View Full Version : Scholarships (JPA,Petronas,MARA, Telekom,Tenaga,BNM,...) FAQ
DeeDee
30-03-2004, 08:05 PM
anyone know when they're gonna call for JPA interview? and what are the chances of getting called for interview for those not getting straight A1s?? good or bad??
just a question for everyone out there. the results for spm is getting better and better each year. during my time it is unheard of having more than 5 ppl in a state getting straight A1s. nowadays we get them by thousands...is the standard dropping, or are u guys out there getting smarter and smarter? or getting smarter at beating the system that is....
30-03-2004, 11:01 PM
this year, the interview will be slightly later(tha last year's) because of the NS thingy....
most probably after the NS is over to be fair to everyone....
anyway, the 1st intake ppl(ATU 11 and the upcoming batch for all the other programs as well) will be starting in July....
just overheard this from a lecturer, not really sure...
anyway, ALL THE BEST in ur interview...
oshmelvin
31-03-2004, 08:12 AM
Decent Merson,
If I am not wrong, the interviews are going to be held at the respective camp sites or universities for the national service students so there wouldn't be much delay to the other students who are not selected for the national service. So I think the interview will be very soon. :D
lonewolfhan
31-03-2004, 11:44 AM
Hmm.. for those who din get straight A1.. dun worry if u are called for interview... it is time for u to prove that u have the quality too.. so make sure that u perform well during the interview...! Hmm... maybe u will get Korean or Japan program too ~ so.. dun give up ya ! u never know what is going to happen.... and oso.. what will be will be... smile! :)
lilet
31-03-2004, 02:45 PM
Thanks to lonewolfhan for the advice! :D
But one thing is, honestly, Korea and Japan are not bad choices of place to study. Why the discrimination? Language maybe, but learning new languages is fun! :) I've heard some said about the culture, but again, what's the difference? There will still be different culture no matter which country we go to, right? :?:
lonewolfhan
31-03-2004, 03:28 PM
yeah u r right Lilet.. studying in Japan and Korea is indeed not bad... The only difference is that u have to study a different language... but if u get to go German.. u oso have to learn a new language!!!
Besides... knowing a new language is an advantage for u when u r seeking for job in future... Perhaps u can get a well-paid international job ! :)
Well.. my frens are now enjoying themselves in Korea ade... Instead.. they can get the oversea experience sooner than us... they juz need to study for 3months in Msia... Cultural difference? Western cultures are more different compared to Japan's and Korea's one la... but we can always adapt ourselves no matter where we are rite? soo... plz dun waste the opportunity if u get it ! seriously, consider it !
Hmm.. they din get straight A1 though.. but still managed to get the scholarships... so.. have faith ! :D
(FOr ur info, 3 of my schoolmates got Korea... but one gal rejected coz she doesnt want to study engineering... what a waste ah !)
31-03-2004, 05:33 PM
of course, all these freedom may come at a price. to make a sweeping statement (which i really shouldn't haha), ppl at banting/kmys perform better academically because they have less distraction and honestly, they have nothing better to do than to study. if not mistaken, they even have study hours... sports only in the afternoon/evening i think. unlike at uitm, you could just go makan-makan jalan-jalan everyday without any supervisor forcing you to study study study or sleep at a stipulated time (i'm pretty sure they have lights out hours).
this information is 2 yrs old. so please correct me if i'm wrong:)
If this is true, I am REALLY glad that i didn't go to either both places. Coz i'll be bored to death before i can even fly to the States. Fancy studying everyday? what's life then?
But if u're lucky, u can get Taylors or Sunway. The hostel condition is much better than that of others... You can take my word for it... Once I've visited a friend of mine who was posted in Sunway College, despite all the wonderful facilities his condo has, he was grumbling about some trivial stuffs in his condo. Wait till he comes and visit me in UiTM, and i'm sure that he'll be REALLY thankful instead...
hello there! i'm new around here and firstly, hats off to all of you - fabulous site and forums here. malaysian students need a interactive,independant resource centre like this :)
anyways, does anyone know how many applicants JPA/Petronas actually recieves and how many get called in for interview and finally, how many scholarships are actually available?
thanks and all the best! :)
01-04-2004, 12:33 AM
prav, welcome to join ReCom family~! Please go to introduce yourself thread to introduce yourself.
"does anyone know how many applicants JPA/Petronas actually recieves and how many get called in for interview and finally, how many scholarships are actually available?"
On how many applicants, it would depend. But I would safely believe that there are more than 10,000 or even perhaps more than 20,000 applicants.
How many get called in for interview? Almost everyone. As long as you meet the minimum requirement, you will get called up for interview. That's the case for the past few years.
On how many scholarships are actually available, I believe there were about 1600 scholarships last year to various countries, from US, UK, France, Germany, Japan, Korea, Russia, Australia, NZ, India, Indonesia etc.
All the best~! Feel free to ask any of your questions here at ReCom.org !!!
lilet
01-04-2004, 09:56 AM
Western cultures are more different compared to Japan's and Korea's one la... but we can always adapt ourselves no matter where we are rite? soo... plz dun waste the opportunity if u get it ! seriously, consider it !
Yeah, definitely will consider it.. especially when it is a huge risk to try out for Western countries with a sheet of paper which is "poluted"! 8)
FOr ur info, 3 of my schoolmates got Korea... but one gal rejected coz she doesnt want to study engineering... what a waste ah !
On this, let's say a person get a field that s/he doesn't want to study and is very uninterested in it, should s/he continue and accept it? Most people I know wouldn't, unless they are really very desperate... :)
lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 03:04 PM
On this, let's say a person get a field that s/he doesn't want to study and is very uninterested in it, should s/he continue and accept it? Most people I know wouldn't, unless they are really very desperate... :)
Hmm.. some may consider to accept the offer... this is bcoz they dun want to let go the chance to study oversea... Its definitely a valuable experience.. .and who knows? maybe u will end up liking the major which u are offered !!!
On the other hand, some may reject juz bcoz they love their own choice too much and dun want to sacrifice their dreams juz to go oversea...
personally.. i will sacrifice anything juz to experience a new life !hehhee.. :P
01-04-2004, 03:07 PM
Or u can just do what this guy did. He asked for Computer Engineering to US. But instead, he got medicine in India. Then he reappealed (kind of dangerous though - he has represented Malaysia for some computer stuff in Korea, and has a good rapport with Bill Gates) and he got Computer Science, and he reappealed again until he got what he wants ...
lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 03:11 PM
Er.r. juz want to ask for those applicants' sake. will they still maintain ur previous offer if u decided to reappeal ? or if ur appeal fail.. u lose both ? if this is the case... its quite risky u know...
01-04-2004, 08:43 PM
Er.r. juz want to ask for those applicants' sake. will they still maintain ur previous offer if u decided to reappeal ? or if ur appeal fail.. u lose both ? if this is the case... its quite risky u know...
You'd better asked him yourself. He's your classmate lar
01-04-2004, 09:34 PM
heheh... ElansarGelmir... u are really good in making up stories....
Teckie doesn't have good rapport with Bill Gates lar....
just that he saw him at the meeting (forum) something like that lar.... but Teckie is really good in making his own money by selling his programs....haha....(*envy*)
for appealing, u won't lose ur current scholarship.... if u dun get it, u can take the previous one or leave it....(TAKE IT or LEAVE IT!!!)
but, if u get it, and u try to change country for the same course... it is virtually impossible for a normal candidate..(hope u are able to read btwn the lines)...
studying in Japan and Korea is indeed not bad... The only difference is that u have to study a different language... but if u get to go German.. u oso have to learn a new language!!!
just to make this clear... The Korea and Japan programs are diploma program (for non-bumis) and some degree programs for (bumis)
while the German program are German- degree programs....
8)
lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 09:39 PM
just to make this clear... The Korea and Japan programs are diploma program (for non-bumis) and some degree programs for (bumis)
Hmm.. another misunderstand which cause the non-bumis to reject the offer of Japan and Korea Program....
IT IS a Degree Program if im not mistaken.. even for non-bumis.. .my frens are there ade,.. during their oreintation... they were reassured that it is indeed a DEGREE program...
NO wonder so many non-bumis reject this offer..
But plz correct me if im wrong.. i dunwant to ruin anyone's future !
i just share what my frens told me... :oops:
01-04-2004, 09:42 PM
heheh... ElansarGelmir... u are really good in making up stories....
Teckie doesn't have good rapport with Bill Gates lar....
Not making up stories lar ... Just exaggerating, Bill Gates should at least recognize him kua... after all, he always go to the petronas tower to have pizza feast with Gates and Co. That guy's really keng ler .....
Hmm.. another misunderstand which cause the non-bumis to reject the offer of Japan and Korea Program....
IT IS a Degree Program if im not mistaken.. even for non-bumis.. .my frens are there ade,.. during their oreintation... they were reassured that it is indeed a DEGREE program...
i just share what my frens told me...
On the form, they stated clearly that Japan is only for the bumis ...
lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 09:58 PM
anyway, the 1st intake ppl(ATU 11 and the upcoming batch for all the other programs as well) will be starting in July....
just overheard this from a lecturer, not really sure...
anyway, ALL THE BEST in ur interview...
The juniors will only enroll in July ? Err... for ATU program... we will finish our course on 1st July lorr.. no chance to meet our juniors ade ah ? No chance to organize orientation ? No one to help the ATU juniors ? or does this mean no more ATU ??? Hmm... anyone knows the answer ? :?: :roll: :roll:
02-04-2004, 02:03 AM
guess there should be still intake. it is just that perhaps you guys can sacrifice your hols to help out in orientation. When ATU 7 and others from SPM 00 arrives, we were on hols, but we sacrifice our one week hols for their orientation...
Lydia
02-04-2004, 06:43 PM
Hi,
I'm new here, but i've been corresponding with chen chow for some time-- asking chen chow questions about scholarships and stuff :P ... I really wanna thank chen chow for all the help she has given me :P
I'm a SPM 2003 graduate and i've applied for JPA, Petronas and a few other scholarships.
(FOr ur info, 3 of my schoolmates got Korea... but one gal rejected coz she doesnt want to study engineering... what a waste ah !)
What i don't understand is: does JPA consider your results and then if they don't think you qualify for the course you're applying for, they will offer you another course instead?? Will they ask you if you wanna change the course you are applying for??
02-04-2004, 09:42 PM
What i don't understand is: does JPA consider your results and then if they don't think you qualify for the course you're applying for, they will offer you another course instead??
JPA does consider your results and once they think you dun qualify, they will see any other relevant courses available, if u r lucky, they will put you to some courses, but normally, they'll try to offer u the same course but different country....
either that or, they will reject u straight away.... :roll:
Will they ask you if you wanna change the course you are applying for??
sometimes, when they see that u dun have high chance... they will ask u to chance to another course...the may ask, but i think u shld be the one asking the person... try to ask whether there are too many applicants... what other courses are less favorable... and will offer u a better chance in getting the scholarship...
03-04-2004, 05:22 AM
Fully agree with decentmerson... ask the interviewer if they do not ask you~!
03-04-2004, 01:00 PM
But if you are interested in medic, and they wanna ask you to switch to Engineering, think twice ... Dun simply change course just becoz you wanna get the scholarship. And usually, when they want to suggest you a country (especially for medic), then be prepared to go to India or Indo, or perhaps Russia... If u're lucky, u'll get Aus or NZ. If you're really really lucky, then u'll get UK. All the best!
Lydia
03-04-2004, 11:06 PM
Thanks for the info...
I applied for Pharmacy...which is only offered in UK, NZ and Aus.... :D ...so at least if i get the same course, i won't get Russia or India.... :P
hmmm....for the Engineering courses, the JPA form didn't mention which type of Engineering...so how do they know what type of Engineering you would like to study?
03-04-2004, 11:40 PM
If I am not wrong India and Indonesia medicine was not mentioned in the advertisement, but they had it, so perhaps it could be for you to prepare mentally.
On Engineering or basically any category, they would just allocate you with the category, say engineering and then after spending some months in the preparation program, you are supposed to send in stating which major within engineering that you wish to study.
LePip
03-04-2004, 11:54 PM
another interesting thing about the jpa scholaship.. the application form this year only allows one choice of course.. if i'm not mistaken, previous applicants could state a second or third choice..(??) so i suppose we should take what ppl advise... should we go to the interview, and ask them about the popularity of certain programs... and request a different course b4 the interview if we wanted to? is that appropriate?
i also wanted to ask... any of you guys know anything bout the telekom scholarship? does telekom offer quality overseas courses like jpa? if that's true.. how come jpa much more popular...
one other thing... there's a lotta hype and talk about actuarial science, and biotech(which they have a thread for)... i just wanted to ask your opinion ppl... what's the truth about actuarial science.. is it worth studying... what's the job prospect like in msia..
04-04-2004, 12:03 AM
On number of choices, I would say that while it is true that you can only state one choice, previously JPA allows us to state two choices, but almost always, JPA just ignore our 2nd choice, so they just concentrated on our first choice.
I would say that pay attention to the briefing before the interview, typically they will make general advice on which country/course, has very few applicants and they would advise people to switch.
If you really have questions whether you are qualified, no harm ask the interviewer, when he/she checked on your certs. Ask what is their advice.
Telekom Scholarship, Luke in ReCom is under that scholarship. Generally almost everything is the same, except JPA offers the most scholarship, something like 1600 scholarship, other scholarship just like 40-60 scholarships.
CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 12:08 AM
I'm really interested to know about Actuarial science too.
oshmelvin
04-04-2004, 09:45 AM
I'm really interested to know about Actuarial science too.
I've been reading about actuarial science last night on the details of the job itself and it's demand. Currently, actuarial science is the second best paid job in the US according to the job ranking. Actuarial science has something to do with risk management - how an actuarist minimizes the risk of something bad happening. That is why actuarists mostly work in the insurance field because it is the field that deals most with risks. Other job options for actuarists include working for a bank or investment company. :D
04-04-2004, 09:03 PM
ATU 10's actuarial Science students are like fishes to be sold in the market. We have a class full of actuarial science students. I guess that Michigan Ann Arbor is going to be the next US's Shah Alam
10-Joules
05-04-2004, 08:52 AM
how long is the bond :?:
05-04-2004, 09:48 PM
Based on contract, medicine and pharmacy bond is 10 years, any professional degree is 6 years, and any non-professional degree is 4 years. I am not too sure which course is considered pro and which is not considered pro, but I guess engineering, com sci, actuarial etc are all considered as pro right?
05-04-2004, 10:57 PM
First, sorry for the late respond to this...
I am not so sure about the Korea course but I am studying in Japan so i think i may help to clear up a few points here. Well, there are both DEGREE and DIPLOMA courses here.
1) DEGREE course will need you to study 2 years of Japanese language in UM and then you will be able to enter university directly (4 years for a degree). There are quotas from Japan government universities for them so students will be able choose which university they want to enter (up to 3 choices if i am not mistaken). They will take around 150-200 students and please note that this course is only for BUMI.
2) Diploma will need you to study for 2 years in UTMKL(near KLCC) and then anotehr 3 years in technical college (for diplomma). the intake is around 50-80 students and is increasing each year. This course is open to ALL. It is said that you may continue your degree course IF you manage to enter a university through university entrance exam BUT there is NO GUARANTEE that they will provide you the scholarship as it is not stated in the contract THOUGH all the seniors that manage to enter universities had their scholarship continued. You may need to study for 2 more years to get your degree after entering university.
so basically the main different here is one will take you 6 years to get a degree and another one will take you 7 years to get a degree which is quite long compared to others. However, to those who want to try a new life or those who like challenges in a totally new environment, do come and join us in JAPAN 8)
I am one of those who are lucky enough to be the ONLY Malaysian in my college for a year before my juniors come in ... There is nothing such as wasted time here as it is just that we are spending those time in learning other things (cultures, language) After all, it is just the matter of how you spend YOUR time :wink:
Sylvia
06-04-2004, 09:50 AM
Based on contract, medicine and pharmacy bond is 10 years, any professional degree is 6 years, and any non-professional degree is 4 years. I am not too sure which course is considered pro and which is not considered pro, but I guess engineering, com sci, actuarial etc are all considered as pro right?
What about dentistry?
Sylvia
08-04-2004, 11:09 AM
Just got news from JPA and my interview is next thursday.WIsh me luck.Any last minute advice?Pls tell me.
Thanks in advance
KobeBryant
08-04-2004, 11:37 AM
hi
Is BNM scholarship hard to get ?
It seems that there are lots of JPA scholars here......
is there any BNM scholars ?
I heard that BNM's interview is quite tough...they want not only top achivers but also all-rounders right ?
Does anyone know more about the interview ?
i have read all the messages in this thread but there is only 1 message about BNM scholarship interview.......
Anyone out there can enlighten me on this ?
08-04-2004, 02:22 PM
Just got news from JPA and my interview is next thursday.WIsh me luck.Any last minute advice?Pls tell me.
Thanks in advance
Well, all the best to you and those who are going for other scholarship interviews. Oh yeah, i think, the harder topic you get, the better chances you'll get the scholarship... I dunno, just speculation. So just grab the any opportunities to flaunt your prowess, but at the same time, try to be considerate to others who need to talk as well... Good luck!
08-04-2004, 09:28 PM
posted by kobebryant :
hi
Is BNM scholarship hard to get ?
It seems that there are lots of JPA scholars here......
is there any BNM scholars ?
I heard that BNM's interview is quite tough...they want not only top achivers but also all-rounders right ?
Does anyone know more about the interview ?
i have read all the messages in this thread but there is only 1 message about BNM scholarship interview.......
Anyone out there can enlighten me on this ?
08-04-2004, 09:31 PM
I believe there are two ReCom members who are JPA Scholars, Ho Yi Duan and Lisa Leong.
If I am not wrong, the interview will be in group discussion format.
