View Full Version : How do we accept gays and lesbians?
masdie
26-04-2005, 11:35 PM
i don't know about lesbians but i see a lot of my guy friends who're a bit 'soft'. they don't cause harm, they're just soft. i know gays can't get married in malaysia but i want to know how malaysians feel about gays especially among teenagers. i've heard stories about students in sekolah berasrama penuh having all these 'affairs'. i personally feel they're just trying to express their sexuality.
i don't want to discuss about whether it's normal or whether its legal in malaysia. i want to hear how malaysians feel about these 'special' group of people.
masdie
26-04-2005, 11:42 PM
eh, what happened to my poll!!!!! there should be another choice which is 'Hell why not? I'm proud to be one' but it didn't appear!!!!! what happened? shit. how do i edit the poll?
balderdash
27-04-2005, 02:20 AM
I used to know next to nothing about homosexuality (save for the few lesbians that would always be in girls' schools) but the few gender and linguistics classes I've taken in uni has given me a whole new perspective on the whole issue of homosexuality. Learning all these stuff about sex/gender/sexuality has opened a whole new can of worms for me that sometimes it's not even about ME accepting homosexuality anymore but rather, HOW we define and interact and understand homosexuality as a whole.
As of now, I have both gay and lesbian friends and they are just friends. I mean, in the beginning it was slightly weird discussing guys with my gay friends but soon I was just used to it and now it's nothing. And they are real 'masculine' (in the essentialised sense of the term) men! Of course there are some of them who can be slightly effeminate as well.
So erm, to sum it all up, they are cool people and not particularly effeminate (for guys) or emasculated (for girls) as portrayed in the media at times. And now it's just the time for me to start checking out some gay bars....
27-04-2005, 03:09 AM
eh, what happened to my poll!!!!! there should be another choice which is 'Hell why not? I'm proud to be one' but it didn't appear!!!!! what happened? shit. how do i edit the poll?
u will need to delete this poll... and reenter all the options... after the last option.... u will need to click add option, and let there be an empty column...
(if u have 3 choices for ur poll, u will need to have 4 poll options, with the last one left blank...)
27-04-2005, 04:45 AM
i don't have any problems being friends with gays and lesbians as long as my gay fren won't touch me :) lesbians is definitely ok.
27-04-2005, 05:11 AM
oh yar... forgot to reply to this thread....
basically, same as what wwhong's opinion...
I'm cool with straight or homo or bi people... friends or not friends...
so, to answer the thread... u just accept gays and lesbians as u accept ur straight friends...
I think we tend to stereotype people when we don't really know them. It applies to sexual orientation, race, religion etc. One we know them, most of the time we tend to break down the stereotype. We don't see them as "gay" or "jew" or "black" but more like an individuals who has name.
I thought I never have problem with them, but I realized that it's not I never have problem with them, but they're part of my friends and my life that I don't see it as an issue.
one of my good friend is gay, and one of my friend's mom is a lesbian. I don't see it as weird coz I know them. That helps me to accept gay community as a whole.
gonjeng
27-04-2005, 08:25 AM
heh, unlike you all... i am ALLERGIC to gays hehehe... had a couple bad experience with them, urghhh... hence, no gays for me :)
HappyCat
27-04-2005, 09:17 AM
erm, i haven't met any gay or lesbian, or may be i had met but i don't know he or she was. :roll:
i have some friends (boy) who always act like girl, very soft, i think this is because they affected by their family or hormon problem. :wink:
if a boy live in a family which has sisters only, he might act like a girl.
the same thing happen to a girl who has brothers only might act like a boy.
although gays and lesbians may a bit different with normal people, it is not their fault, we have to accept them openly. :)
27-04-2005, 09:26 AM
i have some friends (boy) who always act like girl, very soft, i think this is because they affected by their family or hormon problem. Wink
but i see a lot of my guy friends who're a bit 'soft'. they don't cause harm, they're just soft
i think some of us have some misconceptions about Gays and Lesbians here...
Guys who are 'soft' do not mean they are homosexuals...
Girls who are 'hard' do not mean they are homosexuals too..
elemneon
27-04-2005, 09:56 AM
The guys in my class and also other classes sometimes pretend to be gays. Eg. hold hands, flirt with each other, etc. I wonder why they do it. It's funny up to a point and then it's just offensive as if they're trying to mock the gays. Unless they're trying to hide something. :D There's also the jokes about which guy should go with another guy. Yeah it's harmless but has it become a way for people to insult others?
i think some of us have some misconceptions about Gays and Lesbians here...
Guys who are 'soft' do not mean they are homosexuals...
