View Full Version : Medicine,Dentistry and Pharmacy In Indonesia

seancl85
14-06-2005, 04:23 PM
Since i have read a few threads....it seems that they are a lot of ppl thinking whether to choose indonesia to do med,dentistry and pharmacy...of course,if u compared to the whole world...indonesia MIGHT NOT be as good as uk,us or australia...but heard few indonesia universities are very good..some even better than malaysia and asia universities..And this few months i saw a lot of advertisements in TheStar,agencies advertising students after stpm,sat and etc to apply..
and also to enter certain indonesia universities,one need to sit for entrance test...and it is not easy...
Here are some universities in indonesia..
* Airlangga University, Surabaya, East Java
* University Padjajaran,Bandung
* Bandung Institute of Technology (ITB), Bandung, West Java
* Bina Nusantara University, Jakarta
* Bogor Agricultural University (IPB), Bogor, West Java
* Bina Sarana Informatika
* Open Learning University (UT)
* Parahyangan Catholic University (UNPAR), Bandung, West Java
* Pelita Harapan University, Jakarta
* Sekolah Tinggi Teknik Surabaya (STTS)
* STMIK Budi Luhur, Jakarta
* Sepuluh Nopember Institute of Technology (ITS), Surabaya, East Java
* Tarumanagara University
* Trisakti University
* Gunadarma University, Jakarta
* University Of Indonesia, Jakarta
* Universitas Kristen Satya Wacana
* Tanjungpura University
* Indonesia Post-Graduate Studies University
* Diponegoro University, Semarang, Central Java
* Gajah Mada University, Yogyakarta
* Hasanuddin University, Ujung Pandang
* IKIP Bandung (Institute Of Teacher Training And Education)
* IKIP Jakarta (Institute Of Teacher Training And Education)
* IKIP Malang (Institute Of Teacher Training And Education)
* Univesitas Sumatera Utara, Medan, North Sumatra
* Pascasarjana UI (www.pps.ui.ac.id) (www.pps.ui.ac.id)
* Polytechnic major at Surabaya Institute of Technology (ITS)
* Achmad Dahlan University
* Sekolah Tinggi Teknik Surabaya
* Sekolah Tinggi Manajemen Informatika & Teknik Komputer Surabaya
* Tujuh Belas Agustus University
* Petra Christ University
* Syariah Banking Institute
* Muhammadiyah University, Malang
* Brawijaya University
* Institute of Technology Sepuluh Nopember, Surabaya
* STIKMA
* STIKI
* Surabaya University
* Bung Hatta University
* Duta Wacana Christ University
* Syiah Kuala University, Aceh
* North Sumatera University
* Merdeka University, Malang
* Sekolah Tinggi Ilmu Ekonomi Perbanas
* Parahyangan University
* Hangtuah University, Surabaya
* Sam Ratulangi University
* Muhammadiyah University, Surakarta
* Institut Agama Islam Negeri Sunan Ampel
* STMIK BUDI LUHUR
* Widya Mandala Christ University
* Maranatha Christ University
* UNISBA
Links can be found here http://www.ri.go.id/univerlink.htm

NOT ALL THE UNIVERSITIES UP THERE OFFER MED,DENT,AND PHARM..those universities in bold are those universities that i know offer those courses and recognised in m'sia...i might know the complete list...if i have miss any please tell me..

FEEL FREE TO GIVE SOME COMMENTS

Crazieee
15-06-2005, 12:45 PM
izit regconise by other countries?

Crazieee
15-06-2005, 12:46 PM
izit regconise by other countries?

seancl85
15-06-2005, 02:01 PM
some universities yes...but not all....it depends on what course u got...so what course u get...craziee...n which uni?

seancl85
15-06-2005, 02:03 PM
so far,i heard if u want to know which uni is world-wide recognised...u have to c whether they provide international programme...or in other words...whether the accept foreign students or not

15-06-2005, 07:58 PM
ok tz...i got the jpa scho for dentistry..in indo..but we still hv to struggle to go to the best uni rite?r u studying there??is there ok?

15-06-2005, 08:01 PM
Is it safe to study in Indonesia? I've heard a lot about how dangerous for Chinese to study there.....I know it's not in every part of Indonesia, but still..... Anyone else studying in Indonesia at the moment?

seancl85
15-06-2005, 08:48 PM
i am not studying there...but i might..hehe...just taken an entrance test for ugm....n about 200+ appyling for medicine....n about 200+ appyling for pharmacy...i opt for pharmacy...but i think there's a big chance cant get thru..coz the entrance test is very hard...n time given was very limited...they say only offer 50 places for medicine and 20 places for pharmacy for the international programme in ugm,this year...students from germany,cambodia,thailand n etc also applying for that...so the fight is even worse to get into that university....that's why certain universities like ugm is very recognised world widely...concerning safe or not?..i am not really sure...but i think should be safe...many chinese go there to take med and pharm...but majority 60% are malays and indians...now it is no the matter safe for any religion...but scared of bencana alam only..haha...by the way,study anywhere also no very safe...especially we are not their natives....like russia,ukraine ,japan n etc...coz they see your skin...