Anyone who knows more, please reply.
lilet
08-04-2004, 09:53 PM
Hi everyone!
Just want to give some information on the JPA interview thing..
I'm in Singapore right now under ASEAN scholarship with about 31 other Malaysians in my hostel of which about 28 of us applied for JPA. I can only confirm that up to this moment, only 11 of us got called up for interview which is on 15-18 April. 4 more is unknown while the rest didn't get called for interview.. We were all so anxious, checking it out online in the school library... Those who are lucky enough to get called up for interview are now planning their way back to Malaysia. 1 week is really very, very short notice.. I was expecting about 2-3 weeks before, actually.. :lol:
Anyway, just want to express my doubts about how the JPA shortlist their applicants this year. Of all the scholars here who applied for JPA_Engineering, only one out of maybe 6-8 got the chance to go for interview while the rest are rejected.. Funny thing is, some of those rejected are straight A1's students while the one who got wasn't a straight A1... :?: Most of those who applied for Medicine, Pharmacy, Biotech and Actuarial Science got it, but what happened to the Engineering? My guess is that there were too many applicants opting for Engineering so they had to filter out a large number... :wink:
Anyone got any idea how does this come about? Is this due to the spectacular number of straight A1's and straight A students this year? :?: I dunno but I feel that it is a little unfair to those who got rejected even for interview.. :roll: Like what I gather from this forum, nearly all applicants get to go for interview but I would say that there were just too many applicants this year..
Yeah, National Service will be an advantage, having civil servants parents another, lower income maybe, perfect grades doesn't seem that effective this year and though co-curricular activities are important, I can't figure out to what extent does it affect the chances of getting called up for interview cause some of those rejected that I know have excellent co-curricular records... :?
All these are really quite confusing.. Anyone want to give any opinion? I won't say that every single one of the scholars here are exceptionally good, but they at least deserve to be given a chance at the interview... Some were really very sad... :cry:
On other scholarships, of two of the more popular ones are Petronas and Bank Negara: only two got the interview for Petronas and only one for Bank Negara. What about this then? Very limited, I know... :roll:
Yeah, those who didn't get the interview can still appeal but that isn't really a very good option for we scholars cause that means that we will have to stay here longer and pay back more. But if we really want to try to get another scholarship, then we have no choice but to do so... Or else, we will be stuck in Singapore for a long, long time... :D
lilet
08-04-2004, 10:32 PM
Since the other thread is locked, I'll post here instead..
Congratulations KobeBryant, you were really very lucky to be called up for Bank Negara interview... I only know of one who got it out of many many who applied... Though I don't know how the interview is like, the person who I mentioned was interviewed today. Maybe if I can get any information from him, then I'll post it here... :D
Good luck! :D
hi ya.......i juz got call up for an jpa interview next week.....very worry now. i can accept most of the course but i cant accept some of the country....should i say to interviewer like that?n for the interview...hope that those who attended group interview can explain the situation like what we r likely to face n some of the past year topic........n when jpa will tell u whether u got the offer or not(approximately).....thanz
08-04-2004, 10:50 PM
emmm... for your infomation, we are offered until to get DEGREE here in Korea, even it is written there it is a DIPLOMA programme! Think I already mentioned it at the previous post in this thread! Please reffer it back to get more infomation. :)
dingdong
08-04-2004, 11:21 PM
hey there
i just wanna know what are some of the tips or help that will help me get the jpa or petronas scholarship
thanks a lot :D
lilet
08-04-2004, 11:30 PM
Hi there! Another SPM 2003 leaver right? Welcome to the family! :D
From what you said, I assume that you got to go for both JPA and Petronas interview, am I correct? If so, you are so damned lucky!!!
About tips and stuff concerning scholarship interviews, I suggest you go through this thread fully from page one to what ever number it will go on to... :wink: Should be very extensive already and it also covers all that you need to know... :)
09-04-2004, 12:36 AM
hi there...
lonewolfhan wrote:
DecentMerson wrote:
i just share what my frens told me...
emmm... for your infomation, we are offered until to get DEGREE here in Korea, even it is written there it is a DIPLOMA programme! Think I already mentioned it at the previous post in this thread! Please reffer it back to get more infomation.
bcoz it is written there as a DIPLOMA programme... that's why it discourage ppl from applying to these countries..
according to wat lilet says, even some straight A's students got rejected even for the interview?? INTERESTING....
maybe JPA is finally, really looking for ALL-ROUNDERS and crediting students for taking extra subjects...
anyway, it is really very very hard to get BNM interview, dun talk about the scholarship...
Yeah, National Service will be an advantage, having civil servants parents another, lower income maybe, perfect grades doesn't seem that effective this year and though co-curricular activities are important, I can't figure out to what extent does it affect the chances of getting called up for interview cause some of those rejected that I know have excellent co-curricular records...
JPA dun look at your parents' income... having civil servants parents will be an advantage bcoz the government want to take care of it's employees... just like companies like SHELL and PETRONAS(especially petronas), they take care of their employees children by giving their children scholarships even for results which are not impossible to get JPA....
09-04-2004, 12:43 AM
i think about tips and the things that happened during the interview... it is all posted in the past few pages... no point for us to repeat it here...
anyway, there is no hard and fast rule which says that u can get the scholarship if u did this in the interview or not... it really depends on a lot of stuff....
hi ya.......i juz got call up for an jpa interview next week.....very worry now. i can accept most of the course but i cant accept some of the country....should i say to interviewer like that?n for the interview...hope that those who attended group interview can explain the situation like what we r likely to face n some of the past year topic........n when jpa will tell u whether u got the offer or not(approximately).....thanz
i dun think u should tell the interviewer what country u want or u dun want... maybe they change their way of doing their job this year... (maybe they will only offer u the scholarship if there is an empty slot of the country which u applied to and will not consider to change the country for u even if u are qualified) or maybe not...
it really depends on the interviewer...and i think the interwievers have the decisions in their hands...
for last year.. the JPA will tell u whether u got the offer or not in early JUNE... if u didn't get it on the first shot....give urself a second try by appealing...u will get ur result at early August...
it is a waiting game which really test ur patience...
ALL THE BEST for those who got the interview....and GOOD LUCK..
09-04-2004, 01:31 AM
hi there...
[quote]
bcoz it is written there as a DIPLOMA programme... that's why it discourage ppl from applying to these countries..
That's the purpose for me to make it clear here behalf on Malaysian students in Korea! :)
DFish
10-04-2004, 03:23 PM
This is my first post here. I will attend JPA interview next friday. I put my mum's occupation as housewife in the JPA form, but actually she's working in the government hospital as a lab technologist. I read in this forum that government servants? children have more advantage. So, do i have to tell them that my mum works for government if they ask? I dont want to cheat in the form, but my mum insisted that i should not put her occupation in order to lower the total salary of my family there. But, JPA are not selecting base on our household income afterall. What should i answer? It would be silly if I tell them I cheat in the form, because I?ll be disqualified.
Two of my friends got Bank Negara, Petronas and JPA at the same time this year. They are really lucky. One is in NS camp, he will have the 3 interviews in 3 continuous day, very rush. Meanwhile, the other is not very lucky, because the Bank Negara interview crash with JPA. He had called Bank Negara, but they won?t let him change the interview date. So, he will have to give up one. He heard that Bank Negara scholarship is very hard to get, so he decided to go for JPA. Any suggestion for him? There?s 3494 students short listed for JPA interview this year. It must be very tough to get oso?
11-04-2004, 12:24 AM
err.. last year, there are more than 1500 offers last year...
so if according to the number (3494 students get shortlisted to the interview...), then there should be at least 40+% of getting an offer this year....
:P so... keep ur spirit high...
11-04-2004, 03:12 AM
If the number 3494 is correct, then it means JPA is making its selection for interview much stricter and that means that with about 1600 scholarships to be given out, those who get called up for interview, actually has about 45% chances of getting the scholarships.
I would strongly advise those who don't get the shortlist for interview to call up JPA IMMEDIATELY. Calling them after their interview, will almost mean 0% chance. So, call them immediately and do the persuading job.
For other scholarships, I would say that try your best. Looks like straight A1 are not guaranteed scholarship after all. But if All straight A1s are not called up for interview, it may actually mean they are automatically given the scholarships.
DFish, I think you are in a tough position. I am not sure how you would put it, but letting them know that your mother working as a government servant will give you an added boost. Salary doesn't matter. But if they know you cheat, chance is as good as 0%.
I would say that having same day interview will be quite unfortunate. But may be could call up JPA to arrange for a change. Or since he emphasizes on JPA first, may be go for JPA and concentrate and once JPA interview is done, go to Bank Negara immediately and try his luck.
Having a one-week notice is not bad already, in fact slightly more than one week notice. Guess for most of us before, the notice was like 3-day.
lilet
11-04-2004, 09:51 AM
Really 3494? Didn't realise that they cut down so much.. 8O
Looks like straight A1 are not guaranteed scholarship after all. But if All straight A1s are not called up for interview, it may actually mean they are automatically given the scholarships.
Luckily, this is not the case cause like I said, a few students i know who get straight A1s, even 10A1's, did not get called up for interview, most probably because of choosing Engineering.. No one has given comments yet on the Engineering thing? :?:
I would strongly advise those who don't get the shortlist for interview to call up JPA IMMEDIATELY. Calling them after their interview, will almost mean 0% chance. So, call them immediately and do the persuading job.
Call up JPA? Can you elaborate more on this point? I thought that if we didn't get shortlisted, we will have to wait till the first intake is over only then we reappeal... And if we do call, who do we talk to since not everyone in the department can make this kind of decision.. etc...
Two of my friends got Bank Negara, Petronas and JPA at the same time this year. They are really lucky.
Yeah, they are very, very, very and extremely lucky... :D
11-04-2004, 11:56 AM
I think those who don't get JPA interview, need to call JPA Immediately to appeal. 03-88853000. Connect to Bahagian Latihan. And I would say you can talk to anyone in Bahagian Latihan, not particular sure who is in charge.
Those who appeal after first intake are those who After attending interview and don't get the scholarship. If those who are not even called up for interview, appeal after the interview has started, my opinion is that it will do no good at all.
On the engineering thing, no one comments on it, since no one knows anything about it... I know nothing... You guys must ask JPA on it...
It will be very difficult to call JPA right now (since thousands of people are calling JPA), but those people who are not called up for interview must do so ASAP!!! Before you call, plan first on what you should convince JPA that you are worthy of an interview.
lilet
12-04-2004, 09:32 PM
Yeah, the newest update on JPA interview right now is there is a second batch that is called up for interview too which is mostly on this Friday also. I don't know about the rest but those that I know who firstly thought they got rejected due to their choice of Engineering were accepted too for interview. Anyone out there who wants to check can go to www.interactive.jpa.gov.my
But the thing is, as far as I know, for these batch of students, they have to at least score straight A's to get the interview. B's are not allowed, I think. Feel free to correct me if anyone knows of someone who got the second interview batch with a B. :D
And also, can anyone please help me? I need to know more about appealing for scholarships, not only for JPA, but also for Petronas and Bank Negara. Thanks a lot!!! :D
12-04-2004, 11:25 PM
hi....i think i better post this here rather than starting a new thread about scholarship...
i just received a letter, asking me to attend an interview by Sime Darby Group. This scholarship I had applied to is called the Yayasan Sime Darby. Anyone has experience in this interview? Mind to share? This will be my second interview in my life ...the first one was with uni of cambridge which I got rejected ( dunno what went wrong) .... So I hope I can have some preparation. The interview is on Monday 19th of April, but I will try to request to bring it foward to this Friday.....cos I have classes on Monday....so...any fast responses are highly appreciated! Thanks a lot...
13-04-2004, 08:58 AM
pandaboy, good luck on your interviews~! I haven't known anything about Sime Darby interview, so I will leave to others to comment on it. However, as a general guide for interview, go to remag.recom.org to read the Pointers for Scholarship Interview. There are a number of advice out there, which you may utilize. Hope that you will share your experience on your scholarship interview after you had them.
I also hope that those others who are going for Bank Negara, JPA and Petronas interview to share your interview experience here, so that others who will face the interview will benefit.
Good Luck to everyone~!
lilet
13-04-2004, 09:32 AM
Yeah, another thing I need to clarify is the 3494 number. Is it only the number called up for interview for the "first batch" so to say, or does it include the "second batch" too? :?: Since DFish, you gave this information, do you know about this too? :wink:
chenghau
13-04-2004, 10:30 AM
How did u know? Did JPA mention specifically that this is first batch and second batch will be coming soon?
lilet
13-04-2004, 01:45 PM
That's why I used the "??" sign, cause it's just a name to call, to differentiate those two groups, not really the first and second batch like last time where the second batch comes in during second intake after successing in appeal. :wink:
Is there anyone who knows more about this cause I seriously don't know that much... :oops:
DeeDee
13-04-2004, 08:13 PM
hi all
i know a bunch of students are appealing for JPA, and the appeal ends today as i know (those through MCA). on the second batch thingie....i'm not sure. i thought it's supposed to be after the first interview??
anyone knows anyone who got in through appeal last year?? what's the chances??
dee
13-04-2004, 09:09 PM
pandaboy, good luck on your interviews~! I haven't known anything about Sime Darby interview, so I will leave to others to comment on it. However, as a general guide for interview, go to remag.recom.org to read the Pointers for Scholarship Interview. There are a number of advice out there, which you may utilize. Hope that you will share your experience on your scholarship interview after you had them.
I also hope that those others who are going for Bank Negara, JPA and Petronas interview to share your interview experience here, so that others who will face the interview will benefit.
Good Luck to everyone~!
thanks chenchow! i will try my best...no matter what the result will be, it will definitely be an invaluable experience for me....
lilet
13-04-2004, 11:43 PM
Should have explained more detail about what I meant. :oops: There were two groups of students who got the JPA interview but they were given notices at different time, hence first and second batch, so to call. Though the interview date is almost the same, it?s just that the notices (or rather, the day that a student can start checking whether they got selected for interview or not through the online website) are a few days apart.
Maybe I shouldn?t have called it ?first and second batch?. Makes it sound more confusing, right? :wink: Sorry~! Didn?t mean to? :oops: Someone referred to it that way so it just got stuck in my mind? Maybe I should call it first and second round instead?
14-04-2004, 05:34 AM
On appeals for second intake, I am not sure how many people appeal, but based on last year (SPM 2002) batch, JPA accepts an additional of about 100 students from among those that appeal. This is the statistic for all programs.
For SPM 2000, I know that based on those who appeal, roughly 50+ people get scholarship to US. I have no statistic on other program.
I guess right now, the main thing is concentrate on the interview. Try your best first. If don't get, then the best option is to appeal, since you have nothing to lose by appealing.
lzyee
14-04-2004, 01:03 PM
helo!!!
this is such a good forum!!HEHEHE
my name is zcho yee,from sg petani,kedah.
and i am going to the jpa interview too this 16
do u all think that applicants like us have to do any last minute work??
anyway ..thanks to chenchow for the advice tru icq!!
nice to meet u all!!
15-04-2004, 03:34 AM
Zcho Yee, good luck for your interviews.
This is something that Chiam Yu messaged me and asked me to put up since he could not log onto ReCom. Thanks Chiam Yu.
From Chiam Yu:"hopefully i can pass the interview. As i can't get into ReCom, maybe u can pass on to those who want to appeal for JPA : send email to lsp@<hidden>. Give them personal info, contact no., spm result and sell yourself a bit. I not sure this can use or not, my friend tell me.
can u pls help me to post this to the forum? I cant post the reply. 3 paragraphs:
Sorry to reply late to Lilet. I was unable to enter this forum because of some problem on the server. I got the number 3494 from JPA website advertisement http://www.jpa.gov.my/sistem/frmIklanTemuduga.htm
I dunno whether this include the "2nd batch", because some of my friends become the "2nd batch" also.
My classmate who got a B3 for his chinese and 10 As got JPA interview. But others that got better result didn't get the interview, maybe because he apply for Japan engineering. (I heard that not many people apply this because of the "diploma" in the advertisement)
A friend of this guy said that she went to Putrajaya to appeal for JPA, and she got news from an officer there that JPA offered 1000 scholarships this year, 300 for medicine and 400 for engineering. Though, i'm not sure whether this news is true or not. Hopefully they offer more. "
15-04-2004, 07:02 AM
Based on the information I get from Li Jia, Bank Negara Malaysia received 2000 applicants and of which, they shortlisted 100 for interview and out of those, 40 will get scholarship.
Sylvia
15-04-2004, 01:00 PM
I just finish my jpa interview and luckily everything went quite well. Acording to one of the officers,jpa call 3800 student for the interview and they will give about 1300 scholarships. Just to give a bit information for others who are going to the interview later.The interview is like a group dicussion.We were divided into 9 ppl a group.we were then given a topic and about 10 minutes to prepare.Then we start the dicussion which take about 40-45minutes.I was given a topic on gangsterism and one of my frens got a topic on terrorism. My advice to those who are going for the interview,try to be the first one to talk and break the silence.Don't panic and remember to TALK!
Feel free to ask me some question about the interview and I'll try my best to help.Good luck!
Thank you very very much to all those ppl that give me advice and tips on the interview. They are really helpful.
DFish
15-04-2004, 08:30 PM
Thanks ChenChow for helping me to post the reply. By the way, I'm a girl lo, not "he". :lol:
Ya, Slyvia is right. My friends who went for interview today also learned from the officer that there are about 4000 ppl were call and more than a thousand scholarships are offered.
I'm going for the interview tomorrow. My friends told me they were divided into 9 people in a group and the interview session is 1 hour per group. During the interview, the 9 candidates were given a namecard each with number from 1 to 9. They were asked to introduce themselves, their family background, what course they apply and why they choose the country. Then, they were given a topic. The interviewers (2 of them) will ask questions, and call up names to answer it. So, everyone have a fair chance to speak and they dont fight for chances to talk. The topics that i got from my friends include: ICT, globalisation, pollution, NS, gansterism, transfering of technology, preparation to go overseas and world peace.
