View Full Version : First Step
26-12-2003, 12:56 PM
Hi, this is the thread for the Malaysian Students Magazine project.
We can discuss how to get things started now.
Our aim is to have some kind of newsletter and eventually a magazine.
All suggestions , comments should go here.
Alright, let's get started!.
30-12-2003, 02:01 PM
Here are the current ppl who are involved or have shown interest in the project, according to the list provided by masterof_none. If you are interested, please leave leave your name here. We will try to contact you later asap.
1st_Spirit
Ishveir
jiahui
sueyi
wesleyanne
1st_Spirit
01-01-2004, 01:03 AM
Dear Recom's Brothers and sisters :),
It's been sometime that I didn't able to keep in touch with your guys, it's been a week it think... I've been out of town for a week in a volenteer work. It's a YOUTH RALLY, and it's about 6000 youth involve and I'm one of the volenteer helping out some staff :)
I'm glad that my email get bombarded and there are so many response and so many offering from many of you who have shown your interest in this project :)
It's a critical stage for us and we needed to keep feeding in for this infatry project.
Project Specification:
1.LayOut
2.Target
3.Approach
4.Format
5.Topics selection
6.Filtering
7.Columns
8.Star Writers
9.Establish a Editorial Board (Team)
10. Finance
1st Question(2):
This newslatter, or magazine is introduced in a soft form or hard form? Layout, typical magazine layout, or electronic layout?
2nd Question:
Who are our target groups? Students? Young adults? or etc...
3rd Question:
Editorial board has to be established before this coming summer.
4th Question:
Is that possible to form a meeting, conferences or General Meeting during summer or before of after?
5th Question:
Is Anymore invlove?
02-01-2004, 02:42 AM
Project Specification:
1.LayOut
2.Target
3.Approach
4.Format
5.Topics selection
6.Filtering
7.Columns
8.Star Writers
9.Establish a Editorial Board (Team)
10. Finance
This is a great format. we can start from Layout.
we can brainstorm here.
1st Question(2):
This newslatter, or magazine is introduced in a soft form or hard form? Layout, typical magazine layout, or electronic layout?
For the time being, I think it's better for us to create it in the soft form first to save money. Plus, we need some kind of response from students.
I think it is crucial for us to introduce the magazine to malaysian students organizations around the world about this magazine.
After we pretty much establish, then only we can print it...depending on the demand.
2nd Question:
Who are our target groups? Students? Young adults? or etc...
I think we can go into stages. For the time being, let's begin with college students/"lepasan SPM". After that we have some kind of experience, we can go further than that , or maybe create a different magazine for different target audience.
3rd Question:
Editorial board has to be established before this coming summer.
I agree. But for the time being, let's start a small snowball first.
Let's roll it bit by bit. When it gets larger, I think lot more people want to get involve. Let's begin with everything that we have first.
4th Question:
Is that possible to form a meeting, conferences or General Meeting during summer or before of after?
I'm sure it's possible. The RecomAnchors meeting was really successful. Maybe we can set a meeting on a fine day this January?..or Spring Break?
5th Question:
Is Anymore invlove?
So far , the team is , me, you, __earth, jiahui, and Tazzy (budakkerek).
I'm still waiting for wesleyanne to reply. I'm pretty sure she's on the vacation.
ANyway, let's get started. I think the best way is to set a webpage,
like using PHP-Nuke, so that we can start from there.
If you guys have any idea on the layout, or have some prototype to show, please post it here. We'll move from there.
02-01-2004, 05:34 AM
ANyway, let's get started. I think the best way is to set a webpage,
like using PHP-Nuke, so that we can start from there.
For the first edition, I think a simple HTML page would do fine.
02-01-2004, 10:05 AM
yeah, I think simple HTML will do.
Anyone volunteered for this?...
I'll make a link from ReCom Updates and will email all members regarding this project. I really think that it's gonna be great.
1st_Spirit
03-01-2004, 02:50 AM
Dear Recoms,
For my case, I would say that it's better we produce our 1st issue in softcopy. Guess what, the printing in my school is totally free and therefore I could print out many issues for the Malaysia students here. There is a good amount of Malaysian population alocated in UB. I would like to take the responsiblity to distribute and to promote the Malaysia Student's Magazine among students in UB. I could always introduce it to any poeple who would like to know more about Malaysia...
