View Full Version : Skipping classes
02-05-2005, 10:08 AM
How often do you skip classes and why?
averagely I skip classes 4 weeks per semester.
HappyCat
02-05-2005, 10:52 AM
How often do you skip classes and why?
averagely I skip classes 4 weeks per semester.
4 weeks per semerter? 8O
wow! that's many!
erm...i never skip classes unless there is a reason for me to do so.
if not, i would rather stay in the class and listen to the lesson. :)
meselsohnstahl
02-05-2005, 11:09 AM
i have only skipped malaysian studies, but only cause i had to help finish my ms project..heheh....further more, it is a very boring class
02-05-2005, 11:48 AM
there are 4 months in one semester in my course...
skipping 4 weeks is only missing 1/4 of the lessons...
I think it is OK.
don't remember..
lost count
Dr_Tay
02-05-2005, 12:11 PM
The more classes you skip the less you learn. So really it is up to you. When I taught undergraduate classes it is a common syndrome they would rather skip classes and go to the nearest lepak corner to have teh tarik than study. That is a characteristic and attribute.
02-05-2005, 12:14 PM
I learn more when I skip classes....
the lectures are kinda slow so I skip classes to read stuffs on internet/books.
I am a very bad auditory learner so classes means nothing much to me. I cannot absorb much from classes.
I am a very powerful visual learner.
I know my strength and weakness very well.
02-05-2005, 12:16 PM
Depends, I had one prof. from MIT for one of my classes here and most of the time he was mumbling some incoherent mumbo-jumbo. Hence, some of us, like me would rather skip the class and read books on the topic to gain understanding of the material.
IMHO, skipping class is OK, as long as you know that you can learn the material yourself.
02-05-2005, 12:19 PM
Depends, I had one prof. from MIT for one of my classes here and most of the time he was mumbling some incoherent mumbo-jumbo. Hence, some of us, like me would rather skip the class and read books on the topic to gain understanding of the material.
IMHO, skipping class is OK, as long as you know that you can learn the material yourself.
bingo. that is what I am trying to say :)
masdie
02-05-2005, 02:57 PM
skipping 4 weeks is only missing 1/4 of the lessons...
'ponteng'ing a quarter of your classes?? don't you ruin your credit hours?? i mean, don't you need to finish a certain quantity of time on classes to be able to grad? btw, don't your univ take attendence?
02-05-2005, 03:01 PM
I do not know that this system exist in Germany.
no. not at all. I have freedom :D
masdie
02-05-2005, 03:23 PM
oh i see......hehe....i my new dream....to go study in germany!!!!
02-05-2005, 03:25 PM
i usually skip my Tuesday 8am lecture and thursday 5pm lecture.
its too early n too late for me LOL
the 8am one, is on video. they do a vid streaming so i wont actually be in the theatre, but in anthr one, wtching the video. which i can get fr the unit site later. so it's kinda pointless, plus thats the only class i hv the whole day.
other classes i dont usually skip
but even if i do, i always do the readings and stuff
so i dont really miss much
they dont really care bout attendance for lectures
it's the tutes that matter.
miss lect, is ok
miss tute, NOT ok
02-05-2005, 03:28 PM
Oh man, I have forgotten that today I have morning class... Thermodynamic...
aiya... forget it...
there are a lot of things to post on forums.
khynn
06-05-2005, 10:30 PM
skipping class??..i used to do that when i was in form 5...especially the few weeks before a major exam...
the attendence will drop drasticlly...about 10 to 20 if worse..30 8O of us will skip school for a few days...to STUDY..belive it or not..haha..
this is mainly because the teachers dont teach...they jist ask us to do our own revision...
so..instead of wasting time...we skip school!!!the enviroment back at home is more comfy and we can concentrate better on our studies:D:D:D....
etcmp
06-05-2005, 11:03 PM
through out my university life (from undergraduate to graduate studies i've almost never attended any classes. I am not a good role model..
I think I went about twice for databases course, then about 3 times for accountancy (sat right in front) and took a bit of a nap (cld not help it), and only 3 times i went for my modal logic course and 2 times for linguistic course ...and went only once for my sculpture course..
:?
i've skipped class, just to escape from it.
07-05-2005, 07:05 AM
I've never skip classes before until I came to uni....
Ah....I'm getting lazier....can hardly get up from my bed every morning.
And what am I doing here? I should be studying... :?
07-05-2005, 02:29 PM
I only skipped 3 classes throughout my junior college (JC) life in Singapore. And they were all Chinese classes during JC2. The teacher was incredibly boring and always asks us to write stuff, as if he had nothing to teach in class.
Btw, Chinese (AO-level) in Singapore is very easy if you have taken SPM Chinese. Sure get A1!