View Full Version : Universities
11-05-2005, 07:20 PM
The top UK universities are mostly based in the south-east of England.
Oxford and Cambridge lie West and North of London Respectively. Imperial usually comes third in the League rankings, and UCL, Kings College and soas are also highly rated.
Imperial College is a science and Engineering Focused University although they also offer Business Management which is carried out on a farmland on the outskirts of london seperate from the main campus in central London. You can take Medicine, All the biosciences including Biotechnology up to masters level including with a sandwich placement for most courses. Computer science and Computer engineering are also top courses for Imperial students. Most, if not all of the engineering branches are also taught at imperial. If you're a top student in the sciences then i suggest you make imperial your number 1 or number 2 choice of Uni. The main campus is located in South Kensington which is a very nice area of London. One of the posh locations in London. There are many interesting museams only minutes walk from the main campus and they're free so you can enjoy them in your free time. Also about 15 minutes walk is the posh shopping district of knightsbridge where the famous store Harrods which is owned by Al-Fayed. Housing locally is a little bit pricey but transportation to all zones of london is good from south kensington. I imagine that most students live outside of the campus and the area which the campus is in. The actual zone is Zone 1 and the location is West Central/South West Central London. Hyde park is also only ten fifteen minutes by bus. Hyde park is central londons biggest park.
dude... when u say 'Ivy League' universities.. I think that refers to those 8 universities across the atlantic over in the north eastern part of the US of A!!
there's no such thing as the Ivy League in the UK! :D
11-05-2005, 07:27 PM
Ok thats true but i've heard people speak of Ivy league unis in the Uk in the sense of top Unis. Strictly you're probably right. I'll change it to Top universities Uk then.
11-05-2005, 07:45 PM
London Metropolitan University formed following a merger with two universiities. Guidhall based in the financial city area of the capital and North London which is based in Islington. It is a university which offers many vocational courses and diplomas as well as Degrees. They also give foundation years. The only areas not offered by the uni are Medincine, dentistry, biotech and Engineering except electronic. Business, arts and media are the specialties. There are two business schools and both are highly rated. The average mark is over 20 out of 24 frequently in annual tests. Banking and Finance has a paid placement so you can get back some of the money you spend on fees, etc. There are two bars. The Rocket complex has pool, dance floor and three room. Sporting wise the uni is tops in basketball and hockey and they won the uk tennis title last year. You'll find plenty of cheap accomodation nearby the unis and there are plenty of bars, pubs, hallal meat shops, etc. Sporting facilities are a gym and sports hall on campus and fields off campus. If you're looking to save a few pounds then london met is one of the places you can do it.
11-05-2005, 07:48 PM
Tab, could you post an article about cambridge, pls? thanks.
FYI, the rough equivalent to the Ivy League in the UK is known as the Russell Group.
Russell Group is just a loose collection leading research universities in the UK. Not really an 'official' group.
I'll write something abt Cam sometime later... this few weeks, I'll be darn busy.. coz final exam coming in 3 weeks' time.. and I've got LOADS of revision to do.... :P
In the mean time, if anyone wanna know something abt Cam Univ. just pop by wikipedia.... it has almost everything you've always wanted to know abt cambridge...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_of_Cambridge
It is a group in the same way as the Ivies are a loose collection of supposedly 'top' American universities. Incidentally, the Ivy League was born out of a sporting league, and not of any sense of academic superiority, e.g. note that Stanford is not an Ivy League uni, whereas the University of Michigan (slightly lower profile, although I'm sure just as good) is.
The Russell Group is probably a not as loose an association as you think either - as a group, there's more collaborative effort c.f. the Ivies. In any case, it serves to indicate which of the UK universities are charter institutions (therefore supposedly more prestige) and which are statute institutions. Hope that helps.
Did I say Michigan? I meant Pennsylvania! It must be the exams and age catching up with me...
The top UK universities are mostly based in the south-east of England.
Oxford and Cambridge lie West and North of London Respectively. Imperial usually comes third in the League rankings, and UCL, Kings College and soas are also highly rated.