I totally agree with you "Master of None"... Personally I think this would be a great magazine for those who are undecided with their major, uni. or college. It would be a great guideline for those who are looking foward for oversea studies.
Many information we could provide, like scholarship aid, seminars, workshops or may be some sharing from you guys would be a great help for them.
Expose themselves and try to bring our students into the World Arena, open up their eyes so they would see the world, open up thier heart so they would know that we are not alone, open up their mind so that they would know that there are more to know and more to achieve. At the same time, we could cultiavate the good values, MALAYSIA VALUES into thier mind and prepare them before they going overseas for studies. There are many temptation and entertainment would easily corrupting thier mind.
For those who are here, for all the recoms, it's your responsible and it's your duty to make sure that this Generation would be the Generation that turn the tide of the world, it's time for YOU(RECOMS) to restore the broken morale, it time for you to stand up and changes, it's time for Malaysia to go into Renaisance period. It is YOU. "IF NOT YOU WHO, IF NOT NOW WHEN"
Dear Recoms,
it's you that going to change, it's you that you're going to do the changes and it's you that going to unmade the mistakes that we've done, also it's you that going to lead this generation into the new Arena, and it's you that going to restore the PROUND OF MALAYSIA.... MALAYSIA BOLEH...
03-01-2004, 06:03 AM
Okay. We know who is our targeted readers. Right now, I've gotten the impression that the newsletter is based on monthly basis. The first issue will be out in early February with the deadlines falling on Jan 31st 2004.
Please tell me if I'm wrong.
If there is no confusion about the first paragraph, I believe the next thing is to recognize any potential topic. So, any suggestion?
Furthermore, I suggest we have 6-10 articles. What do you think about it?
Also, we need to design the template for the newslatter. As said in the Recom forum, some of us prefer a simple HTML page. Anyone want to volunteer for the web job?
I myself could do HTML in CSS.
Finally we need an editor to supervise the whole process and more importantly, makes the ball keeping on rolling. I think Dennis would do fine for the time being as he was the one that started the idea.
03-01-2004, 04:47 PM
I am interested as well. I think silverblue and littlebigone are interested too.
I fully agree with _earth, on the setting of a deadline. I would personally think that submission dateline be put on 20th or 25th of each month, with our magazine be published on the 1st of the next month.
I think if we are going to produce this magazine on soft copy, which I agree that we should do so, we can be kind of flexible on number of articles we have. The more the better, since there won't be much additional overhead cost on it.
Yeah, I support Dennis in charge of being the editor and _earth being the head webmaster.
Yeah, among the information on the first issue would be on overseas studies, especially scholarship. I would suggest that we could introduce studying in a country per issue, say our initial Feb issue could be an introduction to studies in US, may be March, we could have Japan or Germany and hopefully we could have on many countries.
This magazine could be the place for Recom members to write an abstract on their research, paper etc and provide the link for those who are interested to read those in our Creative Corner.
Yeah, start small and slowly we progress!
I will volunteer to write an article for the first issue. Anyone has any suggestion what is the best topic? I will be pretty free this two weeks back in Malaysia, but with dial-up network, so if anything that I could do with such condition, feel free to let me know. I will try my best.
Hope to see even more enthusiasms!
1st_Spirit
06-01-2004, 04:06 AM
Dear Recoms,
Thanks for all the supports, I feel like I have thousands of mens are backing me :)
The coming January 20, there are few STAR's Journalists will drop by at Buffalo to have some discussion with students at UB, therefore I would like to take this oppunity to introduce Recom's "Malaysia Student's Magazine" to them. Hopefully they would able to provide feedback and advises for us.
Well, I'm gonna print it out as a hard copy to distribute to UB Malaysia students. As a result of that it would require a pretty much of a very well organized and containted Magazine.
Personally, I would like to introduce some topics here for everyone to brainstorm about it.
1.Malaysia Students Today.
2.Oversea Malaysia Student.
3.Studying Oversea/Oversea Study Dream.
I think it's better we could establish a Column of Opinion, so that people could bring out the topics which they would like to know more about it or to discuss further about it.
Example:
Letter to Editor,
"I would like to know more about the Cornell University. I'm interested of getting to know more about the scholarship information, studying Culture, lectures and computer science major."
From there, we would able to know more about the Demand of the students and what kind of topic they would like to go into. I believe most of them would like to know about studying at Oversea, they would like to see some pictures of the Universities, people there, culture, proffesor and so on...
