View Full Version : AUSMAT in INTEC

qtezt_gurlz
24-06-2005, 11:01 AM
i juz wondering how izzit life for AUSMAT program in INTEC ??...any seniors here from INTEC ??...i hope u can share ur experience here wif us.....AUSMAT quiet tough huh ??...some seniors said they din sleep until 5.30 in the morning..huhu !!....sound scary ... and i oso heard that mostly ppl who cannot go to oversea came from AUSMAT program....b'coz the pointer needed to apply for the university in Australia very high.....pleaseeee share wif us ....

hercules
24-06-2005, 12:35 PM
there was one malay bombarded our seniors so many questions when the briefing was being conducted, was that you?

chongstk
24-06-2005, 01:00 PM
Hey hercules, I'm Chong Wee. I think you know me, don't you? :)

Yeah, what the seniors have told really freaked me out. Is AUSMAT programme really that tough? If yes, can anyone tell me it is tough in what way? Cannot sleep until 5 in the morning is extremely scray you know... Let alone doing housechores and washing our own clothes :cry:

I also wonder what we are going to do in this six-month time.

hercules
24-06-2005, 01:05 PM
My name is teng jing kai. Chongtk, You will be doing architecture in australia,right? you scored 12A1s,right?i am so lonely now, everyone has gone back except me.

chongstk
24-06-2005, 01:15 PM
My name is teng jing kai. Chongtk, You will be doing architecture in australia,right? you scored 12A1s,right?i am so lonely now, everyone has gone back except me.

Yupz you are right :D

Why are you staying in hostel? You should go back like us.

24-06-2005, 02:20 PM
Hello, welcome to AUSMAT 17 in INTEC, juniors!

I am your senior from AUSMAT 15, and am now doing medicine in the University of Melbourne. It seems that it has been a tradition for seniors to scare juniors about the perils of AUSMAT programmes in the orientation programme, years after years... :p

For your information, I have already written two posts in ReCom about life in AUSMAT. Some are general and some are more specific about application for medicine in Australia.

Links:
General Description (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=58458#58458)
Workload in AUSMAT (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=61133#61133)

Read them, and feel free to ask any follow-up questions here!

qtezt_gurlz
24-06-2005, 02:55 PM
there was one malay bombarded our seniors so many questions when the briefing was being conducted, was that you?

Briefing huh ?? when ?? i din go la i think coz i din know there's a briefing for AUSMAT... ( one of the complains : not organized...jgn marah ar seniors ...peace !!....)

Tell me wat the briefing is all about ??...duh !! how come i din know...??

qtezt_gurlz
24-06-2005, 03:04 PM

I am your senior from AUSMAT 15, and am now doing medicine in the University of Melbourne. It seems that it has been a tradition for seniors to scare juniors about the perils of AUSMAT programmes in the orientation programme, years after years... :p

For your information, I have already written two posts in ReCom about life in AUSMAT. Some are general and some are more specific about application for medicine in Australia.

Im not taking medicine...im taking actuarial science..so have any idea how izzit gonna be for AUSMAT program ???
TQ...

chongstk
24-06-2005, 04:36 PM
Dear seniors,

Hi! I'm Chong Wee, new to INTEC for AUSMAT programme. I've been hearing complaints from seniors about the heavy workload for AUSMAT students and which really scrares me. Would you mind to tell me what kind of assignments and projects that we need to do? Is it presentation or just some folios? What about the quizes and tests? What is the frequency we have to face with them?

May I know also what subjects that I have to take as preparation for my architecture course? And how does INTEC allocate class for us?

Thanks!!! :D :D :D

so_intellectual
24-06-2005, 05:02 PM
hey, folks! i am youngyew's friend, currently taking actuarial studies in MacQuarie University. Just like Youngyew, I took Ausmat at INTEC before I came here.

I am not sure how things have changed since I left Ausmat, but I will try my best to tell you my experience.

For the subjects, I had to take Mathematical Studies, specialist maths, accounting, economics and ESLS. Basically, these subjects are quite basic, and if youre were from science stream udring yuor seconday education, fret not. Accounting and Economics basically cover only the basic stuff, much like SPM level. So if you took acounting or econs before in SPM you will get the upperhand. But even if you did not, like I said, you will get the hang of it as they are quite simple.
As for specialsit maths, i know it sounds unnverving, but its actually not as hard as it sounds. There are alot of people including myself who find this a little easier than mathematical studies.

