, 11:50 PM
Free Speech/Censorship
Since some people express the argument of "Free Speech" and "Censorship" of their postings, here is a simpler explanation of the actions taken for offensive or improper postings:
IT'S NOT CENSORSHIP. LOOK AT IT THIS WAY:
YOU ARE THE PERSON SUBMITTING A STORY OR COMMENTARY AND WE ARE THE EDITORS/PRODUCERS OF THE PUBLICATION YOU WISH TO SUBMIT THE STORY TO FOR PUBLICATION.
THEY/WE DETERMINE HOW TO SHOW IT AND WHAT TO DELETE FROM THE CONTENTS ACCORDING TO THE POLICY AND OPINIONS OF THE OWNER AND THE PRODUCERS.
EVERY NEWSPAPER AND MAGAZINE, TV AND RADIO STATION CHOOSES WHAT TO SHOW AND INCLUDE AS ACCEPTABLE CONTENT. THE NEW YORK TIMES DOES NOT RUN THE SAME STORIES AS THE ENQUIRER.
THAT ISN'T CENSORSHIP ... THAT'S "EDITORIAL POLICY".
YOU ARE SUBMITTING AN EDITORIAL, NOT A NEWS DOCUMENT, AND EDITORIALS ARE PERSONAL OPINIONS SUBJECT TO REVIEW AND EDITING OF THEIR CONTENTS. THE REAL TERM IS CALLED "BLUE PENCILING".
ALL EDITORS AND THE MEDIA DO USE THIS OPTION.
ReCom's policy on personal attacks
Part I
All debates on issues in ReCom should be done in a "philosophical" manner. This means you can disagree on any points made by any members, by giving any or no reason.
But you cannot base your arguments on the other member's background. For example, you cannot say, "Ah Kau, I thought you're a Chinese, how can you support this policy?" Or something like this is also considered not proper, "Ah Beng, you can't even pass SPM, who wants to listen to you?"
But you can refer to the previous posts and point out contradictions.
Part II
Being criticital of the government, higher authorities, or any person whose actions affect Malaysia and the world at large is not considered personal attack.
Part III
Articles that are judged, by the moderators, to be of nature of personal attack will be edited out.
06-04-2005, 12:49 AM
Part IV
If someone has made a personal attack, please refrain from making a counter personal attack, or other ReComers making personal attack on the person that has made personal attack. This simply creates more tensions. And also that personal attacks that have been made are also personal attacks. We can't be hypocritical to say that personal attacks that favours us is not personal attack. We want a harmonious discussions and debatings over in ReCom.
07-05-2005, 04:54 AM
Posting Images/ URL
Images
If your photos are too large, please do not post them without resizing. If possible, save them into your computer, upload to http://imageshack.us, and post the thumbnail codes provided.
From now on, any post with significantly large photos will be deleted with a message "-large pic removed by moderator-" replacing the deleted photos.
URL
If you are posting an url link to another website, please make sure it's short. Otherwise, use the following code if the url is too long:
[url=http://post-ur-long-url-here.com]Insert anything here to describe ur link[/url]
From now on, posts with long url which caused horizontal scrolling will be edited with the message "-long url removed by moderator-" . Yes, we could just replace the code for you, but if you don't do it yourself, you'll never learn.
28-11-2006, 08:40 PM
Please read the Following Topic.
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=4762