Imperial College is a science and Engineering Focused University although they also offer Business Management which is carried out on a farmland on the outskirts of london seperate from the main campus in central London. You can take Medicine, All the biosciences including Biotechnology up to masters level including with a sandwich placement for most courses. Computer science and Computer engineering are also top courses for Imperial students. Most, if not all of the engineering branches are also taught at imperial. If you're a top student in the sciences then i suggest you make imperial your number 1 or number 2 choice of Uni. The main campus is located in South Kensington which is a very nice area of London. One of the posh locations in London. There are many interesting museams only minutes walk from the main campus and they're free so you can enjoy them in your free time. Also about 15 minutes walk is the posh shopping district of knightsbridge where the famous store Harrods which is owned by Al-Fayed. Housing locally is a little bit pricey but transportation to all zones of london is good from south kensington. I imagine that most students live outside of the campus and the area which the campus is in. The actual zone is Zone 1 and the location is West Central/South West Central London. Hyde park is also only ten fifteen minutes by bus. Hyde park is central londons biggest park.
imperial is wonderful..........right next to the science museum.....however, not many people will choose imperial because of the cost.........
enilit
30-05-2005, 05:15 PM
Heya,
Could anyone explain the difference between Oxford and Cambridge? They don't allow applications to both uni's... so how to choose? I suppose both are equally good, but I've heard that it's easier to get into Ox compared to Cam--could anyone verify?
Thanks! :)
Heya,
Could anyone explain the difference between Oxford and Cambridge? They don't allow applications to both uni's... so how to choose? I suppose both are equally good, but I've heard that it's easier to get into Ox compared to Cam--could anyone verify?
Thanks! :)
i don't think so, both are equally hard to get into.....
they are the best universities in the UK. Cambridge was founded by a group of oxford scholars who had some trouble with the locals......
U can't apply to both because the selection process takes too long.....u would need to speak to ur lecturers and parents on which is a better choice for u
It is a fallacy that it is harder to get into Cambridge than Oxford. Broadly speaking they are equally difficult to get into, but there is of course inter-subject variation too, although you have to remember that if everyone else thinks that a certain course in a certain uni is easier to gain admission to then more people will apply, and vice-versa. I would advise you to apply to the one where you feel you would be most comfortable attending.
Depends on the course that you are interested in. I think traditionally, Oxford Uni (Not Oxford Brookes)is famous in subjects like English Literature etc, whereas Cambridge is for Sciences. Although, this doesnt really help.... :?
I prefer Cambridge (the place) to Oxford. It felt nicer. But thats just a personal opinion.
I would suggest you to look through their prospectus and contact the admission tutors(any queries you have with regards to the course) and see whose response you prefer. And try to imagine if you could live in either of these places for 3 years(or however long your course lasts) -ask people who have visited both places, see what they say about the places.
Good luck with your application to the Oxbridge!:)
15-06-2005, 12:14 PM
Guest, your posts are really good, but why aren't u logged in? Hope you'll sign up. :wink:
imranhashim
27-07-2005, 10:12 PM
halo all~ :D
at the moment i'm filling up the ucas online form.
am a jpa scholar,doing a lvl at taylor's.
uk bound, and accounting is the choice.
so..ive listd down all the 6 unis of my choice ; warwick, manchester, sheffield, soton, birmingham,n lancaster.
anyone with any recommendations/opinion/better suggestion?
27-07-2005, 10:39 PM
no london unis? lse?
nicknett
28-07-2005, 03:27 PM
hi!
anyone here study at uce, birmingham?
imranhashim
28-07-2005, 05:51 PM
london uni?
maybe not.
living cost is quite expensive.
for the name, i personally think warwick is much better.
raihhh
25-09-2005, 01:33 AM
hye imran
me too is doin' alvl acctg at sunway, jpa bound
just want to share my uni choices : leeds,manchester,nottingham, southampton,bristol, warwick.
i think the choices are really up to you, which ones suit you the best - the teaching, the accomodation, the city, the life, etc. u knoe that! :)
places like nottingham, manchester are sort of like malaysian kampungs........a large population of malaysians in these places......we may tend to mingle only with malaysians.............
Michelle
02-07-2006, 05:45 AM
The quota for Ethnic students/state school students etc. is rising in Oxbridge which is good news for you guys. Bad for me :(.
I'd love to go to Imperial to read Biology, Bio-Chemistry or if I really can be bothered, Medicine. Just getting in is...well, not easy.
27-07-2006, 05:39 AM
The quota for Ethnic students/state school students etc. is rising in Oxbridge which is good news for you guys. Bad for me :(.
I'd love to go to Imperial to read Biology, Bio-Chemistry or if I really can be bothered, Medicine. Just getting in is...well, not easy.