Work consistently, and youll be fine. :D

There are only 4 Australian universities that offer actualrial studies, namely, MacQuarie University, Melbourne Uni, UNSW and ANU. Macquarie has the reputation as the best university for actuarial studies in Australia.

To qualify for university, you need to get a TER of 92 and if you get 95, the admission is guaranteed. I do not know whether this is still the same now, but it is very easy for you to just check.

Getting a TER of 92 and above is not ahrd at all. Just do your stuff and you ll be fine. I know it is normal for you to get all scared and anxious at frist, but trust me Ausmat is not hard at all. So take it easy and enjoy. :D

ps : noneed to get freaked out abt the briefing, it's most likely rubbish.

24-06-2005, 05:21 PM
In terms of toughness, I have no experience about AUSMAT, but to start with, I would like to remind all new JPA scholars, that the government are sending you all to top universities abroad. And that means, you are being selected to study at top universities under taxpayers' money. Hence, the high expectation is there.

I would say that while many would say that the life at AUSMAT or any other program at INTEC is tough, I would like to tell you that life abroad would be much tougher, especially if you can get into top universities. Life is not an easy platter given to us, and I really hope that you all would make full use of the opportunities and try your best. Others have done it, and I am sure you guys, as the top students in the country, could do well. There is no reason in complaining, as I am sure you know that there are tons of other Malaysians who really hope to be in your shoes. Furthermore, there are a lot of seniors, be it at INTEC, or over here, to seek help.

Believe in yourself. You are equally qualified as others, and you have to work hard. Having some sleepless nights are normal in universities. I am sure the situation in Australia, is not as bad as those in Ivy League. Every year, I have seen a few students of my university (Cornell University) committed suicide. I am not in support of committing suicide to solve the problem, but I am trying to show the situation that it could be pretty bad. There was one month last year, where there was a suicide case a week for 4 consecutive weeks. Life is tough, but you can do it.

And frankly, when you are in universities, the amount of hours that you spend on doing the same work would differ by a lot. Solving the same programming problem or assignment, might take me 20 hours, but it may take another student 5 hours, or another student 40 hours. It really depends, and you have to strive for the best. I am not writing this to scare you all, but I would urge you all, to try your best, and work hard. Don't waste the golden opportunities given to you.

All the best!

milfeuille
24-06-2005, 05:49 PM
hi guys.. 8)

first of all, congrats for getting the scholarship.. i'm currently in year 12 AUSMAT 16 doing medicine.. erhhhh.. well, i dun have much time to write long, so i'll go straight to the point..

yes, all the things said by the seniors from other programs are crap.. they did that to me too last yr.. so basically, its like their kind of tradition to scare us..my advice... IGNORE THEM~~ (^_^)

truth is, ausmat is a very hectic program.. u hv to know how to manage ur time well.. year 11 is quite easy.. its all about english and maths.. then near the end of the year, u'll have a bit of the other subjects i.e. bio, phys, chem, accnt, econ etc.. blabla..

year 12 is more challenging.. but nothing is impossible.. some of my friends actually scored full marks and also A+ (which is 97.5 and above).. hahhaha.. so no worry.. (right, bunny~~??? hahahaha) if they can do it.. so can other ppl.. ( *bite bunny*)

but on top of all the homework and assignment and quizzes, ausmat is actually kind of fun.. there are great lecturers and not-so-great lecturers, but they are really nice, helpful, can make jokes and blabla yadda yadda.. and we have great activities.. bbq, grand dinner and other things that samsa planned but i probably don't know.. :oops: :D :) :lol:

but then u also have to be hardworking and make sure that you ask questions when you don't understand about it.. dont just keep quiet.. thats not the right way of living in ausmat :D

i'll post some more later.. feeling very tired and sleepy now.. if there's any question, or if you want to buy CHEAP :D year 12 books for next year, you can email me at makotonab [at] hotmail [dot] com or sms me at 0122200172..

Moderator Note: Email changed to [at] form. Please don't display email address in the public, you risk getting spams.

i know, i wrote a lot of crap.. but thats me, i can never be serious when writing forum posts.. 8) :) okie..

dont feel so stressed.. life could be a lot worse.. (^^)

cheers~~

~milfeuille~

deaf-knee
24-06-2005, 07:46 PM
elo.

just wanted to get some advice about choosing bio or specialist math.

help, someone?

lilet
24-06-2005, 09:52 PM
Hi to seniors and juniors!

