View Full Version : Scholarships (JPA,Petronas,MARA, Telekom,Tenaga,BNM,...) FAQ
Pages :
[
19]
I applied for JPA_medic also...But I live in East Malaysia...Havent received the letter.... Hope can receive very soon.
kaiba
26-03-2006, 01:35 AM
I got a letter too, stating all the hospitals where you can go to on the 29th..anyone from Petaling Jaya/Kuala Lumpur area? Which hospital are you planning to attend?
im planning to go to k. terengganu hosp...but please, im feeling soo frustrated right here, im trying to access to telekom scholarship, but i have to keep on refreshing for maybe the past one hour....one more thing can anybody please be kind enogh to tell me whether we have to print telekom's form?? when is the closing date?? can somebody, please, please help me.... :(
I m so sorry to tell you tat da closing date is tomolo, 27th of march. keep trying ya~
kevinkent
26-03-2006, 02:38 AM
I got a letter too, stating all the hospitals where you can go to on the 29th..anyone from Petaling Jaya/Kuala Lumpur area? Which hospital are you planning to attend?
im planning to go to k. terengganu hosp...but please, im feeling soo frustrated right here, im trying to access to telekom scholarship, but i have to keep on refreshing for maybe the past one hour....one more thing can anybody please be kind enogh to tell me whether we have to print telekom's form?? when is the closing date?? can somebody, please, please help me.... :(
lianawakaka, if I am not mistaken, the deadline for Telekom scholarship is tomorrow....27th... no need to print the form... if you want.. you can print the first page of the form... but I had a check with the person who incharge( I called actually)... They said there is no need to print the form even I insisted that it is stated in the web page....so, it is up to you to decide whether you want to print it or not....but you gonna be faster... deadline tomorrow.... 8O
lianawakaka
26-03-2006, 07:28 AM
lianawakaka, if I am not mistaken, the deadline for Telekom scholarship is tomorrow....27th... no need to print the form... if you want.. you can print the first page of the form... but I had a check with the person who incharge( I called actually)... They said there is no need to print the form even I insisted that it is stated in the web page....so, it is up to you to decide whether you want to print it or not....but you gonna be faster... deadline tomorrow.... 8O
hi kevinkent an kaiba, thanks u ever so much, arghh....tomorrow.....print....arghhh..im trying here....so we dont need to print?? then wat do we have to send then?? just the certificates and slip peperiksaan? or anything else?? oh please tell me, huhuhuhuhu
garycwj
26-03-2006, 11:05 AM
yeah..i am facing the same problem.i dont know which page to refer to.the site also says that we have to send in an essay about ourselves.what exactly do we send in?!help!
garycwj
26-03-2006, 11:05 AM
yeah..i am facing the same problem.i dont know which page to refer to.the site also says that we have to send in an essay about ourselves.what exactly do we send in?!help!
garycwj
26-03-2006, 11:15 AM
WinnieH
26-03-2006, 11:18 AM
I am so curious, what letter you people have been received form jpa ?
argh i didn't receive any letter... and the petronas is so weird! today i tried to sign in with my password & no. kad pengenalan to check it out but they say my password salah. it can't be... i even wrote down the password! soooo weird.
lianawakaka
26-03-2006, 01:01 PM
telekom telekom telekomm....i'll sue you!!! hahahaha.... :twisted:
kaiba
26-03-2006, 01:08 PM
go n click om "dokumen permohonan" n they will tell u wat 2 send. these r the documents needed. hurry up ya~ gambate yo
Salinan Kad Pengenalan pelajar
Salinan Kad Pengenalan ibubapa atau penjaga
Salinan sijil SPM/STPM, diploma atau sijil-sijil akademik yang berkaitan.
Salinan sijil Kokurikulum
Salinan slip gaji ibubapa atau pengesahan pendapatan ibubapa/penjaga mengikut format yang ditetapkan.
Surat tawaran kemasukan ke universiti.
lianawakaka
26-03-2006, 02:35 PM
thanks kaiba, but i think, its too late right now....hmmm....i dont minda lah, my target is medic actually, so nv mind....ape2 pun, tq ever soo much to u all...hehehehe
lianawakaka
26-03-2006, 02:39 PM
anyway, i cant even get in there, so i didnt know where the dokumen permohonan is...i just sempat isi online...i didnt even print or watsoever,....arghh,....still hates this telekom thingys...grrr
26-03-2006, 03:26 PM
lianawakaka.....(cute nickname :lol: )
seems like we're in the same boat.....I hate the TELEKOM thingy too!......I reboot my pc for almost 4 to 5 times just to fill in my on9 application form!....coz the error msgs always came out ...it's damn troublesome!
sincerehart
26-03-2006, 03:45 PM
hello
i'm new. . it's really very informative. wished i'd found this site earlier before i accepted asean a level where it's most unlikely to get medic at nus. relatives saying ...oh such a waste to turn down offer , not anybody can get it, edu in neighbouring is so good..blah, blah, blah and it'll cost a lot to study there with own $$$. well, better late than never ..(knowing)
go south for asean , now stuck in the middle....aiyo
also got the letter for pendedahan program. will have to skip school for this.
lianawakaka
26-03-2006, 09:35 PM
lianawakaka.....(cute nickname :lol: )
seems like we're in the same boat.....I hate the TELEKOM thingy too!......I reboot my pc for almost 4 to 5 times just to fill in my on9 application form!....coz the error msgs always came out ...it's damn troublesome!
hehehhe.....kita serupaaa....hehehe....(ok that's a song ok?, hehehe) anyway, everything is too late right now, and i never want to think about this telekom thing again....i forgive u telekom, for all the mess uve done to my hair, for all the terrible things i said when i cant get in there, and alllll the terrible things uve make me do...oh telekom...i forgive u.....harrr....hey, about that jpa letter....let's get back to it ok? im sorry i messed this thread with my terrible prob...lolz...sorry...let's get started again with this jpa letter ok? i'll go to hospitall k. terengganu....anybody going there? i dont really think so....huhuhhuhu
wanicute1988
27-03-2006, 10:10 PM
anyway lianawakaka i'm also going to k.trg hosp. tis wed...hope to meet u there..
lianawakaka
27-03-2006, 10:14 PM
anyway lianawakaka i'm also going to k.trg hosp. tis wed...hope to meet u there..
really?? wowww....that's cool!! tell me what would u wear that day ya? hehehe :lol:
wanicute1988
27-03-2006, 10:21 PM
erm,i think baju kurung would be nice...after all we're going to the hosp right?should wear decent clothes kan...what bout u then.what r u going to wear.
lianawakaka
27-03-2006, 11:12 PM
i dont think this is the right place to tell this, but well, im wearing punjabi clothes i think....but i would also consider wearing baju kurung......either one laaa....eh wani, i think after this we should pm la....hehehehe....this is totally not the place to sembang2....hehehe...sorry guys.... :?
WinnieH
28-03-2006, 10:30 AM
hey anyone who choose pharmacy in jpa got their letter ady??
kaiba
28-03-2006, 12:12 PM
hey, wat about engineering?? any news about engineering from jpa??? i m getting nervous here, tension lvl increasing..
WinnieH
28-03-2006, 12:21 PM
hey, wat about engineering?? any news about engineering from jpa??? i m getting nervous here, tension lvl increasing..
true. im so scared. i hope i get to go for the interview. geez. being able to go for the interview is like having a 50% hope.
nikita
28-03-2006, 01:51 PM
i applied for dentistry and nope i aint got no lettters with me...
anyway, i've got one important question.... is it ok if we didnt print the slip pembuktian or something?? due to some technical problem, i dont get to print it....hopefully someone who went thru JPA can help... thx in advance..
hey, you know what? we are extremely in the same situation..
i also applied for dentistry and i got no letters wif me
i also didn't get to print the slip due to some technical problems and yesterday i'd called jpa about the probs..and this friendly operator said it's ok but we should tell the interviewer in the interview
although it was not a problem anymore, i am quite feared a little bit because i am afraid the interviewer won't like the situation that we don't have the slip and other does..
and lastly, is dentistry under medic too?
nikita
28-03-2006, 02:16 PM
i applied for dentistry and nope i aint got no lettters with me...
anyway, i've got one important question.... is it ok if we didnt print the slip pembuktian or something?? due to some technical problem, i dont get to print it....hopefully someone who went thru JPA can help... thx in advance..
Do try to contact JPA and check whether your application is successfully submitted. That piece of slip pembuktian is important, if JPA says that they didn't receive your application, and you claimed that you did submit. It would be a proof of submission.
to kiddskater:
yeahh..you should contact JPA..i had called yesterday and because
they confirmed i already submitted the applications, it's ok if i don't have the slip..good luck to you..hope we both managed to pursue our studies in dentistry..chaiyok!
mikawing
28-03-2006, 04:55 PM
I got the JPA letter, applied for medicine...now I am terrified, augh! Anyone going to Selayang hospital? See u there ;)
garycwj
28-03-2006, 04:58 PM
hey engineers out there, anyone got any letters from jpa?how about any news from other scholarships??
WinnieH
28-03-2006, 05:06 PM
hey engineers out there, anyone got any letters from jpa?how about any news from other scholarships??
that's what i've been asking aorund... so scared...
kevinkent
28-03-2006, 05:32 PM
that's what i've been asking aorund... so scared...
I think the results will be out soon in the early of April...
By the way, for those who got the offer letter... congrats!!!
Other than that, we should get ourselves fully prepared and pray, pray, pray.......... OMG.........
28-03-2006, 07:42 PM
Basically, only those that apply for medicine have received the letters to call for hospital attachment. If you are applying for medicine and do not receive the letter, please contact JPA immediately. The hospital attachment starts tomorrow (29th March) for 3 days.
For those that are applying for other majors, do check on JPA Esila website for the list of those shortlisted for interview. Interview should be by around week 2 of April.
Good Luck!
garycwj
28-03-2006, 11:19 PM
congrats to those who got the letters man...a glimer of hope!haha..wanna wish u guys all the best in the 3 day ordeal...
WinnieH
28-03-2006, 11:21 PM
congrats to those who got the letters man...a glimer of hope!haha..wanna wish u guys all the best in the 3 day ordeal...
3 days ordeal? i would say 3 days full of excitement and fun!! visiting the morgue... imagine it... wow. i wish i could do that... but too bad i didnt apply for medic.
kaiba
29-03-2006, 01:35 AM
hey, 4 those who r goin 2 GH( general hospital ), good luck ya!
chriss
29-03-2006, 10:29 AM
How can we check for jpa shortlist. I can't even get into its list. Does that means i have already fail??????? NO!!!!!!!!!!!
WinnieH
29-03-2006, 10:34 AM
How can we check for jpa shortlist. I can't even get into its list. Does that means i have already fail??????? NO!!!!!!!!!!!
nola dont worry. i went to esila website and log in ady. it says akhir march or early april they will announce on the webby. so keep on looking
chriss
29-03-2006, 11:30 AM
Thx :lol: Phew!! Btw, what are you applying for? Medic?
WinnieH
29-03-2006, 02:30 PM
nope. pharmacy. what did u apply chriss?
lianawakaka
29-03-2006, 09:08 PM
just went back from this pendedahan kerjaya today..... and u know wat, just wanted to tell, that it is soo awesome!!! tomorrow will be much more exciting, im so sure of that.... phew...cant wait tilll tomorrow loo... :D :D :D :D :D
:arrow: lianawakaka... or who went to pendedahan thingy...
awesome huh... :twisted: GUD LUCK ... :wink: may GOD bless you all and secure the PSD scholarships!! gambateh... :wink:
mind to share the tentative of the whole day programme? coz im not in the list of applying medic in the psd scholarships..haha...
im in those who applied for engineering...haha...and very curious about the pendedahan thingy... :wink:
btw...wat dresscode do u put on today?...
crapzzz
30-03-2006, 12:05 AM
Wish u all best of luck to get the PSD scholarship........ they say the shortlisted candidates list will come out on the end of march.. is it 2mr?? Lets hope for the best!!!
rulesbreaker_emm
30-03-2006, 01:36 AM
hellop,
i am a new member here...i been reading all this thread ang it takes me about 2 month to finish all this thread..
i just got a letter that i am shortlisted for exposure programme for hospital attachment.i am just wondering those who are being shortlisted are people who only apply for medik oversea programme or for dentistry,pharmacy and medik applicant...
but today experiences are priceless....i cant wait ti visit operating theatre...haha..must be fun..
fantasia_gurl
30-03-2006, 08:45 AM
hellop,
i am a new member here...i been reading all this thread ang it takes me about 2 month to finish all this thread..
i just got a letter that i am shortlisted for exposure programme for hospital attachment.i am just wondering those who are being shortlisted are people who only apply for medik oversea programme or for dentistry,pharmacy and medik applicant...
but today experiences are priceless....i cant wait ti visit operating theatre...haha..must be fun..
that program is 4 medic applicants only... i think..
my friends who apply for dentistry didnt get that letter
chriss
30-03-2006, 10:52 AM
nope. pharmacy. what did u apply chriss?