If you can't get into medicine, you can always do a degree in biosciences (biochem, biology, etc) and study medicine via the graduate route (get to skip 1 or 2 years, can't remember). A lot of people are doing that, I heard...
Hi, I will be sent to UK for medicine and I am thinking of applying for Uni of Edinburgh and Uni of Leeds as well. What about these two universities. Anyone from there? Are they known for medicine?
Besides, is St.George University of London considered as part of UCL? Just curious.
zell_ll
07-01-2007, 09:58 AM
Edinburgh uni is well known for medicine course...for more information, visit - http://www.mvm.ed.ac.uk/
I'm from edinburgh university.
Btw Taek, looking from your choice of uni to apply, u dun like to be interview for admission??or maybe ur strong on paper (ie UCAS form n ps)..because edin, leeds n st. george dun interview international applicants (true for my year and edin, but not sure bout leed n st. george-mb system change this year)..good luck.
Edinburgh uni is well known for medicine course...for more information, visit - http://www.mvm.ed.ac.uk/
I'm from edinburgh university.
Btw Taek, looking from your choice of uni to apply, u dun like to be interview for admission??or maybe ur strong on paper (ie UCAS form n ps)..because edin, leeds n st. george dun interview international applicants (true for my year and edin, but not sure bout leed n st. george-mb system change this year)..good luck.
Interview isn't a problem for me actually, but JPA's policy somehow doesn't encourage me to apply for other unis ie Oxbridge and Imperial. So St.George is part of UCL? I think I'll apply for Edinburgh, Leeds, UCL and Manchester.
koln_auhc
09-01-2007, 02:02 AM
jpa doesn't encourage oxbridge and ic? any specific reason they gave?
zell_ll
09-01-2007, 07:12 AM
Are u sure dat jpa doesn't encourage u to apply to oxbridge?? I'm Jpa scholars as well, n some of my friends get to cambridge n imperial (they also jpa scholars). If not mistaken, JPA allowed u to apply to university of ur choices, as long as it recognise and in UK..like me n my friends, we r encourage to apply to oxbridge...
It was what my senior told me so I feel perhaps it will be true... Anyway just to be prepared for the worst outcome=) Any other universities that are worth considering for?=) Besides those that I mentioned in my options in the previous reply of course=) Thank you in advance
The quality of medical courses across British universities are very similar. You don't need to be from Oxford to be a good doctor, neither do you need to be in Oxford too get a sound instruction in medicine.
wardqe
10-02-2007, 02:42 PM
I'm looking for a suitable university in uk.
hope this is the right place to look for help.
sorry, if I've posted in the wrong place!
I've just finished my form 6, currently waiting for the results.
I don't really know what I'm looking for actually, but I've decided to be a teacher and I want to specialise in english. Perhaps if I don't make it as a teacher, I can use my degree in journalism. So, I guess I'm looking at those creative writing degree. I feel so lost right now. I went to f6 because I didn't know what I want to do. Something like, just to delay the inevitable. =p
any good unis to recommend? thanks.
LilDeviant
10-02-2007, 05:39 PM
Lol, Hey wardqe, are u from mbskl?
it's a good news for us ... :D
revan89
24-06-2007, 05:13 PM
zell_ll wrote:
i don't even think jpa allows medical bound students to apply to UK now. not sure how they have come up with such decision, well guess it is clear why.
pooh86
11-10-2007, 02:30 AM
did any uni in UK accept recognition for Unitar ? Is it UK education system as here?
TheArtOfMedicine
10-08-2008, 03:12 PM
Sorry to post in this old thread: King's College London and SOAS are not widely considered as a top ten Universities in the UK. KCL barely makes it to the top ten(and falls out of it every now and then) in most league tables.
Xon : its okay, thanks for reviving old thread.
Caprio
10-08-2008, 11:35 PM
It varies year from year.
TheArtOfMedicine
11-08-2008, 12:13 PM
Even so, it still hardly makes/made it to the top ten in most ranking tables.
Different league tables might compile the data in a different way though. Guardian seems to be favoring KCL quite a lot these days.
26-12-2008, 11:37 PM
I'm a bit curious . Any seniors of year 2006 and before who got JPA scholarships to UK for dentistry course ??