This is LiLet from AUSMAT 16, fellow classmate of milfeuille bunny up there.. Hehe.. :D After hearing what the juniors are describing, I'm beginning to feel thankful to be under second intake for JPA. At least we didn't have to meet such scary seniors~! However, there is seriously no need to freak out so soon especially when we, the current seniors, seem to be getting along just fine just as our seniors before us did. Don't worry, everything will turn out fine~! That is, if you do your work of course. ^_^

About heavy workload etc for AUSMAT, of course there will be lots of work to be done and things will be hectic especially since the actual studying we are doing is only in the 2nd and 3rd semester ie during Year 12. But then, all programs face this, maybe to a different degree. Bear in mind that the situation will be the same in Australia, so it's really an advantage to get used to the system rather than flunking when you get to Aus/NZ. :wink:

In all, AUSMAT at INTEC can be fun if you maintain your calm, be more open, criticise and complain less as well as remember to take time off after working hard for a long period. Try not to procrastinate though or else you'll end up becoming the mirror image of seniors who sleep at 5am~! :) But like I said, for juniors, there is NO need to worry now as Year 11 will be like a breeze. My advice - play all you want in Year 11 as long as you don't flunk your IELTS and then mug in Year 12~! =)

As for subjects, once again to my fellow juniors, don't worry cause you will be briefed about those things when the time comes to choose subjects which will be around September. For Architecture, if I'm not wrong, Physics is compulsary (other than the non-electives ESLS and Maths Studies). The other 2 subjects is up to you I guess. Do take subjects that interest you, not just because you hear that it is easier to score. :wink: Quizes, assignments, projects etc.. dun worry, they'll come and go~!

Oh yeah. Allocation of classes. In Year 11 you'll be streamed according to your English level from the Placement Test results. It's not that accurate but anyway, try to score higher so that you get into a better class, which indirectly means that you get better English teachers. Not sure how it will be this year, keep your fingers crossed~! The class that you are put in will stay for the whole Year 11, for English and Maths classes. Then, around Sept, when the extra subjects are introduced, you will then have another separate class from English which is for the elective subjects. Your elective class will remain the same in Year 12 however English class will now be ESLS class where students will be separated again according to IELTS score plus the final year exam in Year 11. Take AUSMAT 16 for example. Elective classes start with the word "L" with a number behind eg L1, L2. ESLS (English as Second Language) classes are names of Australian rivers eg Macquarie, Murray. 8)

Okay, I think I've wrote quite a bit. I believe all AUSMAT 16 'seniors' will be happy to answer any questions that our 'freaked out' juniors have. Wish you guys good luck in getting the correct seniors to ask though - those who won't frighten you! =)

Cheers and all the best! :P

24-06-2005, 10:11 PM
Im not taking medicine...im taking actuarial science..so have any idea how izzit gonna be for AUSMAT program ???
TQ...

well, my friends in AUSMAT 15...your super seniors have to work until like no sleep for days to finish up some fo their assighments...but they still have time to go for outings much of the time..

24-06-2005, 10:45 PM
elo.

help, someone?
Hmm... it depends on the kind of person you are. If you are someone who has a knack in maths (e.g. scored something like 90 above in all your tests throughout secondary studies), then just go for specialist maths. It will save you a lot of time from memorising biology facts. However, if you are not so good at maths, then you should avoid specialist maths because it is quite hard if you can't really understanding the theories.

hercules
25-06-2005, 12:41 PM
Do we need to buy a laptop for ourselves?

25-06-2005, 12:46 PM
No, it's not absolutely necessary. Desktop computer is a must, and laptop is convenient in the way that you can bring it around and share your favourite musics easily. But considering the risk of theft (if you read the 'life in INTEC" thread you would know this), it's not encouraged for you to use a laptop in cemara.

kellishia
25-06-2005, 06:33 PM
When is ausmat classes commencing? as far as i am concerned, we need to be in intec block u to find out? but we weren't informed of the time to go check it out. Please, anyone has any ideas?

amir_moslim
26-06-2005, 01:29 AM
thanks to all of the seniors who've posted explanations here.. :D

kellishia, are you in ausmat 17 too??... we gotta be there at 8.00am, monday 27th june....

crosshatched
26-06-2005, 08:08 AM
No, it's not absolutely necessary. Desktop computer is a must, and laptop is convenient in the way that you can bring it around and share your favourite musics easily. But considering the risk of theft (if you read the 'life in INTEC" thread you would know this), it's not encouraged for you to use a laptop in cemara.

