View Full Version : Scholarships (JPA,Petronas,MARA, Telekom,Tenaga,BNM,...) FAQ

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22]

Davidlew
06-03-2008, 01:46 PM
hai guys i am beginner at this so please bare with me. anyway...... i sat for my spm last year(2007) and i am currently waiting for my results. i am really interested in mechanical engineering but i cannot seem to find a lot of info on this course. i was hoping that you can answer some of my question like:
Is germany the best place to do engineering??? and can you explain to me about the german engineering programme offered by JPA . Thanks a lot guys.

Yup.As far as i know,Germany is considered the best country to persue engineering course.Basically,jpa offer all the engineering courses that are available.

mongyu
06-03-2008, 03:26 PM
may i noe bout any info bout study at singapura????
i m a f6 studant.....
thanksss lot :) [/b]

jun
06-03-2008, 07:24 PM
thanks Davidlew i appreaciate it .

zhenlim
06-03-2008, 09:05 PM
Hey,

I haven't had time to go through all 344 pages in this thread, but I just wanna reconfirm something.

I read that JPA usually calls up the shortlisted students for their interview around late March/early April; can I know how many days after the deadline will this be? Because I'll be attending a national camp from 23rd March - 6th April, & I'm worried that the interview [if i get shortlisted after applying] will fall during then.

Anyone have any idea how I can go about this?

Aries
06-03-2008, 09:27 PM
JPA's interview is normally early april. Not sure if it will fall during the camp. The deadline 4 JPA appication is approximately 1 week after spm results are released. By the way, can i know wat camp r u attending?

wilson
06-03-2008, 09:57 PM
Hi, i am new here. Do JPA offers full scholarships for spm-leavers to study medicine?

Besides JPA scholarships, what other full medical scholarships are open for application by an spm-leaver?

It has been my dream and ambition to study medicine and be a doctor since small. i hope u all can help me. Thanks.

poirot1989
06-03-2008, 10:31 PM
Truth be told, as for as medic is concerned, there aren't many scholarships out there besides JPA. Well, it goes without saying that it's really an expensive course. But what I suggest you to do is to apply to the unis that offer the course themselves.

Well, I heard University of Sheffield is offering a 50% off the tuition fees for the first 2 years (not too sure about this as I am not a medic student). But even with that burden off your back, the cost of living there in UK is still...well...exorbitant.

If you really are keen to do medicine, then I would suggest you to consider even local universities or lower cost education (Indo, India, Ukraine, Russia).

I do wish you all the best! We do need more enthusiastic doctors-wanna-be rather than just scholars who don't know what they are getting themselves into.

poirot1989
06-03-2008, 10:44 PM
Hi I would like to know if there are any corporate scholarships for me to study undergraduate programs in UK?

I have received conditional offers from LSE, Warwick, Imperial and King's for Business Stats and Math, MORSE, Finance stuff respectively. Any idea? I'm planning to do Actuarial actually but it's okay.

IT is way too expensive to study in UK without external fundings, especially in London. The living costs are bizarre. But getting LSE is no easy thing I think. =)

Thanks a lot!

Btw, I checked MAxis, and it's only for postgraduate.

Well, you can check out Singapore scholarships. GIC is one of them. It's really good and DAMN hard to get.

Good luck! And yeah...congrats!

wilson
06-03-2008, 11:00 PM
Truth be told, as for as medic is concerned, there aren't many scholarships out there besides JPA. Well, it goes without saying that it's really an expensive course. But what I suggest you to do is to apply to the unis that offer the course themselves.

Well, I heard University of Sheffield is offering a 50% off the tuition fees for the first 2 years (not too sure about this as I am not a medic student). But even with that burden off your back, the cost of living there in UK is still...well...exorbitant.

If you really are keen to do medicine, then I would suggest you to consider even local universities or lower cost education (Indo, India, Ukraine, Russia).

I do wish you all the best! We do need more enthusiastic doctors-wanna-be rather than just scholars who don't know what they are getting themselves into.

Thanks, poirot1989. But do u know any universities in Malaysia or other countries that offer full medical scholarships, including the cost of living allowance? Thanks a lot in advance.

For your information, I am in Malaysia and currently waiting for my spm results.

Skyevenz
06-03-2008, 11:17 PM
i would like to ask whether anyone know bioentrepreneur?
Does such course exist?
if, it does, which university or college i can pursue in?