01-01-2009, 04:06 PM
is there any application fee waiver for UK universities application?
fishnet
07-03-2009, 02:45 PM
No application fee for individual unis. You apply through UCAS so u pay for the UCAS application fee for all the 4-5 unis u choose. Don't remember how much it costs to apply through UCAS though.
luminodreamer89
20-04-2009, 02:24 AM
Can any seniors please post something about Imperial, from the point of view of a Malaysian student?
Yea, i agree it's rather located in a posh area of UK. How about the accommodation?
20-04-2009, 07:24 AM
Can any seniors please post something about Imperial, from the point of view of a Malaysian student?
Yea, i agree it's rather located in a posh area of UK. How about the accommodation?
Any specifics? Accommodation is guaranteed for first year students.
luminodreamer89
20-04-2009, 12:29 PM
Oh, so u r currently studying in Imperial, Sillyboy?
So, does that mean during second-year, we have to look for our own accommodation?
Actually, would like to know about the study life over there, recreational activities, sports, social life (not clubbing or partying whole night that type, XD) and other attractions or activities which we can do over there.
Sorry for asking so much...thanks in advance.
jminj
21-04-2009, 08:35 PM
Can I know more about Biological Science course in Manchester? It seems like Manchester has improved a lot recently.
teddyen
21-04-2009, 09:27 PM
yeah.. i know O_o
all the RAE and magazines and news they (Manchester U) send to us...
wonder if i made the wrong choice...
TheArtOfMedicine
21-04-2009, 09:48 PM
To be honest, RAE results mean very little to undergrads, you can always get your undergrad degree from a decent Uni(such as Manchester, Glasgow etc)and go on for a postrgrad course at other places like the Oxbridge.
But to be fair, Manchester IS a very good Uni, and its reputation is growing day by day.
22-04-2009, 11:02 PM
Oh, so u r currently studying in Imperial, Sillyboy?
So, does that mean during second-year, we have to look for our own accommodation?
Actually, would like to know about the study life over there, recreational activities, sports, social life (not clubbing or partying whole night that type, XD) and other attractions or activities which we can do over there.
Sorry for asking so much...thanks in advance.
Yes, we have to look for our own accommodation fo the second-year, unless you applied for hall senior positions!
Study life here is hectic! For me, there is never a day where I could go on without doing any work. Even if its just for half and hour, work has to be done! As for recreational activities, there are loads of them here! But come mid-term, it is a challenge to balance one's study social life so..=P Sports at Imperial is amazing! I am not a sporting person myself but judging from the articles from our weekly newspaper every week, we seem to be very capable in sports! Imperial is not all geeks and dorks you know!
If you have the money, social life is fantastic here! And when people say social life, it refers to clubbing and drinking most of the time. I rarely go for these events because I am not willing to spend that kind of money (15-20 pounds? Its like RM20 to them, cheap!). Lol, attractions..London is a tourists attraction itself! I am sure you've heard of Tralfagar Square, Hyde Park, Madama Tussauds and lots more! Camden.! Great place...!
teddyen
23-04-2009, 01:25 PM
To be honest, RAE results mean very little to undergrads, you can always get your undergrad degree from a decent Uni(such as Manchester, Glasgow etc)and go on for a postrgrad course at other places like the Oxbridge.
But to be fair, Manchester IS a very good Uni, and its reputation is growing day by day.
lolx, the I should aim for oxbridge to do my postgraduate! ^^
sillyboy's post makes me look forward to study there ever more :p
anglerfish_9
23-04-2009, 05:46 PM
yeah.. i know O_o
all the RAE and magazines and news they (Manchester U) send to us...
wonder if i made the wrong choice...
Hi! Are you going to Manchester too?
Can I know more about Biological Science course in Manchester? It seems like Manchester has improved a lot recently.
yeah, Manchester definitely is improving.
luminodreamer89
23-04-2009, 06:01 PM
thanks sillyboy...haha
what's hall-senior position actually?
yea, i m quite interested in sports. Play soccer, badminton..haha..then it will be really exciting, man.
good. I am not the clubbing type too. But about main attractions, yea, those definitely suit me..haha..
study life is hectic..oh my..actually i got an offer for EE Engineering. Do u know anyone who can provide me an insight of the workloads and study life of this course in Imperial?
thanks in advance again, sillyboy.
teddyen
23-04-2009, 07:27 PM
Hi! Are you going to Manchester too?
hehe, no, going to imperial college, IC
just had a confirmed place in ucas :p
and has anyone check out the imprial college freshers group in facebook too?