HOpe this help others that will be interview later or those who go for Petronas interview. Wish me luck for tomorrow!
AikWin
15-04-2004, 08:54 PM
I dunno if it might be too late..coz internet prob so I didn't see this posting. Anyone who wants to have info on JPA_NZ or even JPA_AUS plz email: tanaikw@<hidden>
Cheers
lzyee
15-04-2004, 11:08 PM
...tomorow will be the interview day,yaeh!!
good luck to all !!!
david_david
16-04-2004, 06:25 PM
during the briefing b4 my interview the officer said that applicants are selected based on their SPM result and the interview itself.Co-curricular activities are not taken into account unless as a tie breaker.did they say the same thing at other centres :?: :?:
also the interviewers were quite young.was actually expecting some moustached uncle with greying hair :wink:
also seems that the most competition is for pharmacy and medicine
(who doesn't know that already????}
for the technical programme (korea/japan) they said for non-bumi they might upgrade scholarship to cover degree if u do welll
{then again, how good is good enough???}
LePip
16-04-2004, 08:58 PM
hey ppl.. don't know if this is of much use... since most of the JPA interviews are over.. i just had my JPA interview today.. my topic was NS, a few other ppl got gangsterism, ICT, globlisation, while some were only requested to introduce themselves, describing why they applied for their course....
anyway, when we asked, they just said the number of scholarships available depends on their budget, but they did specifically mention that medicine is really tough especially to UK and they were gonna send more ppl to indonesia, russia, and india.
btw, about the bank negara interview...i went last monday, i can confirm what ChenChow said.. about 2000 ppl applied, 100+ got the interview.. but what i heard from the interviewers was that aroun 50 will get shortlisted for the second interview, and only less than 15 ppl will get the sholarship (not 40 like mentioned in earlier post).. the question they asked was quite similar to last years question (which i heard from this forum), so anyone applying for bank negara next time, read on.. they give us RM100 million, land the size of 4 football fields, and ask us to come up with a 20 minute presentation about our proposed project.. seems a lot harder than a lotta other interviews... that's all then...
gluck to everyone who completed jpa interview!
weechin
16-04-2004, 11:02 PM
I juz passed the JPA interview 2day.N i'm going 2 petronas interview on Sun. Can anyone tell me about the petronas interview?Esp the quest...10q...quite urgent .... :lol:
16-04-2004, 11:32 PM
I guess the Petronas interview will be group discussion as well. Prepare for various kind of questions. I think those topics that are being used by JPA are relevant, as well as some topics, like genetic engineering, that has been used by Petronas as the interview topic. I would leave it to others who are Petronas scholars, or who have attended Petronas interview to answer.
Good Luck~! I would hope that those who had gone through the interview process to share your experience as much as possible, so that those who haven't gone through this interview could benefit from it.
oshmelvin
17-04-2004, 11:26 AM
This year's interviews are overflooding with people. I had my JPA interview yesterday and i think it went well. The topic that we were given is National Service and the discussion time frame is 45 minutes. 2 minutes was given for preparation for you to jot down whatever points you have in mind. Other topics include world peace, pollution, tourism and globalization. In Kuching, the interview is a bit different from the rest. We had to choose a chairperson to coordinate the discussion and take on the role as the interviewer. However, the actual interviewer does interrupt at times when you're talking a bit too much or slightly into a certain point for too long. 3 people volunteered to become the chairperson in my group (there were all ten of us in the room). I eventually took on the role as the chairperson and had to coordinate the discussion. The first part of the discussion was a preface and everybody had to give their general view on what is the programme all about and how it benefits the people (for example to unite races and promote racial integration). The second part of the discussion was to state the pros and cons of national service. I had to bring up a number of cases brought up by my group during the first phase of the interview for example the 10 000 students who "ran" away from national service (why did they do so? Is the programme that bad?) and also the present condition of national service...the lack of programmes causing boredom and the lack of facilities. We also discussed about a lot of other stuff like the money spent... 1.6 mil (was it worth spending and so on), the food (which has something to do with religion) and also on the topic of bringing military training into national service and so on. In the end, we all decided that the national service programme is good but it should be reviewed so it is not an obstruction to our studies and also to eliminate boredom by including more useful programmes into the curriculum. We were also being briefed that almost 4000 students were selected for the interview and from that number 1000 - 1500 scholarships will be given to the deserving students. Oh by the way... LePip, you were at the bank negara interview on monday? I was there too! It was interesting to have something new especially in the form of a presentation (group and personal presentation and the topic was the same). Lastly, I would like to wish all of you who have attended the interview all the best and keep us informed if you get the scholarship! :D
17-04-2004, 01:14 PM
oshmelvin, thanks for the detailed description. Hope others will do like wise, especially if there is a difference.
I just found a factual error in the NS discussion that you had...$1.6 million. The cost was actually RM500 million and in fact, it is expected to exceed since Government is organizing additional camps for those 10,000 who miss the call-up.
In fact, if look at that RM500 million, I would say that if calculated by 85,000 Malaysians, each person will be nearly RM5,900, which includes cost for the facilitator's allowance, food, and all other expenses. I look at it as a pretty reasonable number, especially if you look at price of similar camps elsewhere in the world.
For instance, I went on a leadership camp in US for 6 days. It was a very worthwhile camp sponsored by GM and Kodak. However, the cost was a staggering USD1500 for 6 days, which is about RM5700. Although we can't calculate with the different exchange rate, I think if the implementations are well-done, NS is a worthwhile investment, especially in building human capital.
Sorry for digressing. I try to clarify the point, just in case others have the same topic.
Oshmelvin, personally, I think you have become a very good chairperson for your discussion. I think you stand a good chance. Do you email your interviewer and thank him/her? Ask for comments and who knows, you will get favorable response.
To all who are attending interview, good luck~!
17-04-2004, 02:22 PM
I heard from some sources that if u go for a scholarship interview by some private companies, u need to tell them that u r actually applying for other scholarships as well if they ask u about it. Anyone know what is the reason behind it? Why they prefer students who apply for more than one scholarship? Just curious :wink:
17-04-2004, 06:57 PM
hi there...
[quote]
That's the purpose for me to make it clear here behalf on Malaysian students in Korea! :)
Well, Janewai ... no offence but anything not stated/not written in the contract is not guaranteed and can be changed anytime. Although JPA said that they will offer us till degree and our seniors all got their scholarship until degree, I hope that those who are going to take the scholarship will keep that in mind that it is still a diploma course.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
i wrote that a week before but didnt have the chance to post it cos of the server prob.
for the technical programme (korea/japan) they said for non-bumi they might upgrade scholarship to cover degree if u do welll
I think they means if you manage to enter any Japan government univercity and reapply for it :) Well, ALL my seniores since the first batch got their scholarship except the batch which enter university when there was economy downturns in Msia.
I juz passed the JPA interview 2day.N i'm going 2 petronas interview on Sun. Can anyone tell me about the petronas interview?Esp the quest...10q...quite urgent ....
I attended the interviews erm... 3-4 years ago :wink: so dont take 100% what i said here and those who went for the interviewed last year please reply ASAP 8)
First they will need you to write an essay of why you want to be an engineer and pass it up in ten minutes (i think this is for the local UTP purpose) and a short interview by a person when you pass up the essay.
Then they will diveded us into 4 person a group, given a topic and we will have a group discussion. My group was given the topic about genetical engineered food (GM-food). They will interview us oe by one before the discussion and asking you opinions about the topic given + other normal interview questions. Then only they will have the group discussion. I think they will compare your ideas with what you will express in the group and how you tolerate or cooperate with others if there is any different ideas from others.
Good Luck and PRAY :wink:
suggestion:
Maybe we can have thread/list of students who went to those interviewed stated in this thread and the result of their interview :) so that those who are going to be interviewed may ask them about their experience. It will be good too if those who was interviewed post us their experience in certain format (erm...more details later :P) Maybe we can have a collection of interview experiences next year for each interview.
oshmelvin
17-04-2004, 07:25 PM
I heard from some sources that if u go for a scholarship interview by some private companies, u need to tell them that u r actually applying for other scholarships as well if they ask u about it. Anyone know what is the reason behind it? Why they prefer students who apply for more than one scholarship? Just curious :wink:
Well, I think that the reason for you to say that you are applying for other scholarships as well is to show that you're in dire need of financial aid. If you say that you are only applying for this particular scholarship and not others, it will mean two things, either you really did not apply for other scholarships and that you are not serious about getting financial aid (which means that you're not really in need of financial aid - because most people who are in need of financial aid apply for almost every single scholarship available) or that you've been lying to them. So, it's best to tell them the truth. Chen Chow.. thanks for the correction. The amount spent for NS was stated by one of my group members and I have not verified it. Thank you very much for giving me the actual figure. =) RM 5000+ for a participant is a lot for national service especially if it is done in Malaysia. But I think that the amount will gradually decrease next year because the 500 mil given for this project also includes building the camps and getting the facilities ready (since this is done already this year, the only thing that remains is the money spent on facilitators, food and activities) Nevertheless, it is still wellspent in my opinion. Oh yeah, I did e-mail my interviewer. Thanks for the reminder. One more thing... Chen Chow, what is wrong with the Re Com server anyway? I've been trying to access it a few days ago but there was a server failure. Thanks :D
17-04-2004, 07:28 PM
thanks oshmelvin...
now that sounds logical to me....
17-04-2004, 11:40 PM
To pandaboy, in fact, I would say that sometimes, some companies
will tend not to offer scholarship to those that apply a lot of
scholarships. This just shows that you have a lack of confidence
and especially for private companies, you have no showcase of
preference to that particular companies. This is especially so,
if you are applying scholarship of two companies which are arch
rival. I would advise you to be honest, as they may be able to
cross-check the reference to weed out those dishonest ones, I
would advise you to think of how to state your preference.
The same case goes when you are applying for universities. You
just can't go to Princeton interview saying that Princeton is
your first choice and when you go to Stanford interview you say
Stanford is your first choice and you did that for MIT, Caltech
etc. What if they find out about your cheating?
To oshmelvin and others, we are experiencing some problem with
the web hosting. Syamsul and Yusuf are trying their very best to
solve it. Hope everyone is patience. Thank you for everyone's
support to ReCom~!
18-04-2004, 12:53 PM
hmm...chenchow...that is true also. I think honesty is the best policy. I did apply for other scholarships and I'm still planning to apply more in future if I failed to get this one. It can be either the reason given by oshmelvin or the reason given by chenchow, we will never know. Hmph....
KobeBryant
18-04-2004, 08:41 PM
hi
i just want to know who is syamsul and yusuf.
ermm , what are meant by 'best friend' , ' super best friend' , 'recom anchor' which are given under our names ?
hehe....how to lv up??
by posting ?
i am very very interested in this website !
hope that i can contribute to Recom
suelyn
19-04-2004, 10:28 PM
hey everyone....i need some help here...
have anyone been through the interview for STAR education fund??
pls tell me how does the interview runs...!!
my interview is tomorrow...i know it is a little too late to ask... :( but i hope i can get some clue on how does it runs...
KobeBryant
20-04-2004, 12:36 AM
i just want to know about JPA scholarship
why does it look like there are many of you here , the JPA scholars,are sent to US ?
US bound JPA scholars are more than those in UK and Australia ?
who knows about this ?
20-04-2004, 05:33 AM
I would say that one of the main reasons are those who are sent to US are mainly engineering, computer science students for the past few years and I would say that is a reason why most of these people are using internet much more and hence, that's one of the reasons why ReCom is filled with many who are studying in US.
Another reason would probably be that the education over here is done pretty much online. Our course website is online, submitting homework is online, getting grades online etc... That could be another reason.
Nevertheless, ReCom would like to reach everyone~! So, please spread the words around.
In terms of number of scholarship holders to US, UK and Australia, I think each has about the same number.
KobeBryant
20-04-2004, 08:52 PM
ATU 10's actuarial Science students are like fishes to be sold in the market. We have a class full of actuarial science students. I guess that Michigan Ann Arbor is going to be the next US's Shah Alam
ermm....elansar gelmir , u are now in INTEC ?
there are many actuarial science students there ?
i have applied for the JPA scholarship in actuarial science too
i am the SPM 03 batch
KobeBryant
21-04-2004, 01:02 AM
what is ATU 9 , ATU 10 ??
i just want to know if u are given the JPA scholarship to US ,
u r bound to go to INTEC ?
i know that for JPA scholars who are going to Australia or UK, they do their pre-u at local private colleges 1st like KBU , Sunway and Taylor . US bound JPA scholars will only study at INTEC ?
so, pre-U programme for US bound JPA scholars is different from those going to UK and Australia ?
hehe...i have a friend, JPA scholar too,studying AUSMAT in Sunway. He seems to enjoy very much! he said the accomodation is the best compared to other colleges.
therefore , are JPA scholars going to UK and Australia more fortunate than US bound JPA scholars ? ( i dun have any idea about INTEC......sorry )
21-04-2004, 02:05 AM
therefore , are JPA scholars going to UK and Australia more fortunate than US bound JPA scholars ? ( i dun have any idea about INTEC......sorry )
are you kidding me? you want to judge which scholarship is better by comparing accomodation?
i am extremely thankful that i managed to get a jpa scholarship to the U.S. i would be thankful for ANY scholarship. maybe that's because my family is not rich.
21-04-2004, 02:56 AM
ATU 9 and ATU 10, is just the batches of the ATU program. It is a program by JPA for those going to US. ATU 9 are those in SPM 01, and ATU 10 are those in SPM 02.
International Education Center (INTEC) is the preparatory center for JPA and MARA and perhaps other scholarship board for scholars going to US, Germany, France, Korea, Russia and many other programs... Some UK Twinning are there too and I know some AUSMAT are there too...
I fully agree with topdog. The scholarship itself does not look at how the place you study, especially in preparatory program and I would say that INTEC is not bad a place too...
And for most of us, getting the scholarship is like a dream come true. Without the scholarship, I won't be able to dream of even entering private universities or private colleges in Malaysia, let alone coming to US... I count my blessings.
21-04-2004, 04:03 AM
are JPA scholars going to UK and Australia more fortunate than US bound JPA scholars ?
it depends... if you are extremely outstanding and fortunate, you may get into one of the more luxurious preparatory course such as Lembah Beringin.... and end up in a prestigious university in UK or Australia. On the other hand, i have my friends complaining that the competition to enter universities in Australia and UK (Medic) is very tough. they worry that they may not get a place in those universities. for Australia medic, u need to be in the 99.7% percentile.......Then again, US bound students here do not apply for medic, so perhaps the competition would be tough for US students too if they apply for medic there... hehe...
KobeBryant
21-04-2004, 10:09 AM
majority of the scholars in INTEC are going to US ?
KobeBryant
21-04-2004, 10:13 AM
[quote="chenchow"]ATU 9 and ATU 10, is just the batches of the ATU program. It is a program by JPA for those going to US. ATU 9 are those in SPM 01, and ATU 10 are those in SPM 02.
so , for SPM 03 students who get JPA scholarship to US , they are in ATU 11 ?
21-04-2004, 10:48 PM
just wondering.....for jpa scholars...how long are u guys bonded to serve the government after graduating? Does the JPA sponsor you up to masters and PhD or only for a bachelor's degree? Thanks.
weechin
21-04-2004, 11:39 PM
10s 4 the tips given 2 me for my quest...10q :oops:
i hav come bac from the interview....anyone wants more info about the interview can contact me...... :P
21-04-2004, 11:44 PM
weechin...which interview did u go?
why dun u share ur experience here?
i went for the sime darby interview yesterday..... but I think i'll only be posting something about it later....too tired telling my stories to my classmates and friends already.... *fuh*
22-04-2004, 03:54 AM
To kobebryant's question, I think about 20% or perhaps slightly more students in INTEC are going to US. Those from SPM 03 who get JPA Scholarship to US will most likely be in ATU 11.
Based on the contract, bond is 6 years for professional type degree like engineering, and 4 years for non-professional. Don't ask me which is professional courses and non-professional courses, since I don't know. Medicine and pharmacy are 10-year bond.
Basically the current scholarship is for bachelor's degree. But most people, especially those who eventually work with government will get a high chance to go for master and PhD. Some get to go direct for master, immediately after Bachelor's degree. But remember that it is case by case basis and there are some requirements.
I am not too sure about all the requirements, but minimum of 3.5 and getting admission to a graduate school, which is at least as good as your undergrad school.
weechin and pandaboy, please post your interview experience here, to share with others. Hope others will do so too... Share as much as you could share.
abc123
22-04-2004, 11:54 AM
I wasn't chosen to attend JPA interview last week and I had asked them about that. They said that my combination subjects during SPM doen't suit the combination subjects they need for the course that I applied (Actuarial Science). My SPM results is quite okay with 8A1 (including Math, English, +Math, Physics & Chemistry) and 2B3. I didn't took Bio during SPM & because of this Biology subject I was rejected. (Is there are STRONG relationship between Biology & Actuary?) Only PURE science students are chosen for this course & technical students like me or Account students will be rejected, I guess. I thought if I did not suite with the course I apply, they will consider me for other courses. But they just rejected me. I had called JPA, they asked me to write an appealing letter. I had sent it to them already & told them that I don't mind to study Arch. or Eng. instead of Actuary. The man who answer my call also said that, they will have a meeting in the next 2 week to choose students who qualified for the scholar. And they will also consider the students who appeal through letter only. And now, my questions is...
1. AM I STILL HAVE THE CHANCE 2 GET THIS SCHOLARSHIP EVENTHOUGH I WASN'T BEING INTERVIEWED?
2. IS THERE ANY JPA's STUDENT WHO GET THE SCHOLARSHIP WITHOUT BEING INTERVIEWED BEFORE THIS?
I am really, really upset with this situation. At least, gimme the chance to be interviewed. Don't just rejected me like that just because I had chose the WRONG course. Sighhhhhh......