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0002H0CQI.01._PE30_SCMZZZZZZZ_.jpg portable laptop cable lock
:roll: :roll: :roll:

kellishia
26-06-2005, 05:02 PM
thanks to all of the seniors who've posted explanations here.. :D

kellishia, are you in ausmat 17 too??... we gotta be there at 8.00am, monday 27th june....

yeah, i'm in ausmat majoring biotechnology, and will be taking off to new zealand. what about you?u staying nearby campus? or ure from a far

profmich
26-06-2005, 05:53 PM
elo.

help, someone?

It's all up to your career path later on. Bio would give you some help in your medical studies in uni. It will at least give you a brief idea of what the australian expectations are for biology and also put you on par with the australians. However, there are current medical students who have taken specialist math in year 12.

In fact, in the college I studied in, the bio combination is known to be the 'easier' (easier to score) package compared to the sp. math combination. In my humble opinion, education is about gaining knowledge and challenging oneself . Moreover, being JPA scholars?

I personally took up specialist math. So, I maybe slightly biased towards it. Nevertheless, specialist math is a really interesting subject itself (which would be enhanced if you have a great, enthusiastic lecturer).

All the best.

26-06-2005, 07:01 PM

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0002H0CQI.01._PE30_SCMZZZZZZZ_.jpg portable laptop cable lock
:roll: :roll: :roll:
More than 5 laptop theft cases throughout my studies in INTEC, period. And laptop cable lock can be easily cut or cracked (read it somewhere in tech blog, although I doubt thieves in cemara is that smart). And the most important thing: do people lock their laptop all the time? If you can make sure it's locked 24/7, then just go for it. But then again, how many are so good at keeping their stuff? As a guy myself, I doubt it.

Of course you can have the safest precautious measures to protect your laptop; but then again, weighing its meagre benefits and considerable risk, I would say having a laptop worth a second thought.

It's all up to your career path later on. Bio would give you some help in your medical studies in uni. It will at least give you a brief idea of what the australian expectations are for biology and also put you on par with the australians. However, there are current medical students who have taken specialist math in year 12.
I am one. :) Actually I don't agree completely with the part that "bio would give you some help in your medical studies in uni". It's true that for those who took specialist maths, in the first few months of medical course, they would face a slower start-up compared to the others. It's because you are not familiar with some of the basic biochemical concepts. However, in the later stage there is no difference between those who have taken bio or specialist maths in year 12, because medical course is so much different and so much more detailed than the biology people did in year 12. It's all fresh knowledge for everyone. Therefore taking specialist maths won't affect your medical studies in general. In fact we have almost forgotten who took bio and who didn't.

qy
29-06-2005, 04:00 PM
erm.. how long is the ausmat course for actuarial science? 18 months?
p.s.: pardon my ignorance. I truly know nothing about this. :lol:

29-06-2005, 04:45 PM
erm.. how long is the ausmat course for actuarial science? 18 months?
p.s.: pardon my ignorance. I truly know nothing about this. :lol:
If you are doing AUSMAT course in INTEC, regardless of your future course, it would be 18 months.

qy
29-06-2005, 04:52 PM
Thanks a lot! Yeah, it's at intec. Why is it so long though? I thought usually it's like 10 months or so?

29-06-2005, 05:02 PM
Thanks a lot! Yeah, it's at intec. Why is it so long though? I thought usually it's like 10 months or so?
There is only one external assessment every year, and it's held in November. JPA only enrol their scholars in SAM (or otherwise called AUSMAT in INTEC) in June, so it's impossible for the students to finish the assessments, projects and quizzes in such a short time. So we must take the external assessment in the next year, therefore it's one and a half years.

jun
29-06-2005, 07:09 PM
There is only one external assessment every year, and it's held in November. JPA only enrol their scholars in SAM (or otherwise called AUSMAT in INTEC) in June, so it's impossible for the students to finish the assessments, projects and quizzes in such a short time. So we must take the external assessment in the next year, therefore it's one and a half years.

err......i dunno about previous years but this year apparently they are sending scholars to sunway to do AUSMAT........quite a few recommers got sunway AUSMAT.