15-06-2005, 09:22 PM
i am not studying there...but i might..hehe...just taken an entrance test for ugm....n about 200+ appyling for medicine....n about 200+ appyling for pharmacy...i opt for pharmacy...but i think there's a big chance cant get thru..coz the entrance test is very hard...n time given was very limited...they say only offer 50 places for medicine and 20 places for pharmacy for the international programme in ugm,this year...students from germany,cambodia,thailand n etc also applying for that...so the fight is even worse to get into that university....that's why certain universities like ugm is very recognised world widely...concerning safe or not?..i am not really sure...but i think should be safe...many chinese go there to take med and pharm...but majority 60% are malays and indians...now it is no the matter safe for any religion...but scared of bencana alam only..haha...by the way,study anywhere also no very safe...especially we are not their natives....like russia,ukraine ,japan n etc...coz they see your skin...

Nolar...but I heard about how the natives treat Chinese people...... Dont know how true the news are... Of course, racism is an issue in every countries....it's inevitable.

masdie
16-06-2005, 12:39 AM
that's why certain universities like ugm is very recognised world widely

how do you define worldwide recognition? malaysia recognises a lot of med school around the world. but a question, can you go for post-grad education say in uk or us or australia or singapore with a degree from indonesia? because i'm quite sure you might have to sit for qualifying exams ie: plab in uk, usmle in us. if your definition of worldwide recognition is being eligible to sit for these qualifying tests then it's not very useful right? don't fire me. i'm questioning, not interrogating.

Crazieee
16-06-2005, 02:19 PM
:oops: SORRY i want to ask some stupid questions....wat is UGM ?izit university gajah muda??where izit located?erm can JPA scholars study in this uni??Oh ya i heard sum 1 said University Padjajaran,Bandung is a good uni(for dentistry)..coz the class is conducted in english...Plus it is situated in a rural area (i mean not in jakarta but sumwhere in jawa)But is UGM dentistry conducted in eng????so scared to study in bhs indo..."sigh" is the entry test in eng....
N there is sumthing i dun understand...jpa provides us 1 year foundation programme in ktupm shah alam then 6 years in indo...But i have a friend who went to indo for med straight away after spm n he will be studying for 6 years too...HOw come ??dat means the foundation programme is not necessary??huh!N if not mistaken sum jpa scholars do their a level in kolej teknologi timur for 2 years before further their study in indonesia...y they are doing a level n im just doing 1 year foundation for it???maybe its different programme or wat..?
sorry maybe i sound annoying!but kindly seek for help help =)!thank you ...

Crazieee
16-06-2005, 02:27 PM
:oops: SORRY i want to ask some stupid questions....wat is UGM ?izit university gajah muda??where izit located?erm can JPA scholars study in this uni??Oh ya i heard sum 1 said University Padjajaran,Bandung is a good uni(for dentistry)..coz the class is conducted in english...Plus it is situated in a rural area (i mean not in jakarta but sumwhere in jawa)But is UGM dentistry conducted in eng????so scared to study in bhs indo..."sigh" is the entry test in eng....
N there is sumthing i dun understand...jpa provides us 1 year foundation programme in ktupm shah alam then 6 years in indo...But i have a friend who went to indo for med straight away after spm n he will be studying for 6 years too...HOw come ??dat means the foundation programme is not necessary??huh!N if not mistaken sum jpa scholars do their a level in kolej teknologi timur for 2 years before further their study in indonesia...y they are doing a level n im just doing 1 year foundation for it???maybe its different programme or wat..?
sorry maybe i sound annoying!but kindly seek for help help =)!thank you ...

flibbertigibbet
16-06-2005, 02:39 PM
....wat is UGM ?izit university gajah muda??where izit located?...

Yes. UGM = Gajah Mada University (In Indon, it's called Universitas Gadjah Mada). As stated by seancl85, it is located in Yogyakarta.

Just click the link provided by seancl85 to check out more on the universities. Or click here (http://www.ugm.ac.id/index.php?page=frontpage) to link yourself to UGM's website straightaway.