22-04-2004, 12:06 PM
abc123, really sorry to hear about your situation. to answer your questions,
1. i am not sure, but i would assume that you need to be interviewed to be considered for a scholarship. you should send in your appeal letter as soon as possible. here's my suggestion: if you can, ask your dad to bring you to jpa headquarters and ask to meet with encik zainal abidin in person. maybe they will kesian you and give your more consideration. if not, send your letter through courier service.
2. i don't know.
good luck.
22-04-2004, 12:23 PM
abc123, welcome to ReCom~!
I would say that in a sense the courses chosen is important. I did not see what is the minimum requirement in the application form, but JPA has some requirements of grade for the subjects mentioned. So, if Biology is not mentioned in the application form for that particular course, then it should not matter. So, basically check properly on the application form.
This year, JPA screening of those who got to go for interview is pretty strict. I know of a number with 3A2s, who don't get to go for interview.
If you are qualified, JPA will call you for interview. I have heard of some who appealed and JPA called them up for interview at Putrajaya and some of them managed to get the scholarship. However, your appeal letter must be convincing, in addressing why you should get a chance in interview and the scholarship and not merely, I should be given a chance for interview.
If you are selected, as I said, there will be interview for you.
weechin
22-04-2004, 01:12 PM
i went 4 petronas interview....i'll post my experience here as soon as possible.....so be patient....coz this website always faces the poblem of data base low..isn't it.?So.....juz wait 4 me oo :oops:
22-04-2004, 08:29 PM
I wasn't chosen to attend JPA interview last week and I had asked them about that. They said that my combination subjects during SPM doen't suit the combination subjects they need for the course that I applied (Actuarial Science). My SPM results is quite okay with 8A1 (including Math, English, +Math, Physics & Chemistry) and 2B3. I didn't took Bio during SPM & because of this Biology subject I was rejected. (Is there are STRONG relationship between Biology & Actuary?) Only PURE science students are chosen for this course & technical students like me or Account students will be rejected, I guess. I thought if I did not suite with the course I apply, they will consider me for other courses. But they just rejected me. I had called JPA, they asked me to write an appealing letter. I had sent it to them already & told them that I don't mind to study Arch. or Eng. instead of Actuary. The man who answer my call also said that, they will have a meeting in the next 2 week to choose students who qualified for the scholar. And they will also consider the students who appeal through letter only. And now, my questions is...
1. AM I STILL HAVE THE CHANCE 2 GET THIS SCHOLARSHIP EVENTHOUGH I WASN'T BEING INTERVIEWED?
2. IS THERE ANY JPA's STUDENT WHO GET THE SCHOLARSHIP WITHOUT BEING INTERVIEWED BEFORE THIS?
I am really, really upset with this situation. At least, gimme the chance to be interviewed. Don't just rejected me like that just because I had chose the WRONG course. Sighhhhhh......
Well, i think for your case, there's too many people from your batch who got straight A1s, not to mention straight As as well. So, the JPA practically have to short list and filter the students from the extremely large applicant pool this year. They can't accomodate everyone for the interview, you see. Unless you have a strong argument, such as your co-curricular activities or your voluntary participations ... Anyway, juz try appealing. No harm trying
lilet
22-04-2004, 11:30 PM
Hi hi! Finally I am back after countless times of failure to log into ReCom! :-)
Anyway, I also just finished my interview 2 weeks ago and honestly, mine sucks. Why? Because for me, the 'discussion' part was kinda dominated by few of the candidates who really didn't give others the chance to speak up until the interviewer had no choice but to intervene and address certain candidates personally.. ToT
Another point to note is that in my center, Shah Alam, we were not given the chance to change our course and country as in the one that we initially chosed in our application form. For country, that I can understand, but cannot change course?! That is a little beyond my comprehension. I feel that it is quite unfair for students who wanted to change to a course that will suit them better.
Hopefully I'll be able to log in again next time... :-)
lilet
23-04-2004, 09:56 AM
Yeah! I managed to log in again~!! :P
One more thing - I am quite suspicious about how important the interview is this year due to a few feedbacks from my friends. One had her interview in KL where the first question for her was "what is your name?" and then "what is your IC number" and then, okay, you can go now. 8O Is this counted an "interview"? Few others got interviews where the interviewer told them to speak of anything they like. I am not sure whether the interviewer was very observant during that period but most of them were just talking crap or holding daily conversations. Next, another friend was told by her interviewer that 90% of selection criteria comes from the application (your qualifications and result, etc) while interview only makes up 10% so there is not much point.
How true all these news are I am not sure but they were first-hand experience by close friends. Okay, so any comments? :D
david_david
23-04-2004, 10:00 AM
when will the jpa results be released?
will there be a second intake this time round??
is there a racial quota
23-04-2004, 11:10 AM
when will the jpa results be released?
will there be a second intake this time round??
is there a racial quota
Don't be disappointed with the racial quota. It's unfair, but u're in Malaysia.
23-04-2004, 12:00 PM
On how important is the interview, I will say that it is very important, especially when academic score for everyone is very close. So, let say, even if the percentage is 10%, that 10% will make a whole lot of difference when selecting the students. I feel that the percentage will be at least 15% or 20%.
So, lets look in this way. Say, it is only 10%. Are you so confident in getting the scholarship that the 10% is not essential. Would getting a 5 points and 9 points make a whole lot of difference when academic score is almost equal. Every single point counts.
On those who were sent back after asking name and IC number, I believe the interviewer is trying to judge the response of the student. If the student is very interested in JPA scholarship, the student will ask questions to the interviewer and try to sell himself/herself even for a short time. Merely walking away, means that you have given up on the schoalrship.
JPA scholarship results will be out next month I guess. Typically there will be 2nd intake, but lets keep fingers' crossed.
David_david, there is no racial quota since SPM 2001. It is meritocracy.
23-04-2004, 12:18 PM
huh? i know for public universities there is supposed to be meritocracy, but...no quota for JPA scholarship? you can't be serious.
KobeBryant
23-04-2004, 03:09 PM
i am extremely thankful that i managed to get a jpa scholarship to the U.S. i would be thankful for ANY scholarship. maybe that's because my family is not rich.
of course i would be thankful and grateful to the jpa if i get the jpa scholarship.
My family is not rich.....that's the reason
23-04-2004, 04:10 PM
Anyone who has gotten the scholarship would be very grateful too...
23-04-2004, 04:15 PM
Really? I thought it's still going on . . . Maybe for my year though...
KobeBryant
23-04-2004, 07:31 PM
i think racial quota is still on the policy because as u can see some malay can get JPA scholarship even though they have only a few A1
maybe the process of selection for malay is more lenient unlike us ,chinese, who have to get straight A1 !
Getting an A2 means ur chances of securing the JPA scholarship are at stake
24-04-2004, 02:33 AM
getting an A2 means APPEAL. Getting 3A2s or more . . . Keep your fingers really cross . . . it's either luck or you have other extraordinary prowess in you and your co-co...
24-04-2004, 07:19 AM
One thing I would say is that for this year, the competition will be very intense if you look at the number of students with straight A1s. There are about 1100+ of those people. And there are 5000+ more with 1A2s, 2A2s or 3A2s. So, clearly the number of people in this category numbers around 6000+. And the number of JPA scholarship is only like a quarter of those. So, if you based on that theory, then I guess 3 quarter of people in this category will appeal, isn't it?
I think the interview and co-cu plays a part, although the percentage is not huge, since the competition is very intense.
lilet
24-04-2004, 09:55 AM
The stats are not that encouraging I would say. ;-) So, to be prudent, might as well as I start asking how exactly is it that one who does not get JPA the first time appeal? I know that there is a certain appeal period and then there will be another interview but can anyone give me specific details?
I guess it is quite reasonable to prepare for the worst cause we won't know what might happen in the future and overshooting the dateline of appeal (when it is fixed) won't be of any advantage... :D And another question is, how does the appeal selection differ from the first one? Or is it just the same?
TQ.
24-04-2004, 10:00 AM
Basically, I would strongly advise those who are free, to just in case, prepare a good appeal letter. In the appeal letter include your details, which include your IC number and I think do highlight your few main achievements to convince JPA. I know that in previous years, some manage to be successful by mentioning that they don't mind to be posted at other countries for the same course. Not sure how this would work this year.
I would say that the appeal will not add many more people, something like 50-150 people, but guess everyone will fight till the last chance right?
your appeal letter must be short but convincing. Basically after JPA read your appeal letter, they will reopen your file and look at where you stand and basically they will evaluate case-by-case. So, if you are borderline case, it is high chance that you will get. But if you are far off the cutoff point, then i guess you will get the rejection letter again.
There won't be any more interview or anything. There is no specific deadline, but as soon as possible. Guess letter should reach JPA within a few days and for those who are able to go down personally to JPA, I think that is a good way to do so.
lilet
24-04-2004, 10:24 AM
Oops~! Sorry for the mistake, I got the impression that for everything, interview is a must.. :-)
There is no specific deadline, but as soon as possible. Guess letter should reach JPA within a few days and for those who are able to go down personally to JPA, I think that is a good way to do so.
Do you mean as in a few days after we (if there are unfortunate ones T-T ) get the rejection letter? No specific deadline? Thinking back, I haven't heard of a deadline before but after a certain period, it kinda becomes not worth trying already since it's too late, right? Though we don't really get to know when the 'late' period is...
sOuL-X
24-04-2004, 11:34 AM
whoaa.. i didn't get the JPA interview and i also don't know there's a 2nd intake for JPA scholarship and can appeal for it... can i still wite the appealing letter now?? although i think it is little bit late :cry: .. i'm very keen in JPA scholar... when i saw my name wasn't in the list to be interviewed, i'm really sad and was wanna cry at that time... waaaaaa i hope i still have chance to appeal the JPA scholarship .. hewp me plsss
KobeBryant
24-04-2004, 11:45 AM
whoaa.. i didn't get the JPA interview and i also don't know there's a 2nd intake for JPA scholarship and can appeal for it... can i still wite the appealing letter now??
i think, u should have attended the interview if u want to appeal
actually , by the time u didn call for the interview u should try to phone them or write letter to the JPA as what chenchow has told since u are so keen to get the scholarship and need it very much
KobeBryant
24-04-2004, 11:59 AM
To all US-bound JPA scholars , can u all get double-degree ?
double-degree is very common in Australia where u can focus on 2 closely related fields like accounting and applied finance.
so would JPA let u all do double degree in US ?
( am i wrong to post this msg in this thread , if so , which thread is more suitable ? )
DFish
24-04-2004, 12:40 PM
i might be a bit late here, it's been 2 weeks since my JPA interview. I cant post reply in here becuz the server was down.
A candidate ask the interviewers whether he can change his course or country, the interviewer's answer is, since JPA select u for interview base on the course and country u choose with the combination of your academic result. JPA wont allow one to change. Becuz u will give them job to evaluate again whether u are suitable for the course u choose. If u want to change course, think twice, cuz maybe u willl lost the scholarship.
aquila
24-04-2004, 01:11 PM
The JPA selection process was kinda messy my yr... first they told me i couldn't go to the US.. i almost died... then i received a letter that i had been accepted to the ATU program...
my yr we got lucky, basically anyone who got straight A1s had a straight ticket to a scholarship.. there weren't that many of us... also i seriously don't think students have gotten smarter.... i just think now spm is becoming so easy the numbers who get straight A1s rival the numbers who get straight for PMR...
so you guys will have to fight among urselves... at least jpa can now say that since there are so many straight A1 candidates they cant possibly give scholarship to each one of them..
conclusion = conspiracy theory to overhaul the "meritocracy system"
rather random and not scientific... :P don't take it too seriously
24-04-2004, 01:31 PM
i like to tell this story just so that those who fail to get a JPA scholarship the first time around can find some hope. chenchow and i were in the 3rd intake into ATU 5...a full 2 months after the 1st intake enrolled in itm! (there was a grand total of 4 guys and 2 girls in our 3rd intake...so you could say we were EXTREMELY lucky.) my dad actually went to the jpa hq a few times to, erm, plead. he even brought me along once. i was no slacker either, both SPM and extra-curriculur wise, which goes to show that hoping for a jpa scholarship is pretty much a crapshoot. so don't despair if you're not offered one, there are other avenues out there.
i like the conspiracy theory. :) give everyone straight A1s so you don't have to explain why some people get left out, heh.
24-04-2004, 02:47 PM
hmmmsounds like sthing fr the X-Files..conspiracy theory hehe
24-04-2004, 03:18 PM
IMHO, this time JPA shouldn't give out scholarship based solely on SPM results... No doubt that academic is important, but since these days it is rather easy to get a distinction in SPM (no offense to anyone, but this is fact), the value of A plummeted and more people are getting distinctions every year and yet the quality of the students did not get better... I think JPA should really give the candidates selection tests . . . That would have made it easier for them to pick the students. Else, if 6000 ppl got straight As, and JPA can only give out 1000 scholarships, they will receive 5000 appeal letters for sure...
david_david
24-04-2004, 06:29 PM
perhaps they should introduce "special paper " like in singapore to differentiate the good from the really good.
i agree that SPM has become very "cheap".imagine, objective questions for maths and very very simple questions for additional maths. for physics,chem and bio the mcq is too easy
by the way how will we know about the results of the jpa scholarship.thru their website or wait for letter.for rejects will we also get letter???
24-04-2004, 06:48 PM
You will get a letter and other documents (agreements) through pos laju. Almost everybody will get the letter on the same day so those who do not receive the acceptance letter will know that they are not accepted. I think that is the way... but i cannot remember whether the rest received any rejection letter
Moozy
24-04-2004, 07:28 PM
:D Hi! I attended the JPA interview on 15 April and am now waiting for the results. Just want to introduce myself to all forum members here. Some info on the interview, it's pretty much what others before me has said, it's all group discussion, my topic was 'Teen Patriotism' During the discussion, everyone was very polite and waited for the current speaker to finish his/her opinion, but I've heard that some inconsiderate interviewees might talk non-stop and leave no chance for others to even open their mouths. One of my friends has encountered such'unluckiness'. :( Half through the discussion, the interviewer asked them to stop speaking English and start discussing in Malay instead, so , those fluent in Malay just grabbed the chance and talked, leaving my friend helpless. Luckily, my group was much 'gentler'. Heehee.
Anyway, I think ReCom is the BEST student website in Malaysia! Thanks to ReCom Anchors like ChenChow to create such a helpful website!
24-04-2004, 10:22 PM
Soul-X, perhaps it may be too late, but I think there is no harm to submit an appeal letter to JPA. After all, right now your chance is 0%, so if you submit the appeal letter and JPA reject you or ignore, what you waste, was just the time to write the appeal letter and stamp(Send by PosLaju). Soul_X, if you have been in ReCom earlier, you would have appealed, as many brouhgt up that issue in ReCom~! Anyway, try your best, good luck~!
For JPA Scholars in US, I would say that technically if you can finish the major that you want to graduate on, you can do anything extra, As Long As you finish your required major within 4 years. So, if you are able to do double degree in four years (which is possible), go ahead. But I think as US education is so flexible, I guess you can just take a minor here and there or do some concentrations or just take some additional courses in the stuff that you like...
david_david, guess you will get from PosLaju + it is available on website. Do you get both for the call-up for interview? It will be the same thing.
Moozy, the creation of ReCom is the effort of everyone, from both our founders, Syamsul and Yusuf to many others who have worked behind and in front of the scene to bring ReCom a reality. I am just a small portion of ReCom. Everyone contributes their part to make ReCom a reality~! To all, spread the words about ReCom~! and if you have any idea to improve ReCom, let us know~! If you want to help on anything, let us know~!
To all, share in the discussion of Malaysia Education Summit. It is for the future of education in our country.
http://ams.homelinux.org:8000/~bachok83/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=755#14449
weechin
24-04-2004, 10:55 PM
The Petronas interview is divided into 2 sections. The 1st session is individual presentation. n the 2nd session is group discussion. Each group comprises 5 members.
1st session--u will be given 30 minutes to prepare ur presentation. U r given a problem,e.g. crime. n there r several recommendations to u 2 solve the problem. Wat u have 2 do is agree or disagree the recommendations. N add in ur own ideas if necessary. Then, sum up ur speech. U hav 10 minutes to brief the panels.
2nd session—ur members r invited again 2 have group discussion. u all hav the same problem, e.g. crime. but different recommendations 2 solve it. So u discuss among ur friends in front of the panels who will observe each of u during the discussion. N ur group members ultimately hav 2 come up with the best solution..Choose 1 person 2 represent ur group in front of the 2 panels wat’s the best solution u hav all agreed. My advice is always give ur opinions as many as possible n try 2 take part in the discussion.
:oops:
24-04-2004, 11:25 PM
hi everyone....
finally im able to login into this website again...... I always got the server down error when logging in and my streamyx was having problems for the past few days.....
Ok, first of all,..wanna share my experience from the Sime Darby Scholarship interview. As I already read the tips from remag and recom forum(thanks to all who gave wonderful tips), i went there earlier and I tried to give a smile to everyone there. I went there about one hour earlier.....and finally a staff called me in and brought me in to a meeting room. Other candidates were brought in later, four of us there. We started chatting, so I tried to chat with all of them (thinking that probably they installed a hidden camera to see our reactions and so on). Actually I thought the fourth candidate ( a malay guy) was the interviewer, so when he came in, i stand up and greet him good afternoon politely ....and in the end realise that he was also one of the candidates (silly me! ) I think other candidates must be laughing the hell out of me in their hearts. Then after that, the guy who brought me in gave us two pieces of paper with one question on each paper and asked us to write the two essays in 30 mins time. The questions are....