07-03-2008, 01:06 AM
Does such course exist?

same as SPM 07 leaver,but i would like to share my thoughts..

I think bio-related entreprenuer come mostly out of biotechnology area...as biotechnology is a vague term and various accordingly to diferent countries,but so far,as what i am concerned in this area also,i think most University which provide biotechnology course/degree do train you to become a bioentreprenuer..

^.^

Tasslehoff
07-03-2008, 09:49 AM
Hi I would like to know if there are any corporate scholarships for me to study undergraduate programs in UK?

I have received conditional offers from LSE, Warwick, Imperial and King's for Business Stats and Math, MORSE, Finance stuff respectively. Any idea? I'm planning to do Actuarial actually but it's okay.

IT is way too expensive to study in UK without external fundings, especially in London. The living costs are bizarre. But getting LSE is no easy thing I think. =)

Thanks a lot!

Btw, I checked MAxis, and it's only for postgraduate.

Congrats on obtaining those offers. But I must warn you, alot of other malaysians obtain offers from those universities every year.. (i'm talking in numbers of more than a hundred)

there are a great number of scholarships available for students pursuing a maths major/business major. Just look through past threads in the scholarship forum to dig them out :)

the most notable few are : (in no particular order)
Khazanah
Bank Negara
JPA
GIC
SC
Shell

Good luck!

Appolo
07-03-2008, 12:07 PM
Does such course exist?

I'm afriad no. However, if you are really interested in pursuing a degree in a bio-based field with opportunities to be involved in business, there is no harm for you to take up biotechnology as some univeristies would prepare their students on marketing or management related to biotechnology.

Or you can always try and do a dual degree should you are interested in the combination of biology and business.So yeah, its possible if you do your research carefully.

zhenlim
10-03-2008, 09:55 PM
JPA's interview is normally early april. Not sure if it will fall during the camp. The deadline 4 JPA appication is approximately 1 week after spm results are released. By the way, can i know wat camp r u attending?

I'm attending a Yayasan Tun Razak camp. Had to go through an interview to be selected, & I'm quite excited about it. Gah I do hope the interview doesn't clash.

sugarspice
13-03-2008, 10:40 AM
Hello everyone.

I just got my SPM results yesterday. I am a science stream student and I scored 10A1s (including GCE O) and 3 A2s , one of those i got an A2 is BIO.

Is it advisable to avoid bio related courses when choosing the course for jpa since I didn't get an A1 for BIO? will I stand a better chance of getting if I choose, say, pure science/engineering/architecture (which are less bio related) instead of choosing biotech/vet science [dentistry & pharmacy are definitely no-no because I got too many A2s....=( ]?

Another question. If I apply for economics or business studies, do you think a science student like me will get the scholarship? Do you think jpa consider commerce stream students first when giving scholarships on these courses?

Danial
13-03-2008, 11:02 AM
Hello everyone!

I just got my result yesterday. 9 A1 and 1 A2. Is my result eligible for petronas scholarship? Can anyone tell me the website to petronas scholarship?

ckckc
13-03-2008, 01:27 PM
Hello everyone.

Another question. If I apply for economics or business studies, do you think a science student like me will get the scholarship? Do you think jpa consider commerce stream students first when giving scholarships on these courses?

Try BNM if you're good in sports (district or state level) & extra curriculum (Captain/president of atleast 1 team/Society)

13-03-2008, 01:56 PM
Hello everyone!

I just got my result yesterday. 9 A1 and 1 A2. Is my result eligible for petronas scholarship? Can anyone tell me the website to petronas scholarship?

http://tinkosong.com/2005/11/29/petronas-misc-scholarship/
Check this out

THe application website is esuonline...BLA BLA BLA

4get ady, google will help u..

Sorry n gd luck..

sugarspice
13-03-2008, 06:59 PM
Hello everyone.

I just got my SPM results yesterday. I am a science stream student and I scored 10A1s (including GCE O) and 3 A2s , one of those i got an A2 is BIO.

Is it advisable to avoid bio related courses when choosing the course for jpa since I didn't get an A1 for BIO? will I stand a better chance of getting if I choose, say, pure science/engineering/architecture (which are less bio related) instead of choosing biotech/vet science [dentistry & pharmacy are definitely no-no because I got too many A2s....=( ]?