Girls who are 'hard' do not mean they are homosexuals too..
Actually I'm also a bit confused ... by the term "homosexual", I think it's pretty safe to say that, for example, A and B has done sex together and they are of the same gender. But what about "gay"? Is "gay" synonym to "homosexual" (i.e the couple has done it)? Or do "gays" only point to guys who are attracted to the same gender (whether they have done it or not is irrelevent?)
any expert in this field? :P
flyinghigh
27-04-2005, 10:14 AM
The guys in my class and also other classes sometimes pretend to be gays. Eg. hold hands, flirt with each other, etc. I wonder why they do it. It's funny up to a point and then it's just offensive as if they're trying to mock the gays. Unless they're trying to hide something. :D There's also the jokes about which guy should go with another guy. Yeah it's harmless but has it become a way for people to insult others?
sometimes i also pretend like a lesbian in my school to avoid rumours... when someone said tht i hav had a crush for smn, i would rather said tht i m a lesbian.... to stop the rumours...strange right? :lol: at tht time, my best fren would become my "g/f" hehee..
MothBall
27-04-2005, 10:22 AM
I think it's not right to discriminate homosexuals due to their sexual tendencies. They're human too, and it's not like they wanted to be homosexuals. So, i welcome them as my friend. Ermm...boyfriend, no way!!
sometimes i also pretend like a lesbian in my school to avoid rumours... when someone said tht i hav had a crush for smn, i would rather said tht i m a lesbian.... to stop the rumours...strange right? :lol: at tht time, my best fren would become my "g/f" hehee..
Yikes! is that really a good idea? what if people take your words seriously? What if your pretending to be a lesbian makes them believe that you are really one? I mean, some people look at gay and lesbian as 'bad' people and bla bla bla you know what not ... geez, if it was me, I wouldn't do that .. there are many other ways to debunk rumors about me having crush on someone ... there was one time in middle school when I was rumored to have crush on this one girl .. what I did was just playing along with the rumor, hitting on the girl and what not, it didn't go well and the rumor stopped :roll: ... well, maybe if I was a girl that trick wouldn't do :P ... but pretending to be a lesbian just to dilute a rumor might not be a good idea ... you might end up brewing another rumor :twisted:
debbie
27-04-2005, 10:40 AM
I dont know. Friends are friends but I personally think it's gross. *throws up*
flyinghigh
27-04-2005, 10:50 AM
Yikes! is that really a good idea? what if people take your words seriously? What if your pretending to be a lesbian makes them believe that you are really one? I mean, some people look at gay and lesbian as 'bad' people and bla bla bla you know what not ... geez, if it was me, I wouldn't do that .. there are many other ways to debunk rumors about me having crush on someone ... there was one time in middle school when I was rumored to have crush on this one girl .. what I did was just playing along with the rumor, hitting on the girl and what not, it didn't go well and the rumor stopped :roll: ... well, maybe if I was a girl that trick wouldn't do :P ... but pretending to be a lesbian just to dilute a rumor might not be a good idea ... you might end up brewing another rumor :twisted:
i've already expected if the other really think tht i m a lesbian ... :P
i dont and i wont bother what they think :wink: it's better ... an effective way to stop boys from coming near me at this moment... :wink:
balderdash
27-04-2005, 11:39 AM
It's actually very interesting to see how people actual take up a mask of homosexuality to fend off unwanted heterosexual attention when there are so so so many homosexuals these days who are forced to 'act straight' in order to be accepted in society.
Interesting, indeed.....
elemneon
27-04-2005, 01:11 PM
I think people don't really care whether you're straight or not. That's why pretending to be one isn't a big deal. It's not that they accept it or not. They just don't care. That is if they are not closely related.
balderdash
27-04-2005, 01:30 PM
I think 'don't care' and 'acceptance' are very different issues here actually. One would be indifferent towards another person's sexuality but he/she may not necessarily view the person in the same way, i.e. accepting the person in the same way, as he/she would towards a person whom he/she knows to be heterosexual i.e. 'normal'. It's pretty sickening sometimes when I hear a bunch of guys get together and condemn some other guy who happens to be gay and worse, my gay friends have had their fair share of such insults and injury by people whom they don't even know.
yian04
27-04-2005, 01:43 PM
Well, I think our society should give homosexuals respects and understandings. If they have given a chance, they won't become homosexuals. Some of them are inbred, they do have interest on same sexes v them, they just don't have those particular feelings towards ppl who are different sexes from them.