1. What are ur views about the recent proposed increase in acquisition of Hyundai-Berjaya Corp by Sime Darby Group?
2. What triggered the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997/1998 and how Malaysia dealt with it?
I was like huh? :?: This question is not related to the course that I applied for at all ( i applied for biotech) ... So I just simply bang in anything that I can think of...and handed it up as soon as the time was up. I was called into the interview room, and there were 3 interviewer inside. They read my essays, and one of them claimed that my essays are full of nonsense. I said..i did the essays based on my common sense only...as they are not related to the field that I'd chosen and I never study business bfore. But the lady said in an angry manner that I should be familiar with current affairs and so on. I was angry cos it is more to business related (the section which i always skip it when i read newspaper...heehe). She also said that it was related to Sime Darby. She said i should find out more about sime darby. I said i did, and I told her everything I know about sime darby..the industries they are involved in, the history behind sime darby and so on. Next, they asked me to desribe myself. Other questions proceeds from my answers...like why i choose biotech, why i dont choose to be a doctor..., try imagine urself 5 years from now...tell me the exact situation u r in, how biotech can save the environment, will biovalley be a success in malaysia (or another failure like msc) ...and so on. I did have some arguments with one of the interviewer, bcause she always find my errors and she never satisfied with my answers (always argue with my answers). She asked me whether GM foods are safe to eat or not...and I replied that there are no reports or findings that says GM food are safe and there is no report or findings that says GM foods are dangerous as well. I use handphones/ mobile phones as an anology to the GM foods. Then she said that actually the big handphone companies are hiding the facts...they are paying a lot to shut the mouths of the reseachers. I said, there is no proof to that ...and there is nothing to support ur claim. But she said that is really happening now. I responded by asking them about the government research. Did the companies paid governments as well to shut their mouths? Then she replied that there are not many government research going on, mostly those research are conducted by other bodies, so government researchs are insignificant in her point of view. I almost fainted... x_x .
Reaching tot the end of interview, the interviewer told me about the 7 years of bond that I had to serve Sime Darby. She told me that I will be placed in Sime Darby research centre which will be set up in Biovalley( as claimed by her). She also told me that they dont take in bachelor degree holders to work for tat sime darby research, only masters and phds so she said that i have to pay for my master's degree on my own.... Finally ..it was all over and I thanked all of them...and when reach home, i emailed a thank you note to one of them and ask to forward the email to all three interviewers.
I missed out some parts...they go through all the certificates I have... the originals and the copies... they will really go through all of the certs and every detail about them. They asked me about my hospital-student attachment program, about my curricular activities, about on.
I guess most of the key points are already pointed out in remag website...and one of the most important thing is ...must find out every single thing about the company that u applied for the scholarship! Also, always smile...cos the interviewer noticed that and told me that I actually smiled till the end of the interview. I'm not really sure whether I can get the scholarship or not...pretty low chances I think...just a feeling in me...probably it was just me. I will tell the results of this scholarship some time later. Anyway, thanks to all the tips and thanks to chenchow for summarizing the tips in remag! Good job.....
25-04-2004, 12:05 AM
Then after that, the guy who brought me in gave us two pieces of paper with one question on each paper and asked us to write the two essays in 30 mins time. The questions are....
1. What are ur views about the recent proposed increase in acquisition of Hyundai-Berjaya Corp by Sime Darby Group?
2. What triggered the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997/1998 and how Malaysia dealt with it?
I was like huh? :?: This question is not related to the course that I applied for at all ( i applied for biotech) ... So I just simply bang in anything that I can think of...and handed it up as soon as the time was up. I was called into the interview room, and there were 3 interviewer inside. They read my essays, and one of them claimed that my essays are full of nonsense. I said..i did the essays based on my common sense only...as they are not related to the field that I'd chosen and I never study business bfore. But the lady said in an angry manner that I should be familiar with current affairs and so on. I was angry cos it is more to business related (the section which i always skip it when i read newspaper...heehe). She also said that it was related to Sime Darby. She said i should find out more about sime darby. I said i did, and I told her everything I know about sime darby..the industries they are involved in, the history behind sime darby and so on. Next, they asked me to desribe myself. Other questions proceeds from my answers...like why i choose biotech, why i dont choose to be a doctor..., try imagine urself 5 years from now...tell me the exact situation u r in, how biotech can save the environment, will biovalley be a success in malaysia (or another failure like msc) ...and so on. I did have some arguments with one of the interviewer, bcause she always find my errors and she never satisfied with my answers (always argue with my answers). She asked me whether GM foods are safe to eat or not...and I replied that there are no reports or findings that says GM food are safe and there is no report or findings that says GM foods are dangerous as well. I use handphones/ mobile phones as an anology to the GM foods. Then she said that actually the big handphone companies are hiding the facts...they are paying a lot to shut the mouths of the reseachers. I said, there is no proof to that ...and there is nothing to support ur claim. But she said that is really happening now. I responded by asking them about the government research. Did the companies paid governments as well to shut their mouths? Then she replied that there are not many government research going on, mostly those research are conducted by other bodies, so government researchs are insignificant in her point of view. I almost fainted... x_x .
Reaching tot the end of interview, the interviewer told me about the 7 years of bond that I had to serve Sime Darby. She told me that I will be placed in Sime Darby research centre which will be set up in Biovalley( as claimed by her). She also told me that they dont take in bachelor degree holders to work for tat sime darby research, only masters and phds so she said that i have to pay for my master's degree on my own.... Finally ..it was all over and I thanked all of them...and when reach home, i emailed a thank you note to one of them and ask to forward the email to all three interviewers.
Haha, now you know that actually interviews for scholarships and jobs are not that easy... Only JPA's like kinda easy compared to the rest. Yeah, I was also shocked to find out how easy JPA's interview was. Well, my topic was Sociall Ill. Before going in for the interview, my parents made me memorized the names of the cabinet ministers and some functions of JPA. Haha, made me memorized the whole lot before the interview... Then go there time, WHAM!!! It's so easy... But that doesn't mean that other interviews are easy. What Pandaboy has gone through during the interview is the typical type of interviews held by most companies... Even when i went for interview for CT council in Singapore, whoa, they bombarded me with lots of harsh questions - sort of interrogate me... Hehe... What's important is to know some current affairs and the course of your study and what's the sponsor-to-be's about....
25-04-2004, 12:13 AM
my jpa interview was mak bapak kerja apa, kenapa nak pergi overseas, kenapa nak jadi jurutera, besok nak kerja kerajaan ke swasta? umm...i think that was it. but that was 4 years ago.
25-04-2004, 12:44 AM
Haha, now you know that actually interviews for scholarships and jobs are not that easy... Only JPA's like kinda easy compared to the rest. Yeah, I was also shocked to find out how easy JPA's interview was. Well, my topic was Sociall Ill. Before going in for the interview, my parents made me memorized the names of the cabinet ministers and some functions of JPA. Haha, made me memorized the whole lot before the interview... Then go there time, WHAM!!! It's so easy... But that doesn't mean that other interviews are easy. What Pandaboy has gone through during the interview is the typical type of interviews held by most companies... Even when i went for interview for CT council in Singapore, whoa, they bombarded me with lots of harsh questions - sort of interrogate me... Hehe... What's important is to know some current affairs and the course of your study and what's the sponsor-to-be's about....
ya...but it was indeed an invaluable experience for me. It was really tough... i didnt expect it to be so tough. It's tougher than universities admission interviews... I'm indeed lucky to go through all these...I hope it can help me to be more mature.
25-04-2004, 12:48 AM
Even though if you don't make it (touch wood touch wood), this interview is indeed very valuable to you. At least you are exposed to the real interviews when you are applying for jobs or other things...
25-04-2004, 01:27 AM
Even though if you don't make it (touch wood touch wood), this interview is indeed very valuable to you. At least you are exposed to the real interviews when you are applying for jobs or other things...
*touching wood* Ya, I was thinking about that too. At least I did gain something really useful for me in future from this interview... Even if I cant get any scholarship to further my studies, I will try other methods like getting a bank loan. If there is a will, there is a way... :wink:
p/s: chenchow: I cut and paste ElansarGelmir's question and pandaboy to this, so as it is just a side note in this scholarship thread.
ElansarGelmir: hey pandaboy, how did u make ur pic so large?
pandaboy: huh? why is everyone asking me this question?
is it too large? i just upload the photo to another website and link to it here...
solace
25-04-2004, 09:38 PM
wow..this site absolutely rock!haha..im kinda new here..my friend introduced it kinda recently.i took my spm in 2003 and is waitin ( crossing my fingers ) for any replies from scholarships. i went for bank negara, petronas and jpa interviews appx a week ago. like posted before..all i got was a big "ANDA TIDAK TERPILIH" on d jpa website. since i tot i have some grounds for appeal since i happen to get straights a1s (9), i called jpa d next morning. funny thing was, they told me dat the selection wasnt done yet, and asked me to check back in 3 days time. unsatisfied, i took heed of my seniors' advice and faxed my particulars to mca. aft dat, i checked back on d website and it said i was short-listed. at the day of the interview, there were others like who was din make it d first time but was shortlisted the 2nd time. it seemed dat almost all of them ticked engineering in the application form. all of the "2nd selection" only got interviewd after d "1st selection" finished theirs. i was wondering..will the "2nd selection" stand the same chance as the "1st selection" in terms of getting the scholarship? the intervieweer din seem to noe much about the topic. any who knows more about it..plz enlighten me, thank u very much!
25-04-2004, 09:52 PM
I would think that everyone that went for the interview had equal chances. One reason I could cough out from this would be that, they had divided those selected originally into time slot already and they see no reason why they need to change the timeslot. Another reason could be that they want to put engineering students together, since they would need to select from this same pool for the same course? Does this scenario happen in other centers?
Perhaps the selection for Engineering runs behind time and that's why, you guys are shortlisted a little bit late. I expected JPA to have "Anda Tidak Terpilih" as the original phrase and if you are selected, they would change it to Anda Terpilih with relevant information.
Anyway, welcome Solace to ReCom's family~! Hope that you can spread the words around about this network~! Hope everyone can chip in for the discussion of Malaysia Education Summit~!
solace
26-04-2004, 10:36 AM
owh..thanks a million chenchow:)hm..meanwhile, il juz b looking forward to f6, ive been rotting at home for the past 4 months.after the initial hoopla abt how fun life can be without school, it turns out that it can RELI bored only after a WEEK or two.haha. as posted before, seems that gettin a scholarship is all about pure luck.wow..dats a reli scary thought..imagine them pickin out shortlisted candidates from a pool of applications blindfolded..haha..
malaysian education summit?hm..sounds interesting, but i reli haf no idea abt wats happening over dere..haha..
owh..is dere a scholarship offered by akademi laut malaysia (alam) for nautical studies and courses like dat?
Moozy
26-04-2004, 01:39 PM
Quating Solace ...
hm..meanwhile, il juz b looking forward to f6, ive been rotting at home for the past 4 months.after the initial hoopla abt how fun life can be without school, it turns out that it can RELI bored only after a WEEK or two.haha. as posted before, seems that gettin a scholarship is all about pure luck.wow..dats a reli scary thought..imagine them pickin out shortlisted candidates from a pool of applications blindfolded..haha..
__________-____________-______________-_____________-
Yeah, I wholeheartedly agree with U!!! I'd much prefer it if we could start F6 at Mar like all our seniors,but the gov had to pick our batch(86-borns) to "torture" us. I know i could do something useful with all the time like volunteering and all that, but without a car and supporting parents, and lacking in the independance skill, i have not much to do to slack at home, learning a few cooking skills(hopefully they will come in handy if i get to study in a college.)
Sorry, seems that i'm talking nothing abt scholarships. Heehee, and btw, I'm waiting for JPA to reply. Late May or June, isn't it? one of the interviewer said we can call them to know the results at Mid May.
With so many JPA scholars and other scholars here, i feel the pressure. Everyone is so brilliant and outstanding here! I'm so glad i found this place! :) :D
sOuL-X
26-04-2004, 01:58 PM
yo guys... the yayasan telekom called me today after they've recieved my appealing later...they asked me to visit a website to have a personality test (www.leonard.com.my) and tomorrow i have to go to PJ just to have an english test and an interview...so if anyone of u have any information about the telekom interview...???
hannna
26-04-2004, 10:56 PM
ok I've just read through this whole thread thinking that maybe some of my questions would be answered, but I think I probably have more questions now. hopefully some of you have some answers :D
1. Is the Korea/Japan/Germany programme taught in korean/japanese/german?
2. I applied for dentistry in the UK (JPA) and I didn't get in. I was advised to appeal for something more technical like engineering (I thought of doing architecture, but you need arts in SPM) so I appealed for chemical engineering. If I get it, will I be able to do another branch of engineering instead?
3. If say, i got straight A's for a-levels, is there any way I can request to change my course, to dentistry instead of engineering if i find out, I'm more interested in dentistry?
4. I've been told, they might ask you if you would mind studying locally, and not overseas. Should we say yes? or just be honest and say you want to go over seas?
5. Just wondering, if there are anyone doing dentistry or chemical engineering, it would be nice if you could roughly tell me what the course is like, what do you study, because I'm seriously lost to what my interests are. basically, I feel all courses are the same, just that I'd think it'll be better to do something I'm interested in.
6. if we didn't get the JPA scholarship, shouldn't we get the rejection-card posted to us? because I didn't get any cards.
oh and based on some of my friend's getting and notgetting JPA interviews, i've deducted that, they pick you base on your family income..thats my opinion anyway.
thanks in advance if u have answers! if not,
THANK YOU for reading anyway! :)
hannna
26-04-2004, 10:59 PM
yo guys... the yayasan telekom called me today after they've recieved my appealing later...they asked me to visit a website to have a personality test (www.leonard.com.my) and tomorrow i have to go to PJ just to have an english test and an interview...so if anyone of u have any information about the telekom interview...???
i applied for telekom, but i haven't gotten any calls except for earlier when they called to ask if i was "anak staff". so hmm, lucky you ? good luck anyway!
26-04-2004, 11:38 PM
Welcome Hannna to ReCom family~!
Q1. The korean, japanese program will be in korean and japanese. Those in the program corrects me if I am wrong. For German program, you will learn German language and you will take A Level in English. Those Korean, Japanese, German language will most likely by native speakers from those countries.
Q2. I don't think JPA scholarship decision is out. How do you get the information that you were rejected? Someone called you? During interview? You could switch around within engineering, but not out of engineering.
Q3. I would think that it is almost impossible, since if you are selected for engineering to US, you will be doing American Degree Foundation Program and not A level. For other countries, you are doing preparatory program for that country. Typically, a very high percentage of JPA scholars will get straight As in their A Level, so I think chances of changing is almost as good as 0%.
Q4. Haven't heard of anyone being asked this question.
Q5. On Engineering, it will depend on where you are studying. For US, the degree requirement is very flexible, so you only take certain percentage of your course in your major, say Chem Eng (say 30-40%, and you can even make do with lower percentage if you really wish) and you will take courses within the university and college, say law, accounting, international relations, wine tasting, foreign languages basically no limit...choices from thousands of courses... I think engineering in other countries are more structured, so flexibility will be less. No idea about dentistry, so I left to others to reply.
Q6. You haven't gotten the rejection letter, because the decision hasn't been out. Should be out mid-late May or early June? check out www.interactive.jpa.gov.my . You can check your decision there and you will receive rejection letter if you are rejected.
Family income has never been the justification and I know there are many who have attended interview with their parents salary earning more than RM10K per month.
lilet
27-04-2004, 11:21 PM
Actually for Q4 which was posted by Hannna :" I've been told, they might ask you if you would mind studying locally, and not overseas. Should we say yes? or just be honest and say you want to go over seas? "
I think it is quite a normal question this year due to the tight budget so JPA are going to allocate more places locally, if my sixth sense is correct. For my interview, the interviewer did ask this question and there were mixed answers. Most of them say no, most probably because our interview topic was "Study Abroad"~! But there was this one guy who came for the interview solely because JPA offered a chance at local scholarship, ie, he's not interested at all in the overseas programme~! That's really surprising... So, we were definitely not surprised at all with his answer to that question. =)
Anyway, I guess the "most safe" kind of answer will be to say that you will consider the offer thoroughly before deciding whether or not to accept it. You won't know cause maybe they don't even offer you the course that you originally wanted. =)
28-04-2004, 06:03 AM
Hmmm..... IMHO, the reason why most people want to study overseas is not because solely of the quality of the education, but rather, the new experience and culture that one may bound to encounter there.... Hmm.... If there's a top notch uni in Malaysia and I'm offered a place there, I would still choose to study overseas . . .
28-04-2004, 11:32 AM
scholarhsip for post grad...
For you guys who are searching for scholarship, here is another
alternative other than Monbusho scholarship. As you all might know,
Monbusho offers around 40 scholarships per year but this ASJA
scholarship only offers 1 per year and 1 from each country
(Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippine, Indonesia and next year
onwards Myanmar) to do their postgraduate degree in Japan. For the
time being, not many people know about this scholarship, so you
might just stand a chance. Another thing, this ASJA scholarship is
different from Monbusho, other than just pursuing our degree, you
are also expected to represent your country in culture exchanges and
activities with the Japanese community. But there are other benefits
than even Monbusho do not offer. So, good luck!
http://www.jagam.org.my/05_student/05_student10e4.html
Iceheart_Firebreath
28-04-2004, 02:46 PM
Hi,
I'm new here...wonder if you guys can give me answers to a few questions (I looked through about 12 pages on this thread but didn't find an exact answer - so please bear with me!) :) 8O
1) How long is the JPA bond for A-Level leavers?
2) Does the JPA (or any other body) offer any scholarships for Arts/Humanities students other than Business Management and Economics?
3) How exactly do I apply and when are the application deadlines for JPA, Petronas and Sime Darby? I'm guessing I missed the deadline by a mile though...if only I'd found this site earlier! Ah well.