29-06-2005, 07:53 PM

err......i dunno about previous years but this year apparently they are sending scholars to sunway to do AUSMAT........quite a few recommers got sunway AUSMAT.
My "only" refers to the time of enrolment (June) instead of saying that everyone is studying SAM in INTEC. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

hazleen
30-06-2005, 05:40 PM

Links:
General Description (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=58458#58458)
Workload in AUSMAT (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=61133#61133)

Read them, and feel free to ask any follow-up questions here!

hy senior...
im taking medicine..
im a member of ausmat 17..is it really hard to pass the TER..im goin new zealand..hows ausmat..is it great n enjoyable...i dont think so..my seniors are all told me to study hard..

hazleen
30-06-2005, 05:42 PM

hmm..its quite a long time..im goin to take medicine for 6 years in new zealand..huhu..

Anthony
30-06-2005, 09:49 PM

Young yew gor gor...so means desktop is a must lar...?
will JPA be subsidising or we have to buy ourselves?

01-07-2005, 12:05 AM
Yeah, you should get a desktop computer for yourself (or laptop if you can be sure about the safety issue). Or else, you will have to spend most of your time staying in the computer lab in UiTM (computers in which are infested with computer virus), and spend some time using your friends' computers when they are not using it. It's certainly troublesome.

jackjack
01-07-2005, 12:32 AM
One question here: Do universities in countries other than Australia recognise AUSMAT?Or put it in another way-->Is AUSMAT globally-recognised? Please enlighten me..

01-07-2005, 12:41 AM
One question here: Do universities in countries other than Australia recognise AUSMAT?Or put it in another way-->Is AUSMAT globally-recognised? Please enlighten me..
Yes, according to this page (http://www.sam.sa.edu.au/acceptance.htm). However, I guess that it's not as recognized as A-levels and IB. I am not sure though.

Anthony
01-07-2005, 09:36 AM
ACtually Im going Sunway , so anybody can enlighten me whether the computer is subsidised? Because if so, I dont have to buy the computer first...

01-07-2005, 10:26 AM
ACtually Im going Sunway , so anybody can enlighten me whether the computer is subsidised? Because if so, I dont have to buy the computer first...

er... who gave u the idea that JPA is subsidizing anything? as far as i know... no such thing...

i've heard about the loan though... but, it's quite troublesome... u can give it a try...

Anthony
01-07-2005, 01:09 PM
okie....mayb i heard from a mara fren....sorrie guys..haaaah....

the_losing_end
01-07-2005, 03:25 PM
What? there is no allowance for computer? duh...

jpa needs to grow up up and away..... petronas gives their local students rm3500 to buy a computer 8O while a desktop is just priced between 1000-2500 unless you want a FBI-worldwide-database-compatible-with-the-most-accurate-criminal-searching kind of computer... and they also gives out some generous amount of moolah for stationeries and books... so much that some students even save enough money for a proton waja.... maybe petronas thinks that all the books are made from platinum and certainly, JPA doesn't think that way.. :roll:

but i don't think computer is a must for every student.. better if u have it, but not having it doesnt mean u r missing somthing...

jackjack
01-07-2005, 06:32 PM
Yes, according to this page (http://www.sam.sa.edu.au/acceptance.htm). However, I guess that it's not as recognized as A-levels and IB. I am not sure though.

Thank you, youngyew. Judging from the contents of the page, it seems that not all universities accept ausmat, though some prestigious ones do.

Thuaibah
01-07-2005, 09:25 PM
i didn't hear anything from akaunting(soorry my 'see" in keyboerd is not working)senior yet.anyone would like to guide me through diz programme......does it really hard..what da best university in australia 4 akaunting? :)
any tips to kope wif thiz akaun programme....
is there anything else senior would like 2 share.......

nianz
01-07-2005, 09:45 PM
hey i'll be doing AUSMAT in sunway. to my knowledge we must take five subjects: a compulsary subjest of english or ESL.a subject from List 1 (economics,advance malay and advance chinese) a subject in list 2(the rest of the sciences,math and accountings)and the rest of the subjects for either of the list.does this means tht we cannot take extra subjects ???i mean for example i wanna take phy,chem,bio and math.if i add the compusary subject(ESL)to the list and the other one from list 1(i plan to take malay) it'll add up to six.
is this allowed??

ps:how do they calculate the TER???do they have specific units for each subjects??e.g maths-2 unit and maths-three units??

01-07-2005, 10:11 PM
hey i'll be doing AUSMAT in sunway. to my knowledge we must take five subjects: a compulsary subjest of english or ESL.a subject from List 1 (economics,advance malay and advance chinese) a subject in list 2(the rest of the sciences,math and accountings)and the rest of the subjects for either of the list.does this means tht we cannot take extra subjects ???i mean for example i wanna take phy,chem,bio and math.if i add the compusary subject(ESL)to the list and the other one from list 1(i plan to take malay) it'll add up to six.
is this allowed??

ps:how do they calculate the TER???do they have specific units for each subjects??e.g maths-2 unit and maths-three units??
I am not sure whether it's allowed in the SAM system, but I guess that Sunway College wouldn't like its students to take up more subjects.