Thanks.Try BNM if you're good in sports (district or state level) & extra curriculum (Captain/president of atleast 1 team/Society)

Aiya, very sorry. I am not good at sports - my sports achievement is totally nil. And for co curriculum, I was 'ahli biasa' only.

The only thing I have is NS (mine was 2008 1st batch and I went for it) & academic ones like district level quizzes, debates etc.

I have no idea what to fill in the sports section. Suppose I will be filtered out during the first round......

MicLiZ
13-03-2008, 09:25 PM
Hey everyone, i'm new around here,
just got my SPM results yesterday, i've got 11A1s, 1A2 (English Science and Technology) and another A2 for GCE.
My extra subjects are Accounts and Bible Knowledge.

I would like to know if anyone know of any scholarship which would sponsor me for a Pre-U programme overseas (preferrably in UK or US)
I've not decided on what specific course i'm going to take..
but i have a rough idea i want something like economics or finance or financial engineering.
and so I'm aiming for London School of Economics or some uni in US.

Any info would help a lot since all i've found through my research (online) are undergraduate scholarships. Thanx in advance.

passOUT
15-03-2008, 12:48 PM
this year, jpa is offering sastera dan kemanusiaan as one of it programs.
so....i'm wondering anyone of you here could please tell me what are the branches under this sastera dan kemanusiaan besides hubungan antarabangsa and sains politik?
is language and linguistics under this branch as well???
btw, how about law??? isnt it under kemanusiaan??

thanks loads....n yea, i'm sorry if i'm asking too much...hehe....

15-03-2008, 02:12 PM
Hello everyone.

Here's my advice: go for the course that you really want to pursue. If you're interested in denstistry, then by all means apply for dentistry. A freind of mine scored an A2 for biology too, and guess what: he got Ireland medicine.

sugarspice
15-03-2008, 02:34 PM
Hello everyone.

Here's my advice: go for the course that you really want to pursue. If you're interested in denstistry, then by all means apply for dentistry. A freind of mine scored an A2 for biology too, and guess what: he got Ireland medicine.

Oh, how was your friend's co curricular achievements?

Mine is nearly nil......

By the way, between engineering and pure science, which is more competitive?

15-03-2008, 03:31 PM
Aiya, very sorry. I am not good at sports - my sports achievement is totally nil. And for co curriculum, I was 'ahli biasa' only.

The only thing I have is NS (mine was 2008 1st batch and I went for it) & academic ones like district level quizzes, debates etc.

I have no idea what to fill in the sports section. Suppose I will be filtered out during the first round......

i think personal interest really means alot. With much interest,you can go further. So,my advice is apply the course you interested in.

15-03-2008, 03:38 PM
Hey everyone, i'm new around here,
just got my SPM results yesterday, i've got 11A1s, 1A2 (English Science and Technology) and another A2 for GCE.
My extra subjects are Accounts and Bible Knowledge.

I would like to know if anyone know of any scholarship which would sponsor me for a Pre-U programme overseas (preferrably in UK or US)
I've not decided on what specific course i'm going to take..
but i have a rough idea i want something like economics or finance or financial engineering.
and so I'm aiming for London School of Economics or some uni in US.

Any info would help a lot since all i've found through my research (online) are undergraduate scholarships. Thanx in advance.

first,i would like to welcome you to Recom.Org!!!~

Your result is superb compare to *mine*. Regarding scholarship for oversea Pre-U,so far i never come across.

But,from your post,i think you can try your luck on BNM or Petronas or JPA Or Shell. Havent try,havent know. Lucks there!~

MicLiZ
15-03-2008, 06:04 PM
first,i would like to welcome you to Recom.Org!!!~

Your result is superb compare to *mine*. Regarding scholarship for oversea Pre-U,so far i never come across.

But,from your post,i think you can try your luck on BNM or Petronas or JPA Or Shell. Havent try,havent know. Lucks there!~
^^ thanx~ T.T i really really want a scholarship to overseas for my pre-U programme.. XD but that's probably too much to ask for.. Petronas' website for their scholarship is still under maintainence.. as for JPA, they don't offer scholarship to overseas for pre-U programme.. T.T hopefully, they might..not too sure though..but it says here they don't.
any other advice are very much welcomed~ thanx in advance~ ^^

15-03-2008, 06:21 PM
^^ thanx~ T.T i really really want a scholarship to overseas for my pre-U programme.. XD but that's probably too much to ask for.. Petronas' website for their scholarship is still under maintainence.. as for JPA, they don't offer scholarship to overseas for pre-U programme.. T.T hopefully, they might..not too sure though..but it says here they don't.
any other advice are very much welcomed~ thanx in advance~ ^^

I dont get what you mean by petronas website or scholarship.

but,i am clear that you're blur with your future.