Thanks all!
Hi,
I'm new here...wonder if you guys can give me answers to a few questions (I looked through about 12 pages on this thread but didn't find an exact answer - so please bear with me!) :) 8O
1) How long is the JPA bond for A-Level leavers?
2) Does the JPA (or any other body) offer any scholarships for Arts/Humanities students other than Business Management and Economics?
3) How exactly do I apply and when are the application deadlines for JPA, Petronas and Sime Darby? I'm guessing I missed the deadline by a mile though...if only I'd found this site earlier! Ah well.
Thanks all!
1. # yrs depending on country/field of study. E.g. US/Engineering - 6/7 yrs.
1b. if not mistaken, JPA only offers scholarship to SPM leavers.
2. Not that I know of. Mostly engineering/sciences.
3. I think you've missed the deadlines =/
david_david
29-04-2004, 10:50 AM
Just want to know more about the ATUSA programme at INTEC
1.Will all students going for same course be put into same classes?
Like all engineering students together,all biotech together or will it be mix??how many places were there for engineering to the US for the last batch( SPM 2002)???any idea how many places for the current batch for engineering in the US
2. How is the hostel like??Food?? Rooms? Facilities??Any funny rules??do you get to go out when ever you want??
3.How long is the programme??Are there holidays??
4. what do you guys study?? you have to take SAT 1 &2 , and TOEFL right?? so you only sit for it once or do you get to try again to improve your results.besides that what do you do?? do you have any syllabus like the A' levels . if yes then what subjects??what system to you guys use?? is it lecture-tutorial or just normal classes??how are the lecturers like??
5. What CCA's are there??
6. what is life like compared to a junior college in Singapore??
the JPA scholarship is better than the ASEAN scholarship right??
7.what do the US universities look at when considering your application???
8. if ur accepted for the JPA scholarship in US, will they possibly
send you to any where else???
9.is everyone there a JPA scholar?? that would be freaky right??
Thanks in advance. just trying to gather more information so will be able to get a clearer picture. this is unrelated but how come the time for Malaysia on RECOM is one hour ahead????
Moozy
29-04-2004, 12:00 PM
Altho I've never been to S'pore but it is common knowledge that life in S'pore JC is much more hectic than college life here. Correct me if i'm wrong.:wink:
Well, to weight the pros and cons of JPA and ASEAN, u have to consider the bond JPA bind u and no bond ASEAN bind u(plz excuse my poor grammar), the benefits of studying overseas and not just in our neighbour(S'pore).
As for me, I'd prefer JPA. Cuz the exposure and cultural difference that's gonna help me expand my horizon or even change my paradigma is priceless. So, what if they have a 10-year bond? I don't mind at all. In fact, to be a doctor, one needs to have all the experience he/she can get. No patient wud prefer some young fresh graduate doctor to an old but experienced doctor, right? :)
29-04-2004, 12:58 PM
Just want to know more about the ATUSA programme at INTEC
1.Will all students going for same course be put into same classes?
Like all engineering students together,all biotech together or will it be mix??how many places were there for engineering to the US for the last batch( SPM 2002)???any idea how many places for the current batch for engineering in the US
2. How is the hostel like??Food?? Rooms? Facilities??Any funny rules??do you get to go out when ever you want??
3.How long is the programme??Are there holidays??
4. what do you guys study?? you have to take SAT 1 &2 , and TOEFL right?? so you only sit for it once or do you get to try again to improve your results.besides that what do you do?? do you have any syllabus like the A' levels . if yes then what subjects??what system to you guys use?? is it lecture-tutorial or just normal classes??how are the lecturers like??
5. What CCA's are there??
7.what do the US universities look at when considering your application???
8. if ur accepted for the JPA scholarship in US, will they possibly
send you to any where else???
9.is everyone there a JPA scholar?? that would be freaky right??
Thanks in advance. just trying to gather more information so will be able to get a clearer picture. this is unrelated but how come the time for Malaysia on RECOM is one hour ahead????
Q1. Typically they will try to split, but I guess there will be some mixed class. I think the number for engineering, biotech, actuarial etc changes yearly. Total is about 150 this year, of which 30 are actuarial. Perhaps those who are there currently can reply this better.
Q2. Hostel, i would say that it is ok, although nothing luxury. To those who are adaptable, will find it alright, however, those who have been pampered for their whole life, will find it very miserable. Food is not that nice, if you are not used to it, but after you come to US, you will miss those food... Facilities... not that much, but got gym, courts etc... most of the facilities on campus. Door is closed at 11pm, but as you are there, you will learn how to sneak out.
Q3. Program is over 1 year. June 2004 - July 2005. Typically you will have June to Oct, then a month or two break. Then another 16 weeks of class and then a month or so of break and then 8 more weeks. So, total weeks of class are 40.
Q4. Basically year 12 education of US. You would need to take SAT 1, SAT 2 and TOEFL. Typically you sit for once, but I think SAT 1, you can try twice if you wish, although most students do not do so. Among the courses taken, are Calculus 1, 2, Com Sci 1, 2, Intro to Engineering, Writing, Adv Writing, Oral Communication, Ethics, Theology & Philosophy, American Culture Studies etc... Normal classroom, but a lot of opportunities for you to present. The lecturers are top notch, among the best in the nation, at least that was during my time (2000-01)
Q5. CCAs include Overseas Preparatory Program Students Union, American Top Universities Students Assoc, and a number of other associations. Basically OPPSU and ATUSA will hold a large number of events each year.
Q6. I would say that the life is not as packed as junior college life, but you can definitely make your life worthwhile. Some do some volunteer works, some read a lot, basically, it is a year of breaks, where you get to expose to various types of stuff and improve yourself. I will say that it is a good break, since after you get to US, your life will be much more busy compared to JC life. Looking back at JC life right now, I just wish I have as much leisure and sleeping time... although i spend a considerable amount of time daily now on ReCom.
JPA scholarship is much better than ASEAN if you are looking at long term. ASEAN funds you for A Level. JPA funds you up to degree level. Both scholarships have potential to fund you further on, however, it depends on the level of security you want. For ASEAN, you won't know whether you would get a scholarship for bachelor's degree after your A Level. Typically out of 150 or so Malaysians, only about 5-10 get scholarships to go overseas for bachelor's degree.
Q7. I think the main thing is your overall performance: Interview (if applicable), application essays, recommendation letters, co-curricular activities SAT1, SAT2, TOEFL, American Foundation Program performance, High School, SPM, etc. Basically, they look at your whole person when evaluate.
Q8. Don't think so, unless you are not accepted by any university, which should not happen and do not happen.
Q9. Most are JPA, some are from MARA, but guess MARA has discontinued sending scholars to US. So, should be just JPA.
Randomphantom
29-04-2004, 01:05 PM
If only I had read this thread when I was going for JPA...
Just curious, after studying how/where do they assign you for bond duty?
29-04-2004, 01:11 PM
On bond, it is a question mark, as previous generation, there wasn't much of bond. So, basically most students after graduate just do whatever they want. JPA has a clause of letting its scholars free if JPA does not find a job in 6 months or 1 year ( I can't remember it clearly). That was during Dr. M's administration
However, it seems that Pak Lah is going for more scholars in civil service. So, hopefully this is a good thing.
29-04-2004, 01:14 PM
iirc, it's after 6 months.
lilet
29-04-2004, 05:04 PM
Try asking that to the current ASEAN~! 95% will give you this answer - Sure lah~!!! =) Most of us can't wait to get out of here, honestly... Maybe being educated in Singapore is quite an advantage, but I think that will largely depend on what kind of person are you and how well you cope under stress. Not to say that there is no stress under JPA, but I guess most of us can't really adjust that fast to the high demands and fast pace of the Singaporean education system, especially when we are so used to being spoon-fed, rote learning and all. People who would welcome this kind of 'challenge' definitely should try out for it...
david_david, can I ask you something? Are you in Singapore now or what? If not, I am a bit surprised cause you seem to know quite a lot about Sg... =)
david_david
29-04-2004, 05:55 PM
I am currently studying in S'pore, but i am not sure why i came here in the first place.i think the stress will come later when the mid-years and promos are round the corner.in JC 2 it will surely increase. I think the "stress" now is because we compare with other scholars(malaysian,chinese-PRC.indian-SIA) etc. and Singaporeans. the worst part is definately PE, Project Work and THe LOOOOOOOOOOg hours.but i think must get used to the rigours and demands as i will most likely be here for at least 2 years.statistical chances of getting JPA is like 1 in 4.this year i think it will very hard to get engineering,esp in my case.
How different is the A' levels in S'pore compared to ,say colleges in malaysia???
for the German engineering programme we will also be in UiTM??
i don't really know much about german unis.please enlighten me.
*since it is publicly funded,german unis are suffering, right??and there are reports in papers about protests and brain drain
*how good must our German be to go there??language frightens me
*is the a sizeable Asian population in german unis. i think most will be from europe.
*so we just have to take a'levels and study the lingo, right?are there any additional requirements??
*for engineering is there a first year common programme B4 we branch out??
*is the cost of living of high
mrkikilala
29-04-2004, 09:18 PM
It seems that the JPA results are out. But its abit farnee. If you go to http://www.interactive.jpa.gov.my/ using Internet Explorer u will c a couple of menus including the temuduga thingie only.
But IF you use a MOZILLA browser, there is a new menu tat seems to be hidden at the lower end of the page entitled Keputusan Biasiswa.
29-04-2004, 09:33 PM
I am currently studying in S'pore, but i am not sure why i came here in the first place.i think the stress will come later when the mid-years and promos are round the corner.in JC 2 it will surely increase. I think the "stress" now is because we compare with other scholars(malaysian,chinese-PRC.indian-SIA) etc. and Singaporeans. the worst part is definately PE, Project Work and THe LOOOOOOOOOOg hours.but i think must get used to the rigours and demands as i will most likely be here for at least 2 years.statistical chances of getting JPA is like 1 in 4.this year i think it will very hard to get engineering,esp in my case.
How different is the A' levels in S'pore compared to ,say colleges in malaysia???
for the German engineering programme we will also be in UiTM??
i don't really know much about german unis.please enlighten me.
*since it is publicly funded,german unis are suffering, right??and there are reports in papers about protests and brain drain
*how good must our German be to go there??language frightens me
*is the a sizeable Asian population in german unis. i think most will be from europe.
*so we just have to take a'levels and study the lingo, right?are there any additional requirements??
*for engineering is there a first year common programme B4 we branch out??
*is the cost of living of high
You seriously thinking of going to Germany? Hmm... The A Levels there are pretty easy, easier than that of Singapore's... Coz first, you are taking the Dec paper, second, you are taking Cambridge A Levels . . .
No doubt Germany is good for engineering, but you'll be wasting 2.5 years in UiTM just to study German language and A Levels . . . Unless you don't mind.
29-04-2004, 09:48 PM
On difficulty of a program, namely Junior College. I think it is just a little step up and not necessarily very stressful. It is the self expectation that is causing problems.
In fact, if you look at it, do A Level in Singapore devoid of rote learning? Don't think so. About spoon-feeding, I think it is in the same boat as in Malaysia. You still get a complete lecture notes to study.
Ask anyone that is in US, and ask them to reflect back on their studies in JC and life in uni over here, and see what's their response. I always hear those Singaporeans here talking about how they wish they can enjoy as much as their JC life. I have to say that I am much more busy in the past 3 years, compared to during the time I was in Singapore.
On German education, I think it is very prestigious. I don't see any reason of worrying about brain drain or anything. I think their public funded universities are pretty esteemed. There is a certain qualification of language to get there, but I don't see any problem. There will be German Nights once per week, for you to watch German movies, have German-styled parties etc, so as to minimize your culture shock. On cost of living, the allowance will be sufficient.
eunice
29-04-2004, 11:11 PM
Is it true? That you can check for the JPA results on a Mozilla browser???
weechin
29-04-2004, 11:58 PM
i think the JPA interview result will only be released in the late of May or early in June..This is wat i heard from the officers during the JPA interview.. :roll:
eunice
30-04-2004, 12:02 AM
Well, there's a section to check for the results. It only can be viewed using the Mozilla browser :roll:
sOuL-X
30-04-2004, 12:11 AM
Well, there's a section to check for the results. It only can be viewed using the Mozilla browser :roll:
cant be access maa
30-04-2004, 01:14 AM
Guess they just have the code written ready and once the results are out, they can just link it to the database and students can check on it. Guess they didn't hide it properly using Mozilla. I believe they just check that it is hidden on IE and they didn't think about other platform...
30-04-2004, 01:23 AM
JPA scholarship is much better than ASEAN if you are looking at long term. ASEAN funds you for A Level. JPA funds you up to degree level. Both scholarships have potential to fund you further on, however, it depends on the level of security you want. For ASEAN, you won't know whether you would get a scholarship for bachelor's degree after your A Level. Typically out of 150 or so Malaysians, only about 5-10 get scholarships to go overseas for bachelor's degree.
Felt obliged to reiterate a few key points: we shouldn't be comparing apples and oranges. ASEAN Pre-U is a Pre-U scholarship for you to do A-levels only. JPA is a contract that determines the next 10 years of your life (education + bond).
If you're dying to go overseas (other than Singapore) - ASEAN is the dangerous choice coz as Chen Chow said statistically only 5% managed that. What Chen Chow didn't say however is that for the other 95%, 90% of them go to NUS and NTU, basically furthering their studies in Singapore. There are many reasons:
1. Local Universities do not accept A-Levels
2. Very few local private colleges accept Singapore A-Levels, or allow you to skip years because you've done that
3. It's very easy to get ASEAN scholarship again in university level (i.e. NUS/NTU), but this time round you have to work in an arbitrary Singapore based company for 3 years.
In comparison, walking down the ASEAN path gives you a wide range of options in terms of career path "as long as you're stuck in Singapore" (don't PAP just love that). I've NUS-ASEAN friends who are "overseas" now in silicon valley learning to be an Entrepreneur etc. In other words, there are other ways to get "overseas" if you just want a glimpse without being tied down.
As for JPA, you're reasonably secure, but your options shrinks. Whatever you do you now have a kai-yeh (god-father) to consult with and unless they are happy, you're sort of stuck.
Civil service needs you! Yes! But if you don't want to work for the government, you should think twice. There are private sector scholarships too. Many scholars only realize their mistake made after they return home and start serving their bond - coz they don't even know what kind of job they are going to be doing.
And lastly, don't say "you don't mind". It is a "lose-lose" situation to have you work in a place you don't like, producing very little, and in the end wasted your education and wasted our tax payers money. That's MY parent's money you're wasting :P hehe. Hope you get the point :) :)
30-04-2004, 06:16 AM
Thanks Jiin Joo for the explanations and I think another point to look at is that what is the purpose of you getting the scholarship.
Do you try to get a scholarship because you want a good education, or because you want some experiences in some part of the world, or because your family can't afford paying for your education locally or abroad or because others are going after it or because it is a glamorous thing to do.
Alson
01-05-2004, 01:58 AM
Hi everyone, I just get to know bout this site through my fellow Asean scholar. I'm one myself. I find it hard to survive here as what a lot of u had said. That's why Im hoping for either Petronas and JPA.Petronas interview result gonna be release very soon around 1 - 2 weeks from now. I do not know either i have the chance to get the scholarship or stuck here in sg. During the interview I crapped a lot as my title was about cyber crime and bla bla. Bt until the group part i tried to engage others to participate but seems like everyone is sabo'ing each other by not toking. As for the JPA, i think i over do it. As what some fellow student said there are inconsiderate student who tok and tok without giving chance to others, I think i might be one of them minus the intention to keep others aside. I was so indulge in the discussion that I forgot bout others until the interviewer ask me to give chance to others. This might jeopardise my preformance. And i heard there is this system in JPA where they have chosen student for the scholarship and shortlist them with some extra student as backup for the interview. whereas the interview function only to confirm these so called confirm student. Is this true? cos i think i might be those extra/ backup student as i score only B3 for Bm.
01-05-2004, 02:22 AM
Hi everyone, I just get to know bout this site through my fellow Asean scholar. I'm one myself. I find it hard to survive here as what a lot of u had said. That's why Im hoping for either Petronas and JPA.Petronas interview result gonna be release very soon around 1 - 2 weeks from now. I do not know either i have the chance to get the scholarship or stuck here in sg. During the interview I crapped a lot as my title was about cyber crime and bla bla. Bt until the group part i tried to engage others to participate but seems like everyone is sabo'ing each other by not toking. As for the JPA, i think i over do it. As what some fellow student said there are inconsiderate student who tok and tok without giving chance to others, I think i might be one of them minus the intention to keep others aside. I was so indulge in the discussion that I forgot bout others until the interviewer ask me to give chance to others. This might jeopardise my preformance. And i heard there is this system in JPA where they have chosen student for the scholarship and shortlist them with some extra student as backup for the interview. whereas the interview function only to confirm these so called confirm student. Is this true? cos i think i might be those extra/ backup student as i score only B3 for Bm.
Haha, a little engrossed in pouring your never-ceasing ideas out of your brain? Haha, don't lament over that liao. Concentrate in your coming mid terms (if you have one), and if you don't get also (touch wood), you can sort to appeal to JPA? At least you've tried your best... you know it, and you would have regretted if you don't even bother to try, right? Anyway, I dunno why most of you view ASEAN as bad. I have a fellow ASEAN-mate who received JPA scholarship but rejected it coz she feels that her future is better in Singapore... So continuing with ASEAN scholarship ain't that bad. Yeah, they really expect a lot from you, but as long as you meet their requirements, you can maintain your scholarship. However, the common question that haunts every ASEAN scholars is "where are we going after A Levels?" That's why most of us sort JPA as an escape route, i think.