Pharmacy also........ :oops: Then we will be competitors. Hope we can get to the same college. Then i can know who are you.
Thingy
30-03-2006, 12:48 PM
program diploma kejuruteraan jepun for jpa...anyone?
kaiba
30-03-2006, 03:45 PM
At first i wnted to apply 4 tat..but then..i changed my mind. arh..i reali wanted to go japan man..
victorvandort
30-03-2006, 04:23 PM
can anyone tell me for these few scholarships, normally which college do they send u to for ur pre-university studies? those private colleges(taylors etc), or those kolej mara kinda colleges?
1. JPA
2.BNM
3. KHAZANAH
wanicute1988
30-03-2006, 07:10 PM
erlo lianawakaka..hmm...never had chance to meet u there.anyway what group r u in.
Tasslehoff
30-03-2006, 07:17 PM
the list is out.. check your interview dates here:
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/semakan_permohonan_temuduga_ic.php
30-03-2006, 11:39 PM
Can we have a little recom gang-up during the interview? i'll be going to shah alam.... who's joining me? ^^
lianawakaka
31-03-2006, 01:36 AM
erlo lianawakaka..hmm...never had chance to meet u there.anyway what group r u in.
hahahaa....im in group 3....wat group are u in? if u remember, im the one who are late at the first day and wears that punjabi ...hehehhe...so malula, the only one not wearing baju kurung :oops: ngeee.... nv mind lah... anyway, that program rockss!!
garycwj
31-03-2006, 01:53 AM
hie..i didnt get the call for the interview.but i duwana givup yet.hehe..how do i appeal?has any1 here done this b4?share sum experience plz..
kaiba
31-03-2006, 02:38 AM
i din get mine ....well, my senior asked me 2 appeal.so, i will b goin down 2 putra jaya 2molo n hang in my surat rayuan. many of my frens who r not active in sports n goy Bs 4 BM got the call 4 interview, ( note:medcine) . isnt it unfair...i m reali heart broken...sort of like speechless. i checked twice, haha , juz 2 make sure. A fren of mine checked 6 times...haha. 2 those who deserve 2 get, dun giv up, keep trying ya, is 4 ur own future.
ja, gambate yo~ :D
nookief
31-03-2006, 10:08 AM
im new here! a very exciting webpage!
hahahha! respek2! :lol:
wanna give some comment here thou!
1st, telekom is owayz bad in each n everything they had done...
service , product , even education! huhU! :twisted:
2nd, i wad just thinking (while ago) about the interview~
jpa's is just around the corner! mine is this 7th april! (im in sarawak)
huhu! so got about a week left! so why dont we (o1o5 spm candidates!) open a new channel in IRc n discuss about this!
got sumthing to share thou!
wanicute1988
31-03-2006, 11:52 AM
oo...u were the one who wore red punjabi on the first day.i'm olso in group 3.hahaha...u wear specs kan.what a coincidence..kuang3..
WinnieH
31-03-2006, 12:48 PM
i din get mine ....well, my senior asked me 2 appeal.so, i will b goin down 2 putra jaya 2molo n hang in my surat rayuan. many of my frens who r not active in sports n goy Bs 4 BM got the call 4 interview, ( note:medcine) . isnt it unfair...i m reali heart broken...sort of like speechless. i checked twice, haha , juz 2 make sure. A fren of mine checked 6 times...haha. 2 those who deserve 2 get, dun giv up, keep trying ya, is 4 ur own future.
ok. do we have to personslly go to putrajaya to appeal?? r u guys appealing for jpa? i didnt get mine too... my biology is B3, add maths A1, chemistry is A1.. and i pilih pharmacy. do u think they'll take a look at my biology results for pharmacY???
kaiba
31-03-2006, 04:44 PM
ok. do we have to personslly go to putrajaya to appeal?? r u guys appealing for jpa? i didnt get mine too... my biology is B3, add maths A1, chemistry is A1.. and i pilih pharmacy. do u think they'll take a look at my biology results for pharmacY???
my bio also A2, therefore i din select pharmacy, instead i choose engineering. yup, i send in my appeal letter alreadi, but they will only process it on MOnday coz 2molo n the day after 2molo is a holiday u see. so, all the best ya.
i dun really keep up wif de educamp timetable (petronas sponsorship)
thing...so when is it ? coz no one seem to talk bout it...hehe...n we were told to move classes nx week bcoz of the educamp...
da_brightgurl
31-03-2006, 10:03 PM
well,i choose dip.kejuruteraan rep.korea
luv dat country so~much :D
nookief
31-03-2006, 11:19 PM
luv dat country so~much Very Happy
love the country or the drama!? haha! no offense!
i dun really keep up wif de educamp timetable (petronas sponsorship)
thing...so when is it ? coz no one seem to talk bout it...hehe...n we were told to move classes nx week bcoz of the educamp...
i think they need to have preparation first. most likely it'll be around the 19th this month or within that week. anyway, its just my opinion, not PETRONAS.
lianawakaka
01-04-2006, 08:23 PM
oo...u were the one who wore red punjabi on the first day.i'm olso in group 3.hahaha...u wear specs kan.what a coincidence..kuang3..
eh?? u also in group 3 ah??? nv mind that la....im kinda worried about the interview now :? , just checked this morning and it's on 4th april!! at kustem...im sure u will be there too right wani? how about ur borang? have u filled it up yet? i've no idea wat to write...hrmm....anyway, about that petronas educamp, i've checked this morning at their website....hmmm....seems like nothing been told... i wonder when is it....
rulesbreaker_emm
02-04-2006, 01:43 PM
hellop recomers,
my interview will be on tuesday....i am damn scared....never felt like this before.....my chance of getting this scholarship is only 25%...there are 1800 people apply for medik...only 400 of them will win this lottery....haha..my place for this interview is at kajang...anyone going there with me on the 4th?i guess i just have to show the interviewer who am i really are and cross my fingger waiting for the result.... :!: :?:
02-04-2006, 04:26 PM
For those who want to appeal, please do it as soon as possible. If you could make it, try to go to JPA on Monday at Putrajaya to appeal. Most of the JPA officers may or may not be there already, as interview would be at throughout the country. I am not sure whether they would drive/fly to various parts of country over the weekends or on Monday.
But to those who have met the minimum requirement, i.e. at least A2 for all those core subjects, do try and submit your appeal letters.
Good Luck!
To those taking the interview, good luck too~! Share your experience here in ReCom.org~!
johntck
02-04-2006, 05:20 PM
Hi, i am a new guy in this forum.
I get JPA interview also, but the interview takes place in penang USM.i hope to know whether got somebody else is going to interview here????
huili33
02-04-2006, 08:31 PM
hello there!! i'm a first timer with recom.org n have just been called for the JPA interview. Anyone out there that can share some tips to get through the interview? Thanx...
huili33
02-04-2006, 08:37 PM
Can we have a little recom gang-up during the interview? i'll be going to shah alam.... who's joining me? ^^
HI!! i'm going to shah alam to. when's ur interview??
da_brightgurl
02-04-2006, 09:21 PM
luv dat country so~much Very Happy
love the country or the drama!? haha! no offense!
same lar 2 :lol:
heY.. askum n gd day
juz wanna leave some tips for pets scholars who r currently doing their foundation studies in taylors,sunway,kdu and intec
was told that pet hv finalised ur destination country since ur start of pre-u. well its an advantage for u guys... pet always changes its policy thorugh time and thats not shocked.
to those who r going to oz,i strongly recommed u all to only apply for 2 uni of ur choice. say melbun/anu.
hit me back if u wanna know y. =)
regards
Hi everyone :o
I am new here so forgive me if I post this in the wrong place. :oops:
Does anyone know when petronas will announce the shortlist for the scholarships?
WinnieH
04-04-2006, 10:29 AM
Hi everyone :o
I am new here so forgive me if I post this in the wrong place. :oops:
Does anyone know when petronas will announce the shortlist for the scholarships?
they say only shorlisted will be contacted. i've not been contacted ... so i'm not so sure if i get it or not... i dont see anyone else being contacted either.
garycwj
04-04-2006, 10:49 AM
ul have to check the site from time to time.the site should announce once the results r out.i heard that it will b most prob this week or next week...
Thanks for all the replies. :)
I just checked the site, esuonline.petronas.com.my there were no updates yet. So I dont think it is announced yet. Fingers crossed, hopefully I'll be shortlisted...
khiRULEz
04-04-2006, 06:16 PM
Hie everyone.. I'm a BNM scholar. Anyone applying for BNM? Well.. please be warned.. They have very high expectations. I'm quite lucky because since im the first batch to the US, they set the requirements lower (Minimum SAT 1200). This year's batch's minimum SAT score is 1350. Honestly, I'm not discouraging anyone from applying, just want to inform you guys.
I was quite stressed when I first got the scholarship because of their high expectations. They told us that they would only continue to sponsor us IF we get the TOP TEN universities in the US (MIT, Harvard, Yale, Princeton etc etc). I had sleepless nights thinking about it! T.T
If the 1200 SAT score requirement is the good part, then the bad part would be their inexperience. Since I'm the first batch (TO THE US), they are not familiar with the system. I signed my contract late, received my allowances late, etc. Everything was late! But im sure they are efficient now with the second batch ;-)
Okay, back to the scholarship.. I had to go through TWO interviews. The first round, I had to write TWO essays (one in Bahasa and one in English), I had to do an individual presentation and a group presentation. The second round was just a three-to-one interview (three BNM people and one ME). Just be sure to GET ALONG with everybody okay. I realized that the people who got the scholarship in the end are people who have PR skills. You don't need to have superb SPM results, honestly. It's not their main concern. Yeam, BNM scholar-Aussie bound-my friend, got a B for Bio. He got a couple of A2s too. But he got SUPERB PR skills. Even at INTEC, he knows everyone! Saying 'hie' & 'bye' 24/7. My point is, just be friendly and try to cooperate with your group members in the group presentation ;-)
What else...?? Well, they treat us nice. They invite us for the BNM annual dinner, scholar's day, etc etc. I received a watch (nice!) and numerous personalized BNM stuffs. Oh yeah, their annual dinner got Shelley Leong and Anuar Zain. Not bad right?
Ask me if you have any questions. And please excuse my poor english and informal tone =)
Does any bond attached to the BNM scholarship? What i mean is do we have to work for them after graduated?
munyi88
04-04-2006, 10:42 PM
HI!! i'm going to shah alam to. when's ur interview??
i'm going there on 6th! who's going too? lets gang-up...
khiRULEz
05-04-2006, 12:09 AM
Does any bond attached to the BNM scholarship? What i mean is do we have to work for them after graduated?