As for the TER, it's actually a percentile ranking, calculated statistically from your overall raw aggregate score ranking among all candidates. For raw aggregate score, 4 of your best subjects will contribute 20 points each, and another subject will contribute another 10 points making up the total 90 points. Only from the 90 points, your TER is statistically calculated by comparing with other candidates. The formal meaning of the TER is the percentage of the candidates which you have outperformed, that means, if you get 99.75, you are better than 99.75% of all candidates.

nianz
01-07-2005, 10:15 PM
can you please inform me wat are the the necessary/compulsary subject that i have to take if i want to pursue medicine??

01-07-2005, 11:18 PM
can you please inform me wat are the the necessary/compulsary subject that i have to take if i want to pursue medicine??
Sorry I don't really remember. Please check the respective university websites for more information. Thanks.

lilet
02-07-2005, 09:00 AM

As far as I know from my fellow Medic friends in AUSMAT, INTEC, it is compulsary to take ESLS, Maths Studies and Chemistry. Physics is compulsary if you want to get into 2 (I can't remember which ones) specific Australian universities that require Physics. If the person is not interested in those 2 unis, then s/he can do away with it. However, I think all the Medic students here do Physics, whether they like it or not to keep their options open. The other 2 subjects will be either Bio or Specialist Maths. Similar to what is mentioned in the previous replies for this forum, taking Bio or Spec Maths doesn't put you into an obvious advantage or disadvantage over the other. It's just a matter of preference. :wink:

Oh yeah, you mentioned taking 6 subjects - maybe this will sound discouraging, but everyone at my place takes 5 subjects, no more no less. And for most of us, 5 is more than enough~! :D Even if Sunway may allow you to do 6, do consider thoroughly before you decide cause the extra workload is nothing like an extra subject in SPM.

what da best university in australia 4 akaunting?

I'm not too sure about this but the supposedly best university for Actuarial Science is Macquarie Uni which is in Sydney. It is possible that Macquarie will be also the top choice for Accounting. I'll find out and let you know kay? :)

* One more point that I would like to mention for Medic AUSMAT students, it is kinda some unwritten policy that if your stated country is New Zealand (for JPA only), you can apply to both Australia and NZ unis cause supposedly NZ unis are harder to get in compared to Australian ones. If you are doing Medic, NZ bound, score a high TER and get accepted by an Australian uni, there's a very high chance that you'll be allowed by JPA to go to Australia instead of NZ. To repeat - this is only for Medicine students! The other majors, you are stuck wherever you are sent to. :wink:

qy
02-07-2005, 01:34 PM
Hmm..just wondering, how many recommers currently doing ausmat at intec? I can see a few here already.
*hands up* me ausmat 17 :D Let's go mamak together or something when we're free k.

andreleeqs
02-07-2005, 02:24 PM
I'm AUSMAT(17) student at INTEC taking medic, just come back home for few day....... i have many question to ask.....

1)How are the environment study there? (Class or Lecture Style)
2)Are we all medic AUSMAT will divided into many class?
3)Where i can find reference book for my sub? (Give me publisher name if can)
4)Is there any activities during weekend??

Anyway i live at Cemara blok 2 Room 504.... Find me out if u r medic student and we can make discussion bout our studies (Other program student also can find me out 2 be friend)

Seeya............
GoodLuck everybody there

hazleen
05-07-2005, 09:09 AM
i just met a senior yesterday in Cemara..during the audition..its mr Pang..one of the members of SAMSA..Secretary maybe.n the best students for spec maths n physic(wow...he's my idol).he takes medicine in new zealand ..same as me...but..he chose to study spec maths instead of biology..i heard some rumours said that...spec maths is quite diffcult..is it? what about biology?..he said that Ausmat students need to work harder than others..xspecially medic student...i'm quite scared of ths..hehe..but i'll try to face it..so best of luck to all Ausmatians xspecially n intec... :wink:

alpha_centauri
05-07-2005, 03:49 PM
I'm a medical student under the AUSMAT course at INTEC as well (Victor Harbour). They expect a lot from aspiring medical students, both in the academic and social activity aspects. Despite all the collosal pep talk by the people involved, the students came to class only to find that the classes have been cancelled :x !
...*Sigh*... Feeling both the stress and langour already.
Anyway, does anyone know about any website that allows you to do some extensive research about the AUSMAT syllabus? (There are great numbers of them for Edexcel).
*Please and thank you.*

hazleen
06-07-2005, 05:34 PM
ermm...i think ssabsa has lots of web..u can even download the last year exam papers..guidance..syllabus and other stuff...

nasz
06-07-2005, 05:51 PM
anybody take ACCOUNTANCY course in AUSMAT??? please tell me bout it.....i REALLY REALLY REALLY need ur info.....n what r u guys doing right now n which university are u guys apply for....