As an example, i have met a friend who admitted himself as gay too. He has tried hard to make himself falling in love v gals, but he failed finally. He knew that his special sexuality will be strong rejected by lots of his friends, particularly his parents. He didn't dare to tell everyone too. He lived in guilt and has low self-esteem. Well, that's not his fault, I tried so hard to convince him. I even have read lots of articles and tv programmes about homosexual. They have rights to choose the life they want. Ok, if any of u feel disgusting or gross of their sexuality or behaviour of being homosexual, u can opt to stay away from them, but pls don't mock or hurt them by ur cruel remarks. They need acceptance from others too. Most of them may have misconceptions about them, like they must lead a unhealthy life or like to loaf in the gay or lesbian pubs, even have vulgar sex lifes. Some medias just give the public wrong informations about homosexuals. If I was not mistaken, there is a society organized by a group of homosexuals in kl, promoting the uses of condom or effective ways to avoid AIDS.
Besides, i just wanna make a thing clear, homosexual doesn't equal to those transgenders who we will call them "a gua".Well, those who have do their operations to switch their sex are not actually homosexual. As an example, a guy who intends to do his operation to transfrom to a real gal, that's because in his bottom of his heart, he has totally thought he's a gal, he acts like gal, like to be gal,that's not homosexual. If u guys have time, u can search for those informations in net too. Last but no least, don't try to isolate them, try to communicate v them, treat them as friends. u will find them actually desperate for supports and love from us too.
lolilo
27-04-2005, 02:05 PM
I have a friend who is a homo, and i can accept him pretty well. Sometimes, i dont even find him different, but i don't dare tease him about girls, cos its a little sensitive.
HOmos, Bis, they lead their own lives, never interfere with people's, so why shun them? i think they too need our respect, just like everyone else.
* Elton John is going to marry his long time lover....hehe....cool John...i admire his boldness...*
i accept them...............as people who need to see a doctor. wether it is a psychologist or a genetherapist......its up to 'how' or 'why' are they homos.
some have the 'homo' genes. for them.......they have to go see a genetherapist( or other doctors whose title i dont know). medicine can be give to reduce their sexual desire for people of the same sex.
others who are homos because of the environment(including parents/friends/media etc.) need to see a psychologist.
most importantly, parents must 'identify' children who are prone to be homos. at birth......see a genetherapist to see if the genes are 'normal'.
then when they growing up, make sure no 'unhealthy' influences affect them( if u always tease ur brothers 'u look like a girl', u better stop.)
if they show any signs, quickly see a psychologist.
so, treat them like patients who need sympathy and understanding.
but just because we accept them, does not mean we have to just sit quiet and let their numbers grow. take the actions i'f stated above.
balderdash
27-04-2005, 10:31 PM
i accept them...............as people who need to see a doctor. wether it is a psychologist or a genetherapist......its up to 'how' or 'why' are they homos.
some have the 'homo' genes. for them.......they have to go see a genetherapist( or other doctors whose title i dont know). medicine can be give to reduce their sexual desire for people of the same sex.
others who are homos because of the environment(including parents/friends/media etc.) need to see a psychologist.
most importantly, parents must 'identify' children who are prone to be homos. at birth......see a genetherapist to see if the genes are 'normal'.
then when they growing up, make sure no 'unhealthy' influences affect them( if u always tease ur brothers 'u look like a girl', u better stop.)
if they show any signs, quickly see a psychologist.
so, treat them like patients who need sympathy and understanding.
but just because we accept them, does not mean we have to just sit quiet and let their numbers grow. take the actions i'f stated above.
Why do they need to see doctors for being homosexual? For us to define them as sexually deviant is just imposing heterosexuality on them. My lecturer once depicted a scene in this sexuality conference that she attended. When the speaker asked: How many of you here are heterosexual? Only about 3 raised their hands out of 150. Then the speaker said: "Now you know how we feel all the time out there."
From the little that I understand, they are not 'influenced' nor do they 'turn gay'. And though some studies have shown that homosexual tendencies MAY be in a person's DNA, I somehow remain cynical. It reminds me of the early days of homosexuality research where they used to put homosexuals on shock treatments for their 'mental illness'. They do not need 'sympathy'. All they need is for people to recognise that there is a different kind of sexuality and for people to stop treating it as some form of sickness.
And if there is one thing for us to stop telling our kids, it's definitely jeers like "you look like a girl" or "only girls cry" to a little boy.
YunShyuan
28-04-2005, 12:31 AM
I would say it is a little queer to accept them at first. Growing up in a country where homosexuals are somewhat discriminated, I felt that they were weird people too. Although I have not met any, when I came to Canada, my views about homosexuals shifted tremendously.
