View Full Version : Driving With Handfree Mobile Phone Is Still Dangerous?
23-06-2005, 10:22 PM
I came across this article in Reuter Science a few minutes ago:
(handfree) Cellphone takes up driver attention, study finds (http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=scienceNews&storyID=8855020&src=rss/scienceNews)
I can't help but to think... if using handfree device would still divide our attention, in the future, when we ban drivers from using handfree device, will talking be forbidden in the car as well? Because using handfree mobile phone isn't any different from talking with your children or lover in the car.
aftershox
23-06-2005, 10:32 PM
youngyew wrote
if using handfree device would still divide our attention, in the future, when we ban drivers from using handfree device, will talking be forbidden in the car as well? Because using handfree mobile phone isn't any different from talking with your children or lover in the car.
you've got a point there.. but this research was based on the auditary and visual functions of the body trying to recognize two same things which are numbers..,
maybe thats why the volunteers for the test had experieced diffculty in recollecting what they saw on the screen...
however even while using a handsfree set some ppl tend to hold their handphone in one hand and control the steering with the other ..so maybe this does not help their driving either,....
just my 2 cents
23-06-2005, 10:48 PM
I think no handfree means no contact with the mobile phone whatsoever. If you hold the mobile phone while using handfree equipment, it doesn't constitute "using handfree".
aftershox
23-06-2005, 11:03 PM
true but those who do actually hold their phone while having the earpiece in their ears are under the assumption that they're using hands free sets..
i think bluetooth wireless handsfree sets are a better option than those with wires but not all hp's have bluetooth
masdie
24-06-2005, 01:28 AM
I hope those scientists will prove that cellphones cause radiation injury, tumour growth and sterility as soon as possible. Come up with something so that the public will be scared to use cellphones. Another problem solved.
24-06-2005, 02:48 AM
I hope those scientists will prove that cellphones cause radiation injury, tumour growth and sterility as soon as possible. Come up with something so that the public will be scared to use cellphones. Another problem solved.
that's not a good way to solve a problem rite??
even if it does, they will have newer cellphones with less or no dangerous radiation, which consumers will definitely use, because cellphone is more than convenience in today's life... it's more like a necessity...
when something is of such important, people will live with it... just like how road accidents kill thousands every year... we aren't going to ban the use of cars... public aren't afraid of driving...
24-06-2005, 04:00 AM
drive slowly... that will cure...
Randomphantom
24-06-2005, 10:14 PM
I think the real killer here is the reflexes of the driver. Certain people just aren't good at multitasking and they get easily diverted, be it by a cellphone ringing, a pesky kid at the back, or a pretty passerby on the street.
I'd suggest then that all future driving exams will incorporate a test of reflexes involving answering to a handsfree, juggling a cellphone in hand while making a 3 point turn.
24-06-2005, 10:45 PM
Do you mean that if the candidate fails the reflex test, he or she should not be awarded a driving license?
day-dreamer
25-06-2005, 12:01 AM
Driving while talking on the phone using a handfree device is dangerous? You must be kidding!! What is the rationale behind it anyway? Like someone just mentioned, it is no different from talking to your partner inside the car.
I wonder what those people consider as "safe" if chatting on a handfree device while driving... Don't answer the phone call? What if it is an emergency or what if you still have a long way to go before you stop?
It doesn't really pose any danger, does it? Unless the driver is too engaged in his/her conversation, I do not see any harm.
25-06-2005, 01:02 AM
I do not use cellphone because my ear got burn everytime I use it.
25-06-2005, 02:55 AM
Driving while talking on the phone using a handfree device is dangerous? You must be kidding!! What is the rationale behind it anyway? Like someone just mentioned, it is no different from talking to your partner inside the car.
I wonder what those people consider as "safe" if chatting on a handfree device while driving... Don't answer the phone call? What if it is an emergency or what if you still have a long way to go before you stop?
It doesn't really pose any danger, does it? Unless the driver is too engaged in his/her conversation, I do not see any harm.
i think driving while talking on the phone using a handfree device only(if one uses it correctly) only enables the driver to have both hands free to control the steering wheel and all... it doesn't mean that one will be focused on driving... and i think that's the point... not everybody can multitask...
and fair enough, by using the handfree device, "it is no different from talking to your partner inside the car." But, I thought it's not advisable to engage the driver in any conversation...
And about answering the phone call... you can always stop at the side of the road(legally) of course to answer the call, or to make any important calls before continuing ur journey...
Steppe
25-06-2005, 06:54 AM
My dad always use the speaker hand phone. Maybe, this is like talking to someone in the car - take time to think what the other person has said and then replied at own pace.
day-dreamer
25-06-2005, 09:05 PM
and fair enough, by using the handfree device, "it is no different from talking to your partner inside the car." But, I thought it's not advisable to engage the driver in any conversation...