At the same time it would be a good motivation for them to study hard to get a scholarship to join us in USA or other places.
Dream is a good motivation, and when the put their dream into plan and plan into action. They will success.
Dear Recoms,
It's time for you guys contributing your articles, photos and many more :)
I hope to hear from you guys soon :)
06-01-2004, 08:11 AM
About the space, i could accommodate the newsletter for time being.
Concerning the webmaster thing, I think I accidentally volunteered. I said I *could* help with the design and the code.
Anyway, I could do it but I need help with the design. I'm not a very creative guy and when I said simple, I really mean simplistic. So, maybe we need to brainstorm a bit on the design, on what's should be there and what's not.
On top of my head currently, the logo/banner is on top, two columns for articles summaries, disclaimer down below. No Java or any hanky panky coding. Just plain ol HTML with CSS.
On resolution, I'm thinking 1152 by 864 or less. Probably less is better.
On colors, any idea?
07-01-2004, 01:16 AM
well, we can help you with the design...
the color, maybe blue and white (current color) or red and yellow (trojans!)
also, the design can be as simple as possible. I think the best way is to create a simple one and show all of us, then only we'l help you tweak the HTML.
I'm now looking for more people interested and more articles. I'm sure a lot of people interested in submitting their articles...It's just that we haven't come up with one, so, that's why the don't know about ReMag.
dinna_g
07-01-2004, 05:40 AM
I have a concern about what the newsletter/magazine is all about. Will it be on general issues and news or something like YouthQuake in NST or what? What is the general concern or objective of producing the newsletter? What is the benefit to the readers? I might be new in recom but I need a clear view to generate more ideas. Furthermore, I don't see any reason why anyone wants to read the newsletter/magazine if they don't know what is it all about, right? I knew someone who used to write for YouthQuake, I'm sure she can help in generating ideas and even contributing her masterpiece to the magazine in future. I hope you guys can give more info on this.
07-01-2004, 07:56 AM
Yeah, it's pretty blurry right now. I feel the same way too. But here's what I suggest.
For the topics, how about dividing it into sections, i.e. sports, education, current issues, entertainment etc.
however, dividing it into sections doesn't mean each section has its own page. The sections only serve as a general guideline for writer so that he/she knows what to write.
We need input on this. So, suggestions are welcomed.
and dinna, sure. any help is welcomed.
for the template colors, I'll go with blue and white. No way I'm using some trojan colors after the rose bowl :wink:
1st_Spirit
08-01-2004, 01:33 AM
Dear Recom's Journalists,
A very good question point out by Dinna_g and personally I'm working on the particular objective of the Magazine now.
I know what should we do for our 1st Issue :)
Main Objective:
"" [[ __ {{ (( ++ << RECOM >> ++ )) }} __ ]]""
Dear Recoms,
We would like to introduce Recom to all Malaysia students if possible isn't it? Personally I think it would be a great idea if we talk all about Recom in our very 1st Issue. We would introduce Recom to many of the Malaysia students and draw their interest and let them know our existance. From their not only people would start to read the Magazine also it would help to promote Recom as TRULY The WorldWide Malaysia Student NetWork.
It would be nice if anyone could share out some pictures for our Recom's Gathering, and telling them how wonderful Recom is. The most important objective is to introduce the Idea of Recom and the principle behind it.
This is merely my personal suggestion. And I give thanks to all the people here who have help out alot by taking so much of their time working on it. We need more input of Ideas. Thanks
08-01-2004, 08:30 AM
Personally I think it would be a great idea if we talk all about Recom in our very 1st Issue. We would introduce Recom to many of the Malaysia students and draw their interest and let them know our existance.
I don't think agree on this. If we want to talk about recom, maybe it could be done in the editor column. One column touching about recom is okay, all is too much.
Anyway, I suggest we write about:
1 - our experience studying/staying/travelling in foreign countries.
2 - current issues. If possible, stay away from Msian politics. If the urge is too great to resist, please be bipartisan or at least don't throw too many mud balls.
3 - sports. anything, including man utd bashing :)
4 - sponsorship and all.
5 - engineering, social science etc.
6 - life after high school/college.
7 - arts eg movie review, theater, anything related to art/culture/whatever.
The above are just suggestion. Feel free to write anything.