Well.. the bond is pretty long. Hehe. 10 years. But you shouldn't let the bond discourage you. First of all, it's good to work with the Central Bank for a few years to gain some experience etc. Work experience in the Central Bank is a plus plus! And, you don't have to worry about unemployment =p
And trust me, I've met the Seniors scholars (those who had graduated). They gave us a talk on Scholar's Day. They have been working for a year or so with the Central Bank. One was from Cambridge, one from LSE, one from Aussie and the other one I forgot. But all of them came from prestigious universities! So, don't imagine that you'll be working with incompetent people around you. It'll be a good working environment =)
Well.. the bond is pretty long. Hehe. 10 years. But you shouldn't let the bond discourage you. First of all, it's good to work with the Central Bank for a few years to gain some experience etc. Work experience in the Central Bank is a plus plus! And, you don't have to worry about unemployment =p
And trust me, I've met the Seniors scholars (those who had graduated). They gave us a talk on Scholar's Day. They have been working for a year or so with the Central Bank. One was from Cambridge, one from LSE, one from Aussie and the other one I forgot. But all of them came from prestigious universities! So, don't imagine that you'll be working with incompetent people around you. It'll be a good working environment =)
talk about it.......a friend of mine didn't want to try BMN even though she has an offer from LSE.................................
garycwj
05-04-2006, 12:21 PM
hi, i wanna ask those who have gone for interview. is information about jpa important?(when they started sponsoring,how long is the bond,etc etc?)
Is anyone going to SC's interview tomorrow ( Thursday 1.30pm ) ????
erm, should I go ? I am from Johor and I don't think I would accept the offer EVEN IF I am selected because the course that I chose was Business Administration. People have been saying ( Business is for less incompetent students who have much lower grades ) , Come to think of it, its kinda true......
What do you guys think ?
erm, should I go ? I am from Johor and I don't think I would accept the offer EVEN IF I am selected because the course that I chose was Business Administration. People have been saying ( Business is for less incompetent students who have much lower grades ) , Come to think of it, its kinda true......
What do you guys think ?
If you really like business administartion, go for it my friend. Dont bother of what people say. I wish you all the best and I hope you wont make the wrong decision, like me. :cry: Everybody advice me to take medic, pharmacy or dentistry. I chose pharmacy for most of the scholarships that I apply and now I begin to regret. My choice is engineering.... I should have followed my heart. *sigh*
kevinkent
05-04-2006, 06:35 PM
What do you guys think ?
If you really like business administartion, go for it my friend. Dont bother of what people say. I wish you all the best and I hope you wont make the wrong decision, like me. :cry: Everybody advice me to take medic, pharmacy or dentistry. I chose pharmacy for most of the scholarships that I apply and now I begin to regret. My choice is engineering.... I should have followed my heart. *sigh*
Pharmacy not bad too ma...
One Q, you prefer to do technical stuffs or not??
If the answer is yes, then you are really into engineering...
My two cents... :wink:
Joep wrote:
What do you guys think ?
If you really like business administartion, go for it my friend. Dont bother of what people say. I wish you all the best and I hope you wont make the wrong decision, like me. Everybody advice me to take medic, pharmacy or dentistry. I chose pharmacy for most of the scholarships that I apply and now I begin to regret. My choice is engineering.... I should have followed my heart. *sigh*
How SC informed you that you got the SC interview?
they called all those who are shortlisted yesterday (tuesday or today). according to the officer, there's 500 over applicants who applied and the interview will be conducted on thursday and friday. all the best for those who's going ! :D
they called all those who are shortlisted yesterday (tuesday or today). according to the officer, there's 500 over applicants who applied and the interview will be conducted on thursday and friday. all the best for those who's going !
Then i failed to get SC interview already :(
huili33
05-04-2006, 07:55 PM
means if no call by 2day, means din get SC interview?
What do you guys think ?
I dont mind technical stuff.... my favourite subject is physics, physics is more to engineering. :D
kevinkent
05-04-2006, 08:53 PM
What do you guys think ?
I dont mind technical stuff.... my favourite subject is physics, physics is more to engineering. :D
Owh, I see...
Then maybe if you got selected for the interviews, you can tell the interviewers about what you really have interest in... I don't think they will penalize you or anything...
WinnieH
06-04-2006, 11:52 AM
have you got the call from them? or email?? is there any news bout bnm??
hummybear
06-04-2006, 12:33 PM
have you got the call from them? or email?? is there any news bout bnm??
yes, but it depends on your total study years. the bond is double of them. if u study for 4 years, then the bond shud b 8 years. if 5, the bond is 10 years.
Jhuen
06-04-2006, 03:46 PM
They gave us a talk on Scholar's Day. They have been working for a year or so with the Central Bank. One was from Cambridge, one from LSE, one from Aussie and the other one I forgot. But all of them came from prestigious universities! So, don't imagine that you'll be working with incompetent people around you. It'll be a good working environment =)
the other girl's from City University-ac science!
penguinelle
06-04-2006, 04:14 PM
Hie everyone.. I'm a BNM scholar. Anyone applying for BNM? Well.. please be warned.. They have very high expectations. I'm quite lucky because since im the first batch to the US, they set the requirements lower (Minimum SAT 1200). This year's batch's minimum SAT score is 1350. Honestly, I'm not discouraging anyone from applying, just want to inform you guys.
Okay, back to the scholarship.. I had to go through TWO interviews. The first round, I had to write TWO essays (one in Bahasa and one in English), I had to do an individual presentation and a group presentation. The second round was just a three-to-one interview (three BNM people and one ME). Just be sure to GET ALONG with everybody okay. I realized that the people who got the scholarship in the end are people who have PR skills. You don't need to have superb SPM results, honestly. It's not their main concern. Yeam, BNM scholar-Aussie bound-my friend, got a B for Bio. He got a couple of A2s too. But he got SUPERB PR skills. Even at INTEC, he knows everyone! Saying 'hie' & 'bye' 24/7. My point is, just be friendly and try to cooperate with your group members in the group presentation ;-)
What else...?? Well, they treat us nice. They invite us for the BNM annual dinner, scholar's day, etc etc. I received a watch (nice!) and numerous personalized BNM stuffs. Oh yeah, their annual dinner got Shelley Leong and Anuar Zain. Not bad right?
Ask me if you have any questions. And please excuse my poor english and informal tone =)
that was really informative, and it sounds much tougher than the JPA interview -_______-
BTW, how would you know whether you're shortlisted or not? When did they notify you?
WinnieH
06-04-2006, 04:23 PM
wow... amazing. bnm treats you people so well.... but i'm still puzzled over this---> when will they notify the shortlisted?
rhinoceros
06-04-2006, 07:08 PM
hello everyone.. i'm new here... anyone went to SC's interview just now? how was it?? i've got an interview with them tomorrow at 2.15!!! i'm really nervous.... what happens if they ask me a question and i can't answer it?? what should i say?? would they ask questions about SC?? aaaaaa! this is my first interview!! someone please help me out.. i'm not really sure what SC is all about! S.O.S!
Wat is SC???? i am new here too.....
security commission
khiRULEz
06-04-2006, 08:36 PM
wow... amazing. bnm treats you people so well.... but i'm still puzzled over this---> when will they notify the shortlisted?
They will call you. They called my house number and my handphone. So, just be sure to have you handphones with you at all times =)
Did you apply for it? If you are still waiting for their reply, maybe you can give them a call. I remember my SECOND interview was on the 12th of April.
All the best yea =)
06-04-2006, 08:46 PM
hello everyone.. i'm new here... anyone went to SC's interview just now? how was it?? i've got an interview with them tomorrow at 2.15!!! i'm really nervous.... what happens if they ask me a question and i can't answer it?? what should i say?? would they ask questions about SC?? aaaaaa! this is my first interview!! someone please help me out.. i'm not really sure what SC is all about! S.O.S!
If you are applying for a scholarship from an agency, it is a must that you should know what they are doing. You can just easily google their website. So, do take action to do that.
Be yourself, and try your best. SC is famous for its tough interview questions.
I am not 100% sure whether this is from SC interview. It is from one of the interviews that I read posted in ReCom for the past years.
1. Each of you will role play a certain minister. There will be around 10 ministers and each of you will hold a certain portfolio, eg: Education Minister, Agricultural Minister etc. And you are given instruction to request for budget, and the interview is the process of you all negotiating the budget. The overall budget would not be sufficient for all ministries, but you all would be there to negotiate. They observe how you discuss, how you speak, how you think, how you present, how you listen, how you summarize, how you lead, how you follow others, etc.
2. They give you scenario, eg. there is a protest in village against the management of a factory, and they first ask you to give points based on the villagers. After you give all the points, they will tell you that given all the points that you have given, right now, you switch role to be management of a factory, and you would need to rebut. They are looking at how good you are at structuring your points, arguments, discussion etc.
3. Each of you role play certain roles, and all of you are on a boat. And you all would need to discuss that some of you would have to be drown in the boat. If no one gives up, everyone would be drown. Again, they are looking for stuff that I mention in number 1.
I believe that the interview is pretty good. Good Luck to everyone.
Really hope that everyone would be active in ReCom. ReCom is only as good as its members. And I really hope that fellow ReComers are not like "Kacang lupakan Kulit" who would leave ReCom once you get whatever you need from ReCom. ReCom is a community of Malaysians to share and learn together. It is a community where it provides us a platform to share and learn together, to discuss any issue, to seek help and more importantly provide help to other fellow Malaysians. It is also a way for us to interact, network, know many more Malaysians etc. So, I really hope that everyone would continue to add value to ReCom. Please feel free to share any of your life experience in ReCom, initiate any discussion in ReCom, post any of your thoughts on any issue discussed etc.
WinnieH
06-04-2006, 11:08 PM
They will call you. They called my house number and my handphone. So, just be sure to have you handphones with you at all times =)
Did you apply for it? If you are still waiting for their reply, maybe you can give them a call. I remember my SECOND interview was on the 12th of April.
All the best yea =)
really? cool. do i get their number from their website?
khiRULEz
07-04-2006, 01:16 AM
All the best yea =)
Yups.. the number should be at their website.
Hey, my SC interview is tomorrow too! 3.15 pm.
See you there rhinoceros!
Chenchow, I think perhaps that kind of interview is for the later stage. The lady who called told me that for this round there will be 12 panel members in 12 different rooms and you will be interviewed one on one.
At least that's what I think she said (the connection wasn't so good) so sorry if i'm wrong! :P
kamikraze
07-04-2006, 10:17 AM
mmm..
may i ask something..
did u know the format of Mara interview?
did the interview same every year??
i heard that we should write an essay around 3000words..
and need to write about ourself..
pls help me.. i'll go to the interview next week..
so i need more preparation for it..
reply a.s.a.p.. pls.. :( :( :(
fantasia_gurl
07-04-2006, 10:46 AM
can someone tell me how to take medicine in india?( sponsored by jpa or mara)
is that for school leaver or matriculation student?
Nichole
07-04-2006, 06:31 PM
I'm new here!! Anyone know when will they notify the shortlisted 4 JPA scholarship?? They wil notify during end of April or early of May?? Thx 4 enlighten me!!!Pls excuse 4 my poor english n informal tone!!
Anyone applied for telekom scholarship? :D
Anyone applied for telekom scholarship?
its me,..got interview tomorrow. Do you have interview tomorrow also?
Larry
07-04-2006, 09:32 PM
Anyone applied for telekom scholarship?
its me,..got interview tomorrow. Do you have interview tomorrow also?
How do we check whether we are shorlisted?
S-Ann
07-04-2006, 09:37 PM
Yeah, FTK...how do we check whether we are shortlisted?Telekom send you a letter by post or what?Please answer quick...I am very curious right now...no one seems to know anything except for you...Thanks!
S-Ann: i've replied ur PM.
they called me yesterday to inform me about the interview. All of my friends that got the interview are being informed by phone too. I'm not sure for those who applied for local scholarship. Maybe you should call the person in charge tomorrow to be sure.
aiayakkk, looks like i misread what hope said, i thought its tenaga scholarship. so malu laaahh... :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
*run away*
rhinoceros
07-04-2006, 11:03 PM
hey hope! i've also applied for telekom's scholarship.. but i still haven't got answers yet... does anyone know whether they have given out their answers or not??
S-Ann
07-04-2006, 11:34 PM
I don't think the result of the Telekom scholarship is out yet cause i have just received my acknowledgement (the white card) yesterday.Perhaps, the result won't be out so soon yet.Anyway, that is just my assumption only.Sorry if i am wrong. :wink:
garycwj
08-04-2006, 10:01 AM
the results of the jpa selection will be on the third week of april for those applying for korean and jap programmes. the rest will b announced at the end of may. check the esila site from time 2 time...all the best! :)
I have no idea when the results for telekom cholarship will be out. That is what I wanted to ask.
