View Full Version : ReCom Scholarship. Anyone?
13-06-2005, 01:18 AM
Role playing :
Let's say...
you are a very rich person, owning a few big companies in Malaysia.
you want to help students in Malaysia.
and you initiated a new scholarship, namely ReCom scholarship.
Those students who get ReCom scholarship will be able to study locally and also in overseas.
There is a problem.
Many people want to apply for ReCom scholarship.
Every year there are thousands of straight A1 SPM students.
What is your CRITERIA of giving ReCom scholarship to students?
Who deserve to get ReCom scholarship?
Here is another problem.
There are many students who reject ReCom scholarship because they are not willing to learn foreign languages.
How are you going to solve these 2 problems?
Anthony
13-06-2005, 01:22 AM
Role playing :
Let's say...
Those students who get ReCom scholarship will be able to study locally and also in overseas.
There is a problem.
Here is another problem.
There are many students who reject ReCom scholarship because they are not willing to learn foreign languages.
let me remind something the 2004 batch has only 662 ppl who got str8A1s plz dun have the misconceptions dat we have thousands of str8A1s ok? Dat was last year and the Str8A1s dropped 40% compared last year..( a vry sheer drop )
masdie
13-06-2005, 01:23 AM
8O thousands?? malaysians so smart meh? maybe we can ask them to write up a personal statement. maybe conduct tests (like asean scholarship). and the interviews must be taken seriously. and make everything transparent. show the public how we select scholars.
make it a take it or leave it choice. no appealing what soever. but recom can only offer the students the course and country that the student has applied for. don't be like upu, people apply for forestry, the stupid upu offer dentistry. really stupid.
masdie
13-06-2005, 01:31 AM
let me remind something the 2004 batch has only 662 ppl who got str8A1s plz dun have the misconceptions dat we have thousands of str8A1s ok? Dat was last year and the Str8A1s dropped 40% compared last year..( a vry sheer drop )
relax dude, iqing was just giving an example.
13-06-2005, 01:43 AM
Role playing :
Let's say...
There is a problem.
Here is another problem.
Do you know what is the meaning of role playing?
are you having some kind of problem with perceiving reality?
did I mention the year?
wTF r u talking about?
next time in the interview when you are given the same question, answer what you have answered now and get fired
13-06-2005, 06:16 AM
sorry to be straight forward to say that i saw an arrogant + psycho SPM str8A1s student barking all over in the Recom threads!
13-06-2005, 10:56 AM
oh yea Janewai!
i'm so agreeing with you! :D :D
khor_albert
13-06-2005, 01:06 PM
I think I will award to all those who are worthy and there will be no minimum number of scholarships. Mental endurance is very important to filter out all those who have little interests.
I will do these. It will be an obstacle challenge of exams + interviews + group activities. Basically, I am looking at initiative, all-rounder, dynamic and sociable persons. Therefore, I will give them a hectic 2-3 day interview which will consists of many many activities. This is to test their ability to work under pressure.
Then, I will make the interview results transparent. I will reveal their scores in the interviews and comments if possible. Transparency will prevent a lot of unnecessary fuss and reduce the involvements of politics in my scholarship programmes. I probably won't give face to those Datuk or YB's son or daughter. As for children of my employees, they will of course be given an extra edge. However, the magnitude of the advantage will heavily depend on the post of his/her parent/s. If his/her parents are top-ranked personnels, the magnitude will be lesser.
That's my idea. I havent really have those experiences and you would not expect me to come out with a professional proposal.
The word "role play" kinda reminds me of my bad experience during SC Interview's role play. I believe that's the reason I flunked the whole interview.
PS : anthony, I believe typing straight A1s instead of str8A1s will only cost you an extra few seconds and pay you some respect.
kucingbiru
13-06-2005, 01:19 PM
i'd sponsor those who can be themselves throughout the process. so dont pretend to be something you're not when applying. and in interviews, i'll reject those who give me wrong answers. it's ok to admit that you donno something, just dont be a smartass. (since i own a big company, i must have met a lot of people. so i can tell who's pretending.)
if a lot of them reject the scholarship because they are not willing to learn foreign languages, it's not my freaking problem. i'm just trying to help, i'm not asking for help.