Perhaps it is the mindset of the society here that makes the difference. Gays and lesbians are treated equally. On campus, it is not surprising to see two guys or two girls being close (not close as in kissing, hugging or holding hands). Naturally, you know what I mean...
So I have come to realize that they should not be viewed differently than the rest. After all, it is not their fault for becoming homosexuals - I learnt it in psychology - high levels of testosterone in a pregnant mother's body has been proven to affect the sexuality of the child. Why testosterone? Everyone has testosterone levels in their body but only in different amounts to distinguish the two sexes. Since it is a major sex hormone, the sexuality of a child can be greatly affected by it. For example, if a mother experiences a lot of stress during this period, testosterone levels will increase in her body.
It is not their fault for becoming who they are. They are still equally nice people, friendly, and intelligent. We should learn to accept them as part of the society. Then again, I would say that it is difficult to achieve this in Malaysia because of religious issues and the society's mindset.
28-04-2005, 02:49 AM
Well, I know of a friend that's gay and almost everyone that knows him is fine with that. He's a great entertainer too, always getting everyone to laugh :)
Anyway, the ancient Greek acknowledged the existence of homosexuals long ago. In fact, I once read a Greek myth about a tribe of creatures that were rioting (or at war or something) against Zeus. These creatures basically look like 2 humans whose backs are stuck to each other (don't ask me how they move etc. I have NO idea). There were 3 types of this creature: male-female, male-male, and female-female. Well, the almightly Zeus punished them and split each of them into two. From that day on, the "halved" people (male or female) went around looking for their other half (male or female). Interesting myth isn't it?
Anyway, I find no reason to detest or don't make friends with homosexuals. Because of disgust? Religion? I dunno... enlighten me... Too many people tend to generalise homosexuals...
I'm okay with gays and lesbians, but it would be nice if they avoid fondling each other in public. Saw it before at a bus-stop, and it wasn't really a wonderful scene. Didn't know where to place my eyes. Ah. Perhaps i'm just not too used to it.
wendy
28-04-2005, 09:45 PM
Hey anyone watch the AMAZING RACE 7?
there is these two guys by the name of lynn n alex and it is stated that they are *boyfriend* ...does this mean that they r gay?
if they r not.....y dun wanna jz say they r friends instead of bf? However one of them appear to b preety soft. i'm puzzled?
i dun discriminate gay n lesbian.i mean some of them don't choose to be it. its like they r gurls that r trap in a guy body n vice versa,kinda kesian lar.......they don't want it to be like that either!
28-04-2005, 10:42 PM
I dont know. Friends are friends but I personally think it's gross. *throws up*
well... they might personally think that being heterosexual is gross too...
28-04-2005, 10:45 PM
I'm okay with gays and lesbians, but it would be nice if they avoid fondling each other in public. Saw it before at a bus-stop, and it wasn't really a wonderful scene. Didn't know where to place my eyes. Ah. Perhaps i'm just not too used to it.
er... how about Male-Female couple performing PDA...(not personal digital assisntant, but Public Display of Affection...)
isn't that the same? why the discrimination against gays and lesbians?
there is these two guys by the name of lynn n alex and it is stated that they are *boyfriend* ...does this mean that they r gay?
if they r not.....y dun wanna jz say they r friends instead of bf? However one of them appear to b preety soft. i'm puzzled?
i dun discriminate gay n lesbian.i mean some of them don't choose to be it. its like they r gurls that r trap in a guy body n vice versa,kinda kesian lar.......they don't want it to be like that either!
yes.. they are gay.
balderdash
28-04-2005, 11:36 PM
As mentioned above, yes, Lynn and Alex are gay.
Yes, you've gotten it right - they do not CHOOSE to be gay, the same way the majority of *us* don't CHOOSE to be straight. A lot of people assume that homosexuals 'turn' gay when in fact, they ARE and HAVE BEEN gay all along.
and no, they are not like girls trapped in a guy's body. For that, there happens to be this specific gender disorder which is another medical case altogether but it is definitely not homosexuality. It's just that they have sexual desires for guys (or girls, in the case of lesbians). and no, it's not that 'they don't want it to be like that either'. Okay, maybe those who are suppressed by our heterosexual society have asked the Big Guy up there once in a while why they are gay but generally, they are as gay as we are straight. As one of my classmates once proclaimed in class, "I feel I am discriminated against just because I have sex with guys". Which is true.
It's a common conception that gays will adopt a more feminine register, i.e. "soft" language etc and for lesbians, or rather, the 'butches', 'active' (whatever you call them and whatever they call themselves) would adopt a more masculine register. While this may prove to be true *sometimes*, how do you determine their language as 'gay'? How 'gay' is 'gay'?