Crazieee
16-06-2005, 02:55 PM
May i know is the dentistry class conducted in eng???It is not stated there in the website

16-06-2005, 03:18 PM
i think the dentistry class in ugm will be conducted in english...but for pharmacy...half bahasa indonesia which is almost like bm and half in english...

seancl85
16-06-2005, 03:25 PM
referring to Crazieee questions...
1stly,not all universities in indonesia provide 5 years med/dentistry programme
so far..heard UGM provide 5 years for med/dentistry programme...
but there are few universities like university padjadjaran,university sumatera utara ,university udayana bali,university airlangga..all also provide 6 years programme for med/den...
so if u want to safe time....choose ugm as ur 1st choice..haha

Then,concerning ur friend did a med course there with 6 years after spm is because....some universities do offer pre-med programmes...so after they passed the test with a certain pointer...then only they are accepted into that uni...if they cant then,they have to retake..

seancl85
16-06-2005, 03:33 PM
that's why certain universities like ugm is very recognised world widely

how do you define worldwide recognition? malaysia recognises a lot of med school around the world. but a question, can you go for post-grad education say in uk or us or australia or singapore with a degree from indonesia? because i'm quite sure you might have to sit for qualifying exams ie: plab in uk, usmle in us. if your definition of worldwide recognition is being eligible to sit for these qualifying tests then it's not very useful right? don't fire me. i'm questioning, not interrogating.

oh....haha..1stly i have said earlier...feel free to give comment...so i wont fire u...
em..yeah...i actually agreed to u..saying
but a question, can you go for post-grad education say in uk or us or australia or singapore with a degree from indonesia?
but i am pretty sure if our family background is not that rich...+ not getting a place in local uni + didnt get a jpa scholarship + aim to be a doctor,dentist or pharmacist ...then actually some ppl have no choice to choose indonesia,russia or ukraine...i am not trying to say indonesia is the best nor promoting indonesia...well,i am still a malaysian too...but do u think izzit the same if u study medicine in malaysia or indonesia....do u think there's a big difference?..i would suggest if u have money...it's better 2 do medicine in IMU than UM,UKM or UMS,rite?..coz IMU has twinning programme to foreign universities in UK,Aust n etc

masdie
16-06-2005, 05:47 PM
first of all, thank you for not firing me and for being understanding.

i am pretty sure if our family background is not that rich...+ not getting a place in local uni + didnt get a jpa scholarship + aim to be a doctor,dentist or pharmacist ...then actually some ppl have no choice to choose indonesia,russia or ukraine...

yup, you've probably summed up a lot of things.

but do u think izzit the same if u study medicine in malaysia or indonesia....do u think there's a big difference?

in terms of teaching, i'm not sure because i'm not familiar with indonesian med schools. in term of books, the students themselves can buy their own books. but in term of facilities and exposure? will it be similar? i think indonesia will be a bit poor compared to m'sia. there's difference. but i think to become a doctor, you'll have to be hardworking. maybe you don't see much during med school, many still don't know much even after graduating, so i guess a little bit more of hardwork during internship will help.

i would suggest if u have money...it's better 2 do medicine in IMU than UM,UKM or UMS,rite?..coz IMU has twinning programme to foreign universities in UK,Aust n etc

nope, i would rather go to local univs. twinning degrees are not recognised outside m'sia. although degrees from imu and some other private med schools are recognised for purposes of sitting for qualifying exams overseas.

seancl85
16-06-2005, 07:04 PM
haha...oh tnkx for ur infomation masdie..didnt know that some of the twinning programme in imu is might not be recognised...
anyway,what are u doing now masdie...are u studying medicine?..n where re u from?[/b]

salina
17-06-2005, 04:19 PM
but i might..hehe...just taken an entrance test for ugm....n about 200+ appyling for medicine.....

hi. im 18 n i took my SPm last year. my plan was to do pre-u in csmu, ukraine. since it is deregonised, i have to think of other options. where r u exactly studyin? r there any race discrimination issues there? please answer ASAP? thank u.

cooldog
17-06-2005, 05:04 PM
although degrees from imu and some other private med schools are recognised for purposes of sitting for qualifying exams overseas.

H'm, would you like to explain a bit on that. I don't really get what you are trying to say. What do you mean by saying that the degree is recognised for purposes of sitting for qualifying exams overseas. What exam are you talking about? PLAB? USMLE?

17-06-2005, 05:33 PM
although degrees from imu and some other private med schools are recognised for purposes of sitting for qualifying exams overseas.

