View Full Version : need help regarding aircraft technician scheme
odyssey
12-05-2005, 12:07 AM
hello, everyone,...I'm 18 years old ..juz finis SPM
lately i've been attendin interview on this aircraft technician skeme and i've been accepted to go singapore..
Basically, SIA engineering company wanting to train aircraft technician...under their skeme,..a person need one year training then 2 years work under SIA
i would like to know weather is it a good offer to go to singapore for this skeme???and izzit any career prospect after the 3 years contract????
if anyone know about this skeme,please sound out your view...
Thank you
mutterfricken
12-05-2005, 01:20 PM
As far as I know, Singapore is taking aviation industry very seriously. EDB is gearing its resources to become the hub of aviation industry in Asia (if I am not wrong).
10. These exciting projects in the aerospace industry will also create good jobs for our people. According to the EDB, the aerospace projects secured last year will create some 1,200 new jobs, when the projects are fully implemented. Given the nature of the aerospace industry, most of these will be high-skilled jobs.
11. To ensure that Singaporeans are prepared for these exciting job opportunities, EDB has been working closely with the tertiary institutions and other government agencies on several manpower training programmes. For instance, a career transition scheme has been put in place to facilitate former Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) technicians joining the aerospace industry. In addition, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) recently launched a new four-year aerospace engineering degree programme for aspiring aerospace talents.
For more information go to
http://www.sedb.com/edbcorp/sg/en_uk/index/in_the_news/2003/2005/the_opening_of_st.html
http://www.recom.org/internshipasia/content/view/18/38/
Personally, I feel that the prospect of the industry looks promising. Though not really sure what's going to happen in the future. I am going to do aerospace engineering with two other malaysians....
I would suggest that after the three years u should try to get a degree for aerospace engineering (a combination of aeronautical and astronautical engineering) from NTU. If u r still not convinced and would like to speak to a person with knows more about this industry maybe u can email the professor who is in charge of Aerospace Engineering in NTU
mshaker@<hidden> (he is from canada)
Hope that this will in one way or another help u make up ur mind. All in all, there is risk involved in whatever career path we choose. [/quote]
odyssey
12-05-2005, 10:15 PM
what is EDB :roll:
by the way if i go to this scheme...i juz get a cert only ...from wat i heard from the SIA ppl la.....
Nowadays , a cert is like nothing.....is it worth??
mutterfricken
12-05-2005, 10:54 PM
I wouldn't commit myself to say smt that I am not sure of. I think it would be best for u to approach SIA and ask them about the kind of recognition that the cert will get....... whether or not u can pursue a degree in any overseas university or even in NTU
EDB stands for Economic Development Board.... just go to the website and check out what they do if u r curious
13-05-2005, 12:56 AM
I'm assuming you're interested in airplanes & wanna work in this field.
Please answer the following questions, so that I can answer your question more accurately, if possible:
1. Have you considered other options like a course in aeronautical engineering e.g. there's a course in Aeronautical Engineering in UPM/UTM (not sure which one), or in Australia, or even in NTU?
2. Do you know exactly what an Aircraft Technician does?
3. How much do you know about SIA & their employment policy?
odyssey
13-05-2005, 11:46 AM
I'm assuming you're interested in airplanes & wanna work in this field.
Please answer the following questions, so that I can answer your question more accurately, if possible:
1. Have you considered other options like a course in aeronautical engineering e.g. there's a course in Aeronautical Engineering in UPM/UTM (not sure which one), or in Australia, or even in NTU?
2. Do you know exactly what an Aircraft Technician does?
3. How much do you know about SIA & their employment policy?
helo weich,
Your're right,i'm intrested in airplanes & wanna work in this field.
I have consider b4 the aeronautical engineering in MAS ....but muz study f6 first n not only tat ...muz get a very gud result only can op for tat course..
2. Usually an aircraft technician will assist the engineering in maintaining the aircraft or repairing the aircraft..
3. As far as i know, the SIA is a very big company n r well reconice in the world...
bout the emploment policy r 3 years bonded ...n got remuneration ........etc
13-05-2005, 02:50 PM
Hi odyssey,
From what I've heard, a graduate normally earns more than a technician so why not study hard for 2 years max and you are qualified for a higher paying job for the rest of your life? And in the case of a company doing badly which happens in cycles in the aerospace industry, the 1st to be laid off are mostly technicians....& Malaysian if compared to S'poreans....also there are not many choices in the region with regards to aircraft servicing.
I am no specialist in this field but if you've heard of the recent SIA layoffs which didn't happen too far back, you would realise that SIA/SIAEC only focuses on profits & at any time when there are problems they will just downsize their workforce normally with the help of the govt. Trade unions are useless and the head who was a Malaysian/Singapore-PR pilot and also responsible for initiating a strike was sacked and banned from entering S'pore!
Anyway, talk to a few more guys, if possible some of the aircraft technicians who are already working in S'pore/Malaysia to give you more insight. Most of us are students here so I would recommend that you join some of the online yahoogroups e.g.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aerom/join
I've started the above & there are a few engineers who are already working in Malaysia in it. They might have a better insight than me.
Here are some good links for you to see if it's suitable for you:
http://www.career.edu.my/path/desc.asp?career_id=219