I feel like I am writing my term paper all over again.
er... how about Male-Female couple performing PDA...(not personal digital assisntant, but Public Display of Affection...)
Erm...If PDA is restricted to hugging, holding hands, light kissing, french kissing, not too heavy caressing, then it would be fine. But groping, squeezing, some, erm, not so public parts.... So if you ask me, even if it was a male-female couple doing that, it would still be awkward.
balderdash
29-04-2005, 04:54 PM
Erm...If PDA is restricted to hugging, holding hands, light kissing, french kissing, not too heavy caressing, then it would be fine. But groping, squeezing, some, erm, not so public parts.... So if you ask me, even if it was a male-female couple doing that, it would still be awkward.
I couldn't agree more. EPDA is more the term for it - Excessive Public Display of Affection....
29-04-2005, 10:35 PM
I used to think that gays and lesbians are those who have psychological problems. I guess that mentality has to be attributed to the religious belief and the general conservative perceptions of Malaysian society.
Now I no longer hold any prejudice against queers. Why? Just put yourself in their shoes. For those who are vehemently against them, I would simply tell them, use some empathy. Empathy is the most powerful function of the brain that many people never appreciate in their entire life.
Imagine you are a guy who has no interest whatsoever in girls. You just won't fall for girls. You grow up and your friends start going after girls, but you just won't fall for girls. Your friends got girlfriends, one by one, and they get married, but you just won't fall for girls. One day your friends come and ask you jokingly, "are you a gay?" Deep down you know the answer but you just can't tell them out loud, "Yes, I am."
And they tell you to go see psychiatrists. (there is no branch of psychiatrist which define homosexuality as an "abnormality", as far as I am concerned.)
masdie
30-04-2005, 12:06 AM
erm...are there any gays or lesbians among us?
balderdash
30-04-2005, 12:31 AM
I used to think that gays and lesbians are those who have psychological problems. I guess that mentality has to be attributed to the religious belief and the general conservative perceptions of Malaysian society.
Now I no longer hold any prejudice against queers. Why? Just put yourself in their shoes. For those who are vehemently against them, I would simply tell them, use some empathy. Empathy is the most powerful function of the brain that many people never appreciate in their entire life.
Imagine you are a guy who has no interest whatsoever in girls. You just won't fall for girls. You grow up and your friends start going after girls, but you just won't fall for girls. Your friends got girlfriends, one by one, and they get married, but you just won't fall for girls. One day your friends come and ask you jokingly, "are you a gay?" Deep down you know the answer but you just can't tell them out loud, "Yes, I am."
And they tell you to go see psychiatrists. (there is no branch of psychiatrist which define homosexuality as an "abnormality", as far as I am concerned.)
Well said :)
In fact, I have a friend who calls himself a pomosexual - pomo=postmodern. They are basically people who refused to be identified by their sexuality - like how most of society are either 'straight' or 'gay' - they refuse to be identified as such. Check this out for a better definition:
http://www.arr-the-kraken.com/straight/pomosexual.php
And it's the whole postmodern stuff that gives me headaches every semester :) Lovin' it.
mediator
30-04-2005, 12:45 AM
what a topic...it's cool that you guys discuss this openly though..
my thought? i think i can be friends with gays/lesbians,like why not?but that's it,friends.no way would i want to have a bf,let alone husband who is a gay....man,what a scary thought!! 8O funny enough,i don't think many of us are aware that there are actually many husbands today who are gays...they get married with their wives and keep male partners at the same time.telling you how do i know this would be an unfaithful thing to do.
my stand remains that i can be friends with gays/lesbians,no prob..but NOT anything closer than that....man,i just think it's scary and,er,disgusting..
30-04-2005, 05:07 AM
related thread...
Gar Marriage (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=331&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=gay+marriage&start=0)
I personally do not think being gays or lesbians is anything wrong. Some say it is wrong because these human are violating God's rules or whatsoever...if u're puttin it that way, i'd like to ask haven't u ever noticed that human's fate is 99.99% decided by God? Even if they're goin gay/les, it must have been God's intention of makin em so...lolx
StupidCupid
10-05-2005, 08:43 PM
I'm okay with gays and lesbians.
They are still human being, still do what we normally do...
They can be very very nice friends!!!