H'm, would you like to explain a bit on that. I don't really get what you are trying to say. What do you mean by saying that the degree is recognised for purposes of sitting for qualifying exams overseas. What exam are you talking about? PLAB? USMLE?

i think masdie meant that graduates from imu and some other private med schools are eligible to sit for plab, usmle and others as one of the requirements for taking these exams is a primary medical qualification from univ listed in the WHO Directory of Medical Schools (http://www.who.int/hrh/wdms/en/)

Steppe
17-06-2005, 10:21 PM
Let say, if an IMU student is doing medical twinning with UK and does the 3 years clinical in UK, is the student allowed to stay back to do internship in UK? In this case, the degree is awarded by the UK Uni, is this not the same as that of an UK medical graduate?

seancl85
17-06-2005, 10:34 PM
but i might..hehe...just taken an entrance test for ugm....n about 200+ appyling for medicine.....

hi. im 18 n i took my SPm last year. my plan was to do pre-u in csmu, ukraine. since it is deregonised, i have to think of other options. where r u exactly studyin? r there any race discrimination issues there? please answer ASAP? thank u.

(1stly,i am not studying in indonesia yet...still thinking)
sorry i might a bit late to reply u this...these few days i just search some info about indon unis and russia+ukraine unis...since most of the unis in russia and ukraine are not recognised in malaysia...indon unis might probably ur last choice..dont look down on indonesia..yeah,generally we might say indonesia is a poor country...but if u really want to compared to india..indonesia is not really that poor...indonesia might be poor but some places like jakarta,bali,bandung,yogjakarta etc...they are just like malaysia kl,ipoh,jb and etc...so in terms of culture shock,it is not that much...and safe or not?...some of my friends studying there told me we must be 'obedient' hehe.....coz we are actually in other ppl's country...so we must show some 'respect' to them...as i have said earlier,big town like jakarta,bandung,yogjakarta,medan are 90% safe....but if u go to rural places...no guarantee..
em..if u want to pursue pre-medic..they are lots of places..to do that...
i heard there's this universitas sumatera utara..is setting a twinning programme with malaysia..3 years in USU...and 3 years somewhere in Penang..they do offer pre-medic course + diploma in pharmacy...
but so far...the best med,dent,pharm universities in indonesia are university indonesia,university gajah mada,university padjajaran,universirty diponegoro,university air langga and a few more that i have forgotten..
but the oldest and biggest university in indonesia is UGM...
ranked top 100 universities in ASIA...(UI,UAL also ranked top 100 universities in ASIA...)
UGM does offer pre-medic..but heard their pre-medic course is alraedy full on the 1st day of the application date...(true or not..i am not really sure..heard from ppl)
hope this will help u....SALINA

salina
19-06-2005, 05:57 PM
hope this will help u....SALINA

thank u so much 4 ur long reply.

seancl85
19-06-2005, 07:18 PM
so are u thinking to study there..or go other places..

seancl85
19-06-2005, 07:18 PM

selvi
10-07-2005, 02:46 PM

im already at jatinagor, bandung doin my pre-u in padjadjaran. wat r u doin now?

nicolegigi
14-08-2005, 06:00 PM
http://www.who.int/hrh/wdms/media/Indonesia.pdf

i go to check there!!!
however i get to know that the language of instruction there is indonesia including the padjajaran university n gajah madda!!!!

can anybody explain to me ...pls???

masdie
22-10-2005, 08:04 PM
Let say, if an IMU student is doing medical twinning with UK and does the 3 years clinical in UK, is the student allowed to stay back to do internship in UK? In this case, the degree is awarded by the UK Uni, is this not the same as that of an UK medical graduate?

Hi. I have to apologise twice today. First, sorry for not responding to your message. Secondly, the part where I said twinning degrees are not recognised outside of M'sia is not appropriate, as in I'm wrong. Hence the second sorry. I am told 2 versions of stories regarding IMU degrees. First, IMU degrees have a stamp stating that the degree is only valid in M'sia. Second, the degree is actually confered by the partner medical school which means it is the same degree issued to other non-twinning graduates. I'll need someone to clarify on this.

In your case Steppe, you will be able to stay back for your internship.

I got my facts messed up. Sorry for the confusion.

ps: erm...I'm actually not a medical student.

masdie
22-10-2005, 08:13 PM
http://www.who.int/hrh/wdms/media/Indonesia.pdf

i go to check there!!!
however i get to know that the language of instruction there is indonesia including the padjajaran university n gajah madda!!!!

can anybody explain to me ...pls???

I cannot tell you for sure which language they use. But you should know that that list will not be updated unless the med school provides updates. So to be sure, it's wise to contact the university directly.

alamanda_star
20-02-2006, 04:30 PM
can anyone tell about the twinning programme between UI and one university in australia? is it true that we can go to australia in the first year? is it good? which is better UGM or UI? can anyone state the pros and cons about this unis? i try to google.. but i find nothing... maybe i'm not at google... thanks in advance

charlz_yen
24-05-2007, 03:39 AM
ok .. regarding the twinning programme... UI is twinning with Melbourne University. you will be doing it 1st, 2nd and 3rd year in UI .... then 4th year in Melbourne... 5th and final year back in UI again... yes ... itz ranked the highest in indonesia...