yeah, the part of a heavy work load worries me a bit... i must remind myself to do work and not procrastinate ><
me = world's largest procrastinator, and that's an understatement XD
unfortunately i don't do sports myself :p
TheArtOfMedicine
24-04-2009, 05:00 AM
lolx, the I should aim for oxbridge to do my postgraduate! ^^
sillyboy's post makes me look forward to study there ever more :p
One of my coursemates did his undergrad at Imperial College and managed to secure an offer to do postgrad at Cambridge but he declined it for Medicine at Bristol, somehow, it's not that hard to get a place for postgrad studies at Oxbridge(this is not applicable to undergrads sadly), according to him.
24-04-2009, 05:10 AM
thanks sillyboy...haha
what's hall-senior position actually?
yea, i m quite interested in sports. Play soccer, badminton..haha..then it will be really exciting, man.
good. I am not the clubbing type too. But about main attractions, yea, those definitely suit me..haha..
study life is hectic..oh my..actually i got an offer for EE Engineering. Do u know anyone who can provide me an insight of the workloads and study life of this course in Imperial?
thanks in advance again, sillyboy.
You are welcome. =)
Basically, the job of a hall senior is to oversee and supervise the halls and provide assistance to their juniors should they need help. Most of them are second and third year students. Also, they are responsible for organising hall activities as well and some other stuff such as hall meetings, sorting out posts etc. However, their responsibility is not as heavy as those of sub-wardens and wardens.
EEE?? Muahaha. Be warned! EEE is definitely not any easy course! I have friends in the EEE department but not Malaysians, or maybe I have, I just don't realise. Most of the Malaysians I know hail from the Chem Eng. Department.
anglerfish_9
24-04-2009, 05:55 PM
hehe, no, going to imperial college, IC
just had a confirmed place in ucas :p
and has anyone check out the imprial college freshers group in facebook too?
yeah, the part of a heavy work load worries me a bit... i must remind myself to do work and not procrastinate ><
me = world's largest procrastinator, and that's an understatement XD
unfortunately i don't do sports myself :p
oic. Good luck then ^-^ Work hard!
sugarspice
25-04-2009, 03:54 PM
Yes, we have to look for our own accommodation fo the second-year, unless you applied for hall senior positions!
Study life here is hectic! For me, there is never a day where I could go on without doing any work. Even if its just for half and hour, work has to be done! As for recreational activities, there are loads of them here! But come mid-term, it is a challenge to balance one's study social life so..=P Sports at Imperial is amazing! I am not a sporting person myself but judging from the articles from our weekly newspaper every week, we seem to be very capable in sports! Imperial is not all geeks and dorks you know!
If you have the money, social life is fantastic here! And when people say social life, it refers to clubbing and drinking most of the time. I rarely go for these events because I am not willing to spend that kind of money (15-20 pounds? Its like RM20 to them, cheap!). Lol, attractions..London is a tourists attraction itself! I am sure you've heard of Tralfagar Square, Hyde Park, Madama Tussauds and lots more! Camden.! Great place...!
how did you guys prepare for ICMnite then if the workload is that heavy?! Fabulous! -i have seen most of the ICMnite videos posted up in FB.=)
by the way, does Imperial look seriously into students' attendance?
30-04-2009, 08:50 AM
how did you guys prepare for ICMnite then if the workload is that heavy?! Fabulous! -i have seen most of the ICMnite videos posted up in FB.=)
by the way, does Imperial look seriously into students' attendance?
For Mnight, well I am not so sure myself to be honest. I was one of the few who did not participate due to other commitments. What I do know is not of them knew what was expected of them from Mnight until after a few rehearsals, where they finally realise the magnitude of this student production. The reward was sweet though, putting up a great show for an audience enough to fill the whole of Great Hall at Sherfield was a truly remarkable feat. Ah yes, one can choose to participate in a few performances. For example there is dikir, the play and a few dances so if one has a role in all of them then, he/she will be extremely busy! On the other hand, I know some people who only joined one performance so it wasn't so bad for them. In addition, some are involved in the production for props and stuff.
Attendance? For my course, I don't think so.
wicked
15-05-2009, 10:27 PM
sillyboy,
i read somewhere that you're currently staying in pembridge. i'm actually considering it as my 1st choice since it's probably the cheapest single en-suite. would be glad if you can tell me more about it.