So ftk, you are going for tenaga scholarship. Good luck to you. :)
To s-ann: I didn't receive any white card. 8O You applied using borang or online?
S-Ann
08-04-2006, 10:39 AM
To s-ann: I didn't receive any white card. 8O You applied using borang or online?
I bought the Telekom form and sent it by post.Many of my friends got the acknowledgement card already but we got the it at different time.How about you?How did you apply for the Telekom scholarship?
I see. I applied online maybe that is why I didn't receive it.
Good luck to you. :)
S-Ann
08-04-2006, 11:03 AM
I see. I applied online maybe that is why I didn't receive it.
Good luck to you. :)
I see.If that is the case, then you will not get the acknowledgement card.Thanks!Good luck to you too!
dvmpt
08-04-2006, 11:47 AM
eh, but i thought u have to write an essay for the telekom scholarship right? By the way, i didn't apply for telekom scholarship cause i wasn't aware of the closing date. By the time i found out, too late already.
any1 will go to uniten tomorrow?
see u there
paoblocrk
09-04-2006, 11:43 AM
Hei Khirulez.... Still remember me? It's Chuah here INTEC , Yeam's friends.... lolz... so happy to see you here... Oh ya my juniors asking about the BMN stuff.... Is the call over de? Shall I ask my junior to call again? lolz..... she was quite nervous....
All the best yea =)
Yups.. the number should be at their website.
see u there
uniten? why u guys are going to uniten?
did i missed out anything? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
enlightment @<hidden> spoonfed.... :wink: :D
khiRULEz
09-04-2006, 09:16 PM
Hei Khirulez.... Still remember me? It's Chuah here INTEC , Yeam's friends.... lolz... so happy to see you here... Oh ya my juniors asking about the BMN stuff.... Is the call over de? Shall I ask my junior to call again? lolz..... she was quite nervous....
Oh hie Chuah! :D Honestly.. i think they've made the calls already. It's already April! Maybe you can try and call Pn Rafidah just to be extra sure? Woo..
Hello...
When will we be notified whether we are selected or not after attending the JPA interview.
Thank you for replying.
Hello...
When will we be notified whether we are selected or not after attending the JPA interview.
Thank you for replying.
Larry
10-04-2006, 12:14 PM
see u there
uniten? why u guys are going to uniten?
did i missed out anything? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
enlightment @<hidden> spoonfed.... :wink: :D
I would also like to know why?
I am applying for the local scholarship. When i checked the website, it stated there my application is still under process......
By the way, some of my friends go and check it out and the result was out! However my friend was rejected so i don't have any informations regarding the scholarship......
You guys applied the overseas ot the local one?
kaiba
10-04-2006, 12:41 PM
same problem here...r they goin 2 notify us whether v get it or not for TNB n telekom. is reali frustrating sometimes..
when i check the website, it stated tat my application was under process. plz enlighten me on tis, thx in advance...
kevinkent
10-04-2006, 10:28 PM
Oh hie Chuah! :D Honestly.. i think they've made the calls already. It's already April! Maybe you can try and call Pn Rafidah just to be extra sure? Woo..
8O 8O 8O ??
BNM called adi???
khiRULEz
11-04-2006, 01:16 AM
8O 8O 8O ??
BNM called adi???
Hey.. don't be so nervous or shocked or anything! I said i think they've made the calls. Only one way to find out! Go call them and ask. [/b][/i]
deaf-knee
26-06-2006, 03:57 PM
My friend got the BNM call a few weeks ago.... She's going to UNITEN.
Hi there everyone!I am new to this forum so i hope that i get along with you guys and girls.anyway i just took my SAT 2 recently (math) and it isn't that good.They told me that i can't cancel the score 5 days after i took the exam.So can i like retake the exam to overlap the old results?Please advice. thanx in advance
http://www.bursabeasiswa.com/
Try it ...
Anyone has any info on how to apply the Pinjaman Boleh Ubah JPA luar negara? Thanks.
Tasslehoff
27-07-2006, 03:56 PM
Hi there everyone!I am new to this forum so i hope that i get along with you guys and girls.anyway i just took my SAT 2 recently (math) and it isn't that good.They told me that i can't cancel the score 5 days after i took the exam.So can i like retake the exam to overlap the old results?Please advice. thanx in advance
Yes you should take it again if your results are not good... typically, they expect asians to score about 750-800 for maths..
but do keep in mind that it wont 'override' but instead, will just present a new score to your report ( your old score will still be there) universities will only take note of the highest score ofcourse...
strikingstar
28-07-2006, 12:34 AM
Yes you should take it again if your results are not good... typically, they expect asians to score about 750-800 for maths..
but do keep in mind that it wont 'override' but instead, will just present a new score to your report ( your old score will still be there) universities will only take note of the highest score ofcourse...
Schs will see every single SAT score you've received in the last 4 yrs. At some schs, they take the highest scores from each component of the SAT. At some other schs like Berkeley, they take the highest SAT scores from a single sitting.
If you cancel your SAT 2 scores, you'll cancel every score for every single SAT subject test you took that day. You cannot cancel just one score of one SAT subject test (unless of course you only took one that day). So even if you took Physics and Chem as well that day and felt you did tremendously well on them, even their scores will be canceled if you cancel your Math score.
Actually, if you're very dissatisfied with your previous scores, there's a really nice way to circumvent sending poor scores to unis. You just create a new collegeboard account and sit for the SATs again. Schs will see scores from only one account.
follown
29-07-2006, 04:33 PM
hey, a question for the SAT II vets;
can any of you verify this site's claims?
http://www.dummies.com/WileyCDA/DummiesArticle/id-3036.html
particularly the bolded part;
Both tests start out with a core section of 60 questions that you take regardless of whether you choose Biology-E or Biology-M. Then the test diverges into two separate parts for the last 20 questions.
OT : went to the US edu fair in sunway convention centre and to be completely honest, lol it wasn't that much of a help as most stuffs can be obtained from the net.
and pfft chenchow was a busy bee, visited cornell's booth twice only to find him AWOL!
I wonder why, no discussion for IPTA,IPTS scholarship discussion thread :wink: Most are overseas one.
mmccloh
17-08-2006, 11:47 AM
I guess most members here are the lucky bunch who study overseas :)
--
www.CourseCentre.com
evilcutie
19-08-2006, 08:57 PM
any1 having information ab ASEAN ????
Asean intake exams are over & results just out those shortlisted will have to 2 attend interview early september.
miceshaker
25-09-2006, 12:29 PM
hi all. i'm new here. would like some help from u guys if possible. hmmm i'm doing my A levels this year. Would want to go to US or Canada to further my studies. Am looking for a scholarship. any advice? Thanks
28-09-2006, 06:30 PM
hi all. i'm new here. would like some help from u guys if possible. hmmm i'm doing my A levels this year. Would want to go to US or Canada to further my studies. Am looking for a scholarship. any advice? Thanks
There are a number of scholarships for A Level leavers for overseas scholarships. Among them:-
1. Security Commissioner
2. AMCHAM Scholarships (For US)
3. Need Blind Universities (Harvard/Yale/Princeton/MIT/Williams/Middlebury)
4. GIC, Singapore
etc.
You can try search around in ReCom. There are a lot of such resources around.
Securities Commission........
It is generally affordable to study in canada. If you're from a middle-class family, it won't be a big problem. It's cheaper than Australia too.
toccata
03-10-2006, 12:51 PM
Hi All,
Anyone know when MARA open their scholarship applications (specifically for Masters programs)?. The website wasnt very helpful. thanks
(moved this here from the main forum)
Faith_chris
10-10-2006, 02:53 AM
Hey, I am very sorry if thishad been brought up before.
Are there any scholarship programs that are for STPM leavers to go
abroad?? and is it that I will have to secure a place in those universities 1st before I can Apply for those scholarships??
I am currently an Upper Six student that is really in need of information, coz STPM will be over soon and I really need to take action fast....
and oh, I am also stupid and foolish enough to miss the registration for the SAT on Dec 2. T_T
summer_wizard
11-10-2006, 05:15 PM
what are the benefits if i take Petronas? i want to do medic...besides STPM, are there shorter routes to achieve my ambition?
I am doing my form 5 now...felt lost and anxious...
11-10-2006, 06:55 PM
You would need to apply for universities now (since the deadline would be by December. Then, starting January, or even December, start sourcing for scholarships. You should start applying even before your STPM results are out. There are some scholarship agencies that would need you to apply with your STPM results, and some do not need.
If your scholarship interview is april or later, then you should have an admission offer too.
For medicine, JPA offers the most scholarships in this field. Petronas does offer scholarship, but it is very limited. Usually it is about 5 scholarships per year. So, it is very competitive.
In terms of route, I would say that most routes are about equal in length. 2 years of pre-u, plus 5 years of degree. If you are going to pursue medical, you should have strong interest and passion in the field, and don't just take it because of other factors. So, seeking short cut might not be the ideal way. That's just my two cents.
jdn7119
14-10-2006, 02:27 PM
hey i know someone posted this before but how do get the petronas scholarship form/contact..?coz i went on their website and juz cant seem to find it. can someone tell me about it
24-10-2006, 12:50 AM
hey i know someone posted this before but how do get the petronas scholarship form/contact..?coz i went on their website and juz cant seem to find it. can someone tell me about it
To apply for the PETRONAS sponsorship for the January intake, PETRONAS would send a particular amount of application forms to schools and only a particular number of students from that school can apply for the PETRONAS sponsorship using their SPM trial exam results. That was what happened to me.
Upon acceptance by PETRONAS, you will still need to submit your SPM results within a month after the release of SPM results.
If you want to apply for the July intake, keep your eyes open in the newspapers, because they will often announce if PETRONAS is offering sponsorships. The application would be open around April and the application is an ONLINE application. No certificates are submitted first. Upon acceptance for the interview, only then will you need to submit all relevant certificates (certified photocopies).
Ask your school authorities whether they received any forms from PETRONAS. However, if I'm not wrong, the deadline for submission would have already passed or it is just around these few days. Ask around!
toccata
26-10-2006, 10:54 PM
what are the benefits if i take Petronas? i want to do medic...besides STPM, are there shorter routes to achieve my ambition?
I am doing my form 5 now...felt lost and anxious...
from experience, PETRONAS does provide one of the best scholarship packages around if you get it, at least when i got it a few years ago, in terms of value, allowance, etc, and you have less problems with things like late payments and your allowance not coming in compared to some others.
on the other hand they can also be (especially lately) very efficient in tracking you down to serve your bond or pay back in event of breach of contract. again especially lately since they changed their policies to counter all the students running off. and they can be quite ruthless if you decide to not go along with the bond. the last i heard they even did away with the repayment by installments.
so if you dont mind working for petronas its a good deal (and also tough to get). i dont know how the bond works with medicine though, they dont typically employ doctors, although they are building a new hospital
serenite
27-10-2006, 10:35 AM
To apply for the PETRONAS sponsorship for the January intake, PETRONAS would send a particular amount of application forms to schools and only a particular number of students from that school can apply for the PETRONAS sponsorship using their SPM trial exam results. That was what happened to me.
Upon acceptance by PETRONAS, you will still need to submit your SPM results within a month after the release of SPM results.
If you want to apply for the July intake, keep your eyes open in the newspapers, because they will often announce if PETRONAS is offering sponsorships. The application would be open around April and the application is an ONLINE application. No certificates are submitted first. Upon acceptance for the interview, only then will you need to submit all relevant certificates (certified photocopies).
Ask your school authorities whether they received any forms from PETRONAS. However, if I'm not wrong, the deadline for submission would have already passed or it is just around these few days. Ask around!
I heard a school "St. Joseph" got 20 application forms last week but my school didn't receive any >.<
Before that, I've checked online thru this website http://www.doctorjob.com.my/scholarships/display.asp?ID=292
Now, I'm confused whether if it's already passed. :(
I'm planning to take accountacy ^^
So, which are better, studying locally or overseas? ><
And I don't plan on studying form 6 coz it's very hard >_< and some of my friends said form 6 is a waste of time too if you alraedy know which course you're taking :P
sunshine88
31-10-2006, 04:12 PM
Hey, I am very sorry if thishad been brought up before.