Kinda cool to hang out with...
maybe the system realize ure going to ruin the community by posting that option up.?#
btw, i dont think i could tolerate gays, and i hate ah kua_s and ah pon_s the most.
but since we're talking bout homo here, well, first of all, think of how it'll be like when one of them really had interest in you? imagine them screwing ur ass, which is just so disgusting. sex between guy and gal is ok, but try to imagine sex between a guy and another guy. oral, anal, etc. it's just, FUBAR.
erm...are there any gays or lesbians among us?
yes they are, i had a friend whom a gay had a crush on him. those gays will start thinking and wanting to be fall in love with anothe guy, and next they'll be thinking of sex again. luckly my friend made it clear that he himself's not gay, so that gay end up liking other guys.
and like someone'd just mentioned bout homosexual carassing each other in public, well, you wouldnt want that to happen to u in public do you?
well if im gay i wont mind tho lolx 8)
yea, but the thing is i'm not now. D:
01-10-2005, 12:19 PM
From Homosexuality, accepted by community or not? (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3152#69872)
I need you all to help me because i am doing an assigment for moral education .The title is should homosexuality be accepted by the society.Dicsuss.I hope you all can contibute a little bit of your views.Thanks.
Gemini_gal
03-10-2005, 11:22 AM
Gay n lesbians.. despite the term that categorisez them, they all belong to the same group called HUMANS!!! it is unfair to see people abuse them verbally. I witnessed a scenario where a woman actually called vulgar names to a"couple" of lesbians sitting in the park..One thing our community tend to forget is these people did not choose their destiny.. It is the biological effect that influenced them.. hence, it is sad to see them being discriminated for this.. based on my predilection, i stronly agree that gays and lesbians be given a fair chance to live like others. Just like some parts in US, the wedding of gays and lesbians shold be legalized..
i have friends who are either homosexual or still confused with their sexual preference. and i have nothing against them.
i might not agree with their choices, but my God does not teach me to marginalise people and make them feel any less accepted than a heterosexual person. a friend is a friend, regardless of his or her sexual orientation.
yes, flame me about the use of the word "choices", but that is my opinion.
burningBUTTERFLIES
09-10-2005, 10:49 PM
*cra: btw some straight couples do the back door thing too.
why the voting reply for yes is so like... haih, nvm.
I have a couple of gay buddies. It's very enjoyable to chat with them and I find that they are usually stronger in the sense that they had to go through and clear up a confusion and being able to understand that they like the same sex and erm, u get the idea, I malas to be long-winded.
The main thing i like most out of being friends with gays is that I know I will not fall for them nor will they fall for me. And can chat whatever with them, from the sky to the core of the earth. no barriers.
at least in my experience =).
So far I never had a friend who is lesbian that I'm actually very close to. Only like, hi-bye kind of thing.
and somehow, i may get blasted for this, i think gays/lesbians are kinda cool.
but i like guys. nyeh.
kintaro_kun
25-10-2005, 01:17 AM
if you wanna go to hell, be a homosexual!
balderdash
25-10-2005, 11:35 AM
Errr.....so much for the liberal, educated Malaysian who could at least guard his/her mouth/the fingers that type on the keyboard?
kintaro_kun
25-10-2005, 12:02 PM
" if you wanna go to hell" in the literal sense.....
burningBUTTERFLIES
07-11-2005, 12:35 AM
... literally or figuratively, isn't it still insulting?
I don't know why ppl are twisting their panties/boxers over homosexuals. Because when I befriend someone, I'm more into their personality than their sex life -____-;;;
James_Padfoot
27-12-2005, 05:01 AM
Because when I befriend someone, I'm more into their personality than their sex life -____-;;;
Hear hear!!!!!
Personally, I tend to get rather incensed when someone starts discriminating. My best friend is bi, and even before I met her, I was very pro-gay. I loathe prejudice. I believe it's the cause of evil in our world, from prejudice, the lack of understanding... thats where war brews. Humans fear what they do not understand, no? It's the same concept with people being afraid of the dark. You aren't really afraid of the dark, you're afraid of what lurks around you IN the dark.
Homosexuals have rights. They are people. Stop labelling. Stop CREATING a difference. I have friends who are gays and lesbians, and we can spend time together in a platonic enviroment, with hugging and kissing (on the cheek or forehead, mind you) without the akward ridiculity.
It's the mentality. If the mentality changes, so will the behaviour.
27-12-2005, 01:00 PM
PJKru is the most elligible person in ReCom to represent homosexuals.