Petronas and JPA is defintely going to give you PRE-U programmes beforehand. So apply for these two now.

BUT they dont offer pre-u overseas. Pre-u is similar to form 6. just in a diferent form and system.

Okay,my advice is apply them before the datelinea 18/3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*welcoming further questions....*

piogadgetneeringmasters
15-03-2008, 06:35 PM
i've a problem with yayasan tenaga nasional scholarships.. when i apply, they immediately rejected my application. it was online and it said that i wasn't qualified and suggested that i take a look at their advertisement which i have ran through many times.. the closing date is today, and i'm getting worried

15-03-2008, 06:41 PM
i've a problem with yayasan tenaga nasional scholarships.. when i apply, they immediately rejected my application. it was online and it said that i wasn't qualified and suggested that i take a look at their advertisement which i have ran through many times.. the closing date is today, and i'm getting worried

do you mind share the website to me?

lets identify the problem together.

piogadgetneeringmasters
15-03-2008, 06:53 PM
it's yayasan.tnb.com.my/sam

piogadgetneeringmasters
15-03-2008, 06:59 PM
in the part where it says 'no. kp lama bapa' in the jpa form, what if my dad lost his old ic?

15-03-2008, 07:01 PM
in the part where it says 'no. kp lama bapa' in the jpa form, what if my dad lost his old ic?
They just need the number... Try and ask him if he remembers the numbers

oiga
15-03-2008, 08:28 PM
piogadgetneeringmasters,
dun worry cz at the back of new ic got old ic numbers.

piogadgetneeringmasters
15-03-2008, 08:38 PM
behind the old ic? well, i see 'the new ic number' - xx - xx

is that the old ic?

15-03-2008, 08:42 PM
NEW IC is mykad...old IC is not MyKad....

15-03-2008, 09:17 PM
NEW IC is mykad...old IC is not MyKad....New ic comes with the format: Bday-state number-your unique number

like for me 8510XX-13-5XXX

the old format will be Axxxxxx (don't know how many numbers)
Sarawakians will have kxxxxxx

oiga
15-03-2008, 09:17 PM
no, it is not the old ic number.the old ic number is in the bracket one, just below the new ic number.

piogadgetneeringmasters
15-03-2008, 11:15 PM
getting more and more confused...

there is no number below the new ic number...

in the form, yes, there is a letter in front of the numbers, but i don't see any number sequence with a letter in front of it in my dad's ic...

piogadgetneeringmasters
15-03-2008, 11:16 PM
senior member xon,

did u manage the yayasan tnb thing?

15-03-2008, 11:33 PM
getting more and more confused...

there is no number below the new ic number...

in the form, yes, there is a letter in front of the numbers, but i don't see any number sequence with a letter in front of it in my dad's ic...

if got alphabet in front is old lor....

sugarspice
16-03-2008, 09:19 AM

I just fisnished applying for Yayasan Tenaga but it was all smooth. It said : 'permohonan diterima'.

Are you sure you fulfill ALL the requirements as stated in the advert? If so, there shoudnt be any problem....

16-03-2008, 10:23 AM
as i noe...yayasan tenaga nasional scholarships only offer engineering ,accounting ,it,bussiness..
1) BIDANG PENGAJIAN
a) Program Universiti
Luar Negara
(i) Ijazah Sarjana Muda:-
? Kejuruteraan Elektrik Kuasa
? Kejuruteraan Mekanikal
? Kejuruteraan Awam
? Perakaunan
b) Program Universiti
Tenaga Nasional
(UNITEN)
(i) Asas Kejuruteraan:-
? Kejuruteraan Elektrik & Elektronik
? Kejuruteraan Mekanikal
? Kejuruteraan Awam
? Sains Komputer
(ii) Asas Bukan Kejuruteraan:-
? Teknologi Maklumat
? Perakaunan
? Kewangan
? Pengajian Bisnes

Unfortunately the closing date is today..So i have lost an opportunity to apply for that scholarships..