Are there any scholarship programs that are for STPM leavers to go
abroad?? and is it that I will have to secure a place in those universities 1st before I can Apply for those scholarships??
I am currently an Upper Six student that is really in need of information, coz STPM will be over soon and I really need to take action fast....
and oh, I am also stupid and foolish enough to miss the registration for the SAT on Dec 2. T_T
I've heard of Endeavour Scholarship by Australia Government through the internet...and... there are many others...I'm sorry that i couldn't recall it for u Faith_chris..I got all the scholarships information from the SundayStar's Education paper.I shall update if i browse back those papers again...I still keep'em...Well,what course u wanna do..?
The other scholarship which is still fresh in my mind..is the Tanjung scholarship...specifically for STPM students to pursue their studies locally....
summer_wizard
02-11-2006, 11:06 AM
I heard a school "St. Joseph" got 20 application forms last week but my school didn't receive any >.<
Before that, I've checked online thru this website http://www.doctorjob.com.my/scholarships/display.asp?ID=292
Now, I'm confused whether if it's already passed. :(
I'm planning to take accountacy ^^
So, which are better, studying locally or overseas? ><
And I don't plan on studying form 6 coz it's very hard >_< and some of my friends said form 6 is a waste of time too if you alraedy know which course you're taking :P
PETRONAS application is closed since 3 weeks ago. My school selected 30 students based on their academics and cocurriculum performances.
Faith_chris
04-11-2006, 01:10 PM
haiz....
sunshine thanks for the info!! sorry 4 the late reply, coz com broke down. now got to rely on internet cafe!! :P
Initially, I am aiming for engineering courses, preferrably aeronauticalor aerospace, but now, I think I will stick to what I like the most, that is Mass Com!! so, any suggestions of unis?? Local also can. thanks u guys!!
caramel_nut
06-11-2006, 09:24 PM
Well, I think Taylor's Mass Com is pretty good.
Think only ar...cos last time when I was in Taylor's doing my A Levels, the Mass Com people form the PJ campus always came to the Subang Jaya campus to organise lots of big-scale activities.
freeboy
24-11-2006, 11:20 AM
Hey, i heard that the Mass Comm diploma offered by Han Chiang College, Penang is very good woh. I visited the college, they even got their own TV recording station and radio station!!! wow!!! like in NTV7 eh... hehehe... so happy, i can be a temp vj there eh!!! u guys muct try eh... free one eh :)
shinta
03-12-2006, 04:22 PM
hai, i'm still new here.there's a lot of pages so i still read one by one right now, so don't know if this was asked before. i'm just finished spm tis year, interested in medicine. wanna know other information for scholarship besides jpa and mara..and how to apply? which country offeres cheaper cost for studies?well, australia is good but it cost more money..can someone give me some advice?
03-12-2006, 04:54 PM
hai, i'm still new here.there's a lot of pages so i still read one by one right now, so don't know if this was asked before. i'm just finished spm tis year, interested in medicine. wanna know other information for scholarship besides jpa and mara..and how to apply? which country offeres cheaper cost for studies?well, australia is good but it cost more money..can someone give me some advice?
Welcome shinta to join ReCom family~!
On medicine, Petronas does offer some limited number of scholarships for medicine. Not that many places though.
On cost for studying medicine, I would say that Indonesia, Russia and India would be the more popular countries with lower cost of studies.
yup, i second what chenchow has written. Petronas do offer a few places (10-15) for medic locally, though their policy might change this year. All these applications can be accessed online after the SPM result is announced. Besides india, indo and russia, I believe most malaysians might consider Chech as well.
( I heard JPA has been looking at places like Cuba and Jamaica.... but i don't know how true it is. oh well, we'll see next year!)
richieliaw
08-12-2006, 09:21 PM
Hello.. Im actually quite new here.. I need to ask.. I was offered ICT from Petronas n i was asked to attend this educamp on the 10-13th Dec.. Unfortunately, i have no interest in the course.. My question is.. How can i convince the interviewers to offer me another course? Im interested in engineering actually.. Oh n.. What do they usually ask in interviews?? Sorry if this question had been asked before.. Im really in a rush now.. Thanks!
considering that u r 'picked' (I assume) by PETRONAS to do ICT, the only act, which i think is adequate for you is to write to them and tell them about you 'real' interest (its best to meet the officers or interviewers during the educamp). I dun really know much about the dec educamp, thus i can't help u here but all the best and good luck !
Larry
09-12-2006, 10:29 PM
If i am not mistaken, on the final day during the interview, the interviewee will ask you whehter you have change your mind for your prefer course, you can tell them at that time and try to convince them why you have changed your mind. There will be some career talks during the educamp and you may say that after listening to the talks then you realize you are more inclined in engineering and so on.
All the best and good luck! :D
richieliaw
10-12-2006, 12:06 AM
Ok! Thanks a lot!
liangfuhan
11-12-2006, 12:06 PM
Hey everyone,
I'm actually a new user, and I'm very interested in pursuing my studies under a JPA scholarship, I would like to ask the following questions:
1) What is the selection commitee looking for in a recipient of a scholarship? Do they emphazize a lot more on academic achievements or extracurriculars?
2) What is the JPA application and interview questions? What questions did in general ask about?
3) What other important information should I know more about the JPA Scholarship?
Well done to the people organizing this website, I must admit, it's like the Malaysian College Confidential Website...
Cheers,
fu han
Hey everyone,
I'm actually a new user, and I'm very interested in pursuing my studies under a JPA scholarship, I would like to ask the following questions:
1) What is the selection commitee looking for in a recipient of a scholarship? Do they emphazize a lot more on academic achievements or extracurriculars?
2) What is the JPA application and interview questions? What questions did in general ask about?
3) What other important information should I know more about the JPA Scholarship?
Well done to the people organizing this website, I must admit, it's like the Malaysian College Confidential Website...
Cheers,
fu han
1. What do they really want ? nobody knows for sure :( . but i believe it should be both Aca and ECA. With that said, there would be hundreds (or maybe thousands) of other qualified students academically (straight 12A1, 11A1 etc probably due to the grade inflation nowadays) with superb ECA (head prefect etc) who will not be offered the scholarship......
2. As of last year, JPA's application was made available online somewhere during the SPM results. It would be made public through the mainstream newspapers (NST etc), u won't miss it. Its not really an interview, more of a kind of group discussion between the applicants on current issues (tourism etc) and i believe that the evaluation is based on your 'performance' during the discussion. The 'interviewers' would chip in every now and them to ask some questions, something about the topic which the applicants were discussing.
3. Other important information? always be on the lookout for the advertisement, check their requirements (last year, ppl in the pure science stream did not 'qualify' to apply for econs etc) and the offer (scholars bound to US are offered twinning prog and not full 4 years, although they have changed the policy recently and allowed a few of the 2006 scholars to fly next year)
lol..college confidential is more about the US universities (application, result etc) where the US students would discuss mainly about 'education' whereas recom is much more than that !
Good lUck !
liangfuhan
11-12-2006, 04:55 PM
thanks, that was really some help...
man, i didnt know that pure science students could not apply for economics... i was thinking of doing econs actually, but now, i may apply for actuarial science(do they have one?) or medicine, yeah i know my major range is really really wide...
thanks by the way...
11-12-2006, 07:39 PM
Great that questions on JPA scholarships have started surfacing. It would be good to start preparing early. Would strongly encourage you to start browsing through the threads in ReCom and pose questions on anything you wish to know.
On JPA criteria for last year, it was 65% academic, 10% co-curricular activities (societies, sports and other achievements (including competition)), 10% family background (10% for family monthly income RM5000 or less, 5% for RM5001 to RM10000, 0% for RM10000 and above), 15% for interview and essay.
11-12-2006, 07:39 PM
thanks, that was really some help...
man, i didnt know that pure science students could not apply for economics... i was thinking of doing econs actually, but now, i may apply for actuarial science(do they have one?) or medicine, yeah i know my major range is really really wide...
thanks by the way...
JPA does have actuarial science and medicine, besides many other majors.
11-12-2006, 08:24 PM
Great that questions on JPA scholarships have started surfacing. It would be good to start preparing early. Would strongly encourage you to start browsing through the threads in ReCom and pose questions on anything you wish to know.
On JPA criteria for last year, it was 65% academic, 10% co-curricular activities (societies, sports and other achievements (including competition)), 10% family background (10% for family monthly income RM5000 or less, 5% for RM5001 to RM10000, 0% for RM10000 and above), 15% for interview and essay.
I tot the essay part has been substituted by a psychology test instead since my year....I mean 2006?
the format of the test is some how like this.....
http://quizfarm.com/test.php?q_id=164749
and for those applying for medic...beware of something extreme....they will send u a letter and ask u to go to your nearest hospital for 3 days of "visit"....I 4gt wat the program called ady.....U will see the working environment of hospital and how a doctor as well as other hospital staff function....U will oso gotta visit every department of hospital.....frm emergency room, to corpse room, wads....etc....it's important as they wanna see whether u r really interested and ready for the challenge of a job of doctor......eventually, I gt a fren who chose medic at the begining, but later on change her mind to apply pharmacy instead on the interview day(ya, u can still change ur mind as long as u fulfill the course's criteria)as she felt tat she cannot adapt to the life as a doctor......
I strongly suggest tat those who are interested in applying any scholarship to start preparing urself now.....(haiya, just some light preparation la)....Think clearly what u really want and wat u r really good or interested in...... watch up some of the latest current issues esp, and read up some self-help books....then abt the aspect of manners during interview, appropiate attire to wear and so on can come later.......(aft u receive the letter to ask u go for an interview oso nevermind...hehez)
there're ady lotsa info regarding the applications in this thread as well as the Part 2 sticky thread.....so use ur free time to skim through lah!
All the best :wink:
Larry
12-12-2006, 01:29 PM
For last year, there is no essay and there is only the aptitude test!
12-12-2006, 08:30 PM
Thanks for the correction. Essay portion was replaced last year.
shinta
14-12-2006, 05:06 PM
i'm sorry to be off topic but i heard somewhere in the net that there was a magazine call Malaysian Scholarship Magazine or something like that, correct me if i'm wrong. the magazine include all the information about the scholarship provided. if the magazine really published and where can i get it?
14-12-2006, 08:30 PM
i'm sorry to be off topic but i heard somewhere in the net that there was a magazine call Malaysian Scholarship Magazine or something like that, correct me if i'm wrong. the magazine include all the information about the scholarship provided. if the magazine really published and where can i get it?
U mean this one?
http://www.ebay.com.my/viItem?ItemId=330058455403
but it's sold out ady.....gotta find frm other source I think
cmteo
15-12-2006, 05:50 PM
[/quote]
15-12-2006, 08:35 PM
Hi: You may want to check out this site: http://www.malaysia-kini.com/scholarship
thx :wink:
18-12-2006, 07:43 PM
GIC Singapore is offering scholarship for those intending to further studies for bachelor's degree.
For further information, please go to here (http://www.gic.com.sg/recr_opp_scholar.htm)
18-12-2006, 07:46 PM
I am quoting this from Tin Kosong (http://tinkosong.com/2006/12/17/2007-anu-alumni-assocation-malaysia-scholarships/)
In the Star(Page 46), 17 December 2006, there is an advertisement for the Australian National University Alumni Association scholarships.
According to the article, they offer one undergraduate scholarship covering tuition fees with an annual stipend of A$10,000 for any Bachelor?s degree(including Honours and combined degrees).
Application forms and further information are available from all AusEd-UniEd offices and IDP Education Australia offices. You can also email anu dot alumniassociation at gmail dot com
Tinkosong also has links with a few of the scholarship receipients, whom we cannot reveal, but we would gladly try to put anyone who is interested in touch with them. Just email us at tinkosong at gmail dot com and we will forward it on.