Jhuen
28-12-2005, 05:45 PM
errm, i dont mind actually befriending them..i dnt have any gay friends, but i do have a couple of lesbians ones, at least they think they are..to me, it doesnt matter much..it's their character that counts..it's a pity ppl tend to be biased against them, and say negative stuff to them...and it's not that they choose to be gays/lesbians in the first place..it's either they were born that way, or they had some horrible experience that made them decide to change their sexual orientation...but, that's the world we live in, and it's tough to change ppl's opinions..no matter how optimistic we can be...
kintaro_kun
29-12-2005, 03:42 AM
since most recommers dont really mind the homosexual/bisexual phenomenon, i guess if God asked them to choose which sexual preference their children would be according to the choices below:
a) heterosexual
b) homosexual
c) bisexual
d) any of the above
i think most of the recommers (not me) would choose (d) since they dont really mind. cheers for the liberals! lets have bisexual children and homosexual grandchildren, isnt this cool? oh, how i wish my son would marry elton john!
masdie
04-01-2006, 12:02 AM
Err.....I'm curious. Any gays or lesbians among us in ReCom? Don't be shy people. Be proud. Wear your gay/lesbian tag proudly!
oh, how i wish my son would marry elton john!
Oi, how old is your son? Don't you think Elton John is too old for your son? Find someone younger la!
kintaro_kun
04-01-2006, 01:47 AM
Oi, how old is your son? Don't you think Elton John is too old for your son? Find someone younger la!
i dont even have a son! i'm not even married! i'm only 19! haha!
(as long as he's loaded, age is not a problem. just think of our previous king and queen, that's a very good teladan from our own agong-lets learn from our great leaders!)
i confess.........
i'm a hetero! 8)
Actually what all homosexuality is about is personal freedom , and if a person has a tendency or the sexual desire towards a person from the same sex than its his choice and life. Who are we to interfere and actually it doesn't affect my relation with that person because the person has problems regarding his sexual desire. So people don't just judge a person because of his sexual desire judge a person by his character and personality. Which in my opinion is more important than just his sexual drive.
johnleemk
07-01-2006, 02:21 AM
As a Christian, I consider homosexuality a sin. I treat gays the way I treat everyone else, though, since we're all sinners. :lol: I have no problems being friends with them. As long as they don't try to "convert" other people (an unlikely event), everything's cool.
we don't need to 'feel' anything.It's about their lives,their rights,theirs preferences and they have bring nothing bad to us.
MothBall
14-01-2006, 10:53 AM
I disapprove of their choices, yet I bear no grudge against them. It's not like they purposely choose these "unusual" sexual preferences to mock the society or to insult religions or whatever. Although religions condemn their choices, I think they should be respected as a human. We are them, they are us, we just have different likings, that's all. As long as we don't endanger the society and harm others, we all deserve to be respected.
kintaro_kun
14-01-2006, 10:00 PM
sorry for being out of topic, but i couldnt help noticing your banner, mothball, regarding the if God is omnipotent stuff.
if the world really loves its school children, why would there be examinations? to give us the challenge to see whether we're up to our academic abilities! there are numerous tests and challenges that God gave to the various prophets or ppl as recorded in the bible, like the sacrificing of Abraham's son, the story of Jonah, the calamities that befall Job, etc etc, these examples reflect how God bestows challenges to mankind to prove their love and loyalty for God.
example- a rich and happy family who declares themselves as pious and God loving. suddenly a volcano erupted and destroyed everything they had. they can be:
a) still pious and God loving, and ask for forgiveness and strength to overcome future obstacles
b) curse God immediately and threaten to convert to atheists if God din miracalously grant them buckingham palace in compensation for their destroyed property.
maybe God gives marks in such manner, who knows?
its like an examination on our strength of faith, right?
and i think wars are created by humans, managed by humans and decided by humans. God gave us a brain and a heart, to use them to act according to our conscience and thoughts. God din allow or encourage adam and eve to eat the fruits of the forbidden tree, they chose to eat them themselves. every action humans commit when in life will be judged someday, in this world or the next, cant really blame God if you stole your friend's notes or purposely skip someone not cool enough to attend your birthday party,
bout the parents stuff, if i was a parent, i dun mind letting my child fall, but i'd make sure that he gets to his feet again. i try not to be overprotective, give some challenge to yourself and to your child, i've seen ppl who havent fallen before, and when they fall, they fall deep deep down. and for those who have had the experience of failures, they climb up, strong again, and march forward like a veteran.
just my $2.35. (bored of 2 cents) :D
MothBall
24-01-2006, 09:45 PM
Yeah I agree with u about those stuffs. Only thing is that you are posting lots of irrelevant stuff under this topic. No offense, just want to remind u that u should start a new discussion if u have a lot to say about things that aren't related to the current topic.