For short distance travels, it might, as DecentMerson said, be not advisable to engage a driver in any conversation. But have you ever thought about long-distance travelling?
My family and I often had to go through not less than 3 hours in the car before reaching our destination every festive season or family celebrations. Worst, during Chinese New Year, we have to spend at least 6 hours in the car (minus the customary traffic jam at Seremban and meals) to join our relatives in Johor.
Does that mean that everybody has to remain quiet until we arrive safely at our destination? Absolutely not! The six gruelling hours is tiring enough even with occasional conversations going on, what's more if everyone is not to talk just to prevent the driver from diverting his attention on the road! In addition, the driver might just fall asleep due to the quietness and boredom!
Therefore, I think talking to the driver shouldn't be discouraged. To reduce the dangers on roads, as most ReCommers had said, use the handsfree device properly. On top of that, get your partner in car to be on the look out for you, it'll be safer that way.
25-06-2005, 09:24 PM
For short distance travels, it might, as DecentMerson said, be not advisable to engage a driver in any conversation. But have you ever thought about long-distance travelling?
My family and I often had to go through not less than 3 hours in the car before reaching our destination every festive season or family celebrations. Worst, during Chinese New Year, we have to spend at least 6 hours in the car (minus the customary traffic jam at Seremban and meals) to join our relatives in Johor.
Does that mean that everybody has to remain quiet until we arrive safely at our destination? Absolutely not! The six gruelling hours is tiring enough even with occasional conversations going on, what's more if everyone is not to talk just to prevent the driver from diverting his attention on the road! In addition, the driver might just fall asleep due to the quietness and boredom!
Therefore, I think talking to the driver shouldn't be discouraged. To reduce the dangers on roads, as most ReCommers had said, use the handsfree device properly. On top of that, get your partner in car to be on the look out for you, it'll be safer that way.
true... for long distance... it is best to have at least another person to do some light chatting with the driver...
My dad always use the speaker hand phone. Maybe, this is like talking to someone in the car - take time to think what the other person has said and then replied at own pace.
u mean using the speaker handphone for all calls? well, u can't really do this everywhere... and sometimes, u might not want to let others overhearing ur conversation...
day-dreamer
25-06-2005, 10:32 PM
true... for long distance... it is best to have at least another person to do some light chatting with the driver...
Ah... that's better! Besides keeping the driver awake, the passenger can always be on the lookout for the driver, pass him/her stuff like tissue or drinks and (if u're in a new town) read the signboards or identify some landmarks on a map or something.
u mean using the speaker handphone for all calls? well, u can't really do this everywhere... and sometimes, u might not want to let others overhearing ur conversation...
I agree with you regarding this. Besides not having the privacy, conversations made using the speakerphone function is not as clear either...
crosshatched
26-06-2005, 08:54 AM
true but those who do actually hold their phone while having the earpiece in their ears are under the assumption that they're using hands free sets..
i think bluetooth wireless handsfree sets are a better option than those with wires but not all hp's have bluetooth
definitely this one. must have.
but then again anybody here had ever read news about cellphone is the cause of road accidents in Malaysia? If there is, my apologize for my ingnorance. :arrow:
MothBall
24-01-2006, 11:05 PM
Don't even start about handfree cell phones. I think most of the drivers nowadays just use one hand to hold the phone, another to hold the steering. Open your eyes, you can see it everywhere, bus drivers, van drivers, cars, everywhere. It's dangerous man.
We don't really see cellphone as direct cause of accidents. But it certainly takes away the drivers' attention and a portion of their dexterity in steering. Maybe some of the cases where drivers lost ctrl of their vehicles for no apparent reasons can be attributed to the use of cell phone when driving. We'll nv know....
Vasily
26-01-2006, 06:44 PM
It is evident that banning the use of cell phones whilst driving is aimed at preventing potential road acidents due to distractions.
However, there is a limit as to how far legislation could ban these distractions. For example, could we ban having conversations in the car and/or listening to the radio/music and/or having the hotie in the next car to quit winking at you 8)
Other than the fact that it could be difficult to enforce such bans, it may be counter-productive. For example, we could have every road user drive at 10km/j and where would we be?
Being on the road for most of the time, driving with a handfree is a must for me. Though I hate to admit it, at times I will get dissattracted by it. Not accident though, but missing the intended turning junctions or location.
This is because I would be focusing on the road (and the car infront of me, incase of sudden break) and conversing with the client via the mobile.
Therefore, I do certainly agree that there are still possibility of getting into an accident while driving and talking. In fact, some driver tend to turn their head and talk to the passenger.
From my experience, it's best to find a good spot to stop your car and talk (not in the event of traffic jam lah).