Hurry! Application deadline is January 5th, 2007 before 5.00pm.
cmteo
18-12-2006, 07:54 PM
[/quote]
cmteo
20-12-2006, 03:14 PM
.[/quote]
ckw89
22-12-2006, 03:19 PM
Hi.
I am new here and i got this website from my friend. I think it is a very informative and good website especially for those school leavers like me. I am here to ask a few questions. Is it a bit too late to apply for any scholarships using trial examination results while waiting for the spm results? But i am not interested in college/ universities scholarships as they only offer pre u and diploma courses and i would not be able to get a scholarship for my degree in private u as they have very high expectations for scholars. Is it any other scholarships available to study locally and later oversea? I know this is a stupid question but i am really clueless. Sorry if it had been asked before.
Thank you for all your time and patience :)
liangfuhan
22-12-2006, 07:41 PM
Hi.
I am new here and i got this website from my friend. I think it is a very informative and good website especially for those school leavers like me. I am here to ask a few questions. Is it a bit too late to apply for any scholarships using trial examination results while waiting for the spm results? But i am not interested in college/ universities scholarships as they only offer pre u and diploma courses and i would not be able to get a scholarship for my degree in private u as they have very high expectations for scholars. Is it any other scholarships available to study locally and later oversea? I know this is a stupid question but i am really clueless. Sorry if it had been asked before.
I'm not too sure about what you mean... in my opinion what you're trying to ask is whether are there scholarships given out to BOTH pre-university and degree courses at once???
if that was the question, the answer is YES... the JPA scholarship is a good example: you are given a scholarship to study the IB programme in banting (i guess) and later sent to overseas to further your studies...
Other scholarships that probably suits you are:
a) PETRONAS
b) Bank Negara
try looking out for those... hope this was some good and benefitial information for you...
cheers,
fu han
You can get the latest Malaysia Scholarship 2007 in the coming Star Education Fair KL or the MPH and Popular bookstore on the 6th of January.
There are 111 types of Undergraduate Scholarship, 73 types of Postgraduate Scholarships and 37 types of Study loan with details informations. Save your time to source them out.
Hi.
I'm not too sure about what you mean... in my opinion what you're trying to ask is whether are there scholarships given out to BOTH pre-university and degree courses at once???
if that was the question, the answer is YES... the JPA scholarship is a good example: you are given a scholarship to study the IB programme in banting (i guess) and later sent to overseas to further your studies...
Other scholarships that probably suits you are:
a) PETRONAS
b) Bank Negara
try looking out for those... hope this was some good and benefitial information for you...
cheers,
fu han
The latest MNRB Scholarship accepts trial results.
Most of the scholarships whether from corporation, governments or universities/colleges are very competative. A lot of scholarship from universities/colleges are for study up to degree but will be renewer yearly base on your academic performance.
Just to be careful on the value of the scholarship, whether it is full scholarship and does it include living expenses and etc.
Incognito
24-12-2006, 11:18 PM
Hi, guys...I've got a question here. I heard it from my friend that actually, we don't have to apply JPA using our SPM result and that we can use our A-levels result to apply. Is that true?
liangfuhan
24-12-2006, 11:26 PM
Hi, guys...I've got a question here. I heard it from my friend that actually, we don't have to apply JPA using our SPM result and that we can use our A-levels result to apply. Is that true?
yes, it is true...
however, it would be better if a student applies using his/her SPM results, then, apply using the a levels if he/she was not a recipient of the award two years before...
just make sure you have great grades and you're going to do fine...
cheers,
fu han
24-12-2006, 11:48 PM
yes, it is true...
however, it would be better if a student applies using his/her SPM results, then, apply using the a levels if he/she was not a recipient of the award two years before...
just make sure you have great grades and you're going to do fine...
cheers,
fu han
JPA offers more than 1,000 scholarships for those after SPM, whereas while there might be a few who got it after A Level, the number of students who manage to get it are very few.
Actually, I haven't heard of any myself, although there might be some students who received it. May be those of you who are aware of it or those of you who are recipient of JPA scholarships after taking A Level, I do hope that you would come to ReCom and share your experience here.
ckw89
26-12-2006, 10:36 AM
Thank you so much for all those advices! :D
Arigato Gozaimas. :)
cmteo
26-12-2006, 01:45 PM
.[/quote]
Hello!
I am new here.
I am from PJ. I have just finished my SPM . Any advice on applying scholarship if i wish to persue my education in medicine? Thanks!
02-01-2007, 04:19 PM
Hello!
I am new here.
I am from PJ. I have just finished my SPM . Any advice on applying scholarship if i wish to persue my education in medicine? Thanks!
For medicine, the main scholarship provider would be JPA. For each year, JPA would offer a few hundred scholarships for those who wish to further studies in medicine, and typically the students would be sent to UK, Aus, India, Russia, Indonesia, Jordan and Egypt.
Petronas does offer a few scholarships for students intending to further studies in medicine, but they only offer a limited few places.
richieliaw
02-01-2007, 07:34 PM
Hello, i just got the petronas scholarship.. However, i am offered ICT, a course i have no interest in.. Is it possible for a change of course when i get into the university (utp)? I wish to change my course to engineering.. If its possible, does anyone know the procedure to change course or requirements for that matter?
miss_e
04-01-2007, 01:55 PM
hi.i have a few questions to ask, and i really hope there's someone who could help me answer them.
i just finished my spm, and now i'm not really sure of what course i would be taking after this. it's either medicine or engineering, because that's mostly what MARA and JPA would offer to students who go to boarding schools. and as im a science stream student, i dont think i would be able to apply for finance. the thing is, i'm not passionate for both, so it makes things quite hard for me. people usually say that we should pursue in things that we are interested in, but actually, the problem with the educational system in malaysia is that, we are not exactly trained to love certain subjects. yeah, to get good scholarships, you have to be all rounded. say that if you're good in physics and chemistry, and also addmaths, you would be better off in engineering, but what if, you're good in biology too..? does that make you a good doctor..? should we aim for prospect or pick courses more on interest?
the second question is that..does JPA sends medicine students directly overseas, or do they have to do the IB program first in Banting..? i heard that IB programs usually take about 2 yrs to finish.
the third question is, can anyone tell me more about the INTEC program in Uitm Shah Alam, and usually, how long will the program take place? and another thing is where exactly do the students fly to?
and the last question would be, i'm really interested in flying overseas, and would it be worth it to actually take foundation programs or a-levels locally before pursuing my studies overseas, or should i just take a degree locally so that i could graduate much more faster.
i know this is a long one, but thanks a lot for reading anyway. :D
koln_auhc
04-01-2007, 08:27 PM
follow your heart or what you are best in. not jpa for what jpa is.
Thanks chenchow ! But , how can i apply those scholarships[/quote]
Hi , richieliaw , how did you apply for the petronas scholarship?
Anybody apply for INTERNATIONAL BACCALAUREATE (IB) SCHOLARSHIPS ???
richieliaw
04-01-2007, 10:15 PM
Hi , richieliaw , how did you apply for the petronas scholarship?
Application forms were sent to our school.. I heard they only send them to selected schools for scholarship based on spm mock results.. However, u can apply for the one using ur actual results..
hi.i have a few questions to ask, and i really hope there's someone who could help me answer them.
i just finished my spm, and now i'm not really sure of what course i would be taking after this. it's either medicine or engineering, because that's mostly what MARA and JPA would offer to students who go to boarding schools. and as im a science stream student, i dont think i would be able to apply for finance. the thing is, i'm not passionate for both, so it makes things quite hard for me. people usually say that we should pursue in things that we are interested in, but actually, the problem with the educational system in malaysia is that, we are not exactly trained to love certain subjects. yeah, to get good scholarships, you have to be all rounded. say that if you're good in physics and chemistry, and also addmaths, you would be better off in engineering, but what if, you're good in biology too..? does that make you a good doctor..? should we aim for prospect or pick courses more on interest?
the second question is that..does JPA sends medicine students directly overseas, or do they have to do the IB program first in Banting..? i heard that IB programs usually take about 2 yrs to finish.
the third question is, can anyone tell me more about the INTEC program in Uitm Shah Alam, and usually, how long will the program take place? and another thing is where exactly do the students fly to?
and the last question would be, i'm really interested in flying overseas, and would it be worth it to actually take foundation programs or a-levels locally before pursuing my studies overseas, or should i just take a degree locally so that i could graduate much more faster.
i know this is a long one, but thanks a lot for reading anyway. :D
Follow your heart on which degree to persue on. I was once offered scholarships for law, medicine and pharmacy at the same time. Eventually I chose Medicine and denied the others because I know my interest and ambition well. Medic and engineering are both professional fields and you should treat them professionally, it's puerile and myopic to head for some degrees which you are not interested in thinking that it is easier to obtain a scholarship for that.
IB is mostly meant for those UK bound students. Most scholars will be sent to various colleges ie Taylors, INTEC, UNITEN, KYUEM, KTJ etc for preparatory courses.
INTEC offers A-Level medicine, ADFP, AUSMAT(Australian Matriculation), Middle east programme and other preparatory courses. Basically students in INTEC are mostly JPA, MARA, PETRONAS and BNM sponsored scholars and of course there are a few private students too. Students there are sent to various countries ie Australia, NZ, UK, Ireland, German, Middle East, India, US, Korea etc...
I once wanted to take up other scholarship instead of JPA for the sake of going overseas faster. I'm now glad that I didn't. We can't really mock on local degrees because there are good degrees which you can do locally as well. So all in all, it still depends on what your interest really is and how you look at the education system in M'sia.
There is no point of you getting a degree very fast and at the end of the day feeling regret of the choice made previously. Think wisely and ask for more advices. There is always a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, so whatever degree that you may persue in future, do it whole heartedly and hopefully you can garner the reception which you are hoping for.
Regards and all the best in your future endeavours! :D
miss_e
05-01-2007, 12:51 AM
hey, Taek, thanks so much for the infos and advise.
Hello Taek, may i ask? Why medicine? just curious.
You highlighted my nick and it pressures me if I don't reply. :lol:
That's exactly the question that UEM manager asked. Maybe you will find it funny but personally I think it's my calling in life to help and heal others. Of course, the knowledge of understanding how the human body and the mind functions, for me, considered as a long life challenge. :D
Haha, sorry if i did pressure you . Well, thats indeed a good answer . Best of luck in the future!
slumber
07-01-2007, 12:37 AM
jpa scholarship....
for those who take medic please say to the interviewer that u choose australia.....
slumber
07-01-2007, 11:24 AM
because many of u will say uk as ur favourite country.... less people will chosse australia....n if u dont want to stuck in indonesia n also india ...thats all.. its all up to you to believe it or not..
petertok
08-01-2007, 01:48 AM
because many of u will say uk as ur favourite country.... less people will chosse australia....n if u dont want to stuck in indonesia n also india ...thats all.. its all up to you to believe it or not..
actually... its a good advice.. i said uk, got rejected and then appealed and now im "stuck" in indonesia... It isn't that bad after all la =P
deaf-knee
09-01-2007, 03:18 AM
I said UK and I got Australia. Medicine in Australia is pretty hard to get into though.
smartalex
10-01-2007, 07:32 PM
anyone know what scholarship a politeknik leaver (civil engineering diploma) can apply?
I see a lot of scholarships for f5 and f6 leaver...but I don't know where to find one for politeknik leaver....
cmteo
12-01-2007, 09:07 PM
[/quote].
13-01-2007, 09:28 PM
Please continue your discussion here.
hi, i'm new here at ReCom.org. i just sat the spm exam on last november. is there any scholarship involve:
1. both pre-u and degree courses
2. going overseas
3. that an spm leaver can apply for
besides jpa and petronas?
Thank you.
U might wna look at http://tinkosong.com
THere's a lot of opportunities other than JPA and Petronas, the only thing u need to do is try your best to look for them. For instance, UEM, Bank Negara, etc.
There are a lot of scholarships provided by the private universities in Malaysia such as Help,Taylor,Inti and etc.Why don't you go and visit the websites of these institutions. Apart from that, you can try to gain more information about scholarships and loans from your school counselor or be on the look out for news on scholarships in the newspapers.