Gayism/ lesbianism is not evil, is not harmful. It's a choice, it's their way of living, it's just unique. Please don't discriminate them.
Vasily
25-01-2006, 12:56 AM
Good Evening,
If I may, I'll just state my opinion on this in relation to:
a. defination
b. reply to quotations(which frankly, I so desire to speak of the God being omnipotent issue 8O )
In my most humble opinion, I do suppose that homosexuality and/or gay and/or fag, etc means to be sexually attracted to a person of one's OWN biological gender.
To be hetrosexual, therefore means to be sexually attracted to a person of the opposite biological gender.
To be bisexual is to be both of the above.
[/i]In Malaysia, for obvious reasons, eg. social stigma, legislation, etc. It is always a bad idea to profess their sexuality. No matter how our counterparts, friends & family SAY that they don't mind and/or care, do they actually DO as they say?
First off, I always feel that whether or not a certain thing is normal is quite relative. For example, a Malaysian might say that it is normal to shake one's hand as a formal gesture to greet another. However, it may not be normal for most Malaysians to greet another by kissing both cheeks, even in streets, which is relatively normal in Continental Europe.
Therefore, this begs the question of how can we truly define what is norm? But of course, one could say that nature's law and/or God's law dictate that homosexuality is abnormal.
Perhaps nature's law does dictate that only a hetrosexual pairing may reproduce. But is having a relationship with another PURELY for reproduction purposes? I'm sure alot of guys out there may yell 'Yeah!!"
Perhaps, I'm one of such fools who believe otherwise, that though, all such instinct is instilled into our DNA (as studies show-which were quite upsetting to find out- ), it is not conclusive. That we choose to live our lifes as we see fit. Therefore procreation, is a lifestyle as today's society shows.
In God's law, ie, as presented by the Bible, Quran, etc. It is debatable. (for the reasons such as Gospels are numberal & the numberal problems of interpretation and sources).
In other words, I do feel as we all have our distinctive features, it is difficult to quantify what is normal.
Also, I feel that, as bp_ffei mentioned, I heard of that greek myth that Zeus had humans severed into half whom they were. Being so, our 'other half' so to speak is out there, no matter the gender, whom till we come to find and accept we shall cease to be whole.
I really hate to think my soul existance is for reproduction. Hence, if I loved, it shall be to adore the person & not the gender.
Cheers,
Vasily[/quote]
ps. however, it shall become a pesky social problem parents may face with helping kids understand their sexual identity.
da-hype
25-01-2006, 08:54 AM
How do you feel about gays and lesbians?
Answer - we don't :P
Gay and lesbian....
When I was younger, I thought it was purely an unnatural thing. Some researcher believes that it down to our very own genes that make us gay or lesbian.
Though I still doubt it but as look at my twin nephew (which is only 6 years old), I do notice that it's the very nature... our very own genes that makes us gay or lesbian.
Though he is still young, and his parent noticing all this girly trait (while the other twin is normal), they are trying to instill more manly trait in him. No matter what, he is still my favourite little nephew.
So, to answer your question...
I would just treat and accept them as it is.
Gay or lesbian, I don't think we should treat them any different from us.
26-01-2006, 01:20 AM
Like Women.. i treat Lesbians and Gay differently. Is that a problem?
Do i Hate gays? To a certain extent, just like how i hate other Men and Women.
Do I Hate them just because they like having sex with the same gender, no.
Do I feel sorry for them for being hated by others for doing this? No.
I feel Gay or Lesbian you have to accept the fact that being homosexual is not yet "normal" to todays social standards and you have to adapt to that life.
For an example, Chinese in Malaysia has adapted and accepted the fact that they will remain a Malays Bitch as long as they vote for BN, DAP or any other political party in Malaysia and hope those political party wil lactually do something..
Shoblast
28-01-2006, 01:14 AM
For those who think that homosexuality is unnatural and thus an abomination, i present to you:
http://www.rotten.com/library/sex/homosexuality/animal-homosexuality/
The best quote from this thread so far:
Because when I befriend someone, I'm more into their personality than their sex life -____-;;;
As for Kintaro's MCQ,
Since most recommers dont really mind the homosexual/bisexual phenomenon, i guess if God asked them to choose which sexual preference their children would be according to the choices below:
a) heterosexual
b) homosexual
c) bisexual
d) any of the above
i think most of the recommers (not me) would choose (d) since they dont really mind. cheers for the liberals! lets have bisexual children and homosexual grandchildren, isnt this cool? oh, how i wish my son would marry elton john!
Actually, i choose (c). My child would then have twice the options. Grand, don't you think?