As for me, since I'm a treehugger, I think I'll write about American recycling culture if there is no objection to my topic.
And please, think of something to write about by this weekend. Time is ticking!!!
dinna_g
08-01-2004, 11:02 AM
I think earth made a good point. I can imagine the newsletter to be something like the university newspaper that contains current issues, sports, columns etc. I already have something in mind, which is "Last minute study tips." I hope there is no objection on that topic. :D Can someone please give a deadline, I don't wanna start writing at the last minute.. hehe..
08-01-2004, 03:07 PM
I fully agree with _earth and dinna_g on it. I would propose that those who would like to write on a certain topic to write your topic in this thread. If no one opposes it in 24 hours, then you can start write on it. I think this guideline would be easier right?
I think what we could come up with a lot of good articles summarizing from the discussion in Recom. So, this magazine could be the culmination of some of the forum discussion in Recom. This will in a way, promote the discussion in Recom and someone would be in charge of it to write a summary and present it in ReMag.
On deadline, I would propose 25th Jan, and I would propose that the first issue be out on 1st of Feb. We could target for 1 issue per month. Any second thoughts?
I would propose that I would summarize on the thread of Scholarship Interview Skills From Recom Forum >> Education >> Advice on Scholarship Interview
So, unless anyone opposes to my suggestion of 24 hours viewing period, I would start write tomorrow!
Feel free to disagree with me, as it is my personal thought. Hope more will get active. So, now, we have 3 articles.
I support that Recom would be in letter to editor, or may be 1 article, but not the entire magazine. We can have an article written by masterofnone or silverblue(since she is Recom's secretary) on updates of Recom each month..
What do you guys think?
Lets start the ball rolling. Dinna_g, bring your friends in!
1st_Spirit
09-01-2004, 01:09 AM
Dear Recoms,
Good points made by Dinna_g and Earths above:
My personally comments:
1. The topics are wide and veriety.
2. Topics which all we concerned.
3. I think we lack of a Theme/Objective for the Magazine.
There are a few points which I would like to bring up.
1. Number of Pages
2. Theme/Objective/Focus of the 1st Issue
3. Index/Menu.
Heppening of the University:
1. Sports/Arts/Happenings
2. Faculty Members(My favorite Prof. Dr.David Kofke), Resreach Projects, Scholarship offers.
3. Study enviroment/Culture, Tuition Fees.
*Issue by Issus we move on from a universtiy to another, and everyone would able to get some idea about the university that we have been attending
I hope that we would have a(n) aim/goal(s) to go, or else we just like doing "Rojak" "Campur" everything...
Thanks and it is my very concern.
09-01-2004, 02:52 AM
Chenchow's suggested deadline is great but how about moving it 2 days earlier to 23rd for the writers and 25th for peer review?
the 23rd is friday and 25th is sunday.
dinna_g
09-01-2004, 07:15 AM
Good points made by Dinna_g and Earths above:
My personally comments:
1. The topics are wide and veriety.
2. Topics which all we concerned.
3. I think we lack of a Theme/Objective for the Magazine.
There are a few points which I would like to bring up.
1. Number of Pages
2. Theme/Objective/Focus of the 1st Issue
3. Index/Menu.
I very much agree with 1st spirit that currently our objective is too vague and the ideas that we have are too broad. Currently, the objective that I have in mind is news on Malaysian students from all over the world (hence, it can look pretty much like our university's newspaper.
I think the first issue should be about 10 pages long. It should be pretty short since it's only our first issue. I also have a brief outline on what the magazine can be. I hope you guys can have a look at it and tell me what you think.
1. Main page - Introduce Recom & Remag - state our objective, how Recom started and what not.
2. News from Malaysia - short summary of hot news in Malaysia e.g. Najib was appointed as the new DPM.
3. Recom events - hot topics discussed in Recom (just like the topic suggested and will be written by chenchow)
4. Malaysian students from all over the world - should be divided into several parts e.g. US, UK, Germany, Malaysia, Russia, Middle East etc. Each country is represented by one writer and the writer can talk about anything regarding his/her life as a student there e.g. 1st_spirit can write about his/her (sorry, i rather not assume your gender) research with his/her fave prof.
5. Column - general articles by Recom moderator or Recom member or invitation writer e.g. earth wants to talk about recycle culture in the US.