13-06-2005, 01:35 PM
hmm..me?
i'll ask why, they want the scholarship, and how they think getting the scholarship will help them and their family.
then, interview. exam. look into their co-co. ask how they helped the school or community. i dont want no "can study but cannot work with ppl" kinda scholars for the s/ship.
then, look not only at the gaji of the parents but also how many siblings they have.
*~digressing*~
COZ, this happens a lot to my family, and kesian my dad.
he's the sole provider (my mum doesnt work), and we nvr could get SPBT or whatever bntuan thingy schools give out coz they look at my dads salary and say,"oh..this guy gaji more than 1500 ringgit. of coz no need bantuan."
but what they didnt take into consideration is the number of children he has, or supporting. i have 7 siblings, and all are in school. 3 in uni, 4 studying in skool. and we all know how riduculosly expensive school n uni can be. yuran this la, dat la etc.
anyway, after all the evaluation, i'll make all the students sign the surat perjanjian yg really really explicit, saying that they MUST come back n serve the country. make them pay double the amoutn LOL
for my course, they're gonna make us pay a lump sump of 160 K if we decide not to work with the gov. 8O die!
and yea, anyone who requests or want a certain country after being given a scholarship, can go eat grass for all i care. i want ppl who are grateful, not whingers :twisted: :twisted:
Jhuen
13-06-2005, 04:42 PM
for me,if someday i can be really rich(emm,smthg like Donald trump perhaps??) and can afford to give out scholarships,i'd resort to this formula
exam+CCA+interview+group activities
the exam wld include an IQ test and a general knowledge paper...i wld chose those who r critical thinkers,and are able to think out of the box...this is so that they'll be productive employees when they graduate and come back to work for me...
CCA-the usual stuff..based on the applicants' involvement in school(to show their co-operativeness,leadership qualities,skills..etc)
interview-to assess how well they can converse with other ppl and authority figures(with confidence,no hint of nervousness;if there is,only slightly),their command of english..
the group activities(presentation,case study)-to see for myself the applicants' personalities..whether he's a natural born leader(able to lead and yet at the same time,listens to ppl's opinions),his organisational skills,his ability to work under pressure(as there'll be limited time given), n problem solving abilities.
haha,i'll make sure they sign a contract to guarantee they work for me after their studies!!dont count on running away after all my expenditure on u!!
masdie
13-06-2005, 04:51 PM
i kinda like the way petronas handles the interview process 3-4 years ago. we have to simulate a meeting discussing a topic of their choice and they evaluate us. also i like how they force us to make decisions. because they only hand out the actual application forms when you're inside the waiting hall. your parents and friends won't be with you. you just have to make your own decision. don't know whether this is the actual process or they had forgot to hand out the application forms earlier. haha. but i didn't get petronas scholarship. :(
aqmeiyi
13-06-2005, 05:54 PM
Role playing :
for me, the initial criteria would of course be good academic results (as usual).. but i wouldn't narrow it down to only straight A1 students.. a few Bs here and there isn't a big deal.. those students might even outperform the straight A1 students in other aspects, and i would want to give them the chance to prove their worth..
then i'd probably let the candidates go through some tests.. IQ, Math, English, General Knowldge.. etc. etc. and if possible, i would make public their results (for that's the only way i can prove that the students were judged on their own merit)
and most importantly, the interviews.. i'd carry out both individual and group interviews.. during the individual interview, i'd probably ask the candidates more personal questions like "why do they want the scholarship?", "what are their strongest qualities and assets?", "why do they think they deserve the scholarship over all the other candidates?", etc etc.. here, i'm not looking for prepared, memorized answers.. i'm looking for honesty, confidence and strong character in the candidates..
then the group interview i'd carry out in role-playing format, where the students have to put their problem-solving skills to the test.. i'd look for the natural born leaders who are able to lead the respective discussions.. but don't get me wrong, i'm not looking for someone who dominates the entire discussion!!! to me, a good leader is someone who is willing to listen and ask for others' opinion as well.. i'm not looking for a Know-It-All either, so if u don't know the answer, then just be honest and say "sorry, i don't know the answer to the question." :wink: much better than simply "tembaking" and sounding ridiculous in the process..
