View Full Version : stop recognizing CSMU=stop Indians from becoming doctor

pringles
19-06-2005, 08:39 AM
I have just read New Sunday Times(19 June) this morning and I am outraged for the allegation made by Datuk Seri S.Samy Vellu. He accused MMC of trying to stop Indians from becoming doctor by stop recognizing CSMU medical degree.

Samy Vellu said that he will raise this issue in Cabinet and even personally to PM. Then, so what? Is our government going to overturn MMC decision? Is a bunch of politicians going to overule professionals evaluation and decision?

If this really happen, it would be disastorous. The same thing may happen to other professional board like accountants, engineers, architectures and etc.

bush
19-06-2005, 09:53 AM
I have just read New Sunday Times(19 June) this morning and I am outraged for the allegation made by Datuk Seri S.Samy Vellu. He accused MMC of trying to stop Indians from becoming doctor by stop recognizing CSMU medical degree.

Samy Vellu said that he will raise this issue in Cabinet and even personally to PM. Then, so what? Is our government going to overturn MMC decision? Is a bunch of politicians going to overule professionals evaluation and decision?

If this really happen, it would be disastorous. The same thing may happen to other professional board like accountants, engineers, architectures and etc.

Indians?....why indians only?........semi value is going nuts.........talking too much of rubbish these days

19-06-2005, 07:36 PM
Samy is true. Poor Indians. I hope samy can do something to solve this matter.

masdie
19-06-2005, 09:35 PM
malaysia will never change. NEVER!!!

terence gomez forced to resign from um -> case brought up in the media -> case settled

jpa didn't offer scholarships to 'elite' students -> case brought up in the media and helped by mca -> case settled

csmu derecognized -> case brought up in the media and samy vellu criticised the mmc -> ??

so again it proves that the media controls virtually every decision. now i guess it depends on how powerful samy vellu is. he can either overturn the derecognition or he'll be slapped for intervening.

even if mmc is trying to reduce the number or indian doctors, they will never say so. they'll stick to the 3 already good reasons they gave. this'll be a tough fight but this is malaysia, anything can happen.

23-06-2005, 11:31 AM
This is a major plan by the goverment to stop indians from doing medicine i suppose.

FIRST>> They stopped sending JPA students to russia starting from this year onwards.

SECOND>>MMC derecognised CSMU.

THIRD>> Yesterday JPA said they wud not offer anymore loans for private students who wants to study medicine in Russia and Ukraine.(eventually other financial institution will do the same and more difficult to get loans) Then, more students will be going to Russia as Crimea is derecognised.Then the number of students will increase RAPIDLY and MMC woulg use the same reason(no of students:teacher ratio) to derecognise medical universities in Russia oso (as many of them are Indians)

MMC gave reason that CSMU graduates are weak in English and could master the medical term and jargons. Lets give a peek at our local doctors who graduated from university like Universiti Islam Antarabangsa.Are they really gud in English and very gud in their work? Ask the patients and u will knowand surely most of them are not very good at it.

Randomphantom
23-06-2005, 04:21 PM
Now that Sothinathan has been suspended over this issue, it looks more and more like something that arised out of racial prejudices rather than a judgment made with professionalism.

masdie
23-06-2005, 11:33 PM
I have a feeling CSMU won't be re-recognized in the nearest period. Otherwise, MMC will look like a total idiot.

masdie
24-06-2005, 12:02 AM
Petikan dari http://www.parlimen.gov.my/Hansard/2005/DR-21062005.pdf

"...........Kedua Ketua Pengarah Dr. Mohd Ismail Marichan ada berkata bahawa CSMU
dengan izin, lowered it?s entry standard to such and extent, that it was accepting art
stream dropouts and academically poor science streams student.........."

Was it a typo? This piece of article has a lot of grammatical and spelling mistakes. It's either our politicians forgot their grammer after SPM or the one typing forgot his grammer after SPM.

anniyan
28-06-2005, 08:11 PM
next time give opposition a chance....the one with the rocket thing....then only Malaysia will change....maybe more like singapore.....

lolilo
29-06-2005, 01:14 PM
My Friends are stranded there after doing only 3 months of pre-med. Why MMC so kejam, at least give la 2 years duration. blahhhhh !!!

:(

equivocated
30-06-2005, 07:12 PM
it doesn't stop there.

How many indian scholars were selected to do medicine by JPA?

One can't expect the non-indians to feel the outrage in the derecognition of CSMU.

Aside from that, they introduced the meritocracy system. APPARENTLY, matriculation and STPM are have equal merits and accreditation into local unis.

It was already tough for Indians to make it to a local uni for medicine, one had to be outstanding. And then the terms of competition increased with the removal of the quota system and the introduction of the screwed up meritocracy system.

One wouldn't really understand the frustration felt if one were non-indian.

18-07-2005, 12:55 AM
How many indian scholars were selected to do medicine by JPA?

How many? Percentage as well plz

bakera
07-02-2006, 01:40 PM
And then the terms of competition increased with the removal of the quota system and the introduction of the screwed up meritocracy system.

Hey ppl... I am new here. I was just browsing through the topics above and came across this post. Can anyone please tell me more about this Meritocracy system? What has happened to the quota system? And how does this Meritocracy system affect us,the non-bumi's? It already is extremely difficult to get into a local uni.

Hope someone can please shade some light on this topic to me.

Thanks ppl.

scarlett
16-12-2006, 08:52 PM
Hi ppl. I joined Recom this year, so Im kinda new to Recom. However, the topic above?? I dont think I am new to it. I guess this is a harsh reality everyone have to face... I have experienced it , I know how it feels. :evil: I can just say this, Indians are recognised around the world to be experts in this field (Heck, Im not even an Indian ) , and whatever done by certain ppl to prevent this, nothing will stop them future docs to pursue their dreams.

So why even try? Dont prevent humans from pursuing their dreams. Its a direct violation of human rights.