Star scholarship, NST, Bank Negara, Hong Leong, Maybank, Sime Darby, Kouk foundation, and internal scholarships given out the institutions themselves. There's probably a lot more but I can't really recall them all. Apart from tinkosong.com, also try..
http://www.malaysian-students.blogspot.com/
www.lowyat.net
which one provide medicine course except jpa?
Mara (for bumis only) and petronas (if i m not mistaken)
but are you bumiputera? if not, forget about it..
it is the best if you can get 'PAMA' scholarship, if not, you may join us in STPM..
petronas is not exclusively for bumis, theres quite a number of non-bumis getting petronas too...
Getting the Petronas scholarship for the local UTP shouldn't be a problem. However, if you're a non-bumi aiming for the very very limited Petronas Overseas/ Medicine scholarships, your chances are pretty low if you do not have any outstanding national achievements. Having said that, there's no harm in trying though.
petronas is not exclusively for bumis, theres quite a number of non-bumis getting petronas too...
Though they said(Petronas), scholarships are awarded based on meritocracy, mostly bumis get it. Perhaps their results are better then non-bumis. :roll:
morec
15-01-2007, 10:43 AM
JPA_US:
When applying to universities in the US, don't pick Ohio State University unless you are willing to study in quarter system. You could research more about this system but basically you'll have tests and exams more frequently in this system compared to semester system.
Some ideas of what's going on in quarter system:
1 Quarter = 10 weeks
4 Quarters per-year (including the optional summer quarter)
Homeworks & Quizzes = every week
(sometimes 2 homeworks per week)
Midterms = every 3 or 4 weeks
Final exams = in the 11th week
(so, it's right after the last week of class - no study period)
Add courses = only within the first week
Drop courses = only within the first 3 weeks
Withdraw from courses = only within the first 7 weeks
The schedule goes like this:
>Autumn Quarter
>(3-week break in Dec)
>Winter Quarter
>(1-week break in March)
>Spring Quarter
>(1-week break in June)
>Summer Quarter - optional
>(3-week break in Sept)
that's all you got. see how little break you'll get if you choose to enroll in Summer Quarter as well.
Since the quarters are all short (just 10 weeks!!), sometimes you'll find yourself having to learn a lot more in so little time compared to your friends in semester system. for example, in aero engineering you'll learn thermodynamics in only 10 weeks whereas your friends in semester learn it in 14 weeks! the textbook itself is almost 2 inch thick and you have to learn a major part of it in only 10 weeks and have a final exam right in the following week. that's only 1 example but you get the idea.
Of course, after a while you'll get used to it but some people have hard time getting used to it. However, what I wrote here is nothing but a preview, you know, like the movie preview so you may have some idea to help you decide whether or not this system suits you.
Oh, one more thing is the quarter system wraps up its academic year in the middle of june - meaning; by the time you're done with classes and ready to go home and spend your summer break in our tropical climate of malaysia (if you choose to do so), you will find yourself paying about USD $200-$300 extra for flight tickets compared to those in semester system whose classes are over in May instead of June. Usually the cheapest tickets cost around $1100-$1200 and they can cost more depending on when and where you buy them from. This is because June, July, and August are the peak season for air travels. so, that's another drawback of quarter system.
Nonetheless, Columbus is a very nice place to live in. The cost of living/living environment is neither too expensive/hiigh class nor too cheap/ghetto. And most importantly, the food in here is sooo good, sooo multi-cultural that I love this place regardless of the school sytem. Just to give you some idea, we have Chinese (of course), Somali (the best in US), Indonesian (malay), Thai (tom yam), Indian (mamak), Mediterranean (middle-east), and what not. To Muslims, many of these restaurants serve halal meat (we have thousands of Muslims living in Columbus). Fresh halal meats are also very easy to find and close to campus. So, tummy-wise, Ohio State is not a bad idea. :D
There are millions more positive things about this place but I just want to stress out its major differences from other places. Hope this could be helpful to you guys in Malaysia. Good Luck!!!
sapphire1989
17-01-2007, 04:25 AM
wow dis thread is rili informative... i want to apply dentistry for JPA dis year...any seniors out that who applied dis course and successfully got it? which country shoud i apply? and here comes the cruel part...if i didnt have straight A1...should i continue to apply this course? or is it better to change to another course...i would love to listen to ur advice...thanks in advance!;wish me luck!! bless u all!! :lol:
First of all, all the best in your future endeavours.
I'm a JPA scholar, and please don't ask me whether the application is easy or not, because all in all it still depends on your qualification. Btw, you mentioned that you plan to apply for dentistry. I hope the reason behind it is NOT because you vaguely think that by having a dentistry application it is easier to obtain a JPA scholarship, if you really think so (which I hope not), that will be a big nono because it will be really puerile of you.=)
Dentistry is a wise profession. As far as I concern, there are not many scholars being sent to read dentistry by JPA relative to other professions. Future JPA dentist will be sent to either UK, Aus/NZ or India. Sadly, you won't really have the chance to choose your favourate country, but the interviewers may ask you during the interview. I was the only one being asked for my choice of country in my group and my answer was UK. They sent me for twinning in perhaps UK instead... Anyway I opt for medicine and not dentistry, it might be a different case instead!=)
Be confident of yourself under any circumstances. Chances are there and never give up.
Cheers!
angel_voice
18-01-2007, 06:45 PM
I just completed my F5 last year. i am taking american degree transfer program(ADTP) now.the course i am taking now can be completed within 4 years with a degree, no need to take any pre-u programme like IB programme etc. 1 1/2 years in malaysia and 2 1/2 in america. i have decided to apply for jpa scholarship after the spm results come out. below are the questions i want to ask:
1. can i continue my ADTP with jpa scholarship? i don't want to waste my 1 or 2 years for pre-u.....
2. is there anyone who is taking actuarial science know which are the top universities for thiscourse?
dreAmer1388
19-01-2007, 12:41 PM
Hi.
I was an A Levels student in HELP University College before I get my JPA scholarships to US. JPA did not allow me to continue my A Levels and insisted me to take ADFP in INTEC, though I've finished almost 1/2 of my course (and taken the AS exam). But, for those who are granted scholarships to India, Ireland (Medicine), and Indonesia (if I am not mistaken), which required A Levels, they can stay and continue their A Levels in private colleges (but only applicable if da college offers EDEXCEL board A Levels...like HELP College).
As for your case, if u really get JPA to US (word of advice: not everyone will get wat his or her wanted, my friend apply for Engineering in US but she got Korean program instead)... please CONFIRM with JPA about this before withdrawing from the course u r currently taking. The decisions is always in their hands (and it's no point asking INTEC, they will ask u to refer to ya sponsor in the end). BUT most probably u cannot stay for your ADTP due to different structure of the course. FYI: private colleges that offers transfer program will have signed agreement with their partner universities to take in the students, and normally the partner universities will synchronize the course structure with the private college. But, for my case, neither INTEC nor JPA has signed any agreements with US universities, meaning we don't have any partner universities. {And till now ACTP students still have no clue which universities we can transfer to... but they said the list of universities we can transfer to will be out soon... but i wonder when... :roll:}
Another thing is the NEWEST JPA policy (mind u, da policy always changes) is, ACTP students will be taking 1+3 program (1 year in INTEC, 3 years in US university), instead of 2+2 which JPA initially offered.
However, I think if u get da scholarship and come in as ATU 14, things will be all set for u. This is because ATU 13 is da pioneer batch for this brand new program, so things may be in chaos at first in terms of when we can fly and what universities we can get in. But I think u guys will not face such problems then.
I personally not sure about the best uni for actuarial science. But according to some of my friends who are pursuing actuarial science, their favorite choices are University of Michigan, Ann Arbor and University of Wisconsin-Madison. Or any Recomers out there have better answer for this? :wink:
However, since JPA only sponsor only for credit transfer program starting from 2006 batch (ATU 13), u better check out the universities that willing to receive transfer credits from international students... and of course, this excludes all the ivy league universities. :(
Keep your options open, try also MARA (if and only if u r a Bumiputra), Petronas and Bank National scholarships... who knows u can get better offer and fly as a freshmen to US!
Anyhow, Best regArds and Good Luck to ya!!! :)
University of Waterloo for AS.
angel_voice
20-01-2007, 08:07 PM
here are some tips for those who wanna apply for asean scholarship this year......
if u wanna apply for it u must first certify all ur certificates, results, testimonial n others because i have a friend who applied for it last year but cannot get it because he didnt certified all his things( i think so because we have almost the same results for academic. furthermore his co-curricular achievement is far better than mine).....the form wont mention it to remind u!!!
Beside, the General Knowledge for the ASEAN scholarship test is 100% similar to the MENSA IQ Test!!! the mensa iq test hold in Jan every year( i think so. i just sat for it last 2 weeks )
eggtart_90
21-01-2007, 11:21 AM
Hi angel_voice,
Can you describe briefly what is [ General Knowledge for the ASEAN scholarship test ]?Can you pls quote an example of the MENSA IQ TEST?
:wink: {appreciate your help} :D
angel_voice
21-01-2007, 11:32 PM
Both are questions on what is the shape after 8 shapes are given.
it will give u 3 times 3 boxes . all has 1 shape in each box but the last box is empty. you should identify the patterns and guess what shape it is. there will be 8 choices......quite easy but there will be 1 or 2 questions that are difficult. you should have an open mind. dont only think of the some pattern for each question. it will ''kill'' you!!!!
burlesqueen
21-01-2007, 11:51 PM
Hi, does anyone know whether I can already start applying for a Bank Negara First Degree scholarship? Is it open for application yet? Is the form updated?
There IS an online form for Permohonan Biasiswa Ijazah Pertama...However when I was filling out the form I realised that under the Kelayakan there were O levels, A levels, Diploma, Certificate, etc, but no Foundation Studies (as in Australian Foundation Studies). Does this mean that they don't recognised Foundation Studies as a pre-u?
I'm confused because under 'Eligibility' section on the website, it has Foundation Studies listed...see..
Fulfilling at least one of the following criteria :
* STPM 2005 :
o At least 2 A and 1 B, including a pass in General Studies
* A-Level/Foundation Studies :
o At least 2 A and 1 B
* Bachelor's Degree/Diploma/Matriculation :
o Cumulative Grade Point Aggregate (CGPA) of at least 3.50
:( Can anyone help me with this, please?
gniQiY
22-01-2007, 01:20 AM
hi everyone...i am new here...i am not sure whether i have chosen a right place to post...so do forgive me if i am wrong...
i am a spm leaver from kedah and now i am having a serious dilemma in choosing a correct course for my further study... :cry:
i took physics,chemistry,biologi, and also account in my spm... compared to the science subjects, i seem to be more interested and good at maths and accounting... this is partly because of my friends... most of them get a better result than me in science and they seem to have a greater passionate to involve in science field... and honestly i have no any special interest in any of the science subjects... not dislike,but don't have much interest also...(can understand?) these made me to have lesser confidence to study science and work in the science field in my future...
so there comes a big problem... what course should i choose for my further study? science or art stream(accounting)?
i know that i have been very late for those scholarships that can be applied with my trial results... indeed i passed my trial with flying colours... but to apply those... i should first know which course i want to take later... and unluckily i still don't know! and so... i have been troubled by this problem from the end of december 06 till now... hard to make a final decision...
can anyone give me some advice? thanks so much...
jaya13a1sree
22-01-2007, 02:21 PM
petronas based in trials is out right?
hi everyone...i am new here...i am not sure whether i have chosen a right place to post...so do forgive me if i am wrong...
i am a spm leaver from kedah and now i am having a serious dilemma in choosing a correct course for my further study... :cry:
hi, ask yourself whether u would be happy in the arts or the science. do some soul searching, ie find out more about the job prospective in both fields and find out whether u cherish the working environment. it will be a month or 2 before the SPM results would be out, make full use of the time now to do some research, ask around or venture out to get some internship (if possible). Find your passion. always remember, no success is impossible if only you can put your heart in it.
all the best.
gniQiY
28-01-2007, 09:23 PM
i can't log in ReCom.org for pass few days... and finally i success!yeah! :)
jaya13a1sree,i think so... what i mean is i have to decide as soon as possible so that when the spm result is out i can apply those scholarships without any problem...
lXl,thanks for your advice...
feeling glad that there are people who willingly to help me...
nice to meet u all!
erm...before this i really not dare to make a decision...because the decision will directly affect my future... but i have been thinking carefully these few days...i think i will take the subjects that are related to science field at least a little bit...i can't give up on science subjects so easily,as i have put many efforts on it during my primary and secondary...
now there are few choices of courses in my mind...and i am trying hard to collect all the infomation about those courses...i will post my questions here later if there is any problem...
jaya13a1sree
28-01-2007, 10:40 PM
gni...i did not tell anything to you ....i think there is a mistake :(
gniQiY
28-01-2007, 11:26 PM
oh???
hha...ok...blush...........
cmteo
30-01-2007, 06:04 PM
hi.. the Telekom scholarship application opens 2morrow...can anyone share some info about the scholarship and how to get it
Yea.. it already open for application.. How to get it?? is that hard to get the scholarship ('cuz it is based on our trial exam result) and i heard from my teacher that if ur parents is TM Worker (no matter what position), it is MUCH easier to get the scholarship..
http://ytm.tm.com.my/index.cfm?ytm=page.open&lang=MY
Skynode
31-01-2007, 03:42 PM
First of all, all the best in your future endeavours.