ooohh.. and being fluent in English would certainly be a huge plus, for English is now the lingua franca of the world.. students who are fluent in English will probably fare better overseas.. (just my opinion, ya? don't kill me!! :oops: )
and that's that i guess... hopefully, i could publish the final results, and rank the candidates.. then the top candidates will get the coveted scholarship :D this way, the entire scholarship process would be see-through and based on meritocrasy.. no hanky-panky involved 8)
Role playing :
to hell with them then.. (pardon the language.. hehe).. a foreign language will be an asset to them in the future, and if those silly people are too short-sighted to see that, then sorry for them!! hmmph..
besides, beggars can't be choosers right? i don't owe any of the candidates anything and here i am, already willing to sponsor their education and still they're so picky and demanding?!?! sheesh..
but of course, i'd offer the students the course of their choice lar.. i'm not going to give a computer science applicant medicine!! lol.. but the final choice of country will still be up to me .. 8)
trojan209
14-06-2005, 02:41 AM
if i ever have the money to sponsor students to study abroad, i would choose the candidates in following criteria
family background
those from poor families will get advance extra points. Poor in this case means low ratio of the income per family members. ( if the parents earn rm 4000 but have 15 mouths to feed, the ratio will be low)
academics and CCA
i also give chance for those who didn't get straight A's to give a shot. getting straight A's doesn't qualify u to say u are better than others who didn't. the fastest man on earth doesn't always win every race in olympic games, right? so the school record of the candidates might be needed. CCA plays a great role here since i don't want any nerds who know nothing than facing the book 25 hours per day.
EQ test
since i don't want any psycho and ungrateful persons get their hands on my scholarship, this test will play a great role here. of coz those who have high IQ can make a good decision but it doesn't mean anything if ur decision can be affected greatly by ur emotions.
interview
i want to meet the candidates personally and see how they dress up, how they talk, bla bla bla. access their command in english. those who can speak other language than chinese (mandarin+cantonese), bahasa, tamil and english will have an advantage. willingness to study foreign language like japanese, italian, french or german would be a plus point too since I might consider the option of sending them to non-english speaking nations which can offer high quality universities but cost me less such as south korea, japan, germany, france,sweden, etc.
mind game
i would say after the interview straight to their face that i am not willing to give them any scholarship and see how they react. if they start whining or make publicity in newspapers and arrogantly saying that they have the right to demand my scholarship, i would for sure take their names out of the list. even if they appeal, they will just ended up in my dustbin. there would be no transparency (also part of my mind game). in fact the money is mine and not theirs or taxpayers. so i don't owe anybody anything. it's up to me to give my money to one i think she/he should. It?s MY right to do so. applying for the scholarship is no different than applying for a job. If u get rejected, too bad. go and find other scholarship. those who face my "decision" calmly and not harshly criticise me will get the offer letter after one week. the rules might change to what i think suits me best.
acceptance
my offer will be " take it or leave it ". if u are not happy with my offer to send u to non-english speaking countries (if there is any), just turn it down. don't complain. there are many others who willingly happy to take ur place. i have no time to give myself another headache since i had suffered enough during interviewing thousands of applicants.
p/s : It?s just one of my way to sort out the fake ?good? candidates and those who like to pretend during interview.
14-06-2005, 02:51 AM
Interesting....
Graphology is a popular method used in oversea in interviews, eps. in France.
Have you considered using graphology as a mean of interview,
because it can save you a lot of time in your "mind game".
*Graphology : handwriting analysing to judge a person's charactor.
trojan209
14-06-2005, 03:06 AM
Interesting....
Graphology is a popular method used in oversea in interviews, eps. in France.
Have you considered using graphology as a mean of interview,
because it can save you a lot of time in your "mind game".
*Graphology : handwriting analysing to judge a person's charactor.
good idea. should be using it in the next year interview. the mind game will change each year. i should never use the same trick each year otherwise the applicants will figure it out and that will affect my sole purpose of using mind game. hahaha...i'm troubling myself for using this type of interview. 8)
14-06-2005, 03:08 AM
you have Sharingan right? mind game? :P
14-06-2005, 03:16 AM
hmm..me?
i'll ask why, they want the scholarship, and how they think getting the scholarship will help them and their family.
then, interview. exam. look into their co-co. ask how they helped the school or community. i dont want no "can study but cannot work with ppl" kinda scholars for the s/ship.
then, look not only at the gaji of the parents but also how many siblings they have.