Anthony
06-07-2005, 06:34 PM
AUSMAT in Sunway and INTEC different ar???
how can since they have the exact same name....??

alpha_centauri
06-07-2005, 10:00 PM

Hmmm... Hitherto, I heard that the AUSMAT program is standardized. Since SAM is the most predominant, I think that AUSMAT (at INTEC and Sunway)is equivalent to SAM (at Taylors). Anyway, I could be very wrong... :roll: Please do correct me.

But this is merely a trivial matter, right? Perchance what matters most is the grades.

And, hazleen, thank you so much for the information :idea:

spectre
07-07-2005, 10:24 PM
uh out of topic but i want to know what ausmat stands for. adfp means all day fun n play right? :lol:

flibbertigibbet
08-07-2005, 05:19 AM
ermm...i think ssabsa has lots of web..u can even download the last year exam papers..guidance..syllabus and other stuff...

This is one of them provided by my Biology lecturer. Google for more related websites.

www.ssabsa.sa.edu.au

hazleen
08-07-2005, 11:26 AM
ADFP is stand for all days fun and play...thats what my lecture told us yesterday...hehe...but AUSMAT ....no fun no play..i got lots of works to do now..huhu..even the math teacher is too fast...

08-07-2005, 09:25 PM

Hmmm... Hitherto, I heard that the AUSMAT program is standardized. Since SAM is the most predominant, I think that AUSMAT (at INTEC and Sunway)is equivalent to SAM (at Taylors). Anyway, I could be very wrong... :roll: Please do correct me
No, AUSMAT in INTEC is the same thing with SAM in TAYLOR'S, and to answer to another post, AUSMAT stands for Australian Matriculation. (assuming that he or she wasn't asking the jocular meaning of AUSMAT... :P )

On the other hand, AUSMAT in SUNWAY is actually under a board of West Australia, the course structure and syllabus is different from SAM.

deaf-knee
08-07-2005, 11:34 PM
ADFP is stand for all days fun and play...thats what my lecture told us yesterday...hehe...but AUSMAT ....no fun no play..i got lots of works to do now..huhu..even the math teacher is too fast...

oh I think you're my classmate.

HOW COME I DON'T HAVE LOTS OF WORKS TO DO?

uhm maybe I didn't attend class or was sleeping kot? lol. ok. kot. that's a new one for me.

but yeah. maths teacher gila.

FedEx
09-07-2005, 09:09 AM

Hmmm... Hitherto, I heard that the AUSMAT program is standardized. Since SAM is the most predominant, I think that AUSMAT (at INTEC and Sunway)is equivalent to SAM (at Taylors). Anyway, I could be very wrong... :roll: Please do correct me
No, AUSMAT in INTEC is the same thing with SAM in TAYLOR'S, and to answer to another post, AUSMAT stands for Australian Matriculation. (assuming that he or she wasn't asking the jocular meaning of AUSMAT... :P )

On the other hand, AUSMAT in SUNWAY is actually under a board of West Australia, the course structure and syllabus is different from SAM.

Just a question about the scoring system of both SAM and AUSMAT. Just a matter of curiousity, will the final TER ranking of SAM and AUSMAT be combined? Meaning, will the students taking AUSMAT and SAM be grouped together and the final ranking system is calculated from that group of students...or...it will be 2 separate ranking all together? But, as far as australia is concerned, both are Year 12 in Australia rite? Higher School Certificate (HSC) is also Year 12 in Australia and also have the percentile system.

Thanks a lot.

hazleen
09-07-2005, 11:19 AM

oh I think you're my classmate.

HOW COME I DON'T HAVE LOTS OF WORKS TO DO?

uhm maybe I didn't attend class or was sleeping kot? lol. ok. kot. that's a new one for me.

but yeah. maths teacher gila.

ow..i know u..hehe..we've got lots of works to do in IES actually......math?hhoho...ow my lecture..