If there is no objection, I suggest we start of with this outline and maybe we should find one person to be in charge of each main topic. For the first issue, I volunteered to write a column, a topic about tips on last minute studying (like i said before).
I also suggest that we extend the deadline to the end of January (e.g. Jan 31) to allow more time for brainstorming. Regarding my friend who used to write for YouthQuake, I haven't got any chance to talk to her. She's been idle on Yahoo. I don't even know if she's interested, but I'll give it a shot anyway. I'll keep updating. Thanks :D.[/b]
09-01-2004, 09:14 AM
I agree with dinna_g on the format. Anyone has other idea? Please let us know. I also hope to see more people sharing opinion.
About the deadline, I agree with both the idea of _earth, dinna_g, but we need to find a date that we all agree. Either date is fine with me, but I think we need to make a decision very very soon. Hope to hear from others!
1st_Spirit
10-01-2004, 02:39 AM
Regards to the concern of Dinna_g,
1st_Spirit = Dennis 20 M
My gender is not really important anyway ;)
The format brought up by Dinna is really interesting and organized...
1.Hot Topics in Malayisa are which everyone is concerned = 5/5 points here
2.Recoms Events = 4/5 (It is very essential for them to know more about recom.
3.Column = 5/5 It is most welcome for you(dinna) to take up the writting with your intersting topic(Last MinStudy)
4.Malaysia Students from all over the World = 5/5
"personally I'm very much agree with that, because my initial idea is to hook up students from all over the world under one roof where the FREE FLOW INFORMATION EXCHANGE is allowed either on an E-platform of E-Journal"
I would like to include one more topic:
---------------------
Travelling Journal
---------------------
-as I believe most of us are looking foward to travel around the world, there are some Recoms members who have been travelling to most of the states in USA and some of the countries at Europe, and I would like to suggest "Wesleyanne" to share her trip to Spain...
Regards to _Earth,
I would be very much appreciate for your volunteering and for your articles about the Recycling Assignments in USA, it is a very much Green Awakening articles and personally I'm very much looking foward for your articles to come into paper :)
Regards about the DeadLine:
As soon as anyone has finished their articles, we would like to invit he or she to post into this forum for us to evaluate and to discuss... We still have to set a deadline anyway, I would suggest it drops at Jan 25, 2004
10-01-2004, 10:54 AM
Given our current slow progress rate, i have to agree with dinna's suggestion on the deadlines. Let's push it from 25th to the 31st.
If we have consensus on this, in effect, the date of publication will also have to be pushed.
10-01-2004, 11:43 AM
yeah, traveling journal would be interesting! wesleyanne you should write about your trip to Spain! Royston has also volunteered to write about his traveling journal!
11-01-2004, 05:58 AM
Cool. I agree with Dinna's format too.
The deadline is going to be the end of January.
__earth, I also want to volunteer to be the co-webmaster.
Please give me the link to the web too, I can just port it to Recom Server and we can access it pretty easily
sanghanuman
11-01-2004, 05:03 PM
I noticed that we have some good poems posted in REcom website. If we have any more space left to be filled, I suggest we ask for luke's(and others' too) permission to publish their poems in the newsletter.
11-01-2004, 11:40 PM
sanghanuman, that is a great idea!
dinna_g
12-01-2004, 02:48 AM
travelling journal is a great idea! i'm sure many would be interested to read on that.. the poem can be placed in the column section.. i'm excited :D
12-01-2004, 09:27 AM
i'm having a real bad case of writer's blocks these days...help!!! 8O
12-01-2004, 10:43 AM
About the recent news in Malaysia, maybe we can have a link under every topic so that those who want to read more can go to the certain site. Recom?s link could be added for places such as Recom Events, or the main page etc to direct the readers to enter/join Recom ;)
Besides that we may create a template so that those who have read Remag can just copy and paste the template to pass/introduce it to their friends (a longer one for email and a shorter one- not more than 180 characters for forwarding in messengers.)
:arrow: Thanks for letting me to join this project though my English is not that good but I will try my best to participate in any jobs given ;)
1st_Spirit
13-01-2004, 02:58 AM
Hey guys I'll start writing about
"Life in University of Buffalo"
and I hope everything is doing theri writting now....
Good luck and happy trying...
14-01-2004, 03:37 PM
can i know, when is the actual deadline? i'm writing bout what it feels like to be a teacher...something along that line 8) Is that allright?