01-05-2004, 02:58 AM
Just wondering....how many A's in SPM u need to be selected for the test and interview for ASEAN scholarship? Last time (2 years ago) i sent in the application when i was in f5, then they didnt select me for the test(probably I'm not very active in co.curiculum). But after the release of SPM results, they asked me to send in my results. I got 10A's but they still reject me. What r their minimum requirements actually? I'm now wandering looking for scholarship...haih... So dumb didnt apply for JPA last time...
is that jpa results really out with "mozila" , or they just put all candidates as "tidak berjaya " then after results out only change it,anyone know ??
01-05-2004, 03:23 AM
Just wondering....how many A's in SPM u need to be selected for the test and interview for ASEAN scholarship? Last time (2 years ago) i sent in the application when i was in f5, then they didnt select me for the test(probably I'm not very active in co.curiculum). But after the release of SPM results, they asked me to send in my results. I got 10A's but they still reject me. What r their minimum requirements actually? I'm now wandering looking for scholarship...haih... So dumb didnt apply for JPA last time...
Ermm... I dunno how they select you for the ASEAN thingy. I think they give a heavy emphasis on your academic, then your co-co. Don't really have any ideas about yours. Sorry.
01-05-2004, 04:26 AM
On ASEAN Scholarship, I am not sure how they select, but for my year and even earlier years, it was purely on the IQ test, as long as you meet the minimum requirements. There are some in RJ for my batch with 5As in SPM. They may not be exam-smart, but they are very good in IQ and they got ASEAN. Not sure how they are doing it right now.
During my time, they had English and Math test, but generally, they only had a glance at those, just to ensure that the students could write in decent English. I don't think ASEAN looks much on co-cu.
littleprince, basically they just set up the interface. And it is very possible and if you type your name, it could be just tidak berjaya currently and they will change it once they have the results. Just be patient.
Alson, welcome to ReCom~! Good Luck on your scholarships~! Basically JPA Scholarships look on 3 aspects: academic, interview and co-curricular activities. Academic takes a major portion, something like 70% or so, but every point counts. And JPA does look into how good is your A1 and not just A1, like 70-100 is A1 for Add Math. Do you get 71 or 99? That matters too, especially in competitive courses. They place more emphasis on those few courses that they state as required for the major you are applying.
Everyone that gets the chance to go to the interview stands a chance. If you have done very well in the interview, then your interview score will be high and that will help to boost your chance. I think a B3 in BM would not be that much a problem, compared to an A2 in the related courses like Physics, Bio, Chem, Add Math etc for the respective courses that you are required for the major.
However as the competition is very intense, every point counts. On your interview, it has been done and you can just keep your fingers' crossed. Do you contact your interviewers on how you did? I know some ReCom members email/phone their interviewers and some have gotten candid responses from their interviewers.
As ElansarGelmir advices, if anyone didn't get for JPA, appeal. There will typically be a bunch of 2nd intakers. If you appeal, you have some chance to get. If you do not appeal, you will have 0% chance to get.
01-05-2004, 10:49 AM
On ASEAN Scholarship, I am not sure how they select, but for my year and even earlier years, it was purely on the IQ test, as long as you meet the minimum requirements. There are some in RJ for my batch with 5As in SPM. They may not be exam-smart, but they are very good in IQ and they got ASEAN. Not sure how they are doing it right now.
During my time, they had English and Math test, but generally, they only had a glance at those, just to ensure that the students could write in decent English. I don't think ASEAN looks much on co-cu.
they didnt even select me for the selection tests... :( But my academics result was quite good then. Aih, anyway tat was some time ago...
david_david
01-05-2004, 11:04 AM
Do they really check your SPM marks for JPA or is it just a rumour only???if they do check , will they only consider the relevant subjects or include History, Moral , etc.??? 8O 8O 8O
does the examinations board keep a list of our marks????
did anyone check jpa results using mozila browser and it said "anda berjaya"?coz i checked for my friends and all was "anda tidak berjaya" , maybe the results is not out yet , anyone can tell me?
01-05-2004, 03:22 PM
Do they really check your SPM marks for JPA or is it just a rumour only???if they do check , will they only consider the relevant subjects or include History, Moral , etc.??? 8O 8O 8O
I doubt it. However, as more and more people are getting A1s in SPM, there's a possibility. Don't worry though. Just make sure you have strong co-co to back you up.
oshmelvin
01-05-2004, 03:46 PM
And i heard there is this system in JPA where they have chosen student for the scholarship and shortlist them with some extra student as backup for the interview. whereas the interview function only to confirm these so called confirm student. Is this true? cos i think i might be those extra/ backup student as i score only B3 for Bm.
I heard about this system too. JPA might have already had who to choose in mind even before the interview mainly because your results and co-curricular activities account for the most points in the scholarship selection exercise. However, the interview could aslo be a chance to prove yourself and convince the interviewers that you're better than the ones that they've chosen and to choose you instead because I think the gap in between all our points wouldn't be that big anyway considering the large number of straight a's students this year. You will stand a chance as long as you did well in the interview because only all those who excell were among the selected ones who were there for the interview. You need not worry about being a backup or the extra student because you'll stand a chance. The drawback however might be your bm because there will surely be tough competition this year from the straight a students.
oshmelvin
01-05-2004, 03:56 PM
I think the scholarship selection should be based on the marks that you've accumulated from your SPM rather than just judging it from the number of a's. So I think that it is a rational move for JPA to do so. Having many a's does not mean anything because your a could be a 60 or 70. The dramatic rise in the number of students who manage to score straight a's this year could be due to the dropping standard in marking and this is really bad especially for the really talented and outstanding students. No matter how outstanding they are you can never tell because others who are not so outstanding will also get the same results, the same number of a's. So it is only fair to judge a student's capability through the average marks that they have gained in the SPM rather than just looking at the number of a's. I guess our examination system is the reason why many talented and brilliant students were not given a chance to shine. So the best way to spot these talented individuals is to structure the examination system (SPM or STPM) in such a way that the average marks scored for the exam is revealed as well together with the gradings (the number of a's). :D
01-05-2004, 04:53 PM
they didnt even select me for the selection tests... :( But my academics result was quite good then. Aih, anyway tat was some time ago...
hmm, as far as i know (as of today), it is pretty easy to get to go for the selection test. It cost them next to nothing since it's just paper and no interview. don't know of anyone who applied and not called to do the IQ + English test. Address error in form? :)
Co-Curriculum is considered - you do have to send in your CV if I remember correctly. It's not top on the list, but they do expect some form of non-academic "achievement" to be on your gloroius history. It's not the actual achievement that they are concern about, they are just hoping that you can jump straight into their JC system, where every student is active in something, and you can hopefully fit in and find something to do... 8)
01-05-2004, 05:03 PM
I believe IQ is the sole determinate factor whether you will be awarded with ASEAN scholarship or not. The Math and English paper is just for your JC placement. Where did you choose to do your test, Pandaboy? I mean, in the application form...
lynnx01
01-05-2004, 07:09 PM
Hello there people,
Just a freshie here.. also a desperate girl who is totally dependent on JPA for education purposes... bleh. Alright, straight to the point. That Mozilla thing is ridiculous. Let me tell you, they just embedded it there to prepare to enter data in... meanwhile if you try, the results come out as tidak berjaya. But actually, the real result isn't even out yet... so no point of trying. Be patient.
Oh yea.. oshmelvin, are u melvin ex-6H of srk ots??
01-05-2004, 09:42 PM
hmm, as far as i know (as of today), it is pretty easy to get to go for the selection test. It cost them next to nothing since it's just paper and no interview. don't know of anyone who applied and not called to do the IQ + English test. Address error in form? :)
Co-Curriculum is considered - you do have to send in your CV if I remember correctly. It's not top on the list, but they do expect some form of non-academic "achievement" to be on your gloroius history. It's not the actual achievement that they are concern about, they are just hoping that you can jump straight into their JC system, where every student is active in something, and you can hopefully fit in and find something to do... 8)
no error in address....if there is any, surely i wont be receiving the rejection letter....
i chose to do the test in KL.... as I am staying in klang.
It's so weird...most of my friends who applied are selected for the test. But I was rejected even in the second intake.....
02-05-2004, 12:40 AM
pandaboy, in fact, you could contact them and ask about the reasons....
lynnx01, basically it is just the hiding issue I believe. they didn't manage to hide it properly.. Welcome to ReCom family~!
I agree with ElansarGelmir on the IQ being the determining factor of ASEAN Scholarship.
As long as you are called up for interview, you have a chance, or else, why on earth should they waste the time to interview you?
littleprince, relax...results won't be out at least for the next 2-3 weeks...if it is out, don't worry, those people will post here..i mean there are so many people here in ReCom who are applying for it, so once the results are out...these people will be very excited with it...
david_david, I think the points for relevant courses only are counted... The examination board definitely have a list of our marks. i know that they also select the highest score in SPM for some subjects. I know Yi Duan got it for Math or Add Math. Can't remember already, but she was highest in Malaysia for that subject, based on SPM score.
really count on our marks?then i go die better coz i dont think my marks are very high (sigh) , maybe it is time for me to stop dreaming and be more realistic.........
02-05-2004, 01:05 AM
It's ok chen chow...that was some time ago... I am due to complete my Alevels soon... :) Wish me luck! Just wondering wanna find out why if anyone here knows...if not, then it doesnt really matters.
02-05-2004, 03:21 AM
really count on our marks?then i go die better coz i dont think my marks are very high (sigh) , maybe it is time for me to stop dreaming and be more realistic.........
You want to die before you know the JPA result? A little wasteful, rite? Haha... Anyway, i doubt they really bother with your marks, unless you are the one who scores the highest in Malaysia. If you got straight A1s, regardless what your mark is, you're in. The high score thing, i believe, is for those who did not get straight A1s, but got the highest in certain subjects, and they are offered the scholarship. Dun worry so much about it first. Prepare to go wherever you want to go now - Form 6?
02-05-2004, 03:48 AM
Yeah, I think if JPA continues with their practice of giving scholarship to all straight A1s, then I think the highest score in subjects will matter when you are applying for those tough courses like US Program, UK Medicine etc, or you are in with an A2 or B3.
pandaboy, good luck~!
02-05-2004, 04:02 AM
It's ok chen chow...that was some time ago... I am due to complete my Alevels soon... :) Wish me luck! Just wondering wanna find out why if anyone here knows...if not, then it doesnt really matters.
You are taking the June papers? Ah, all the best to you then. But pandaboy, do you know that June papers are easier than Dec papers? So dun need to worry that much.
david_david
02-05-2004, 08:39 AM
But this year there are over a thousand people with straight A1's.How can they possibly give scholarships to all?. If both get straight A's will they compare marks first or will they take into account COCO and interview results first??They are not very transparent in their selection criteria ,are they???
oshmelvin
02-05-2004, 09:42 AM
Hello there people,
Just a freshie here.. also a desperate girl who is totally dependent on JPA for education purposes... bleh. Alright, straight to the point. That Mozilla thing is ridiculous. Let me tell you, they just embedded it there to prepare to enter data in... meanwhile if you try, the results come out as tidak berjaya. But actually, the real result isn't even out yet... so no point of trying. Be patient.
Oh yea.. oshmelvin, are u melvin ex-6H of srk ots??
Hey, Lynn Xuan!!!! It's nice to hear from you. Glad to know that you still remembered me. =) Jolly good friend. Welcome to ReCom! Ah... you tried out the mozilla thingy. Lol. I had the browser once but I discarded it because I still prefered internet explorer. Yeah, the results shouldn't be out yet and i guess it's pointless to try. Since there are very few people who are getting the scholarships, I guess they prepared the forms first which automatically registers everyone as tidak berjaya. They'll change the status of those who get it soon, hopefully by mid May. :D
Alson
02-05-2004, 10:52 AM
Hi just asking if there is any petronas scholar here?? and btw, which one has better value, jpa or petronas? Result for petronas is coming out soon(announced on the website already but no confirmed date)... arggghhhh..... I predict it'll be around 5th to 7th May...
02-05-2004, 12:07 PM
You are taking the June papers? Ah, all the best to you then. But pandaboy, do you know that June papers are easier than Dec papers? So dun need to worry that much.
Are u sure?? What makes u say so? Hopefully it is true..lolz.. Anyway, thanks for ur good luck wish. I really need that...lolz.. Frankly speaking, I dont really enjoy studying a-levels...i felt that it is more or less like spm....more on the memorizing side.
lynnx01
02-05-2004, 04:32 PM
[/quote]
Hey, Lynn Xuan!!!! It's nice to hear from you. Glad to know that you still remembered me. =) Jolly good friend. Welcome to ReCom! Ah... you tried out the mozilla thingy. Lol. I had the browser once but I discarded it because I still prefered internet explorer. Yeah, the results shouldn't be out yet and i guess it's pointless to try. Since there are very few people who are getting the scholarships, I guess they prepared the forms first which automatically registers everyone as tidak berjaya. They'll change the status of those who get it soon, hopefully by mid May. :D[/quote]
Well, we were told JPA results will only be out early June.
Hey, it's really you, Melvin! Hehehee.. it has been yearsss since I last saw you. How are you doing? What did you apply for your JPA? Hheehe.. I remember the days in OTS when you were dubbed the 'mad scientist' for doing so well in Science.
lilet
02-05-2004, 04:58 PM
Have always been curious about this ? which school do you come from? I am from Bukit Kuda~! The one and only in Singapore right now. Haha.. my school is the very low-key one but if you are from Klang, then you should know it~! All the gossips about it are quite widespread, I guess, bad ones only, I mean~! =) If you are interested, but I?m gonna tell even if you are not ^_^, there were 3 of us Klang ppl in my hostel for ASEAN this year. One from ACS and one from STAR (who went back already). But I heard of 2 others who got other JC?s ? one from Kwang Hua and one from MHS. Don?t really see much ppl from Klang in ReCom. My brother is a member too (after being forced by me~!) but he is not active. By the way, he?s from Taylor?s too but he did SAM so he finished already. Don?t think you know him, though~! =) Good luck for you?re A Level ? mine is next year, if I am still in Sg at that time, which I certainly hope not~! ;-)
02-05-2004, 05:14 PM
Have always been curious about this ? which school do you come from? I am from Bukit Kuda~! The one and only in Singapore right now. Haha.. my school is the very low-key one but if you are from Klang, then you should know it~! All the gossips about it are quite widespread, I guess, bad ones only, I mean~! =) If you are interested, but I?m gonna tell even if you are not ^_^, there were 3 of us Klang ppl in my hostel for ASEAN this year. One from ACS and one from STAR (who went back already). But I heard of 2 others who got other JC?s ? one from Kwang Hua and one from MHS. Don?t really see much ppl from Klang in ReCom. My brother is a member too (after being forced by me~!) but he is not active. By the way, he?s from Taylor?s too but he did SAM so he finished already. Don?t think you know him, though~! =) Good luck for you?re A Level ? mine is next year, if I am still in Sg at that time, which I certainly hope not~! ;-)
I'm from Raja Mahadi....a very unpopular school..haha. Wonder if u ever heard of it. Bukit Kuda...of cos i know man. The famous all-girl school. I have a few friends from there too. By the way, how old r u and which SPM did u took? I took the 2002's SPM. Wow, so u must be really smart to be the few Klang students who got the scholarship... Thanks for ur good luck wish too! All the best to u too...for next year...lolz.
lilet
02-05-2004, 05:46 PM
Raja Mahadi, heard before but have never been there.. Almost on the same league lah, sama same tak terkenal, I think~! =) U say my school famous ah? Yeah, should be lah.. all the discipline problems and useless stuff that they do.. Haha..
I am an SPM 2003 leaver - one year your senior but actually am two years younger than you cause I jumped (PTS) =)
Not very smartlah, cannot even get straight A's - got one B3~! Quite sueh one... Haha.. Thanks for your good luck but please change it to next month can cause JPA results should be out by then~! Don't want to sit for next year's A Level here if can~! =)
02-05-2004, 05:49 PM
Raja Mahadi, heard before but have never been there.. Almost on the same league lah, sama same tak terkenal, I think~! =) U say my school famous ah? Yeah, should be lah.. all the discipline problems and useless stuff that they do.. Haha..
I am an SPM 2003 leaver - one year your senior but actually am two years younger than you cause I jumped (PTS) =)
Not very smartlah, cannot even get straight A's - got one B3~! Quite sueh one... Haha.. Thanks for your good luck but please change it to next month can cause JPA results should be out by then~! Don't want to sit for next year's A Level here if can~! =)
Oo....then i change my good luck to next month la...lolz. And to all other JPA applicants....good luck to u guys too!
lynnx01
02-05-2004, 06:33 PM
Asean.. asean. My mum didn't even want me to apply for the A levels Asean scholarship. She said it's a waste of time.. perhaps because of what happened few years back. That time I was only in third form and I applied for fun. Went to Singapore for the entrance exam and interview.. it was truly an eye opener!! I was then offered the scholarship.. was so excited over it.. filled up the forms and all that... and then all of a sudden, my plans came to a halt when my parents decided there are more chances for me in Msia.. so I painfully (and kinda unwillingly) rejected the scholarship. It was a hard thing... and now thinking back, I wonder.. well.. what would it be like if I had taken up the scholarship. Many, many (yes.. MANY) things wouldn't have happened. What a reflection of the past..
lilet
03-05-2004, 10:01 AM
To lynnx01 - Actually there are quite a number of ppl like you who rejected the scholarship when they got it either in Sec 1 or Sec 3, but some more daring one eventually ended up in Singapore when they got it again for Pre-U. Dunno why they can change their minds suddenly like that... Seems to me that there are lots of students out there who wants ASEAN but couldn't get it.. No comments about that~! =)
KobeBryant
03-05-2004, 10:23 AM
To: SPM 2003 batch who has applied for the JPA scholarship
what do u all do and where do u all go while waiting for the results of the JPA scholarship besides some are studying in SG under ASEAN scholarship?
eunice
03-05-2004, 10:33 AM
Enjoying the holidays... while waiting for form six to start... :D
03-05-2004, 11:37 AM
To lilet, I think ur brother should go for NUS. But this is only my personal opinion, it really depends on ur brother and this is the decision that ur brother should make all by himself because this will decide his future. I choose NUS because it is not easy to get into this university and the experience he is going to gain there will be a lot different from that of studying in Monash Malaysia. But of cos, there are pros and cons. The pressure of studying in NUS and so on. About the bond to serve the government or the companies in Singapore, is it a bad thing? Think of the more positive side.....he is guaranteed a job upon graduation. About the quality, NUS is among the top unis in Asia if I'm not mistaken. Anyway, I am not studying in Singapore so everything i wrote above are merely my opinions. Just my 2 cents. ^_^
Moozy
03-05-2004, 07:31 PM
To: SPM 2003 batch who has applied for the JPA scholarship
what do u all do and where do u all go while waiting for the results of the JPA scholarship besides some are studying in SG under ASEAN scholarship?
i was going to ask this question if u didn't. Hmmm, what i did was read newspapers(after arising at 10am every morning), then do laundry and other housework, read novels and watch tv. Before that, i was under a training programme in an Engineering firm for a few months. Now, i'm just waiting for f6 to start. can't wait any longer... sigh. How I wish it would start early like the years before.