sugarspice
16-03-2008, 10:25 AM
as i noe...yayasan tenaga nasional scholarships only offer engineering ,accounting ,it,bussiness..
1) BIDANG PENGAJIAN
a) Program Universiti
Luar Negara
(i) Ijazah Sarjana Muda:-
? Kejuruteraan Mekanikal
? Kejuruteraan Awam
? Perakaunan
b) Program Universiti
Tenaga Nasional
(UNITEN)
(i) Asas Kejuruteraan:-
? Kejuruteraan Elektrik & Elektronik
? Kejuruteraan Mekanikal
? Kejuruteraan Awam
? Sains Komputer
(ii) Asas Bukan Kejuruteraan:-
? Teknologi Maklumat
? Perakaunan
? Kewangan
? Pengajian Bisnes

Unfortunately the closing date is today..So i have lost an opportunity to apply for that scholarships..

hey it's still open lar....quick quick go apply. the opportunity is still there.
I did it this morning around 9.30 also and succeeded.

16-03-2008, 10:53 AM
I applied for Yayasan TNB right after my SPM results was released in 2007. I still remeber that we had to send our copy of certificates and RM 30 for processing fee..

1 of my friends was called for interview in Kajang. Then, he diin manage to make it.... (because he secured JPA)

just wana digress a bit

UNITEN is famous for the electiric power engineering course..

sugarspice
16-03-2008, 10:58 AM
I applied for Yayasan TNB right after my SPM results was released in 2007. I still remeber that we had to send our copy of certificates and RM 30 for processing fee..

1 of my friends was called for interview in Kajang. Then, he diin manage to make it.... (because he secured JPA)

just wana digress a bit

UNITEN is famous for the electiric power engineering course..

Wah, so troublesome! and the processing fee is even more expensive than PETRONAS!! Thanks God I am SPM 2007 batch...

How did JPA know that your friend has secured JPA? the results (berjaya/gagal) shouldnt be out yet by that time what...

16-03-2008, 11:09 AM
Wah, so troublesome! and the processing fee is even more expensive than PETRONAS!! Thanks God I am SPM 2007 batch...

How did JPA know that your friend has secured JPA? the results (berjaya/gagal) shouldnt be out yet by that time what...
For them to take the trouble and offer scholarship to you guys, i think the fees are reasonable...

phoenix1892
16-03-2008, 11:13 AM
The PETRONAS scholarship requires us to send some ducuments right? when should I send all those documents? By the 18th also?

sugarspice
16-03-2008, 11:23 AM
The PETRONAS scholarship requires us to send some ducuments right? when should I send all those documents? By the 18th also?

This is still a big question mark in my head. I want to know the answer also...

If we really need to send before 18th, we gotta use pos laju liao...

Myself_psl
16-03-2008, 11:55 AM
This is still a big question mark in my head. I want to know the answer also...

If we really need to send before 18th, we gotta use pos laju liao...

No need to send..
i called them dy..
they say bring it when the educamp!
hope i will be chosen!

sugarspice
16-03-2008, 12:01 PM
No need to send..
i called them dy..
they say bring it when the educamp!
hope i will be chosen!

HUH? NO NEED to send?

"Tarikh tutup permohonan secara ?online? adalah pada 18 Mac 2008, jam 5.00 petang. "

Silly me....didn't read the panduan memohon properly...

that means the 18th deadline is for online application only..

that also means we can gather the required docs only when we are called up for edu camp..

Myself_psl
16-03-2008, 12:28 PM
HUH? NO NEED to send?

"Tarikh tutup permohonan secara ?online? adalah pada 18 Mac 2008, jam 5.00 petang. "

that means the 18th deadline is for online application only..

that also means we can gather the required docs only when we are called up for edu camp..

Yupe, bring it all together when educamp!
remember to take pengesahan, haiz, only petronas need to do many copies....

MicLiZ
16-03-2008, 03:52 PM
uh, this is what i meant..
http://oqonline.petronas.com.my/
but i see some of you have already applied for Petronas..
can you guys give me the link or something?
can't find it.. T.T

16-03-2008, 05:26 PM
Like what the Germans love to say: Those who can read, profits

phoenix1892
16-03-2008, 09:14 PM
uh, this is what i meant..
http://oqonline.petronas.com.my/
but i see some of you have already applied for Petronas..
can you guys give me the link or something?
can't find it.. T.T

http://spmonline.petronas.com.my/