14-01-2004, 04:06 PM
cool. currently, the deadline is the 25th.
sanghanuman
15-01-2004, 03:32 PM
I think i'll contribute a poem. To whom should I pass this poem?
15-01-2004, 11:33 PM
before publication, i hope there will be a peer review session. in that session, we could improvise things and what's and what's not.
16-01-2004, 03:10 PM
Hi Sanghanuman,
You can send it to creative_recom@<hidden>. Then, we'll do the peer review session.
we also need to design the cover page for our magazine and some sort of copyright , to prevent others plagiarized our work.
This production should also bear the ReCom name too, and cannot be published by others without our permission.
Then, when all done, we can publish it here, and we'll try our best to persuade all MASA's to have link to our magazine in their website.
16-01-2004, 03:10 PM
Hi Sanghanuman,
You can send it to creative_recom@<hidden>. Then, we'll do the peer review session.
we also need to design the cover page for our magazine and some sort of copyright , to prevent others plagiarized our work.
This production should also bear the ReCom name too, and cannot be published by others without our permission.
Then, when all done, we can publish it here, and we'll try our best to persuade all MASA's to have link to our magazine in their website.
17-01-2004, 12:13 AM
Yeah, I agree. I would suggest that since current deadline is 25th. Peer review will be between 25th to 27th. I would suggest the first issue be on 1st Feb. But if anyone thinks that the deadline is too tight, then we can adjust it, but we need to be consistent, to get others' support. So, say if we are going to hit the street on 1st every month, then everyone will be eagerly waiting on 1st of every month for ReMag.
One good way to attract other MASA, would be to have their links on a page of ReMag. For this first issue, we can have a page on links to all MASA. The links are all in our Weblinks, so it is just a matter of time to copy the links, isn't it?
17-01-2004, 12:13 AM
Yeah, I agree. I would suggest that since current deadline is 25th. Peer review will be between 25th to 27th. I would suggest the first issue be on 1st Feb. But if anyone thinks that the deadline is too tight, then we can adjust it, but we need to be consistent, to get others' support. So, say if we are going to hit the street on 1st every month, then everyone will be eagerly waiting on 1st of every month for ReMag.
One good way to attract other MASA, would be to have their links on a page of ReMag. For this first issue, we can have a page on links to all MASA. The links are all in our Weblinks, so it is just a matter of time to copy the links, isn't it?
03-02-2004, 07:03 AM
Just to inform of those who are not in the remag yahoo group.
The initial design of remag is at http://www.umich.edu/~mnoorsha/remag/
If you guys any comment, things you wanna see, things you hate, please do tell me so that I can KICK YOUR ASS!
kidding, just tell me and i will try to do my best TO NOT TO LISTEN TO YOU!!!
kidding again. any comment is welcomed :P
03-02-2004, 07:03 AM
Just to inform of those who are not in the remag yahoo group.
The initial design of remag is at http://www.umich.edu/~mnoorsha/remag/
If you guys any comment, things you wanna see, things you hate, please do tell me so that I can KICK YOUR ASS!
kidding, just tell me and i will try to do my best TO NOT TO LISTEN TO YOU!!!
kidding again. any comment is welcomed :P
royston
03-02-2004, 11:12 AM
Hey earth...
Nice job for the first edition. Basically I have no comment on the design but I think there should be some more improvement for the coming editions, right?
Well, in fact we can simply know what are the improvements we need by acting like a normal reader. From what I can see, the arrangement for this page is good enough but anyone has idea how to attract readers to read our articles 1 by 1?
This page is full of words, the way of summarize up every article is good with a "Read More" link... but will you feel that all the summary are arranged in a very narrow box? I mean... if you can add some space within articles (vertically) and try to highlight the header for each article in different color will be better. Another suggestion, for the author, can we link it to their email? Not sure will it be some privacy violation problems...
I am not asking for amendment, but if some other members also have the same thought, then we should improve it. But if this is only my thought, I guess this can be ignore.
Thanks again for your great effort, earth !!
~ roy ~
royston
03-02-2004, 11:12 AM
Hey earth...
Nice job for the first edition. Basically I have no comment on the design but I think there should be some more improvement for the coming editions, right?
Well, in fact we can simply know what are the improvements we need by acting like a normal reader. From what I can see, the arrangement for this page is good enough but anyone has idea how to attract readers to read our articles 1 by 1?