KobeBryant
03-05-2004, 07:40 PM
why form 6 ? why not private college?
are u all sure n confident of getting the JPA scholarship ?
which colleges do u all think are good?
can name a few
lynnx01
03-05-2004, 08:19 PM
while waiting patiently for jpa, i'm enrolled in year 12.. the australian year 12 sam programme. i'm halfway through already... survived 4 months. about 4 months plus to go. by sept gonna finish all syllabus.. very challenging course.
03-05-2004, 08:47 PM
Wow...i tot SAM is a course which is about 11-month long? Dun tell me u r also studying in Taylors?
lynnx01
03-05-2004, 09:17 PM
errpps.. yup. taylor's. typical huh? u there too? which group?
03-05-2004, 09:24 PM
Haha.....I guess it correctly. I'm not in SAM....i'm in Alevels...So u've got 5-6 more months to go...
03-05-2004, 11:19 PM
Hope that everyone can stay focus. This thread should only be confined for scholarships. Any discussion on other stuff should be discussed in other threads. Look at the Forum Page and if there is no such thread available about the stuff you plan to discuss, please feel free to create new thread.
This will help others to look for information at the right thread. Thank you for supporting ReCom~!
Hope that those who have gone through scholarship interview can continue to share their experience here.
lynnx01
03-05-2004, 11:33 PM
sorry chenchow.
well okay, let's talk about scholarship. so did you get the merit scholarship by taylor's?
04-05-2004, 12:21 AM
sorry chenchow.
well okay, let's talk about scholarship. so did you get the merit scholarship by taylor's?
hehehe... i heard that the merit scholarship by taylor's has contracted....
last year... u will get ur tuition fees waived as long as u get 9A1's and above.....this year... all u get is an amount of money... izzit true??? :?:
04-05-2004, 12:27 AM
Ooops...sorry for the out of focus...
Yeah..i got the merit scholarship last year....
But for this year....u need at least 10A1 to get the full scholarship i think...they increased the number of A1s. I think they lost a lot of income last year...hehe.. But there are still a lot of students who qualified for this year's scholarship....More and more students getting strings of A1. There was one boy from Klang who got 15A1's if i'm not mistaken. I saw his result slip and almost fainted.....
04-05-2004, 12:30 AM
sorry chenchow.
hehehe... i heard that the merit scholarship by taylor's has contracted....
last year... u will get ur tuition fees waived as long as u get 9A1's and above.....this year... all u get is an amount of money... izzit true??? :?:
No lar....every year the scholarship is worth of tuition fee waiver....this year is still the same... How much they waived for ur tuition fee depends on how many A's u got.
hey , i saw from this thread that we can call to jpa to ask about the results .......is it true?
04-05-2004, 08:28 AM
littleprince, I don't think you can call now. However, the day that JPA accepts phone calls to answer whether you get scholarship or not, would be the day the results are online. So, I guess check it out online will be better. The phone line will be engaged with thousands of people trying to call. You should be able to check it either mid/end of this month.
Sylvia
04-05-2004, 12:27 PM
About the appeal letter for JPA(in case I din kena),I was wondering about the format and the things I should include in the letter.Can anyone give me an example or describe a bit on this
Alson
04-05-2004, 01:48 PM
But according to my interviewer he said this year they wouldn't entertain appeal cases leh. he made it very straight forward. He said it's becos the number of applicants very large
KobeBryant
04-05-2004, 05:39 PM
sorry chenchow.
is the scholarship confined to the Jan intake students only?
how about those intending to join the July A-level programme?
are they eligible to get full tuition fee waiver for this programme?
04-05-2004, 05:59 PM
i dun think those joining in july are eligible for the scholarship...cos the deadline is 2 weeks after the release of spm results... Furthermore, the scholarship award presentation for this year was already held few weeks ago if Im not mistaken.
04-05-2004, 06:00 PM
Can someone help me? Is there any scholarship for students who wish to study pharmacy overseas besides JPA?
04-05-2004, 09:41 PM
Alson, personally I think you can still appeal, as the interviewers in other centers do not mention that you can't appeal. Just give it a try... If anyone who get rejected in the first round, Without trying == 0% chance, if try == some chance of getting.
On pharmacy scholarship to overseas, I am not sure. Message soul_out, see whether he knows about it.
Sylvia for the appeal letter. Basically format is like formal letter. I think state your IC number etc. Mention what course and country you apply, which center, date and time your interview.
Then, this is the most important part. Convince them (not a long essay) about why you deserve a scholarship.
Attach your CV and if you have some very high-achieving achievement that you are sure almost no one else have, include it in the paragraph. Limit to 1 or 2, like National Math Olympiad Gold Medalist etc...
In all, 3 paragraph will suffice. So, 1st paragraph for basic info, 2nd paragraph for convincing. 3rd one mention your hope to study overseas and contribute to nation. Mention your family can't afford to send you overseas. JPA scholarship has been your dream for long...something in those lines..
Keep it short and to the point.
Good Luck~!
x3on_2
04-05-2004, 10:07 PM
Hmm..I've just joined into ReCom and well..pretty new around here.
Anyway, its nice to know quite a handful of people who has the potential to be great leaders in the future.
I haven't been taking the initiative of thinking whats my next step in the future after my a-levels. Its only quite lately that i've given it some thought. I guess I would be trying out on the medical field or engineering(business is just not my type). I wonder if anyone could help me out into,well, to put it simply, "persuading" me into what i should be in the future?
I know that this isn't the reply that should fit into this thread, but I guess ya all wouldn't mind if i add a post into the most replied topic in this section.
04-05-2004, 11:45 PM
i dun think those joining in july are eligible for the scholarship...cos the deadline is 2 weeks after the release of spm results... Furthermore, the scholarship award presentation for this year was already held few weeks ago if Im not mistaken.
i have answer to this question.... NOPE....the 2nd intake are not eligible to get the scholarship....bcoz only those who joined the first intake are allowed to applied...
i got to know this bcoz i walked to Taylor college (10 minutes from my home) and asked the counselor there.... they told me that " we just want to award good students....we are not here to attract good students...."
if u r confident to get the full scholarship... go for the 1st intake...u can save 11-12k ringgit.... if u still wan scholarship... for 2nd intake... go for Inti....(u can get full scholarship...and Sunway college.... rm 5k)
KobeBryant
05-05-2004, 03:24 PM
like National Math Olympiad Gold Medalist etc...
Good Luck~!
hello, can i know are there any recomers who got this excellent award???!!!
how to be that great !!?
KobeBryant
05-05-2004, 03:28 PM
i got to know this bcoz i walked to Taylor college (10 minutes from my home) and asked the counselor there.... they told me that " we just want to award good students....we are not here to attract good students...."
if u r confident to get the full scholarship... go for the 1st intake...u can save 11-12k ringgit.... if u still wan scholarship... for 2nd intake... go for Inti....(u can get full scholarship...and Sunway college.... rm 5k)
thank you , decent merson.......hope u do well in INTEC
Among HELP, Sunway , Taylor and INTI , which college do u think is the best? i get a full scholarship at HELP
widagdo
05-05-2004, 03:34 PM
Personal opinion, Taylor's. But it also depends on which course you are doing.
KobeBryant
05-05-2004, 03:48 PM
if in business ? and accounting ?
05-05-2004, 07:04 PM
kobebryant, there are a number of national award winners here in ReCom. Shien Jin (prince) (I hope you don't mind I help you publicize, as I think you are a great role model for all of us) has won National Champion in Math Olympiad. He won a Bronze in International Math Olympiad in the year 2000 with 13 points, which is the best performance by any Malaysian since 1995 (and perhaps in history). Shien Jin was also the National Physics Champion in the year of 1999.
http://www.cs.princeton.edu/~shienong/imo-malaysia.html
Lin Lee (wawa) has also won National Physics Champion in the year of 2002. And there are many more award winners among ReCom members that I am not able to mention all here.
05-05-2004, 10:26 PM
if in business ? and accounting ?
i think in business....Metropolitan college is consider as one of the best...
and
accounting?... if u plan to take up ACCA, then, i would recommend Sunway College....
john_doe_85
06-05-2004, 08:53 AM
Quite concur with Merson... Sunway if you're looking for accounting although their business quite good lah... HELP if you're going for Science and Economics. There was an exodus of lecturers from Taylors to HELP some years ago so heard the good lecturers are now in HELP... Your choice, though. :)
Moozy
06-05-2004, 01:19 PM
But I thought for accounting, TAR is the best? Not too sure with accounting courses.
06-05-2004, 01:23 PM
Hi KobeBryant.
I would RecomMend SUnway College for Business and Accounting.
I took A-levels at SUnway and I'm impressed with how well the course was executed. I also got lots of friends who were doing ACCA/CPA etc., and all business-related course, at that time.
If you're looking for the business course at Sunway, try look around at their twinning program: such as Monash and Victoria Uni.
Those are good schools/programs. and the students also are very hardworking (despite the fact that most people perceive Sunway as no more than a party school).
Not sure about other colleges. You should check em out before jump to the college. (don't regret later). BUt Sunway is your best bet for Business and Accounting.
KobeBryant
06-05-2004, 06:32 PM
Hi KobeBryant.
I would RecomMend SUnway College for Business and Accounting.
I took A-levels at SUnway and I'm impressed with how well the course was executed. I also got lots of friends who were doing ACCA/CPA etc., and all business-related course, at that time.
If you're looking for the business course at Sunway, try look around at their twinning program: such as Monash and Victoria Uni.
Those are good schools/programs. and the students also are very hardworking (despite the fact that most people perceive Sunway as no more than a party school).
Not sure about other colleges. You should check em out before jump to the college. (don't regret later). BUt Sunway is your best bet for Business and Accounting.
thank you, masterof_none
the accounting and finance degree......
b4 joining a college , we should see which uni is the college collaborating with ?
HELP- Charles Sturt Uni degree
Monash- Monash Uni degree
Sunway- Victoria Uni degree
Taylor-Uni of Technology Sydney degree
INTI-Uni of Hertfordshire degree
which 1 is better
who can rank all these?
we rate these based on the unis'ranking or the quality of lecturers at the college ?
06-05-2004, 08:33 PM
I have copied the five threads here on private collegs to a new thread, so as it would be easier for future reference.
Go to: http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=16264#16264
hannna
06-05-2004, 10:04 PM
chenchow,
Q2. I don't think JPA scholarship decision is out. How do you get the information that you were rejected? Someone called you?
---i checked the interactive jpa site, and it said "tidak terpilih".
Q3. I would think that it is almost impossible, since if you are selected for engineering to US, you will be doing American Degree Foundation Program and not A level. For other countries, you are doing preparatory program for that country. Typically, a very high percentage of JPA scholars will get straight As in their A Level, so I think chances of changing is almost as good as 0%.
---i have not been selected for anything. but i sent in an appeal letter to do chem engineering in the UK. honestly, i'd prefer to go to UK then US... or anywhere else.. so i'm more of a any-course-as-long-as-in-UK person. sorry if thats not a very good thing, i dont think its very good either.
---about family income, i heard of people whose parents own companies or are like the big boss, so they forge a 'gaji slip' and put a lower pay. but hey, i wouldnt know.
thanks again!
KobeBryant
06-05-2004, 11:21 PM
when will the JPA scholarship results be out ?
whoever has the information plz post it in recom
07-05-2004, 03:03 AM
Hanna, as far as I know there are very limited or perhaps no scholarship in engineering to UK. So, I am not sure whether your appeal letter to do chem engineering in UK is right in place.
On those who forge pay slip, it is an ethical issue..
kobebryant, the results will be out at least in 1-3 weeks time.
KobeBryant
07-05-2004, 06:52 PM
those who are JPA sponsored.......when did u all know whether u got the JPA scholarship ?
usually in the mid-May or at the end of May or in June ?
08-05-2004, 12:05 AM
kobebyrant, I think the date changes slightly from year to year.
For my year, SPM 99, it was around June 10th for first batch. For SPM 00 batch, I think JPA notified the students around the last day or two of May. Not too sure about SPM 01 and 02 batch, but I think it is about the same time.
Typically, you will get notice of reporting to UiTM and other preparatory centers within 3 days or notice or so.
08-05-2004, 03:09 AM
kobebyrant, I think the date changes slightly from year to year.
For my year, SPM 99, it was around June 10th for first batch. For SPM 00 batch, I think JPA notified the students around the last day or two of May. Not too sure about SPM 01 and 02 batch, but I think it is about the same time.
Typically, you will get notice of reporting to UiTM and other preparatory centers within 3 days or notice or so.
for SPM 2002, it is the 2nd week of June....
dun be too worried abt when it is coming out.... becoz if u are one of the selected ones, u will still be notified thru post laju....
and the date of announcement will be put on major newspaper...normally on the Chinese Newspapers (Nanyang and Sin Chew....based on personal experiences)
i heard that the Petronas Scholarship result is out!!! Congrats to those who got it.... especially those who are going overseas for medicine.... Bravo....
All the BEST!!!!
and according to my knowledge.... the pay is (or mayb was) not a problem... even my fren with parents of 2 specialist doctors got a scholarship to Aus for Medicine.... it is completely(i might say) a Merit based scholarship... and if u are caught forging any documents.... BYE BYE...
remember that u have to sign a letter saying that all the submitted documents are certified copies and stuff like that??
Moozy
08-05-2004, 03:07 PM
Who actually GOT petronas medicine? I heard that they'll only sponsor 5 students. Those 5 who got it must be very outstanding, The creme of the cake(something like that) !!!
Are there any Recomers who got Petronas Medicine to overseas?
08-05-2004, 10:46 PM
Who actually GOT petronas medicine? I heard that they'll only sponsor 5 students. Those 5 who got it must be very outstanding, The creme of the cake(something like that) !!!
Are there any Recomers who got Petronas Medicine to overseas?
er... I have 2 seniors from SMK Subang Utama who got the scholarships two years ago.... they are from SPM 2001 batch... that year, Petronas gave 10 places for this course....
is creme de la creme? cream of the cream!!!
09-05-2004, 10:07 AM
From Sping: Anyone has any idea when we'll know whether we get jpa scholarship?
>> Please kindly refer to posts above in this thread. Thank you. Welcome to ReCom~!
oshmelvin
09-05-2004, 01:32 PM
Hey, it's really you, Melvin! Hehehee.. it has been yearsss since I last saw you. How are you doing? What did you apply for your JPA? Hheehe.. I remember the days in OTS when you were dubbed the 'mad scientist' for doing so well in Science.[/quote]
Lynn Xuan,
Sorry for the late reply. Read your post a few days ago but before I could reply my computer executed a shut down command a few times and my computer rebooted again and again. That was the first of a series of virus attacks I had over the past few days. I spent three hours yesterday getting the PWSteal.Firum virus off my system and also the W32 worm. I've already deleted off the sasser worm and had to deal with the gaboat worm yesterday. Had to undo the command in the registry. Anyway, it's all fine now. Yes, it has been a while since I last saw you. Nice to see you around and I'm glad to hear from you. I'm fine. How are you doing? You're doing SAM (south australian matriculation)? Nice.. my cousin was doing it last year in aus. Planning to study in aus? JPA scholarship yes.... the main deciding factor. I applied for engineering... had a hard time making a decision because I love medicine as well. And the mad scientist nick.... I'm used to it. =) Mail me next time or add me to your msn messenger. My e-mail is listed in my profile.
KobeBryant
09-05-2004, 05:06 PM
told by the JPA officers ?
lilet
09-05-2004, 05:49 PM
All the candidates for JPA here seems very anxious about the results~! =) Dont' have to worry I guess, cause get it or not, you will still be notified eventually. ;-) From what my interviewer told us, results will be out either end of this month or early next month.
So to all who applied, good luck~! ^_^
KobeBryant
09-05-2004, 11:33 PM
the result of BNM scholarship is out.........
i get a letter from BNM and as i have expected, i didn get through
quite disappointed also although i knew that my performance was not good during the interview
can i know any applicants out there who get it ?
09-05-2004, 11:39 PM
Hey, that's not the end of the world yet. There are many more options ahead. Perhaps getting the scholarship will hamper other opportunities that you're supposed to get? Who knows, rite? Just focus on what you're going to do instead of lamenting over this, ok?
KobeBryant
09-05-2004, 11:42 PM
Hey, that's not the end of the world yet. There are many more options ahead. Perhaps getting the scholarship will hamper other opportunities that you're supposed to get? Who knows, rite? Just focus on what you're going to do instead of lamenting over this, ok?
ok........
i am not lamenting
i haven't loss my focus
my mind is still very clear
got it ?