I'm a JPA scholar, and please don't ask me whether the application is easy or not, because all in all it still depends on your qualification. Btw, you mentioned that you plan to apply for dentistry. I hope the reason behind it is NOT because you vaguely think that by having a dentistry application it is easier to obtain a JPA scholarship, if you really think so (which I hope not), that will be a big nono because it will be really puerile of you.=)
Dentistry is a wise profession. As far as I concern, there are not many scholars being sent to read dentistry by JPA relative to other professions. Future JPA dentist will be sent to either UK, Aus/NZ or India. Sadly, you won't really have the chance to choose your favourate country, but the interviewers may ask you during the interview. I was the only one being asked for my choice of country in my group and my answer was UK. They sent me for twinning in perhaps UK instead... Anyway I opt for medicine and not dentistry, it might be a different case instead!=)
Be confident of yourself under any circumstances. Chances are there and never give up.
Cheers!
I can't help but to agree with Taek... It is unreasonable to opt for other professions, such as dentistry and pharmacy, instead of medicine in order to avoid stiff competition among PSD scholarship applicants. As you know, there will be always competition no matter how good you are.
But, for your info (sapphire), medicine proves to be an easier-to-get course than dentistry or pharmacy... This is due to the policy of PSD..those officers up there do know that many people will be applying for medicine and engineering rather than other courses. In fact, medic and engineering were two of the most popular courses applied over these years for PSD... Therefore, they will create more place for medicine in order to accommodate the demand of the public. They, too, dislike receiving unnecessary complaints. In other words, you are fighting for a bigger quota with more people. If you think logically, applying medicine or engineering are more sensible options rather than Computer Science or Accountancy which perhaps have less competitors, but definitely have a smaller quota. The quota is maybe 40-50 for nationwide... So, do some statistics calculation and you will know your probability of getting a scholarship.
Allow me to explain further... If you are in the field of enginnering.. there are A Level German, AUSMAT, FRANCE, KOREA, JAPAN, ADFP and ACTP programmes. If you are in medicine line, there are the wholesome A Level Medicine, RUSSIA, MESIR programmes... For scholars who will be going to INDIA for their direct-full time-overseas degree, they will most likely be sent to KTT (Kolej Teknologi Timur)... And JPA's favourite is the 'magnificent' UiTM branch campus at shah alam(seksyen 17)-->INTEC (International Education Centre)... Yeah.. that's right.. scholars from all walks of like will undergo their preparatory courses there before moving on with their degree overseas..
Like Taek, I was a PSD scholarship recipient for the year 2006. Last year, PSD was very fast and efficient in releasing the results of application as everything is computerised. I dunno how about about this year... The policy keeps on changing... Anyway, Sapphire... Just pray hard and good luck in ur PSD scholarship application.
shaun89
31-01-2007, 06:43 PM
Can anyone tell me how to apply for the telekom scholarship? Coz i cant find any online application thing from the website. Tq
cmteo
01-02-2007, 08:20 AM
Can anyone tell me how to apply for the telekom scholarship? Coz i cant find any online application thing from the website. Tq
u can go to http://219.93.183.139/YTMAPPLICATION/
eTzaTieY
02-02-2007, 11:12 AM
tHanXx!!
studioworks
05-02-2007, 01:22 AM
u can go to http://219.93.183.139/YTMAPPLICATION/
when i click ntg happens, now what??
praveenathescorpio
05-02-2007, 11:29 PM
To 'cmteo' - if that didn't work, try this -
http://ytm.tm.com.my/index.cfm?ytm=page.open
I tried applying, filled up everything but after i click seterusnya, i get an error message saying
"The data you entered conflicts with unique data in an existing record. Please see your database administrator for more information."
OMG!
Now what am i to do???
Any advice??
eTzaTieY
06-02-2007, 12:03 PM
heyya!
do u all know bout upu regisrati0n can we can apply now??
just want 2 remind u all..
u can apply on9 now..f0r catag0ry A l0rh..
do apply..it is 4 admissi0n 2 l0cal universities and ipt..
studioworks
06-02-2007, 10:15 PM
www.mohe.gov.my
u have to have no UNIC ID from BSN 1st..
studioworks
06-02-2007, 10:24 PM
for telekom,
1. can i apply both local n oversea scholarship??
2. under maklumat sekolah, what should i enter in Tingkatan Semasa Memohon (Bagi Biasiswa Kecil)----- 1 ,4,6???i dont get this biasiswa in my secondary school
3.under MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK, PERSATUAN (Jawatan Dalam Persatuan), KEGIATAN SUKAN/OLAHRAGA, PENGLIBATAN DALAM PROJEK (Kempen Anti Dadah/Pameran/Seminar/Kuiz) what is Page Size means??
4. i got 11 A1 n 1 A2(chinese) in trial.under MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK, how much can i put?? should i put 1 A2 or subtitute it with PMR result?? HOW MUCH pmr result do i put??
5. there is no choice in what course to take...is it ask only in interview??
6. if i enter 2 quiz in same year, so wakil negeri twice is it??
if i wanna ask anything, do any1 have da contact num for the scholarship department?? or can i ask KEDAI TM instead??
slumber
07-02-2007, 12:09 AM
wah... why so many questions...heheheh.... last year i never got this headache le... :wink:
ya...i think the form is weird.
1. Under " MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK", no " pendidikan moral" , am i right?
2. may i ask...under " PERSATUAN", we don't need or can't state which society we joined?
thank you in advance.
liangfuhan
07-02-2007, 06:00 PM
Hey guys,
I actually need to ask, regarding the yayasan telekom scholarship, isn't it kind of weird that they actually have a pre-requisite subject, which is generally not taken in SPM for students? i think for the engineering programme, one of the subjects was pure science....
i mean, why would they ask for that when another pre-requisite was physics?
liangfuhan
07-02-2007, 06:05 PM
and is it me or the form is just plain dumb... i mean, in the first part, theyask us whether would we like to apply for the scholarship in english or BM, and as soon as I click english, a pop up reads - NOT AVAILABLE!
and the section about the extracurricular activities is also not clear at all... what does page size and go refer to?
studioworks
07-02-2007, 09:43 PM
for telekom,
1. can i apply both local n oversea scholarship??
2. under maklumat sekolah, what should i enter in Tingkatan Semasa Memohon (Bagi Biasiswa Kecil)----- 1 ,4,6???i dont get this biasiswa in my secondary school
3.under MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK, PERSATUAN (Jawatan Dalam Persatuan), KEGIATAN SUKAN/OLAHRAGA, PENGLIBATAN DALAM PROJEK (Kempen Anti Dadah/Pameran/Seminar/Kuiz) what is Page Size means??
4. i got 11 A1 n 1 A2(chinese) in trial.under MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK, how much can i put?? should i put 1 A2 or subtitute it with PMR result?? HOW MUCH pmr result do i put??
5. there is no choice in what course to take...is it ask only in interview??
6. if i enter 2 quiz in same year, so wakil negeri twice is it??
if i wanna ask anything, do any1 have da contact num for the scholarship department?? or can i ask KEDAI TM instead??
can some1 just answer generally on this ques..i dont expect much(mayb i seem like being spoonfed but i m not...) just answer some,plzz
studioworks
07-02-2007, 09:44 PM
ya...i think the form is weird.
1. Under " MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK", no " pendidikan moral" , am i right?
2. may i ask...under " PERSATUAN", we don't need or can't state which society we joined?
thank you in advance.
1. moral is not considered the COMPULSORY sub..leave that.
2. it is not stated.
mayb u can try to answer some of my ques,plzzz,just some
shaun89
08-02-2007, 05:14 PM
Can anyone tell me Telekom offer how many places to non-bumiputra? How many percent? (3 out of 10 or...)
silmarillion
08-02-2007, 06:38 PM
Hey Everyone, I'm new here. I have just completed a diploma at a local private university in the field of IT. I would just like to know what scholarships is there for a person like me who had just done a diploma? I have done my own research but it would be good if there is some input from the people here.
What would the scholarship evaluation be like and what will the breakdown of the evaluation be ?( percentage of academic results, co-curricular,financial need,et cetera) Thanks !
silmarillion
08-02-2007, 06:40 PM
Hey Everyone, I'm new here. I have just completed a diploma at a local private university in the field of IT. I would just like to know what scholarships is there for a person like me who had just done a diploma? I have done my own research but it would be good if there is some input from the people here.
What would the scholarship evaluation be like and what will the breakdown of the evaluation be ?( percentage of academic results, co-curricular,financial need,et cetera) Thanks !
Correction - university college not university!
WiNd90
08-02-2007, 07:38 PM
for telekom scholarship,
1. under maklumat akademik, r pmr n upsr results needed?
or juz spm trial? or 3 of them?
2. can i apply for both local n oversea?
3. for the pameran etc part, juz the activities with cert can be added? or no matter there is cert o not?
4. those whose parents hav no slip gaji, J form etc, wat do u all fill for tht 'nama institusi'?
thx a lot..
studioworks
09-02-2007, 04:14 PM
i get a2 in chinese...it is not a requirement in telekom...i know they will know it anyway thru attachment ,but in da form it is stupid or wise to include it...is it a gift or burden???
i take sains n i get a2, but i get all a1 for fizik,kimia,bio(i know very weird to get a2 in sains,many ask me that)... since i DUNNO WHAT THE HECK is SAINS TULEN so i should include rite??but a2 is very embarrasing...i afraid they start questioning during interview...die
how many cert we expect to put?? u plan to put how much??how many coco u insert in da form??
dnsz89
14-02-2007, 01:58 AM
im having a prob! please help! for yayasan TM sch. what happens after you click the `seterusnya` button it seems as if i`m still stuck at the application page the one with names and all the page won`t move on. has my application been sent??? plus why does this years scholarship has a closing date prior to the spm results?
14-02-2007, 09:55 AM
Hi...for bank negara scholarships, why is it that some of the country's top scorers can get scholarships to do any course they want anywhere and not be bonded at all?Can we apply for it? Cos last year there were 2 students who scored 12A1s who managed to get it....I don't think they were the very top of the nation so i was wondering if we could apply for it..
dnsz89
14-02-2007, 08:38 PM
for telekom scholarship,
1. under maklumat akademik, r pmr n upsr results needed?
or juz spm trial? or 3 of them?
2. can i apply for both local n oversea?
3. for the pameran etc part, juz the activities with cert can be added? or no matter there is cert o not?
4. those whose parents hav no slip gaji, J form etc, wat do u all fill for tht 'nama institusi'?
thx a lot..
1. I think for spm leavers it should be our spm trial results only.... i doubt it they`re interested in our previous exams
2. u probly could try applyin for both no harm in doing that
3. i included activities even though there were no certs. if they ask about i later on we could say it wasn`t mentioned ;)
4. beats me i couldn`t get through the first page of application