This page is full of words, the way of summarize up every article is good with a "Read More" link... but will you feel that all the summary are arranged in a very narrow box? I mean... if you can add some space within articles (vertically) and try to highlight the header for each article in different color will be better. Another suggestion, for the author, can we link it to their email? Not sure will it be some privacy violation problems...
I am not asking for amendment, but if some other members also have the same thought, then we should improve it. But if this is only my thought, I guess this can be ignore.
Thanks again for your great effort, earth !!
~ roy ~
03-02-2004, 11:43 AM
yeah. dinna has said the same thing about the headlines. I will do something about it.
Also, i think it's too plain. I plan to add a horizon section in between the banner and the two columns for some intro word for the newslatter, contact info, etc.
03-02-2004, 11:43 AM
yeah. dinna has said the same thing about the headlines. I will do something about it.
Also, i think it's too plain. I plan to add a horizon section in between the banner and the two columns for some intro word for the newslatter, contact info, etc.
05-02-2004, 12:46 PM
so, what's the new deadline? 15th as chenchow has suggested in Yahoo?
05-02-2004, 12:46 PM
so, what's the new deadline? 15th as chenchow has suggested in Yahoo?
wesleyanne
09-02-2004, 04:27 AM
Travelling Journal
---------------------
-as I believe most of us are looking foward to travel around the world, there are some Recoms members who have been travelling to most of the states in USA and some of the countries at Europe, and I would like to suggest "Wesleyanne" to share her trip to Spain...
oops, I am really sorry for being sooo inactive and sooo unresponsive :) got a little carried away with school this semester. anyway, if you all are still interested in the journal idea, I wouldn't mind contributing at all :)
have a question though, would that be a summary of my trip or a real journal where I describe what i did daily like this: experiencetheworld.blogspot.com
lemme know and once again, sorry for such a terribly late response :) my bad ;)
wesleyanne
09-02-2004, 04:27 AM
Travelling Journal
---------------------
oops, I am really sorry for being sooo inactive and sooo unresponsive :) got a little carried away with school this semester. anyway, if you all are still interested in the journal idea, I wouldn't mind contributing at all :)
have a question though, would that be a summary of my trip or a real journal where I describe what i did daily like this: experiencetheworld.blogspot.com
lemme know and once again, sorry for such a terribly late response :) my bad ;)
10-02-2004, 05:32 AM
Since work on ReMag 1 is practically done, wanna work on ReMag 2? 8)
10-02-2004, 05:32 AM
Since work on ReMag 1 is practically done, wanna work on ReMag 2? 8)
15-02-2004, 04:06 AM
We should start work on ReMag 2. _earth, would you mind give the links of ReMag 1? I tried remag.recom.org , but could not find it...
15-02-2004, 04:06 AM
We should start work on ReMag 2. _earth, would you mind give the links of ReMag 1? I tried remag.recom.org , but could not find it...
sanghanuman
15-02-2004, 04:11 AM
Has remag 1 been published? If so where?
Remag 2: Anything new?Suggestions, comments, critiques..
Please update, thanks.
sanghanuman
15-02-2004, 04:11 AM
Has remag 1 been published? If so where?
Remag 2: Anything new?Suggestions, comments, critiques..
Please update, thanks.
21-02-2004, 06:22 PM
Hello all,
let's start on Remag 2. Anyone interested in contributing should submit a topic. I suggest the deadline to submit the topic as February 28th and deadline for article submission as 13th March.
you could express your intention by reply here or to remag@<hidden>.
21-02-2004, 06:22 PM
Hello all,
let's start on Remag 2. Anyone interested in contributing should submit a topic. I suggest the deadline to submit the topic as February 28th and deadline for article submission as 13th March.
you could express your intention by reply here or to remag@<hidden>.
22-02-2004, 11:04 PM
after slepless night, I finally got ReMag website done. Check out :
(best viewed in Mozilla)
http://www-scf.usc.edu/~hasran/remag/index.php
22-02-2004, 11:04 PM
after slepless night, I finally got ReMag website done. Check out :
(best viewed in Mozilla)
http://www-scf.usc.edu/~hasran/remag/index.php
vimal06
13-06-2008, 12:35 AM
anyway to see the completed ReMag original?? Cant seem to use that link provided