*~digressing*~
COZ, this happens a lot to my family, and kesian my dad.
he's the sole provider (my mum doesnt work), and we nvr could get SPBT or whatever bntuan thingy schools give out coz they look at my dads salary and say,"oh..this guy gaji more than 1500 ringgit. of coz no need bantuan."
but what they didnt take into consideration is the number of children he has, or supporting. i have 7 siblings, and all are in school. 3 in uni, 4 studying in skool. and we all know how riduculosly expensive school n uni can be. yuran this la, dat la etc.
Aik! I thought in the SPBT borang they ask for no. of siblings you have. As far as I am concerned, the borang SPBT is something like this:
If total gaji < RM 700, 0 anak tidak layak for SPBT
" " " RM 700 < x < RM 900, 1 anak tidak layak for SPBT
" " " RM 900 < x < RM 1100, 2 anak tidak layak for SPBT
and the list goes on... Something like that. So, budakkerek should get SPBT... hmmph... funny..
And about the scholarship giving thing...
Can I choose based on looks?
[Rupa budak ni menyampah betullah... xmau kasi dia skolarship]
if I could grant scholarships to the students, here's the criteria:
1)3 to 5 essays - Describe themselves and their motivation, picture themselves in 5, 10, 20 years, write a conscise proposal of what they want to do in college, and some hypothetical questions to understand their unconscious mind.
2)Personality and Psychology Test - To see where the applicants strengths and weakness; whether they're fit to do what they claim in their essays. The applicants would have to pay for the cost of the test.
3) Panel and Board Interview - In 1st round during panel interview, the interviewers will interview 10 applicants at the same time. The applicants will need to show what they got in average 5 to seven minutes per person. The question would be mostly open ended and indirect. The environment would be casual where the interviewers can be seen as one of them. But the applicants have to bear in mind it's still an interview and whatever they say and do would count towards the consideration.
And if they're selected to second round, they will be having a board interview. Here, each applicant will have to face five to seven interviewers in a half and hour to an hour sessions. The question would varies from close ended, open ended, hypothetical, leading questions, direct, indirect, etc; whatever it takes to get the most from the applicants. The interview would be formal with clear separation between the interviewers and the applicants.
The scholarship would be given to those applicants who prove they got what it takes. They don't have to have straight a's to get the scholarship. They just need visions, and the ability to make it true. The scholarship doesn't limit the applicants to apply to certain field of study. Even a hair design certificate can be accepted, if the applicant can show why they want to do it, and how is it gonna benefit the company, society and the applicant him/herself, also does he/she is fit to do it.
family financial's standing will not come to consideration. even if the person come from the most wealthiest family, he/she can still get the scholarship. I prefer sponsoring some rich kid who know and passionate about what they want and really up for the challenge, than sponsoring some underprivileged student with straight a's but has no clear vision of what they want and choose a field of study based on popularity/market and don't really have passion for that.
trojan209
14-06-2005, 03:52 AM
you have Sharingan right? mind game? :P
yeah right...if i ever use it to my applicants, it would be just hatake kakashi ever pass the test. i wonder who the lucky one to become kakashi-san....the standard is too high....hehehe
14-06-2005, 03:56 AM
@<hidden> T
wah...
do you think you and your co-workers have the time and money to do such a detailed interview?
Honestly, IMO, I think many private college students will be qualified for the scholarship if your criteria is used . I was in INTEC and INTI College before.
@<hidden> T
wah...
do you think you and your co-workers have the time and money to do such a detailed interview?
Honestly, IMO, I think many private college students will be qualified for the scholarship if your criteria is used . I was in INTEC and INTI College before.
Only a few would be selected after the essays and the tests.
Let say something like 50 students would go for the panel interview. So, there's only 5 panel/casual interviews.
And after that, only 15 would go for the final interview. And out of 15, only 5 would be selected. Actually, it depends. Sometimes there might be no students granted the scholarship though they already go through the whole process. They just don't have what it takes.
This would be fun if I can really do this.
chocomaniac
08-11-2009, 01:20 PM
Role playing :
Let's say...
There is a problem.
Here is another problem.
I am sure there would be some who are willing to try out anything. Pick those kind of people lo...even though they dun really have good result. It's the spirit that I want.