View Full Version : Find your niche
stevemc90
16-05-2005, 02:36 PM
I see a lot of new form 6 students are having the same problem on what to choose, science or arts.
I really don't understand why do people (in general) still want to go for sci stream if they are weak in it especially when they did badly in SPM and still want to go for it. It might be your childhood dream or whatever to be the best sci guy but is that really your niche?
If you're weak in sci studies, my only advice to u is change to arts stream to make your life easier. You wouldnt want to waste your 2 years in F6 for nothing. Trust me, STPM is a do or die mission.
Arts stream is definately not that bad after all. Why are you not choosing arts stream? is it because that all your friends are in sci stream? don't follow your friends! they might be good in it and u might not.
Come to think of it, there are a lot, i mean a lot! sci stream (SS)students who flopped (unfortunately) their STPM and at the end of the day started to regret doing SS. Finally, where did they end up at? private colleges... studying? law, accounting, BA... etc....
Choose wisely my friends....
I was a science student in Form 5 and scored 9A in SPM.
I'm in Form 6's science stream now but I want to go for arts stream since I'm interested in history (which is offered for art class at my school) but not science & math.
Therefore, I filled up the form to apply for the transfer. Most of the teachers started their lessons already while I'm forced to study in science class for at least a month before my apply get approved from PPD. Teachers told me that the succeed rate for transfering is very low. Some even said that it's impossible for that, PPD won't allow science student to transfer into arts class as the government needs more specialist in science and technology.
I'm panicked, I don't know what should I do if I couldn't make it.
I decided to take Form 6 arts after SPM so I didn't apply for any college. And now they told me it's hard to get into arts stream. I felt like I'm wasting my time to study... :cry:
stevemc90
26-05-2005, 07:14 PM
I'm in Form 6's science stream now but I want to go for arts stream since I'm interested in history (which is offered for art class at my school) but not science & math.
Therefore, I filled up the form to apply for the transfer. Most of the teachers started their lessons already while I'm forced to study in science class for at least a month before my apply get approved from PPD. Teachers told me that the succeed rate for transfering is very low. Some even said that it's impossible for that, PPD won't allow science student to transfer into arts class as the government needs more specialist in science and technology.
I decided to take Form 6 arts after SPM so I didn't apply for any college. And now they told me it's hard to get into arts stream. I felt like I'm wasting my time to study... :cry:
what's PPD? well, u dont have to worry much as u can take history as an additional subject. well, as far as im concerned, u can change it anytime because ultimately when u register for subjects in STPM, u r the one who's doing it. you! not them...... even if u r in sci stream, when u register ur subs, u take all the arts' no one can do anything about it..... so, it's ur choice to choose the stream that u want. not the teachers.
are u in lower 6 now?
balderdash
26-05-2005, 11:33 PM
Jin: Are you quite sure that it's not allowed? Don't just ask your teacher - I suggest that you bring it up to the Education Department and file your own questions. A lot of these 'teacher say this and that' are rumours and it's best to find it out yourselves.
I had an aggregate of 9 for SPM (triple science stream) and I still got into Arts. Mine was a different case as I didn't do well enough in my sciences to get into F6 Science for first intake (I belong to the Y2K batch of F6 where we had 2 intakes). Anyway, after my results were released, I was offered Science but I could change back to ARts after that. Anyway, I had quite a few friends who successfully changed from science to arts.
If your school doens't allow you to (it's a common misconception that ARts will pull down a school's STPM results or whatever) - consider changing schools? But anyway - make sure that you do the procedure yourself in the department.
stevemc90
27-05-2005, 02:15 AM
i agree with balderdash :wink:
PPD is Pejabat Pelajaran (Pendidikan) Daerah.
Ya I'm in lower six now. Now I'm just waiting for the results from PPD. I've asked the teacher in-charge whether I need to go to PPD for the procedure but she said let the school settle for us first. If the apply was rejected, then only I can do the procedure myself in the department. But it takes about 1 month or even more time to wait for it... Today I did nothing in school again, stressed to stay in science class :(
B4 measuring our own ability,i think the most important of all is to choose the stream u r interested in.I m also waiting 4 approval from PPD to change into art stream. I felt like a rubbish now since i have rested for almost half a year n still don't get started 2 study in class properly.(furious,stressed n miserable are my feelins right now)
Totally agree !! What's the point to force us study science while we r not interested in it at all ><
stevemc90
27-05-2005, 05:11 PM
oh, i didnt know that you've got to go through PPD for changing stream.
anyway, it's not their call to decide it. you have to go to ppd (if possible) personally to deal with the officer there. instead of waiting, tell them your problem. they'll understand. dont worry, like i said... it's not their call.
lolilo
27-05-2005, 05:23 PM
oh, i didnt know that you've got to go through PPD for changing stream.
anyway, it's not their call to decide it. you have to go to ppd (if possible) personally to deal with the officer there. instead of waiting, tell them your problem. they'll understand. dont worry, like i said... it's not their call.
PPD?
i have been going to that place, 3 times i think, and i still don't get a letter for me to go form 6. unefficient nak mati.
i thought you have to deal with the school to change streams? maybe i have not been up to date, nvm.
I also dunno we need 2 go through PPD first b4 this .1 month!Can't they work faster?
stevemc90
27-05-2005, 10:07 PM
go to the office with your parents. make your parents shout at them (it works, trust me).... subsequently, they'll process the things faster.
Haha,this is definitely a good idea.Personally,I m not a people good at shouting(I mean in public),but who knows what someone will do in desperation?(I feel like shouting right now)
yen_05
29-05-2005, 11:45 PM
I don't think the application for transfering from science to humanities stream need the approval of PPD. In my opinion, the school teachers are the one will decide whether one student can change stream or not. What i am talking about here is, a science student can easily change to art stream. In my school, the students who are from science stream who wish to change to art can do so. What they have to do is just tell the teacher in charge of F6( hv to fill up a form too) that they want to change and after a meeting was held by the teachers, their application is approved the next day. I have a couple friends who change to art stream and they went in to the accounts class straight without any transit to the science classes where they are offered at first. BUT changing from humanities to science will need the approval of PPD.
30-05-2005, 07:48 AM
Totally agree !! What's the point to force us study science while we r not interested in it at all ><
cant agree more with this. What you can and what you like are two different things and normally those who succeed in their life are those who do what they like. Imagine that you are going to live with what you dont like for your whole life...
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.