09-07-2005, 03:27 PM
Just a question about the scoring system of both SAM and AUSMAT. Just a matter of curiousity, will the final TER ranking of SAM and AUSMAT be combined? Meaning, will the students taking AUSMAT and SAM be grouped together and the final ranking system is calculated from that group of students...or...it will be 2 separate ranking all together? But, as far as australia is concerned, both are Year 12 in Australia rite? Higher School Certificate (HSC) is also Year 12 in Australia and also have the percentile system.

Thanks a lot.
The TER is comparable for both systems. That means, both group of students will be compared before the TER is finalised, and theoretically a person getting 99.5 in SAM and another person getting 99.5 in AUSMAT are equally good.

stargal
29-07-2005, 01:49 PM
Thuaibah n nasz, i m also taking accounting under JPA but i m doing AUSMAT in sunway college....
how bout both of u??
i also din really heard bout ppl discussing bout accounting.......
any idea how will it be n which uni is good for accounting??

hazleen
08-08-2005, 09:28 AM
ow..just wanna congrate all the new samsa members.....hope all of u will goin to make sure that samsa is the best student society in INTEC...xspecially spritual bureau..hehe :wink:

shihnobie
10-01-2006, 03:53 PM
Anyone here going to INTEC this 17th Jan 2006 (EDUCAMPers Dec'05)?

amanda_hay
13-01-2006, 05:59 PM
I'm a medical student under the AUSMAT course at INTEC as well (Victor Harbour). They expect a lot from aspiring medical students, both in the academic and social activity aspects. Despite all the collosal pep talk by the people involved, the students came to class only to find that the classes have been cancelled :x !
...*Sigh*... Feeling both the stress and langour already.
Anyway, does anyone know about any website that allows you to do some extensive research about the AUSMAT syllabus? (There are great numbers of them for Edexcel).
*Please and thank you.*

try going on to the ssabsa website.
goggle 'SSABSA' and u'll get the website.. you can download their curriculum statement. :)

N-Guy
30-01-2006, 07:37 PM
hey young yew

i refer to your post

i've done SAM in taylors and obtained a TER of 98.85

but i've done a big mistake,i didn t apply anywhere because i wasn' t that sure about my actual results.But the thing here is that is it possible for me to apply for 2007 intake for medicine in australia with the 2005 results?

if it's possible,wouldn t be quite difficult because of the cross modulation thing done?...or will that uni rank me with that respective year student eg if both obtained the same TER,is it the same for every year because the difficulty of each paper may vary from year to year

thanking you in advance

30-01-2006, 08:28 PM
hey young yew

i refer to your post

i've done SAM in taylors and obtained a TER of 98.85

but i've done a big mistake,i didn t apply anywhere because i wasn' t that sure about my actual results.But the thing here is that is it possible for me to apply for 2007 intake for medicine in australia with the 2005 results?

if it's possible,wouldn t be quite difficult because of the cross modulation thing done?...or will that uni rank me with that respective year student eg if both obtained the same TER,is it the same for every year because the difficulty of each paper may vary from year to year

thanking you in advance
Hi, I am not sure whether they would accept if you apply for 2007 intake using 2005's result. I can't remember the regulation.

I would suggest you to ask your lecturers in Taylor's, they should have a better idea about this issue. Sorry that I can't help in this matter.

ryanlee
07-03-2006, 07:05 PM
hey..everyone, it;s time for another new update for this forum..
i am ryan lee of AUSMAT 17...still studying in AUSMAT now
now we see AUSMAT in INTEC is exxtreme program..
the truth is the 1st semester from Year11 (Jun 05-Nov 05) basically quite relax...
but the problem is Year 12 is really torturing with lots of assignments and homeworks...barely have time to breath.....
PANDAs are all around in INTEC.
haaaaaa=p

that's all for now....i am not relly free too.....
haaa=p

all the best and gambatte for everyone in AUSMAT...

Ca3ine
14-06-2008, 10:38 PM
What does AUSMAT 15 16 or 17 mean?so confused...

14-06-2008, 11:20 PM
The batch. My year (03-04) was AUSMAT 15, so the year after me (04-05) was AUSMAT 16. And so on.

Ca3ine
15-06-2008, 03:47 PM
oooo like dis hor.....lolz

18-06-2008, 09:06 PM
This is an old thread. Please post in the JPA AUSMAT 2008 thread. This thread shall be kept here for archival purposes